Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Colorado hotel reviews
  4. Telluride hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Madeline Hotel and Residences, an Auberge Resorts Collection

Reviews of Madeline Hotel and Residences, an Auberge Resorts Collection 4 stars

568 Mountain Village Road, Telluride, CO 81435, USA

#2 of 16 hotels in Telluride

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 58

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    5.8
    Devastated! Trip ruined by this experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First off this is the FIRST review i have ever written. My stay was the worst I have ever had at a hotel. The TV was broken, coffee pot was broken, room service was horrible food was cold, over cooked missing items, but WORST issue was the hotel manager treated me like trash when I checked out. I explained my stay was horrible and I would not be staying an additional night. After he berated me in front of staff as well as other patrons. He literally told me to leave and followed me to the door all the while i was literally crying. He thought the whole situation was funny. I have never been more embarrassed in my life. This COMPLETELY ruined my trip. I travel 10 days by vehicle every year to Telluride and this is the memory I am left with. Devastated!

    Room was clean, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    Great service - very friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel sits in a wonderful location. The only very slight downside is the views are not as dramatic as some other locations and the balconies aren’t very private and could be made more comfortable. Otherwise it’s excellent all round.

    Great service - very friendly and polite staff. Excellent facilities, comfortable, clean and luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The Madeline met all of my expectations for a mountain get-a-way; absolutely beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No concerns or complaints; had a wonderful stay.

    Our stay at the Madeline was high end comfort with a beautiful view of the mountains over the rooftops of the expertly designed village. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and spacious with all the necessities. The availability of the gondola and access to the town of Telluride was a bonus! Will definitely be back again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in Mountain Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a dislike, but lots of things not open because of season. Still plenty to do

    Everything!! Convenience to Telluride, beautiful top of the mountain setting, fabulous scenic drive to get here from Durango

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    The room was wonderful - the bed, the lounge chairs, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room location was the only complaint...very noisy, not sure if it was construction or the gondola or both.

    The room was wonderful - the bed, the lounge chairs, the bathroom and showers, the tea and water, the robes, proximity to gondola, the view from the treadmill, overall just a lovely stay, would come back again and stay for a few days instead of just one!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Hard to leave there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    accommodating power outlets for devices needs improvement.

    Had to pry my spouse out of the room and grounds because our stay was over. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.0
    Could have been better! we have stayed at the Hotel Jerome in Aspen several times!excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room key had to be replaced twice and still did not work! The valet service was excellent on arrival but came up short after that...all they have to offer is service what happened!.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Stay was enjoyable. Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dim lighting in room. Did not like coffee machine in room. We are seniors that can't walk too far. Could have used a shuttle to get to gondola.

    Attentive staff. Comfortable room. Water carafes in room every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Lovely spot to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary! The Madeline staff pampered us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic Ambiance, Room Décor, Wonderful Location. Great to be able to park our car and just use the Gondola to travel back and forth into Telluride.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    A nice break in a special place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for bread in restaurant was a little overboard! Otherwise the food pricing was fine.

    Really a first class property! Facilities and amenities were great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Luxurious, beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay in style at the Madeline Resort! Wonderful, luxurious, extremely helpful & friendly staff, beautiful space us rooms, furnished very tasteful high quality furniture, extremity comfortable beds, spacious modern bathrooms with great service! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Madeline meets all our needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the first hello were helpful, friendly and quick to respond to any request. The Madeline will always be first choice when in Telluride.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ski valet was inconvient location if enrolled in ski school. Had to call every day for first 3 days to get room cleaned, and it only started getting cleaned regularly after I tipped the front desk manager. Nothing other than an apology was offered for not having the room cleaned.

    Beautiful hotel! Friendly, helpful, and caring staff. Nice location and food. Kitchens well-equipped, grocery store a convenient gondola ride away. Make sure to use the oxygen rental service if you have altitude sickness, you are sleeping quite high, and myself and my 4 year old both had some issues, which the hotel was helpful with-my son had to go to the medical center late night, and they arranged everything. Very grateful. Spa was amazing-had 90 min deep tissue after falling and felt much better. My 2 and 4 year old boys loved the complimentary hot cocoa and marshmallows post ski-school! We were complimentary upgraded prior to arrival to a 2 bedroom residence-it was lovely and much appreciated! We would definitely stay here again in Telluride, which we also loved! However, we probably would not come back the ski season closing week again, as both the towns and hotel were somewhat eerily deserted! We’d love to see it in the summer as well. Friendliest ski hotel and town we’ve ever been to!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    For the high cost of staying there they definitely need much better guest services!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were horrible. No blanket only the duvet which wasn't soft.. As far as the bathrobes it was like putting on cardboard.. Old and very very stiff. Not comfortable.

    Decorated nicely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. Valet parking guy wasn't friendly and was seeking money upfront.

    Great location. Beautiful place to stay on top of the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place; when we opened the windows instead of using AC, it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything except the Central A/C was of the noisy variety that switches on and off constantly and has a really loud blowing volume, which kept us awake. Updating the HVAC would be a valuable modification for this property.

    Beautiful setting and very nice rooms, enormous bathrooms, great views, several beautiful bars to choose from, etc. Comfortable bed, just the A/C blower noise was really loud and prevented us from sleeping well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic property with out of this world Mountain views. Beautiful pool area!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer to access an ice machine rather than calling down to have someone bring me ice and waiting for it. No biggie but just an inconvenience.

    Gorgeous!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Quality hotel in a great village setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mentioned the bathroom design, not much more really. Strangely our check-in lady, who was very efficient and professional lacked any of the warmth and friendliness we encountered from all the other staff such as at the pool bar, valet parking and housekeeping.

    Hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Mountain Village, perfectly positioned for access to the gondolas, restaurants and shops. Large and very comfortable rooms. Large bathroom with great separate shower and double sinks. Given the attention to detail only minor criticism is the lack of anywhere for toilet bags etc - the cupboards are inaccessible once you use the towel rails, a small thing but surprising lack of design thought in this standard of hotel. Great gym facilities and the outdoor pool and deck area are stunning and great for an afternoon relax after a day's hiking. Really friendly staff. Hotel is a bit pricey but given the overall quality and standards well worth the cost on balance. A real quality hotel in the best location in the village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Accommodations A+, staff F
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visit Telluride 3 times a year and this was our first stay with you. Your front desk staff is very unfriendly, the room cleaning staff also awful. No one showed me the buttons for "privacy" I dead bolted my room to shower and they still came in. As I'm standing in my towel asking why they Didn't leave when they knew I was showering they said because they could. The bar tender in the black iron was VERY rude. Fire them all and start over! Your competition is blowing you away!

    The facility is great! We were celebrating my husbands 50th and was very surprised by the generosity that was given when I found a bottle of champagne and strawberries. Very nice and it was greatly appreciated!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Seriously amazing location, amenities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously amazing location, amenities and staff. Could not have been more pleased with our stay. We were treated as VIPs. Can’t wait to return!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Amazing Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing Experience!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee of $35/day was outrageous given the price of the room.

    Great staff...helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, rooms, bathroom, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included

    Location, rooms, bathroom, staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Overall one of the best facilities in the most beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our breakfast was cold twice! The dinning service was extremely slow.

    Fantastic location and hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The location and mountain was amazing Colorful Colorado!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    The atmosphere was excellent and its location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere was excellent and its location was perfect. never needed a car and the location to the Gondola (free) couldn't be closer!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    It had a stunning view the staff was very helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a stunning view the staff was very helpful and the accommodations with the room were awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost

    Stunning views, spacious room, beautiful resort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too dark and so HOT - could not get it below 75 at night even with air on

    Ski valet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the rustic elegant interior design and attention to details.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    The location was fabulous.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food from room service was mediocre at best.

    The location was fabulous. The staff was great! The room was super comfortable. Great towels!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay and very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfy Loved how shopping and eating were all in one area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    A taste of the Telluride lifestyle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's Telluride ~ there's a lot to like !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Don't miss this chance for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer 😉

    Staff was amazingly attentive, friendly, and accommodating. The hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Family holiday time
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice room space. Pet friendly. Outdoor hot tub and pool. Close to resort and gondola.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Staff was very friendly at the resort and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food at the morning buffet was not very good and way over priced for the value. It's really the only thing I could not find very appealing

    Staff was very friendly at the resort and very helpful. Bed and room were fantastic and the location was great. Staff made it easy for our first experience there

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only minor nit was a unique room layout that wasted some space and made the room feel small for the dollars spent. Great view though!

    Wonderful location. Great staff and service. Steam shower did not work and they pulled out all stops to compensate and fix during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    10
    Ski in ski out, and ski valet service were excellent, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!

    Ski in ski out, and ski valet service were excellent, but the advanced mountain tour was worth the stay by itself! JD was an exceptional guide. Great room also.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    We loved the location - most of the staff - and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were put into a room on the 3rd floor directly above the skating rink and had to endure 30 screaming kids for the first hour until we put on headphones to drown out the noise - the first night we were awoken at 9:15 by maids trying to do turndown service and then the following day I asked the maid next door to try and be quiet so my husband could nap only to come back 20 minutes later and find her yelling in Spanish to her friend down the hall. The noise and the maid staff are what kept me from giving it a perfect score.

    We loved the location - most of the staff - and the facilities were first class - large rooms - comfortable beds with superior linens - large bathrooms with soaking tubs - wonderful ski valet services. The front desk manager was amazing and helped us into a new room the next day that was much quieter and the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable as well. They guys at the ski valet were super nice as well as being prompt and knowledgable.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    I loved the location of the hotel and the location of my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the location of the hotel and the location of my room. It was beautiful with all the amenities I could ever wish for. All staff who we spoke with were friendly and courteous. Property description: though a luxury hotel - not a bit pretentious!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hotel room, very clean, comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem we had was our room was the lowest price point and faced the inside to the courtyard. The windows were thin and you could hear the people outside playing games and sitting around tables talking as well as construction across the way so it was difficult to catch an afternoon nap (no real problems with noise at night).

    Excellent hotel room, very clean, comfortable and spacious. Restaurant downstairs was really fun (tables outside with fire in the middle to keep you warm) and only Starbucks in town. Short walk across the plaza to the free Gondola to Telluride.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.4
    They are converting the hotel to condo' s and it is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They are converting the hotel to condo' s and it is not the same place it was when we stayed there before. They no longer have a restaurant, we had to park our car, it was under construction, and we were give a poor room compared to what we got in past. We will not stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The location is right next to the gondola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is right next to the gondola. The room was huge, wood floors and dripping in luxury. A bar area with glasses and shelves and below a small refrigerator. The bathroom had every amenity - walk in shower and separate huge tub, and toilet in separate room. Huge soft towels, lighted make-up mirror, 2 sinks, granite counter top. The bedroom had a wonderful bed and pillows, perfect black out drapes, nightstands were burled wood and 6 very large drawers in chest. There was a walk in closet with an umbrella, slippers, robes big enough for my 6'4" husband, and even a humidifier. And we never heard a noise! I could go on and on....

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice property bad management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a KS deluxe room with a view. The bellman accidently took us to a suite. After settling in the front desk calls and said we have to be moved. Manager came up and told us no chance of upgrade and huge additional charge to stay in the suite because we got such a good rate for booking at Booking.com. June 5th out of season hotel was completely empty, we did not see one guest in the hotel or at breakfast our entire stay. Room with a view they moved us to was their worst room with a view into a stair tower.

    Nice property bad management.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    Upgraded to a 2 bedroom condo, which was perfect for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reason for the upgrade was they lost the reservation for one of our rooms, and since we got in at 1 am, it took time to work out where we were going to land.

    Upgraded to a 2 bedroom condo, which was perfect for our family. The hotel staff was very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    Location was great really did not spend much time in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great really did not spend much time in room. Wished we had a balcony as the room was a bit small... understand you were booked full. Room needs a full length mirror.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    9.6
    Very nice room, huge bathroom, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room, huge bathroom, very friendly staff, convenient location with ski concierge, excellent food and service at rev restaurant, good wifi in room

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.6
    Convenient location and dedicated staff who were cool under...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location and dedicated staff who were cool under pressure of power outage...

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    I had to work while I was there, but the wifi was too slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had to work while I was there, but the wifi was too slow.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    There is a wonderful young man, Johnathan from Montrose, who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all great

    There is a wonderful young man, Johnathan from Montrose, who was especially helpful and so, so friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Location and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Hotel, room, services, staff all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waitress at Blackstone Grill. Overall horrible service. Food was excellent.

    Hotel, room, services, staff all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    First class hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    First class hotel! The room was beautiful! The staff was wonderful!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    One of the nicest "hotel" rooms I have ever stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of the nicest "hotel" rooms I have ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    Poor access to ice, water, drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor access to ice, water, drinks. After 9pm plan on taking the gondola down for such staples. Poor lighting in bathroom

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    9.6
    room comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom lighting a bit dark

    room comfort

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Location, amenities, first-class all the way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, amenities, first-class all the way! The staff was so unbelievable helpful and friendly! We had the best time.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 58

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Madeline Hotel and Residences, an Auberge Resorts Collection traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: