Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Super 8 by Wyndham Monticello 2 stars

1114 Cedar Street, Monticello, MN 55362, USA

#3 of 3 hotels in Monticello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.0
    Enjoyed stay with grandkids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had minor drain issue in bathroom. Pool a little cool/cold. Managed it.

    Roomy suite, breakfasts decent and staff friendly. Location had plenty of options, eg restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    I would not stay at this motel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms had a strong smell of cigarette smoke - pillows need to be replaced. The complimentary breakfast area was very difficult to navigate - there was no easy flow. Plates and eating tools, napkins in room off of the eating area - microwave across the room.

    Location - reception staff - breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice rooms, seemed to be recently updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was damp which you could feel when walking on the carpet.

    Nice rooms, seemed to be recently updated. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.5
    They were not able to accommodate us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested accessible rooms they were not able to accommodate us but charged us for the rooms anyway they told us it would take 7 to 10 days to change it it has been 12 days and they still have not reversed the charges

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    very pleasant and extremely convenient. We will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a desk and chair but would have been nice to have another chair so we could just sit and relax during our down time.

    Everyone was extremely friendly. Room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Pillows where awful, beds where hard and the air conditioner didn't work well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would never recommend this motel to anyone. The manager (owner) Was VERY rude and very hard to deal with. Our family graduation couldn't happen due to the last minute change in being by the pool with immediate family not allowed in!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not full. They put us (me , wife and 28 year old daughter) next to the pool. Very noisy in the morning.

    If you are looking for a budget hotel and have the expectations of a budget hotel this is the place for you. Nothing is fancy but everything is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    I really appreciated the cleanliness of the room, the water...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was a bit on the weak side not able to support my connection for email and work searches.

    I really appreciated the cleanliness of the room, the water pressure of the shower, and the breakfast offered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    For the night of the Superbowl, the room rated was 1/10th of the rooms in Minneapolis. Thx
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    More variety in the breakfast offering. Nice that they had a waffle maker, but just wanted eggs and bacon. The OJ was good and cold.

    Didn't see any eggs or bacon, but I just wanted some OJ. Very quiet in room and I needed rest from a long day in Minneapolis that included walking to US Bank Stadium and attending the Superbowl.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    I have stayed here before, I would recommend staying here.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here before, I would recommend staying here. Staff are friendly and helpful if you need it , hotel lobby and rooms are clean and they have a good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Easy to get too and decent place to stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was dirty/cloudy looking as if water had been shut off and then not run after. After letting it run a couple minutes it was good. Breakfast was lacking variety.

    I liked how comfy the bed was. Location was easy to find off highway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    It was a very soothing and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled a little must! Don't know if it was from the air conditioning or the room itself!

    Very quiet. Liked the easy access to and from highway. Breakfast was alright not much to choose from made myself egg McMuffin and was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Its Couldve Been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was always feeling damp. The curtains appeared to have black spots on the bottom (mold) and the exterior screen was laying behind the desk in the corner instead of installed

    Always had warm breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room seemed to be missed in vacuuming daily. Tub/shower was very slippery. Would be nice to have some kind of mat or type of texture to avoid slipperiness in tub.

    Bed was comfy. Location was good for our purposes. Rooms were nice in size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location for the wedding we attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were vacuuming outside our door at 8 am on a Saturday. Too early. Room materials said breakfast was until 10 am on Saturday but we were informed it was only until 9 when we arrived at 9:15. The attendant graciously offered breakfast anyway.

    Great proximity to the event we attended. Was able to check in early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Was not impressed with hotel but staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room smelled very musty and the maid did not give us different towels on second day there. Some hotels do that but have a sign that informs you to hang up your towels if you don't need new ones.

    The location to where we were going.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.7
    Good value, hard bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was stiff and uncomfortable. For that reason, despite the other pluses, I couldn't stay here again.

    Clean, basically a good room. Convenient, easy in and out, breakfast was adequate, had to microwave precooked and refrigerated eggs and sausage. Value is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Upset that when I gotvthere you didn't have my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upset that when I gotvthere you didn't have my reservation. I had my confirmation from Booking.com. then when I got my bill I got charged 89.99 instead of the 84.99 I was given from Booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.0
    Stay at your own risk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived after checking in I asked the girl at the front desk where to park to be close to my room.She said she wasnt sure because she had worked there in the past but not for a long time??????? It was 25below that night, what was I suppose to do Walk around outside the place with a map of the inside???? I didnt enven know where the room was? The first night I spent my eyes were swelling and ichy. wasn't sure why until I heard a couple different barks from a couple different rooms near me and realized that my room was probably used for the same. I have allergies to dogs and cats. I was pretty miserable. I wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was minimal, but good. Would to have liked to have had maybe some fruit choices.

    Staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    What I needed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was good

    Quick n easy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    The price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only chair was a computer chair.

    The price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.9
    Did not like beddings it’s itchy and stained and bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bedding

    Did not like beddings it’s itchy and stained and bad pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and helpfully staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    there didn't seem to be anything that we didn't like.

    The room was neat, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was satisfactory and filling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff was extremely helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very humid or damp feeling

    Staff was extremely helpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Recommend the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn’t great.

    Breakfast was included and conveniently located. The lady was friendly at the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Was pricey for a super 8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was pricey for a super 8.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel and a great deal!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    It was convenient and clean. The staff was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room. Nice beds. Good shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We managed to leave an important book and the staff worked hard to return it to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Decent place to stay especially with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot tub

    The beds were so comfortable, building clean, nice and quiet and pool was nice and somewhat big

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    loved it
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very nice. Very comfy rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t sleep due to loud neighbors complained to front desk and still woke up to the same loudness. Will never come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very clean and easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and easy to get to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    We had a fantastic time!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a Jacuzzi tub room and it was fabulous!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Good except there is no hot tub
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot tub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    The rooms had an extremely moldy smell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms had an extremely moldy smell! The beds were hard. Poor room service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Funeral so we didn't notice that much.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed shoddy for the price Expensive

    Breakfast Beds TV

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent w/a variety of foods to choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent w/a variety of foods to choose from. A/C worked well & kept the room cool. The room was clean & quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    2.9
    3
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    3

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    We were there for 5 days. Very comfortable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about our stay was unliked

    Staff was super

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    we were very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very humid and moist.

    The bed was comfortable. The shower was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    would not stay at this one hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was musty. Order bad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Over night stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    The staff was friendly and nice.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and nice. The room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Great value for the $$.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast. Clean property. Great value!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was kind of firm for my taste, but fine for my wife.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.2
    The Staff ( Teresa) upon check in was very friendly and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff ( Teresa) upon check in was very friendly and hospitable. She made you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Clean, close to interstate, reasonable price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, close to interstate, reasonable price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    Clean modern room, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway needed picking up

    Clean modern room, great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.9
    Last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds -Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more selection at the breakfast bar

    Ease of check-in and proximity to highway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.5
    Poor service won't be staying again and wouldn't give a 1 for a rating
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The musty smell in the room, the rude girl at the desk, the pubic hair in the bathroom

    The huge bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.7
    The pool was so cold that we could not be in the water for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was so cold that we could not be in the water for more then 5 minutes before we had to go back to our room and shower in warm water

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Chinese restaurant across the street had closed before 9:00 pm! I had a real craving!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. My key card wasn't opening the door nearest my room but while I ran out to do an errand they had it repaired. Room was clean with modern decor.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Room was nice, pretty clean (some hair around bathroom),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was not very personable and the guy checking us out was complaining about how it sucks to work there, not professional at all.

    Room was nice, pretty clean (some hair around bathroom), great free breakfast but the hard boiled eggs were a little old.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and hard working
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Couldn't access wifi from room Booked two rooms with two beds, but one had just one king bed

    Staff very friendly and hard working Rooms clean and comfortable Free breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    the bed was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    tub drained very slowly and the walkway between the microwave stand and the corner of the wall was very narrow, had to turn sideways to get through with my bags. Also the room could have had 1 more chair than the office type chair.

    the bed was nice and comfortable. The swimming pool was great. The breakfast area and breakfast were good. A staff person opened the banquet /meeting room for seating when the breakfast room was too full.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    3.3
    Booked 2 queen and they only had a King for 3 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booked 2 queen and they only had a King for 3 of us. Unwilling to do anything to change it. Said I would have to talk to booking.com. Staff was not helpful or friendly. Breakfast was disappointing. Bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, clean.
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom small. Breakfast selection could be improved.

    Price. Comfortable beds. Clean washroom and good location.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    Needs a hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Needs a hot tub

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.1
    It's location to the highway was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The people smoking right outside the door.

    It's location to the highway was great. It's was easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Spacious and clean rooms nice heated pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spacious and clean rooms nice heated pool

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    nice room, easy check in and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    nice room, easy check in and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was 200 degrees, the front desk staff was very uninformed and they refused to clean our room.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    5.4
    Checking in was painful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Checking in was painful.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Quiet, clean, close to amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, clean, close to amenities

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    10
    The breakfast was good but it could have been better with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was good but it could have been better with more fresh fruit and a breakfast meat such as bacon or sausage.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: