Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harvard Square Hotel 3 stars

110 Mount Auburn Street, Harvard Square, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA

#16 of 17 hotels in Cambridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.1
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is quite small and the carpet not really cleaned. The general problems with carpeting in the hotels is that it is almost impossible to properly clean an hygienized them and the final impression for customers is not really good. Unfortunately, still few hotels offer accommodations with wood or others, better to clean, floors. Stairs should definitely be renewed since there are very often used, considering that there is only one and not very fast elevator. They look too much like fire stairs (and as a matter of fact I believe that they make this service also). Not all staff has uniforms, so not really easy to identify them during the day, Space for hanging long clothes is very limited. Big long drawers is a nice thing, but their really weird limited depth makes them not really functional.

    Location, location, location. The closest hotel to Harvard Square. Definitely most affordable that the other next by, though the differences are consequently evident (we have been there as well) Free refreshments throughout the day. Comfortable bed and pillows. Nice modern furniture, even if not really easy to use. We appreciated the iron and the (small!) ironing table as well as the available umbrellas.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    No breakfast but free coffee and tea at the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We think it is expensive without breakfast.

    No breakfast but free coffee and tea at the lobby. The location was very good to reach to the shops and restaurants, the subway station and the university campus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    It is well located and was the main reason I chose it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room -120- is in need of significant repair. There were numerous big stains on carpet. Scuff marks on the furniture and a broken shelf over the sink need repair. The water pressure was so light and hot water was rare. Also. Please invest in some new televisions. If ur current TVs are HD it’s hard to tell.

    It is well located and was the main reason I chose it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Don’t carry heavy luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggage storage room and one has to step up three steps to get to the street from the elevator - not fun with heavy luggage. Also, the staff were kind of pushy about cabs and visibly not happy when I told I’d take Uber instead. Had I taken a cab, the luggage would have been easier to get out of the hotel (they have a cars only ramp in the front).

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced. You’re basically paying for location. Not enough parking spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there and there was no parking. We specifically chose this hotel because it had parking in Harvard square, but there were no parking spots left. Also the room was a lot smaller than expected. We paid about $300 including taxes. It’s a little overpriced for what you get.

    The location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but overpriced for the poor room facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apathetic front desk staff, small room with cheap ikea-type furnishings, no door on closet, moldy caulking in shower, loud old a/c unit, overpriced.

    The location is excellent for parents visiting Harvard students.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Uncleaned room, but location is perfect, comfy beds and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. The bathroom faucet sink had toothpaste spray all over, the night table was not wiped down from previous guests and the carpet looked like is hasn’t been cleaned in a decade.

    The location was a couple blocks away from Harvard which we liked and was convenient. Parking was available and close. The beds were super comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location but (no fault of the property) booking.com should not have misled us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Booking.com misrepresented the rooms. We are a family of 5 and were led to believe that the rooms were suitable for the size of family. The rooms just barely accommodate a family of four. After travelling over a long distance I was tired and had no choice but to get an additional small room. Not happy with booking.com on this one

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff had too few people on duty in the evenings and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff had too few people on duty in the evenings and it was hard to have requests granted in a timely manner because one person was dealing with multiple customers. The internet connection was far too slow. And for the prices you are charging (close to those offered at the Charles Hotel), these services should have been better, even if you cannot offer what the Charles does.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a great place to stay with the best location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Online check-out time was posted as 12:00. I emailed Booking.com the week prior and requested a check-out time of 1:00. I received an email from the hotel stating that I could have the 1:00 check out. When I checked in, they had no record of any request and said check-out was 11:30. I showed her the email that confirmed my late check-out and she asked who sent it to me. I said and showed her that the top of the email said, "Harvard Square Hotel." She kept saying they were fully booked. I decided not to argue and said it was fine. (She was pleasant through the entire exchange.) The next morning, at 6:30, I asked the man at the desk when check-out was and he said 11:00. I decided to tell him my story. He asked me to forward the email to him and also the online time that said 12:00. He printed it out and left a note for the staff that we could have a noon check-out. Parking is extremely tight if you have a larger car/SUV. Bathroom very tight space. Toilet paper dispenser broken so tp fell into the waste basket. Looked like someone used it to help them get off the toilet and broke the attachment to the wall.

    Absolutely the best location in Harvard Square. Fairly quiet for being right on the street. Night/early morning desk attendant was helpful and believed me when I said the check-out time was not the same as the online information and also that I had requested and been confirmed for a late check-out. Everyone was pleasant. Doors very heavy - felt secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    We stayed only one night but staff was very accomodating and our stay was great all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is modern and clean. The room clean and comfortable. We arrived earlier than check in allowed however we were able to park our car onsite while exploring the surrounding area and the front desk called us when our room was ready. The venue was a short 12 min walk from the hotel so the location was perfect and much closer than we had anticipated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Stayed there because the good hotel was fully booked. Hope to never stay there again.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, worn-out rooms, without any amenities — not even a safe. No closet, just a tiny space for a few hangers. Slow internet. No services. Slow elevator.

    Very nice desk staff and convenient parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Lack of breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of breakfast. The guy at the checkout counter was just too much. Didn't let you speak, and insisted on checking us out the moment we got out the lift. The shower is tiny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Super nice rooms, very clean, most of the staff very helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow my reservation got mixed up with double bed vs kind bed room and I had to check out the first two nights and leave my luggage downstairs, which was a bit unconvenient.

    Super nice rooms, very clean, most of the staff very helpful and all very friendly. Free coffee, which helps to get started :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent starting point for discovering Cambridge
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance could be a little more ergonomic, the indications on the parking clearer (you face one way as soon as up a steep ramp and it is not really evident while accessing a new environment).

    Parking, late chechout, flexibility in general, excellent king bed, room simple but functional, very good control of temperature and ventilation. The position is really outstanding, easy options for a variety of excellent breakfast options in the very near surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location terrible heating issue meant little sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More shelving in the bathroom is very needed. And my room was ridiculously hot hitting 85 degrees at one point. Wrench symbol on the screen. I had to shut it off. Next morning desk person said ac doesn’t come until May 1–told her that would be great to tell guests at check in. I literally slept a few moments both nights which is not ok while paying what I did.

    Location was great. Size of room was great for one. Decor is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, location, location and great staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, location, location and great staff! It Feels a little like a dormitory, so if you crave the lap of luxury, this isn't for you. But it's a friendly little get-away, right in the middle of Harvard Square. It's worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, there was some type of machine that click on and off every hour and when it was running was very noisy. The room was tiny and had no extras. There was hair in the bathroom floor and cleaning did bare minimum for cleaning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't too well appointed and the bathroom was tiny which is to be expected for a downtown city location.

    The location was fantastic. The lobby area was lovely and light-filled. Parking was convenient and a good value. The room was not luxurious but perfectly adequate. I liked that there were interior stairs making it easy to get around without waiting for elevators. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Trying to sleep in a factory
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinarily noisy air ventilation system that cannot be switched off individually in the room. It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a factory. Three nights without rest. Conciergery did not do anything when we complained. Totally absurd.

    Very convenient placement

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, convenient and cozy!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From parking to check-in everything was very easy and seamless. The hotel is very user friendly, compact and safe. Great location and staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Not elegant, but altogether satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not elegant, but altogether satisfactory. Excellent location, comfortable and clean. Room was spacious, with bedside reading lamps. It was at the far end of the corridor on the 3rd floor, nice and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    The location was great and the hotel was clean, but the room was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were small and missing blankets...only one bed had a warm comforter. Toilet did not flush and we had to move to another room.

    The location was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.4
    Location great, but will find an alternative next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was greeted at 11 am with a very dry - ‘I Am completely backed up, come back at 3 pm.’ I had taken a long flight to get to Boston, and instead of being greeted like ‘hi, I’m sorry I don’t have a room available yet. Feel free to use the lounge and freshen up’. No courtesy. I came back at 2:30 pm, to check if they had a room ready. They checked me in a room, and I go there with my luggage only to find out that it was completely in a mess, no housekeeping in sight, a lot of housekeeping equipment in the corridor. Then I knocked on another room, found the cleaning lady and asked her to clean the room. She called the front desk, and asked me to go to the reception again. They checked me in another room; and were apologetic about this saying that the system was not updated properly. I was quite annoyed at the time and effort wasted. They also do not have breakfast.

    Location is amazing, right at Harvard square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    A clean and well located hotel. But shower has low pressure, and the shower head is not adjustable.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Shower water pressure is low 2. Housekeeping was slow to clean the room during our stay, but rushed us to leave on the checkout day. 3. No free bottle water. 4. Pillows have no support.

    1. Room is clean 2. Has good well planned storage space 3. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice property. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Great location. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The cleaning staff was very loud in the morning. They would pound on peoples doors so loud it sounded like they were pounding on my door. -The vending only had water to drink. They already sell water down by coffee and tea area, then sell it again in vending. Soda vending would be great.

    Rooms were clean and modern. Location was within walking distance to everything in the Harvard community and the subway. Plenty of good food and drink in the area. Free coffee and tea in the lounge area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Extremely convenient location in Harvard Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water pressure in sink or shower. Bathroom showing it's age.

    Extremely convenient location in Harvard Square. King Room spacious enough, comfortable bed, plenty of outlets to charge electronics. Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and reasonable pricing offsets small room and minimalist facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room made for cramped quarters. One tiny elevator for entire hotel. TV was small and clunky to operate.

    Excellent location with on site parking. Friendly & helpful staff. Reasonable price for stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location, but not very pretty or inspiring hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit expensive for what it offers. The building and the rooms are uninspiring, quite "standard hotel decoration". Not a lot of character or style in this hotel. As it says on their own description, this hotel is about "location, location, location".

    The location is good, very close to Harvard square. The staff was very friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel a little disappointed that the hotel does not bring breakfast.

    I am very satisfied with the location of the hotel and the traffic is very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    I'll probably stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable, with a lovely view, and very clean. The staff was unfailingly upbeat, even though this was a holiday visit. They were also extremely helpful and kind. The complementary coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby was delicious and welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent all round place in Harvard. Stay here !
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault ... so I won’t even try

    The staff were outstanding ... room large and comfortable. Nice bathroom and great shower pressure contrary to the negative comments written on trip advisor. Excellent location,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.4
    Rude staff good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning broke down on the second night we were there. Instead high heat was coming out making the rooms and hallways over 100 degrees. The room was unbearable and we barely slept at all having a full day of work the next day. We called the front desk to complain and got an attitude of “I’m stuck with this heat too” from the employee. The only difference was that we were paying above market rates for a place to rest and sleep and were able to do neither. We asked for the manager as we checked out early the next day and the front desk wouldn’t give us the info. The hotel could have informed us of the situation by means of a note at least (we were gone for the day) came back to the hotel and left again. No notice at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location for what we needed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel was switched over from AC to heat so there was no AC. Had to discover this on my own after trying to get it to work and finally being told by front desk when I called to complain. was not told at check inHad to keep my window open which was noisey and let in food smells. Shower water pressure was very weak.

    Great location for what we needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall a nice stay. Overpriced and air conditioning not working was only two complaints. Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went when the row boat competition was happening, so everything was way overpriced. Also the air conditioning wasn’t working on the last night so that was miserable.

    Location was the best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    Over-priced, unclean and unprofessional outweighed the convenient location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. GROSSLY overpriced for the accommodations and service. Room was small and had an old, outdated and unclean feel. Dirty rug, scratchy thin towels, cheap furnishings and wall hangings that one would expect to find in a run-down motel on the interstate, not in a $420 per night hotel. Staff was unfriendly, unprofessional and uninformed. A scam; rates go up and down depending on demand. STAY AWAY.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, and would definitely choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like all hotels in the Boston area, the hotel is expensive for what it is. However, it was one of the best rates we could find in town when you need to find a room for a family of four (many hotels have rooms for 2, and we would have had to take 2 rooms in those). $35/day is a little pricey for parking, but I will say that it was very convenient.

    The location is absolutely unbeatable. You are in the heart of Harvard Square (this is convenient for Boston sightseeing as well as Cambridge, since the T subway station is right there). That said, it was not noisy at night, despite its central location. The rooms were simple but clean, tasteful and comfortable. There is coffee, tea and water in the lobby, and a bunch of good coffee shops nearby for breakfast (try Crema Cafe or Flour, or Starbucks if you want something familiar). I saw some complaints online about the lack of a/c and it not being adjustable in the room. I emailed ahead and confirmed that the a/c would be functioning in October, and it was adjustable in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    the criticisms are on side mattets, so, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one elevator, slow service at busy times. worn out carpets in corridors great stay!

    the location and the price/location ratio is excellent. metro station just a few steps away. a choice of different price restaurants and cafeterias closeby. friendly staff. rooms are clean. i definitely recommend the place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Unfortunate issues. That said, I believe the owner will make the changes!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had electrical outlets with bad face plates so they wouldnt hold cord. Shower took a long time for hot water. Small room- double us size for 1 person. Price. Parking charge is 40/night.

    Excellent location. Room design small but pretty. Owner was at front desk and very customer friendly. Terrific view of city square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Great but disappointed about the gym.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel advertises a gym but there is not one. You have to use the gym in the hotel across the street for an additional cost: $25 dollars per use. Not cool.

    The bed was extra comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    And the surrounding
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid never leave towels and toilet paper and facials tissue and I went twice to the concierge to ask them for it and I was leaving note too

    And the surrounding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    I had an excellent stay at Harvard Square Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room slippers were not available

    i liked many things about harvard square hotel 1. room environment, bed v comfortable n clean 2. room temperature was good 3. laundry service was very efficient 4. i liked 24 hrs coffee n tea service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    You are paying for location which is great. This is a trendy, but bare bones hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in summer and initially had a room with hvac problems and dead lights in the bathroom - at one point it was 85* F in the room...they did move us to an open handicap room which was better, but was right by the elevator and was extremely loud.

    Great location to Harvard Square and close walking distance to the university, restaurants and the river/waterfront. Staff is very accomodating. Parking is limited but right outside the hotel lobby and secure - check ahead if driving. They have 24 hr coffee sevice in lobby - no in-room coffee makers. Located right by a great cafe - Flour - open early and late on weekdays and normal hours 7-5 on weekends. Views from rooms were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    It was adequate. I stay there for the convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy room. I had to sleep with earplugs. Loud plumbing noises from other rooms and doors closing loudly in halls at early hours. Hotel shd find a way to fix plumbing and closing door noise. It's seriously disturbing.

    Staff was always prompt and helpful--all the ones I met, both desk and cleaning staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    There was no breakfast unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast! Especially for the price! But plenty of cafes nearby

    There was no breakfast unfortunately. The rooms were lovely, looked quite new. The bathroom had some design faults. Shower was a bit odd. Not much pressure and low, immobile shower head. Toilet roll holder at a strange place (being very niggly here...) There was a lovely receptionist. Very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Eco friendly Harvard Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uh.... honestly I can't think of a thing.

    Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Nice to have coffee/tea any time. The hotel is economical, no-frills but perfectly good and at least as good as I expected. Location can't be beat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel in the Middle of the Action at Harvard Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance people were using very loud equipment, but the work had to be sometime and they did wait until 8 a.m.

    Harvard Square Hotel is in a perfect location for very quick access to restaurants, shops, and the Harvard campus. Bonus is the Metro stop is across the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.0
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are you kidding?? There was nothing to like. A/c didn't work. The place smelled like mould. And the price was outrageous-- one star hotel at 4 star prices staff were very nice and apologetic. And embarrassed I would guess.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Loved the location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price seems to vary substantially throughout the year, and it seems like I paid more than others who have commented, but the location was fantastic. I loved having so many options right outside the door. Super easy to get to from the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful and we were able to check in early upon arrival.

    The beds were super comfy, but I chose this hotel due to its location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Great stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a continual drip, the sink didn't drain properly, and the A/C didn't cool enough. Other than that, which I was told the hotel will be renovated this year, the place was great.

    The location is excellent. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.6
    Excelent Location, awful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at checkin is fast but the attendant did not speak English fluently, with an accent that I could barely understand him. Another negative: the entrance door was not wide enough to get in the cart with large suitcases. I had to carry all the bags in my hand. Finally, on the first night, it was really hot (80oF) and the air conditioning did not work in the whole building. Dozens of customers were complaining. Unacceptable. I will never go back to this hotel again.

    Location is perfect for who wants to stay in Harvard Square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.8
    The location and person that checked us in were good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, dirty linens, heating and air conditioning did not work properly. The one and only elevator took too long because it is the size of a shoe box and their employees need to use it as well. The kicker was getting stuck on the elevator upon check out. We sounded the alarm and banged and called out for assistance and NOT ONE EMPLOYEE BOTHERED TO REPLY! WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!

    The location and person that checked us in were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.6
    We would not have booked a sleep-in sauna ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next year my husband and I will be running the Boston Marathon and we will stay over in Cambridge the night before. We will NOT be staying at the Harvard Square Hotel. The room was 80 to 82 degress all night because it was unseasonably warm and apparently the hotel could not switch from heat to A/C. As a result we did not sleep well. We would have switched to another local hotel featured on "Hotels Tonight" except HSH has a 2 day cancellation policy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    3.8
    I liked that it was a cool night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the staff was not forthcoming about the rooms not having working AC!!!

    I liked that it was a cool night. Cause the air conditioning did not work......and we were never told about it. We didn't know until we checked into our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    Not what we were expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!!!! The system they have works with the same temperature for the whole building, you can not change the temperature. They only change from winter settings to cooling on April 19. Our room was extremely hot, 84F on a very hot day outside!!!!!! They were very kind to change us to a lower floor where it was a little cooler, but even so we had to leave the window open with the curtains shut to try to avoid the heat.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.4
    Over priced hotel room in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are masking something with an incredible amount of air freshener. My family found it hard to breathe. The room are very hot. AC not turned on until a certain date

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot below building is filthy. The room didn't have air conditioning. I was really hot and uncomfortable sleeping even with fan they provided.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    too expensive for what you get
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom had no window or bath vent fan. major flaw. also, we got stuck 20 mins in a tiny elevator. the fireman got us out. if you need ti be in harvard square, the location is excellent. but the hotel itself is not worth the cost

    room was renovated and nice. updated. bathroom however did not have window or bath vent fan. major flaw!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.7
    The location is unbeatable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of towels was terrible - worse than any Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn. The lightbulb in the bathroom was so dim, it was too dark in the bathroom.

    The location is unbeatable. Morning coffee is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Location location
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom: water pressure was weak and towels were old. Bedroom area is smaller than comparable hotels.

    Location is great! It is easily accessible to restaurants (low to high price), public transportation and Harvard university campus. Great view of Harvard Square. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    2.9
    Perfect location for spending time at Harvard. Nice staff. Clean room. Good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallway noise is a little loud in the morning from maid service. It may be the acoustics of the hallway, but hard to sleep in at all.

    Great location. Nice room with a good bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    Great Location for a Clean, Professionally run, hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The rooms are straightforward and comfortable but not luxurious. Rooms are small. No room for sofas or other amenities. It is a standard, professional, clean place, with nice beds and good linen. You might pay $100/night for a similar place if it were in a suburban location, but you pay about $200 here. Why? It is right there in Harvard Sq. You can attend a meeting, walk back to your room, then go to a second meeting that starts an hour later. If you want the convenience, perfect. If you want "value" and you don't particularly need to have a nest right in the middle of Harvard Square, then you are paying for something you don't need.

    Nice, clean, professional room in an excellent location. Good Wi-fi. It was about $200 a night, almost solely because of its location right next to Harvard Square, the Harvard Yard, and the JFK School of Government. You pay for the location. It is a fair price--less than the Charles Hotel next door. Nice coffee bar downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    It Says it on the Notepad: "Location, Location, Location!"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IT was too expensive for no frills - no breakfast, nothing particular special about the room to warrant the price.

    The location was excellent. The parking was convenient and available (though for an additional fee). The check-in was efficient and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.3
    Love Hatvard Square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV is functional, but a bit dated. An upgrade would be a good idea.

    The room was comfortable and functional. Just what I need on my business trips. The fact that cooking facilities are provided is fantastic for a person like myself that suffers from a food allergy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not offer breakfast, the hotel does not even have a restaurant to serve food. They offer complimentary coffee and tea, though.

    Very close to the square. Simple, but comfortable, so great value for money. Hotels in Cambridge tend to be very expensive, but not the Harvard Square Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good hotel, friendly staff and ideal for Harvard Square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor complaint is the micro-ironing boards in every room. Never seen them in similar hotels and there's a good reason for that.

    I stay here regularly, due to the genuine friendliness of the staff and its location. In terms of price it's average for an over-priced area (Boston and Cambridge are ridiculously expensive for hotels) I've already booked my next stay here in January.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Sleek, comfy, friendly, centrally located in Cambridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning = open the window. Cool setting didn't work. Fortunately, in November, opening the window did.

    Sleek, comfy, friendly, centrally located in Cambridge. Perfect for participating in family weekend activities at Harvard.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    modest/reliable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance sign to hotel could be better. Taxi cab didn't know hotel and couldn't figure ou the entrance

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    receptionist st front desk was not friendly and late allowed...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    receptionist st front desk was not friendly and late allowed check in wscver inconvenient

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is great !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very bland and I think it’s a hotel for just necessity

    The location is great !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    ------
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very practical and pleasant hotel. Great location. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Parking was provided.

    ------

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Overnight parking for guests is not free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overnight parking for guests is not free

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    I liked the location near Harvard campus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled and parking was too tight.

    I liked the location near Harvard campus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    comfortable, clean, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking place too small

    comfortable, clean, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: