Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Commonwealth 5 stars

500 Commonwealth Avenue, Fenway Kenmore, Boston, MA 02215, USA

#3 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1454 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Centrally-located and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service quality could’ve been better. The food was relatively bland, and the coffee mediocre; I expected more for the price.

    The Commonwealth was a very nice hotel in a centrally located area. The staff were friendly and available, and room service was delivered promptly. In general, they did the little things that turn a good stay into a great one (for example, delivering both the NYTimes and the Boston Globe in the morning upon request).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced due to location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far below standard for a room in the price range, we ended up taking luke warm showers and when we informed the checkout clerk we got "did you let us know earlier so we could try and fix it?" what?.... If you really need something close to fenway and are willing to pay double - pick this place, otherwise stay somewhere else.

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Bartenders in ES and Oyster bar were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (ordered omelet) was ok, but not as good as I had expected for the price and the home fries were only lukewarm. Wish I had ordered French toast like table next to us...looked delicious

    Bartenders in ES and Oyster bar were fantastic. All staff at hotel very helpful and pleasant. Fenway room view great...walk to Fenway easy. Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    It was definitely one of the best vacations of my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website is not exactly accurate with the pictures. It appears there is a lounge that looks over Fenway Park. I was disappointed to find that did not exist. It is a sitting area that is only used for private parties.

    Location was PERFECT. The beds were so comfortable. The restaurants were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for 4 people. Just a short walk to Fenway Park. Close to restaurants and bars. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    1st class experience right in the middle of things!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the very beginning from leaving vehicle with valet to dealing with front desk the service and professionalism was 2nd to none. The room was beyond expectations and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very friendly, and were able to provide excellent information about the local area. The hotel location was excellent, with transport links by bus or subway right outside the door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel to families with older children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had constant problems with the shower.... Water was always freezing and took a long time to run to hot enough to use.

    We were a family of 5. Booked a deluxe double room and requested a roll away bed. We had lots of space.... Rooms are really big and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    In a buzzing area, great for Red Sox fans and ease of access to downtown Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have liked to be able to get a coffee and maybe a snack in the reception area.

    The welcome greeting was friendly, the view of Fenway Park from the room was great and the restaurant was outstanding. Used for breakfast, great choice and great food and dinner equally good. Nice outside seating area and easy walk downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is spacious and comfortable, and right across the...
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were too busy to be able to stay another night!

    The hotel is spacious and comfortable, and right across the street from Fenway Park. Room service was prompt and very courteous. The valets and door attendants were friendly and welcoming. Front desk staff was helpful and resourceful, upgrading our room upon our early arrival and later capably correcting what turned out to be a minor booking error at checkout. Would we book this hotel again? Without question!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall the location is great- close to Fenway and easy to get to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed there was no ice machine or ice bucket in room. Had to call housekeeping or room service in order to get it.

    Great staff and the beds were super comfy. The location is great as it’s right next to the Kenmore station subway stop, so very convenient and cheap to get downtown. If you want to walk it , will take about 50 mins.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check-out fee is very high.

    Clean! Location is good. Very comfortable rooms. Bathroom and shower is great. Staff is kind and polite. My second stay in this hotel and like it even more now.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Back Bay Boston Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't expect the parking rate to be so high but it is a big city parking rate so I shouldn't be so surprised.

    This hotel is centrally located to Fenway, Boston University and only a few blocks from Newbury Street. There are a lot of surrounding restaurants and shops. Easy to walk to places and the T stop is close by. The fitness room was great and all equipment seemed in working order.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Our stay was great. The curbside valet is alittle rough. Be oragnized when arriving on that busy street.

    Staff were very friendly. View of Fenway was nice. Loved the baseball elevator.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Hotel Commonwealth Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was outstanding, helpful, courteous and very kind to my 12 year old nephew who is a major baseball fan. The rooms are nicely laid out and immaculate!! I come in every year for a Red Sox game and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    It was close to Boston Children’s Hospital (our reason for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had more pillows, firmer pillows

    It was close to Boston Children’s Hospital (our reason for coming to Boston), the price was right and the amenities were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice trip to Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The view of Fenway wasn't great.

    The property was across the freeway from Fenway, and although we could see Fenway from our hotel room, it was only visible if you walked up to the window and peered to the right. That said, the hotel was decorated with baseball and Red Sox memorabilia. Definitely a baseball experience and easy to walk to the park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise very early in the morning from some work being done, hammering and drilling. We were told it was from an adjacent property not the hotel’s.

    Location is great. The hotel rooms are very roomy and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    It was an awesome hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet parking at 50.00

    The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The room is a good size and very clean, the bathroom was beautiful and by far the best shower I have had in a hotel. Bed is super comfortable. Room has a fridge but no coffee maker or microwave. Hotel was spotless. Great Staff, super nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel did not manage well the check-in.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not manage well the check-in. I informed the reception my roommates we're seeing before me to guarantee them the room access but the hotel didn't take in consideration that. My roommates had issues in accessing the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Very clean and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything at night. Maybe bring earplugs.

    Very clean and close to everything. You can walk or take a quick uber ride to just about anywhere in the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Our check in clerk - Seth (?) was extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing was not perfect.

    Our check in clerk - Seth (?) was extremely helpful and polite. I had mixed up the reservations and he was so patient. Also, he left a gift in our room for my husband's birthday which was really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, TERRIBLE staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not great, particularly Katrina. There was an issue with our booking & she was not the least bit helpful or accommodating! I had to call Booking.com to get it straightened out. The valet attendants were terrible, too!

    Location to Fenway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Close to everything and an exceptional value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was lovely. Very comfortable and really well priced. It was so close to Fenway and I walked to the Boston Common etc. Parking seems expensive until you price it elsewhere - and they were really fast to bring the car around when we needed it. Lovely art all around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A league of extraordinary gentlemen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not find more of vegetarian, vegan options for food. And a pair of room slippers were not available.

    The management staff, the concierge department, the accounting management were extremely efficient, courteous and very very helpful. Very capable leader(manager) with extraordinary team.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Love it for the proximity to Fenway Park and Eastern Standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The highway noise in the Fenway Park-facing room. While there is sound proofing, I could still hear the road noise from the turnpike below. Not a surprise for the city, but I was looking for and expected more of an oasis from city noise. The staff generously moved us to a room on the Kenmore square side of the hotel. The room was larger than the original, but it felt like a step down. An older room, the entry lights flickered and paint was peeling above the shower/tub combo.

    The location and direct access to Eastern Standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, conveniently located and would definitely recommend Hotel Commonwealth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms do not come equipped with a coffee maker. It is available upon request.

    This hotel is a short walk to Fenway, House of Blues and the Green Line (Subway). With Dunkin Donuts, 7-11, Starbucks literally right next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We had a great time and would stay at the Commonwealth again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect, .

    The staff was very professional and helpful. I especially appreciated the 12PM checkout. We had a room with 2 queen beds and the room was very large. I did not feel cramped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel at the right address
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is lovely, although appeared slightly worn compared to our stay a year earlier. My only real complaint was that toiletries--in particular soap--were not refreshed daily, even after I left a note requseting more soap.

    Front desk staff are very helpful. The attached restaurants are both great. Great location to Fenway and nice walk to Newbury Street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    price was cheap, but yeah now I know why .
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No bar in lobby, No regular doormen, only valet parking attendants, had to take our own bags up in to hotel.

    price was cheap, but yeah now I know why ... room was good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Restaurant issues marred the trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adjoining restaurant Oyster Bar (which I understand is affiliated but is where you are directed for dinner) is smart but during dinner a cockroach crawled over my plate 😳 the hotels response was just to say that they weren’t responsible.

    Superb room and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and really nice hotel. For the price, I wished they could have had breakfast. But overall really enjoyed the stay. Great location to Fenway Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel,great location,good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy which I think was due to being placed next to electrical room. Constant humming. No tea or coffee making facilities.

    Location was good,staff were very friendly and helpful. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING! The location, cleanliness and beauty of the hotel keep us coming back every year. Nick, the guest manager, is magnificent! Wonderful personality and knows the ins one outs of Boston! He is a great asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Boston University graduation Thursday to Saturday stay - 2 rooms, 2 nights, $2000+.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee is not optional. I saw that coffee makers were available upon request, but who knows this until it is too late? Put a coffee station in the lobby! There is a Dunkin Donuts close by, but it would have been nice to grab a cup of coffee in the lobby while we waited for everyone to gather. Instead I was sitting on orange plastic chairs in the Dunkin Donuts while waiting for my crew.

    Very clean and comfortable. Good security after the Red Sox game. Employees were stationed in the hallways to keep an eye on things. Nice location. Housekeeping was great - always around, very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location. You pay for the name and location, nothing special about the room, but paid $500
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for valet, and if it's busy with traffic and your not familiar with the area, you will miss it and have to drive around and wait for a spot( was 2 cars for valet and taxis took up the rest)

    The hotel itself was nice, just the room wasn't worth 500.00. the location near where our concert was, was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The location is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of Fenway turns out to be mainly a view of the freeway.

    The location is fabulous. Right near the T and easy to walk to stores and restaurants The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Excellent bed and shower!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location but not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The actual room itself needs updating. The carpet was shabby, the furniture had moderate wear and tear, and the air conditioner rattled all night. The view of Fenway was really a view of a noisy interstate and the back of the park... I thought the top floor would be high enough to see the field.

    The staff were quite friendly. The bathroom was great-- huge shower, nice water pressure, really nice hotel toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    It was pretty good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I usually don’t complain about much because I’m not picky however, the pillows are wayyy too soft. Also, I was promised an upgrade to my room but when I checked in. I was told they’re all booked. Aside from that I really enjoyed my stay.

    I loved how attentive the staff was. I asked to warm up my leftovers and I received a microwave. I asked where the ice machines weren’t located and I received ice from room service within 15 mins. (They do not have ice machines b/c it’s too much of a disturbance for guest). Extremely quiet hotel and the bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location in Kenmore! Very Clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee makers or tea. I sometimes just wanted hot water and it was inconvenient that I had to go to Starbucks next door all the time. Also the fridge in my room kept making noise every few hours. Initially I thought it was my neighbor but it wasn’t and the noise woke me up the first night. The lobby is on the 2nd floor and as you enter the building you need to take stairs to get to the lobby and then the elevator from the 2nd floor to your room. It wasn’t a big deal for me but some people will not like that.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very near to the green line station and bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to control the air condition, want to get heat but keep cool and noise

    Great location, very near to the green line station and bus station. Staff is helpful. Room is big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ongoing noise from ventilation and vibrations from mechanical room / electrical unit. Bad noise insulation towards hallway. Staff: fairly inflexible (no room change possible, nor engineer sent after noise complaint, not honoring OTA (genius) perks (late check out 2 hrs.)). For an additional 30 mins (2 pm instead of 1.30 pm) wanted to charge half day room rate ....

    Good, generous room size and location. Updated interior design and furnishings. Great location. Good value. Great breakfast place (Eastern Standard)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    The location was great for the Boston marathon and the staff...
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey for the room, but I guess that’s how Marathon weekend is.

    The location was great for the Boston marathon and the staff was great too. Our food at Oysters was awesome. Our meal at Eastern Standards was okay, but not great food wise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Location great, restaurants by hotel good, price of room too high for what you receive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think they need improvement in the hot water. Every time I took a shower the water was Luke warm to cool. After running marathon - the water was still warm, not hot and never got hotter the longer it was running.

    Location was great. Do not think that the cost of the hotel was worth the stay for what they offered.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was a great location and the restaurants were delicious. It was a bit pricey for us but we
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bumbs hanging out in front of the T station and a few of the stores on the block brought city characters.

    It was so easy to get to Fenway park! Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel and staff, slightly expensive for what you're getting.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt like there should be a little more value for how much the room costs. Maybe include parking in the room rate instead of charging 50 per night. Just a few things to add some value would be nice. It was an slightly above average hotel for a premium price.

    The facilities in the hotel were fine. The restaurants and bars attached to the hotel were very nice. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.0
    Bilateral injured and painful knees from a fall on the bathroom floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I fell down on the slippery polished marble floor of the bathroom landing hard on both knees resulting in a large amount of bilateral prepatellar soft tissue swelling and skin bleeding, but no fracture. I will reserve an ADA compliant room for any future visits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A Boston tradition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think there should be coffee in the lobby in the mornings. That's my only complaint and it's a small one (the restaurant, Eastern Standard, doesn't open until 7:00 but there is a Starbucks next door which opens earlier).

    Red Sox Opening Day at the Commonwealth has become a family tradition. Terrific hotel a couple of blocks from Fenway. Spacious room, first rate staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, close to Fenway and the T. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the Fenway side, you can hear the dull noise of the traffic, but it's not too distracting. A kettle with tea and coffee would have been welcome in the room.

    I loved the whole vibe of the hotel, modern without being cold and impersonal. We were lucky enough to get a Fenway view, if possible I would recommend staying this side of the hotel. The Hawthorne bar was excellent, great food, drinks and vibe!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay for a visit to Boston University
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one towel hook. But it's the same story in every hotel.

    We were offered a Green Special. Forego housekeeping services for a night and receive Free Premium WiFi in exchange! Also you will not be charged for housekeeping so you save money. You can still call down for extra soap, shampoo, towels, etc. Loved the Keurig coffee and tea machine they offered us. A member of our family has severe food allergies so housekeeping brought us a very clean microwave. Nice rooms, big table with 2 comfy large dining chairs + 2 comfy reading chairs. Every staff member was friendly, professional and eager to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Sorry that they didn't have newspapers available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    see above

    Sorry that they didn't have newspapers available. A total miss. And no morning coffee service. As well-- having just come from NYC Hotel Elysee- where there was morning and evening food and drinks as part of the rate-- well, we got spoiled. Coffee, tea, wine and newspapers are a must !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall very nice. Good location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All 3 bars were very busy so could not get a seat until the last night at the Eastern Standard bar. No residents bar as such for residents. No coffee facilities in the room we had to request same to be sent up to us. Also we had to ask twice for additional toiletries for the shower. We were not advised in advance of the extra $100 per night charge for incidentals which will be credited back eventually we were told later when we called to question the additional charges.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Junior suite was a very nice room. Good location. On the subway line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    I have stayed here many times and it is the only place I...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I have stayed here many times and it is the only place I would sray in Boston. The hotel is beautiful, the beds are fantastic and they value repeat customers. The atmosphere is happy and there isn’t anything they wouldn’t do to make the guests more comfortable! Best ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. That was what impacted me the most.I did not expect unfrienly people when I got there, except for a nice blond lady in the front desk (sorry dont remember the name)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    It met our expectations quite well for our short stay.!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were down so low in the bathroom. I thought if I was older or had a back issue, it is quite low to bend down to get them. Other than that, every thing was very crisp and clean!

    The bed and pillows were so very comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and chic for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the lighting in the bathroom had been a bit brighter around the mirror.

    Breakfast was delicious and was delivered to our room promptly when asked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Will Return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A family was letting their child use the hallway as a running track for about 2 hours. They left their door open and the hallway was part of their extended room, so they thought. Just don't understand parents like this. I have 2 kids of my own and would never allow them to disturb the experience of other paying customers. Also, there is a photo studio on the lower level of the Hotel, which was directly below our room as well as about 10 others. Sounded like they were doing construction IN OUR ROOM at about 10:30am on a Saturday morning. Once we alerted Hotel management, they took care of the situation immediately.

    Front desk always wonderful, AJ & Devyn were polite, friendly and helpful. Love the restaurant, I think Eastern Standard, that is directly attached to Hotel. Great food, bar area and atmosphere. Starbucks literally right next door on lower level. Hotel located right in Kenmore Square, easily accessible to everything, yet everything right at door step if you don't want to venture out all the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend this hotel, and plan to return myself
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New mattress would be my only recommendation, if wasn't awful, but could have been better.

    Staff were friendly, helpful. Room was amazing. Restaurants were top notch. Close to BU, Fenway and so much more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice distraction after evacuation from the South Shore Nor'Easter!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Facing Fenway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I had asked for a handicapped accessible room. It was difficult for my mom to shower with no bars.

    My 91 y.o. mother raved about the pillows and how "immaculate" the hotel was. The staff were so professional and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s simply a magnificent hotel. The staff was fantastic and extraordinarily helpful, the room was beautiful, restaurants excellent. Not a single thing I would improve upon. We’ll be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Done with Commonwealth—too many choices where I can actually sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy — on what is euphemistically called the “Fenway” side, my 4th floor room was directly over both freeway and train. Sleep was limited by all the traffic noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Not what it looks like - rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big, noisy, impersonal, with rude staff. Paid for a junior suite but an extra charge for a roll-away bed was made. We could never turn the heat/aircon off - no one was ever sent to solve the problem so the room was either too hot or too cold. Requested a 1 hour late check out and was denied.

    The hotel has a great restaurant....attached to it - in which the hotel can not get you a booking ever.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Lovely venue and ideal for visits to Boston University!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was terrific, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful. The lobby was convenient for visiting, the location ideal and the restaurant attached was super. It was a perfect stay! thanks!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Quite pleasant. Room was very confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew to ask for coffee maker and so we did. But this should more clearly explained for others. Fire alarm went off one night. Thankfuly turned out to be false alarm. But process of informing those waiting in lobby to return to room that alarm was clear and safe to return was not clearly or well handled. More training needed. Nice lobby- but would be nice to have coffee or snacks available to sit and enjoy.

    Received an unrequested complimentary upgrade-Very nice. Staff was helpful and friendly. Always smiles. Convenient to the T and Back Bay. Good restaurants in building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    If you want a real Boston experience, hotel Commonwealth is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a real Boston experience, hotel Commonwealth is for you. Nestled into Kenmore Square, this hotel is near everything and right next door to Fenway Park. Our stay was a home run!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Huge room with a cute design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking was VERY expensive but there aren’t any other parking options. I wish it had been more clear on the website.

    Huge room with a cute design. Beds are crazy comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious, with very comfortable beds. We were given an upgrade to a suite which was fantastic. I can not fault any aspect of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super clean! Friendly, informative staff and in a great location! I left something at the hotel, and the staff was responsive and professional in returning it to me. I will definitely stay here again when in Boston.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Bed was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really nice. I did exspect a little bit nicer room for what I paid, but the view was amazing so that made up fir everything. Also, There was only on bath robe in a two guest room. Definitely could have used two, but it didnt stop me from having an amazing time!

    Bed was awesome. When I arrived I had been having some shoulder pain, one night sleeping on the bed at HC and it was gone! Also, I wasn't meeting friends until later than I had exspected and was able to change my checkout time to later that day!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellcent, 3 min walk to House of Blues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, there isn't a single thing we don't love!

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the suite was a large room with a private bathroom off of the shower room. Very nice. The staff were excellent, the valet service was superb and the breakfast in the room the next morning was excellent! This is the perfect location for some one staying in town to see a show at the House of Blues. It is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and we stay here every time we come!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    A luxurious hotel with all the amenities a traveler might desire in Kenmore Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like!

    We liked the expedient valet, the personable and efficient reservation attendants and the very clean and comfortable beds. The spaciousness of the room was wonderful too. Also, the clean aroma upon entrance made us feel comfortable and relaxed. We dined at the Eastern, Island Creek and at the Hawthorne. Each had just the type of ambiance we were looking for in our dining experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Really Accommodating!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drain in the shower was a little slow and I was told that there was Chromecast on the TV, but I was unable to locate it. Overall, nothing too bad, just some mild inconveniences.

    When I checked into the hotel late at night, they sent me to a room that was unmade (towels on the floor, bedsheets on the couch, used cups, etc), but when I complained they promptly upgraded me to a room that was twice the size and wrote me a kind email apologizing for any inconvenience. Other bonuses: complimentary keurig upon request, gave me a free toothbrush since I left mine at home, great water pressure for the shower, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    I would have liked a warning about the noise/traffic,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fenway King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a warning about the noise/traffic, because it was difficult to sleep with the location of the room above the highway. Had I known it would have been so disruptive, I would have requested a higher floor or chose a different room type.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Convenient location with attractive and clean facilities and great staff.
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were warm and welcoming upon arrival. Willing to take the time to talk about things in the surrounding area and offer recommendations. Proactively offered to arrange transportation for the next day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location and bigger room size
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Commonwealth View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old interior design, so far safe because in great location and bigger size of the room. Facility is consider as 3 star hotel worldwide

    Location & Room Size is amazing. The facility is decent, the lobby is less than expected since its old and need to refresh to be more cheerful & colorful. The furniture consider old model. The front staff is kind but the housekeeping need more training to be more cheer up.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: