Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charlesmark Hotel 3 stars

655 Boylston Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116, USA

#47 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 988 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, in the heart of Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in the basement. No windows whatsoever. It was fine because we were just in transit but for a basement room I would have expected to pay less.

    Location is good, in the heart of Boston.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about it! Everyone my boyfriend and I came in contact with was so friendly and helpful. The bar and atmosphere was great! And the for that area the price was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    medium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price - it was far too expensive for the size of the room. The room and bed were both tiny. The breakfast was very poor

    Very small room very poor breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minute size rooms. Very small bed especially if of aveager height. No chair to sit on, very limited drawer space. Staff inattentive,. Restaurant bar in hotel won’t let you charge to room. Bartender and waiter are their lunch in front of us at bar while on duty, don’t recommend at $300 a night.

    Location acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in Central Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sink in the bathroom was peeling off its top layer and didn't look very nice. It needs replacing.

    Great little hotel in the center of Boston. Rooms small but fully equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Not quite up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were particularly disappointed with the so-called European breakfast.

    The location is excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Okay but not good.I would not decide for that hotel again. Better try another place next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real space to hang clothes or unpack suitcase. The thing that bothered me the most: it felt like a room without a window. It was on 2nd floor, had absolutely no daylight due to a wall approx. 1m from the window. It felt like you were sleeping in a tomb, you couldn't even see the sky or check the weather. Had to do that through a window down the hallway... Breakfast very basic and only served on plastic/ styrofoam tableware and cutlery. Not sustainable at all!!! All the left-over pastries (and there was quite a lot) were thrown away, in the same trashbin as the entire plastic etc. So no recycling done plus lots of food thrown away. I consider that a big minus!!!

    Excellent location. Bathroom was fine. Size of room small but okay. All was clean. Could leave luggage at day of departure and pick up later.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The staff were so nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so nice and accommodating. They gave me suggestions about where to go and how to get there. I would definitely book my hotel here again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote (channel and volume functions) didn't work and staff did not correct problem despite notification. Also could not control air conditioning.

    Mattress was very comfortable and we slept great. Also nice functional bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    In the heart of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows, too hard.

    Location is excellent. My room was not very big but comfortable. It was quiet despite of busy area. I did not wake up in time for breakfast so I cannot comment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    very nice all round, would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lukewarm water for making tea in the morning, the hotel dont put much emphasis on breakfast

    very nice hotel, very nice and pleasant staff, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The room came with a sound system which was nice to leave on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar could have been a bit nicer for the price. Service at the bar left something to be desired.

    The room came with a sound system which was nice to leave on while getting ready in the morning. There is also a library of movies to pick out that can be watched in your room. Very relaxing shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in was facing another wall. The price also was quite a bit especially for the size of the room, but I think it may just be the going rate of Boston, especially during the graduation weekend.

    They had the most comfortable pillows we have ever encountered in my travels. Also, the location was perfect, they are located just at the Boston Marathon Finish line, where all the restaurants with great reviews are within walking distance. It was in a very walkable location, but also, it was very close to the subway that it was easy to get around to other parts of Boston. The iron and the iron board was clean as well, and worked! It's not something we use all the time while we are travelling, but it's handy during emergency situations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar off lobby can be quite loud and crowded with people spilling into check-in desk area and elevator area. We had someone in the room above us doing some sort of exercise @ 5 am two of the three mornings. Sounded like a heard of elephants on a creaky wood floor!!! Woke us up both days... finally called to complain the second morning. Staff did take care of things right away however. Additionally, the room is very small and bed is quite hard.

    Location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    A modern place but with very tiny rooms !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small bed for two. The tiny room with no possibility to open the windows.

    A modern place but with very tiny rooms ! We got a room with a small bed, it was more a room for a single person than fir a couple. This room didn’t worth the price we paid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) No window views - just a brick wall right next to the room; 2) I believe it is great for business trip, even though there was no table; 3) Wi-Fi was very, very slow and VPN connection was blocked.

    Great location, very clean, cozy, Meets expectations, but very small (even though it is expected). Staff is great and the place is very well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, good value and style for inner city stay, exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Please make beds so the sheets come up to guests shoulders. Far too much sheet tucked in at foot. We made beds to suit us but the maid then remade them. - Breakfast adequate food-wise but I really dislike the disposable plates and cutlery. Paper plates are poor quality-wise and very bad for the planet. - Bulky audio equipment in room a waste of space. - Grubby or tired carpets in corridors.

    - Wonderful location and v.g. front staff. - Rooms small but well-designed and worked well. - Mostly quiet but minor inter-room noise. - Taking our tea/coffee out to the street front and watching the passers by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff..would definitely stay again at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small item...but only half & half cream with coffee...recommend that you also offer milk I did not like the speaker system...it was hard to hear the TV and sound seemed to be muted..maybe there was a way to disconnect from sound system???

    Location was excellent..rooms were very comfy...nice decor. Friendly staff and great service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location, disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The (standard) room was so small they put the minibar ABOVE the closet... A/C was pretty noisy in that confined space, had to use ear plugs to get some sleep.

    Great location right next to Copley Plaza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a view - we looked out and it was the back of buildings.

    Free coffee in the bar. Even tho room was small it had everything we needed. The bartender was very nice. The subway was right across the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and good for a pit stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little too bare bones for my taste, and the room, while ok for a solo traveler staying one night is much too small for more than one or to be comfortable in for more than a short night. Perhaps I did not see the sqft in the listing but I think it was only 85 sqft. There was barely more than a foot on either side of the bed and the room door pretty much hit the bed when you opened the door. It was like staying in a nicely renovated closet.

    The location is very convenient for business and tourist visitors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and although I was told the bed was a queen, I’m pretty sure it was a double.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Sound system was a nice surprise! Friendly, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Not worth its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no drapes on the windows so you’ll be waken up by the sun. The shower temperature could not be controlled, I took a cold shower and my husband took a boiling one. The value of this hotel does not reflect its cost at all.

    Location very convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Book early, book elsewhere.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, TV does not work, bathroom water turnknot got stuck, the bathroom space is small that the shower door would bump into the toilet bowl, if not careful. No coffee machine in the room.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    I like this place, with great location and warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My complaint is the noise. It's not noisy, but you could hear when your neighbor opens/closes the door. Well, the breakfast is just so-so, but it's okay. And if you want any scenery, this hotel may not satisfy you.

    I think it's beyond my expectation. Boston is an expensive place, and I thought it would be just a small place for me to stay..and it is a small place, but they made it comfortable - With music and light open when you enter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t respect my preferred requests Room had no curtains but just blinds Continental breakfast is basic

    Location was perfect Staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the accommodations as well as the view from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls aren't the thickest, so we could hear guests speaking in the adjacent rooms.

    I enjoyed the accommodations as well as the view from our room. The room has a cozy setting. The best part was the speaker in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Very fun and the staff were very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little on the small side as well as the bed and parking was a little difficult

    I liked the location of the hotel and the ease to get places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like was having a room on the first floor which was more like in the basement. Having a window that had no view was not pleasant and made the room a little less appealing than other rooms I've stayed in on upper level rooms.

    I've stayed at this hotel many times. I've always thought the rooms were very nice, quiet and the hotel is in a convenient location to local restaurants/bars that I like to frequent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    $ #1 IN THE WORLD CITY UNITED STATES EARTH
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LIFESTYLES OF THE RICH AND FAMOUS ROBIN LEACH WORLDS MOST EXPENSIVE RICHEST EVER STYLE AND BACK BAY THE MOST EXPENSIVE ZIP CODE MASS $2,500,000 MILLION MEDIAN BOSTON IM WESTON MA $ THANK YOU ALUMNI

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The entrance for the closest parking location suggested by...
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance for the closest parking location suggested by the staff is really confusing. We missed the entrance at first and had to go through a 20 min traffic!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, the hotel is clean, and room is comfortable. Pricing was good too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right off the elevator so you could hear everyone coming off of it.

    The bathroom was very nice. The shower has great water pressure and the shower head is adjustable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel staff are friendly, but the restaurant staff are NOT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff of the restaurant "Ora" below the hotel are seemingly indignant of having a hotel above them. They were rude when I was coming back to my room late at night.

    Nice almost hidden place. Great value and location at the last minute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    The bed was tiny, the walls were thin and the corridor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was tiny, the walls were thin and the corridor painting was noisy and disruptive having to walk over paint sheets and avoid touching wet walls

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Small, clean hotel. Great location. Walk to the everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was inadequate, no protein. Small bathroom. No luggage cart.

    Location and discount parking. Clean with nice staff. Near subway station and Newbury St. with lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Convienantly located with lots of places to walk to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny, but expensive. The staff was not very friendly or helpful. They seemed bored and not so welcoming to visitors. They didn’t refill the coffee thermos for breakfast and didn’t care to either. It was awkward.

    The place is clean and centrally located. I enjoyed the music playing in the room upon arrival. It’s been updated although it’s an old building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    The shower was amazing and the view was gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed was extremely small (just a twin). Also, we couldn't open the windows for fresh air! Besides that everything was great

    The shower was amazing and the view was gorgeous! The tv and dvd/vhs set up was awesome for watching movies. Nice hotel if you just want to hang out and relax

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Small, well priced, boutique hotel in a convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room that faced busy Boylston street, which seemed to be noisy all night. Maybe towards the back of the hotel this wouldn’t be an issue. The breakfast was only coffee and donuts/bagels, which was still nice.

    Super cute “boutique” style hotel. I was blocks from my convention center and still was able to walk within 20 to Boston common, and some of the historic sites. Green line subway stop was just across the street. Lots of food places (Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, more sit down places) within walking distance, as well as a Walgreens. Hotel overlooks the Boston Marathon finish line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No baby changing facilities or high chairs for children. I had a toddler with me so breakfast was a struggle. Breakfast very poor.

    Free tea and coffee all day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Was a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think there could be more options offered as breakfast (there were only bagels and donut like something, and fruits), but it was still enough. So it's not something I didn't like but something that can be improved.

    This hotel was a great one! When we entered room, there was classical music coming from the stereos, which give us a very nice feeling to start with. The bathroom, the towels, the bed, everything was clean, organized. I wish I could stick around more and enjoy the room as I stayed for 2 nights and was in the hotel to sleep only. The room was also facing the Boston public library, which was a blissful view, that makes you feel like you're in full luxury. The surrounding area was great, the parallel street (I believe it was Newburry) is full of nice clothing boutiques. It's really close to variety of food options and also right next to Copley station which makes public transportation a total ease. But I think when the weather permits, it's totally walkable to go around Freedom Trail etc. Also, I arrived very early in the morning and left in the middle of night, both felt okay to be out in the street, which is something I value the most.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok. But for the price it should offer more and provide better service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have a nicer breakfast. The employees could be more interested, friendly, and engaged in their jobs.

    The room was small but comfortable and clean. The shower was hot and nice towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Magical! I would gladly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The provided breakfast was just fruit, donuts, and coffee/tea. By the time I was up at 9am there was only enough coffee left for half a cup. They did provide travel lids for the coffee, so it was probably designed for people who wanted something to grab and go. The fruit was really good quality, but I wish there was more coffee and that there was oatmeal or something else with protein available.

    The hotel room didn't feel like a "hotel room". It had a great view of the area and felt like I was staying in a fancy relative's guest bedroom. There was even a couch in the room and a floor-to-ceiling mirror! The lighting was excellent: a nightstand light on each side of the bed, shelf lighting, and the main lights were on a dimmer switch. The bathroom was gorgeous, and the toiletries provided felt fancy and not like generic hotel toiletries. I always check for bed bugs first thing and found that the mattress was in a sealed cover - I've never seen that before and between that and having no reports on the bed bug registry, I felt completely at ease!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    very pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was a bit too noisy but at the same time the "white noise" blocked other sounds. The door locks didn't work properly (traditional keys).

    Excellent location and super helpful staff. It was a very pleasant surprise for a one night stay. The complimentary light breakfast was a nice touch, specially with arctic temperatures outside. Close to transport, close to everything! Right in the middle of Boston's finest area and a convenient spot for a night cap. It was great to have a room with a street view, thank you so much!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall, great for the value and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small. Bed okay, not real soft. No coffee maker in room.

    Location great. There for NYE Copley Square celebration. Great ice sculptures. Everything within walking distance including Newbury Street shops. Parked at Copley Place $40/day and walked the sky bridge and exited at Boylston Street. Glad we did since it was record low temps when we visited. Enjoyed Finagle a Bagel, McGreevy’s Sports bar where we watched the Pats game and Whiskey’s for dinner. All on Boylston Street within walking distance. McGreevy’s was the furthest from hotel. Check in receptionist was very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great! We plan to come back in February.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was on in the lounge during breakfast, tuned to GMA and Kelly Ripa-terrible shows, too loud, couldn't find a remote. It would be better on close caption with no sound or another channel, or have the remote so that breakfasters can change it. Thanks!

    Atmosphere. Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay in Boston
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit slow. Breakfast was good but there was not a big choice. The fridge and air conditioning in the room was noisy.

    The place is very central in Boston. The place is clean and cozy. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Public transports are available at just 2 mins walk. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in the heart of Boston's Back Bay. Convenient and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs black-out shades. The venetian blinds let in too much light in the morning.

    Clean & comfortable room, friendly & helpful staff, fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    excellent value; exceeded expectations; outdoor seating area inviting;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although my companion disagrees, I would have liked brighter lighting in the bathroom and, indeed, in the room; i.e. the bedside lighting was barely sufficient for reading

    Location; extremely friendly and helpful staff; facilities; shower excellent with ample hot water and strong spray

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    wonderful stay, small but the perfect size and everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    literally nothing was bad, we had a great experience staying there. perfect size for me and my boyfriend for the night.

    Perfect place to stay one night while spending time in Boston.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, but no protein avalable for a big day of sightseeing

    The room was an ample size and had a twin couch. Location was excellent with the subway very close

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very small and had no coffee maker. There was free coffee and tea 24 hrs downstairs but it would have been more convenient to have a coffee maker in the room. The sink was cracked and badly repaired.

    Great location. Room on fifth floor was quiet. Shower was very good. I liked the classical music channel and the lighting in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Staff was very nice and quick to respond.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They skimp on the amenities, no coffee maker in the room, cheap rough toilet paper (really hadn't seen that bad a quality since East Berlin), and odd cable set up so tv easily goes out of sync with cable box.

    Staff was very nice and quick to respond.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location, worth the money, but not much more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was basic, as advertised, but even some fresh vegetables would have been nice. In the room, there was no desk or coffee machine.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but small. There is 24-hour hot water and free coffee in the lounge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, Convenient & Clean in Back Bay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small, but still plenty of room to get about comfortably (and larger than a European room) and like the music system (and fridge)

    Very convenient and comfortable Back Bay location. Colpley T just across street, and just a couple blocks to Convention Center and Back Bay-Airport shuttle, as well as restaurants and shopping. Enjoyed breakfast donuts and bagels. Very clean with updated rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Location - it was close to a lot of good sights, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was only a full size, not queen. Walls were super thin - could hear my neighbors being intimate at 2am.

    Location - it was close to a lot of good sights, restaurants and the T

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location but quite loud with the ability to hear people in all the surrounding rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room cool/heater rattled when the fan was on. I asked them to look into it and to "fix" the problem they just unhooked the fan, so no cooling or heating in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    I made the best of the stay, but would not go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a joke, it is not even close to any form of continental breakfast, have this in mind when comparing room rates. The view at best is facing the big air conditioning fans, if you like to have a quiet room. The windows looked like they have not been cleaned for year, dust inside the room as well.

    The room i had was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.0
    Rude staff, increadably tiny rooms, shameful breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The staff are untrained , clueless and rude with everyone , even themselves , it’s crystal clear that non of them has a background in the hospitality industry . -The breakfast is a shame , it’s more like feeding homeless people. They refuse to mak espresso and the available coffee is badikly water. -I payed around $350/ night for the smallest room that I have seen in my entire life and felt like a a fish in a sardine box , I would not stay in it even if it was $100/night and that what it actually deserves.

    Only the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was underwhelming

    Loved the personal stereo system in room & classical music playing when first entered the room. Very comfortable bed. Helpful staff. Jefferson in the cocktail lounge was very personable, informative, & made a great cocktail! Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    Won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pictures show it has an outdoor patio. False. The outdoor patio is completely independent. The only food they served was flatbread. Free breakfast consisted of bagels, small amount of fruit and oatmeal. Our room smelled bad. To top it all off, we were charged more than we were quoted.

    I chose the hotel because of its location and wasn't disappointed there but the hotel left much to be desired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel with great location lovely staff. If someone invested some/any money into refurbishment, this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, lobby is awful, hotel is dark, room dingy, rooms are very noisy. You can hear your neighbors quiet conversations through the walls.. and street noise. No place to pull up to hotel and load or unload luggage. No staff at door to assist.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bed were tiny - not even a queen bed. Bed took up most of the room. Breakfast was coffee and a bunch of cold bagels. Bathroom was also tiny. Not worth the exhorbitant price at all.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    On the whole very convenient, if you get past the little boo-boos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    May be considered a "standard room", if so, should come with a shoe horn. Had to walk sideways to get to my side of the bed. Light breakfast included, no kidding. If it was any lighter it would disappear.

    The location is great. Across the street from the library and the Hancock Building, surrounded by beautiful churches, and very close to a subway station, and an Irish pub, plus other more healthful and affordable restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.5
    Price was great; location perfect. Definitely would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room faced Boylston (most don't). It was a little noisy, but it turned out of my two (very large) windows was cracked open about ½ inch. Quieter when I shut it fully. It's thus unclear if the noise would have been fine if I had noticed this earlier. All that said, I slept very well. WiFi is very slow. Not useless, but close to it. Needs a fix, or serious upgrade. Breakfast was good, but pretty minimal—some donuts, bagels, creme cheese (spread, not the real thing, which would be better). Higher quality in these, and espresso, would be a nice addition.

    Location is superb. Three blocks from the Back Bay Amtrak station. Right on Boylston St, in the middle of Back Bay. Rooms are small, but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a desk or a table in the room

    Excellent location, good WiFi connection, clean, breakfast was OK . My room was rather small and therefore didn't have a desk (or a table), which - being on a business trip - was quite a shortcoming. Other than that - this is a very nice hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Adequate for one night stay in heart of Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is on the small side. I was on one of the back rooms. There are no views and other buildings can see inside your room since windows are high. Breakfast is not attended and no hot option. Very narrow corridors.

    The decor of the room is very modern and pleasing with sound equipment for those that want to listen to music with speakers on the wall. Floor of shower is non-slippery. Decor of the bathroom is also very nice. Location is outstanding with Copley subway station accross the street as well as bus stop. Restuarants and shops in Newbury Street one block away. Bagels and donuts in breakfast were fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great experience, nice staff, would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty noisy from my room, which overlooked Boylston, but I had asked for a view. Plus it was Saturday night. Also blackout curtains would be nice for those rooms, because the blinds didn't block the very bright early morning sun, so I couldn't sleep in.

    Location, room was nice, bar was cool. Great matinis and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Small hotel but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was very small but OK for 2 nights. Breakfast was disappointing - only oatmeal and bagels. Would have preferred cereals. Expensive for what you get even by Boston standards.

    The hotel is in a good location for most major attractions, 10 mins to Boston Common and about 30 mins to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall. It is very clean and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Would certainly stay again at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One drawback was a couple of wall pegs instead of a clothing closet with clothes hangars. I asked for the hangars, and got them from a very nice staffer. Breakfast is spartan, but appreciated.

    Superb location next to the Copley T stop and across from the Boston Public Library, Marathon finish and all the shopping/restaurants in the heart of the city. While the room was on the small side, it was thoughtfully designed. Good staff. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    The location is central to a range of must-see sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive hotel relative to services eg Breakfast is repetitive and very weighted to carbohydrates. No skimmed milk, only half and half. Lounge area a little jaded, perhaps Remember to add in the tax etc as this significantly adds to the cost of the hotel.

    The location is central to a range of must-see sights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Despite the smallness of the room and bed the stay in Boston was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms and small bed not particularly comfortable for 2 people. Insufficient space to store clothes, had to actually live out of a suitcase. Ideal for a 1 night stay but could be stressful for longer stays.

    Positives were the room was very clean, good aircon, room serviced every day and the position excellent with quick access to T line into downtown Boston, only 10-15 mins away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value for an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of the hotel, but the street in front was being dug up snd it was very noisy.

    Small boutique hotel. Nicely appointed. Sophisticated. Excellent customer service. Perfect location in my favorite area of Boston-Copley Square. You can park your car in a nearby garage and forget about it. You can walk almost everywhere or take convenient public transportation. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location and nice accomodations, but not over the top.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My biggest gripe was that the room was weird... a whole wall of shelves?! The bed was positioned on the wrong wall - it was like the room was designed to be laid out differently, but then the management wanted to throw a couch in and the only way it worked was to reverse the room layout... which meant the AC blew on my head all night, and made me ill.

    Great location. Nice to have a bar. Weird to have a whole sidewalk cafe but no food... having so many empty tables actually makes it look like "not a good place"... As a hotel, it was so-so. clean enough, but dated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    great value, great location, very nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room, but very nice and clean

    The place and value were great considering the location and the rates of surrounding hotels. Overall the place was great; an excellent value and great location. We would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and a nice play to stay in Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be better. Its very simple, I had to go out and seek for a real breakfast because the hotel option was not attractive at all.

    Very good location. Our room was good, you get what you pay, anything more.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: