Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau Hotel 3 stars

1001 Chartres Street, French Quarter (Vieux Carré), New Orleans, LA 70116, USA

#117 of 148 hotels in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 831 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Charming if you like character and the staff were lovely but it needs work and the mould removed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy bathroom, first room offered had water dripping from ceiling, second room had water leaking on the floor from adjoining room.

    Great location in The French Quarter, olde world charm

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    I’m very upset that the desk charged the $164.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m very upset that the desk charged the $164.55 for the parking to my Discover card instead of to my Visa as I authorized. As a result, my Discover is in a negative balance standing. I want this corrected ASAP. It’s not that I didn’t want to pay but I specifically advised how I wanted the payments made on 2 separate occasions at the front desk during my stay. Please credit the Discover and charge the parking charges to the Visa as I authorized. Today is July 14, 2018. Please contact me when you corrected your records and placed payments as I authorized.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.5
    Would have been better off staying in the street in our truck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roaches in bathroom, no air in room in 98 degree heat. Had to buy fans at CVS. Told office, she just grunted and ignored my statement. Pool is filthy and $40 per night to park your own car in a little alley parking spot. I stay in hotels over 100 nights a year and this was the worst one ever.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Property had a lot of charm and a great location. Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was inconsistent. Parking charges were unexpected add-ons. Parking for the final night of stay were increased due to a 'special event' that did not concern me as a guest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great introduction to a wonderful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little loving care.

    Hotel looks like exactly what it was, a beautiful old home converted. Swimming pools was a delight to cool off from the heat. Easy acccess to most of the action without being in the middle of noise and congestion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The check in staff were great, especially Cody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were great, especially Cody. He was funny and very helpful. He told us the best places to go and what we needed to see. The pool area is better looking in person than it is online. Overall great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was little dirty..night time staff not very friendly..coffee pot but no condiments..was not told until check in about $150 deposit but you get it back after your stay..parking down the road..with $35 a day fee! These fees should be on your initial reservation screen..

    Great location..day staff were awesome..quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room assigned was very stinky and gloomy. When asked the staff to change the room, the staff was not very accommodating, instead reluctantly looked for a vacant room after letting us wait for quite a while.

    Location is great. Many sites are in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Overall, great location and charming hotel, but needs some cleaning, repair, and updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was not kept in good condition. The walls had poorly patched holes and cracks that were not even painted over, the bathroom door was pretty damaged, the room was not regularly cleaned or restocked with cups for water or coffee and I had to walk down to reception to get new ones for the week we stayed. Our sheets were also not changed and I have to request that the cleaning crew stop back by and clean the room of our trash and change the bed sheets. Normally I wouldn't mind the lack of changed sheets for only a week, however, in New Orleans in the summer, the sheets should be changed more frequently due to heat and humidity. The pool area and common areas could stand a good sweeping and cleaning. The whole week we were there, the pool area was not swept or cleaned (as evidenced by the fact that the same cigarette butts were left in a pile by the pool for the entire week). Also keep in mind the proper check out time, the sign in the room says 1:00PM, but check out after 12:00PM is an additional $40.00 according to reception.

    Location could not be beat. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Overall, the staff was relatively friendly and helpful when I needed to request something. The grounds were charming and the we really enjoyed the pool after a day out in the French Quarter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Chateau Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room, the location, the super comfortable bed. Also, the staff at Chateau Hotel kindly allowed us to keep our plants outside of the room. We are moving across the country and we're moving some plants with us. Thank you Chateau Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    It is picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The packing is actually 35 dollars a night and not 30 as advertised on booking.com. it also goes up when there is an event on to over 50 dollars a night which is excessive. They also take 150 dollars in deposits which isn't clear. If you don't use a credit card it comes out of your account and can take 15 days to come back

    It is picturesque. Very French and a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff were great! The only complaint I would have is the bed frame was extremely squeaky. But let’s be honest... sleeping wasn’t a terrible concern while visiting. Definitely planning a trip back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating and refurbishment. Does not provide breakfast, but the booking says it does. Rooms are on a busy street and noisy

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    pictures on web site did not look like the actual room. we will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was small. kept hitting foot and knees on bed post. bed was very hard and too high. floors were filthy. tv to small and limited channels half did not work. no handicap access. lighting on stairs did not exist.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Location was perfect walking distance to Bourbon St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the room on booking.com did not match the room I was assigned to when arriving.

    Location was perfect walking distance to Bourbon St., Frenchman St., and the French Market! Also Damian, the front desk staff, was very friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Looked better online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet in hallways, dead insect there for days. It’s like they don’t own a vacuum

    The pool was very nice after walking around in the heat all day! Staff was also nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    its just an old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you have leave a 100 dollar deposit for your room key. I recommend to buy a key chain so you don't lose the key.

    The location is great. It was a 35 dollar Uber from the airport. its bit older, no windows just the door window. Its small but it was great for me. The staff was great really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and space for two girls getting the feel of New Orleans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that we couldn’t adjust the temperature in our room so I had to ask for a box fan. Thank the lord they had them!

    The location for the price is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Perfect spot for New Orleans holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female receptionist needs a new job, she is miserable.

    Hotel is perfect walking location to bourbon street and Frenchman street Strong reliable Wifi Pool was a nice added extra We booked the petite room which was actually a great size The guys on reception and the baggage guys were great, we regularly stopped for a quick chat. They also gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. Loved this hotel, will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel and staff contributed greatly to a memorable first time experience in New Orleans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too high - I had to stand on my suitcase to reach it! Room was too dark - not enough lighting - if open drapes, passersby can see right in. Bathroom could use some touch up paint.

    Shabbily elegant grounds - excellent location! Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was better than we hoped it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the outside space needed some cleaning up and some flowers would add to the space. Also, parking is almost $40 per night at an unsecured lot near hotel.

    The hotel had charm. The location was perfect and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    We had a wonderful stay. I would choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs a complete overhaul. We had no hot water, just a trickle of water & it was kind of disgusting looking. Courtyard could be lovely with some TLC.

    Beds are comfortable but high. The staff is very accommodating. Having a pool & courtyard is a bonus. LOCATION!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Location in the French Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, dark room, wall paper coming away from walls, ceiling shows cracks, tiles missing in shower, there was an hair drier, but the cable was to short to use anywhere in the room

    Location in the French Quarter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    The suite was very nice and the staff was friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could have been better. We parked on the streets to avoid a $50.00 a day parking fee.

    The suite was very nice and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location and characterful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with a connecting door to the next room and could hear our neighbour snoring all night. Also the bed is very high and difficult to get into. In the wardrobe only 4 coat hangers which really isn't enough for 2 people who are visiting for 5 nights.

    The pool, location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs work. Had to help bellboy with luggage while husband parked car. Also needed linens and was told to walk with staff member down the block to get them

    Location. 2 blocks from river and 2 blocks to Bourbon St. parking very near.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very good! I will stay at the hotel if I return to New Orleans.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The staff were very professional, accommodating. The location was great. The room ambience was great. No outside noise that I was able to sleep well. The room was clean and bathroom was clean. I liked the availability of having a coffee maker in the room that when you wake up you can make your coffee which makes your morning better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Will chose a different location next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were small compared to the price, the noise level from outside was loud and disturbing and the shower curtain in the bathroom was so short the water kept coming out. There was no thermostat to adjust the room temperature.

    The location to Bourbon street was good and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a interior room with no window and the room was dark with no ceiling light but it was manageable.

    Amazing location, so close to everything in the French Quarter. The hotel such character and beautiful back court yard with a pool. Free water and coffee/tea in your room as well as in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable five night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be nice to have an in room safe. It doesn't.

    Very nice location to attend French Quarter Festival. Close to every thing that we are interested in (restaurants,shopping,historical sites). Well decorated and functional room for two.Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Great old heritage hotel right in the French Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited and cost $35/day extra. Rooms are very small and hallways/stairs very narrow and steep, though this is often the price you pay for staying in a heritage building. Some rooms right off the courtyard, which could be noisy.

    Excellent location near the French Market. Heritage building with lots of character. Nicely appointed rooms, though very small. Very helpful staff and lots of places to eat within walking distance. Great base to explore the French Quarter from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Overly priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the hotel for the room we received was not worth it. We were on the ground floor next to the reception and the Main Street. The noise coming from the street was often loud but you expect this when you book accommodation in the French quarter in a festival. However a tour guide stopped repetitively in front of our window. You felt you could never open the curtains as it was right on the street with no ventilation to the room or even a net curtain. This meant we had the black out curtains closed all the time. We were never able to ventilate the room either except by opening or bedroom door onto the passageway. The room being next to reception was another issue. If you were in the bathroom you could hear what was happening in reception and especially there storage room for the bags. The bathroom was basic. The hairdryer had obviously come off the wall bracket and had been put back up poorly, same for the shower curtain. The bed was comfortable however noisy. Being a newly engaged couple you could see how this was slightly problematic with the thin walls. We debated going to reception at times but at checking in we found the reception staff initially non friendly however this was only one person and not a reflection on all staff. It did however make us feel that we couldn’t go to reception. There was also no safe and this was not explained to us on check in. The sockets in the room were loose and could only use one to charge or electrically items.

    The location of the hotel was right in the French quarter if you don’t mind the noise. The courtyard was beautiful. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    New Orleans was fantastic the people are so friendly including hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I booked this hotel specifically as it was advertised as bed and breakfast only to be told when we got there that they don't do breakfast any more. this added at least a further $280 to the cost of our stay. False representation. Also the air conditioning was just a switch with no control over it. You could cool the room down at one temperature or not at all. The curtains had come away from the hooks at the window and the shower curtain was only held up by about 5 hooks. Paper was peeling off the walls and the place generally needs a lot of sprucing up. Considering we had booked the deluxe room I hate to think what the others may have been like!

    The beds were comfy but very high. The courtyard was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    New Orleans is an amazing. The hotel has a fantastic location right in the French Quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water coming through the ceiling in our first room, but the hotel responded quickly and then very noisy neighbours when we were moved to another room. The sound proofing in the rooms was not good.

    Location was amazing! The old style of the rooms was lovely and they had comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.5
    we had fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both froze in t h e room the second day. The AC was not working right and would not shut off. A small breakfast would have been nice. The bathroom drain was very slow so everything got wet when you took a shower. The bed was way to high, a step stool would have been helpful

    Loved the room atmosphere. Loved the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. The building is old and we loved that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Nothing like advertised.Get the decorator in! As could be nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed decorating badly,Lamp didnt wrk,found dirty sock and jeans in room.Bathroom very poor standard.Pool dirty. DEFINETLY NOT LIKE PHOTOS ON WEBSITE!!!

    The character of the hotel,free tea/coffee/water,location good.Friendly staff.The bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Don’t stay if you’re a smoker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re a smoker it doesn’t matter if you smoked in the room or not. You’ll be charged the $250. We smoked outside the whole time we were there and the container we had the ashes in we dumped in the trash and because of that they claimed we smoked in the room. I don’t suggest this hotel and I will not be going back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    I have stayed in cheap motels before but this was cheap and wasn’t worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not really any amenities even the simplest like a coffee maker or microwave. The room was small and the walls were paper thin. You could hear everyone next door and out side. Seemed to be old and put together with duct tape and bubble gum.

    Like the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was nothing like the one pictured. I only had one working lamp in the room, so it was extremely dark in there. There was also very poor sound insulation and I had an exterior room, so I could hear everyone on the street as they walked by.

    Great location. The facilities and the pool were beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Quite and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little smaller than I anticipated. A little less furniture could make it seem a little bigger. Need hooks in the bathroom to hang towels on to dry.

    Great location to everything in the quarter. Very quite considering everything around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    It was a bed in a covered alley way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available when we checked in, had to park ourselves half mile away at $60 for 24 hours. Our room felt like we were sharing the alleyway. Hard King wooden bed with room in need of renovation. The view was a blinds over the door window. It was clean but for the price, look elsewhere. The stay was not as anticipated by the reviews.

    Location In the french quarter. And the front staff were accommodating with our luggage. Nice looking courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is obviously old. The room was not the cleanest but it was a last minute book and met my expectations. Still enjoyed our stay.

    The location was awesome. My sister and I could enjoy the French Quarter and still be close to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay at a hotel with charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again, with the building being old, the water pressure was not the best and getting the right temperature was difficult. But short of repiping the building not to sure what can be done about that.

    Being that the building is old , it was still clean and functioning. The staff was always so welcoming and friendly. The location was close enough to everything, especially Cafe Du Monde, but still far away enough from the noise of Bourbon street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Loved New Orleans and hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included as advertised. Parking was full when we arrived so had to drive around to find public parking( expensive). Small dark room and thin walls so very noisy from street and the next room.

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs some love, some of the patchwork in the bathroom was noticable to the eye along with a picture placed over a hole and was noticable because the picture they placed over it was not centered.

    This property was in walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location with lots of potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor TV reception. Paper thin wall. Could here every conversation around as well as things you shouldn’t hear! Girl that checked is in was not friendly at all. She acted like it was a huge inconvenience to deal with us. No milk for coffee. Seldom had water bottles.

    Great location with lots of potential. Needs to be loved by owner and staff. Right now it isn’t so it’s run down. The gentleman that handled our check out was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    We would absolutely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough light to read. The room was small but we knew it would be. Heat and cool was literally an on and off light switch. So very little control. Comfortable bed but high! A bit of a climb for us aging baby boomers.

    Location made it possible to walk to everything we wanted to do. We enjoyed the outdoor courtyard area right outside our room's double french doors. The European vibe was charming. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our 2 nights here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our 2 nights here. The hotel is charming with a gorgeous little courtyard right in the centre of the French quarter, room was clean and comfortable. Only downsides - noise travelled readily from courtyard and even next door rooms, sink was clogged, hot water was temperamental, they charge for parking (but in fairness directed us to a street nearby where we could get it for free). Overall good value for money and a good 3* place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location, and the staff were all extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, but could use some TLC. Base boards messed up in the bathroom, holes from where nails once were. Simple cosmetic things

    Wonderful location, and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location within easy walking distance of Bourbon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited in January & the room was a little bit cold the coldest night I was there.

    Fantastic location within easy walking distance of Bourbon and Decatur Streets, Jackson Park and all French Quarter locations. Clean, reasonable price, and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Location, style, pool area and coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have asked the staff to book a taxi for our departure at 4:45 in the morning...we did doublecheck on that 2 times and it was confirmed the taxi will be there...but on the night of our departure we found out no taxi was ordered for us (aparently the staff did not passed the information properly to the next schift - but honestly, i dont care...for us became a stressful situation, looking for a cab early in the morning). The stuff helped us out to organize it at the end - but still, hence the one point deduction

    Location, style, pool area and coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    GROSE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got their it took about 1 hour to get hot water. Later that night we found 3 cockroaches and the staff said it’s normal and I was brave whatever that meant. It was extremely hot there was no ac

    I was close to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    It was very cold in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in our room. When I asked the front desk about the heat they said to use the switch to control it, but we tried that and it didn’t work. Other than that we had a great stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    not returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not what we made reservations for.. no window paid for pool or view of something breakfast included was a box of cereal only 2 to choose from coffee and a few apples shower leak and dripped all night

    just the staff and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    If for location it is great but cleanliness and staffs, i will not recommend this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are not reliable. My bf asked for towels, we came back to the hotel and still no towels. The room was not even cleaned. We went back to the reception desk and asked for it. When we were about to use the towels, she gave us one towel, and four floor towels (?!) Reception desk not friendly, just reading a book in the computer.. the room is so disgustingly dirty. The shower temp does not work (it was freezing when we were there!), water turns super cold or super hot even without adjusting the knobs. The bed is very rickedy. Very disgusting linens and sheets. The hotel room door is so hard to open.

    Closeness to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location in NOLA
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a basic hotel but Nice and really nice and accommodating staff.

    The location was great - very close to the French Market and Jackson Square and yet rather quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location, fast WiFi, good room cleaning service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor water heating, one needs to run it for about 10 minutes every morning for the shower to become sufficiently warm. Insufficient storage space in the room, one small wardrobe. Rather poor breakfast: even muesli and yogurt are not available every day. Some days it was almost nothing left at about 9.30 a.m.

    Good location, fast WiFi, good room cleaning service. Free coffee and tea available at the reception around the clock.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the smell of the room, maybe update the carpet. But bed was very comfortable and warm for the cold weather. Staff was really nice.

    Walking distance to various activities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.2
    Loved French quarter.... will stay at another location in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to put us in an inferior room to what we had reserved (we reserved a king - on property, tried to force us into 2 queen beds- off property) site advertises safes in room- no safe in the final room we were placed in. Property is in disrepair. Bathroom door knob fell off In my hand. Light fixtures etc replaced over time but old worn places under them not repaired. Cigarette butts in the window sills. Doors and windows don’t seal which allowed for a lot of cool air to come in during these temps of high 40’s. Continental breakfast was a joke. One morning only 1 box of cold cereal available at 0700. Coffee replenished sparingly. No temperature control in the room. Did I mention this room is drafty and temps were in the 40’’?. Desk clerk initially told us he “can’t be responsible for what is listed on the website” when we asked to be moved to a room along the lines of what we reserved and were paying for. Parking is expensive $35 per day and 1/2 block away but we can understand that due to space issues in French quarter... however there were only 2-3 other cars in that lot during our stay.... parking obviously not a premium for guests so why charge so much??? Mold on shower steps. Room was very dusty.

    Location - French market is a short 2 block walk... market cafe if a must to eat at - great breakfast buffet. Jackson square and bourbon street very short walks as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    Loved location..cleanliness not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty,shower curtain too short so water all over bathroom... Breakfast was dried cereal and apple..could have at least had muffins!

    Good location, coffee available

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.8
    Proximity to sightseeing spots/activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not clean. Coffee was always lukewarm. It was freezing cold and the outdoor pool and bar were useless. (Of course this is not the hotel's fault.)

    Proximity to sightseeing spots/activities. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.8
    No place to set suitcases
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to set suitcases Bed too high Sheets rough Hangers too hard to use as they don’t move In a very Narrow closet Toilet didn’t flush urine and toilet paper Lighting was dismal Very uncomfortable double room for two people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fun, alcohol fueled stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weer right in the middle of the French Quarter surrounded by rich history. There are a full bulletin board of activities to do in the reception room and we chose a haunted hotel tour which did not disappoint. The restaurants around the hotel were great, there were a few bars to go and drink at, most notably the Lafayette pirate bar, we were very close to the river and the streets were heaving at night with people looking to have fun.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Clean hotel! Take it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had mold smell in my room and couldn't open the window.

    My stay in Chateau was great ! The location is everything when you are traveling, excellent location!!!! The room the around the hotel was clean and look like someone taking care the facilities. Breakfast was simple but great start for the day! The stuff was helpful and lovely!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Despite the lack of natural light and ventilation, the place is very good for its location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room I got (230), there was no ventilation or window on the bathroom. The doors/window to the balcony were blocked by the beds, so we could not open for sun light or ventilation neither. The AC is controlled by a central unit, so you cannot set the temperature you want.

    There is a beautiful patio with fountain and pool. Nice to sit and relax. The wifi works well everywhere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    It was a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for the hot water to be turned on. We were charged a daily $50 parking fee, which I think should have been disclosed at booking. I think if we were staying there parking should have cost less!

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location was great and close to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Great location and clean, but overpriced, and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not private at all. For $250, I expect to not hear every word, activity, or bodily noise from my neighboring room. The place was way overpriced!

    The location was great and the staff was very nice. Overall the place was clean and secure, and had secure parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    4 Day Weekend in the Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was in had a leak from somewhere, so I woke up to a puddle near the bathroom, with no idea where it was coming from. I'm guessing it came from the AC. To the hotel's credit, I was promptly given another room. I also didn't like the extra $150 hold for the room key.

    Great location, walking distance to Bourbon Street and most of the other tourist goodies in the French Quarter. The Staff was very friendly, I chatted with Ron about sports for quite a while (I was drunk lol). ENTIRE STAY WAS INSECT/PEST FREE!!! As I booked this room knowing it was a 3 star hotel, I'll say it lived up to its expectations. No frills, just the basics. I'd say it's perfect for people who really just need a convenient "base of operations" to explore the city and aren't really looking for luxury.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Stayed nov 20 and heat had not been turned on for building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed nov 20 and heat had not been turned on for building so it was really chilly in room. We did eventually get. A small space heate r that helped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Amazing location in the heart of the French Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of space in the room and shower took a good five minutes to get hot water

    Amazing location and staff were very helpful and bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    The staff was excellent and the location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room size, dresser too small for two people. Closet small with bad hangers. Couldn't take hangers out to put clothes on. It was just the smallest room I've ever been in and paid a premium price.

    The staff was excellent and the location perfect. The room was a closet and the bathroom extremely small. Water was always an adventure. Scalding or freezing. TV was tiny and spotty reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.6
    Great location, close enough to the tourists French Quater...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, musty odor, no room service for days in a row! Floors in the room were hard to stand, didn‘t get a deep clean in a long while.

    Great location, close enough to the tourists French Quater and the part, where the real people of New Orleans go to. A very charming hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Bad value for $
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was outrageous!!! We had a tiny room with no amenities. We really felt robbed! Next am walk to back of Court yard showed pretty aspect of hotel. $305 for my room was not fair.

    Desk clerk was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Touted a 3 star got a one star!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of cleanliness, dirty towels in the hallways, dirty carpets, dirty shower stall and the overpowering smell of mildew. Totally misrepresented on website.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    $400 and you are only paying for the location! The rooms are crap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 228’s bathroom had mold in the shower and the sink was all cracked. The beds were so hot because of the plastic film between the sheet and the mattress. It was very dark in the room and the young girl at the front desk was very rude and had an attitude. And there were no windows!

    I liked the location and Damien was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chateau Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: