Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Hotel & Spa 4 stars

400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591, USA

#1 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience. Great way to celebrate our 20th anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately an issue with the main kitchen kept the hotel's restaurant (one of our local favorites) close during our stay, but the hotel staff was able to secure dinner reservations for us at another local wonderful restaurant. Many thanks.

    The entire experience was excellent! The staff was top notch and they made our special celebration memorable. Thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Although the thought of staying in a castle is cool, you’re really not for the price I payed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the adjacent part of the castle which to me is misleading especially for the price. I thought we were going to stay inside the castle but that didn’t happen and I felt we got charged a lot just to be next to it which wasn’t right. The breakfast is not included in the price which is a bit rediculous. The television is out of date, it looks like something out of the 90’s with the box look. I couldn’t rent a movie either. Room service was a bit slow but friendly.

    The breakfast buffet was complimentary due to the fact that the restaurant was closed the week we were there. The breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. The staff was very kind and even the valet guys were very nice. The rooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Most comfortable bed ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Most comfortable bed ever. Everything was top notch and property and staff excellent. Hotel addressed all the little things that make your stay memorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Too expensive a hotel to stay in for a getaway. Perfect place to have peace and quiet but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with the area to walk around the hotel, supposedly 10 acres of manicured lawn?? Distance to nearest village of Tarrytown was too far to walk to. Since we don't use UBER, we were limited for meals. Restaurant on premises is lovely but too expensive and no other option for food. Bar is very small. Unable to use pool because our visit was in April.

    This was a 2 day getaway with husband to just decompress. Liked the look of Castle Hotel and Spa online. Very friendly staff. Liked the minibar being complimentary. Liked the cookies and coffee in lobby. And liked the chocolates at night time. Keurig machine in room too!! Bartender Isaac was very attentive. Valet, Jose, always had a smile and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.4
    Way too over-rated! Rip-off for this $$$
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Very loud heating/cooling unit, which kept blowing air very fast, into the room. This is not something I would expect nor did I ever experienced this in other 4-star hotels. 2)The staff is quite unfriendly and poorly trained. When we complained about the loud heating unit, they allegedly sent someone to check it (while we were out), and we were later told that they didn't find anything wrong with it. The tone was very condescending and we were told to call them right away if we hear the loud noise we claimed we did...What happen to just: 1) the client is always right? and, 2) fess up that they were cheap and purchased loud AMANA units, better fit in an industrial warehouse, not in a 4-star hotel. 3)Misadvertisement- the room is not even in the castle itself, it's on an annex building that's quite plain looking. No difference between this and a Holiday Inn... 4)Valet Parking- the attendants were nowhere to be found when we needed them. When they were around, they were quite unfriendly and one of them parked my car with the back tires pressed against the curb... 5)Spa- we went to look at it- seemed deserted. The clerk that was there hid herself behind a computer screen and never once acknowledged our presence. We would have liked to inquire (and possibly book) about their spa treatments, but when I saw this attitude, I realize it would not be a pleasant experience. 6)Equus Restaurant- overpriced, bland food, and again, bad service. Did I mention that it was almost empty? That should've told us everything. Management should really take a better look at their hiring practices and train their staff better. Their are in the hospitality business, for goodness sake...It is unacceptable to pass by the front desk and the clerk to hide, glued to his phone, and did not even acknowledge us with a smile, let alone said good night, as we walked from dinner to our room.

    All the linens were very clean, so was the bathroom, towels and robes. The beds were very comfortable, as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    An oasis of calm and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing deluxe room- so much space. Great bathroom. Complimentary drinks and chocolate in fridge. (10 drinks including beer) Premium toiletries. Such a comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful meal and great accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only criticism would be in the strength of the coffee served. It was fresh and hot but on the weak side. I suggest that they offer the option of regular and a more robust coffee when serving.

    We had reservations at Equus for dinner and then stayed overnight at the Castle. The salmon Benedict was fantastic and being gluten intolerant, they were able to serve it on GF bread. The staff was excellent and the stay was memorable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice couple getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly, parking was easy (we valeted). Our room was excellent, clean and spacious. We had booked a reservation at Equus for dinner. Food was superb although the service was a little slow

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Historic, beautiful hidden jewel of a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly by the lobby/check-in area, the other patrons who were I assume on business were extremely loud and talked directly outside our room late at night, which was a bit bothersome

    The room was spacious, bathroom very clean and loved the fixtures! Lived the historic aspect of the castle and enjoyed how quiet and zen it was once on the hotel which is located atop a hill. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating to our needs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful surroundings in a park like setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant quit serving breakfast at 10:00. We flew in from California and arrived at 1:00am so that was too early for us and we missed it. We did go into the little town and found a cafe serving breakfast all day but it would have been nice to sleep in and stay on site to eat.

    Woke to the sounds of birds singing in a country setting. Very relaxing after a late night arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    A perfect escape for a romantic weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our suite malfunctioned. Portable units needed to be brought in to fix the problem.

    It's a castle. What's not to like? The staff was particularly keen on providing the highest level of service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for getaway, just a pity about the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist at the spa ruined the experience a little. We mentioned that we didn't receive the full experience on one of our treatments and she just ignored us and charged in full anyway. We brought it up again and she was so unfriendly and begrudgingly gave us a tiny discount. All we were looking for was an apology but nothing. The spa is beautiful but they add 22% to every treatment which partly goes to the 'administration of the spa' - what?!

    Loved the comfy beds and the breakfast was delicious - lots of fresh fruit. Restaurant and receptionists all very friendly and helpful. Lovely big rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful castle and "huh?" Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all service and food were not terrible but had to wonder if these were worth to pay more than $1300 for 2 rooms/night. Castle is beautiful and room was clean, but coffee was like deli coffee. $85 course food at restaurant left us question marks above our head. Again, this doesn't mean food was terrible, but we are surprised that each of 1appetizer, pasta, and main dish were served in a full portion as we ordered like three dishes individually.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    We felt welcomed and pampered from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room could have used another comfy chair to sit in. Would have also like to see some better pricing options for weekend visits. The same room we stayed in on a Thursday night, which was a big splurge for us, near tripled in price for a Friday night stay. We would have to stay there longer. On the plus side you do get a discount on your next visit. :)

    Absolutely loved everything about this hotel. Was worried that because we got the lower priced room that we would be over paying for a basic room just because of the location, however that was not the case at all. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and pampered. The room was gorgeous, very large and spacious. The service was perfect, loved the complimentary beverages in the fridge, water, pop and even a couple of beers. Also loved having 2 sinks & mirrors, made it easier for my hubby and I to get ready. One feature that I had never seen before anywhere else were heat lamps when you step out of the shower. That was so cool. Although we didn't get to use it the outdoor pool and hot tub were still open until October 10th. We did take advantage of the Spa and the restaurant both were absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Birthday Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa doesn't have prenatal massages. Seriously not cool, you're a destination spa!!! The lady at the spa said this location isn't insured for pre-natal.

    Beautiful setting made us feel we were in New England somewhere and not Tarrytown. Dinner at Equus for my husband's birthday was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Eclectic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were having issues with their fire alarm, it went off 3 times during our 1 night anniversary stay, once at 7:30 in the morning, with no explanation from mgmt. also flashing security lights continued to flash the rest of the morning

    Very pretty property,large King room, eclectic decor nothing seemed to go together, excellent food and service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Spectacular grounds, very relaxing getaway! Stayed July 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a nice size and the beds very comfortable. The ground are spectacular. The pool/hot tub/pool bar was excellent. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Great getaway resort close to NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tennis court has been converted into extra parking spaces. Had to leave the resort to play tennis at a public facility.

    We were there during the week and it was very quiet and staff attentive. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.5
    Perfect romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service did not match the property. Underwhelming

    Beautiful property. Outstanding location. Privacy respected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    The beauty of the castle and the nice roomd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for breakfast was very slow. We found out there were not many staff working around

    The beauty of the castle and the nice roomd

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Perfect spot for a little weekend getaway. I love this place!! Staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is there not to like ?!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Elegance, ambience, view and food were all wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point: a used cocktail glass from previous occupant was on the fireplace mantel.

    Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    Boring location, too much upsizing, prices for ancillaries are ridiculous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged us $8 for a single egg. Screwed up our room service and didn't fix the bill, even after saying they would. Too much upsizing.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Gorgeous property overlooking the Hudson River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous property overlooking the Hudson River. Clean and comfortable rooms. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Spotlessly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have given all of excellents , except tha valet stole the change from my cup holder .

    Spotlessly clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property & close to NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to stay indoors to walk back & forth to the spa.

    Beautiful property & close to NYC

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful environment, great food and lovely service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful environment, great food and lovely service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No appointments at the spa available, book early

    Bed soooooo comfy, turn down service, delicious restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been there before and love it

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Such a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely and the staff was sooo friendly and helpful x

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    like the classic stayle
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    like the classic stayle

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    A castle in Tarrytown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and even gave us a free room upgrade as we were celebrating a birthday! The place was beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay for a wedding, wish we had more time...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay for a wedding, wish we had more time to enjoy grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft

    Beautiful setting very busy a landmark Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    small luxury hotel with an old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    linens in the room were lux and clean, soft and super comfortable! bathroom very clean as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    First really warm day of spring and simply sitting in your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dining room might have been a bit understaffed; but it was a Monday, after all, and waiting was not unpleasant.

    First really warm day of spring and simply sitting in your beautiful grounds on a quiet, sunny day was heavenly. The quiet and peace were a special gift on this birthday celebration. Even mealtime conversation was quiet from other tables--such a respite from the noise we so often have to endure these days. Bed, room, view of the Hudson, even the tub and shower were all delightful luxuries. Peace and beauty everywhere fed the soul. Although the waiter didn't seem to know how to describe it, the local artisanal sausage at breakfast was the best I've ever eaten.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    10
    The staff was not only professional, but warm, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was not only professional, but warm, friendly and accommodating. The holiday atmosphere was beautiful. Foods are purchased from local Hudson River farmers and transformed into beautiful creative dishes at Equus. The Spa is totally a relaxing experience.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Very nice physical facilities in a beautiful garden setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice physical facilities in a beautiful garden setting. Large, comfortable room. Nice deck off the bar overlooking the garden. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.8
    We were able to walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    General lack of info in room about hotel facilities, e.g. had to go to the spa for a price and treatment list. No info on mealtimes or other hotel info. There was just a short room service menu and history of the hotel piece. Would have liked to have been able to have breakfast served in the room on occasion. No butter at breakfast, had to ask each time. Please offer proper coffee at breakfast (espresso, cappuccino etc.). Europeans tend not to like American style coffee. Baffled by the valet parking thing! Why not park your own car, it'd be quicker.

    We were able to walk into town Room was very comfortable Food & drink we had were excellent Lovely building and gardens.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: