Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chambers Hotel 4 stars

15 West 56th Street, New York, NY 10019, USA

#38 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 992 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive. No breakfast included.

    Great location. Very stylish but not too much. We had a nice suite with a good bed and fantastic bath, and many, many books - at Chambers, it's like being at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the aesthetic design and inventive interior architecture, the service that I received from a number of the staff seemed a little lackluster. The housekeeping was especially disappointing. They forgot towels, and didn’t communicate well when it fame time for interaction.

    Only the doorman was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity of the property to the nearby attractions is awesome. It is a walking distance to the Time Square, St. Patrick's church, Rockefeller and a few blocks to the Central Park and the Empire State Building. The staff are very courteous and helpful. Our room is very clean with complimentary water, coffees, teas and snacks. It has also a nice patio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aged, yellow paint poorly done on floor and edge borders. A very small thing.

    Shower, bed, linen, pillow, furnishings, and corner location. Water and quietness. Cleanliness. Fabulous staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too small for two people

    The Hotel was located close to shows and other activities but did not feel the congestion of the city . The staff were so friendly, helpful. Suggested wonderful restaurant and provided bottles of water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping knocked on our door to clean our room very early (8:30 am) both mornings we were there. I found this both annoying and ironic given that at check in they told us they put a “rush” on our room and it would be ready at 2 and wasn’t ready at 3:30. I felt like the rooms were hastily cleaned during our entire stay.

    The location cannot be beat. Plus we had a very large, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we did'nt like was your hotel restaurant. Your should maybe invest in a good clean floor and a better decors... little bit drab. We went for breakfast ... not so good! But beside that .... excellent!

    We had a very nice stay at Chambers Hotel. The room was magnificient and confortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a complimentary upgrade to junior suite, perfect start to a girls weekend! The room was amazing. Hotel personnel were really friendly and everything was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift smelled a little dinner and the bin men outside were noisy

    great location and our room was lovely. Staff were super nice and the restaurant downstairs was great. Will stay there next time we’re in NYC

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower only has a rainfall shower head - so you either get soaked standing directly under it, or you get cold standing out of it. Not ideal if you want to have a decent shower but not get your hair wet. We needed an iron one day and didn’t realise there wasn’t one in the room, and ended up having to wait half an hour for one to arrive. Lucky we weren’t in a rush! We had also asked the concierge to give us some suggestions for a rooftop bar for our last couple of nights, which he enthusiastically agree to, but then we heard nothing... I’d gone ahead and booked a lunch and a bar anyway. He didn’t say anything when we left which was disappointing as he had been super friendly! Maybe he forgot ...

    Excellent location and decent sized room for New York. We thought the room was well-appointed and the complimentary water bottles every day were a real bonus! Heaps of decent cafes / bars / restaurants within walking distance and the 57th Street station is just around the corner plus the park is only a couple of blocks up!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms from the photos seemed more big and there was not enough space in the wardrobe. For the money that this hotel cost I would add more space. We are a young couple so was not the end of the world.... but for the cost of the stay is not also the position but also confort and facilities inside the room.

    The staff is very kind and nice. They helped us in every possible way.. with restaurants, suggestions, check in and out and other facilities. The reception is beautiful ... modern hotel in a super central position if you want to visit all manhattan. For italian coffee and breakfast go to Zibetto bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a little bit noisy for me, but I understand it’s is very average in US.

    The Location is perfect, just 2 blocks from Central Park and I could find everything I need while my vacation in NYC because the hotel is located in the very center of Midtown. I was welcomed with gentle door guys, well decorated lobby and informative flint lady. The staff is excellent, has own style and very friendly. My room was spacious compared to other hotels in NYC, and perfect clean, in addition, I really loved amenities. I spend very comfortable 4 nights there. I want to be back there soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. We could here people conversation and laugh. Outside noises were less bothering then the between rooms noise. The shower is nice but would need a hand shower too not only the rain shower. My daughter could not open the tab since it was to hard to turn. The room service is nice but very limited when you travel with a kid. The cleaning was okay but still would need to be a litlle more thorough.

    Love the bed and pillows, love the wood floor and style of the hotel. Very comfortable. We had a king and sofa bed room and the size of the room was pretty large large for NYC. The staff was nice and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only missed having coffee making facilities in the room although you could grab free coffee on Mezanine level as of 6am. Room was a bit dark as facing away from street onto other high rise buildings.

    Great location for the museums and shopping. Artsy decor and very comfortable. Staff were delightful and very helpful. Overall, great value for money and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very very hard (and we like a firm bed), so we didn't have a good night sleep.

    The staff was friendly and efficient. The property was overall very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very informal. Popular, but the food was a bit on the hamburger joint side. Good for families and young adults, but not for aged road warriors!:-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But that all pales to our greeting from staff, when we attempted to check in. Although, we had pre-checked in as recommended by Chambers Hotel thru Booking.com. We were told by staff that we had no reservations for that evening but we had booked apparently thru booking.com two rooms for the night before. Wow, just what we wanted to hear, after a long train trip. This wasn't the hospitality that we had received from other hotels that we have stayed at on many NYC trips. Nor did this make sense from booking.com, who we reliably used in Europe without a hitch. So, what gives,one party blaming the other? Booking said they knew nothing about these reservation changes. We sat around for a while, while the 'manager' decided what to do with us. We were eventually given a room, no worthwhile apology received. We were only told at check out that they would not be charging us for the previous night. You can guess how comfortably we slept.

    The location was the high point of our stay. Right off of 5th Ave and a few short blocks to Central Park South made it very favorable for a stroll for health or shopping. The room was clean, especially the bathroom. It was a 'boutique' type hotel which was a nice change from what was immediately apparent outside the hotel door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the money the hotel could provide 24/7 tea and coffee service. No microwave in the room.

    Excellent location close to the 5th avenue. The morning coffee and tea are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaint.

    The aesthetics were extraordinary. I've never seen anything like the painting on the walls on floor 8 where we were. The architecture and the art in the lobby and lounge areas was brilliant. It's a gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was really gross, huge French windows look out into a dirty dingy courtyard with filthy windows all around. Wish we had a better room on the upper floors, guess you get what you pay for!

    Our concierge Ty and Jose were amazing! They treated us like royalty! These guys MADE this place! Hope they are here next time we come! Amazing people!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very quiet and awkward. Restaurant closed when we went at 11AM. Couldn't get a roll away bed. For the money this shouldn't be an issue. My car had a lot of peanut shells in my driver seat. I shared this with the front desk and they did nothing nor mentioned it again.

    We liked the location and ambiance of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for one night for NZ$365 but an additional NZ$509 was taken and held from my credit card without my knowledge or authorisation. The hotel has not responded to my query via booking.com. It’s been over two weeks since my stay and the fund still hasn’t been returned to me. This is unacceptable. Future stayers be aware.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel chambers was a huge let down and DEFINATELY not the 4 star it proclaims ?!! First of all , the hotel was hard to recognise on the street as the name of hotel was not clear from Main Street. I booked a garden room at a cost of 250 pounds per night ... The toilet wouldn’t flush , the lighting was extremely bad, paint was falling off ceiling , and cracks all over the place , I would consider this hotel to be no more than student accommodation or youth hostel standards ....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air in the room, even with the heat off, was beyond dry. I could not sleep well in it and there was nothing to do about it.

    Cool decor, nice experience overall, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Extra services like airport transfer or a massage I had have exceedingly high rates

    Great staff, very friendly and supportive; beautiful room and artworks in the corridors, and of course supreme location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated the shower. It had a rain head which means its difficult to keep my hair dry, there is no door so the air stays cold because all the steam escapes, and the water never got hot, just luke warm.

    The location is super convenient if you are exploring Manhattan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't always able to get hot water from the sink, and the whole heating system seemed a little bunko, often blowing cold air into the room when the thermostat said that it was 70° degrees, plus it was kind of loud.

    The room itself was very comfortable and, being a corner room had a nice view in both directions. It was also well located within a short walk from MOMA, Central Park and the 53rd Ave subway Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nope

    perfect location near by Trump Tower, with kind remind in a full page, free bottle water, best service from hotel reception, deserve to come again. And, the quilt is light but warm very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room...the one we reserved through bookings.com

    Jose part of the staff made the difference during our stay! At first we were a little bit upset with the room, but he immediately made arrangements to help us find a better accommodation for us! He also gave great restaurants recommendations!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has very nice design and style, with individually designed rooms, a la boutique style. The location is great, very close to Central Parc. However it is also very close to Trump Tower (you cant help passing it every day on your way to the hotel) which is a matter of (political) taste. Nice touch is the free entry to a fitness club right around the corner, which includes a swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was that the room was charged twice to my credit card and I had to have them cancel the second charge which took a lot of running around and some stress.

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only change I might make would be to offer some bread or pastry to the fruit and coffee. But, even without it, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

    The hotel hit exactly the right tone for us--it was nice without being stuffy--kind of an industrial modern style, the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, and, while they didn't have free breakfast, they offered apples and wonderful "instant" espresso. The location was absolutely perfect for our needs--easy access to the E train toward the 9/11 memorial, walking distance to Central Park, a half-block to the chichi shops of Fifth Avenue, and a restaurant with Italian food to die for directly across the street. To top it off, the beds and pillows were exceedingly comfortable and the rates were quite reasonable for NYC, too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little warm and we couldn't get the temperature down. Also, the bathroom sink was very low. Need some counter space in there. The shower leaked a little.

    Housekeeping staff was excellent. We were always surprised that someone attended our room more than once a day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect! Very clean and very comfortable, excellent position. One mention to the shower, I loved it as it's very large and water could be tuned to suit your needs, probably one of the best ever seen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite expensive (but all hotels in NYC are, aren't they?) Noisy AC machine from neighbouring building

    Excellent position Nice setup Service-oriented staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located to just about anything in Manhattan. Restaurant and milk bar available in the hotel. Also very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whoever designed the shower stalls that only have half a glass wall should be reprimanded. Each morning after the showers the bathroom floor had a 1/4 inch of water. Oh, now I know why they had the complimentary rubber sandals! Stepping out of a hot shower into a cold puddle drops your ratings, ya know?

    Nice bedding. Clean, high standard. Walk around the block to MOMA or Central Park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the price of rooms, we were a bit surprised at the lack of basic facilities such as a breakfast (at least beyond the coffee machine and apples and oranges provided until about 9am); there was also no coffee-maker in the bedroom. The room looked out onto a rather unattractive building and alley. The hotel didn't really have as much personality as we had anticipated, especially considering that we stayed on Christmas Day.

    The hotel is located just off the busy 5th Avenue, near to many of Manhattan's most famous sites. It has a sort of faux-industrial vibe, rather hip, which appealed to us. The bedroom was quite spacious although nothing special (we had previously stayed in a three-star hotel in Manhattan that was at least as big). The shower was amazing. All of the staff were professional and one of the male members of staff was particularly friendly and lively.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great! The valet manager was very accommodating. I was slightly annoyed that my iprefer points weee not added because i booked through booking.com. And that I was not given a king size bed after requesting one in advance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our suite was inadequate for putting on makeup. Same with clothing storage. With one person it's fine. With two people not enough drawers or hanging space. Especially with coats.

    Staff very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However staff did make a dessert location recommendation which turned out to be closed when we went there even though left immediately. More importantly staff at front desk were very rude when we attempted to get our stored luggage as leaving and porter actually put someone else's luggage in our cab. There were 3 ladies at front desk who refused to help (porter was swamped)

    Room was spacious and conference room was great! The staff when we checked in etc were great as was the main person at front desk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel design style is soooo...not comfy. It is describing itself as boutique industrial style. The room looks bad...from the objects in the room that are quite used...to very bad viewing, at least in our room. We have arrived on a rainy day and once we saw the room, we have decided to move immediatelly, which unfortunatelly was not possible as the manager was not on duty and nobody was able to make the decision of releasing us. So, we had to sleep in a small bed, not comfy at all until the next morning. And yes, we have paid 300 uds for this experience. Location is very good, but this is the only positive. As for the restaurant in the hotel, we had breakfast there. Trust me it was one of the most expensive and ordinary brakfast we ever had.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Its noisy. I know its New York but the 9th floor wasn't high enough to escape it. The 'corner rooms' all seem to face the street.

    Very friendly staff. Tipping takes a little getting used to for an Australian and we hadn't left a tip for house keeping and they were doing a great job but once we did it was the worst clean of our stay.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the hallways could be a little bigger, and beds come with a bed head (instead of bare walls) and a choice of pillows. Noise from outside (street). Traffic (due to its location so near Trump Tower). No bathroom in the lobby or any common area of the hotel. You’d have to go to the restaurant’s bathroom, which happened to be filthy when I visited.

    Attention to detail: bathroom products (generously sized too), bedding linens, room amenities. Responsive, helpful staff. Pre-check in. Concierge app. Restaurant at the hotel (Ma Pêche) has a menu for breakfast/room service that’s kind of different from the usual, standard hotel breakfast/room service menus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I must find something to write here, I can tell that the shower and bathroom had just glass door, which I find less "warm". But this is really not an issue.

    Chambers hotel is a wonderful place to be during a vacation in NY. The staff were amazing and helped with any question and need. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. There was a feeling of quietness and calm even in busy Manhattan.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room heater drys the air to the point my nose started bleeding. They should really provide humidifiers, or just ask for one when you book (so I've been told...). AC is very loud at night.

    Great location for this hotel. Staff was very friendly, and room was a decent size for New York City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge fan of the restaurant but that is purely down to our personal tastes.

    Very friendly and efficient staff especially Ty who is a little sweetie. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Complementary coffee and fruit at breakfast time. Bathroom toiletries were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff without exception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No coffee machine or kettle. The rooms are with carpet so alergic people should not stay. Some staff are not friendly. There is no facilities or enjoying tome when you stay hotel.. instead of this hotel you can find a lot of better options for same price. Belive me. I travel to Ny every year one or two times. Except for location hotel is not worth to stay.

    Only location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not put a red card on the door, but they assumed and bedding was not changed for couple of days until I complained.

    was very quiet, closed to many restaurants places to visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you take one of the upgraded rooms, all the standard rooms are at the back of the building and if you’re on a lower floor you get NO sunlight whatsoever and just a dark dingy back alley and brick wall - slightly depressing. We complained and got moved from the 4th to the 9th floor - was still a brick wall but some sunlight manages to make it through.

    The location was amazing. The rooms are a little small but they are clean and the bed is comfortable. The staff are professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink is a little small. Wife needs her space for the lotions and make up so that was a little cramped but the cleanliness and great blow dryer make up for it partially.

    The central location in manhattan was great. The weather was cold so we couldn’t walk around with the kids much so that helped a great deal. Very kid friendly. Staff gives your kids teddy bears that have the hotel logo on them and also yo-yos. Also have complimentary flops that are pretty good quality, not just the cheap white ones most hotels throw at you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complementary coffee / tea stops at 10am, too early for late wakeners

    Great location, 3 blocks from Central Park, classy but simple. Great food @Ma Pêche restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk was amazing. There was not one person who didn't try their best for us, and with a smile! great area. needs a bit of sprucing up, from wear and tear over the years, but would stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uninviting external appearance. Had to ask for coffee making facilities in room. Noisy room. No biscuit with coffee.

    Luxury shower and comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was perfect. The rooms were very nice and the shower outstanding. Very high value to price ratio. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to retuning in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the dining options and service was poor. The bathroom is way too small for 2 people. the rooms was very tiny and minimalistic. The bathroom floor and walls were unattractive.

    the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telephone didn't work properly. We would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room. The bedside reading lights could be stronger.

    The service from the front desk staff was exceptional. And the bed was very comfortable. There is an excellent Italian restaurant just across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small.

    We got some kind of promotion and maybe bacause of it our room was very small and had ugly view on the wall. But generally this hotel is nice and comfortable. Its location is perfect close to 5th Avenue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio King Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The girl at the front desk, although very nice, didn't tell us about the amenities of the hotel. The coffee that is offered is a Nespresso machine, which I happened to have owned one before, so I knew how to operate it, however for someone that doesn't, this would be a terrible coffee experience. I also no longer own the Nespresso machine because I hated it! I didn't realize there was a dessert/coffee shop connected to the hotel until check out. This would have been nice to know so I could have grabbed my coffee from there. (Again, issue with the front desk girl not telling us anything about the property). The hotel was very clean and comfortable, however, the room is very sparse in its decor. Also, the hallways were too dark which I wouldn't normally mind, but there is only a handful of rooms on the floor, so its a teeny tiny hallway. My first impression when exiting the elevator was not a good one. Changing up the lighting is an easy fix, so hopefully for next time this will be improved. Also, the bathroom configuration is a bit annoying because the bathroom is not closed off in a separate closet. So it makes for sharing a bathroom inconvenient. Not a deal breaker though.

    The location was perfect - steps from 5th Avenue shopping, Central Park a few short street blocks away, St Patricks cathedral ( a 7 minute walk). Subways were close as well. The hotel is boutique style. The gentleman at the front, Daniel, made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Upon check-in he presented my 8th year old daughter with a hotel teddy bear and yo-yo, which made her immediately feel happy with our hotel. The next day when she didn't see him in the morning, she asked me where he was. :-) He made us feel like family and our positive vibes from the hotel were most likely from him. To hotel management - he is an asset, do what you can to keep him! Our hotel room which was a king bed with sofa bed was very spacious for a NYC hotel. We looked forward to returning to our room each night. I loved that the door to the room doesn't automatically slam shut like a typical hotel room. Felt more like an apartment. They also give you a real key, which adds to that feel. Very cool!!! Glass bottle water provided. Very nice touch!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room size

    Good location and friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Good quality and extent of bar fridge and snacks. Rooms fairly small. Unfortunate timing as near to Trump Tower and the president was in town causing significant disruption.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The award winning restaurant is excellent but the cuisine very particular. We would have liked a wider choice.

    A delightful small hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. No tea/coffee facilities but a hospitality tray with kettle appeared immediately after we enquired. Charming arty decor. Room was clean and comfortable. Power shower was a joy. Luggage storage and late checkout helped us enormously. They even posted our postcards for us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in the place is very bad and not all lights work. The place has art that's the only good part. I was forced to upgrad because of the availability and not for free. They did not give me an exta bed till next day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small, friendly hotel. Clean, comfortable room with a great view. Staff particularly helpful. Perfect location for a city break. Right in the heart of New York.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was horrific! You can see right through to the toilet and shower. I had to wedge a gown between the glass and door frame. No lock either. Definitely a major flaw with me. It would put me off going back

    Taj was an amazing staff member. He is the reason why the hotel is so good. Taj should be promoted!! I would go back just for the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor details only such as the bathroom area glass entry door not being a full fit (failed to see the design benefit in that) , a great powerful shower yet only half covered with glass panel which results in water on the floor outside. Minor minor design details that many wouldn't even notice , but they did leave me pondering.

    Good welcome from staff. Only 4 rooms on the floors, so quite quiet. Location is superb yet the street has an offbeat vibe, more urban. Lots of places for food, drink, etc. everything close to hand. Amazing value. Lovely style throughout. It's a trendy, hipster vibe going on but still able to make a 50+ guy feel comfortable, even cool by proximity! Highly recommend it. I think it's one of the best choices around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from the window: unfortunately we could see only taller buildings in front of us (but we were prepared from previous reviewers)

    Staff availability and willingness to help us. A special remark for TY's availability and smile. He is at the reception all the time and happy to help for any needs (for example he gave us a great suggestion for a dinner close to the Empire State Building).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the in house food selection was very good.

    The concierge/doorman Ty was exceptional. The ladies cleaning the room were really efficient and friendly. Comfortable beds, good bathroom. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accommodations in the room were very nice and it was very quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and most importantly helpful. We were helped with directions, train tables, bus information and taxis. All of the staff was great, but Ty was he one we went to with questions. He is definitely an asset to the hotel. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The artsy decorum took a bit of getting used to. And could be reworked, especially the super dark emo floors.

    Location and staff make this place excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud neighbourhood. But great reaction of hotel to immediately offer us another room.

    Location. Style of boutique hotel. Very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more information on the art on display.

    Great staff, convenient location and well apportioned rooms. The contemporary art on display was a wonderful addition. the shower in the room - amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    In the Centre of midtown, easy reach to all tourist&entertainment destinations in town. Large room size, extra-comfortable bed. Very friendly staff, great service. And they have two restaurants on ground floor and basement, the food and drinks are great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor and rooms are a bit drab. Lobby furniture, and bed, not very inviting or cushy.

    Great location, friendly staff, free coffee in AM, turndown service, TV interface very easy. Room size was very good, too. Friendly and comfortable vibe in lobby. Excellent slippers!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great and very helpful staff, always ready to suggest best restaurants and places to go. Nice rooms, convenient location. Plus a gorgeous shower, every time you take a bath it is almost like having a full massage.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chambers Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: