Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cavalier South Beach Hotel 3 stars

1320 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL, 33139, USA

#34 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1667 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not available and we didn't know til the morning. I would expect at least a communication from the hotel about the lack of it, but it has not been the case. Also I book a room for 4 people, but the room I got was very tiny and next to the elevator (so very noisy). I've been already in this hotel in the past and I can say they have bigger rooms than the one I got.

    It's not my first time here at this hotel, the reasons why I decided to book here again were the location, the facility and breakfast. It's recommended if you want to stay nearby the beach. Staff is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold sink faucet did not work. Shower took a long time to get hot. Aircon was very cold.

    Nice smell. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Unique art deco style throughout hotel and room was very nice. Location was great. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was in garage behind hotel. Breakfast was suppose to be included but turned out not so.

    Lovely art deco architecture, nicely remodeled interior, great location. friendly and helpful staff. All great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac was broken in our room, the hotel staff was notified that night and nothing was done. We spent the night in an 80 degree room, it was miserable, they did refund 15 percent of the stay ($21 ) because of this but not worth it. Also the walls are very thin and you can hear conversations in the hallway, if you are a light sleeper this is not the place to stay. The bathroom was not private, It had a rolling frosted door and no lock. The kitchen was closed and we were not notified prior to our arrival, we booked based on having availabity of eating meals at the hotel.

    The location was great. Rooms were clean and beds and linens were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move room because of a very noisy a/c unit on the roof but the receptionist was really accomodating and moved us without issue. There are no breakfast facilities any more (even though it was included when we booked) or anything more than the rooms and reception. That said it's still a great room to base yourself in to enjoy Miami South Beach!

    The location is great, right on Ocean Drive (the centre of South Beach!), the quirky interiors are great and the original art deco features are amazing. The staff were great when there was an issue with the booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    During the renovation of the building something must have gone terribly wrong, because the room was extremely noisy. Many people complained about the lack of sleep because of the nearby party places and loud music, we couldn't hear any of it, but we woke up every day around 6:30 when the cleaning personel started to clean the floor outside the room. We could hear them talking and doing their job, as if they had stood next to our pillow. Same goes for the other guests coming and going, slamming the doors, etc. So if you like sleeping this is not your place. Other negative experience was the breakfast. On the first day the hotel served excellent breakfast with mimosas, we were amazed, but after that they only gave the guests a voucher, which they could redeem in a nearby cafe for a very poor, one plate breakfast meal with tea or coffee and that was it. We were very disappointed. Absoultely not recommended.

    The room was small, but nicely furnished. The hotel was also nice, as it just got renovated and it was very close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked the breakfast was supposed to be included and excellent, but when we arrived this service was no more available and that was not mentioned previously. Very calm and relaxing room - unless you are not lucky and have other clients that shout in their rooms and in the corridor - which was the case during our 1rst night.

    So close to the beach an all you need to see at Miami beach. Very nice lobby and decoration in the room and corridor as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was not nice during our stay, but, Hotel is not guilty for that!

    Hotel is placed in Ocean Drive, which could be somehow noisy in summer. Anyhow, it is close to all kind of services, and just walking outside the hotel is great. Just in front of the beach! Hotel staff was very helpful, as we arrived earlier than supposed, and they gave us the room also earlier. Juan Carlos and Reiner were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 1 night with breakfast (from booking). but at arrival, the hotel tell us they is no more breakfast available at this hotel because of renovation.

    In front of South beach , Parking is big challenge in that area, its not included with this hotel but a public parking is just a block away from the hotel , 20$ per 24hrs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There can be a certain amount of noise from a club next door. The hotel staff will contact the club and tell them to keep the noise down.

    The location & friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of hangers in the room and bathroom. It is not possible to open windows, so no fresh air in the room. Loudly outside, but due to time difference we slept well.

    Location is perfect! I do advise to book a room with a view to the ocean, it is worth it! Beach is so close to the hotel. Breakfast is ok, there is no hot meals, but sparkling wine compensate it:) Water, coffe and tea is 24h availiable in the lobby. Staff is helpful and nice. Amenities are organic and good quality. Building is beautiful, every 5min somebody takes pics of it. I would stay here again and again. It was amazing enjoying my wine/tea/coffe just exactly on the Ocean Drive! P.S. Netflix included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door to a bar that is open all night. Although it was not too noisy on the 2nd floor the bathroom window should be double glazed to cut out noise.

    Decor was superb. Bedroom large with big bed, very clean and lovely decor. Bathroom large with lovely shower. Staff very friendly. Hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    Very helpful and friendly staff!. Very clean!!. Kept our luggage for us before check in and after check out so we could enjoy the time on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach was full of plants comming a shore.

    Rooms were superb. Very polite and helpfull staff. Location is perfect. Beach could be a little better than expected but has nothing to do with the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise during the night from the neighborhood. The area for breakfast is very small and the breakfast is very scarce.

    Location, the interior design of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator needs repair!

    Location and front desk staff. The girl who checked us in was really helpful as well as the guy who worked afternoons (printed some things we needed). WiFi in the room as good, and the bed is really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting a better breakfast. It wasn't bad, but it didn't have a lot of variety (as compared to other hotels where we stayed in the US), just a small buffet. The temperature inside the hotel was somewhat cold, this was a minus for me (but may be ok for some people as the outside temperature was very hot).

    The location is priceless, right in front of the beach. A lot of shops are within walking distance on Lincoln Road (where we bought a Tourist SIM in the T-Mobile store so we could get internet for the duration of our stay). The hotel is charming, extremely well decorated, the room was very nice and clean. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was nice but not as good as advertised. basically a continental breakfast. Very few television channels

    easy location to the beach right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disposal daily of all of the plastic plates and cutlery and plates. A complete waste and really bad for the environment. Please chang3 this- it spoilt our otherwise fantastic stay

    Emre was amazing- he could not do enough for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had cockroaches in the shower. They changed our room and gives us some little discount, but we expected more management willingness.

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had early flight before breakfast time and the hotel didn't provide and take away breakfast.

    The location is perfect to visit South Beach. Hotel is Clean and Stylish but good for people who don't spend to much time in the hotel because there is no more then lobby and rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is terrible, specially if you are a woman and need to wash your hair.... it takes hours to do it! I called to the receptionist asking if there was any problem with the pressure of the shower and he said to me that it is a “rain” shower... so you can imagine!

    The hotel is very well located, the building is beautiful and decorated in a great way. The breakfast is ok, nothing special. They offered melon and pineapple, croissant, different kind of bread, tea, American coffee, cheese, juices, jams... They offer fresh water, tea and coffee all day long and also beach towels which is just cross the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They accidentally canceled one of our 4 rooms so this was a big inconvenience for one of our party, he had to stay at the other end of town for one night

    great location, beautiful hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great proximity to beach across the street. Perfect spot for people and luxury car watching! Just sit back and watch the parade. Breakfast was a plus.. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely Small rooms, Housekeeping Horrible (not on duty all day so get extra sheets, towels, etc for you to do the work yourself, Carry an interpreter in your pocket or I pray you know more then ENGLISH LANGUAGE (I used google to translate for them), door didn’t stay locked in room and hotel entrance is not guarded and they do not do a resident check in or out list so “BE ALERT”, staff didn’t have bagges on so it was difficult to tell who was who, no staff at night plus it’s dark In lobby so I wouldn’t recommend you travel alone, construction & homeless people next door, thin walls, next to a night club that parties all night EVERYDAY, rusted shower heads that don’t adjust it just falls straight on your head, small elevator which is very very very old, it barely worked but expect delays cause it’s just one literally a 5x5 so travel lightly or you will have to do multiple trips to get luggage up, heavy traffic I can’t express this enough, don’t expect to sleep if you stay here, no microwave in room or hotel (I went to the hotel on the corner of 14th & Ocean and they warmed my food for me) also it’s not listed on website but an FYI, WATCH YOUR STEP once entering on your floor for it is uneven surfaces, watch for swinging door to elevator for it hits the opposite side of the wall when exiting out (a total nightmare), Hallways smalls, Hotel Tiny, 10 people max to eat in at breakfast so plan to eat in turns at the table or go back to room, smoking outside of lobby so if your a non smoker like myself YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, 3 Tables outside of hotel but usually are used up by people resting there from walking up and down the strip, No room service like bigger hotels, Phone didn’t work, WIFI password didn’t work, 1 cable channel, I CAN GO ON AN ON just don’t waste your money or time with them PERIOD!!!! Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Paid well over $1000 ( plus deposit ) and they credit $34 back to me for resort fee just unbelievable.

    Easy access to the beach, right next door to a Souvenir shop, front lobby and wall artwork amazing, free luggage storage till check in, parking in the back of building $20 a day, Cold but delicious breakfast 8am-10am daily and it’s the same thing everyday, wine purchase available, plenty of great restaurants to dine in or to go, very multicultural, Easy Check, lobby smells nice, great AC, Great Hot Water, Safe in room is cool but very tiny, best thing about this trip was CHECKING OUT

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were VERY VERY thin in this hotel. We heard everything our neighbors said and did. It was really loud and we were exhausted!!! Also, trying to find parking was a nightmare! You have to park on the street or in the public garages. We spent over an hour looking for a parking spot, the garages were full. After continually searching, We ended up parking about 5 blocks away and had to pay $30/5 hours. And that fee just rolled. It was really frustrating. It didn’t start our trip off well.

    This hotel was really cute and charming. The staff was very nice and you can’t beat the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better attention at reception. Asked for a wake-up call for next morning which was agreed to but didn't happen. Should have drinking glasses not paper cups in room. Should have Kleenex in room. Asked for a quiet room and got a room next to the elevator. Need more than one person at reception. Don't know why the $200 deposit fee for damages is necessary. Don't like that my deposit will not be returned until up to 5 days.

    Room was fine and clean. Bed super comfy. Good shower. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Details like light bulb not replaced. Wobbly night stand not dealt with Restoration is nice job. Elevator still needs work. Have same at home in Brazil but door mechanisms work evert=y time. Nath room needs a shelf for personal toiletries bags Kids running up and down hallways guarantee early wake up

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Traditional King size bed room with an active 2 year old. I personally would not recommend THIS room if staying with a small child or if you are of a “plus” size. There was very little room to maneuver in between the dresser and the bed and definitely no room for a crib. The walls are very thin, and yep we got a noise complaint called on us because of my child. They put us in room 317 which is in the very top back corner of the hotel. We had the view of the parking lot and heard all the car alarms and people going in/out of the stairwell. Not exactly relaxing, but great hotel if you are couple! I would stay there again without my child. I would also upgrade to a larger room.

    The location and parking was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service elevator was a bit difficult to maneuver, but was old fashioned and married well with the theme of the hotel. Our biggest complaint was that the bed sheets had not been changed. We found strangers' body hair between the sheets (and not just one or two) so we opted to sleep on top of them.

    We loved the suite and the ocean view! It was spacious and a great value. The rain style shower was perfect for our couple's getaway. The bed was comfortable and the ambiance of the room was eclectic. We also liked the hard wood floors, it felt very clean. The complimentary breakfast and beach towels were also a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhat thin walls between rooms Construction next door (happened to be outside our window) - not their fault.

    Honestly the hotel was great except for 2 items (see below, somewhat thin walls and construction next door)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very very cheap : poor choice and stale bread. Plastic plates and plastic cutlery is shameful for environment and for the price you pay your staying. The walls are very thin : the housemades start work very early and make a lot of noise.

    The room was perfect ! Bathroom and bed wonderful !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con did not work our entire stay despite numerous complaints to management. One of the managers (bald male) was rude and obnoxious and told continues lies.

    Great location, amazing breakfast staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bedroom was near the elevator. The elevator is old and noisy. I woke up every morning with the noise.

    The location is good, the room is cozy and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room with double queens was tiny (but nicely decorated), no possibility to make a reservation for parking next by (we were lucky)

    Stylish art deco location, enjoyed very good breakfast in entrance hall, walking distance to most Miami Beach sights, restaurants, eateries and shops around the corner, beach across Ocean Drive, would return any time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very weak. We had to wait minutes for the hot water. We had reserved a room with the window for the ocean, but from 2nd floor it is not worth it.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast just delicious. The hotel was in a very good spot for the discovering of Miami beach even on foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a little temperamental in the mornings, breakfast could have a little more choice. And the croissant were dreadful.

    Clean, nice staff, good location. Liked the decor and tasty cakes at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a little bit small. Weird elevator.

    Decent breakfast with sparkling wine. Beautiful terrace and lobby. Stylish interior. Friendly, helpful staff. Fast internet connection. Qualitative bathing cosmetics. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we were allocated was far to small for a family of four. This hotel, overall, is max. a 2 star - with one of the stars given for the location close to the fantastic beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable. Location very good if you want to be in the middle of South Beach. Staff friendly. Room was supposed to have sheets & blankets for couch bed, but had to request them. It took a bit, but they did bring them up. View was ok, (right across street from beach) but really looked at walkway and beach wall, not really a great beach view, and heavy plantation shutters on windows so not like you could sit and enjoy the view with a balcony or nice sitting area. Had the suite because there were 3 of us, couch bed not comfortable and bar next door played very loud music with heavy beat until a little after midnight. Continental breakfast was sufficient, fresh sliced bread with some sliced lunch meats & cheese, fruit, croissants. Elevator very old & slow and sometimes didn't make it upstairs if someone downstairs didn't shut the door properly which was a problem for our mom who couldn't do the stairs. Loved the Art Deco of the hotel, although the room wasn't done in Art Deco. Great for a 1 or 2 night stay. Not where I would choose to stay for a longer period of time when in Miami.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A queen size bed would have fit the room better, not enough hooks or shelves in the bathroom, space management could have been better on their part as a shelving unit took up to much room in the closet and made it practically useless. Not a fan of "rain shower heads".

    Great continental breakfast, room was renovated very nicely, charming lobby and outdoor seating area. Nice finishes to the hallways and stairs. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy as others have stated. Not because people are out partying but because the hallways is tiled so everything echos. We were also opposite the cleaners room so were woken early in the mornings when they started. Others rooms might not be as bad. There was no noise during the night though.

    Great location. Everything is on doorstop. Big comfy bed, I found the room wasn’t too small at all. WiFi was patchy but did the job.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small the hotel was advertised as gluten free. This is the only reason I booked it because my daughter is celiac. When I got there I was told it was not

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room was a bit smaller than I was expecting, but on consideration, good for a hotel of that era. Only one minor complaint: there was no facial tissue in the bathroom or the room.

    The decor of the hotel and room was great, bathroom was excellent (appeared recently renovated), staff was very helpful with area information and dining recommendations, and location was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children screaming and running everywhere early in the morning without parents’ control and receptionists didn’t do anything to keep them quiet

    Very good position on ocean drive, several options for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable beds, nice, clean interiors, well situated, all is good at the Cavalier hotel, but don´t eat at the nearby Colony hotel, they will scam you and serve horrible food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we had a room on the ground floor next to the front desk which was really noisy (people partying, cars, breakfast preparation). But the lady at the front desk was really nice and moved us to another room which was perfect.

    The location was perfect, the decoration is very nice, the rooms are very nice, and the breakfast was simple but the food good and fresh. The hotel receptionist was really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really expensive for what you get, but I guess it was the location and the season

    Super frindly and helpful staff. Breakfast was ok. Location was great. Quiet considering the area (I could still hear some noise from nearby clubs and restaurants through the window)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar, no reception toilet to use when waiting for room to be available or for after check out, no area to freshen up after check out before flight. Took a few hours for maintenance to come and sort fire alarm out that started bleeping at 7am due to low battery.

    Rooms very modern and clean, location of hotel great, breakfast really good for Florida

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dark. The view from the window was the wall of the very close building next door. I was informed that the only rooms with any views were the hotel suites located on the top floor, which would have been very expensive! The hotel was expensive and not good value for money. By the time the tax had been added the fee increased greatly. There were very thin walls and conversations from the next rooms could be heard loudly, as well as movement on the above floor. Consequently I needed to wear earplugs to be able to sleep. The air conditioning did not appear to work,so I was unable to change the temperature of the room. The breakfast room was the hotel lobby, which was quite small to accommodate the amount of guests. The hotel was very disappointing and spoilt my stay in Miami South Beach.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is served with plastic plates and cutlery.

    Great location on South Beach.. everything is close buy (hop on-off bus route, public transportation - but do recommend Uber, Starbucks, supermarket and lot's of restaurants). Hotel it self is looking really nice and as on pictures. Provided shower and body essentials are amazing !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building so despite recent renovation your hear your neighbours. Lack of luggage support in the room. Faulty central air conditionning and lighting in our room.

    Location is perfect on Ocean drive a bit away from the noisy bars. Municipal parking just arround the corner. Breakfast of good quality, friendly staff and little terasse outside that you can use for you apero. Deco is cute. Access to Netflix. Elevator is vintage. One of the best for cost/value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heads up... the bathroom is a sliding door with opaque glass so this isn't the best set up if your aren't "comfortable" with your partner.

    This place is righ in the middle of everything but not right next door to the clubs. Perfect location to relax and enjoy the beach while still being in the middle of the excitement of South Beach. The location was awesome and the remodeled room was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were too soft for my taste No option to open a window to taste the fresh sea air We encountered an unwelcome guest (bug) in our bedroom

    Beautiful building at great location (not noisy around) Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Everything about this hotel is horrible. The location is on Ocean Drive, which is in the middle of bars/restaurants that have insanely loud music until about 2:00am. It seemed like the best place because it is across the street from the ocean and right at the center of Miami Beach, but you get no sleep or rest at this location. I read in previous reviews to request a quiet room, but the staff is unwelcoming and incomprehensible and it is not possible. There is absolutely no parking and looking for parking in Miami Beach is a nightmare. The room is nothing like the pictures. It is such a tiny room with a bathroom door that does not fully close. It has a weird smell to it and I found a bug in my room.

    The only positive side about this hotel is the complementary breakfast. However, even that is not enough to compensate for how horrible this hotel is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and the attitude of the staff. The breakfast was very limited- bread and cake and a little fruit/cheese. There was nowhere near enough space for all of the guests. One day we were going off to the Everglades and wanted to leave early. The staff were setting up the breakfast so we asked if we could take some with us. The lady's response was 'you can take coffee. Breakfast starts at 8' when I said that it was all there she said that it was a 'big problem' for us to take something- it wasn’t as if we were going to sit there flaunting the fact that we had been given early breakfast! Also- the resort fee. This appears to cover what I would expect there to be in a nice hotel- towels, quality sheets, breakfadt etc. Make it transparent and add it to the price to make it fair in comparison web searches. The room was cold- you couldn’t change the temperature.

    The location was excellent. The bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very old building which adds to the charm and ambience, however, the a/c needs an upgrade. Stayed in Dec. and it took a while for the room to cool down. The bathroom door is a trendy, sliding door which is fine, but lacks some privacy as it's comprised of frosted glass.

    The hotel was very clean and bed was comfortable. Parking garage was right around the corner. Breakfast brunch was good including Mimosas!!! Room also included a hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and mini fridge. Didn't see those listed as amenities in hotel description, so nice to have in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms. Can hear people talking in rooms next door.

    Great location in you want to be in south beach. The beds are extremely comfortable and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was constant and prevented us from getting any sleep. The location is not at all conducive to a restful hotel experience.

    The lobby breakfast was presented beautifully and the building and rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a family room would be on the small side if there for more than 2 nights

    The location was the best & complimentary breakfast was lovely. Really quirky hotel. Loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was that the club next door was sooo loud and I could not fall asleep. Fiance was however okay with it however I was not.

    Loved the location and walking right out the front door to the beach. We took a cruise the following and was in great location for taxi ride to pier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is effectively no sound proofing of the rooms whatsoever which means that you hear everything from the guests next door chatting, to cleaning ladies sweeping, to the door at the end of the passage being opened and closed as people move through the hotel. This meant that we were woken up repeatedly or couldn't sleep in.

    Cavalier really has a fantastic location which is close to the beach and on vibey Ocean Drive. It's also a 10 min walk from Lincoln Road which is really convenient. The hotel is decorated really well and is well finished.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms for families

    The hotel is very well located. The staff is good and the hotel is clean and well located. Exists the possibility of late check out paying a difference.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small. One nice but small elevator.

    Nice quaint hotel. Has a rustic/antique feel to it. Clean. Staff was nice and accommodating. Awesome location, directly across the street from the beach and in the midst of good entertainment, shopping and eating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy when your room is on the first floor. Rooms are small.

    Rooms are really nice, breakfast is awesome especially if you like mimosas 😊. Great location on Ocean Drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy that toilet's door is barely a curtain(unlockable). No sounds isolation that plainly you hear neighbors' everything including intercourse! Asked for an extra blanket for my child to sleep upon it and all what they offered me is some towels to fulfill the purpose LOL unbelievable. I saw a big bug acrossing the hall to the front door! Sounds as bugs live home. The take 200$ deposit at check-in from the account and take forever to get back to your account again ( they say it takes 5 business days) so be prepared. The cheapest parking spot is 20 $ per day if not fully occupied! Some towels are torn and obviously over used! The blankets over dosed with Clorox that we got sick after the first night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was designed for spring break, I guess. There was no eggs but champagne was free...

    Location was great. Just across the park and then the beach. Room and bed were comfortable. Nice clean bathroom with all the necessary amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a quiet place to stop anyway and you accept there will be outside noise from the bars and the street. However until well after midnight on a Sunday night there were multiple people in one room on my floor playing loud music and talking/ shouting. The staff did their best to quieten them down and get people to return to their own rooms which helped a bit but not that much.

    Lovely old building that has been sympathetically updated with very comfortable rooms. Fantastic location and nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You were not able to toast your bread but that is minor.

    The Staff was super friendly and our bed was super comfy. the bathroom was nice and clean. Also, the room smelled super good when we arrived. I can't complain about anything. The hotel is nicely decorated and as described at Booking.com. It is located right next to the beach, Very nice! all attractions are close to the hotel. Uber costs 5$ to most location in the Miami beach area. Moreover, we were able to extend check out to 12 noon which was nice. and we left our bags after the check out at the hotel without any issues. Breakfast was good too. in general 5/5. Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast. The pastries were yummy as were the bread assortments. Loved the lobby decor. The front desk was very helpful and helped up to book our bus tour of Miami.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom does not have a proper door. You can see the person using the bathroom from the room. NO PRIVACY at all. Especially for a room where there are two queen beds where four people use the same room, it is unacceptable. You can hear every tiny noise from other rooms or the hallway. The breakfast area is so small that you barely find a table to eat breakfast. There is no restroom in the hotel other than the ones in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No carpet in halls creates echo chamber, paper thin walls...you can hear EVERYTHING. Try to get room off street to help cut down on noise. No bar, room service, pool (but I knew that when I made reservation)...while they'll give you "a towel" for beach, the additional "resort fee" does not seem necessary. Some at front desk could be a little friendlier.

    Beautiful Art Deco hotel in prime location. Beds, pillows were AMAZING. Coffee/bkfast ready early. Cleaning staff accommodating, friendly. Photos are representative of what hotel looks like.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked the service first of all. I work myself in the Travel industry and I like to test the hotels. The room I got firstly was noisy due to the main air conditioning system outside. This was changed immediately upon my request. Many thanks for that! The hotel has 2 stars according to Booking.com, however I could easily give it 4 stars. It does not have a swim pool, however it is a small boutique hotel from the 1930s so it's understandable. But it is just 5 minutes walk from the beach, so I did not need a pool and they even gave me the towels which was great! Very beautiful Art Deco design! Exceeded my expectations! Good luck and I will come back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very well cleaned, the cable tv was not as you'd expect just basic channels, no pool, the floors and walls are paper thin and u can hear people walking and talking all night, the elevator wasn't working so u needed to climb steep stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not as close to stuff I liked as I wanted. Rooms were smaller than I expected. Staff wasn’t the nicest. And not attentive at all, we only stayed one night because we went on a cruise the next day. But expected more.

    I loved breakfast very good food. That came with wine!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cavalier South Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery