Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harborside at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina 4 stars

20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, Charleston, SC 29464, USA

#49 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Relax and have a stress-free stay-cation!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose this place for a stay-cation and it was perfect! I was able to relax. The bed was so comfortable and I slept well every night. I enjoyed the pool and pool side services. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money, hotel charged us more than Bookings quote. Bed Bugs, Roach horrible exp!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Huge Roach in the room, whole family has bed bug bites confirmed by a doctor. Mgr said it had to be sand fleas! We did not go to the beach!! Bathroom old and in need of updates, vent not operable! Horrible experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, Beautiful Resort! We'll be back again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't have much of a negative review other than It's a drive or water taxi to get to restaurants, entertainment or anything else.

    This is a quiet resort, you're right by the bay and very close to USS Yorktown, you can walk down their pier to reach it. The rooms are decorated to have more of a home feel and less like a hotel. The rooms even have a ceiling fan in them which is usually a hard find for hotels. The staff are great and the check in process was super easy. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Charleston Resort Nearly Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe in our room didn't work even though staff attempted to fix it. The sliding bathroom door wouldn't latch. The television in our room had no volume on the local Fox channel where the World Cup soccer matches were shown.

    Staff was very responsive to any of our requests. Housekeeping staff did a fantastic job on our room every day we were there. Sunsets over the harbor were spectacular. All of the best of Charleston was within an easy 20 minute drive so the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC wasn't working up to par while we were there. Pillows could be better.

    The location was perfect. Staff very helpful - loved the property. Pools and restaurant were great. Took nice morning walks out on the piers. Would love to go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Service was just ok but incredible view of Charleston from across the harbor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information on the resort in the room, no restaurant or room service, no microwave and the Direct TV service only worked about 40 percent of the time. The couch also had 2 tears in the cushions which I brought to the clerk’s attention so we were not charged.

    The only restaurant in the hotel was at the “Reel Bar” and I did not order food because a customer approached the server while I was looking at the menu asking how much longer for their sandwiches and I felt he was rude to her so I left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely view of the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be nice if they offered a continental breakfast with the room.

    Lovely view of the harbor. Shuttle to downtown historic Charleston is very handy. Staff is very pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were great - Tiki bar - Joshua, Ericka, Micheal Tony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were great - Tiki bar - Joshua, Ericka, Micheal Tony, all really fun, Reel Bar - Katie, Michael, great! Pool, girls were very friendly, helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    It was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn’t like as a problem with the bathroom door, took maintenance a couple times to get it fixed.

    The location and the facilities were very good. The staff at the harbourside was responsive to all are questions and needs. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful view of the harbor, but prefer a clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and needed upgrade to the decor. The sheer curtain on the sliding door was dirty and the hem was ripped out. The bedding was dingy and the pillows need to be replaced. The upholstered couch was old and smelly. The bathroom was big, but moldy. The entire suite didn’t smell fresh- kind of an old musty smell. View of the side of the building outside our window was very unappealing- filled with old junk. It seems that this building has seen better days. I expected better for $300 a night. The photos that are posted aren’t current. They must have been taken years ago when everything was new. We had to pay $36 in parking fees. I complained and we were reimbursed $24.

    Roomy suite, beautiful view from the balcony- didn’t expect a suite so that was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Best View in Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible staff with such Beautiful room and breathtaking view! Truly amazing time in our stay here!.. Well recommended for anyone seeking a romantic getaway or good place to stay in Charleston!.. Couldn't have been any better experience for me and my fiance for the weekend! Thank you so much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Would recommend to all. So close to the city with a resort feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on site every day of our visit. Thursday-Sunday

    Rooms were super clean and staff so friendly. Both pools were amazing and the bar at the beach had great drinks...frose!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, pillows and sheets were not good. It took 3 requests over a 24 hour period to get replacement for down pillows which my wife has allergies to. Bed was to soft and we both woke up with a backache. Sheets were rough and uncomfortable. Comfort Inn has much better beading at a much lower cost. Room was attractive but very small for a upgraded king room.

    Nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let me start off by saying that I’m sad I even have to leave one star in order to leave a review. I booked with this hotel on booking.com and the only fee that was mentioned was a resort fee, we weren’t aware of a parking fee. Well, for starters, if you knew anything about customer service, you wouldn’t be charging your guests who are already paying upwards of $200 to stay in a suite a parking fee. So we spent the day in Charleston and arrived around 8 pm to check in, when we walk in the gentleman tells us that we are staying in the beach club next door, not the harbor-side even though that’s what our receipt from the website says so we walk next door. We get there and the gentleman there sends us back over because we are in fact staying at the harbor-side. For the inconvenience and the fact that I wasn’t able to use my military discount through the third party we booked with, they waived both the resort fee and parking fee which was awesome. We get upstairs and we loved our room. It was beautiful, spacious, comfy bed, etc. We enjoy our stay from that point forward. Fast forward to morning when it’s time to check out, we check out, no problems. Get to the car and checked our bank account to make sure the fees were waived... well they were the first charge but they charged us a whole second time with fees included so our $179 room turned into a $360 room. So I had to go back in the hotel, of course they can refund it but they can’t guarantee the funds immediately so I had to come back to the car and call my bank, they want to speak with the guest services so I go back in and after some back and forth they are able to make it right. Anyways from the time of check in to the time of check out, we had problems when all we wanted to do was spend our time here since we drove all the way from NNY to enjoy some warm weather and beach vibes. We shouldn’t have to take out of savings to enjoy our trip because of a mistake your staff made, thankfully our bank was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    A tale of 2 hotels (1 for guests & one for owners) the guest side lacks staff, service & cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are showing lots of wear and tear. Could be much cleaner. There were crumbs and debris on the wood floors -under beds & in corners, next to and behind bed side tables hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned in months. Baseboards are dusty & dirty w about 6 months worth of debris sitting on them. They seriously need to up the level of cleaning. I think it’s all just a skim job when they clean. When checking in we were never told anything about the property & amenities just left to figure it out on our own. Didn’t realize until we started finding out about things. We had to keep asking for things that should have been taken care of such as pool towels. They were never supplied in the morning (11:00)at the pool unless they were prompted to restock (definitely not used to that at a hotel they normally have them ready to supply to guests in the morning) not at this place. we had to hunt someone down to go get the pool towels that should have been there automatically (they hadn’t run out they just forgot or don’t have a person paying attention to these things). However, we noticed that there is an”owner” side to the property & if you go to the pool over there they will give you a towel & offer water around those pools but on the hotel rental side there are no attendants & guests are left to flounder. Why on earth wouldn’t they try to draw you into ownership there by treating you just as well & providing clean good amenities at the rental side? Crazy! No breakfast on the property except a $22 buffet. We thought we could stop in & order al a carte or something light but that was not an option. And you have no other options (except $4 pop tarts or a granola bar from the front desk area) because the location is far from any other breakfast places. So much potential it’s a shame there is no one paying attention to the management side of this hotel. This place has potential to be fantastic

    Nice pool area with water views. They have a water taxi that runs on the hour & takes you across the harbor to downtown Charleston. The pool bar/tiki bar had delicious food & yummy drinks & very good service. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff very accommodating but did not feel room was very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linen was dirty the towels and sheets! The worst of all was the air conditioner! It sounded like a lawn mower all night! We stopped using it so we could sleep! Room was not cleaned our baskets were left full till the second day we had to empty ourselves!! No decafe coffee in the hotel plus no microwave anywhere! Decaf coffee in room was terrible!!

    We loved the grounds the pools the bar and the restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Perfect! We enjoyed the amenities, especially the pool and bicycles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked if there was breakfast options in the hotel. We were referred to the Fish House, which was amazing, however it would be nice to have a smaller breakfast option available at the actual hotel.

    The view from our room was breathtaking. Every staff member we came into contact was super helpful, friendly, and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely seaside retreat at Patriot's Point
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were three weddings at the facility. Restaurant reservations were complicated and they seemed overwhelmed at times. But again, staff was awesome given situation. Spa appointments seemed focused on marathon runners which was also going on that weekend. I could not get an appointment for the service I wanted.

    Staff was very nice. Room was decent size and had a large bathroom with a tub.Restaurant food was very good although I expected a wider selection in the menu for seasonal fish. You can walk to the USS Yorktown which is amazing. Hourly ferry to downtown Historic Charleston (for a reasonable fee). It was too cold to use the pool but facilities looked nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    because I was there on business I didn't have time to really enjoy the scenery and everything else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mattress didn't agree with my back. I would wake up in the morning aching. Slept on the other side of the bed the next night and woke up fine.

    the decor of the rooms is beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved the ambiance, property and feel of resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom could have been slightly cleaner (a few stains on the wall) and the towels left a lot of fuzz on wet body- but literally that is just being nit picky, everything was great!

    Super comfy bed, hotel ambiance was just what we were looking for, upgraded to a harbour view room and ended up getting a full balcony when we were only expecting a Juliet one (room 234)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    The little things matter and they can turn a great location into a non-memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable and the room cleaning was a little lacking - more like an extended-stay rather than a prime service hotel. I'm used to the bed being made each day, and ours was not.

    The location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, nice amenities, not sure it was worth the money though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two Queen Bed Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk was understaffed. The evening front desk woman was boarderline rude. Our room over looked the dumpsters and it smelled awful.

    Location, amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    The location saved this trip as it was over-priced otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink and desk light were broken on check-in. The room did not keep out noise at all, take ear plugs. The pool was not available 2 out of 3 days. Daily parking for $12 but problematic going out and returning. Room key should access gate as often as client chooses to use it. Room not cleaned even in late afternoon (230p) when we wanted to nap, had to forgo service. There were 2 bars on site, but the one with the great view never opened in 3 days. The Fish House is expensive and the breakfast buffet dismal, but we felt stuck because the resort does not offer breakfast and the parking makes you feel trapped. I would look at the Beach Club next door before I would return here. The location saves this resort and is the best thing I can say about it. The staff were friendly enough.

    The location is excellent. The tropical feel and closeness to the water is top notch. The location at Patriot's Point gave easy access to the USS Yorktown, the water taxi, the harbor and dinner cruise ships. The resorts shuttle service gave an additional option to access the downtown area. It was so nice to come back to the leisurely setting after a day in hectic downtown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never made up our room and we asked for towels several times never got them. It smelled like mildew. They were definitely not prepared for Easter weekend. There was never towels at the pool , we asked for the fire pits to be lite and it took an hour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do give you a coffee maker in the room with Starbucks coffee but powdered milk and one packet of sugar made it not worth the effort to make.

    The resort is on an emaculatly groomed property. It's waterfront location is beautiful. The water taxi leaves right from the hotel so you dont have to fight the traffic in downtown Charleston. The fish house restaurant is pricey but the food is excellent. The bed is cloud soft comfy They do have free bikes and lots of places to ride. I know we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed it and will return, probably trying the beachside hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedding was inadequate. Asked and received additional bedding but it too was inadequate. Invest in heavier comforters.

    Pool, closeness of golf course, balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean, and accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was awesome and so comfortable, room was so clean and new, the tv was very big, the staff were just straight up awesome and accommodating to a fault. We got comped an upgrade due to our anniversary!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Not a 4 start hotel service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You would expect more for the money you pay for. The staff wasnt really welcoming. And the bar at the hotel was not at the level of a so said 4 star hotel. The water of the shower had to run for 15 min before getting warm.

    Bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff great location but too many little negatives-no excuses just fix it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water 1st night/hidden fees/parking not free as described/difficulty getting out of security gate & charging each time/air conditioning did not work but cool outside so open balcony door & ceiling fan

    Location free shuttle to Charleston & staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Colleen deserves a gold star for her willingness and speedy ability in making our stay wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room only a few days before our arrival. My daughter (college age) and I were in town for my nieces bridal shower. We pulled in at dark and went to the property on the left. We checked in and went to our room on the 3rd floor. When we entered I was shocked. The reservation we had was for a 4 star hotel. This was clearly not a four star hotel. The lampshade was damaged, there were rings where a glass had been on the bedside table. The sheets and bedding were well worn. I called downstairs and spoke with Colleen. She was fantastic! She immediately had us moved to the other property. We entered our new room and were very pleased. My complaint is this, why would she have not seen that we were supposed to be in the other property? How many people book and think the older property is the 4 star? It was basically a run down dress up of an old Holiday Inn. I think this needs to be addressed. We would love to come back and have already mentioned to many that attended the shower how amazing the “new” property is. There were 4 engaged girls there planning weddings in the Charleston area. Big blocks of rooms make money for your property. Seems you want people happy so a clarification should be in order.

    Once we were moved to the room we booked in the new building we were very pleased. Beautiful room with wonderful amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Expected more for the "price."
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few fees that weren't fully disclosed. Destination fee? Accommodation fee? Parking fee? Resort fee? When I booked the price was $156.00, by the time I checked out, it was over $200. Why not just say so in the listing instead of adding it on later.

    The curtain rod cover was propped up in the corner. No big deal that it wasn't on the curtain, but hide it somewhere else. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest, still had hair in tje sink.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Jackpot.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cookie or energy bar at the lobby coffee pot would have been nice.

    The harbor view was fabulous. We woke up to see the cruise ship my sister was on .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful place. We appreciate the upgrade.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Petty, but no turndown service the second night We were on first level; the sliding door to our patio didn’t lock

    On the marina, on the harbor, in sight of battleship. We were upgraded to the resort next door ... VERY nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice getaway from a busy life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Lobby was cold and not inviting. They could have used some soft music and better lighting. The Front desk did not explain anything to us she just gave us our key. I had to ask where the gym was, if we could use the pools etc. Room- Loved the décor and our view. However, room could have been much cleaner especially the bathroom. Also, room service never showed up on the weekend. Pool Bar- The bartender was unhappy and complained about being at the outdoor bar to us. So unfortunate as the pool and bar we so beautiful and nice to be at.

    The Location and views were beautiful. Our room was in the back on the top floor so we were able to see the water. The decor was wonderful and coastal looking and loved the space heater fireplace. The heated Pool and Hot tub were wonderful to enjoy. The resort next store was stunning! Next time I will stay there even though the prices are higher.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful location, VERY poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons - VERY POOR house keeping staff. Our room was cleaned the first day, only 1/2 way cleaned the second day (no clean towels and no new shampoo/conditioner), and NOT AT ALL on the 3rd day! They didn't even come to the room. We reported it to the front desk and they did NOTHING about it. Our air conditioner also broke on the third night there...we reported it in the morning and when we returned at 7 pm, all of our clothes had been taken out of the closet, the ceiling was removed from the closet, and there were several vents laying around on the floor of the room...and the AC was still broken! No one at this hotel will take any responsibility or take ownership over getting things fixed for guests. If something goes wrong, you are just screwed. For $269 per night, I expect MUCH better service!

    Pros - Excellent location. Just across the bridge from the historic area of Charleston. About a 10 minute drive or $10-$15 Uber ride depending on the time. Beautiful grounds. Right on the water / harbor. Beautiful pools (although we didn't swim). Also has a bar and a restaurant on site. Comfortable bed. Nice sunrise. Cute decorations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and lovely decor, but a lot of things broken in the room & bed was very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pocket door to bathroom was broken and kept getting stuck, closet doors were broken, light in shower above tub did not work, jets in tub did not work, had to ask twice for pack-n-play that was reserved when room reservation was made, bed was very uncomfortable.

    Location, decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    I am disappointed to say we will not return to Harborside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in our room were the worst I’ve ever slept on. The housekeeper told us the pillows were old and need to be replaced. Our room wasn’t clean we checked in. The house keeper left pizza crust on the floor and leftover food in the fridge. We were moved to another room. The 2nd room air-conditioned was not working properly and the resort was out of hot water on our 2nd day. My family of four were trying to shower before our day of excursions. The shuttle would pick up people from the Beach resort before coming to Harborside and was always full. We had to wait an extra 30-45 minutes before the shuttle would return. This happened every day. Each hotel needs their own shuttle. We were so excited for our stay at Harborside because last year we had a great experience. We were so upset with our accommodations and shuttle experience. We will NEVER frequent Harborside again!!!

    I like the view of the marina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice area with lovely grounds, room itself a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the rate was not really a bargain, for one night charging an extra resort fee seemed unnecessary. The bathroom was definitely not clean with hair in the sink and counters and mysterious brown smudges on the door. The rest of the room looked barely wiped down. We had a late flight and when we asked if we could have a late checkout -- until 11:30 vs. 11:00, we were simply told "no."

    The grounds and pool area were lovely. The free coffee in the morning was quite good and the beds were decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Just plain awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom door wouldn't stay shut. Good thing my girlfriend and I are close haha.

    The facilities were clean and well kept. Awesome staff and beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.3
    Not relaxing. Disappointing. Aside from the hotel, Charleston and surrounding areas were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is far from a resort. Old and dated and not clean upon our arrival. Had to switch rooms which was also just a little above par because of the view. After a 10 hour drive, it definitely did not fulfill what was advertised. A huge disappointment.

    Colleen, the manager on duty, was the only positive helpful part of our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.0
    We had stayed here 5 times previously, but this stay was our last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to try 3 rooms before we got one with a working air conditioner. They had instituted a new parking fee that we weren't told about ahead of time. Gate at entrance did not work properly most of the time.

    Having access to a beach was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.0
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had very little hot water, beds were uncomfortable, no clean sheets, sink clogged. After a couple of days of this they did move us to a better room.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Heated pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking policy for whole facility even balconies. I understand the room. But to have to walk all the way out the front, because there are no available smoking rooms, and none allowed on patio.. is rediculous to me. But that's the only complaint.

    Heated pool. Alot of accommodations. Free shuttles. Close to the dock and water taxi. Within miles of everything to see in Charleston.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They where under construction

    It was right beside the uss Yorktown ships. The restaurant was amazing and the staff was very accommodating! Good view of the harbor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    New Years Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee in the room was bad! Need to up date! Lighting at the makeup table was bad! Bedding not good! No fitted sheet! Just flat sheet that keep pulling off!

    Great view, Beds, bath room was nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Sorry but i cannot recommend to any family or friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wait for my unit, it was not clean, the view outside my window was disgusting, the fact that the refrigerator was not plugged in - i lost all my food, i have special diet. The poor attention that was giving when i brought it to the staff attention.

    The collection of decorations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    I would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast avail in hotel unless u walk over to the rest three doors down.

    We have been going to Mt pleasant area for 20 yrs and the beach. We just discovered this place last yr and the area is so nice. The harbor beach hotel next door is it’s affiliate and is lil more upscale but not a lot for its price. I appreciate the rate we got for the nice area. Resturaunt on site and pools are great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Christmas get away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were not clean, bulb burned out, refrigerator unplugged, water damage on roof.

    Beautiful location. Convenient shuttle to historic district.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful property, great facilities, fabulous location and really, really lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was one of those slider doors that doesnt seat in the jamb, so its not very private .

    Property was quiet so we were given a double upgrade with a magnificent view, free parking and a late checkout. Plus we were told we could continue to use the facilities and amenities even after checkout!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we went to smell like someone had smoked in it. We were then were given another room, the sheets didn't fit the bed, the bed had blood on it and it was dirty. We paid for an upgrade that was double what they quoted us earlier in the day. Manager didn't seem to care that we were unhappy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    It was a nice place, good view, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good bit more expensive than your advertised price due to resort fees and extra taxes you didn't list.

    It was a nice place, good view, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent vacation spot. Just needs a little more care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our bathroom needed a major overhaul. Floor tile pitted bad. No vent system. Cleaning supplies left in room by maid. After several days we dumped the ice bucket. No iron. Refrigerator smelled really bad. Door stop just laying on the floor. Broken out of the wall. Makes you wonder if the floors were cleaned.

    The view from our room. The friendliness of the people. The privacy. We came late the first night from the airport really tired and the restaurant found us some food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Harborside was an excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We couldn't find a thing we didn't like!

    We were so happy with our accommodations and the staff at Harborside Resort. Having a room with a water view and balcony was absolutlely wonderful! We decided that this would be our first choice for future trips to Charleston.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Some bumps..but well worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Issues with AC

    The property was excellent and we loved the staff! The views from the balcony were absolutely beautiful. We had some issues with the AC at the unit. We phoned down to the front desk and they had someone up immediately to address the issue. They relocated us to the Beach Club next door and the upgrade was ABSOLUTELY gorgeous! Very nice people and service! Would definitely recommend! P.S. Take your other half (partner)...very romantic area :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay. Beautiful place.’ Convenient to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough storage space in our room. Had to put suitcase and small bags on chair and desk. Shower temperature could not be adjusted. Way too hot. Wife had to wash hair in the lavatory. The good outweighed the bad by a mile.

    Location, view, convenience, price,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    The view was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our friends stayed in a room on the second floor in our building and the refrigerator was very unstable. Their bed broke down on one end. The room needed updating. One side of the closet door came off the hinges the first day and it wasn't fixed the 3 nights we were there. The hair conditioner container was missing and we did not have hair conditioner available

    The view was wonderful. Enjoyed having a heated pool, hot tub and fire pit for use in the evening. The Fish house décor and staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    It was convenient and felt like a vacation...very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had conflicting information on of they were pretty friendly for our next stay. Also, our wake up call never happened on our day of departure.

    It was a beautiful room, well appointed. Incredible views of the harbor and located centrally for all of our activities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Not the best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 3 hours for towels at the pool and the room wasn't really clean and the shuttle to the city was not available, water dripping from aircon on my bed

    The heated pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Convent to attractions and restaurants the Yorktown is next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convent to attractions and restaurants the Yorktown is next door. We ate breakfast at the fish house on the same property the food and service was very good. And we had a beautiful view of the water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Awesome view, beautiful pools, delicious food at the tiki bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two Queen Bed Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was in bad shape... no stopper for the tub, shower door was the wrong size & barely closed. Ice machine was out of order the entire time... had to go to a different floor for ice.

    Awesome view, beautiful pools, delicious food at the tiki bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Had fun overall will return
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 30 minutes to even get to the check in counter, beds weren’t the most comfortable

    View was incomparable and the place was beautiful staff was friendky

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The best location for a Charleston stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older bathrooms were odd, but functional. Mine had a tallish tub edge for the jets (jetted tub). That combined with the swinging glass curtain made entry and exit tricky due to a bad knee. There were no real handles, so I had to lean against the wall. Definitely not a real problem for most, but an advisory. It did not affect my stay at all.

    I stayed in the older facility. It is perfectly placed. Beautiful harbour views from the room. Walking access to all of Patriots point. A good boat tour of Sumter leaves from the USS Yorktown port less than a mile away. Sunrise over Fort Sumter and sunsets over the heart of Charleston were just amazing. Shuttle service on weekend to downtown every hour. They just made this a great and easy Charleston experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.2
    The new pool area was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a concert at the park close by and it was very loud we could not sit out side that night and talk even in the room with the door shut we could here the music really put a bad ending to our trip

    The new pool area was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Loved our stay at the Harbourside. Convenient to downtown and had the feel of a resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pool area very nice! Liked being able to pick up water taxi right behind property to head to downtown charleston. Shuttle that ran all day to take you downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Stressful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at the resort at 1245pm. Was told they would let housekeeping know to get our room ready. They never called me as they said. At regular check in time of 400pm room still not ready. Got into room at 530pm. Found several used tissues under bed and ladies underwear on patio. No hot water for 2 days due to transformer exploding but not up-front with that information. Heard several disgruntled guests at desk.

    The view was extraordinary. The Fish House restaurant was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall very nice place . I think if we went went back we would stay at the beach club side
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I definitely wish that our hotel offered room service . We arrived at about 9:30 pm our first night after driving 15 hours in the car with our 1 year old and the last thing we wanted to do is go down to the bar to wait 45 min for food that was just ok ...later we found out that they offered room service at the sister hotel Only . Also the room wasn't as clean as I would have liked in particular the bathroom and our towels were not that great of quality and some had stains on them . The room was super cute but the bed had a few pillows that had pillow cases that were dry clean only and you could see that they were in need of cleaning . Kinda gross . And also there was a tapestry that drapped across the bottom of the bed this looked like it needed to be cleaned as well . Bed was comfortable . The food at the "Reel Bar" was just not good especially for the $! We tried cheese sticks ,buffalo wings, burger, chicken Caesar salad :(. We also had a problem with front desk overcharging our card several times . Also we were expecting there to be a beach at the sister hotel next to us but there was just a tiny man made beach no ocean swimming.

    Our room was super cute with picturesque views of the property and the harbor from our windows. We went to the pool at the beach club side and it was awesome . The food by the pool was amazing ! I had seared tuna tacos and my husband enjoyed a chicken sandwich topped with avacodo :). The hotel was pretty close to just about everything. We walked the boardwalk by the marina and it was just breathtaking. We even got to see some dolphins !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.5
    Overall great stay! Will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was great at the Reel Bar at the resort however it took 40 mins for a hamburger, chicken salad sandwich and nachos when we were 1 of 3 other people in there at the time and had to ask for refills.

    Staff was excellent in any request made of them. Very friendly and professional especially when explaining fees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.5
    Very nice. Pretty decor.
    • Family with young children
    • Secret Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loose panel on outside of tub, not pet friendly, NO ROOM SERVICE or menus in rooms to restaurants/snack bars on resort. Not too crazy about the paintings on the headboards, but overall color scheme is lovely.

    Great bed, nice view & balcony, great pools especially at night, great shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Decor of rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two Queen Room Balcony with Partial View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not that good for dinner, not many choices and mostly fried food and breakfast was so overpriced, bowl of oatmeal $12. They didn't clean our room. It seems they were short staffed. We were traveling with another couple and they had to leave one day early because of son sickness, so we had to check out by 11;00 am. Carolyn, the manager said we had to pay for that night anyway, which we didn't think was fair. She said, that when we checked in on arrival we signed something that says, you have to pay if you do cancel. Of course, we never were shown that piece of paper that says that and I don't believe it says it on their website either. Booking.com was very helpful and they tried to explain to her, isn't there something we can do to fix it but she wouldn't have it. She was trying to say that golfers come there to play golf and if it rains, they check out early and it's their policy. Whatever, she finally said she would take the charge off of one of the couples but one would have to pay for one night, all that for $149!

    Decor of rooms were nice. Loved having a balcony. Liked the pools and the pier, great views from our room. The front desk was very accommodating and answered our concerns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    It was great for swimming and lounging in the sun, but not convenient for exploring Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door didn't close properly. The restaurant was expensive and not convenient. It was a goodly distance from any restaurants or nightlife.

    The property is waterfront with a manmade beach. The room was large enough. The bar on property had good drinks for a reasonable price. The view across the water to Charleston was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    We had a fun stay at the Harborside with our family. The location is central to the beach and downto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My biggest disappointment was that their was no complementary breakfast of any kind within the Harborside building. You had to walk down to the fish house for breakfast. this was not the easiest thing to do when traveling with small children. The heavy drapery and decor could use an update.

    The hotel location to downtown Charleston was perfect. The view of Charleston Harbor from our balcony was enjoyable watching the boats coming and going. The beds were vey comfortable and the room was clean. We loved having access to the Ocean club pool as well as to the Harborside pool. Our grandchildren enjoyed playing in the sand as well as the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did NOT have a microwave. A poster stated there would be activities at night time and we went at 2 times at the time on the poster and nothing was going on. Little disappointing.

    The view was great. Location for the water taxi was great. Everyone was super nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Rooms too small for the money .bathroom great for one guest , not 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size for family of .4 was too small , bathroom very small , cleaning people never left enough towels , several times they forget wash cloths,

    Location, grounds were beautiful, pools beautifully kept

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff front desk, Tom (night shift), and bar staff (Justin and 2 other bartenders, and there supervisor, cant remember names, were outstanding at their jobs and representing your hotel in professional and friendly manner).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Customer Service should always apply
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd night hotel was evacuated; electrical issues. No a/c or hot water. Billed us in full the next morning instead of making or offering an adjustment. Desk clerk made adjustment after I inquired. Local restaurant and bar were closed by 10:00 the night of the emergency. Fish House and it's staff need customer service training. Overpriced based on service and selection.

    Liked the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: