Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Inn 3 stars

1565 Broadway, Van Ness, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#100 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 815 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a great stay in San Fran. Marshall was extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry as I was travelling with small children but there is plenty close by.

    Great location, dated rooms but nice & clean helpful front office staff. I'd have no hesitation in staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaints only: Air conditioning unit was very loud. There was only powdered coffee creamer supplied in our room. Liquid ones would have been nice.

    Staff very kindly gave us an early check in and provided information about the local area. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Handy location for tourist activities. Free breakfast and free parking were a great bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    It was convenient to areas we wanted to visit. Price was reasonable for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft. Could hear the neighbors and see their light under the connecting door. Needed a security latch on door.

    Close to Fishermans Wharf , restaurants...walking distance. Had parking garage. Staff provided us a map and advised us on safe and unsafe areas of the city. Light breakfast provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall good value for money for our 2 night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and could do with new linen for the beds

    Fantastic location, in a safe area could walk everywhere we wanted to! Friendly staff and very helpful, breakfast was great for us because we were always on the go; muesli bars, yoghurt, oats, fruit, pastries and juice/tea/coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Castle Inn is a great place to stay!
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Very easy to check in (early) and out. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

    Location, price, ease of getting to rooms, free parking, clean, quiet. Great place to stay for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very good Hotel for one night !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is very friendly, he lets us put our baggage in a locked room after our check-out to discover the dowtown freely ! Moreover the beds are kingsize and very soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Old hotel with little facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very limited and has to be taken at the reception and eaten in the room. Pretty old furniture and the building, dark rooms and little space. No view from the room. Feels overpriced.

    Location, parking right under the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    A great location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately major roadworks were happening on the street outside - no fault of Castle Inn but not great for a good nights sleep

    A great location with parking. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, efficient and economic solution
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great and the free parking allows you to save a lot of money (normally >40$ per night). The room are very clean and the beds are comfy. Breakfast is very basic, but it is free...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hosts who were very welcoming and made me feel safe. Showed me the places not to go as they were not safe. Great lo action, walking distance to the pier and public transport. Great accommodation, would definitely recommend this place. And the most comfortable beds! Thanks for having us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very unhealthy so we decided not to have it after the first time! Also desk staff didn’t seem to be in the know about transport options thru the City. Pillows were third rate..Uncomfortably flat. Also it’s quite a noisy place.

    Rooms were large

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location when visiting San Fransisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey air con in room.

    Fantastic location, great for seeing all of SF. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was simple but enough to get you going. Great parking and great comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location very helpful staff room was fine a bit dated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the noisy side but mo major dramas.

    Great location very helpful staff room was fine a bit dated but comfortable. Great for the couple of days I stayed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Good. I would come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no full breakfast, only "continental breakfast" which you have to take up to your room on a tray. There was very good yogurt, decent pastry, oranges, good orange juice, coffee and tea. I guess I was fine with it as I don't eat that much in the morning (I prefer to have a second breakfast later on), but people who expect eggs and sausages may be disappointed. There is plenty of places to get food around the hotel though.

    Everything was good. The gentleman at the reception was very helpful, I felt welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    It made the whole trip even better and we plan on staying here on our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was small and not the easiest to maneuver. But we walked and Ubered everywhere anyway to save on parking fees so it wasn't a big deal. The elevator is a little old. It didn't bother us but some people might not like it.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was basic but good. The beds were so comfortable and the shower waa great, with multiple massage settings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay, rooms big and clean :) the bed was wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect stay, rooms big and clean :) the bed was wonderful so comfy!! Excellent location and lovely staff :) couldn’t have asked for more! Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Really good bed and we had a big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It frelt a bit outdated, some stains in the carpet and the wallpaper was coming down in some spots.

    Really good bed and we had a big room. Staff was friendly and called us a couple of cabs to see San Fransico while our car was in their nice, free parking. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient, amazing city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more expensive than you would pay in Australia, but this is San Fransisco. Can be noisy as its on a main road, ask for an end room.

    Great situation handy to walk to cafes, restaurants and Fishermans Wharf. Bathrooms a little small, but recently done up, breakfast you collect and take back to your room, handy for later on 😀. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast was better than average- coffee, tea, orange juice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was better than average- coffee, tea, orange juice, and hot chocolate, with oranges, oatmeal packets, yogurts, and packaged danishes. Room was clean and hotel was in a good location. We were pleased to have parking included and were even able to leave the car for a bit after checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    This place is a bargain for its location. We’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast could of had cereal, but breakfast wasn’t a big deal. The danishes, yogurt, granola bars, O.J, and coffee was enough.

    Best part of the Castle Inn is that it’s walking distance to Lombard st, Cable car museum, Fisherman’s Wharf. Definitely save on parking rates.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.0
    No frills hotel located in Nob Hill area of San Francisco. Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with 2 queen size beds. The space was a bit tight. Coffee and hot chocolate provided was via hot water with instant mix of each.

    Did not skimp on providing heat & hot water. Front office staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Rooms were really nice and in a great location away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asian couple came into the room at 2am and woke our newborn up with slamming his room door 5 times. I am not sure if he thought the conjoining door was to narnia or if he thought he got the penthouse because he repeatedly pulled on the door and jiggled the door handle.they woke our newborn up several more times in the night by not only slamming the door again but also trying to get to narnia several more times.

    Rooms were really nice and in a great location away from the tenderloin. Safe to walk at night and not far from the wharf.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was excellent. Parking was tight, but he volunteered to help with the parking. Told us the places to avoid at san fran. Apart from him, everything was average.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was great. Privacy was seriously violated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We REALLY did not appreciate contractors bursting into our room in the middle of the day when we had the "do not disturb" sign on our door to measure a window. It was very much violating our privacy and at least one person coming in reeked of cigarette smoke. How often do people enter these rooms besides cleaning staff when they suspect their guests are away for the day?!? The woman at the desk seemed vaguely sympathetic to our complaint, but just casually brushed it off as having to just work with the last minute schedules of the contractors.

    Great spacious room. Loved the closet space. Very accommodating to our late check out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Location with free parking, clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * The parking lot is tight and quite cumbersome for easy parking of big cars, but, hey!, it's free and granted for the hotel clients, which compensate the issue! * My wife complained on the hair dryer: just blow, not enough heating

    * The location is fantastic, walking distance to some of the SF main landmarks and MUNI bus stops. Also for car access. * Even though some people complains on the quick breakfast option and the lack of a dedicate place to have it, for us was fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Good enough for the price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, bathtub is dangerously slippery, in fact I fell after applied soap and head hit hard on the bathtub, and had been experiencing light concussion for two days. Room air flow is poor hence strong chemical smells.

    Convenient location and relatively clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again : )
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No safe in rooms.

    It's more like a motel. But it was very clean in the rooms, quiet and the Manager, Damon, went out of his way to assist. Breakfast is picked up at reception and is juice, coffee, donuts, porridge, fruit etc. Simple but perfect. Has microwave and fridge in room. Good Irish bar (Shanghai Kellys) beside. Sub the barman will look after you. A few good eating options close. High end (maybe Michelin level?) restaurant across from Shanghai Kellys. Also liked the Café "Crave" down the street for US / Mexican comfort food. Walgreens beside for basics.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Super clean!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options are limited- but it’s free and enough to start your day

    The rooms were SPOTLESS and cleaned everyday. Emily at the front office was excellent and gave us some tips on where to go. We had a light bulb that needed changing in the room which was fixed and back to normal by the time we came back to the room. Location of the property is excellent- Polk street is less then five minutes walk away with excellent restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    I highly recommend this hidden gem!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls so you can hear your next door neighbors ibut thank god we weren't near anyone too crazy or loud!

    We loved this hotel so much that we extended our stay! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Our room was pretty big and we were so close to everywhere we wanted to go like fishermans wharf and union square! Definitely recommend going to get drinks at Shanghai Kelly's down the street as well, great crowd! Definitely recommend this hotel it was fair on price, has parking, and the location can't be beat!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    For a good night's sleep at Castle Inn, recommend using ear plugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rug in room needs to be torn out and replaced, and the shower fixtures need to be removed and updated. Strange that you'd renovate the bathroom, but leave in ancient shower fixture. Noise is a huge problem at property with alarm bell sounding for opening of garage door at all hours of the night and there was a lot of traffic noise from street.

    Newly renovated bathroom was nice and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.5
    My new go to hotel when visiting SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to upgrade Mattress, can hear occupants above so opt for top floor.

    Great Russian Hill location. Good value and very clean. Safe for women travelling alone. I will be staying there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Base To See The Sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little dated but we expected that.

    In a safe part of town, walkable to many of San Frans sights if you dont mind a few hills. Good restaurants close by too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    Clean unit, friendly staff, didn't sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con is too noisy, poor sound proof, woke up in the middle of night by the snoring sound next door and foot steps upstairs

    Friendly staff, let us to check in early. Store bags for free when checking out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfy and unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turn off the loud sound as you walk from the elevator to the underground parking. Also the elevator broke while taking my suitcase down.

    The bed was amazing and we took a picture of the tag to take to the mattress store.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    It was a good stay with alloted free parking and very convenient to places we wanted to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. All there was was packed food except for some fruits.

    We were glad that our rooms were connected by an access door for the family to integrate easily.Also rooms were comfortable with complete ammenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A strong chemical smell of cleaning stuff when I checked in, which is a few hours earlier as the host expected.

    Comfort room Nice location Nice pricing Nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay and Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Amazing Staff and perfect location. Breakfasts were enough to start a day and cafe was good! Thank you for your advises and help with our staying in San Francisco-actually my favorite City so far!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Cannot be better anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is awesome, everywhere is in walkable distance. Room was clean, big, and quiet. As the booking website described, parking is inside the hotel, convenient, and without additional charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    fairly good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was narrow and it was hard to park big cars between lines! some of the rooms didn't have a good view but we were lucky that the receptionist offered us a room on the top floor with a view of the street.

    Very clean renovated bathroom. The room was spacious with a fridge, coffee maker, microwave ,TV, iron and hairdryer. Free continental breakfast was served in the lobby. free parking that is very important in San Francisco. Good WiFi. easy checkout. helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first day we didn't have coffee for our coffee maschine in the room, everything else was ok.

    It is located nearby city center (30 min walk to the Fishermans Wharf). I liked having microwave in the room. Room was tidy and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Clean, easy to access, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price (with the caveat that the Castle Inn is normally-priced for San Francisco).

    Unexpectedly clean and well-maintained. Simple, but varied breakfast. Easy to access by public transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    Okay but not according to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an ”Inn” not a ”Hotel” - now how is this supposed to mean something to a foreigner? Bad of Booking.com not to be more explanative. Hence expectations were completly out of ...

    The staff did I suppose try to help but since the expectations were vastly higher there was not much they could do. Managed to book trips etc nicely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Clean and remodeled, quiet, with a great location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A there wasn't anything bad about the property. Parking stalls are slightly tight, but parking was still very easy in a regular size sedan

    Clean and remodeled, quiet, with a great location and view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast was a little lacking.

    Centrally located. As a woman traveling alone I felt very safe here. Very clean room. Lovely staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.5
    KEEP AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way I was treated. I have Aphasia. I did recover but I still have. I explained to the security guard (who's in Oakland?). Must be cause you don't leave a person who has Aphasia down in the reception.

    The way I was treated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    It was a very good location and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the guest above uswere a little noisy and woke us up in the night.

    I really like how welcoming the staff was. Also I enjoyed the coffee and continental breakfast every morning. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Also it was set in a great location with ChinaTown and crooked streets very close. It has parking which helped save lots of money. Great place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking lot was tight, chairs outside the room would have been nice, no view, no pictures on the walls of the room.

    Great location, good variety in the Continental Breakfast, good conveniences in the room fridge, microwave, hairdryer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not located anywhere close to the main town. The staff was not helpful. The breakfast was awful. The mattress was too soft for my use and the street noise was too prominent to sleep comfortably.

    Free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    It served our purpose so I while I wasn't wowed with it I was at least satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the bathroom was extremely small but it was efficient.would have been nice to have a list of restaurants close by.

    The room was clean and had the basics that I expected. It was not as close to the wharf as I had thought it would be but it was easier to take a taxi than it was to drive. Although I thought the price was on the high side it was clean and that was most important.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was nice and the desk was very helpful. They helped us locate last-minute Alcatraz tix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically requested a place with breakfast included. The breakfast was continental, which to me is not breakfast, that is a snack because everyone will be hungry in an hour. It would be nice if Booking.com would specify continental or full breakfast. Full breakfast to me includes such things as eggs, possibly bacon, pancakes, cereal, fruit, juice - healthy things including protein that would fill a family up for at least a few hours so we don't have to find another place to eat in a short period of time.

    The room was in a quite place and recently remodeled. It was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Would totally recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any complaints about our stay here. I should say though that there is a kind of a loud beep for every time someone comes in and out of the parking lot. It is audible but it personally didn't bug me. Just wanted to point it out for someone who is a light sleeper.

    The hotel in general was perfect for someone who is looking for a comfy place just to sleep and wash up in. It was incredibly clean and refreshing the moment we stepped in. There was HBO available if you like that during your trip. The staff was also very courteous and very helpful in regards to sight seeing and how to use the MUNI. I definitely recommend this hotel for a small family since the location was pretty safe. The free parking was a huge plus since parking is super expensive, a bit small though so careful using a truck or huge SUV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Decent option in an expensive city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very challenging! Very cramped garage which required a great deal of back and forth to get in and out. Outside of property very dated. No breakfast or other facilities - you are getting a place to stay.

    Room was recently remodeled and very clean. It was a good location but not really walking distance to popular attractions for many people. Lots of food options available close by. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the price maybe it's California for this Texas girl, a little noisy on Saturday night with windows open

    Great location, clean room and comfortable, staff very helpful will stay there again if back in area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    The location was in walking distance of Ghiridahli Square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not really a breakfast, just granola bars, juice and some not to good fruit.

    The location was in walking distance of Ghiridahli Square and we felt very safe to walk there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    The location was fantastic, the staff friendly room nice area safe, I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was loud and woke you up all night sleeping with ear plugs helped

    Rooms were clean and had just been refurbished, New paint, new bedding, very happy with the facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great overall, staff and the location were the best parts of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little basic and the elevator would make a 'ding' every time someone used it, which you could hear in the room even at night. Other than that, nothing else to complain about - great overall.

    The reception staff were great. They had excellent knowledge of the city and the advice they gave was very helpful in us having a good time visiting San Francisco. They also were more than happy to accommodate additional requests. Good location too, it's only a few minutes walk from good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location with some great restaurants a short walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast of packaged pastry but at least there was breakfast!

    Great location with some great restaurants a short walk from the motel. Helpful staff telling us about San Francisco

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Convenient, quiet and comfortable and good rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities just a coffee machine for coffee drinkers.

    Very comfortable king size bed and spacious room. Updated large bathroom and quiet room. So handy to major tourist sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for the price, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a corner, right between the laundry room and an unknown, unmarked door. In the morning we would go out and the laudy room would be open, so it was kinda gross to be next to the mess.

    Big room, great location. We wer next to the laundry, which was a bit noisy. The outdoor carpet isn't in great shape, but the hotel manager was very kind, and the room was big and comfy. Plenty of restaurants in the area and 20-30 minutes walk to fisherman's wharf.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    Would stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said it included breakfast but never got it or got told anything about it. Went to check out and no one was there, called on the intercom and asked where key drop was and he said to take it??? Never had anyone say this at any other motel so slid it under the window. Very noisy, can here everything out on the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    A hotel is for sleeping and recharging. This hotel was perfect for that and even had HBO to fall asl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take out the outdated "shower doors" on the tub and put a curtain in, other than that we liked the room as it was.

    Adequate breakfast to get you going and a location that put you central to pretty much anything a tourist would want to see along with free parking. The manager was very helpful and saved us a lot of time with information an attractions that were not available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Want the flavor of living in San Francisco?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't afford a high-end stay in San Francisco, as fun as that might be. But I lived in San Francisco til I was 25, and after 30 years have now past, I wanted the feel of being in the City. The Castle Inn was clean, affordable, and had all the necessary amenities. If bells, whistles and excellent creature comforts had been my priority, I probably would have stayed outside the City. So I cant say I didn't like anything, because The Castle Inn delivered the experience I was hoping for, at a price I could afford, due in part to Booking.com!

    It was in the City; I wanted the feel of being back in the city I love. That's what I got.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt very musty. No cribs available, did offer a roll away.

    The rooms were roomy, beds very comfortable Good shower. Hosts were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    I would stay here again for a fun trip to San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast was super lame, front desk staff was helpful but not friendly.

    Room and bed was very comfortable, recently updated, air conditioning worked great, room was quiet also great location close to great food and fun. Located about a mile from everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Decent room, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little lumpy. Also, we could hear someone above us stomping around loudly until late at night.

    It was nice having a little fridge and microwave in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoy San Francisco and come back to Castle Inn to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was worth price-benefits.

    Check-in is easy and staff is friendly and kind. Parking is easy inside the hotel. Breakfast is enough. The room was wide and comfortable. Wi-Fi was excellent. Castle Inn is greatly located. You can reach many attractions of San Francisco by walking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Good stay in San Fran for 4 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge hardly worked sometimes. It was off when we checked in and we placed our drinks in there to cool it down for our walk later on. Opened it 30 mins later to realize it wasn't even on. It didn't keep much cool after that unless you put it into the freezer for a few hours.. The receptionist staff who checked us in and out left the building early even though hours were posted from 7am-11pm. I went down around 10pm to ask where breakfast would be the next morning and there was no indication anywhere as to what time it would be. Many other guests were looking for reception and was disappointed that no one was there. The next morning when we came downstairs around 9:15am, he stated that breakfast was from 7am-9am... what short hours. The following morning we made sure to make it downstairs before 9am and it wasn't anything special at all. It was a small counter with breakfast pastries, coffee and orange juice. Wi-Fi was not the greatest either. I had to walk closer to the reception office to get a good signal.

    Check in was quick and somewhat friendly. Parking on upper level was easy to find even though there was a dark underground to use. It was a little tight to maneuver around but not a big deal. Room was spacious for 4 people and clean. Budget pricing for a stay in San Francisco but still a little bit pricey

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    I like,clean,close to the restaurant.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed,clean,the guy in office name dam

    I like,clean,close to the restaurant.the room and bathroom it's clean.free parking....my kids love...the guy in the office it's nice.if I go back again to san francisco I book again in castle inn.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, great staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exterior carpet a bit worn. Irritating horn in basement parking. Slow elevator. Overall minor irritations.

    Staff were excellent! Responded right away with TV problem. Your location is central to all the SF city attractions. This is highly desired and appreciated. The positives far outweigh some minor irritations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Good Price & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The A/C was difficult to maintain a comfortable temp & I wouldn't count on the breakfast since it's just a few items you pick up in the office. The chairs were placed in an awkward location around the AC so they were difficult to get to and use.

    The beds were comfortable and the location was fairly close to Fisherman's Wharf. Easy Uber rides to financial district, mission area & touristy stuff at Fisherman's Wharf. It has free parking & an elevator to get your bags upstairs. It's not a luxury hotel, but its good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C unit was a little noisy and the ceiling/floor provided little insulation from the noise from the room above us.

    Damon, the manager was very friendly and helpful. I drive a crew can pickup and called him before arriving...he reserved a spot large enough to accommodate me in the hotels FREE parking lot. He also helped us with where to go and not to go in the city, as well as provided us with discounted bus tour tickets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    The staff were helpful, calling taxis and finding me a plug...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were helpful, calling taxis and finding me a plug for the bathtub. It's a bit noisy, you hear traffic from the street if you leave the window open but Polk Street just around the corner is charming with lots of great cafes, and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    The pillows were great - proper ones, not those thin things...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower was with a wall mounted head, I prefer the hand-held ones much more.

    The pillows were great - proper ones, not those thin things a lot of other hotels have.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Worth the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is way too 70's.. Exception our bathroom, modern tile, grey/white.. Everything in SF is pricey, this fits right in, we wish they had more room for a better breakfast offering. Practice your driving skills and bring a small car, parking is super tight.

    Nice bed, though only a queen, great location, easy to get to highlights of town either by foot car or trolley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Handy location and off road parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saying you could have breakfast can only be described as a joke, prepacked Danish pastry, yoghurt and a apple & coffee all served on a shelf no dining room so you had to take it back to your room, on reflection I would not stay here again as this can't be described as breakfast considering the breakfasts we had at other hotels and the cost of our stay. I will also be posting this on trip advisor.

    The location and the room was handy for the lift

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: