Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel 3 stars

406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Tusayan, AZ 86023, USA

#5 of 5 hotels in Tusayan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3284 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    The room was big enough to stay 2/3 nights, there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists are quite rude, the cleaning service is really far to be sufficient (I leave a white t-shirt on the bed and they thought it was part of the blanket....)

    The room was big enough to stay 2/3 nights, there are some comfort duties like the balcony where you can relax after a long trip in the canyon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Close location to Canyon, easy for morning hikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures are not realistic in reality the place is older, room was dirty - lots of hair in the bathroom.

    Close location to Canyon, easy for morning hikes

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Location to running trail & Grand Canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility out dated, Funky layout. Restaurant & bar were hardly open. Housekeeping was ok, had to ask for clean glasses & refills of Kleenex & coffee. Not a good value @ $290.00 per night. I’ve gotten a better value @ $110.00 per night hotel.

    Location to running trail & Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Sky high room rates unjustified by the quality of the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sky high room rate on account of the location and nothing else. We were unable to settle our room accounts the night before our (early) departure because the computer said 'no'. Just ridiculous.

    Location is ideal for access to Grand Canyon NP.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    large hotel close to all amenities, just off main road. clean and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could have been closer to room but we were late checking in (11pm)

    large room, elevator to get upstairs, very late check in and staff all available. lots of facilities. Close to Grand Canyon and airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location and recommend taking the Park bus service instead of driving inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed is too soft, but okay, the room could be cleaner, the staff could provide more information about the Park bus service to reduce driving into the park.

    Convenient location, friendly staff, the water station, the restaurant staff is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect choice to visit the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location to visit the park (only a few minutes from entrance). The room was big, clean and quiet. A good choice if you are in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Near the Grand Canyon there are not so many hotels and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok. But just ok not great.

    Near the Grand Canyon there are not so many hotels and they are all fully booked (at least during holidays) so they are pricely for their standard. The concierge was very helpful. He provided us with excellent tips how to spend our one day at the canyon and provided additionally tips for the Route66 the next day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are showing signs of wear, but not too shabby.

    Overall a good place to stay at while visiting Grand Canyon. Good buffet breakfast (NOT FREE). Two TVs/ACs in the queen suite. Upto 5 people allowed in queen suite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    The hotel's location was perfect for our visit to the Grand Canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite lovely with the indoor garden decor. The room was spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff and concierge were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really expensive for what it's worth.... The indoor spa was really disappointing..it shouldn't be even called a spa. It's a mini hot tub. Lower the price and it'll get a higher score overall.

    The location is just 10 min drive from the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Best coffee in our room ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin collection early in the morning and very noisy air conditioning! Ear plugs at the ready

    Best coffee in our room ever!! And they gave us more Cocktails to die for and a great little place to enjoy the grand Canyon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything looking slightly old, although it may not be actually. A long way to the reception - was tempted to take the car.

    Comfortable beds. Good location to enter the canyon (even a transit bus connection to avoid parking trouble).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    vg location near National Park entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything - bed actually was 'extra comfy'; in-house restaurant was good for all meals, value breakfast and lunch buffet; coffee available in atrium outside room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one guest laundry for over 200 rooms and located in a different building. We were stuck in a room right beside the spa, bar and hotel laundry. Very noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.5
    This is an enormous, impersonal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an enormous, impersonal hotel. We had to drive from the reception to our room which was dirty and looked out on to a cinder block wall. We paid a LOT of money for a nasty room. The hotel restaurant served an expensive buffet of food you’d be embarrassed to come across in a school canteen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    It was very close to the canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very expensive, probably the most expensive hotel we’d ever stayed at but other than a bed to sleep in, it did not offer much in the way of value. I do realize that we were totally paying for the convenience of staying close to the canyon.

    It was very close to the canyon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    the pool and hot tub are so heated and warm, great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is pricey but then everything around there is.Check in was not very clearly sign posted and not that great.

    the pool and hot tub are so heated and warm, great location 2mile drive from grand cayon, bed very comfortable, we relay enjoyed staying in this hotel.Washing machine and tuble dryer on first floor helped us out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Beds were comfy, tea and coffee in the room, hot shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible smell when you came Dow the stairs from the room.

    Beds were comfy, tea and coffee in the room, hot shower. Spa was lovel after a day out tramping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Ideal place to stay and experience the Grand Canyon, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideal place to stay and experience the Grand Canyon, which is easily accessible with shuttle buses. Helpful staff at the reception desk - thank you very much for dealing with my unannounced early check-in so efficiently!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    DO NOT stay in the old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's hard to rate this hotel as it has different sections. We were in the older building - the closest to the main building, part of it. The elevator was old and hard to get the luggage trolly in it. It's "motel" style with "outside" rooms. The building next to us was much nicer. We went there to use the laundry room. I would definitely request the building surrounding the swimming pool and NOT the old one. In addition, we had an indoor "patio" which opened to the indoor pool, jaccuzi and the smell from the chlorine was overwhelming. We couldn't sit there or open that door.

    can't beat the location. The shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel. The dining room was fine. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Very close to Grand Canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for what you get. Breakfast not included. Buffet breakfast is overpriced.

    Very close to Grand Canyon. Hotel was adequate. Nothing to write home about, but it’s within walking distance of restaurants and stores. Grand Canyon shuttle picks up right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Room was very convenient to parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey, and price was slashed on booking.com a few weeks after charging much more at booking. Mattress on bed was not very comfortable.

    Room was very convenient to parking.... Lovely elk viewing behind property and walking through property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent stay, reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an odd smell to it. The duvet cover were actually two flat sheets covering the comforter. When the ends flipped open, it revealed a slobber-ridden, stained duvet. The only coffee in the room was decaf.

    The location. The A/C. The noise levels were low, it was reasonably quiet. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.5
    Could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dreary & dark, the balcony faced inside the complex & not out, so we never used it....room wasn't the cleanest, and there was a carton of half used jalapenos left in the fridge from a prior guest!!! We were informed they take $100 per night security for incidentals....there's nothing in the room worth that much!!! Expensive area due to location, however, there are plenty of other hotels to choose from that are probably cleaner, brighter & more up to date.

    Location to Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Best hotel in this road stop tow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room given us smelled like smoke they did switch us though when i asked for a room with tile floors as i saw pictured online. Pool was not skimmed was filled with bees. Toilet area was a tight squeeze to close the door. The door only had 1" from toilet so had to squeeze next to tub to close it.

    Room was good size. Staff was pleasant. Convenient location right off the 40. Beds were comfortable not the best but better than last place we stayed. Included breakfast a block down the street at a restaurant. Ac worked great. Had a mini fridge good size too, and a microwave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced for the room quality, I suppose it's right outside the park's entrance so easier access if you plan to spend 2 days in the park.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Captive audience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated had a very damp musty smell. The air conditioner was useless. The maid service woke us up at 8 am to " see if we're still here". Really!!!

    Great location. Captive cliental.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, too bad it was just one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked what we saw. We checked in late and left fairly early so I couldn't give proper ratings for some things.

    Very friendly people, clean room. Very comfortable bed and nice soap/shampoo in the bathrooms!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was the restaurant. The food in the buffet was terrible and expensive.

    Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had our little dog with us, and were very thankful that your hotel allows dogs. The little food bowl we received was so sweet! We could enter from the outside door or an inside hotel door, which was so convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice Hotel near the Canyon with wonderful winter garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool area could be a bit nicer, but was totally fine anyways.

    The winter garden is absolutely beautiful, with a nice bar and spa area. Try to get a room there. Staff was very nice, especially in the restaurant, which we also liked. Right at the Entrance road to the South Rim. Rich was super helpful with advice for tours, excursions... and so on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have been fine with the hotel if it had been $150/night. The quality did not fit the WAY overrated price.

    The location was great. However, the cost was very high considering it was a very small room and no breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Beds are important part of getting a good nights rest when on vacation. Update your beds !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds where not comfortable (worn and full size beds),I think all beds should be upgraded to queen beds instead of full beds. First time ever stayed in a hotel where beds where full size and not queen. did not have World Cup soccer on their cable net work. More of discount for guest staying at hotel for restaurant at hotel. Best western hotel restaurant was cheaper to eat and food was good.

    Hot tub in the atrium, pool outside was warm, near restaurants, front (parking lot) and a back door(led to atrium with seats and table, bar, and hot tub

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Decent, but pricey hotel very close to Grand Canyon Park entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey for the age of the property and amenities. Much updating is apparent and well done, but needs a bit more. At this price breakfast should be included.

    Location close to Grand Canyon entrance can't be beaten.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    check un staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired & dated. We had a beetle in the room but saw another guest getting rid of a cockroach. Good expensive - but typical of the area.

    check un staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, amazing large and clean rooms, with a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom/shower

    Beautiful place, amazing large and clean rooms, with a new shower would be perfect!...a bit expensive like all hotels in that aerea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money, Go into the park and pay same price for much much nicer facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing was not matched and offered too expensive. This is a motel charging 4star hotel pricing. Price match was NOT guaranteed except only one night. Felt cheated by staff as other person at check in time paid half the price we paid!

    Liked. Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend this hotel to any one I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Requested a working refrigerator the first nite and had to wait over an hour for one to be delivered Second nite requested a roll away bed and bed never showed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is very convenient if you are ok with slighly shabby rooms and hallways
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dirty and stained carpets in the room and the dusty, worn out and dark hallways...

    The location is great if you need to explore south rim GC and its a small town of Tusayan so restaurants are all nearby. The rooms are carpeted but the carpets are dirty and the walk ways are narrow and dark. Overall look of the accommodation is old and worn out. The next door accommodations such as holiday inn express are far more spic & span.... Breakfast was good and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were my kids were staying the AC wasnt working. Staff should of check the AC before installing people in the room. We got move to another room on another wing of the hotel farther that mine it was inconvenience to move 2 young kids dead asleep at 11pm plus all the belongings. Talked to morning front desk about it to at least refund some of the money due to their lack of not checking the conditions of the room prior to guest of their arrival.. My kids were without AC for hours the room was close to 90 degree in there. I stayed at this hotel to be closer to the entrance of the grand canyon but it wasnt worth to pay $200 a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. It was the highest priced hotel on our one week trip and the worst place. The TV didn't work, the AC had to be turned off and on every 1.5 hours to work. It was old and needed updated or dozed over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is conveniently located in Tusayan close to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we complained about the AC on the third occasion only the staff responded and offered a basic room.

    The hotel is conveniently located in Tusayan close to all restaurants ,I-MAX theater etc.The room we booked in the AC did not work and we had to move to another room in the middle of the night!.Better attention on maintenance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Family loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much we didn’t like. You can tell the hotel isn’t brand new, but I didn’t mind a little wear and tear. The cleanliness, staff, amenities, and ambiance more than made up for that SMALL detail.

    The staff was amazing, the location was great, the amenities were awesome, and the overall feel was just what we were looking for. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Expensive soso room but close to Grand Canyon park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find our reservation from booking.com, said this happens all the time. Did honor the price & got a room. Room was expensive for what it was. Junk blew under the door, blind didn't block out the light.

    Close to Grand Canyon. Nice courtyard area for drinks and eating, but we did not have time to try this out. Close to free shuttle to Grand Canyon Park. Multiple restaurants close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    UNABLE TO WATCH WORLD CUP - THERE ARE TWO CABLE CHANNELS...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    UNABLE TO WATCH WORLD CUP - THERE ARE TWO CABLE CHANNELS SHOWING IT BUT NEITHER AVAILABLE ALSO THERE WAS NO ACCESS IN HOTEL FOR WEDNESDAY 5AM AND 7AM GAMES. THE WORLD CUP IS IMPORTANT FOR MANY PEOPLE MAYBE THE BIGGEST SPORTING EVENT OF ALL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    We stayed here for one night after driving from Vegas and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for one night after driving from Vegas and before driving to Sedona the next day. It was a perfect distance from the Grand Canyon by car and had many food options in the surrounding area (though not much after 10pm). The facilities were clean and it served its purpose as a comfortable overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the suite front room was tattered and need replacing. Freezer didn't freeze water.

    Happy hour prices were great! Really like the indoor spa area. Staff very helpful. Look like bathroom area were updated with new counters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    The bartender on the inside pool area would not allow me to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender on the inside pool area would not allow me to be in the bar with my service dog. He ignored me and would not serve me so I left. I was very upset for being treated so poorly. 😞

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    The girl at reception was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced! Not sound isolated so can hear ppl outside.

    The girl at reception was nice and helpful. Room was big , king size bed was comfortable. Fridge in the room. The room was clean. Not the most glamorous hotel but OK for a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    There is much nicer accommodation in the area, which we saw. Don't bother with this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the room was surprisingly old and shabby, with no light from outside! The only curtain with light looked directly into the cleaners' room, so if we opened the curtains, they could see directly into the room. So in daytime when we popped back into the room, we had to shut the curtain and put all the lights on.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    horrible service and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sink was broken , the tap was dripping ,the inner door lock wasn't working, the beds were horrible, when we complained about the uncomfortable beds we were told to wait until the morning. unfortunately we were leaving in the morning and they knew it. the receptionist didn't want to tell us her name when we complained about the beds. she didn't even offer us any help or a solution or sent anyone to the room. there was no window in the bathroom and no air vent to refresh the air, The receptionist promised that the manager would be available in the morning but in the morning we were told that the manager will not be there for a few days.. when we checked out we were promised to get a phone call but no one contacted us. . the room was smelly at all times and the maintenance of the room was very poor. the windows were dirty, . the walls, doorposts and the chair, were dirty with paint leftovers. the table was old and scratched, there was music coming in from the inner corridor of the hotel where a pub was located and disturbed our sleep. It felt like in a 1 star hotel that was abandoned back in the 60'. we have travelled and stayed at many hotels in the US before getting to that specific hotel but non of the places was so bad. we thought the hotel would be very good and paid a lot of money per night but were very disappointed

    free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Rooms clean and easy accessible from parking, however quite expensive for offerred service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tusayan in general seems to be a tourist trap in terms of pricing... I guess is what you pay to be relatively close to the Grand Canyon. This hotel confirmed the high pricing compared to services offered. Otherwise - was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Restaurant disappointing. Don't get gas in the village. Gas $1 more than anywhe else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given watered down Sherry. Had to ask for a replacement which was then the correct drink!

    Comfortable and clean - in good proximity to Grand Canyon entrance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Not very relaxing but decent comfort and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outdoor pool and hot tub were overrun with loud children every time we tried to go, and the one time we tried to go later at night to sit in the hot tub and star gaze at 9pm (pool closes at 10), there were still about five kids screaming and even a family blasting music from a huge speaker! This is not exactly the place for child-less couples to relax, or perhaps even for couples with children who prefer to hear the sounds of nature more than screaming and music blasting. Also, a noise complaint is that each night there was one of those big tour buses that came and parked right outside our windows -- they left the engine running for up to 20 min at a time sometimes, morning and night, and, of course, there were people coming and going and being noisy -- and we were on the third floor. My suggestion for the hotel is to make sure these buses aren't pulling up close to where people are staying, or if they really must, turn off engines right away. And.... please don't allow people to blast their personal music forcing others to hear it in public places. That's what headphones are for. The Grand Canyon should be a place to integrate with nature, not distract from Her sounds. P.S. they don't offer massages here, FYI.

    Staff was friendly, water fill stations convenient and indoor hot tub great after long days of hiking to soothe sore muscles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Affordable comfortable stay near Grand Canyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated and soulless

    Comfortable hotel situated just outside of the Grand Canyon Natural Park. Nice big rooms, very comfortable bed, nice swimming pool, overall nice facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice except for the unfortunate accident in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub/Shower combo. Outdated and very slippery. My wife slipped and fell out of the shower on to the bathroom floor. She broke her front tooth when her face hit the bathroom tile floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Very Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was high.

    It's outside the park, but only 1 mile from the entrance. There are many restaurants around and Pink Jeep Tours and IMAX movie theatre are very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice location to visit the Grand Canyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess you pay for the location. But the bed was not comfortable, there was a lot of dust behind the bed. We asked for a room with sun and we ended up with a room with a window in a corridor.

    Nice location to visit the Grand Canyon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for a visit to GCNP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet is terrible - pricey ($34 for 2) and very little choice

    Great staff, the hotel is conveniently located next to best sandwich shop in town (RP's) and the Grand Canyon "Purple route" shuttle service stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Convinient for a visit to Grand Canyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find Rooms are around the Hotels Restaurant with a 9-10pm Musik-Programm which is not everyones favourite

    Pretty close to the Grand Canyon, staff was friendly finally: its a huge Motel, more or less average. Good for a stay but not really special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, super close to Grand Canyon south rim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is very slow and Verizon service was very spotty in the town and hotel. So don’t plan on much internet surfing.

    Great location, super close to Grand Canyon south rim entrance. It’s a simple hotel with friendly staff, decent buffet breakfast and restaurants a very short walk. Perfect for the one night I was in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Decent stay for a nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be confusing on how to get to your room.

    Decent stay to be close by the Grand Canyon. Not of the highest quality but it is great for just a nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    If you can afford it, splurge for the suite. It is well worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet, the best feature in the restaurant, I heard, is only served until 9:30, too early for me. So, although I spent 5 nights there, I didn't make it to breakfast on any of the days! :(

    Large, comfortable , clean room and beds. Super friendly and helpful staff. Very close to Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location for Grand Canyon National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant off the lobby served a very basic breakfast that seemed overpriced for what it included. The room we had in the building farthest away from the reception desk was a bit rundown for the rate they were charging but I guess you pay for the location.

    The location just outside of Grand Canyon National Park was convenient, with an option to take one of the park’s shuttles in rather than your car if you preferred. Though we didn’t get a chance to use them, the pool and spas looked inviting, as did the bar and restaurant in the atrium.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Last minute stay just outside the Grand Canyon. Very nice staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older facility. No screen on window. Pool closed during our visit.

    After a long day in the canyon...we ate dinner in the hotel. Food was decent, waitstaff was very polite and attentive. Spa area was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Tipp was great and so was our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost was a little more than we were happy with-but it proved to be worth it.

    Your staff, especially an agent named Tipp, was exceptionally helpful and courteous. The room was the best we stayed in during our trip, and the restaurant was excellent in food as well as service. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the Grand Canyon area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    location was good, and the concierge very knowledgeabel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facility had a grandiose concept of what it was worth. It was in desperate need of updating, and badly overpriced.

    location was good, and the concierge very knowledgeabel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    One of the nicer accommodations we experienced on our 15 day trek through the SW US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to rate comfort and facilities a little lower than I otherwise would have, but after a 6 hour drive, we got there at 9:30 on a Saturday night, and absolutely could not wait to get a drink. To our dismay, they told us the lounge was already closed. We asked what time, and what day it was....and sure enough, it was indeed 9:30 p.m. on a Saturday night. Furthermore, the hotel staff could not even refer us to even one neighborhood "watering hole" nearby.

    Loved the private balcony, with such a clear view of billions of stars that are there in the night sky, but in so many places obscured by rampant light pollution. Not so in this locale, as you can see the entire tail of themilky way galaxy sitting right outside your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    I would not recommend this hotel because it is old and not kept up .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and not kept up. There was a carpet strip exposed from the carpet. My 10 year old son and I both stepped on the tacks and hurt our feet. The room stunk with carpet deodorizer or something. We had to air out the room before we could even go in and again while we were in it. The breakfast buffet was not very good and expensive. The staff was not very attentive. They did not clear our plates and it was impossible to get coffee.

    The hotel was close to the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed and clean room. good food selection and enjoyed watching the mural take shape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our window was of junk cars but that was not the fault of the hotel nor was it in their control; didn't really bother us though, we just kept the blinds closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and type. Breakfast is average. Too noisy. Bed was not comfortable enough.

    Is too expensive for what we got. The room was not as we see in the photos. The only positive thing is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Explore Grand Canyon from here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was basic but pricey.

    The location allowed us to be in the park in the cool morning hours and ahead of the crowd and saved hours of driving. Two sinks and a fridge. Small balcony onto a interior atrium made the room feel larger. Several dining options in walking distance though pricey. Otherwise comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable, not fancy but served our purpose well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in late and left earlier, staff was friendly but did not go out of their way to assist. Showed them the online price which was significantly lower than the on-site price and asked them to match. They would not so I had to book online while standing in the lobby and wait for their system to update with the reservation.

    It was clean, property was being renovated but the renovations was contained and orderly. Nice property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location right by the Visitor Center with an Imax...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only compliant...they had the microwave oven on top of the refrigerator...we could not reach it to use it.

    Convenient location right by the Visitor Center with an Imax Theater of the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Other than two incidents mentioned above, all amenities and decor was top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My spouse and I ate lunch buffet 5/12/18. Later we both developed stomache cramps and diarrhea for 2 days. It was the only meal we ate practically same thing. It put a damper on our vacation, but we made the best of it. We didn't eat at hotel for any meals after this experience. My husband made it through line, and was asked what beverage he wanted. It was provided to him. I waited to be helped and no one came. I went back, looked around, and no one assisted, so I served myself tea and sat down. I went back 2 more times, but the staff were talking to each other. My husband finally flagged someone to help and I got my coffee. I expected better setvice.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: