Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5 stars

20 East Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611, USA

#23 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 857 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Style and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything that I did not like

    We were there for 4th of July and got caught in a torrential thunderstorm . The staff at Sofitel greeted us with large fresh warm towels upon our return to the hotel that night. We are treated exceptionally by every employee we come in contact with: valet, fri t desk, waiters, bellmen, bartenders, etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Bathroom was pristine, but toilet did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than we had anticipated for the price. Furniture stained. This combined with non functioning toilet, was very disappointing to say the least. The staff, however were very prompt to remedy the toilet issue.

    Bathroom was pristine, but toilet did not work. Had to call for maintenance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    First Class!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class accommodations, professional employees, warm greeting, friendly atmosphere, outstanding location on the magnificent mile, bellmen greeting from baggage handling arriving and securing a cab very helpful. Entire stay first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Another wonderful experience at the Sofitel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant has some challenges. They did not have enough wait staff to accommodate the number of guests. They forgot pieces of the order and were not customer focused.

    From the moment we walked thru the doors, Parfait the doorman welcomed us back to the hotel. The check-in process was seamless and the reception desk knew our preferences. We loved our room location and the bed was sooooo comfy. The location is fabulous. I always feel safe walking to and from the different locations that we needed to get to. I will be back in July.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Location is great, staff were friendly but slow restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, staff were friendly but slow restaurant menu was limited and over priced. Overall was not value for money for 5star hotel. Had a much better experience close by for a quarter of the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodations and fantastic service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from the moment of check in was extraordinary. Baur at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. The room was beautifully appointed and we had an amazing upper floor view of the Hancock tower! Peter, the concierge was fantastic, helping us with tickets to sightseeing tours and museums as well as pointing out other areas of interest such as cool lobbies to pop into and places to eat. I would give Sofitel on the Magnificent Mile a solid 10!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Baur was a great front desk associate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overnight security was very nosey. Not pleasant when were at the lobby. Also need better breakfast.

    Baur was a great front desk associate. Helpful and understanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Great property, great location. Will go back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception could be a little more professional and attentive. I was assisted by a trainee at check-in and was mislead with some of the information provided (was told that I was upgraded and that was later reconfirmed as a false statement by another receptionist).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel, but management needs to work with housekeeping staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area that needs the most work is housekeeping--I was only there for 2 days, but was not given any additional toiletries or coffees. The room was tidied, but just barely. Didn't even put all the pillows back on the bed. Very sloppy. No effort at all by the housekeeping staff. Also, each morning they are EXTREMELY noisy--slamming doors, screaming down the hall to each other, etc.

    Beautiful hotel and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a flight early morning around 3am. When I was waiting for a valet outside a homeless man came asking for money. Two residents arrived and the homeless man inside the hotel, waking pass the reception saying I’m hungry please give me money until they reached the elevators. It wasn’t until I notified the receptionist where he went to deal with the situation. I have nothing against the homeless man, they should’ve had security outside for that price per night especially that late at night.

    Great place overall! Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    It was really very nice 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I understood that if I booked directly with the hotel I would have taken better room with view.please correct me if I’m wrong. I’m used to book with Booking.com and I’m always satisfied but this time I discovered that they don’t give us good rooms.

    I loved Chicago and the hotel was nice but they didn’t accept to give me nice view. They said this is what you booked with Booking.com. I crossed the ocean and came from Lebanon so I would love to have nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a great view, it was much more spacious than I anticipated, a bathtub was an unexpected treat, and the bed was awesome. I slept like a rock which I rarely do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Loved our time in Chicago at the Sofitel! Would absolutely choose this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was beautiful and well maintained. Had an awesome waiter in the bar who provided outstanding service. Delicious coffee and croissants in the morning. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Poor etiquette skills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant was very rude and could be more polite. My room came with breakfast and when we checked in, I only received one voucher. I didn't think anything of it. When we went to breakfast, the girl said "one comes with breakfast and the other person has to pay". I said that doesn't make sense. However, I didn't want to make a scene so we sat down. I guess the supervisor comes over and says " normally we don't do this but I did you a favor and give you the other breakfast for free". We still shared breakfast because the waiter said"even though you have 2 coupons, it only comes with one breakfast". I didn't want to argue. I went to see the hotel manager and was informed that it was a "glitch" in the system and it shows 1 person at check in. I showed my reservation on my phone which shows 1 room, 1 night, 2 guests. I will not be staying here again.

    The property was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    I will return here because of the room quality and because of the friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fitness equipment could be better. Windows in the fitness center would make it seem more fresh and healthy.

    I loved the layout of the spacious room, the light wood, the lighted mirror in the bathroom, the rain shower, the huge window, the comfortable bed and beautiful bedding, the quietness and substantial feeling of the room, the attentive staff, the cappucino in the morning and the most tastiest breakfast sandwich prepared for us as we had to rush out the door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Responsiveness of staff, accommodating, quiet room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our suite might not have been stayed in for some time--there was dust on a variety of surfaces upon arrival. Staff was quickly responsive.

    Responsiveness of staff, accommodating, quiet room, beautiful city views, sense of luxury but still affordable. Special touches for our celebratory event were appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    I love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a little firm for my taste.

    I love this place. Stay here every time in Chicago. Best breakfast in town, nice rooms. The upper floors have been updated. I think they are working their way down. Great bar, great bar food. Great outside dining. The featherbeds and comforters are heavenly. Perfectly located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    My stay was absolutely perfect and I would definitely come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sofitel didn't receive my booking.com reservation. It was slightly annoying that I had to wait for them to verify that I had indeed made a booking and they had to make a new booking. Staff were apologetic and kind though.

    Upgraded to the top floor which was newly renovated for $20 per night. Fantastic location. Complimentary grab and go coffee and croissants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, great food and central location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. All good.

    Food is spectacular at this hotel. I highly recommend. The bathrooms are large and super comfortable. Big tub and stand up shower. Beds and bedding very luxurious. Rooms are small-ish but very, very, comfortable. Lovely hotel and very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Elegant and cozy hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some TV channels didn't have a strong signal. Very minor complaint.

    Hotel has excellent location near Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile full of shops and interesting restaurants. Our room was on the 18th floor with a nice city view and was very cozy on a wintry, snow evening. We loved the deep soaking tub, fluffy robe and sturdy slippers. It was my partner's birthday and he was surprised with some chocolate mousse in the room. When we came in for the evening, classical music was playing from the Bose clock radio and while a simple gesture, helped create an elegant and relaxing ambiance. Hotel staff are warm, personable and genuinely interested in providing a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.8
    I will not go back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was mediocre. Problem with bathroom vent and the bed wasn’t comfortable. I’ve been to hotel with lower ratings that had better beds and services.

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is in incredible, the lobby and bar are fun but I feel they are not keeping the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough towels, lack of toiletries, no bottled water.

    We are frequent visitors to the Sofitel in Chicago but I must admit I was extremely disappointed this trip. One of the things we love about the Sofitel is the luxurious bath towels and luffas. This time the towels were as rough as cardboard and truly needed to be removed from service and there were no scrub luffas for the tub. Also it is always nice to have a bottle or two of water in your room, this time there were none.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    The Location and the staff ability to respond to my issues...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room cleanliness was very bad. There was hair on my pillows - the cleaning person said it is feather but i dont believe feather would possibly reach the pillows if they were properly changed every day or before a customer checks in. Also there was white substance on the red long pillow and the cleaning person said it could be chemicals after I showed it to him. Highly doubt! and even if these things need to be inspected and changed.

    The Location and the staff ability to respond to my issues quickly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.0
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.when I checked in, there is no water on the desk, but the next day, they put two bottles of water on my table, so they must forgot the first day. 2.I lost my body lotion, I think it must be their stuff who took away my body lotion because nobody can enter my room except the cleaner entered my room the second day. The manager told me they will contact me after I left, but he never did! And I just found out I lost my new nail polish, when I called the hotel, they denied, said they found nothing in my room, I really suspect their stuff, maybe they think the body lotion and the nail polish do not worth a lot of money, but I think if they continue to do things like these, they will close someday definitely! 3.They did cancel my breakfast fee for my lost, but honestly, it was not as much as I spent on my body lotion, they did not contact me after I left, I am very disappointed at them, I won’t book this hotel again.

    The location is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    The perfect location for exploring Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very expensive. I didn’t know there was complimentary coffee available inside the restaurant. Front desk should inform guests of that upon check in.

    Perfect location for exploring Chicago.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Excellent first class hotel, bar and overall surroundings a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I entertained clients until the late hours. My room was 3109 excellent as stated above. At approximately 8:45 am construction began and I woke up to loud drilling and hammering. It was a terrible experience to have to wake up to the loud noise which lasted for a half hour then it stopped and started again at 10am. At which time I had to leave the room and sat in the lobby. Overall , I thought the hotel first time visit was excellent, first class. I told this to the fella who I checked out with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    We definitely will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our anniversary. They upgraded us to higher floor. Tho I paid for king room we got queen room which was fine. They sent us chocolate covered strawberries and bottle water. It was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ginger ale cap in bar was impossible to get off. Need to have it ready to pour.

    The greeting “Bonjour!” by the hostess as I entered the Cafe d’Architecture.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Stayed there four years ago and, while elegant and chic in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there four years ago and, while elegant and chic in scale, it is down at the heels now. (Tear in curtain, fading in rug) In need of a spruce up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall...this is a GREAT property. Wonderful location, nice rooms & bathroom w/tub +shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (1804) had 2 beds. On day of departure, I realized that the top portion of the bed I slept on was lumpy & elevated. Explained why my head felt uncomfortable...too elevated with pillows. Mattress needs to be looked at.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    The bar was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable. Lumpy mattress and flat pillows. No top sheets either, just a comforter. Maybe upgrade to queen beds instead of full size would be in order.

    The bar was awesome. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A. If you drive, park your own car in the parking ramp just down the block-1/2 the price of the valet parking.

    The staff was great--there was some sort of network outage so our check-in was delayed a few minutes. They upgraded our room and provided us with two complimentary drinks from the bar. Extremely friendly staff to boot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym is not as well-equipped and well-maintained as may be expected of such hotel My room key did not work three times Very high room prices

    Excellent location in downtown Chicago Good restaurant and reasonably priced given the high quality A nice French touch throughout the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The location and facilities were excellent and will return soon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant for breakfast was very slow.

    Clean and spacious room with every needed amenity. Excellent lighting in entire room, especially the bathroom. The gym had excellent equipment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    I had a good stay overall parking shouldn't cost so much and don't want to be over charged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the parking was so expensive for guests and I was charged for two breakfast instead of one

    The food was great the bed was real comfortable room was clean service was really excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    They could do with a lot of customer service training in their coffe shop . They are rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible staff at the coffee shop, very rude and totally unfriendly . I was there at 10:26am and was told that I can not have my complimentary croissant and coffee as it closed at 10:30am !! Very shocking

    The reception staff Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in not great, reception did not follow through on previous requests so we got a different room and he did not give us our breakfast vouchers. Service at breakfast not great. Slow and some staff not polite. Service at the bar (we sat outside) was painfully slow.

    Comfortable bed. Bathroom lovely. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    It ended up being a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TERRIBLY soft beds with huge dent in the middle. Staff offered another room but when we went to try out the beds before moving, found the same problem. Manager offered to have boards put under our mattresses & to remove pillow tops. This helped.

    Attitude of staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.5
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waste of money . No bang for the buck. Trust me I'll be staying with the Hilton's And Marriot's ! This place was no good . My money was wasted . The service was less than sub par . The room was dirty . It was a trashy experience

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great stay for a weekend in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and well maintained. Great location with city views. Beds were very comfortable. Everything was very detailed orientated. Guest services went beyond for our special occasion stay. Everybody was very friendly and accommodating. Food at restaurants were very fresh. Workout room and bar were updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    The service, the cleanliness,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked out our total was exceeded more tan 200 hundred dlls on fees we didn't know about..so, not really what Booking.com says it costs.. Next time I will call the hotel directly.. Didn't like that at all

    The service, the cleanliness,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    good but the best for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is not the best for a family with kids. very small size rooms, there is no family rooms nor any kind of entertainment for kids or even swimming pool. water is not free, very expensive food in room service.

    location is ok. Not the best for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Did the bike rental...easy and fun! Architectural tour..excellent. Fast and super fun Segway tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little too soft. Cleaning smell in our first room was too strong but they gave us a different room...not a great view like the original but...no chemical smell. Good customer service saved the day!

    Nice sidewalk cafe for people watching with creat french croissants and baguettes. Yum. Conviently located and an easy walk to many tourist attractions. Very close to the train that goes to Wriggley Stadium.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Don't Go It's Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very rude. The Services was horrible. The pictures of the room online wasn't accurate the rooms are small like dorms. The food was very small portions I paid for the food vouchers they only allow you to get one thing off the menu with that anything else was extra. I complained about stains being in the bed. And there was some typa bug in my room. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a pet.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The view from our room was gorgeous, and I really loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Nothing! My stay was wonderful, service was great, the room was amazing.

    The view from our room was gorgeous, and I really loved the marble in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Location, friendliness of staff, efficiency of check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendliness of staff, efficiency of check-in. Room was large, bathroom excellent - shower and separate bath. Walking distance to lake. Magnificent mile and good restaurants. Really enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location but I don't think we will stay there again for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two double beds for family of four was way too small. Room was only 350sq feet. We had to upgrade to suite which was an increase of $110 plus taxes per night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Althòugh parking was easy, the cost of parking with the hotel was absolutely ridiculous at $75 for overnight parking. I would suggest to other travelers that they park elsewhere and not at the hotel.

    Location was superb! Loved the outdoor seating and the hotel room was small but very nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel and location for Chicago
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was amazing. Accommodations were perfect, room was great, bathroom was great, bed was super comfy. All of the staff here are wonderful and eager to help. One of our many favorites with this hotel was the location. You are right where you need to be, just off of the magnificent mile and far enough to avoid all the traffic, but an easy (2-3 minute) walk to get to Michigan Ave. If you walk north or south from the hotel you instantly hit Rush street, which was our favorite part, with parks, restaurants and shops in both directions. Location couldn't be beat, only time we took the train was to to go the Cubs game, and we took a car to the Museum of Science and Industry, other than that you can walk everywhere from here, no need to rent a car! We know we will be back to Chicago, and we know we will be staying at the Sofitel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    It won't rock your world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included with our room, but they give you a limited menu that had only a few selections and it want that spectacular. We actually left and went to a restaurant close to the property and had an awesome breakfast. There are better properties in the area in the same price point or lower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Summer visit to Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of a negative

    Great location! Visited Wrigley Field and access to the Red Line El was close and easy to find. Did not need other transportation. Loved having coffee in the room - a big boost for getting up early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Good Good Good
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to say l don't have anything to add,majority of staff were friendly and l would go back

    The bed was very comfortable ,hotel and room very clean and crossans excellent in the morning With the paper which l had most mornings,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome Chicago trip, amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a floor facing the back of the hotel so would have liked a better view. Otherwise, perfect.

    Great location, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, spacious room, professional staff, great bar and restaurant. Quiet floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    First timer at sofitel hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool and the cleaning lady just came into our room one early morning without making sure if we're still sleeping or already awake

    The room's decent and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely small hotel in center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total price misleading from website. Taxes should be included. Room rather small. No pool.

    The bed was very comfortable. Room very quite. Complimentary coffee and newspapers in restaurant in the morning. Staff responsive to any concerns. Central location, near many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    except the location it's not worth at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with city view there but the actual view even worse than who bookes without city view. And the floor lamp when we arrived was broken already. I failed to call room service cause nobody answered.

    The bed is really soft and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice location and staff at reception and restaurant pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been cleaned by 3pm in the afternoon! There were one one large towel each and no extra pillows. No coffee facilities in the room For the money charged there should have been more.

    Nice location and staff at reception and restaurant pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Hard to beat accommodation in Downtown Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the friendly check-in to the efficient check-out everything worked to perfection. Location of the hotel is great both for shopping and sightseeing. Service is efficient and attentive. Excellent choice for staying in Downtown Chicago.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    A 4+ star hotel in a great location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location . Staff Michael is very helpful to fairly adjust the room rate for our upgrade to a suite based on booking.com sale rate and also complementary breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    If you have bad taste, look no further
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought this hotel would be a lot nicer since it is new and the building is lovely. However, it is decorated throughout the halls with disgustingly colored carpeting, paint and art, and the room was shabby -- think used holiday inn yellowish dented furniture, orange carpet, mirrored closet doors. ug. Truly disappointing experience. Certainly not all the rooms look like this? We got a deal thru Booking.com -- do they save the crappy rooms for those trying to save some money? Will.not.return.

    The sheets were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place for a stay in Chicago.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to have a simple sheet along with the bed comforter, as the comforter alone is too warm unless the room is kept cold. Also the new amminity charge was unexpected.

    I like this property, in its entirety very much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Short, but sweet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a lot. The parking overnight was $71. We ended up parking at a meter, then in the garage to save a few dollars.

    I liked the elegance and ambiance of the hotel. I also liked that there were several restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    71$
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not good. I've expected a better quality breakfast. The valet charge per day 71 $ was really a big surprise. It was written at the entrance but you don't expect a cost this much. It seems as they don't want you to come with a car...

    I stayed at a Premium Suit and the size was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During check out I had to find my luggage since the billboy left it in the lobby and went to do something else few minutes delay which was not needed

    The room was very clean and comfortable the bed I like sleeping in the cloud

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is 4-5 stars, very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not buffet. You only order one item from menu. If you are hungry go to some other hotel.

    Hotel is 4-5 stars, very good! Location excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money, go somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge list of things: 1) the staff is absolutely rude - I travel everyweek, have been to 52 countries and this was the first time in my life I was so badly treated by a receptionist on a check-in. From the "Hi" to the simply "here is your key", the lack of empathy, the rudeness without a reason, as if she was doing a FAVOUR for making my check-in. 2) Didn't stop there: Breakfast staff, apart from slow, took my order incorrectly: bread, ham and cheese and a banana smoothie, bringing and making me pay for eggs and bacon instead. The waiter does not speak English properly and the way and rudeness with me and my work colleague (both os uf native English speakers) when we tried to explain the correct order was absolutely out of proportion. 3) Concierge with a huge complex of superiority (do not understand why as in a hotel as such the guests are very polite and well travelled/educated). Extremely disappointed with ALL the interactions with ALL staff during the stay. 4) Breakfast may be reviewed as "fabulous" by other reviewers, but is "a la carte", meaning it is extremely slow (took us 45 min to be served both days); expensive (unless you are fine that an egg alone should cost 18 USD). After 2nd try we decided to have breakfast somewhere else. 5) The air conditioner in the room is very noisy and not powerful enough. I stayed in the 15th floor, room 1514. 6) this was by far the worst part: they charged my debit card twice. Remember the rude receptionist I mentioned before? In the check-in she ignored when I said it was a debit card, so I wanted her to be careful as the "deposit" for the room (which in this hotel is very high as they ask the hotel stay + around 50-100 usd per night, I do not remember now), otherwise as a debit card the entire amount would be charged rather than just secured, as no distinction between the real amount of the room And the overall (room + extra) security.

    Honestly, the only good thing is the room itself that has a good bed and a nice bathroom with a bath tube and italian shower separated. However, you find the same in other hotels with better price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest a buffet option for breakfast

    The concierge was very helpful with taxi reservations; the bar snacks were delicious, especially the cheese platter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Felt like home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You know, I didn't find the mattress very comfortable. It was fine, but not great. All the bedding, however was very nice.

    The room was well stocked with items that made my trip away from home very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.0
    Booking Sucks
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I booked a double room with 2 double beds and what we got was a single room, 2 double beds and no sofa bed. They said it's what booking sent them. So I got swindled for s much higher price for much less than I bargained for. The hotel refused to adjust the higher rate

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Good modern hotel, central location, French emphasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an extended mix-up with the room keys. The lobby was a bit cramped, with seats located too close to the check-in desk.

    Bathroom was very nice - larger than usual with a walk-in shower. Restaurant was good. We particularly liked the raisin pastry for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities could be better: shower drain clogged easily and vanity leg needed repair.

    Location excellent, Bedding comfortable, rooms quiet, lots of closet space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    We will be back again. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV could have been larger We had a suite with a city view facing SW -- very ordinary.

    The location allowed us easy access, often walking, to where we wanted to go. Great restaurants and Michigan Avenue are just steps away. Bathroom was beautiful and very comfortable Bed was terrific. Elevators are amazing -- always there in seconds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Always enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The servers at breakfast were not very attentive. Waited a long time for our food, and had to ask three times to get some butter.

    We stay here a few times a year, and it has always been good experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable and the rooms were quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we enjoyed our stay at the sofitel, the organization of the cleaning staff could have been conducted better.

    The bed was comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The staff were very friendly and helped us when any issue's occurred.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Amazing experience, fantastic service, great security, definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly not a single thing about this hotel I didn't like.

    Honestly a fantastic hotel and a great experience. Will definitely be staying here whenever I'm in Chicago. One note I do want to point out is the security this hotel has to offer. No one can access the elevators without a RFID card let alone the room. Also we ordered food and they require you to come down to the lobby and get it which is great for security purposes. We also noticed a good and friendly security presence. You really have to look for them to realize their there. Which is a great detail for a hotel in Chicago.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: