Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3 stars

433 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#23 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1989 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Can't beat the location and the hotel staff's service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning. Which I knew beforehand and didn't expect it to be an issue for me personally but I was uncomfortable with the room temperature at times, even with a fan. This would be the only reason why I wouldn't say here again.

    Great staff, great location, very clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location hotel with nice old style features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't think they had AC? or we couldn't work it out? But they have a ceiling fan which was fairly sufficient for cooling the room, but difficult to control the temperature, especially during the night.

    Very central and busy location. Staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated and the room was small

    Amazing location, lovely extras like apples, water and popcorn in the lobby, lovely staff..I would 100% stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room is a little bit small. We had to share the bed between 3 of us (with a 2 year old toddler) and there wasn't so much room. We were not offer a baby bed option. The toilets were very close to the wall and the bathroom door and that was a bit awkward..

    The room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and you can choose different pillows on the pillow menu... The breakfast was very good and they also provide free coffee, tea and cookies every day. The bathroom was very clean and I loved the shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The look of the hotel is really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The look of the hotel is really nice The location in a good area at Union Square The personnel of the Hotel You can use their parking fot 20$/day it's cheap for SF The free cookies and coffee ! Our free upgrade !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite run down. The room was really small. There was no room to unpack, no air conditioning. The literature was very misleading. We did not think we got value for money.

    Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Totally satisfied and would gladly go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really an issue, but our back room was overlooking the kitchen??? Loads of vents and metal work possibly from kitchen/aircon so was relatively noisy. Some guests may take issue, but plus points outweighed this

    The extra details - iced water, tea and coffee, apples and yummy cookies always available. The room was spotless and a nice touch was having sweeties (candies) in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful, bed really comfortable, location so central with everything on our doorstep

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    It's a good choice if you want to stay in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from outside and the hall way is sometimes annoying, but it's not a big deal if you were tired and sleepy. The free coffee in the lobby is too light, and milk container is always empty.

    The bed is comfortable, staff are nice. 24-hour store is just nearby. Plus the free coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    A good location, central and critically just about on the level before one of the many hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room faced a brick wall so no view but we didn't go to SF to look out the window so not a big problem.

    Attention to detail, really clean and comfortable, some nice extras such as free coffee and water cooler in the lobby, decent quality toiletries in the rooms. Breakfast is excellent value at $15.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An expensive, limited breakfast was the only meal option. No restaurant or room service for lunch or dinner.

    Brilliant location! Cheerful staff. Fab cookies 🍪

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to stay in. Loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The look I got from the woman behind reception when I asked to change my room as it looked onto a brick wall. She appeared very grudging when the young man in training was being so kind.

    Excellent service from young man (in training) at front desk. He changed my room when I was not happy at looking out onto a brick wall. Superb location. Easy access to travel - cable cars, metro, taxis. Very comfortable hotel. Free fruit, cookies, water, tea and coffee in reception area. Access to computer for printing boarding pass. Able to leave luggage in storage for longer on departure day at no cost. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The room was quite comfortable especially the bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have loved a better view, but for two nights it does not seem important.

    The room was quite comfortable especially the bed and pillows. Its location was central, steps from Union Square and in front of the cable car stop that leads to Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable well located hotel with complimentary tea coffee and cookies and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Complimentary tea and coffee, complimentary cookies and fruit complimentary Sweets (Candy) in room. Old world character. Ideally located. Good value for money. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.5
    We opted for the Chancellor for both its price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedroom was a little small, San Francisco was our last stop before heading back to Europe, after a 2 weeks roadtrip, so we had medium-size luggages and there was not enough space to have the luggages open and easily walk around. We had a queen size bed, which was fine for me but, being my boyfriend very tall, a bigger bed would have been better. We probably could have asked the staff if there was another bedroom available

    We opted for the Chancellor for both its price and location. The latter was definitely ideal: right in the middle of the shopping area, close to the tube station and various bus stops - we could easily go everywhere with public transport. The downside is of course, if you are a lightsleeper like me, the noise that there can be at night, being such a busy area - I must say it was not too bad though. The hotel itself is rather nice and bedrooms are nicely decorated and in the hall there always are complimentary water, coffee, cookies and fruits for guests, which is definitely a plus. I would definitely recommend it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, wish is was longer. Not enough visits to the bar for happy hour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The little touches, flavoured cold water, apples & cookies in reception. Cosy bar with delicious cocktails. Location was perfect. Small relaxed vibe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Central location at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a relatively old hotel, but the rooms are in reasonable condition. It is a value for money option. The hotel frontage had scaffolding erected, indicating maintenance is being undertaken.

    Able to park in front to get luggage out, then return hire car. Water available in lobby along with some tasty cookies and fruit. Helpful front desk staff. There are some budget eating options easy walking distance. Lori’s 1950’s Diner is on the corner of Sutter and Powell.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great week in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wish there were coffee and tea making facilities within the room I know it’s available in the lobby

    Great character beautiful decoration, comfortable beds with plenty of pillows and pillow choices Plenty of extra towels, face cloth etc Wonderful location so handy to busses and great restaurants and diners Happy hour and 2 for 1 coupon really enjoyed the guava cocktail ❤️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay despite the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no climate control. It was very hot despite the cool climate outside. The window only partially opened. The room was terribly noisy. We could here everyone speaking in the hallway outside our room. Also there was no one to help with our luggage.

    The location was excelent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was blood on the bathroom floor and on the lampshade when we arrived. Someone came up and told me it was probably sauce or jelly...it was NOT! They then only partially cleaned it after I insisted that they do and then told me they weren't housekeeping and said to talk to housekeeping in the morning. The morning people I spoke to were much better and cleaned it properly and changed the lamp shade.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who checked us in seemed to be having a bad day. The room was too hot.

    We stayed here April 30, 18 and it is a loverly boutique hotel located right beside Union Square. It is a smaller property, the elevator is small, the rooms are small, the hallway is small, however it really clean and the beds are super comfy. The front desk staff was very helpful as the next day I needed some packing tape which I asked for and they provided so that was great. The only complaint we would have is that the room was too hot and we could not seem to figure out how to make it cooler.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    It's ok. Give it a try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost too high, Size of rooms, No free Parking, Noisy e.g. thin walls and noisy plumbing!

    Comfort e.g. bed/furniture. Complimentary breakfast coffee, fruit and cookies were good value. Central location close to union square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Union Square area has a large number of down-and- outs. They were never threatening or aggressive but they make for a rather intimidating feeling and a generally run-down aspect to what is really an interesting area. This did not spoil our visit in any way but is something to be aware of.

    Close to all the main sights and with great transport links in what is a fascinating city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, clean hotel, decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was outdated so the picture was funny but if you’re just sitting in your hotel watching TV on vacation that’s a different problem.

    The staff was super nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was nice for shopping and some restaurants but not much else. You have to travel a bit for most museums and other activities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming place in great location, room was not too small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the roof of the neighbor building and view or this roof

    Charming place in great location, room was not too small just right size, very clean, the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice & enjoyable stay in the middle of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No remarks. You could make comments about the street noise in the evening, but it's your own choice to stay in the middle of the city for convenience reasons and not the hotel's fault so we didn't mind this

    We had a nice stay at the Chancellor hotel, friendly staff and the rooms were nice. The hotel comments say very small rooms, but in reality there is enough space in the room. The location is very convenient (we walked to Pier 33 & Fishermans wharf from there). The coffee in the lobby is also very easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection. It almost didn't work when I was in my room (poor or no connection at all). Works pretty well at the lobby though. It's a bit expensive but I think that's the normal range in San Francisco.

    Location is the best. Walking distance to most tourist destinations or the transportation facilities. The complimentary cookies, apples, coffee and tea at the lobby is such a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the Hotel makes it a great base to explore San Francisco on foot. The room was small but more than adequate, a legacy of the age of the building. We stayed in early April and found the temperature within the building to be acceptable although we needed to open the window at times to allow some cooler air in, not sure that I would want to stay in warmer months due to the lack of air-conditioning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Terrible booking experience with the Accounting Department.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible booking experience with the Accounting Department. They double booked me on 2 credit cards and the matter still remains unresolved. As a customer, I am following up to resolve the issue, not the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Got used to it but would not choose to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We feel the hotel is tired and needs a uplift, it is quite dark and the main reception area is small, the bar area is dark and uninviting. Disappointed overall

    We liked the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    A good stay spoilt by poor account management and communication.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accounts management was not as outlined. As a result of multiple charges against 2 cards a total amount of $2,400 was charged for a booking total of $714. Two weeks later we are still waiting for refunds and despite repeated approaches to the Chancellor Hotel little assistance or care was provided. This spoilt what would otherwise have been a good experience.

    Location was great and the facilities were comfortable if a little dated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was beyond awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, beds and bathroom are incredibly small, uncomfortable and inconvenient.

    The staff was beyond awesome. They let us check in early and even held our bags the last day so we could site see after check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    My granddaughter and I enjoyed our stay. The location was great. Thank you.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought there was some discount for not changing sheets. A free bottle of water or two in the guests room to use upon arrival or for brushing teeth should be a must.

    The food was very good, but the service a bit slow. The employees at the front desk were polite, friendly and helpful. Morning coffee was a must. Cold water in the lobby was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is good! Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No breakfast.

    Location is good! It's very convenient. And there are free coffee/tea and cookies at front desk. The room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, and good staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is an old build so you can expect some signs of this. It is also Union Square, meaning that homeless people will be around (not the fault of the hotel of course). The cable car station is close by so you will hear this if you have the window slightly opened. No air con will be a problem for summer, but for other seasons it will be absolutely fine.

    I really like the location of this hotel and basically what it offers for the rate. Do be aware that there is quite a lot of homeless people around San Francisco, and some of them will be near Union Square where the hotel is located close by (they are not close to the hotel but around the traffic lights). Staff is brilliant and provide water as well as coffee/snacks for guests to feel comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    This is a pretty solid choice to stay in San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is old and a bit expensive for what it is.

    This is a pretty solid choice to stay in San Francisco. It is extremely well located and comfortable. It is a practical hotel. The bathroom looks nice. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.2
    Don’t stay at this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bellman when I drove up. It took forever to get my car picked up and delivered. It is an old hotel that is on fair condition. Tiny room, tiny bathroom. Extremely expensive for what I got. Would not recommend.

    The staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Simple luxury, obliging staff, superior location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect for my wife and me. Powell cable car line, BART & Muni Metro Rail stations, Market Street streetcar, bus routes, Union Square, cafes, bars, grocers, theaters . . . The hotel is immaculate, the staff first-class; easy, comfortable, nigh perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation in a great location, would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s described as a boutique hotel but parts (bar area for example) need freshening up. Rooms were very warm and there’s no air conditioning, so may get uncomfortable during the summer months.

    Hotel had a homely feel about it and was in a great location just off Union Square. Some nice touches too, like complimentary cookies and popcorn in reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had minimal control over the shower, not a problem, really.

    Great location, helpful staff. Really liked the option of foregoing housekeeping in exchange for vouchers to use at their in-house restaurant. While we didn't have tea & coffee making facilities in our rooms, it was more than made up for by having free fresh cookies and coffee in the lobby 🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning in the room, only a fan on the ceiling. No breakfast included.

    Excellent location. Decent-sized room with a nice bathroom. Coffee, tea, cookies and fruits available for free all day long in the lobby. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Definitely worth recommending to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window is right beside a fire exit that i am not use to so it was scary on our first night but already got ised to it the rest of our stay

    It was a surprise that they gave us a complimentary champagne for my birthday. The place is comfortable, location is great, Would be better if there is an air conditioner Wanted to book again for another 3 days but the place is already fully booked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved this hotel and would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbors but the hotel staff did their best to sort the problem.

    Location fantastic. Super comfy beds.loved the oldness of the hotel yet it had all facilities and was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Terrific city, hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Nice size room. Comfortable bed and an opening window. No air con - good for us, effective ceiling fan though. Complimentary tea, coffee, cookies, pastries and water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect! Easy access to transportation, resturants, and shopping. The history of the hotel was wonderful as well. We enjoyed all the personal touches throught the hotel. People were so kind and helpful.

    3 parking options, GREAT pricing for The City ($20 for overnight is a steal!) Room decor and bedding was clean and inviting. Bathroom basket with extra towels, soaps, and bath salts +. The tub was super deep!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All perfect, just little problem with the Wifi bot not bad.

    The hotel is too near of Union Square and Market St. You can take the Cable Car just front the door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Would use again- only on a deal. Not worth the high prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was great- arrived at 12pm and room was ready- well ahead of the 4pm check in so Was thrilled. The room was functional with very comfy bed, and Refrigerator which is a must for me. Shower pressure not great, but very clean bathroom. I opted for baths-which fills fast! Cute toiletries and very environmentally friendly with a big focus on sustainability even down to reusable straws. Big bonus and nice touch is FREE, self serve coffee, water round clock- ONLY in lobby. They also put free snacks on in morning- just cookies but a very nice touch. Staff generally won’t be getting customer Service of the year. They were efficient, but we’re doing the bare minimum. I think in customer facing roles you should be an ambassador and go above and beyond. Incredible location- right by Union Square. Trams, buses, taxis and BART all nearby. I walked most places during the day and used cabs at night. The homelessness problem is heartbreaking and everywhere. I experienced homophobic and racist abuse outside the hotel. The hotel bar was ok- happy hour and the front desk service could learn a lot in terms of customer interaction from Rory- the legendary Irish bar tender.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Called the front desk one time, the staff was kind of rude without the patient. Hang up on me before I even finish...which is really unexpectedly rude...

    The location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, comfy and clean room, nice style in an old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi a bit slow

    Friendly staff, comfy and clean room, nice style in an old building. Location was ideal, right in the centre of Union Square so good for shopping and near to the open top bus tours. Walkable up to fisherman’s wharf and the piers or can catch the trolley.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevators were slow at times and no coffee in room! I ordered coffee by room service. No air conditioner in rooms but they have ceiling fans which was convenient

    The location was great! The staff were helpful and the rooms were nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Verry central and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry small room and bathroom system of credit card without pin code or swipe doesn’t match with new credit cards so it has t be updated

    Verry central and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Far More Than Expected, Thank You !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing . . .

    My wife and I are regaining our long-time frequent trips to San Francisco (now empty nesters). We have our usual standard hotels of which the Chancelor has now moved to the top. There was nothing that we didn't enjoy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel for city trip/vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loobby could be more cozy, it didn’t invite you to stay there. Corridor looks like old.

    A good hotel for city trip/vacation. The room wasn't big, but enough spacious considering that hotel is located in the city center (warderobe was very spacious and compensated the size of the room). Bathroom was clean and had all necessary amenities. Complementary tee, coffe, cookies, apples is a plus. I would stay again at Chancellor if I go again for a vacation to San Francisco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle driver never seemed to want to stop at the front door of this hotel for some reason.

    Had a great stay there and altho' the rooms are small it was great for me as a single traveler. The bed was great and it was nice and quiet; I slept great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff was really nice and location was super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but I could hear a coughing and talking sound of the next door in the room

    Staff was really nice and location was super! I felt quite safe near the hotel even in the night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room as too hot and the staff were unable to solve the problem. This meant we needed to keep the window open, resulting in noise from the street. There was also too much noise from other guests slamming doors - but this was not the hotel's fault. The internet was very slow and, at times, not available.

    The location. Close to everything. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little too soft, but still, very cushy and some would love it.

    1) Superb location. Just off Union Square, easy to get Ubers from. 2) impeccably clean room and bathroom, spotless! Thank you housekeeping staff! 3) Room was not BIG by US standards but the layout was efficient and I did not feel cramped at all. More than enough for a solo traveller. 3) Extremely well-lit. Warm AND Day light options in the bathroom, great for makeup. 4) Provision of Bath Salts a really nice touch. Cute rubby ducky. Housekeeping noticed I used the bath salts and gave me 2 extra the next day. 5) EXTENSIVE PILLOW MENU. Saved my neck! 6) Free takeaway coffee and tea, and cookies, for all guests in the morning at the bar area. This makes so much sense - how many people really make coffee/tea in the bedroom anyway? And in you want one in the morning before rushing out, this is a great time saver. I only found out about this on the morning I checked out though, could have been explained to me when I checked in :) 7) WATER DISPENSER at lobby. I loved this. Many hotels now do not provide free bottled water (e.g. Westin and Fairmont), but also do not provide a water dispenser in replacement. I love how convenient and environmentally friendly this is. Water should be accessible to guests all the time, whatever the form. 8) Fruit infused iced water (with cups) in the lobby is provided as well - nice touch for weary travellers or if you do not have a bottle with you 9) Spotted a pop corn stand this afternoon as I was checking out - not sure if it's there everyday, but so cute! Little jar of candy in room - i did not eat any but again, it's a warm touch. 10) Love the room decor. Soothing green walls, artworks of plants and nature. 11) Shower pressure was perfect, hot water easy to control. 12) Finally, super friendly Front Desk staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Front desk staff cheery and pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beverage menu offer items which were not available for entire visit when comment was offered sarcastic respone was returned not professional at all Room maintenance our was not made up by 4:30 in afternoon and there fore missed

    Front desk staff cheery and pleasent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel we had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    LOVED this hotel. The location was great. Had a twin room and it was good for the 2 of us. Room was very clean. There is a little bar with happy hour and the bartender was very nice. A highly enjoyable stay definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    The stay went pretty well, if not the rude portier I would recommend your hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was a portier, working on Feb 6th ( a bit elder Chinese guy). That day I had a terrible backache and asked for help when moving my staff as I was changing my room. When a girl at the reception asked him to help me he was fine, but then he stepped in the elevator with me and was quite rude, saying that my new room is on the same floor and I can do it myself. Eventually I took my heavy luggage and moved it myself, despite the back pain. That was the only bad experience in your hotel, but it effected me a lot. In terms of improvements, it would be great if there were coffee machines in the room, as the most other hostels have them.

    Overall, the experience was pretty good. Especially I appreciated a guy at the reception whose shift was Saturday, Feb 10th and Sunday the 11th morning. He and the portier working on that day were super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing accommodation, location with all the little extras to ensure a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a complimentary bottle of white and red wine when we arrived to our room. There were also lollies for us. 2 bathrooms, a sitting area and the most comfortable big bed with option of different pillow types to chose from! Rooms were a great size and very clean. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Famous San Fran trolley toght outside the hotel. Everything was truely fabulous in the room! They even had an umbrella which was handy as we were travelling and didn't pack one!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    A good place for 20 year olds.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sad and dingy. There is no Air conditioning so you must sleep with open windows in a noisy location. My room was so small I could barely get my suitcase in. My hair got caught in the fan strings every time I “moved”around the room.

    Location was good and they had coffee in the lobby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly central hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is showing some signs of age although much has been updated. My room had a separate store room/walk in wardrobe which was very useful - unfortunately it smelt musty.

    Excellent Location, friendly staff comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a bit old.

    You cannot beat the location, the room was clean and the breakfast was tasty. The hotel allowed me to check in early and check out late - great customer service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable convenient friendly- thats why this was 4th time staying at chancellor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Healthy option at breakfast ( ie substituting fruit for hash browns or fries) costs extra!!

    Brilliant location for exploring sanfrancisco- coffee and cookies available in foyer all day-

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, very comfortable room, love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, very comfortable room, love that some of the history of the building has been retained whilst providing up to date comforts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Love the location and the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location and the staff! It may be 100+ years old and on the smaller side, but they keep it updated and clean. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel! First time was 4 years ago and it's still great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Cute retro hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really have nothing to complain about. When I arrived my safe was not working, but they fixed it within the hour and the maintenance guy was very polite and friendly. The rooms are not huge, but that fits with the style of the hotel and I felt that I had sufficient space. The giant bath was certainly big enough!

    Great hotel, well priced for the location and quality. Decor in the room was retro and cute and I loved the over-sized bath and complimentary bath salts. Staff were friendly and unobtrustive. There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but downstairs by reception/dining area there was always drip coffee and free cookies and apples in the morning or popcorn in the evening. I thought that was a nice touch...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Central location! Recommended to use public transport or a different parking garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom fittings were a bit out-dated and even broken. The valet parking service offered by the hotel is easily around 15 dollars more expensive that the nearest garage, which is located less than 100 m away. At around 250 m distance, there are parking garages that are lesser than half the price offered by the hotel.

    Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Amazing location. Clean rooms and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel. Quiet, lovely room with super nice beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no towel racks in the bathroom. Just a hook on the door. Otherwise all was great!

    Great beds, nice ducky in the tub (!), great lighting in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    This is the second time we have stayed here and would definitely choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative which impacted our stay was the very unfriendly female attendant in the lobby bar. She didn’t speak or make eye contact and was rude.

    Great location to everything and right across the road from union Square and fantastic shopping and dining.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in the hotel

    Excellent stay in an old city house, very cozy, clean and quite comfortable. The rooms are a bit smaller than other, but you are in a big city where room is more expensive. Ask them for a parking voucher in the parking garage against the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is wonderfully located, the bed was super-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small but very comfortable and we didn’t plan to spend much time in them other than for sleeping so didn’t have a problem.

    This hotel is wonderfully located, the bed was super- comfortable and it was clean and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and close to shopping. We will return. Also parking up the street for $22 was a bonus!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit tight, especially the toilet so close to the door. No coffee in the room, but easy to go down to the lobby to get coffee.

    Proximity to Union Square. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no complaints EXCEPT the bed - hard as the floor and a painful experience!!! Spent a sleepless first night then went to Macy’s next AM and bought a foam pad. Only way to sleep was to remake the bed with padding of both one of the overly heavy comforters (one too many on the bed) and the foam pad. Spending $50 for minimal comfort - not acceptable. Otherwise, loved the hotel and its location.

    Great experience mostly - see below

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A great weekend get a away at a fine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, it was a great experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful. A great location , nice rooms,great food in the restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: