Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station 3 stars

4999 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338, USA

#14 of 21 hotels in Mariposa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1385 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location & base for seeing Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to sit out with a beer at the end of the day. Air con unit a bit noisy.

    Breakfast & swimming pool / spa were great after a long hot day walking. Nice town with plenty of eating options. About an hours drive to Yosemite Valley & Mariposa Grove.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    O.k only if you need a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took forever and the lady in the reception was unpleasant, sofa bed sheets were used. Carpet really needs deep cleaning, bathroom fan is extremely loud, tiny room. After the breakfast staff had to wash the chairs they didn't dried them well and all of us got our pants covered with this browen liquid from inside. Found cockroach on the window. Pool chairs & tables were dirty for 2 days after guests who ate there and no body cleaned it.

    They have guest laundry, breakfast is o.k and check out went fast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    We paid a premium price given our stay in peak season (July)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for what you got.

    We paid a premium price given our stay in peak season (July) but the hotel was fine. Needs an update but rooms were clean, relatively spacious and facilities (pool) was really welcome in the hot weather. Lady at check in was lovely. Breakfast was simple (reminded me of a school camp) but perfectly fine. Was about 50 min drive to Yosemite from hotel. Town was cute.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was making a strange sound and belching up ( literally backing up and spitting back up toilet water). It was happening every 5-10 min. It was very unpleasant and unsanitary, especially when you were sitting on the toilet!!!!!!!!!!! I have never seen or experienced anything like this!!! Very weird!!

    Everything was great! Staff was nice, rooms were clean, beds were little too hard, but comfortable. Mattresses, sheets and towels were very clean. Bathroom was recently remodeled and it was clean as well. Housekeeping and breakfast room staff were very attentive and pleasant. Our room was facing the main street, but it wasn't too loud. We could hear only very laud motorcycles occassionally. We were soooooo tired after hiking all day in Yosemite, that nothing bothered us and we slept like a baby! Overall great stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely comfortable hotel, set in a beautiful little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would say it seems expensive for best western but being so close to Yosemite what do you expect!

    Lovely comfortable hotel, set in a beautiful little town. Everyone we came across was very friendly. Room sizes were very good. About hour drive to Yosemite but it’s an hour of gorgeous scenery

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good choice for access to Yosemite National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel WiFi security was poor. It did not show as secured on my iPhone, and the vendor supposedly used a security code for the internet access, but it did not work for two of the three days of my stay. I contacted them directly, and got a very poor response to solving the problem. AT&T cell phone coverage was good. T-Mobile coverage was poor.

    Rooms were very clean, reasonably quiet. Rooms were made up each day. Free breakfast had adequate choices, and the staff in the breakfast area was friendly and helpful. TV channel coverage was good,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and old AC. Bad insulation. Narrow stairs especially for travelers who carry big luggages.

    Great breakfast. Large and clean room. Nice and lovely breakfast agents.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Won't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3/4" gap under door, had to stick towels in it to keep mosquitos out. Dresser drawers would not stay closed, had to tape them closed. A/C loud and filter was filthy

    I only was there two nights

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked fairly recently refurbished but it was brown so a bit depressing looking. The Air conditioning was powerful but very loud when going off and on so it was hard to get a good nights sleep. As well as the door/windows letting in a lot of noise from outside. The second day we were there housekeeping came into the room but didn’t actually do anything. We could tell because the do not disturb sign had been moved from inside to in the door key slot. I didn’t so much care that they hadn’t made the bed or sorted the towels but the 1 tiny bin was full and it needed to be changed. Breakfast was included in the stay but it wasn’t anything to write home about. The apple juice tasted horrible. But as we don’t eat masses for breakfast, a couple of slices of toast did the job before heading out to Yosemite. There was no lift so lugging suitcases up the stairs was not ideal. This hotel was cheap and did the job but I wouldn’t be likely to stay here again although I would choose Mariposa again.

    The bed wasn’t bad comfort wise. The room was clean and large with a very big tv. Location was great. Mariposa was a lovely little town with some great places to eat like Charles street and Mariposa pizza. It was about an hours drive from the hotel to parking up in Yosemite but it was a nice, scenic drive with lots of bends to keep you entertained so it didn’t seem long at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.3
    Why the hotel charged me before I checked in, which they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why the hotel charged me before I checked in, which they called pre-authorization and charged me second time when I checked in? They told me it may take 3-5 business days. Now it’s already one week and the money didn’t come back. Why other hotels like holiday, Hampton don’t charge like this? No BW forever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Quality stay in cute Mariposa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night on our way to Yosemite and were surprised by how much we enjoyed all the little shops in Mariposa. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know where to start. Sheets were old, there was a thin and over used blanket on the bed that made u wonder to what area it belonged. No lotion. Shampoo and conditioner were cheap. We asked for extra towel they made us to walk to office to get them and then we were questioned why we needed extra towel. Fridge didn’t Wk. Called for someone to check it out. There were nobody to come and fix it. In summary for the price we paid we got motel level service and room. I left wondering if I ever had stayed in worse place or not.

    Location was good. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Not for light sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fridge, noisy pipes, right on busy road. Hard bed. Expensive for what it was.

    45 minutes to the park entrance and selection of restaurants with walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Very nice stay; the hotel lived up to its #1 ranking in Trip Advisor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we checked out we found out that there was a bathmat in the upper part of the closet. Would make more sense to have this in the bathroom. In order to prevent slipping & falling while showering, we put a hand towel in the tub.

    Staff were outstanding! Claire at the front desk was very welcoming and went out of her way to be helpful. Candace in the dining room was friendly, helpful, and offered recommendations for local attractions. Very convenient to have breakfast buffet offered at 6:30 AM so that we could quickly eat breakfast and get on the road to Yosemite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    great accomodation for a shorter stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    several stray cats in the backyard

    Very friendly staff, the city is very cute, the breakfast exceeded our expectations. The ice machine was an extra touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great and cheap option to visit Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in this place to go to Yosemite the next 2 days. The property is in a very small town. Don't expect a lot from it, it's really small, not a lot of stores nearby so make sure you buy everything you need beforehand. It's a 1-hour drive to Yosemite. The room was really nice, had everything we needed and was clean, and the wi-fi worked well for us as well. I liked the "classic american style" breakfast. Simple but good and with some variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    I'de still stay there again, it's an easy drive to Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room safe would be nice, international travelers need a place to keep passports and cash secure without having to bother with asking reception to keep those things.

    Good breakfast, laundry was a welcome touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Big room , clean, but may need some renovation down the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For valley multi entries visitor, should probably stay nearer , spent 1.5 hours up and 1 hour down daily from valley quite tiring and time consuming If only 2 days one night visit, it's ok Check in time at 4pm so the timing of the valley visit for first time visitor maybe a challenge to sort things out

    Big room , clean, but may need some renovation down the road. Super Great staff!! Nearby groceries and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    We had to change the room after first night as it was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco too close to bed. In the first room airco was very noisy, in second it was ok. In our first room Tv didn’t work ,toilet was clogged with the toilet paper-but this was repaired immediately. Second room was ok without any issues.

    We had to change the room after first night as it was very noisy from the street and we couldn’t sleep. Our second room looked a bit smaller but we liked it more. Good breakfast- I did like fresh fruits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Expensive and 1hr away from Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bad (eggs tasted weird and fruits were the worst) Too far from Yosemite given the price (250$/night) There was a few flies/insects. You'll wake up early anyway once people starts talking outside your room or cleaning service starts moving between rooms

    Mariposa is a small and quiet town with a nice short walk, the hotel was conveniently located near restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    The room is good and I like that they have a laundry room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Eggs were terrible. Everything tasted so fake and super processed.

    The room is good and I like that they have a laundry room. That was really helpful to me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel for visiting Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Hotel. Located in Mariposa town really near all restaurants a nd grocery stores, suveniers, etc. Also you can drive to Yosemite in around 1h ( only like two hotels are closer but I guess they are a lot more expensive)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to visit the Yosemite park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was a bit dirty

    The location was good, very close to the Yosemite park. It was clean and the breakfast good enough. The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay on the way to Yosi Park (quiet and clean) with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff came and went for a smoke without washing the fingers.

    If you like sweet breakfast (müsli, waffels, eggs etc) it was a good buffet from my Point of view, my girls missed the cheese and sausages. I liked the Service of the Mexican cleaner a lot. Up the road there is an excellent Steak Restaurant. The drive to Yosi Park was easy and not too far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was the first time I got plastic tools on my breakfast table in a 3* hotel. :)

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and pillows were fluffy. Mariposa is very nice town with plenty of places to eat and a good point to explore Yosemite. Great value for money! Would love to stay here again! Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    A great location (probably better out of 'season') for a trip to Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in an interesting town with historic significance. Very close to Yosemite N.P. allowing quick and easy access for a full day visit. Staff were varied with some helpful and considerate, others less so. Building being worked on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice inn near Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Staff was very nice, gave little perks to kids during check-in. Close (walking distance) to a small shopping center with dining options. Room was nice. Overall good value for price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was nice and comfortable. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was ideal and had a great selection. The facilities of the gym and laundry was a great addition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient hotel in Mariposa withing walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient hotel in Mariposa withing walking distance to downtown Mariposa (restaurants, bars, etc.). Cleanliness was superb, and the free breakfast was a great start to a day of hiking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Good modestly priced starting point for Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but we always prefer a good granola and wider selection of fruit.

    A good B. W. standard. Our room was spacious and clean. Parking was great even though the hotel was very full. Short easy walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stop and resting place on the way to Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was big enough for a two seater table and chairs. That would have been nice instead of the desk and office chair

    Room was large. Good insulation - I did not hear any neighbor noise at all. Generous with towels and coffee supplies. Liked the refrigerator and microwave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Okay, but no 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 2+ weeks on the road and 7 hotels, the little things become really important. A lot of little crappy things.. only one tiny wastebasket, when needing to sit while using the bathroom a choice of knees again the closed door or open door without toilet paper, outdoor entrance with multiple floors and no elevator, confusing explanation of Best Western Rewards, useless soap dishes.

    Close to Yosemite. Excellent hot breakfast!! Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice...would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a used washcloth hanging on showerhead...missed by housekeeping

    Dylan was exceptional. He went above and beyond...gave us directions to places and booked reservations for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Best Western in Mariposa (Yosemite)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We found 1 empty plastic bottle and one used tissue under the skirt of one of our beds when we checked in - Window could not be opened and the air in the room was warm and "stuffy" - Room decoration is a symphony of brown, kakhi and bordeaux - which would be ok if the hotel "felt" super clean, - but it doesn't - The pool was closed for renovation when we were there (April 2018) - Breakfast is copious but of poor quality

    - Good location (Mariposa is a nice little town with a few good restaurants) - Beds were OK - Price per night was OK

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like mold, the bed was also old, the sheets were too thin, and the walls were thin and you could hear the other rooms

    Not so far from the Yosemite Valley

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value, clean & comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was a no go zone. Too many people for the space on offer.

    Good value, clean rooms. That’s all I wanted from this stop off for Yosemite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lacking the food that was suppose to be there two days in a row. The tv remote didnt work

    I liked that the person at the desk was receptive and listened to my complaints and gave us a discount because of the lack of food two days in a row. Not all hotels would have done that. The desk people were good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Watch out for this nightmare hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch out for this nightmare hotel. Despite Booking description that says it doesn't happen they pre-authorise your card for the whole amount one day before arrival. They they charge the whole amount again. The first money returns to you in exactly 14 days. Of course, they don't tell you that. They also don't react for Booking inquries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.5
    Decent room in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited but food was good albeit spoiled with disposable cutlery. This facility really is a motel and not a hotel but we were very comfortable with the accommodation.

    Location of hotel in town, accommodation basic but well located for Yosemite. Free Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, all people I talked to in the hotel were really nice, the place was clean and complementary breakfast was excellent, loved the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to spend the night before going into Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was difficult to use. Wifi was pretty slow.

    Friendly faces everywhere, humble folks without temptation. Ample parking, day or night, people spouting, "Howdy, neighbor!"

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big chink under door, virtually non-existent blankets (in Yosemite!), cold restroom. If you turn on the AC to warm up it becomes stuffy very quickly.

    Early check-in, good breakfast, friendly staff. Convenient location with many facilities in walking distance, quiet, parking under window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was located at the centre of Mariposa with bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was located at the centre of Mariposa with bars and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff were nice and courteous. The breakfast was filling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in bed. Wish they had blankets - only had a sheet and a thin cover.

    The lady that checked us in was lovely, very friendly and informative. She even gave us free chips. The young man that works in the breakfast room, Lars, was great, too. Friendly and hard working. The rooms were spotless and spacious. Great location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Claire, at reception was really good to us at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Claire, at reception was really good to us at check in. Great, friendly disposition and good old genuine human contact which we have found to be mostly missing at hotels we have stayed in over the past three weeks in the USA. She provided valuable information on Yosemite and an excellent recommendation for dinner at a great restaurant within a short walk from the property. Thanks Claire.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub wasn’t open. Even in the winter it’s nice after hiking to have it available.

    The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a bonus with scrambled eggs and sausage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant motel if you are visiting the park for 2-3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many guests dine for the free breakfast.

    great location if you are driving to the Yosemite. Facilities are good, the staffs are really friendly, walking distance to a nice small town to hang around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.8
    Lesson learnt don’t stay more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception were unhelpful, the beds were hard and getting an extra blanket was difficult, the breakfast was just ok, I would only recommend one night sadly we booked 3! We won’t be back

    It’s closeness to Yosemite on a thanksgiving weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall not much negative to say, if I want to be picky the hotel is by the main road and can be noisy, but in this area I saw hotels by the main road everywhere. If you're sensitive to noise ask for a room facing the back side.

    The room was clean and comfortable. We were happy to see a microwave and a fridge in the room. The bathroom was in good condition. The make-your-own-waffle was fun at breakfast. The heater/AC worked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Great Location, Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location in lovely quaint Mariposa. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and the room facilities were great, just what you would expect from a Best Western. The breakfast was really good, simple but lots of choice. A very comfortable stay for our trip to Yosemite. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay, but the selection of food was not very wide.

    Nice room. Lots of space. Parking lot in front of the hotel (more a motel feeling but it was fine). Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    A great holiday with the only black spot being - where did we stay?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Faceless management. Breakfast staff virtually uncommunicative and surely wishing they worked elsewhere. Breakfast is served in a remote building far away from reception and management and, therefore, supervision - it shows.

    Good room, excellent cleanliness, most comfortable bed. Quiet & uninterrupted stay. Easy walking distance to lots of restaurants. About an hour's drive to Yosemite, but glorious views in every direction. As always most Americans please to meet us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Good place to sleep over on your Yosemite adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was terrible it didn't work on our floor so I had to do all my work outside in the late night. Rooms were little dark and dusty. We stayed at the way nicer BW Plus during our California road trip.

    Mariposa is a nice little town just at the gates of Yosemite Park. Hotel is in a walking distance from bars, shops and grocery store. Laides who worked at the desk were super accomodating and really friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    The proximity to Yosemite NP was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else! Filthy carpet, filthy bed, filthy covers, - it was one of those stays you just have to live through.

    The proximity to Yosemite NP was very convenient. Good restaurants in walking distance. The hotel was (just) acceptable. Given the bad choices in Mariposa this Best Western was the lesser evil of all places to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    You are still just close enough to Yosemite for a day trip while not paying a great amount for your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eventhough you are on the edge of the Yosemite National Forest its still a 40 minute drive to the park entrance.

    Its located in a nice little town with shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First we got a room that has not been clean and we had to change to another. The frigde of the second room was disconnected and had some mold inside. I think that for the price of the hotel this is unacceptable.

    Rooms with big beds, TV, Fridge and coffee with modern look like the pictures. Breakfast with sweet and salty offer. Savoury's Restaurant in Mariposa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Check in staff were very friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in staff were very friendly and nice. Functional room, plenty of space, not the most modern of decor but the bed was comfy, everything worked and it was clean. Nice town with plenty of places to eat and a good point to explore Yosemite from (about 45 minutes away on a scenic drive). Although we didn't use them a proper sized fridge and microwave in the room might be a welcome addition to other guests. We stayed in one of the rooms at the back of the property and it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    A quite reasonable place for a one night transit stop en route to next destination.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee making facilities in the rooms are inadequate and no proper cups or mugs were provided, so had to drink out of paper cups. The breakfast was pretty ordinary and we had to eat on paper plates using plastic knives and forks etc.

    The location was quite convenient, only a short walk up to the town centre. The rooms were quite spacious and comfortable. The parking was easy and close enough to the rooms. Even though the hotel is on a busy route, you could not hear the traffic in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and reasonably close to Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so had to carry heavy suitcase upstairs

    Size of double queen room, the room was very well cleaned. Hotel was near pub, cafe restaurants. Visitor centre at opposite end of Mariposa was very helpful. Car parking area was large. Breakfast was included in price and was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Ta hotel to match a highlight of our touring by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel suited us down to the ground. And what an area to visit. Mariposa has a 'wild west', 'gold rush feel to its main street. Excellent museum and lots of places to eat. Yosemite National Park was less than an hour away and has to have some of the most spectacular landscape features we've ever seen. All the US National Parks are fantastic.

    It's location in Mariposa and the easy access to YARTS buses into Yosemite. Motel format. Great room. Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    A friendly hotel in charming Mariposa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was closed although the website had said it would be open until the end of September. This was a disappointment as the weather was hot and sunny while we were there. Also the hot tub, although officially open, didn't look very clean so we didn't risk trying it.

    We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. We arrived late after some problems in the Park and the greeting on reception was great. We were instantly made to feel very welcome. The location in Mariposa is good with many restaurants within walking distance. We had a very nice meal at Restaurant 1850.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    This was an excellent motel. We were very happy with our choice. It's located on the road to Yosemit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all

    This is a first class facility. Clean, nice furniture well maintained everywhere. We received a ground floor room as we requested. Nice Frig and microwave. Desk clerk very friendly. Small shopping center across the street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Good stopping spot 1 hour outside of Yosemite Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were stiff.

    It is very expensive to stay in the park so this town is a popular place to stop just outside, as such they can charge a bit more than comparable places in other towns and you are still saving money compared to Yosemite. Wifi in this whole region of CA is spotty at best so we were glad to get it even if it was slow. Continental breakfast is included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location, shame about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what you get, this hotel is overpriced. The rooms are in need of an upgrade and open directly on to the car park. Ours was on the ground floor meaning we had no privacy and so had to keep the curtains closed and be careful about when we opened the door. I've had problems with the provision of safes in other Best Western hotels and it appears to be their policy to pay lip service to this important area of service. They do have safe deposit boxes for guests but they are both narrow and shallow and are only good for the likes of keys and passports. Not only that, they are kept at reception making them inconvenient. I would definitely stay in Mariposa again but would definitely look for a different hotel.

    Mariposa is an interesting town born out of the gold rush. It has many good dining and shopping options as well as many places to visit, not to mention the friendly locals. If you don't mind driving (we consider it an integral part of our holidays) the routes to Yosemite and other places are more than rewarding. All of this means the hotel is in an excellent location. The included breakfast is plentiful but very basic and the cooked options are poor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Good enough for a short stay but not great value for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above, sorry put in wrong box

    Breakfast options were very poor. Organization was terrible with too many people milling around. There was spilt food on the floor, milk and rubbish all over the counter. So bad we paid to go elsewhere for the second day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A good hotel in a great little town which is a great base for exploring Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little more choice at breakfast would have been appreciated but it was adequate and in line with what one would expect for a BW.

    We used this hotel as a base for exploring Yosemite National Park, the drive into the park takes around 45 minutes but the scenery is so spectacular this was no problem at all. The hotel is well situated and there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. We had a good sized room, slightly dated but very clean with a comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on local attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    The location was close to Yosemite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was horrible!!! We arrived quite late. We called to let them know that we were arriving late. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk. When we got to our room, we discovered someone's underwear in the sheets!!! When I told the font desk staff, they gave us sheets to change ourselves! After a 10 hour drive!!!! There was also a problem with the billing. They double charged for the entire stay. The manager never addressed the underwear issue. We checked out a day early because we were so dissatisfied. Upon checking out - there was no one at the front desk AGAIN!

    The location was close to Yosemite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    Yosemite gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing CA140 are too loud! Every vehicle passing the hotel seemed to pass directly through the room. Staff does not want to give us a different room

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and management could be more welcoming.

    Very unpleasant and uncomfortable experience; not even a good night sleep. The breakfast was very substandard. The manager very arrogant with extremely poor attitude for those different looking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Happy with our stay. No problems. Very comfortable and what we would expect from a Best Western Plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location right outside of Yosemite. Room was very clean and nice. No issues at all. Staff was very cool and helpful with questions about the area. The price was right and availability was there for a last minute booking. Also, Mariposa turned out to be a cool little (tiny) town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.2
    If it weren't for Yosemite nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were ok. Nothing special. I'd expect more of Best Western plus. The spa had foul-smelling water (which made our swimming suits stink even after thoroughly washed). Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a pretty town surrounded by Nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needed a bit more time spent on its cleaning. The carpet was not vacuum cleaned and there were left overs from previous guests on the floor. Everything in the hotel was in plastic. There should be an Environmental Policy in practice. Plates, cups, forks, knifes, spoons, everything was plastic and disposable. The amount of rubbish (garbage) produced on a daily basis is criminal! It should lead by example in its environmental policy and protection of Nature. Being so near to the most amazing North-American National Park, how is it possible that in 2017 this is current practice?

    The location in a pretty town. The room was comfortable and there was good noise isolation. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Great base for exploring Yosemite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor rooms were a bit dark.

    Very well placed for access to Yosemite and a nice location in Mariposa close to a good selection of restaurants. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice pool. Laundry facilities useful on a long trip. Rooms large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value property for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was one staff lady who was a bit short - we had asked breakfast times and instead of just telling us she said to look at our key card it was on there. Well it wasn't so was a hassle to find out just the breakfast timing.

    Good location for walking the area. The BART is just a few driving minutes down the road and taking that to Yosemite was amazing - recommend that over driving self.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Handy to national park and Mariposa is an attractive town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best Western payment system needs upgrading to cater for overseas debit cards. Desk staff were incapable of sorting out a problem. Breakfast was poor. Staff seemed disinterested and were slow to replenish food after large influx of guests

    Handy to national park and Mariposa is an attractive town

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: