Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Canoga Park Motor Inn 3 stars

20122 Vanowen Street, Canoga Park, CA 91306, USA

#1 of 5 hotels in Canoga Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some issues with cleanliness. Pool and spa were noticeably dirty, and the bed needed fresh sheets, but the staff was very quick to help.

    Staff was wonderful. Problems were fixed quickly. Breakfast was abundant, with options for everyones' taste. Location was perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside appearance.

    Conveniently located for business in Woodland Hills. Despite moderate appearance from the outside, rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is way beyond what is common for this type of hotels. More than all, staff is great, welcoming and helpful. Very fair return for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Large room and good breakfast. Easy to park. I just visit this hotel during travel from LA to SF, so I don't know this town, but looks quiet. This hotel is better than I expected in everything. Vons is near this hotel, less than 10 mins by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about this hotel. Absolutely nothing bad to say about it. However, there is nothing else around the location.

    So easy to get to from the highway. Such friendly staff. The manager was actively on site. There is a nice family style restaurant attached to the hotel; and even a bowling alley. The breakfast is very good. The workout room is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the lobby area was under re-modeling and we were awakened on a Saturday morning by workers. Mr. Shook immediately moved us to a new room. Also upon arrival(2 a.m.) neighboring guests were still partying and making significant noise. The hotel staff immediately had security staff intervene but to no avail. We were immediately moved to a different room and the manager compensated us for that problem. Another guest issue arose when, in a non-smoking facility, the smell of marijuana permeated the entry hallways. So although our stay could have been better, the situations were not under the direct control of the hotel management and staff. We would stay there again and hopefully under better circumstances and with more responsible guests.

    The manager, Edward Shook, was outstanding. We had several issues with other guests and he handled our concerns promptly and more than adequately. The staff were all great and handled our needs quickly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    everyone at this best western was very helpful and friendly. the room was spotless and modern. I highly recommend staying here and would stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since we had to catch an early morning flight, I asked if we could have breakfast at 5:30 AM, but the hotel clerk said no, breakfast is served at 6 AM. They could just have opened the breakfast room for us to eat whatever was there and given us coffee.

    The room was spacious and brightly-painted. So with the carpet. It had a big window overlooking the street.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speed of the internet was slow and unreliable. The manager did tell me the were getting that upgraded.

    The breakfast was a wonderful deluxe contintental style. Everything you needed. Attentive service too. The rooms were large. And overall quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is older and, while nicely refurbished, the physical structure still shows its age.

    The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub looked grubby

    The bed was really comfy providing the best chance of sleep when jet lagged. The bed linen was lovely smooth white cotton. The swimming pool was refreshing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location Coffee machine in room not working Poor drainage in bathtubs Even though making special request for Firm mattress our mattress is very very soft Seems to have similar problems with other best western Front desk staff seems to be not familiar with the charging system with booking .com and it's worrisome that we need to keep close watch of our bills

    Spacious room Friendly cleaning staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't sure about the neighbor hood. And the hotel was associated with a bowling alley.

    Breakfast was OK, but the dining area was between the hotel and bowling alley so you wondered what you had wandered into.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fighting for convenient street parking not good situation. Seems like hotel doesn't care where you park! Homeless, beggars hanging around next door on abandoned property.

    Overall place is clean, pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have the opportunity to eat breakfast, but the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of noisy in hallway, but tolerable.

    Was very clean and had many amenities including a good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price on a Saturday night, but we accepted and it was worth it.

    The attendance who made me the special coffee was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed two nights on a business trip. The staff is very kind, helpful and efficient, particularly Ms. Mereya.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy. Room clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Big rooms. Family of 4 room was very convinient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the alley & the trash truck woke us up.

    The staff was very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very nice and made sure I had everything I needed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms; very nice and helpful staff. The price was reasonable, and the location was good for the places we had to go.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view anywhere in this particular area but staff couldn't have been nicer.

    Bed was wonderful, large room better than home!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was being renovated so there were disruptions.

    Friendly staff who accommodated us with an early check in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    delicious breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    construction was going on that was very difficult for us. everything else was fine

    house keeping was really nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was nice and plush very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanyness in bathroom

    Big room, perfect bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    yes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very nice,clean and comfortable!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Next to big avenue, with heavy traffic. Not for light sleepers. Also, they were expanding the hotel, so a lot of noise during week days

    Great breakfast. Easy to get there.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing about the hotel, but the neighborhood is dull and my GPS couldn't find the hotel. Search for "Winnetka Bowl" instead!

    Great staff, and comfortable, clean rooms. Free breakfast was better than most free breakfasts, and they had a "to go" breakfast available (water, fruit, granola bar). Keurig coffee, microwave and fridge in the room. Very close to 101 - one mile straight down Winnetka Rd.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The traffic to and from tourist areas might be typical la but it is slow to get downtown or to Hollywood.

    The motel is close to a grocery store where you can pick up excellent prepared Mexican food. Close to the highway which isn't helpful since it's stopped most of the time.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the location which is far out. But we knew that and despite the 45 minute drive to L.A. it was very well worth it.

    A fabulous big room. Very qquiet hotel. Nice pool. Lovely staff. Great cafe (very cheap) adjacent.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location,but we knew that and only needed a room for 1 night rest

    Everything! :) Our first night in LA after our long flight, The room was big and really nice,clean,huge amazing comfy bed,could easily stay there longer, the manager even gave us a call to make sure we were happy with our room. Breakfast was included in the room price and it was lovely. Thank you :)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Aside from the very slow Wifi, the lack of Java in the business center which prevented me from working and I had to bring my own desktop computer in and hook it up in my room as I was told we weren't allowed to download java, the only real complaint I have about this place is the staff. All of the staff members that we interacted with (except for one of the gentlemen who works the front desk, one of the housekeepers, and the young lady who is in charge of the breakfast) were extremely rude, unpleasant, bossy, confrontational, and unprofessional. We just moved to this area last week from N.C. so I could finish law school and two days after our arrival, someone stole our entire 16 ft. moving truck with everything still inside...beds, couches, clothes, appliances, electronics, everything. So we are staying at a hotel until we get new stuff and possibly a different home...In light of the recent robbery, I am very protective of our--few--belongings that we have left. I am not comfortable leaving our valuables in our vehicle or in our hotel room if we aren't in it. For this reason, I also did not want housekeeping in our room if we weren't here. I have no reason to think the housekeeping staff are dishonest but at this point I don't really trust anyone... These people acted like we committed a crime for wanting to clean our own room!!! I told them they were welcome to come in and clean and/or inspect the room but I was going to stay in here even if I had the rest of my family step out...The housekeeper was at my door mad like she was ready to fight, and when I refused to let them in unless one of us stayed, she stormed down to the manager fast as she could. I walked into their conversation and explained my reasoning, the manager was rude and said well this is "my" rule because of past experiences etc...(to be honest this guy struck me as an over zealous tyrannical type from day one).

    This hotel is clean, comfortable, modern, and priced better than some of the fancier hotels of course, but much nicer than I expected for the price. The pool is nice, business center just ok, gym is great, and breakfast was good with a lot of variety and the staff at breakfast were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Facility was pretty clean. Seemed like the was some construction going on. Everything was near by. Billiards, bowling alley and a place to just sit down and have a few drinks.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The Heater/AC unit was quite loud when it was on, so, in order to have quiet in the room, we had to leave it off. Would switch it on to cool the room down, then switch it off to have quiet.

    Room was large, comfortable, and clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi won't work! The breakfast area smells really bad, even though the food was good No elevator for second floor

    Staff was helpful and friendly Clean rooms Good food/stores around

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pillows were too thick and not so comfortable. It will be good to have different thickness of pillows. Also, we had one cockroach visitor on out bed. Wifi was not very stable

    Breakfasts were great! staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms were good size, hotel location is very convenient

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Couple

    Floor tile by bathroom door broken with loose small pieces. Tub tile surround was redone, but not with good workmanship.

    Room was nicely decorated, clean, & quiet. Has Lg screen TV, refrig, & microwave. Bedding was excellent. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was above norm - eggs, sausage, waffle, fruits, cereal, juice, etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The was some road noise, but not enough to keep me awake.

    Clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price. Very good breakfast.. Good facilities including refrigerator and microwave in the room, nice little gym. Friendly, helpful front desk person.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Construction in front of building definitely takes away from first impression, but not a deal breaker, and I understand it needs to be done from time to time.

    very comfortable bed. room was clean and quiet. Fair value for the area. Staff was excellent, very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strict adherence to breakfast times even though hotel was quiet and could have afforded us some leeway.

    Close to everything but in the middle of nowhere. Fantastic staff, the best bed in our 3 week tour of California. Empty pool area due to low temperature for natives which was hot for us Brits

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The surrounding area wasn't very desirable.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our room faced a very noisy street - wish we asked to move to a different one - motorcycles speeding at 3 am...

    breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean grounds and rooms Friendly staff Good service Complimentary breakfast with wide variety of items

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very helpful and courteous. Loved the room, clean and spacious. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction noise

    Love the new rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Family with young children

    The room is so neat and it feels at home! It's quiet and you forget you're actually in the valley!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    EVERYTHING!!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy

    Reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Work in progress within the hotel

    Staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast were poor, fruits were not fresh

    Nice staff, clean pool, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were so impressed how clean the room was. Loved the bathroom soaps, smelled so good!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot tub old and rusty

    Staff Clean rooms Excellent breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Couple

    I hope breakfast can be better.

    Place was so clean & spacious.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    dont have lift to second floor.

    Kind staff,big room

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The quietness of the building, comfort of the bed & the peace in the room

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    updated rooms, refridgerator, microwave, parking, clean facilities, complete breakfast costs

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    COMVENIENCE AND TREATMENT

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the place pool etc

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the Best Western sign is obscured by more dominant signs and it's behind a fence with makes it very difficult to find the property

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't take the free breakfast to your room and it charges for lobby coffee.

    The room was clean and bed was comfortable.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: