Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelodge by Wyndham Downtown Chicago 2 stars

65 East Harrison Street, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60605, USA

#142 of 154 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1969 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Clean hotel, well located, great service at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to say

    Clean hotel, well located, great service at the reception, luggage is stored in a safe place until you check in, it is possible to check in before 3pm if there is a clean room, near the tourist points and a few steps from train stations

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Good central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from window was depressing but otherwise no problems

    Close to the park, restaurants, elevated railway, Buddy Guy blues club, sightseeing tour bus. Staff were really helpful, handling special requests and advice on tours etc. Breakfast was good and on site. Enough elevators and spacious room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for Chicago marathon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, single glazed windows and an elevated train line across the street isn't a great combination. Receptionist on checkout was strange, i think he can only say "ok".

    Booked here with family for Chicago marathon. Location was perfect, 2 mins to start/finish line. I really recommend the Luna Cafe next door. Great value breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a later checkout but the cost was prohibitive. In fairness they did allow one hour extra for free, I just would have liked a bit more time

    The location beside Grant Park was great, I was running the marathon so it was perfect for the start/finish area. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location in Chicago. Really near the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel felt a little run down and could use a renovation.

    Perfect hotel for the Chicago Marathon. Took me five minutes to get to the start and finish.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.5
    my First impression was the lack of patience of the recepcionist at the check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been better had it not been for the lack of patience of one of the receptionists (a men) at check-in. I'd rather think he was not on a good day. All of the others was expectacular.

    Best location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.6
    Location and compared to other hotels it was cheaper but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of the room was poor! Not worth the money. Heating was a radiator but wasn’t on so it was cold! Reminded me of faulty towers. No offer of a courtesy room to shower after and I was in the hotel at 12:15pm! 😡

    Location and compared to other hotels it was cheaper but still expensive compared to anywhere else I’ve stayed in the world!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. A little flat for my liking.

    Just checking out. Came for the Chicago Marathon. It was a perfect location to stay. Walked right to the start and finish. It my be dated. But it's clean and close to most attactions. Would definitely stay here again. Plus you don't have to pay the high prices like other hotels. A good experience overall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and in need of refurbishment.

    Although the room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the towels fluffy, it was in need of being refurbished. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was fantastic right next to Millenium Park and within easy walking distance to the sights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.6
    Dirty, dusty, damp, very loud room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, dusty, damp, very loud room. Didn't look like any money had been spent to renovate the room for alot of years.

    Reception foyer was much nicer than the rooms or hallways

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Just a great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite outdated and very cold. Heating equipment didn’t work and the room was very cold. There were no extra blankets in the room.

    Location is perfect! Hotels in Chicago are very expensive or far from downtown and main attractions. It is very inportant where you stay and the location is great. Staff were nice too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    A day to discover the Chicago Loop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no comfortable chair to sit and relax on. One chair by the table and the other was wobbly. Windows didn't open, the only way to ventilate is air conditioned... Quite expensive, although that comes with the location.

    Excellent location, comfortable bed, spacious room, 11th floor, fridge, good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for the quality of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - we sent an email over several weeks prior to notify that one of use was in a wheelchair, and when we check-in the disabled room wasn't available. - using the air-conditionner in heater position, it has a strong burning smell and it set-off the fire alarm - the carpet under the beds (in the two rooms we did) were not vaccumed and there was some trash - bedroom on street side is noisy because there is the air railway. - when check-out, the staff didn't ask us how was our stay, which is not professional. Also didn't feel to concern about our complain about the cleanliness of the room - coffee machine in room was not working and unstable. - low water pressure in the shower that made it difficult to use, unenable to change the pressure with the tap - no ceiling light, only lamps with fading light

    - located in the CBD - big rooms - could change to another room because the one on street side was quite noisy,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Perfectly serviceable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to this hotel is it one block away from train tracks, so you WILL hear trains pretty loudly, even deep into the night. I just turned on my AC fan, and it mostly drowned it out.

    Perfectly serviceable hotel. Room was clean, staff was friendly, and the location is unbeatable. If you are looking for a hotel in a great downtown location for a bargain price, you can't go wrong here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnishings, musty carpet. Airconditioner broken vents, blowing air behind curtain. Noise from traffic & L trains running all night.

    Location, price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel location is excellent, very close to Harrison station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs an URGENT change to the windows. The "L" train is close to hotel and very noisy, and the curtain is too short to block the light. Very difficult to sleep.

    Hotel location is excellent, very close to Harrison station (Red line) and Buckinghan Fountain. Hotel staff was very nice and carefull, very convenient Luna Cafe right next to reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall good experience and good value for Chicago and the room was much bigger than expected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no issues with the hotel but if I was booking again I would ask for a room furthest away from the train which ran by our side of the hotel.

    All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The room was probably a bit dated but very big with a small kitchen area with tea/coffee machine, sink, fridge and microwave, the bathroom was big compared to a lot of more modern hotels and there was an area with a couch, chairs and desk, overall there was a sense of space in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location and staff, could use some work though
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and not quite as clean as you'd expect, the room was a bit cold and the shower was quite poor with weak water flow and a very long time to produce hot enough water to shower in. Amenities were also very modest.

    The place had very kind staff and was accommodating as can be. Location was a serious plus as well, and there are a few nice places to eat just outside the hotel's front door. In that sense, it was very well suited to my needs as a solo traveler.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    3.3
    I won't recommend this place to my family and friends
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location was horrible. Windows looked out at a brick wall. Bathroom shower had no water pressure and the shower head was so dirty the water couldn't get throw. Beds were super hard and pillows sucked.

    Location was ok but that's about it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Our room was lovely and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned properly everyday....there was a massive dead moth for the whole of our stay. Bedding was not changed daily. Very dark in our room, our view was a brickwell

    Our room was lovely and big. All staff we saw were so nice and friendly. Fantastic location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Good place for sightseeing in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather old fashion and the neighbourhood is a little noisy.

    The old fashion somehow fits the Chicago setting. Very good location for sightseeing. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    A reasonable Stay for Business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not clean enough. I stayed four days, no room cleaning service visited to clean my room. Bathroom door can not closed completely, it always stuck. WiFi was poor, whatsapp voice did not work on WiFi.

    The only thing I like this place, it was close to the building where I had to visit for business.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking, the lobby seems fairly renovated but the hallways and rooms tell a different story of an older hotel that can do with a revamp.

    Good location, clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location but don't expect anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel is only good for location. half of the hotel face on the train side and trains are on 24 hours. Plus the walls are not soundproof. We were sleeping in the next rooms' bed sounds and waking up to the other rooms' laugh noises. Plus interestingly their curtains are so short that in the morning you definitely get sunlight directly in your eyes. we asked 3 times to move us another room (other side of the hotel) but they said they were full the whole 3 days. But the stuff was helpful and gave us earplugs:)

    The location is the best. We almost walked everywhere we wanted to see. If its your first time, this hotel definitely has a great location. You can start visiting from field museum and go up to the beaches. Location definitely meet our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    overall my stay was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were just outdated and old, not sure if that's the theme of the hotel, but the lobby looks super nice, the rooms, not so much! The microwave on 4th floor was pretty creepy also, and the A/C dint work pretty well. Maybe upgrade to better a/c units as well!

    I loved the staff, they were great! the lobby was nice and I love how close the restaurant is! Great Location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.0
    Fun night in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel was absolutely perfect as we attended a concert at Northerly Island. Our room was spacious. Great value for the price. We would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Was like home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other bell guy wasn’t as friendly as the first one, hard to hold a candle to the 1st guy I guess

    They let us bring in a air mattress!!! And bellhop guy loaded in on elevator for us!! Best guy ever!! He hailed cab for us we could all fit in, just the best time ever, thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old fashioned and the carpets in the rooms are dirty and out dated but apart from that the room was clean and ok for a short stay.

    The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to many tourist spots and shops. There is a dinner next door where you can get breakfast and also a dunkin donuts and subway across the street. The beds are comfortable and there is a fridge and coffee machine in the room. The staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Unbeatable price for a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accounting for the price paid, there's not much to complain about. The windows could use a good cleaning, and one of the mattresses was not as nice as the other. Rooms could use updating, but everything worked as expected.

    Great location. The hotel is right by a red line station, and right next to the expansive city park. The price could not be beat for the area, the lobby was very clean and included a cafe. Easy check-in process and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Below Average
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed old and ugly, and the furniture did too. The bed was kind of hard. I really hate saying negative things about a Travel Lodge hotel because Travel Lodge is usually a better than average hotel but in this case it seemed below average and I would never stay there again.

    Check-in was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.4
    Location is good, close to main points of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building and furniture look old. Windows didn't properly isolate noise from the street, which can be loud. Fortunately there was air conditioning in the room, which we turn to fan mode, so it would reduce the noise from the streets and subway.

    Location is good, close to main points of interest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    I will never vist again cost to much to not be comfortable it was our 24th Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean trash was left under the desk the windows looks gross with some type of insulation stuffed in window spiders out side window. The noise fron the Trains turning and squeaking through out the night. And the housekeeper waking you up at 8:30am then 9:30 fir what check out is 11am so why knock on doors at all.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, close to the trail so noisy at night when train passing by, the staff is not honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I forgot a box of Macarons in the fridge, but the staff never contacted with me-I checked out at 9:00 am in the morning, and went back hotel at 12:00 pm to get my luggage. They had 3 hours to clean the room and contacted with me but they did not.

    spacious living room/bedroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Confortable bed and close locations to 2 important parks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that there were many big spiders between the windows. There were at night many people around the hotel that make me unsecure. Instead of having a receptionist at night there were 2 policeman.

    Confortable bed and close locations to 2 important parks and close to the Hop On Hop of Bus. Inside my room everything was good, the kitchen was clean the room temperature was fresh. The bathroom was ok and I used the security box.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    No frills but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was quite poor - coffee machine was covered in dust, I found food under my bed and my room wasn’t even cleaned on one day!

    The hotel is in a good location and was pretty comfortable. Bed was huge!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location for reason we were staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no water pressure. Had do not disturb sign on door and housekeeping went in room anyways. Also room needs better window cover. Room didn't get dark enough at night with city lights shining in and Sun in morning.

    Great location for reason we were staying. Withing walking distance of a lot of great places.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms could be cleaner, and the property could use a renovation. The lobby looks nice, then you get to the room and it feels like you've been fooled and transported to a motel. If you get the room 210 ask for another because its right by the main street and all the lights can be seen while laying down in bed because the curtains do not go all the way down and when the sun comes up forget it, sleep no more....Also there was construction just outside our window which was annoying, you can hear the metro or train pass by so .we asked them to move us (ended up in 8th floor way better less noisy)...I would suggest staying on floor 7 or higher.....For the price I paid, and for the location, I would stay here again however, this hotel needs to be updated or at least a good pressure wash.

    I loved the location of the hotel, it is right at the center of most of the popular attractions (Millennium Park, Shedd Aquarium, etc. ) The lobby is very nice however, the rooms and the rest of the building is old and outdated. The breakfast spot is excellent! not too pricey and the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay & convenience to many things especially the Lake & hop on hop off buses etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included as many Hotels for same price we have had. But it was ok.

    Close to the things we wanted to do & the Greyhound bus to go south to Indiana.f

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    It was cheap and the location was good. The room needs a deep clean though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. Layers of dust everywhere, even on the phone. Dirty socks under the bed. We all woke up with stuffy noses because of it.

    The room and bathroom had decent space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.2
    Air conditioning Very old and súper noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning Very old and súper noisy. If you switch it off, huge fan outside making more noise. Imposible to rest properly. Very old facilities, Very expensive. I

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    I probably will not stay here again. For about 20.00 more I could have stayed at the Hilton,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not as clean and maintained as I would like .. the coffee pot had dust on it, carpet looked dirty, the air conditioner was very old and very LOUD and in the bathroom the shower head and pipe were loose and not secured to the wall.

    The staff were very nice and the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Loved the convenience and safety
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have any problems. Loved our stay. Definitely will book again with this hotel

    I was very pleased with our stay. It was very clean, convenient, friendly and easy to get to. Staff was so wonderful. They took care of every need we had. I felt very safe also

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    excellent location, comfy bed, so close to noisy train and even noisier AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    being so close to the subway, we could hear its noise very loud, waking us most of the times. Then we found out how to overcome this problem. The air conditioner was so loud that was even higher than the subway! the rooms still need some renovation.

    friendly staff. very comfortable bed, extremely well located hotel, meters from Grant Park and Michigan Avenue. The hotel was very close to the subway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good deal for the location. Drove into town to see the aquarium, the parking across the street was convenient. Walked everywhere we needed. Check out is at 11am but the parking lasted until 2pm. So had plenty of time after check out for activities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was ok but I do not think I will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in a corner with the fire escape stairs that ended right at my window. The emergency door was only a couple of steps away from my hotel door. The curtains on the window did not completely covered the windows. The only reason I stayed in this room was because my sons was in the room around the corner.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Overall it was a convenient place to stay. The location is great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have security? i didn't feel too safe. Especially traveling alone. The room i stayed in was too far down the hall, Its a busy place so i didn't want to wait in line again to ask for a possible room change.

    The location was convenient for what i was there for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short curtains let in the sunlight and streetlights at night. Also the windows were poor in the sense that you could hear all the noise from outside.

    Location was great. Close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The A/C unit was old, but did its job. The halls and exterior was outdated.

    The location was perfect. Our room was quite spacious, the beds were comfy. The bathroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities are a little outdated, and the shower didn't work, but they came and fixed it within 15 minutes... (very helpful)

    perfect location, great staff, much bigger room than expected, early check-in not a problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was clearly old (old ar conditioning and carpet, for example) and it didn't have a trash can in the bathroom, just in the little kitchen. It was pretty surprising to not have a trash can in the bathroom! The view from our room was pretty bad.

    Easy check-in with a kind lady. Room had a good size and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and it was really nice to have a little kitchen with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The location is simply perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Staff was very professional and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has not been updated since it was built in the 60s. The hallway carpet smelt like years of use which adds to the overall dissatisfaction

    Staff was very professional and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel in Chicago Loop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT much.

    The room was really spacious and clean even though the building was NOT new. The hotel fee was reasonable. The location is in Chicago Loop and easy to access to the red line subway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the hallways seemed filthy, and there was a large burn hole in the carpet of my room. The furniture was from about 1972, and the sofa bed (or sofa, didn't check) sagged noticeably in the center. "Dingy" is an apt (and perhaps kind) description of the place.

    The location of this Travelodge is very central and the price for a night in Chicago was good. The elevator worked well (as did the small A/C unit) and the halls were quiet. The cleaning staff were particularly friendly, and the desk staff were efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    We had a pleasant stay, and certainly would try to book rooms here again when in Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An unfortunate loss of ability to provide TV service to any of the rooms was probably the biggest disappointment.

    The staff was very helpful in answering questions and giving directions. The greatest thing for my family was the location near the the museum, parks, etc. that we wanted to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.2
    NEVER AGAIN!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was across the street, staff told us to park on the street until 5 am than move our car to cheaper lot. We just paid full price, wasn't setting my alarm for 4:30am

    Dirty, no television!!!!! Hotel stated it was being worked on?? Still no cable this morning, not even one channel!! Staff didn't even ask how our stay was. Incredibly disappointed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    It was fair for the price and location. No frills. Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a strong fuel like smell, headache inducing smell. It was very no frills. Would be nice to have a little something offered at breakfast before traveling again.

    Location was exactly what I was looking for. Easy to get to even with road closings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor is a little outdated, but that was no real concern as the benefits of the accommodation outweighed this.

    Excellent location with local access to metro a short walk away and nearby parks were nice. Local to shops and places to eat. Really comfortable bed and room was bigger than I expected. Staff were helpful and wifi had a good connection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Close to the things we were doing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were higher than the a/c unit and the bright lights from the parking lot across the road were extremely bright in the room . Had to put towels up in the window to get some darkness. Also the tv didn't work, we complained but always the answer that they were looking into it.

    Close to the things we were doing .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    The location of he hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken, the window had a giant crack in it and didn’t look like it had been cleaned in years. My friend is convinced she got bed bugs from this hotel. The lobby was very pretty and up to date and was very deciveing on why the rooms were going to look like

    The location of he hotel was great. The hotel lobby was very pretty and up to date.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was the only great benefit to this hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old tiny room and super thin walls. People speaking in normal tones sounded like they were in the room with me. The price was lower than most hotels in this area but it was still expensive to stay here given the poor ambiance.

    The location was the only great benefit to this hotel, walking distance from many hot spots and the metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioning wasn’t working properly, beds weren’t the most comfortable, curtains had holes in them but location trumped it all. I think you’re paying more for the location which was worth it. Regardless I would pay to stay again.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Back to my hometown with hubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fabulous. I thought being an old hotel that it would be a bit rougher. It was way better than I expected. The staff could not have been better. We got there early and we check-in our bags and went and had fun. I would stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tourist info at reception...

    Large older style room. Well located, although close to an elevated railway it didn't impact us. Really close to Buddy Guy's Legends Club!! That was handy!! and not too far from a train station or the main drag and parks. Only a couple of blocks to Route 66!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    I liked the price, which was unbeatable for downtown Chicago.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the price, which was unbeatable for downtown Chicago. And, the room was super quiet! I mean, there's traffic and train noise but this is downtown Chicago so I brought earplugs to sleep, but I didn't hear any of the other guests while I was there, which was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The desk clerk found me a cheaper room that suited my needs...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This older but refurbished property has slow elevators. The bathroom in this single room was tiny. You have to close the door to find the toilet stool.

    The desk clerk found me a cheaper room that suited my needs as a single traveler.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great for quick overnight trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds for a double room. Would prefer queen over full beds.

    Location close to public transportation, easy parking, and many places to eat/drink close by. Very clean. Room bigger than expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the only good thing about the hotel the staff are trying but they can only work with what they have. The hotel is tired and dated which isn’t the problem the dirty hallways and rooms are enough to contend with. The curtain in our room doesn’t cover the window so as well as the horrific noise coming from the loop train every 15 minuets coming through and the general noise from a busy road and street you can’t even block the light. On a hot night there is a air con box facing the bed that you would rather sweat then turn on as it’s just as loud as the train. Single glazed glass is not suitable in a city hotel.Completely useless as is the air con unit. Our bed sheet did not fit the bed meaning at the bottom we were exposed to the mattress cover. The non smoking room stinks of smoke and the carpet is so old and dusty you wouldn’t want to be barefoot. The shower is useless and besides that if the next room has a shower or turns a tap on the sound from the pipes for 20 minuets is loud and again horrific. Would not recommend or stay here again.

    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location, but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is very old & in need of some decent renovations. Somewhat seedy downtown location - but it seemed similar all over Chicago city. We found SO many bugs in our room - ones I had squashed whilst sleeping! Cockroaches & silverfish mainly. My first impression of Chicago locals was at this hotel & the man on the desk checked us in quickly & efficiently, but he was cold & slightly dismissive. Basic information only.

    Location was excellent. Room was an excellent size for 4 of us sharing! The Thai restaurant downstairs is EXCELLENT. The breakfast cafe is good, but usually so busy they can't cope & fail to deliver what you order, but charge you anyway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    The room met our expectations and was sufficient for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had a musty smell and was very small. Facilities were well used.

    Good location. The room was clean and well maintained by the housekeeping staff. Staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, near the lake, near the loop, near the subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dirty window, noisy train around the building starts at 3-4 AM in the morning.

    Good location, near the lake, near the loop, near the subway. 10-15 minutes by foot to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    1. Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Hotel is quite dated with pipes and other building fittings not even properly concealed 2. We had booked a deluxe room with microwave and fridge, but were checked in into a regular room

    1. Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    I advice this accommodation everyone who has limited budget.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The soap and shampoo is awful, advice everyone to keep their own. The window is not opening and is so dirty you could not look outside. The conditioning/heating system is with technology by twentieth century. The CTA train is near and is a bit noisy. The other problem is that I had one invoice from booking.com but I charged differently, I am trying to clear up this issue right now.

    The location is quite good. You could go in the center by foot and the lake is very close. The room is cleaning every day and quite well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was not too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We noticed hair in the bathtub as soon as we got in the room. The area was very loud because of the rail system. We just didn't feel very comfortable.

    The location was not too bad. The staff was nice! It's convenient that there is parking right across the street too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay here & would stay here again, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few minor downsides- the bed was fine but the pillows could have been better...The bathroom, while nicely updated & very clean, was tiny & had no counter space, save for the shelf under the mirror. The loveseat/foldout bed was uncomfortable to sit on. This hotel is an older property, so we weren’t expecting luxury-it was totally fine for what we were doing and we were only there 2 nights. (None of these downsides would make me not stay here again!)

    We took the train to Chicago for a short getaway & to do some sightseeing. The hotel employees were great, & location was very close (walking distance) to many activities. Room was much larger than I expected & was very clean, whatever type we booked included a tiny kitchen area with a sink, microwave & mini fridge. The area seemed safe, so I didn’t feel weird about walking anywhere nearby. The price was right. 😁 Also our train didn’t leave til well after checkout, but they held our bags so we could squeeze in a little more sightseeing til we were ready to leave for the train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    The property was very centralized in the city which made it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very friendly. Felt rushed every time when speaking to them.

    The property was very centralized in the city which made it easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: