Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlyle Hotel 3 stars

1300 Camden Avenue, Campbell, CA 95008, USA

#6 of 8 hotels in Campbell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.0
    Location easy access to the freeway
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    So many paper work just to let us know that if we damage the property I be responsible of any damage.. Create not a very pleasant and good night sleep. I want stay an a place that they make me feel like that I I am a bad person or I will be damaging , steeling the staff. Creates a bad environment. My room had a big cup across the curtains and a missing handle in the shower room.

    Location easy access to the freeway

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.5
    Overall it was on an Average Basis! (according to my comments above)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was comfortable but it reeked of smell like stale cigarettes and I supposedly had a Non-Smoking Room! The Parking Lot below the hotel is ridiculous, because it was way too small and too tight of spots to park a vehicle. (especially going out on the town at night and coming back late.....lucky if there is even one parking spot left to grab!) The cost of the hotel was to expensive for only 1 night in my opinion. There are other hotels that are less priced.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean with fresh towels. The breakfast was good but small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Cozy little get away, sans the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was terrible, you would literally sink into the mattress. Definitely would stay again, just not in room 105

    The nice lite breakfast options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing the decor was so outdated and terrible, the cable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minute I got there a dog claiming to be a K-9 unit lundged at me I was terrified he was not even a real police dog, then the cable was from the 90s also I had a deluxe room and got transferred to a double bed room !!!!

    Nothing the decor was so outdated and terrible, the cable sucked there was no USB ports the room smelt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    This place was probably nice 20 years ago. Now you can’t even get hot water for shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water for shower. Called and complained but they couldn’t move us to another room and wouldn’t give us our money back. Manager said he would call us back to offer us something, but he never called back.They finally offered to send maintenance up as we were checking out! Ice machine not working, fridge not working and air conditioning barely worked.

    Large room with 2 king sized beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    If you think that mid week prices are lower think again, weekends are cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phone never worked. TV was unplugged when we tried to turn it on. I had to sign off on hotels rules but they would not give me a copy of those rules like they hoped that you forget then pay penalties.

    Quiet, Clean, Good amenities, Good Air Conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable, the room was convenient to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Patio Is outdated, dirty and really needs an update with flowers but most of all not a place where you can sit outside your room to enjoy a cup of coffee. The bathroom had mold in the shower but otherwise looked ok.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was convenient to breakfast area and the breakfast was nice. The interior was clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    I suppose the price was reasonable for a hotel in Silicon Valley...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty entering/exiting the parking garage... The parking garage didn’t appear to be a safe place to leave our car.. Hotel is older and didn’t have a fresh smell as we entered..

    Beds were very comfortable! And, near the on/off ramp to Highway 17.. Close to family.. Otherwise, this location/Area of Campbell wasn’t the safest..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    The stay was more than adequate ... personnel were nice and helpful. Clean rooms ... comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was non-operational ..there's no excuse for that. An unexpected $50 deposit fee was tacked onto the bill ... to be reimbursed after stay. I don't like those types of surprises.

    The breakfast was good and had variety. That's a real plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The bathtub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left something in the room when we checked out and when I called a day later thinking for sure the clraning staff would have found it, nobody had seen it......really it just went poof in to thin air....rriiggght

    The bathtub

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. You
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little to close to the street and the street noise was a little too much.

    The continental breakfast was very good. Excellent prepared food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    Not the best of places at this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the value for the price. Rooms are noisy as the road is really close by. Bathrooms had very old knobs. Rooms in general are dingy and closterophobhic.brekfast was average.

    Average property. Not the best of rooms. Average bathrooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    next to the freeway (can be both a pro and a con - no noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    next to the freeway (can be both a pro and a con - no noise problems though), good breakfast, hotel with a nice atmosphere, lift from parking deck (street level) to reception and rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    I am miserably uncomfortable!!! Whatever bit me, I could not see, so it is likely very tiny.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very hard time trying to sleep as I started to itch. I was in room #114. I do not know what was biting me, I.e., fleas, bed bugs, ????? However, this morning I woke up with, many large welts all over my body; not a rash, but welts. I have them on my ears, arms, back & some on my legs. I reported this to the person on duty. The itching has not stopped, so I bought some benedryl but it is not helping. I will be going to Urgent Care in the morning; if it really gets worse before then, I will be to the hospital emergency room!!!!

    Staff very nice. Appearances are very good. Food appropriate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    I thought breakfast was available until 11:00am, however,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast closing so early

    I thought breakfast was available until 11:00am, however, itclosed at 10:00am, so I missed it. The lady cleaning up the kitchen was able to find a yogurt, apple & an orange, so that helped!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only stayed for one night

    The room was great I thought it wouldn't be as I expect it but it turned out to be better The bed was super comfortable The bathroom was super clean staff was friendly and super helpful I'm defiant coming back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Front desk staff was friendly and did a quick job helping with the check-in. The room was spacious and neatly organized. Loved the decor too. Stable Wi-Fi. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi bath. A five-minute drive to Campbell downtown where you could find nice restaurant options too. Will stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    4.6
    False accusations create financial burden
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like being falsely accused of smoking in the room and charged for it without notification or did the staff inquire to my smoking accusation. Nor does the standard price per room justify such behind the back treatment. Paying such prices first off and then charged nearly double I payed for the room is immeasurable!

    The bathroom and jacuzzi tub were fantastic, much needed. Bed was very soft and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe. Almond milk or soy milk for us who can't have milk. Otherwise, great start to my day.

    First, I was greeted with a smile after a long drive. Second,clean room and wonderful bed. Third, good breakfast. Fourth, a smile before I hit the road again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    3.3
    Taking your chances.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was not working you had to call for someone to operate it for you. They finally had to shut it down completely. If you were a handicap person this is not an easy access place. Night clerk was not attentive on his cellphone. No hot water, bathtub/shower safety zero. Tub was high to step into for the shower. Safety issue being that there are no safety bars to grab on to. Sink in bathroom did not drain unless you went under the sink and popped up the sink stopper so the water could drain. The cleaner smell when you walked in to the lobby was overwhelming. Not sure what oder they were trying to cover up.

    Easy access to the freeway.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Wounderful
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    I was surprised and pleased with this hotel. I missed having a pool for granddaughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned but cozy decor. Felt safe Good location for me Clean friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Run down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down facility. Worst bed ever. As hard as the floor.

    Staff were friendly and courteous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old and tired looking. poor breakfast

    located right next to the freeway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Thanks!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Front desk staff, clean facility, Starbucks right next door, very quiet, nice work desk in room with WiFi. Exactly what I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Really didn’t like the bed and not having an elevator was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really didn’t like the bed and not having an elevator was inconvenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Served the purpose. Stayed with adult family. Visiting family at the nearby hospital
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was not working, getting out of parking during commute time was difficult.

    location and reasonable price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful

    Clean and spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cookies are great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast selection was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was good. Also very peaceful & quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very bowed 😢

    Breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed...staff needs training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave me an occupied room...8am maid enters room without knocking..check out is 11am. She does this once more.

    Location and big bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers for the guest

    I like the ambiance and the price is worth the stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended..I've been too many hotels but so far this is the best I've been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a guest who was kinda crazy walking barefooted

    I like the place it's very nice and affordable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv only received one chanmel

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value. Friendly staff. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice

    Desk clerk was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Bed was too lumpy it hurt your body!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too lumpy it hurt your body! It needs to be replaced. Everyone was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Campbell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very unique

    Everything about the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled like room freshener

    Roomy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, great Jacuzzi bath in the room, every thing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too many breakfast choices.

    Comfortable bed, great Jacuzzi bath in the room, every thing was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Beware, don't get your hopes up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor maintenance. Chairs with foam coming out. The first room smelled so bad that we had to ask for another room. No hot water!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    6.7
    If you are make sure the elevator works
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not working

    If you are make sure the elevator works

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    Staff very accommodating and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.1
    Furnished/decorated nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the front desk staff seemed a little frazzled but everyone else was very nice. Manager was very attuned to the details.

    Furnished/decorated nicely. Well run.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.7
    Roomy and equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unpleasant stuffy odor as if linen/bedspreads or furniture haven't been thoroughly cleaned quite some while.

    Roomy and equipped. Convenient access to parking

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    5.0
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my bedroom was adjacent to the main road so it was noisy. The TV was an old cathode ray tube type so I didn't even try. I could not get access to the internet and the alarm clock was broken. I asked one thing of the front desk person and I was met with a negative response. Goodness - even the coffee was poor.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    3.8
    Awful breakfast, frayed furniture with holes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awful breakfast, frayed furniture with holes. Large brown stains on towels. I've asked receptionist to replace them and got towels with smaller black stains. All towels I was provided during my stay had various stains on them. Stains were also on bed clothes. I will never visit this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is nice and clean.
    • Family with young children

    Bed was way too soft for my liking. The bathroom door squeaked loudly any time you opened it and it was so heavy it had to shut closed. That started to get annoying after awhile so we ended up propping it open.

    Hotel is nice and clean. Good location--right off the freeway. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    Extremely quiet ( manager very smart to put families at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was very meager and some items were unreplenished. I had to go to outside restaurants for breakfast.

    Extremely quiet ( manager very smart to put families at other end of building from solo travelers), very comfortable bed, convenient parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.0
    The Carlyle staff was the best attribute to the hotel.
    • Solo traveller

    It seemed as though the hotel had new management and were trying to update the hotel. Our beds kept slipping from the box spring. It was pretty funny. We also had no ice available though we had an ice bucket and baggie. Again, no big deal. We found it comical.

    The Carlyle staff was the best attribute to the hotel. Professional and accomodating to all of my needs. The hotel was right off the freeway and was close to everything I needed for my three day stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    In and out of hotel parking is dangerous.
    • Couple

    In and out of hotel parking is dangerous. Exit is into (4) lanes of crazy rush hour traffic trying to get onto highway 17. No other entrance/exit available.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A nightlight in the bathroom would have been nice. An ice machine in the hotel would have been nice; I think it was broken.

    The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    7.5
    The rooms were quite large, the bed was comfortable, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's not a lot to do in the area, the furniture in the room is a bit dated (the desk chair cushion had been worn through...), and the breakfast buffet was about what you'd expect for the money.

    The rooms were quite large, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was free and the wi-fi worked just fine. The manager and front desk staff were very nice and helpful as well. The price for the place was great.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful if you needed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower didn't have a lot of pressure but the water was hot. Shower appear to have some mold issues that could have been taken care of.

    Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful if you needed anything. Breakfast was good. Good variety and area was clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    6.7
    Staff were attentive & helpful.
    • Couple

    Décor was dated, furnishings were shabby with several chairs in room with torn seating, bedspread was falling apart & new head pillows needed.

    Staff were attentive & helpful. Amenities were adequate: bed was comfortable enough, room was spacious, bathroom clean & television worked well. Breakfast was decent.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.8
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room smelled like urine.

    Beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast did not varied which was good since I...
    • Couple

    The breakfast did not varied which was good since I typically have oatmeal and yogurt for breakfast. My husband of course had eggs and sausage.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.8
    The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on. The entire staff was kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Value for price, quiet, room size
    • Couple

    Freezer didn't freeze, Spoiled food that thawed

    Value for price, quiet, room size

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    6.7
    The rooms are large.
    • Couple

    Kind of run down. Probably was once a cool place but hasn't done well over the years.

    The rooms are large. Location is good.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    5.8
    It was clean enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and staff

    It was clean enough.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Everything was clean and everyone was very very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was extremely worn. Repairs made in the bathroom were "shoddy".

    Everything was clean and everyone was very very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Great place, great price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Offer a discount for next visit

    Great place, great price!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    5.8
    The room has bad smell.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room has bad smell.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff was accommodating and personable.
    • Couple

    The staff was accommodating and personable.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly & accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was very friendly & accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    It was close to family gathering in Los Gatos at a...
    • Couple

    It was close to family gathering in Los Gatos at a reasonable cost. Light and pleasant lobby and breakfast area, clean, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    8.3
    The Victorian decor was very pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Victorian decor was very pretty.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: