Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel 6 Canby Or 2 stars

463 S.W First Avenue, Canby, 97013, USA

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries, coffee, clock, hair dryer, tissues, door don't open past toilet shower head sprayed all out the shower soaking floor towel rack fell off under the counter. No ice or vending was avail. And the lady in the room next to us should invest in a gag or find a sock if shes going to have multiple visitors thru the night. And put a pillow between the bed n wall. Their thin. N it was great trying to explain to my 3yr old at 2 am why someones beating on the wall and moaning like shes giving birth to a 🐄.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron in room leaked water and the door to the bathroom could have been designed better ..opens the wrong way for space to get out the door.

    Comfy bed and nice tub. Clerk let us have an extra hour for check out and was nice about it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo supplied. I am realizing this may be the norm at Motel 6 properties....I have come to expect shampoo at more upscale establishments.

    Was allowed a 1 hour late check-out to accommodate my son’s schedule at a swim meet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to spend an extra 5 minutes defending the spelling of my first name (Stephen can also be spelled with a "ph" rather than a "V"). Yeah, THAT was a little strange. Breakfast was minimalist for sure but that would be fine if you would just refill the stuff you run out of halfway through the advertised breakfast period... it would be great (coffee, for example).

    Easy to find. Online reservation went smoothly enough. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything functioned well enough and the rooms were reasonably priced. I will use them again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing drains well, shower/tub filled with water up to ankles during 5 min shower.

    It was close to my activity for the stay, conveniently located on the main thoroughfare.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have noted, there are trains that pass nearby, but they did not bother us much.

    The Canby Inn suited our needs perfectly. We went to view the eclipse, and it was well situated. The staff was helpful and friendly, and even gave us a free eclipse map and approved eclipse viewing glasses. The room was clean, and we felt the beds were comfortable. There was a TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance. At this price point, we felt that we got full value for our money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    stayed over night and the room was very good and the bed was great, did not eat the breakfast in the morning so I don't much about how it was. I will stay here every time I come down to Canby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was rust and mold in the bathroom. The paint didn't match and there were random screw holes in the wall. The bathroom vent wasn't affixed properly and the ac was super loud and affixed tip the wall scarily. They also claimed they didn't recieve my booking the room wasnt clean when i arrived at 4 and the service was not very good. The continental breakfast consisted of a carton of Orange juice, a Danish and cereal. Breakfast was held in the office which was too small to eat in and had this really strong not good smell.

    The pillows were soft, the water was warm and there was cable on a new tv.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a couple (hopefully) rust stains on the bathtub mat, and the refrigerator was loud, but in the end, it was nothing that we couldn't deal with.

    This location is convenient and easy to get to. Good food just a short distance away, and close to local wedding venue and golf course. The staff was kind. I just wanted a no fuss place to crash while doing stuff for my friend's wedding, and this place worked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'so called' breakfast that was included was poor. We ate breakfast elsewhere. The Biscuit Café was excellent, by the way.

    Bed was okay. It was quiet and close to what we went down there to do. Will probably not stay there again, however. Will go to Wilsonville Quality Inn most likely next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of AC: blew stinky air.

    If the owners seemed happier, I could have looked past all of the negatives. I expected the woman at the front desk would smile and make me feel welcome, she did quite the opposite:( An older man did smile warmly as I was leaving though- that did make me feel a little better about my stay over all. Smiles go A LONG way! :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older facility, no Ice/Vending machines office closes early.

    Out for a Lacrosse tournament and the location in Canby was good. More of a mid length working facility than a family vacation location. Rooms were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a little up dating and a little more attention to detail. (i.e. Towels folded and set neater in the bathroom, lamps actually in a place that they could be plugged in, replace the missing handle/poll to pull the curtains back, ect.)

    Great location in the middle of town. Overall good price for what you get.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No discount for multiple night stays, ended up staying 3 consecutive nights. The rate was outrageous for the facility.

    The water pressure was fabulous. The water was extra hot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unkempt. Rooms were dirty, outdated, and furniture was broken. Not one 70''s lampshade would stay straight. I would expect a lot better for that price.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was okay but they were odd enough that I don't think I'll go back even though I have family close by.

    The location was good, the room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was charged the full week's amount upon check-in. Upon entering the room, it smelled old and moldy! There was mold on the bathroom walls above the tub/shower and over the door. The lamps above the beds were not plugged in so I plugged them in, the lights came on momentarily and went off. I reached down to jiggle the cord and got a shock. When I looked closer at the cord, the bare wires were exposed! The maid service is only every other day which was not disclosed upon check in. One of the most frustrating things is that the manager/owner (not sure what his role was) could barely speak English! Communication was frustrating to say the least! I would not even rate this stay a "1", would not stay there again and would never recommend to anyone!

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture worn holes in chairs had a bad oder, had to asked to have sheets change.On line said pet friendly but it was not. Will not stay again it is over priced for what you get.

    Area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was clogged so every time you took a shower the tub filled up. It was an ok place but way over priced for what you get.

    I liked that we had a mini fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew the town was small and older i did not go in expecting much. That is what i got a roof and bed. Staff was hard to understand, free continental was bagles, oj, and i think raisen bran as options. Rooms have not been updated in probably 20 years holes in the bathroom door sheet rock falling apart. For the price and location conveinience it was worth what i needed it for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a joke and the room didn't have any toilet paper in it. It stunk of being old and moldy. The front desk people were not friendly or helpful with anything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, very worn and dreary. Questionable repairs regarding electrical outlets. Air conditioner very noisy all night. A necessaryevil

    The rate for when I booked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is poor -- a loud, blaring train came through just about every hour all night long. The TV barely worked, the channel guide was completely wrong. The bed was okay, neither soft nor hard. There was peeling wallpaper like there had been water damage above the sink outside the bathroom and black mold on the wall above the shower. At 2 a.m. there was a very loud noise that we thought might have been the refrigerator compressor seizing up that woke us up both out of a sound sleep. The wifi was spotty and kept disconnecting. We were scheduled for two nights but we just went home on the second day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was. Recently painted and smelled strong of paint

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was a group of very young kids who kept me awake till after 1 AM

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater didn’t work, insufficient bed covers, no hair dryer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took for ever to heat the room. Bed was very bouncy. Very uncomfortable. Noisy train

    Was near my meetings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    basic no frills not even a coffee pot and there were holes in one of the walls

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, dirty and dingy

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints

    Staff was very friendly rooms were clean nice and quiet plenty of parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast...broken toaster and limited (2) choices of carbs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the path of totality of the Solar Eclipse 08/21/2017 Cheap

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. everything was perfect

    the staff was very friendly and informative about neighborhood eats and attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    changes were being made in the room, not all clean up was completed.

    Other than the location, not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Across from train

    Basic accommodation that suited our need

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms as door wouldn't close

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash near door was overflowing should have been emptied as it was hot outside.

    Location close to other cities in the country!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    train noise occassionally

    very clean, updated, very nice, very comfortable excellent value, PETS ALLOWED

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside was a little on the cluttered unkempt side the carpet was clean but appeared dirty.

    the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old and smells that way but not awful.

    Convienent, comfortable, room size

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold

    Facilities were nice and the staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm allergic to eggs but the beds were good. It's a very convenient place to sleep while visiting relatives close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like vommit, front desk person was unfriendly

    Cheap and available

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super easy to book and check in, very friendly hard working owners. will stay again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mold in bathroom, train noise, bathroom faucet leaked, bed too soft, needs a good vacuuming

    closeness to fair grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and safe

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed lights didn't work.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly, smells bad, breakfast is just a Snack, 5 am Wakeup because of trains every 10 minutes

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train noise traffic noise tv old beds hard cleanliness questionable breakfast horrble

    The bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't understand the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was a joke. Vending machine pastries, powdered creamer, basically ridiculous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfortable. Convient to shopping.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was clueless and the toilet was broken. Will never stay there again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Guests next door very loud, very late. They quieted down after midnight, after one request from me, one request from motel manager. Not sure why I was put right next door to them, when there were plenty of other rooms available.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was average overall. There is plenty of parking. Shower works well. Has microwave and small fridge.

    My boyfriend has a service dog. It is my understanding that a person can't be turned away for needing and having a,service animal. The owners allowed us to stay there but told my boyfriend when we left that "dogs aren't allowed." He told them it is a service animal and they told him that they don't care. I thought that was nasty,and discriminatory.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trains going by every twenty minutes throughout the night and unsophisticated and rude foreign office staff unfamiliar with any social graces.

    The room was clean and bed comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The proprietors were of Indian (India subcontinent) ethnicity, and when I made a phone call to them regarding my time of arrival, I had difficulty understanding them over the phone because of their speech accent.

    Was close and convenient to the destination/purpose for my trip.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't a luxurious room but very good for a small town.The room was clean with 2 double beds; the closet was large with lots of wooden hangers, iron and ironing board & a safe; bathroom with large counter space for all needs and was cleaned daily; we had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee, small table with 2 chairs,also 2 upholstered chairs, large TV set on a cabinet with 2 large deep drawers, small cabinet with lights above between beds plus air conditioning. We were pleased and surprised with the accommodations

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    We asked for a handicap room ( if possible.) Out of 48 rooms, I got # 448 upstairs and the far room from office. Was told they were to filled up. That night out of 48 rooms they only had 8 occupied. Next night only 10 rooms occupied. Breakfast, consisted of the lease amount of choices that I have ever witnessed. Even in Europe, we had more choices. There is no eating room, just the entrance to the office. So everyone must carry their food back to their rooms. Very hard to do when you are handicapped.

    The location and air-conditioning. ( Canby Country Inn, is the only hotel in Canby or the near by area.) So a person needing to go to a family funeral has no choice.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything. Devore was straight up from1965. The chairs, bedspread and floors were stained from over usage and under cleaning. The most disturbing part was the mattress that almost assuredly had bedbugs based on the telltale staining on the corners of the mattress. And don't even get me started on the choking it strong curry smell when you walk in the office. How anyone is supposed to data continental breakfast in there is beyond me. The location is convenient to the fairgrounds, which is why I stayed there, but it's absolutely not worth it!!

    Nithing

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner barely speaks English. My hair dryer did not work, so I had to use one in the storage room and a new one was not installed in my room the next day. The outside is cleaner than it was the last time I was there, and the rooms are clean. However, the whole property is very dated and in need of some tlc. The TVs are old with limited channels.

    The location and the price

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    water leaked into the closet of our room during a rain storm ,and got all of our baggage wet. the controls on the heating/ cooling unit were in the wrong positions to their markings and the help would not come to the room to help sort it out..The heat lamps in the bathroom were burnt out and we had to replace them ourselves...

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Couple

    Noisy train travel through the night,

    location. We needed to be in Canby for a funeral.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Couple

    train all night long running through town

    room had cobwebs in corners/not up to our standards in being clean

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired calling abd they where very rude

    Rude

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff difficult to understand, rude. Hair dryer broken, ice machine broken.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible and rude owners that are not from this country! I was disgusted when I left!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heater didn't work very well and it took a long time to get warm and it was very noisy.

    It is located near where my daughter lives.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Everything was clean and ready.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sitting chair was pretty gross.... Refrigerator froze my food

    Convenient.... Had everything we needed...

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The train tracks are across the road and very loud as there was a crossing

    Good location to the fair grounds

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    T

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't have our reservation. The ice maker was dirty the room with the icemaker was used for storage

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Group

    I booked room he gave it away he said you didn't tell him but yet he knew my name

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: