Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Channel Road Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3 stars

219 W Channel Road, Los Angeles, CA 90402, USA

#7 of 23 B&Bs and Inns in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had a great stay!

    The hosts were wonderful and welcoming and the breakfast and wine and appetizer social hour were an added benefit. We loved our visit!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great! The staff is very attentive (thanks for the special treats for our kid), the room was clean and modern, location cannot be any better (short walk to Santa Monica beach). Special thanks for the afternoon snacks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing breakfast buffet, meager offerings in comparison to other B&B breakfasts we've had. The house is on a main road which gets busy quite early in the morning. If you want to sleep in, get a room on the third floor (so you won't have someone walking above you) toward the back.

    Very comfortable bed. Room attractively decorated. Spacious gathering area on first floor. Used loaner bikes to ride the bike path from the B&B to south of Marina del Ray. Staff on site 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car was parked underneath a tree that left droppings and very sticky, we had just washed our car and had to have it washed again! !

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived a fresh array of fruits, cheese, crackers and wine were waiting for us. The breakfast in the morning with the cozy fire was the perfect way to start our day. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price, but this is USA... That was our most expensive accomodation of the trip, but the people and all special attentions we were given made it our really best experience. Thanks to all of you !

    Incredible place, incredible people. Very careful on our gluten-free request. We were "rented" bikes for free for the day, and that is just great bearing in mind the beach is so closed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was scarce hot water in Beth room sink in both rooms 7 and 11. Plenty of hot in the shower.

    They treat us like family and are still completely professional. We had a family crisis and they accommodated what that meant about our departure and needs while there. A rare and precious culture exists at the Channel Inn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy from traffic during early morning. We like to sleep with window open and that didn't work.

    The friendliness and feeling of being "at home". The breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, nice coffee, lovely greek yogurt and many other stuff. And big ups for the nice happy hour initiative with wine and snacks!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small for the money.

    Felt like we were home. Very close to the beach. Within walkìng distance to many things. Not a lot of traffic, noise, and congestion. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The jet tub and toiletries were awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was below standard. Breakfast and daily snacks were nice but were much the same each of the three days we stayed. A little more variety would be good. Coffee was not available all day (or was cold) and staff were not prepared to make a cup of coffee in the evening. Sad. The property is showing its age and could benefit from a little maintenance.

    Great access to beach and Santa Monica. Biking and walking along nearby trail was a real delight. We really appreciated the bike rental. Meeting and enjoying times with friends and other guests in large common room was a a lovely bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming B&B like atmosphere in historical house in the quiet part of town. Beds were very comfortable. Staff super friendly. Bikes on loan (first come first serve) are real treat to bike up and down Santa Monica beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The staff (only girls) is very nice and kind. The hotel is very confy and clean. I wasn't expecting breakfast, but it is served a nice breakfast (with fresh fruit, cereal, milk, bred and everyday a different kind of cake and a hot soufle) and a afternoon snack. The location is also perfect, very close to the beach. The bikes were perfect for a ride at the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit pricey but, completely worth it.

    The owners are so lovely and welcoming- it's like walking into your own home. The house is absolutely stunning. I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a bit random but otherwise everything was good!

    Located right on the edge of Santa Monica but only a short cycle ride (free bike hire from the hotel) along the beach to everything that is great about Santa Monica beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be churlish to write anything in this section.

    Fabulous property which oozed comfort and welcome from every pore. First rate breakfast and the complimentary appetizers in the evening were a welcome and unexpected bonus. We were able to use bicycles provided free of charge and as we were flying, the use of hotel provided beach towels was an added bonus. Would certainly visit this property again as the staff were welcoming, very helpful and friendly at all times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms would have benefoiited from having a small min-bar so guests could put in their drinks and any local delicacies purchased. There was a small fridge downstairs that guests could use but if you were on the 2nd or 3tf, floor, this could be a nuisance. This was the only dray-back for me.

    The inn was beautiful and welcoming. I loved the furnishings which was both elegant and comfortable. The food was delicious as was the selection of fresh fruit every morning. Offering the guests complimentary wine and canapés at 5.00pm each day was a lively touch and made us feel pampered.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to PCH, and we could here the cars all night.

    Heavenly eggs!! Yum! Breakfast was soooo delicious. We got there early and we able too check in with no problem. The complimentary wine and hors douvres were put out early by the friendly staff early too! Just for us!! The spread was so wonderful that we had a difficult time later at a restaurant, eating our dinner. Our room was comfy and well appointed. Classical music was playing and chocolate chip cookies were there to meet us. The staff was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. They provided useful information. They made the stay very welcoming. They were very personable. Happy hour and breakfast were to die for! Great location near fabulous restaurants & beach. Relatively close to Santa Monica Pier also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to stay... well worth another visit... the staff were so friendly and welcoming and the location was perfect... I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Santa Monica....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bikes could have used a service, but otherwise fabulous!

    We travelled down the coast from San Francisco to San Diego and this was our favourite hotel. The staff were so welcoming, the rooms and the shared space beautiful and it had a lovely homely feel to it. We enjoyed the bikes and the beach towels. We will return I hope!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were outstanding. They gave cheerful assistance to all our questions. When we needed to leave early (6am) on our departure day they provided us with a tasty breakfast of fruit and delicious muffins to take on the road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation is about the only thing wrong with that facility .

    Balcony was great ,the room itself was large enough it was very clean . the breakfast was great , and the evening snacks for great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit out of the main area of Santa Monica than we realised but it was quieter for it

    Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. The blueberry bread was to die for!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in our room despite it being stated on booking.com that there was air conditioning. As a result we had a terrible nights sleep the first night as it was so hot and stuffy. They did arrange for a fan to be put in our room the second night which helped at least. We were disappointed with our room - it was quite dark and pokey with very little light - natural or otherwise. The other rooms that we could see looked much nicer and brighter so a different room would have made all the difference to our stay. Also, while the use of bikes is great, one of the bikes that we were given was not road worthy - it made an extremely loud noise when it was being used. We think the front wheel needed oil or something and the chain kept coming off the bike. That bike should not be offered out to guests. It was more of a hindrance than a help.

    The breakfast, the general ambience and decor of the house and the location. The wine and nibbles in the evenings were great too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its not cheap by European standards, but a terrific, restful place that is a haven when staying in LA or Santa Monica.

    Very friendly and welcoming environment. Extra touches everywhere including homemade things for breakfast - the best granola I have ever tasted. The wine and nibbles each evening set a great tone. And all a short walk from the Pacific!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did lot like

    A warm friendly welcome to a fine inn was a good start. The room we had was spacious very well appointed and comfortable with a very pleasant balcony. The space available for guests use was huge, informal and a pleasure to sit in. The happy hour wine and snacks were much appreciated. The breakfast offered was wide ranging, featured home made items and was excellent. The staff we met were most helpful, cheerful and a pleasure to be with. Good dining was available within easy walking distance of the inn from a range of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was noisy. Very creaky. Could hear everything around me.

    Excellent service, breakfast, and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, we loved it. You feel like home, a lovely home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the open fire and spirit of the place. The welcome cookies in our room was a lovely detail. Overall, a very charming place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down, need to change out the lightbulbs, floresent lights are ugly.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little closer to main area

    Very friendly staff - little treats at tea time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We always stay here when visiting family in Santa Monica - tops in everything, from the room, to afternoon wine, to breakfast - staff is terrific!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were amazing, linens impeccable. Charming in every way!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just okay. Nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Understated luxury, made to feel very welcome, good buffet breakfast and afternoon tea,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    the friendly attitude of the staff and the old fashioned American feel to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable , very friendly , Historic property .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly welcome - not been for 3 years but welcomed back! Great location, great service, just so much better than the big hotels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, great service, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high.

    Nice homey feeling.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    If you stay here and am a light sleeper like me request a room on the top floor on the back side. The people above us were very loud all night moving around (sounds like stomping through the floor) traffic noise is also very loud and having the windows shut does nothing. Breakfast was about an hour late coming out.

    Place was very cozy overall.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived and opened two windows which didn't close easily because of broken parts but we opened two others and they worked just fine.

    We were there the last weekend in February and they gave us an upgrade to a fireplace room on the 2nd floor. Didn't use the fireplace but loved the extra long, extra special new bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negatives I would say..which are slight.. was the room we were in on the 3rd floor, though decorated beautifully w/duvet and plush pillows, the bed itself was not the most comfortable - a bit hard. Not a deal breaker for me but would be nice if they added a foam topper of some sort to make it softer. Certainly would not stop me from choosing to stay there again in the future. Maybe also change out the cushions on the outdoors chaises (kinda dingy) that are near the cute spa house...give it a pop of color to match the overall theme of the house which is lovely. Just aesthetics really.

    We loved the location because it was so close to the beach. Staff was very helpful. The included breakfast was a nice addition as well as the evening wine/appetizers. Not having to pay for parking was fantastic since we had a rental. We used Uber when we wanted to go around the Santa Monica area. The house is decorated nicely..loved the soft classical music which was always playing on the main floor and the cozy fire. It really felt like we were staying with family as opposed to a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The amazing family atmosphere, the homemade food was superb & the room were beautifully old style with no two rooms the same. Staff were fantastic

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been a little more varied

    Quality and attention to detail. WiFi extenders on every floor, use of fridge and complementary drinks. Home baking on offer at most times. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately we felt one staff member let the side down, poor customer service. A real shame as the rest of the team were great. Also need to invest in some new bikes.

    Good location. Great food. Nice room and bathroom. Lovely property.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walked back from the pier after dark, further than we thought!

    Great welcome by staff upon arrival after a long journey. Friendly and efficient. Really comfortable room. Wine and snacks served in the afternoon which was a nice touch. Complimentary use of bikes and beach towels.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful accommodation in a peaceful location. Many unexpected extras like the free bicycle loan & beach equipment chest. Very handy as you are only a stones throw from a deserted beach. Efficient & homely very handy base for the whole of LA especially the beach areas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    if being picky the wi-fi signal wasn't brilliant but that is really the only bad thing so not a serious issue.

    a fantastic boutique hotel close to the beach but off a quiet road, run like a country home with lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After warm welcome, fresh flowers on the table and delicious cookies, we enjoyed the evening on the terrace. Relaxing decor and peaceful music was exactly what we needed after a long flight from EU.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked a bigger bed, some of the windows didn't open so wasn't able to cool the room down. The staff were very welcoming and happy hour wine was great as well as a really good breakfast

    It was very close to the beach, restaurants and an added bonus it was on the bus route

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very boring and did not change at all - no fresh pastries just sliced bread for toast - they did have other items plus fresh fruit which was good. The bikes they provided were terrible - taped up handlebar grips, rusty - ok for riding on beach path but didn't seem that roadworthy

    Room had a small outside patio which was a lovely sun trap

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room 2 which was bright, large and well laid out however it is right at the top of the main staircase and over the front porch with windows on 2 sides facing towards the street which was very busy from early morn until late at night. If you are sensitive to noise this isn't the room for you. The Internet connection was spotty Which was frustrating if you need to it for work.

    Every room is different and so beautifully decorated. The atmosphere in the whole inn is relaxing and comfortable. Great breakfasts and nicely presented wine and cheese each afternoon. We loved being able to borrow bikes and ride along the beach paths!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Located on a busy road, so rooms in the back of the building would be best choice.

    Lovely place, terrific breakfast, excellent staff, very spacious guest rooms and public rooms. Can walk to beach promenade. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More hot choices at breakfast would have been good

    Beautiful room, lovely breakfasr

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The decor was lovely and the food was terrific!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks, home-like environment.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi isn't great but can deal with it

    The warm welcoming staff and the cookies are amazing

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the service is quite good,Rachel is a lovely girl and giving us a fantastic experience at their place

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi

    Lovely accommodation, big room, fab breakfast and afternoon tea and great location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything from staff to comfort of the room

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, close to the beach. It was perfect! We will come back for sure!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt homely in a historical building

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking to the beach

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming inn, delicious breakfast, helpful and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, well-managed facility. Breakfast was excellent & amenities and staff attention made us feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where to begin.... everything.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: