Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Carolinian Inn 2 stars

2916 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28403, USA

#45 of 45 hotels in Wilmington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.2

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    We will not return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was very poor. Never cleaned our room and we had to go to the front office 4x before we got clean towels. The phone in the room did not work at all.

    The pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The pool was great, clean and not too much clorine.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inside of the door was very dirty, hand and fingerprints all around the edge. The air conditioner vent & filter were very dirty. The mattress was tolerable but lumpy and soft; by the second night my back was sore.

    The pool was great, clean and not too much clorine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall it is a nice place to stay for a get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the idea of housekeeping waking me up at 9 am and not wanting to leave extra towels like she was very rude and ill-natured, I think the rooms need extra towels due to guest swimming and having to take showers, that's the purpose of paying,

    I loved the room, the pool, and friendly front desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    The property is well maintained and clean and the layout is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a microwave in our room and the room was very dark,one of the lamps on the wall wouldn’t work at all.The water in the bathtub wouldn’t turn off completely so a fair amount of water was coming out of the faucet constantly and when you turned the shower on the bathtub wouldn’t completely shut off then either so water would come out of both the shower and the faucet but the amount of water coming from the faucet wasn’t much.The tub didn’t drain properly though and about two inches of water would be standing in the tub as you take a shower.

    The property is well maintained and clean and the layout is great!Our room was definitely outdated but clean and it was very big compared to other rooms in the area!Overall it was a great value for what we spent,we enjoyed our stay and would be very likely to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and a bit creepy. There was an unruly phone beeping every 10 minuets all night long. The room did not seem very clean. The breakfast left much to be desired and there was a large cockroach on the floor near the breakfast.

    There is not much to like. The room has a bed and a working bathroom, which is the best I can say about it. The pool seemed nice and clean, although we did not swim.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Inexpensive, clean and close to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not available and the coffee was out. However if it were available plastic cups were out for use. Management has to do better to create a better experience for customers based upon what is being advertised.

    This property is of great value for someone who wants a clean place to sleep without the extra cost. It is pretty close to entertainment and food as well as about 10-15 minutes from Wrightsville Beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    The beds were very hard and very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and very small. The bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling and shower curtain. Also has water bugs. The maid skipped our room until I went and complained. The doors to the rooms were very loud when shut. I have a toddler that kept getting woke up because of it. The pool was also very small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    I liked the mini fridge in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls need to be cleaned or painted. We did have a smoking room but you can tell the yellow walls were definitely from smoking and the bedding needs to be updated. looked stained from cig smoke and the sheets were clean but stained.

    I liked the mini fridge in room. and the shower was roomy and hot water was great.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel that could have been A. Class not was not!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The holder was broken for the towels. Then the table was broken. The air was need of adjustments, the keys did not work!! Ok place but we will stay somewhere else next time!! Thanks

    Called front desk!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Not recommnded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinked! The room had a horrible smell. Breakfast was horrible and too far from a continental. No wifi in the hotel

    Not much to like. The room was spacious and the bed was a king bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Should have been 1/2 the amount for what was advertised.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was musty. The smoke alarm was dangling from the ceiling. The shower head sprayed water out of the shower and the faucet was not tight to the shower wall. The toilet seat broke. However, the manager DID fix these things when we asked him to. The fire dept., police and EMS were there 2 evenings in a row. ???? The breakfast offerings were lame.

    The king sized bed was the only good thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.5
    HORRIBLE CONDITIONS!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold and stains on the bed skirt, mattress cover, and sheets. The Smoke detector was ripped out of the ceiling. Refrigerator wasn't working and was dirty on the inside. No Microwave was provided even though the website said there would be. Bed was hard and pillo2s were very flat. There was black specks and bugs in the tub. The shower curtain had mold on it. The hair dryer unit was hanging from the wall, which I felt to be unsafe. Floors were dirty. There was a very musty/moldy smell in the room.

    Didn't like any of it. This hotel was DISGUSTING

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had any complaints at all, I would only suggest they put a little more effort into the breakfast options.

    It was a last minute booking. They were very friendly and attentive after midnight when I arrived. The room was clean and well appointed. It was a huge room and exactly what we needed after a long day on the road!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    2.9
    This place was disgusting and we should have refused to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was disgusting and we should have refused to stay there. It was dirty, dangerous and uncomfortable. Even the new lamp shades still had the plastic covering as though someone thinks it’s a design statement.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok for a 1-2 night stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed repairs especially the bathroom , lamp was broken , wash clothes , towels were stained bad and rough as sandpaper , the bathtub needed caulking and had a tub liner over the original tub and had water under it ,, it was like walking on a water bed .

    The price and location , the outside was neat .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    Filthy, needs deep cleaning bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets at check in were old sheets, never changed. Caked with food and some type of oil. Top blanket filthy to. The room lacked deep cleaning and had a filth odor to it. I took a rag and wiped down the head board. The rag turned deep browm. Looked like years of build up. Bad leak around toilet and dry wall, wet and falling in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.8
    Tolerable
    • Group
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are like sandpaper had to call for hot water to be fixed donuts and coffee is not breakfast in any form everything is old and needs to be replaced electric outlets are far and few and loose.pal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    I would not stay there again and would not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was way to low. I woke up with bad neck. Due crappy mattress. Had go to dr when we got home. Tv stand had crumbs still on it. The hotel looks nothing like the picture on the website.

    It was somewhat close to Wrightsville beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Was only 2 nights but very poor!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet seat broken; outlet in bathroom didn't work; sink didn't drain well; tub faucets leaked and were very funky; carpet near bathroom wall was very wet - tub must leak. Very, very old and not very presentable. Bath towels very thin and small. Never had breakfast there, but looked like only bananas and pastries.

    Probably only the hotel location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Just slept. Leaving early and arriving late due to work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not functioning in the room. Only weak signal from the Frontoffice. They promised to work on on day 1. But in 6 days no result. Bed was not clean. Found long hairs and looked not white. Towels clean but not white. They advertise with continental breakfast. But only sweet cinnamon cakes and chocolate cookies + very weak white bread.

    Good sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.3
    Not happy with the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard the rugs were dirty the TV needed to be fixed and it needs updating in the bathroom toilet didn't flush well. They need new beds and fox the electrical outlets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Bad owners
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was harrassed by an employee then when i called the first desk the owner said what did i want him to do? The toliet wouldn't flush properly. The heat didn't work that well. I didn't have a microwave I had to ask for one. And the room phone didn't work. And for breakfast was toast and muffins.

    The price.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    Will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole room. Some of the staff here were rude because we complained about it being so messy.

    The beds are hard as bricks the tv didn’t work. The fridge was dirty. Someone left gym shorts in the closet and the maids didn’t clean it. Half the lights didn’t work. The door to get in the room was so hard to get it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Overall not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold, it took hours to warm up and it needed renovating really badly looks like the last time was in the 60's

    The size of the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Torture room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard. Too Flat pillows. AC/Heat was too cold. 72 highest it went but felt like 50. Not good for people with arthritis & other joint problems. Therefore could not sleep.

    Location & a place to sleep..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    I liked the quietness of the place and the accessibility to many places.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool, from the site I thought it was open. Musty smell of room initially, febreeze clear that ou.. dirty shower curtain that was replace upon asking.With air condition in use I would have liked a blanket,asked for one, provided a sheet.Blow dryer didn't work, exchange upon asking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.3
    It was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an awful, dumpy place that my girlfriend and I only stay in because it is cheap. The breakfast is stale doughnuts and see through coffee. Some mornings they didn't even have coffee. You have to ask for a microwave in your room and if you get a smoking room it has a dingy old bed spread that has to be removed from the bed. They had bed bugs and roaches. Beds were ok but the pillows were flat.

    Nothing....it was just the cheapest in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    2.5
    They should be closed due to health violations and for false and misleading statements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drain pipe on the bathroom sink had a hole in it and when I used the sink like to brush my teeth the waster drained through that hole. I have pictures of a slug in that pool of water.

    Nothing. Breakfast was offered for 6 am but there was none.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    2.5
    Killing bed bugs at night gets you no sleep...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get rid of the bed bugs . Fix bed structure . Get rid of centipedes . Need more breakfast . Toast n coffee isn't breakfast.

    The breakfast is toast with butter or jelly stale donuts and coffee . One room AC wasn't working next room had bed bugs biting me my mom and my child . Never will book their again . Did I mention centipede in hotel too. Some rooms don't have microwave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    I came, I slept, I left
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning was very noisy and not very effective. TV only had a controller for the cable, had to get up to turn on/off and change volume.

    Location was great for the reason I was in Wilmington.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    2.9
    Gross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super ratchet, in the ghetto and it was disgusting. Definitely needed a deep cleaning. I felt disgusting after sleeping in the bed, even after bringing my own blankets. Smelled musty as well.

    Was the only reasonably priced hotel that allowed 18 year olds to check in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    It was ok for a last minute trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was double. It was more firm than I was used too. The shower walls need to be regrouted and some cosmetic work needs to be done. The refrigerator was unplugged and there was water in the bottom of it. The floor was very uneven. The shower was to low. I am a tall person. Not impressed with the free breakfast

    It was fairly priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    More soap / shampoo, coffee make in room.

    This is an older hotel. It is kept up in very good condition. Room is very spacious and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we tried was half below grade. Hard to access with rough wooden ramps. Smelled very musty and no internet. The next room they gave us was at least accessible and smelled a little better. Air conditioner hardly worked and Wi-Fi was virtually useless. Most of the electrical lights and fixtures did not work and were not grounded so we could not use out CPAP machines Beds extra hard. We had planned to stay 2 nights but left after one They did not want to refund the second night and blamed booking.com Avoid this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.6
    Room was large
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote was broken, not the cleanest, No Wifi, crowded, Very outdated , old and not so comfortable beds, this is for a traveling worker

    Room was large

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.5
    Worst Hotel Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It had a bad odor. Mold & cracks all through the bathroom. Very outdated tv, cable didn't work. As promised on the website & sign. Wifi ONLY worked in the office. Wifi was suppose to be throughout the facility. Window unit air conditioning, didn't cool the room. Bedding was outdated & stained. Pillows were flat & small. Illegal activities in the rooms closest to the one we stayed in. Carpets were stained, smelled and weren't cleaned/vacuumed prior to our stay. The phone didn't work. The windows were filmy and you couldn't see through them. The curtains were tattered. The parking lot was full of trash.

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.9
    I wouldn't let my dog stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tv didn't work, the fridge didn't work and the pipes for the sink were disconnected. When I turned the water on it all came out on my feet. When I told the front desk the owner got an attitude with me about it. There was also no breakfast at all.

    The pool was nice but that's all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Good lodging for the price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was musty smelling. Possibly a mold odor. The bathroom had no exhaust fan and the bathroom window was sealed closed. The hotel was older than I anticipated. No microwave in the room either.

    Customer service. Friendly, helpful staff. Located close to the beach and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't let my DOG bunk here! UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING! THIS HOTEL IS DISGUSTING! MY SON WAS TRAPPED IN BATHROOM..DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN! DRUGS WERE SCATTERED THROUGHOUT ROOM. ROACHES..BED BUGS..DEAD LICE..HAIR, MAKEUP & OTHER DEBRI ON SHEETS. MATTRESSES WERE FILTHY..HOLES IN BOX SPRINGS. STAINS ON CEILINGS, CARPETS, WALLS. BROKEN GLASS IN WALL CREVICES! LIGHTS FALLING OFF..FILTHY NIGHT STAND..ALL FURNITURE BELONGED IN DUMP 10 YRS AGO! NO ICE. NO BREAKFAST. APPALLING!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Family friendly, safe, clean, quiet and comfy. No rift raft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room coffee maker had no coffee pack. Maybe someone forgot to replace it.

    The room was quiet, clean and comfy. We had a good night's sleep. No rift raft around so we felt safe as women traveling alone. Motel has both outdoor and indoor rooms. Plenty of parking near our room. The motel policy insist on out of state travelers only so no local drug dealers/prostitutes can use the motel, all tourists, lots of families. Spotlessly clean bathroom. Checking in and out was fast. Located in the center of town. Breakfast was fresh donuts, cinnamon swirls, toast, fresh fruits and coffee/tea. Reasonable price. If I visit again, I'm definitely going back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    2.5
    Bad motel with high dollar rooms for rent
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do i start its needs a make over bad alll the patch work for all the holes in the doors an walls tv didnt work ac wouldnt stay plugged in an it was 100 outside plug -ins didnt would couldnt charge my phone i never leave comments but did this time cause this motel was bad miss matched paint to cover all the patch work over the holes an the pictures on the site doesn't match the room i had im really bothered by this i paid good money for a bad room an i work hard for my money i so wish i would have took pictures after working all day then making an 8 hour drive there i was beat so i didnt think about taking pictures until after i left i wiuld tell everyone to stay clear of this place cause i would sleep in my car before i rented a room here again sorry to keep goin on but im just very upset with this motel

    There wasnt anything to like.it was the worse motel ive stayed in.we travel alot stay in alot of motels but this one was really bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    2.5
    Vacation gone Wrong
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly I did not like the fact that The place would not honor the deal I got through booking.com I was suppose to be able to stay there 3 nights for $126.00 that is what the site said. We drove a long way and when we get to the motel the place said it would be over $200 so we was only able to stay one night. It was the worst trip we had.You gotta drive 30 minutes just to get to the beach. Then found roaches in our room. Everything was horrible. All I wanted was to take my daughter to the beach for the first time it was such a disaster. Will never stay there again and will make sure I call the booking site before I actually book with anyone.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    2.9
    Dirty, gross and old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. I paid a substantial amount of money for one night. It was very unclean. Stains on many of the room amenities.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was dirty, sink would not drain, had to flush toilet several times, and shower curtin had something all over it. Coffee pot in room took about 30 mins. to make 4 cups of coffee. couldn't get anyone to room before we had to check out.

    good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay on a low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast isn't anything special or anything anyone would want to eat. The guy who checked us in wasn't very warm at all, and didn't explain on the map where our room was, ice machine ect. Very much here's your room key, thanks. its not a deal breaker for us, but for some it might be.

    The location of the Inn is good, it's about 15 min to the beach but very close to all the major restaurants. The bed is very clean and comfortable. For a low budget this is a great place to stay, no bugs and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    The pool more than made up for a little dated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated with age , but for the money and comfort , iwas pleased overall. Btw anyways the pool made up for any and everything dated with room. I will definitely stay tbere again when Im in Wilmington NC

    The Pool was Awesome , Nice and Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lots of maintenance. Walls, ceiling, cabinet, ECT. Paid $80 for the night and the condition of this place is only worth $10. I expected something a little better. The reviews online are three stars but I can't even give one.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Will not stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower did not work. The safety ground on the plugs were cut off to fit into the old receptacles. The towel was stained. They had to repair the TV controls and the remote still didn't cut the TV on and off. The coffee maker was cracked. All the lamps were damaged. The GFCI plug in the bathroom did not work. Broken electrical receptacle. Left a full page of things that needed to be repaired.

    The staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Holes in my sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holes in my sheets.... Toilet wasn't even flushed when I first entered the room...thought about complaining to the manager but decided not to.....just won't go back....ridiculous honestly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    2.5
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Couldn't wait to get out the next morning.

    The bedspreads were disgusting. The drapes were ready to fall down. The sink and tub were dirty. There was nothing to like in the dormitory part of the property we werw in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.8
    worst place ever to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please read above box. I was so disgusted

    The room was very dirty wall paper falling off a/c didn't work, bathroom had grease all over shower curtain and looked like it steps not been cleaned. We found a fingernail on the floor. Bugs in the steps. Ramp beside the steps is very dangerous my sister had trouble walking up it and the steps suck. Over all I will never stay with this hotel again. Very upset . I would of fathered slept in my car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. This guy was so unhappy with all the reservations he had received from that day he was complaining. Then he was real demanding asking to fill the info card and finally he throws my room key on the counter when he askes me if he hadn't given me my key. Cause I was still there standing looking lost. Sorry but I'm a lady. And I don't tolerate that.( And i wasnt siging my self in this property it was for my parents. ) I now it was cheap place but nice customer service doesn't hurt anyone. Smh.

    The location. The quietness and the price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    2.9
    Carolinian Hotel 4/16/17
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony door didn't open, the front door didn't lock, there was no parking, there was no wifi, there are burn holes in the sheetz and mattresses, and the furniture was broken. When we pulled up for the first time there was 7 cops outside with their lights on.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    If you want a cheap place to stay, the Carolinian is a good bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not feel too terribly safe at this motel, we stayed in room 144 and read a news article about two people getting shot and killed right out in the parking lot from room 139, so that was a little unsettling. Also did not feel okay with using the sheets or towels provided, we brought our own sheets and towels. Our key stopped working on the second night as well, but fortunately the front office is 24 hours. Lastly, we were told there was free wifi and a flatscreen which there was not, but we did not mind.

    For the money, the Carolinian Inn was perfectly acceptable. The room was dingy and dark but for the price it was fine, also ours was a smoking room so understandably it was probably a little more run down than some of the other rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't all that friendly. Not a big selection for breakfast. Staff didn't act like they cared if we enjoyed ourselves, no come back or did you have a good stay.

    The bed was really comfortable. Location was convenient to where we travelled daily.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    3.3
    Not pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite disappointed. There was bodily fluid all over the wall by the bed. There was hair in the bed that wasn't ours. The housekeeping staff was very rude. I had to flag them down for toilet paper. Never should have to do that. Any hotel that I've stayed in ,always left an hour extra roll in the room.

    I liked the price. That is all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    2.5
    Horrible experience & I don recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place should be closed down,and reported to the health dept. This was the most disgusting,uncomfortable,out of place feeling place I have ever been to .we will never stay here again & deff would never recommend it.

    Checking out of this nasty place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    4.2
    Words can not explain the conditions of this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower heads were awful, holes in the walls in the bathtub area. Mildew, gutters were falling off the roof and rain water was running off the roof over flowing from the gutters. Motel is used to house welfare/homeless people who loitered around all night screaming and yelling and arguing with each other. All electrical items were hooked up with extension cords. Doors did not lock properly and wind and debris came through bottom of doors. We had cockroaches as well. Rooms smelled from mildew. Awful experience.

    There was nothing that we liked. The motel was disgusting. I reserved 3 rooms and they were all gross. Sorry one thing we liked was that we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner louver/vents were broken and could not direct air flow. Property is outdated and needs a little TLC.

    Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. A very convenient location and affordable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.7
    Affordable is important for some of us. But that shouldnt mean we have to settle for disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in dire need of an upgrade. Carpet old and significantly stained. Sheets frayed and torn. No blanket just a top sheet. Towels had big holes in them...more rag than towel. Walls had holes and molding was filthy. Definitely didnt leave any bags on the floor afraid the roaches crawling around outside would hitch a ride home with me. And drug dealer parked outside for hours doing an active business was enough to make sure I checked my deadbolt more than twice.

    Location to downtown Wilmington was great! And the night desk clerk was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    2.9
    The room was dirty and had a very bad odor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and had a very bad odor. The shower curtain rod was falling out of the wall. Tiles were falling off. Bathroom sink was falling apart. We didn't take a shower while we were there, waited until we got where we were going 9 hours later. Oh, and there were drunk people outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    Good Location, poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom shower rod was falling out of the wall. Loose telephone jack wires were coming out of the wall. TV remote was not working.

    Good location.Bed was ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    4.6
    It was just ok
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stupid air conditioner wasn't working properly and it's mid August in North Carolina. Also, the TV remote would not control the volume or power, only channels.

    Inexpensive. Clean enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.6
    bare necessities barely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we only chose this place because of the pool but we were informed when we got there that the pool was closed and no discounts or refunds were provided; did not even supply soap and acted like it was a big deal when we asked for some--same with enough towels for everyone in our party; breakfast was nothing but non-nutritional carbs, of which most were gone and not replenished; a light switch got flipped which apparently controlled all of the electricity to the entire room--fridge warmed, no AC, no lights!

    location is good; easy parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    4.2
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything honestly. They overcharged us, room was nasty, two different people in different rooms overdosed in the same night, door had been previously kicked in, no TV channels, maid didn't come to clean, mini fridge smelt like something died inside, and for breakfast there was pre packaged honey buns. Worst hotel experience I have ever had.

    I liked how close we were to the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    1. There was a pool that people seemed to enjoy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A circuit breaker, or something, "popped" causing the TV and small fridge to turn off sometime during the day. I had to change outlets to get them on again. The only thing that worked on the TV remote was the channel buttons.

    1. There was a pool that people seemed to enjoy 2. The staff members were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    3.3
    The bed was nice and big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled, the bathroom was too small, and I paid for wifi and it wouldn't let me connect to it, and the rooms were not very spacious

    The bed was nice and big

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.2
    Nice place just to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a window in the bathroom which was really weird. The room looked a bit outdated. And there was no remote to the tv.

    The bed was fantastic. We slept in complete comfort. And enjoyed having a king.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Could have been great
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cute but I had no Wi-Fi that's my big complaint

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.0
    It was terrible
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole experience. Would never stay there again.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have microwave

    The pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    You get what you pay for (barely)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely outdated and poorly maintained

    Cheap as hell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean rooms and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Commode overflowed

    Clean rooms and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    people to clean my room . stuff came missing from room .

    love this place very friendly and always willing to help you. Thanks keep up great work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    we only stayed one night so overall was ok. did not get the free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upper Lock on the door was broken. Location is not great.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Rates were reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: