Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carter House Inns 3 stars

301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501, USA

#5 of 22 hotels in Eureka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold with no way to turn on any heat. Could hear everything going on in the rooms around us (even the staff arguing & cussing). I understand it's an old building, but still.. Would have been nice to have a frig, at least.

    Beautiful building!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Comfortable stay. Convenient base for exploring Redwoods National Park. Fabulous breakfast - the best we've had so far on our trip!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Consisten professional staff and clean, comfortable as this was our third stay at Carter House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great that management upgraded us to a suite..we have also own a bed and breakfast So are particular guests and it was a lovely stay. Enjoyed the walk around Old Eureaka nieightorhood. Evidence of homeless population but we have them in Yuba City too. Highly recommend this wonderful B and B.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't like the homeless situation in Eureka. Very sad and you don't know if you are safe or not.

    Loved the bathroom amenities, glass of champagne as you check in, and the cookies at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    I'd stay here again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and decor were old--but we expected that from an historic inn. Everything was tip-top clean and in good condition, so this is really not a complaint, just information for those who might weigh this differently from us. We really liked it all and (as the headline says) would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The check-in experience was great. Our room was upgraded (because it was my birthday -- a nice touch, thank you!). It was quiet and quite pleasant. We especially appreciated that there was a charger in the parking lot for our electric vehicle. The location near downtown was very convenient and yet quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Extremely relaxing stay in a very beautiful historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add to this section.

    Extremely relaxing stay in a very beautiful historic location. The rooms were very clean and the bed confortable. We were greeted with a glass of wine on arrival which made us feel very welcomed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Great property in a nice location in walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripe was the breakfast waitress was a bit slow and not forthcoming on what was available

    Great property in a nice location in walking distance of downtown Eureka

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Way to expensive for venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unorganized dining experience at breakfast. Very under staffed. Loud upstairs guests (stomping on our heads). Downtown Eureka is scary.

    Staff was excellent. Very thoughtful and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.0
    Would go back to have dinner but wouldn't stay there again. Not a bad place, just not for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE had to ask for shampoo in the room and to have a ceiling shower light in that wasn't working which is not conducive to taking a shower at night. hey told us we had a free drink and we asked twice for it but were never given to us and I didn't want to keep asking. We asked for milk at breakfast for the oatmeal, twice, and they never brought it. They told me we had to pay for an espresso which is odd given that they did not give us two drinks the night before. At breakfast The waitress was overwhelmed and the only one working. When I gave them the key to leave they did not ask anything about the stay (the two women at the desk) or I would have told them the above

    The dinner in the restaurant and the waitstaff was all a ten-great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location; nice friendly atmosphere and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chairs/sofa in room were nice but not comfortable.

    Liked the location; room was spacious (suite) and nice. Liked the complimentary happy hour and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Carter House Inn, a jewel in Northern California
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that I didn't like about the Carter House Inn. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

    The breakfast was perfection and the coffee flowed like the river it should!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    The staff and the facility were very clean and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and the facility were very clean and comfortable. The kind of place where you can sit, have a glass of wine and meet other travelers. Very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, but in old building that shows its age
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was inconsistent temperature, room was either too hot or too cold (unable to set/maintain a temperature)

    Good location and staff. Restaurant was fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing for the outrageous price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the entrance. Staff were curt and the bar keep poured our offered wine and ignored our indication to purchase more.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel is nice, but surrounding area is filled with transients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and smelled musty when we arrived. We opened the windows and could hear quite a show from the numerous transients walking through the surrounding area. The noise outside went on pretty much all night.

    Free breakfast included with room was good. The front desk quickly fixed my room rate when I discovered I’d been overcharged.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but some improvements needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms very warm had difficulty getting the window to stay open. Breakfast was disappointing. Hardly anything left, no fruit selection, yogurt or berry compote as on menu. Had to ask for cups for coffee and bread for toast. Did get freshly poached eggs and waitress was friendly and served us quickly. Not much in Eureka but it was only 1 nights stay.

    The room was lovely and very clean. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    We definitely would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful inn with a very friendly staff in a beautiful setting. They include a delicious breakfast every morning, afternoon appetizers and a glass of wine or or a beer at the bar, located right in the lobby of the main building with your room. The bar served quality stuff, including local craft beers and California wine. It was very busy for happy hour. We didn't get a chance to have dinner at the restaurant, but the menu looked tasty (and it smelled great, too).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    Excellent restaurant attached to a mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bed and chair were uncomfortable. Bed was very hard and chair was narrow, hard and slanted towards front. Would not stay there again.

    Restaurant was very good for dinner and good for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Charming, warm and inviting Inn with a friendly, attentive staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; from the complimentary glass of wine when we arrived to the cookies and coffee or tea after dinner by the fire place as well as the great breakfast (amazing fresh baked pasteries) the following morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    We very much enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small but very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly. Very nice happy hour in the neat little bar. We would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel with amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice if there was a mini-fridge in the room, but other than that it's very nicely appointed. Not really much of a view to speak of (our room just looked out over the back parking lot). Fair amount of noise in our room (106) in the morning due to traffic on the adjoining staircase.

    Quaint, historic hotel. Loved the food! Probably the best free breakfast we've had at a hotel. And the staff were very friendly and professional. Wifi seemed to work well for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Very chic!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful inn. VEry modern and chic. My daughter and I were only passing thru and we really wished we could of stayed longer. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Surprise Luxury in Eureka
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disappointing issues were very minor compared with our overall stay. However, we were traveling with our two shih tzus and were charged a $50 fee for our 30 pounds of dog. I'd rather pay the more customary $25 and forgo the doggie welcome basket which was lovely but unnecessary. Our room was on the first floor in the back and overlooked the parking lot but we didn't spend any time there so it was ok. If we were there for longer than 16 hours I wouldn't have liked it. The only chintzy item we encountered was the sticky little blow dryer.

    We arrived during happy hour and enjoyed a martini along with our complimentary glass of wine. The bar and lounge area was packed and we enjoyed lots of great conversations with fellow travelers, locals and the owners. We decided to eat dinner at their award winning restaurant and weren't disappointed. The room was very clean with luxe bedding, towels and robes.everything about the inn was simply and beautifully done. We will definitely return!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.8
    The Inn is beautiful and the room was luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we had a room that was connected by doors to the room next door, and the occupants in the adjacent room talked the entire night! We could hear every bit of their conversation the entire night and were unable to notify the front desk because no one was at the desk after eleven!!! The two women's constant chatter was unbearable and kept us up the entire night. We just couldn't believe people could be so inconsiderate plus there was no way outside of us banging on their door, to make them aware we were not able to sleep with the noise from their room. This is an unusual situation, we realize, but to feel so unable to rectify the situation short of yelling at them to be quiet, was very frustrating. If there is a situation that needs addressing, there should be some way to notify a manager who can rectify the problem.

    The Inn is beautiful and the room was luxurious. The bed is comfortable and bath was well stocked with robes and a lavish complementary amenities supply. The dinner was excellent though a bit expensive. The breakfast is very nice with a great selection of rolls, breads, granola and fruit plus a wonderful egg selection.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.1
    Not a completely good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made us unplug our car from charging station when another car came in! We were told first come. Happy hour for locals didn't give us space for our free glass of wine on arrival. We were ignored

    Restaurant on premises was wonderful. Bed was super comfy but only a queen-we requested a king.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Chef who cares less
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff was not accommodating at all. Chef refused to seat us for dinner. we came down for dinner at 7:00. We were told it was too late/full and the chef would seat anyone after 8:30.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.8
    Less boutique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist very strange. Offered us dinner booking for exact arrival time. 5.0pm. Told us there were wine and appetisers but only for 5 minutes more. Toilet in room faulty in morning still in early evening then again after dinner. No apology. Forgot to charge us for wine then added it to bill without explanation. Felt rude.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great Romantic Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love to stay in B&B's whenever he can. Carter House was amazing. It was a clean, comfortable, romantic, beautiful hotel inside and out.The staff was great, both friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Great stay in Eureka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think off.

    This was a beautiful old building in the historic part of town. The room was very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Staff are kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    It was very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was outstanding. There was no rush to finish.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful Victorian with a great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Victorian with a great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    The waitress at breakfast was professional and friendly -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress at breakfast was professional and friendly - but she was hugely overworked - and could not keep up with demand

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People walking down hall way or above us was loud.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing. The room was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    North Coast Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy atmosphere. Walking distance to Old Town shops and bay Great bar and restaurant Robes linens toiletries all first class

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Attentive staff, nice room & furnishings, good food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard, no room safe.

    Attentive staff, nice room & furnishings, good food & complementary services

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    This inn is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This inn is beautiful. You cannot beat the price, either! The in-room fireplace is a nice touch and very cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Included breakfast didn't offer much.

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Fireplace in room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was not working.

    Fireplace in room was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Short staff in restaurant
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short staff in restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A great place for someplace special to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great! Breakfast specials were special! Wish they had king beds but queen worked for room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    No elevator, thin walls.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, thin walls.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    We’ll likely return for a future weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine list too narrow.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely decor and atmosphere. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location to visit the Redwood National Parks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newer side of Eureka

    The Victorian architecture of the Inns

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay on your way down the coast even if the town was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Free glass of wine. Staff made a fire in the fireplace for us. Very accommodating. Very good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Boutique hotel in an historic Victorian building with a fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boutique hotel in an historic Victorian building with a fine dining restaurant .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Charming inn for a short stay in Eureka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel and rooms. Great bar. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Charm and outstanding staffp
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charm and outstanding staffp

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    A comfortable stay in Eureka
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I enjoyed the breakfast offered, the options were very limited

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great setting, great room, great atmosphere, great staff friendly and professional. Cosy and chic. a great restaurant. A great overall choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little more updating of room. Missed not having additional gel added the second day for showering.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Nice breakfast. Pleasant and comfortable setting in quiet, historic district.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.8
    Very high standard of service, some lovely touches of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Carter House is in fact two buildings - the recreation of the Victorian Carter House and a modern building which houses rooms and the restaurant. All info refers only to the Carter House but, this building was closed when we were there (assume due to occupancy rates) so we were accommodated in the other building. It was still very nice, but not what we were anticipating!

    Very high standard of service, some lovely touches of comfort, a free glass of wine and really delicious food in the restaurant or in the bar. Loved the breakfast options in particular.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    5.8
    The staff was nice
    • Family with young children

    It wasn't worth the cost at all. The photos online did not look like our room at all. I felt lied to based on the photos. They should label what the different rooms would be like online.

    The staff was nice

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable! The complimentary breakfast was not just a continental breakfast but a menu of quality, well prepared items served at your table, amazing!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    5.0
    Cottage was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Badly run. Breakfast poor no phone in room, no insulation from noise. Room too small. Staff were willing but very poorly trained and kitchen was a shambles for breakfast.

    Cottage was beautiful. Staff Wanted to help

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    The hotel decor was tasteful and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the smaller bed and the service in 301 for breakfast was not up to the standard of the hotel. Lots of street noise (very offensive language) during the night from "locals" which was a disruption.

    The hotel decor was tasteful and stylish. The staff in particular Samantha in 301 and Mr Hornsby (?) were first class. The dinner in 301 was a highlight.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel, very friendly and thoughtful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't blame the hotel for this but the other guests at the hotel made us feel uncomfortable. As we were a young couple travelling, we felt out of place and underdressed. The hotel and staff aren't to blame for this though, just thought we'd let other travellers without smart clothes know.

    Great hotel, very friendly and thoughtful staff. We left an item at the hotel by accident and they were very helpful in recovering it. Very close to old town Eureka with all the restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.5
    I booked the room thru Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked the room thru Booking.com for $156 but was charged $199 upon check-in...what gives?!?!? Not sure if that is the Carter House's fault or Booking.com Frustrated!

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    All the staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was great but mattress a bit soft. Slept just ok

    All the staff was great. Loved the happy hour too. $2.50 manhattans and martinis...wow! Dinner in the restaurant was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tub needed another scrubbing but wasn't bad.

    Everything was great! The guy at the front desk led us to our room and showed us all the amenities. The room was cozy and clean. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Pleasant and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very noisy, especially the water pipes and corridors and the wine cellar compressor woke us up at 11pm and 5-45 am.

    Pleasant and helpfull staff. Especially Audrey.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.6
    Surprising wonderful boutique historic property in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surprising wonderful boutique historic property in a great location to Historic Eureka Complimentary Napa Wine - awesome Concierge / hotel checkin staff were very very good Small well stocked bar with excellent service

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    We got upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was right above the kitchen and restaurant and terribly noisy from chairs being pushed around downstairs. Some floor protectors on the chairs would probably help a lot with the noise. Also the room had lovely gas fireplace, but it was open and kept burning low trough out the night. There was no carbon monoxide alarm to be seen. So we had to keep the windows open.

    We got upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. The room was very light and roomy, with windows all around. Complimentary wine hour, tea and cookies at night were a great touch. Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Never before have we felt so well looked after on a trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never before have we felt so well looked after on a trip. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming, I could not recommend the Carter House Inns enough. The location is in the beautiful historic area of Eureka and we went for a beautiful evening walk after being recommended a route by the staff at the front desk. We also had an incredible meal at the restaurant downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    If you are staying in Eureka, this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear everything, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs!

    If you are staying in Eureka, this is the place to stay. The Inn is beautiful and really well located. The breakfast was delicious and quite generous. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    Considering Eureka as a relatively high crime rate town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was given the worst room - first floor, just behind the bar...very noisy, it was hard to fall asleep & stay asleep.

    Considering Eureka as a relatively high crime rate town, thelocationm of the hotel is great, as a solo woman traveler I felt safe.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    We stayed in "The Cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zero- Loved it all!

    We stayed in "The Cottage." It was perfection! Beautiful Victorian, built in 1800's. The inside was contemporary and was very"cottage" luxurious and comfy.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice room with nice amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charged for bar bill we didn't use. When I noticed this it was removed but 3 days after we left it was put back on. Needed to call again to have it removed.

    Nice room with nice amenities. Inn itself is attractive.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    The avenue of the giants and fern canyon should not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can hear everything in hallway and next door rooms. Small room for the price and no choice for hot breakfast. Eureka has seen beter days with lots of derelicts wandering around.

    The avenue of the giants and fern canyon should not be missed. Fireplace in lobby, snacks and generous glass of wine a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could hear a lot of what was going on in other rooms. Not so well soundproofed.

    Great hotel, great location and great staff. A cool hotel, fine rooms and well appointed. Good bar, friendly staff and very special hotel buliding.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.5
    This was a nice boutique hotel located within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was located on the first floor which was exposed to pedestrian and vehicle traffic on L Street. The waitress at breakfast was rather rude and did not seem well informed. The only hot option offered was biscuits, gravy and sausage, which was quite heavy, but we were able to get scrambled eggs after inquiring.

    This was a nice boutique hotel located within walking distance of old town Eureka. The staff at the reception was very attentive and the complimentary wine at happy hour was an elegant touch.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The room was beautiful and the staff made you feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was beautiful and the staff made you feel very welcome. Best place to dine is the in-house restaurant. It really was the best meal we have enjoyed out for ages.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    Absolutely everything, from the wonderful warm reception to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Absolutely everything, from the wonderful warm reception to the friendly check out. Our room was truly exceptional, with a huge shower and an incredibly comfortable bed - beautifully decorated with no detail neglected. All areas of the hotel appeared clean, bright and welcoming. A great bar with a fantastic happy hour, delicious complimentary canapés each evening, seriously good food, beautifully presented, in the restaurant. I couldn't praise this small gem of a hotel enough.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Calm, hospitable, unobtrusive and friendly atmosphere, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have only praise for the Inn and our stay.

    Calm, hospitable, unobtrusive and friendly atmosphere, in a beautifully planned and maintained inn setting. Guest comfort is obviously their first priority. The food was excellent, boh dinner and, especially because unexpected, the luxurious complimentary breakfast.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: