Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Club Hotel 4 stars

55 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036, USA

#165 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1215 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lux queen room not big enough to open a suitcase. Towels not sufficient. Only 1 to be for 2 adults. Charged more than booking.com provided. Insufficient explanation as to why.

    Location was perfect. Iroquois hotel next door was less expensive and probably better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great space and location in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit hard and pillows too sort (for me anyhow)

    Great space and excellent bathroom with oversized shower Fantastic location near Times Square and Broadway Big room size for NYC, this was our fifth visit to the city and normally stayed at major family hotel chains

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for us

    The service from the staff prior to our arrival was incredible, Erin at guest services helped us immensely in our preparation for the trip and was great with making our stay so happy. The hotel is situated literally a stones throw from Times Square and a short distance from Central Park, loved every minute and can’t wait to come back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    In the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Duplex
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Awful WiFi - there is no WiFi signal in the evenings at all. Don't even think to use internet in the evenings. Very old rooms - renovation is very needed. Discard additional $15 after checking out and when I came home already - I didn't even tried to argue.

    In the center of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again and would recommend as the location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we would change was staying in a room facing the street. Was never not noisy. Expected in the city, but hard to get use to.

    The rooms were exactly as pictured. We appreciated the space for our family of 5. The lobby even though small (we’re use to this as many boutique hotels in Quebec are the same) was welcoming and smelled wonderful. The staff was very friendly. Plenty of pillows on the beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a good experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They leave cookies in the evening for guests but they routinely left less cookies than guests in our room.

    Front desk was very helpful and kind. Robert went out of his way to help us by holding our luggage and giving us late check out because our flight wasn't till the evening also giving us great advice about using the subway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location (close to Times Square and to many metro stations). You can walk to Central Park or to Flatiron building. There are some coffees and restaurants near the hotel. Friendly staff. Good cookies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    The property is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC did not work well. The first night and next day they had to fix it. But they did fix it and checked on it also. It is shabby and needs major updates. The rooms have cracks, peeling paper etc., at over $600 a night not acceptable. It is very pricey for the lack of aesthetics, amenities, and the internet never worked once in 4 days.

    The property is in a great location. We also liked the historic preservation in the Grand Duplex.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a coffee machine in the room.

    Elegant in a low-key way. Staff were charming and responsive. I appreciated the tech center on the second floor. A real quality place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Close to everything and the people at the front desk were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and front desk would look better if there is more space.

    Close to everything and the people at the front desk were so nice and accommodating. Thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The hotel and the staff is excellent.
    • Group
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things I don’t like is they let you check in too late.

    The hotel and the staff is excellent. Hotel is close for everything, very clean “As they are saying don’t judge the book by its cover” I appreciate as well the doorbell man who help my husband who carry our luggage he is very helpful. The hotel is not expensive... affordable. I recommend this hotel nice and clean. I wish they allowed their clients to check in early rather to wait till 3 in the afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good location, not noisy and the staff was very nice and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wallpaper was dirty, elevator rug was old. Bathroom was a little too small. I would have expected some coffee early morning by the lobby as a courtesy.

    Location of the facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Urgent renovation needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lobby is just a corridor with a closet-size space where employees get stuck. The carpet (?) in the elevator is permanently dirty. In the room, wallpaper is peeling off everywhere, besides the stains. The door has many scratches. Amazingly, although there is a hair dryer in the WC there is no electric outlet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old rooms, no ambience, very dated

    Rooms were very dated. No lobby to enjoy. First room on street side was extremely noisy. Shower was really poor in 2nd room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Location .
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked queen luxe room which was supposed to be a double and single bed but got a double bed with a sofabed . Must have overbooked the luxe rooms as we got a makeshift one . The sofabed was rock hard and very uncomfortable so wasn't used at all . The windows looked out onto a brick wall .

    Location . Cleanliness . Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean is good but since it’s still old building of New York City. Met two cockroaches in our room.

    Great location. Got updated room with double room. Have welcome fresh cooked cookie everyday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    The City Club was very disappointing as it did not live up to the description on your website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our arrival ! Last year we visited NYC and stayed at The Cambrian Hotel. The location was good but all the rooms had showers - there were no rooms with baths . I dislike showers and prefer baths. So for our trip this year I did some very careful research and found that the City Club Hotel had baths . The description was quite clear - that even the Petite room had a bath so in January we decided to book . The booking.com confirmation that we received said that our room had both a bath and a shower. We also requested through Booking.com a quiet room. On our arrival we were dismayed to be told that not all rooms had baths and that we had been allocated a room that did not have a bath although it was bigger than the Petite room that we had booked . To be honest this was of very little interest to us - we had no intention of spending very much time in the room apart from sleeping. I had done a lot of research and had chosen the City Club because the room description listed baths . This trip was a special one - to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. In addition to not having a bath we were informed that we would have to change rooms the next day . This really was the last straw as we only had 5 nights in NYC and we wanted to get out early each day and make the most of our trip . We did not wish to have to pack all our things up and move . We were shown to a room at the back of the hotel but it was very noisy due to the air conditioning ducts for the hotel AC which ran right down the side of our room . We were told that this room was the only room available for that night and we would have to move the next day but it would be to a room with no bath. My husband was very annoyed by this stage and stood his ground with the reception staff and eventually after they had had a telephone discussion with the manager we were given room 605 and told we could stay in that room for the five nights but still there was no bath.

    The location and comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, Family Friendly and Super Comfy Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenish Toilet Paper

    We had a family suite to fit our large family of 7.Two rooms that connected It worked great! The beds were so comfortable. The location was AMAZING! Blocks from Times square, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center plus easy to take subway to Central Park and Yankee Stadium. We will definetley stay here again! Only complaint was they forgot to refill toilet paper

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    I thougth this staff was great.
    • Group
    • Grand Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a sweet that can hold up to 5 maybe 6 people for my Birthday. But the sweet didn’t really seem as Roomie once we got in, it kind of reminded us of a studio loft, nice and 95% clean except for the stains in the carpet floor. But just not what we had in mind for what we payed. Had I known I would have happily payed more.

    I thougth this staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel, great rooms and spot on location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not the hotels fault at all but we had a VERY noisy room next to us where it appeared that it was just children (the parents apparently were in a room on the floor above!) Banging doors, loud shouting, running up and down the corridor outside, had 2 nights of disturbed sleep and frequent calls to reception to ask them to contact the parents - this was at 0045 in the morning.

    The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the room sizes really generous for NY. Location is spot on as a few mins walk to Times Square etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    I'd definitely stay here again. It's in a great location!
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a delay in getting the room so the manager arranged for an upgrade for the inconvenience and breakfast for the two of us. Very nice! They were very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Overall, the location was great, the room was clean, but we had a less than great first impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived, we were directed to wait on the second floor until our room was ready. After a 30 minute wait (after the 3pm check in time) we saw a cockroach running around. It was not quite the first impression we were hoping for. The halls are dimly lit and the elevators could use some remodeling.

    The rooms were spacious and seemed to be updated. The location was prime and close to restaurants, subway stations, and Times Square!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly and the location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was a brick wall. There was hardly any day light in the room. A bit stuffy.

    Staff was very friendly and the location was excellent. Just a minute away from the subway and Bryant Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Cookies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was probably time for our room to be painted. There wasn't much of a view from either of our windows although one of them offered what might be described as a Zen view of some sky and rooftops. There was no actual lobby - just a small area opposite the check-in desk. I have noted this with some other Manhattan hotels.

    A pleasant hotel in a convenient location close to Grand Central Station and Times Square. The staff were friendly and efficient. Chocolate chip cookies and the NY Times were provided for us - nice touches.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, nice staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of breakfast. We had a window, but couldn’t keep it open because of the cold air coming through.

    Really good location, only two blocks away from Times Square. The staff and the cleaner lady were friendly. They brought us some cookies every evening for free. There’s also a good breakfast restaurant nearby called The Red Flame.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Location is great' Services was very good, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was supposed to be a room with 2 beds, but was just one bed, so we had to share. Was not a major issue but that was why I selected the hotel so we were a little disappointed.

    Location is great' Services was very good, room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel bar was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I switched CC during the stay, and i cant get the old balance (which still states "pending") on my orgionial CC

    The hotel bar was excellent. the room was clean, and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit small, the bed wasn't the most comfortable, and we found a dirty sock that wasn't ours in the room.

    The way the family suite was set up was perfect & the location was great! The staff were super friendly too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    it was good except bad size
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small rooms and specially bad's. i am 5.9 to 5.10 high and bad was small for me

    staff is very friendly and accommodating , the hotel is clean, restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Smaller than expected, but great bed and great staff - highly recommended!
    • Couple
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, bathroom, and the hotel itself were smaller than expected. From the photos it looked like the bath would be big enough for two, but it wasn't. And the view from our room was of a gray brick wall. The hotel itself also does not even have a facade, it's just a little door squeezed between a restaurant and another hotel. But, the money I was able to save and the great location (and the bed) made it completely worth it!

    I payed a little extra for the Luxe King room, and I do not regret it! The bed was like a cloud, and my partner and I slept like babies for both nights. We were so comfortable in our room that we chose to stay in on Saturday night to watch old movies in bed. Also, the staff was SO friendly, accommodating, and helpful. They cleared up my questions about billing, helped us navigate to certain places, and were always cheerful. The hotel is a short, easy walk from the New York Public Library, Bryant Park, Times Square, Port Authority, and much more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    We arrived at the hotel and the staff was courteous, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at the hotel and the staff was courteous, the rooms very clean and tidy for our taste. I highly recommend people to come and enjoy the hotel. I have no doubt that we will return to stay at this hotel. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, cozy stay in a little hotel tucked into a street near Times Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room perfume a little strong initially.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Convenient location to Times Square. Neat, clean rooms. Typical tighter premium on space for New York, but quite comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Very convenient, very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no storage place in the room, No individual lights .

    The fact that the personal was very courtuous and helpful. The fact that we could leave our luggages for a while after we checked out was a huge help !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, comfortable stay and awesome location; a no-brainer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor with all the duplexes seems to be a "party" floor (for obvious reasons) so if you're looking to rest or relax play it safe and take a regular suite -- you won't be disappointed. Did I mention that the showers are heavenly?

    As far as hotels in the city go, from my experience, this is an amazing find. We had a duplex suite through this site and a double through another. The duplex is super-cute and chic. The double suite is SO spacious, way more than I expected or have seen in any NYC hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The beds are just okay but with all the pluses that seemed minimal. Really happy with our stay and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall stay was great, just watch out for all the hidden fees they charge you after check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iPod dock is outdated. The room i was in made it a little difficult to watch tv if you were laying on the inside of the bed, due to the televisions placement. Expensive if you would like breakfast or room service.

    Great location only 1 block to Times Square. Loved the bathroom and the overall appearance of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    1. Very very close to Time square, Grand central park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a well-ventilated room, especially when u use air condition for heating.

    1. Very very close to Time square, Grand central park and the 5th avenue. 2. The room space is big enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved two adjoining queen rooms. What we got was perfect for our trip - one room had a larger, possibly king or queen-sized bed and was at the end of the hotel floor. The other had a full-sized bed. The rooms were joined by a small anteroom that connected with a 2nd card key to the hotel hallway. My husband and I stayed in the full bedroom and our teenaged daughter and her 3 friends stayed in the end bedroom. We heard no noise at all from their room or the room with the dog down the hall. The staff was the best - always smiling and quick to say "hello" or offer help. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the linens, toiletries and facilities extremely nice. Both rooms had an extra single daybed, with pillows which was perfect to use for luggage or lounging. The location was excellent - away from the noise of Times Square but a close enough to walk and nearby subways and upscale shopping on 5th Avenue. Grand Central Station and Bryant Park both just a stone's throw away. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is so cramped up, poor lighting at the hallways and I could here doors banging from the next door. Honestly, I could not sleep the whole time.

    accessible

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.5
    Great room, but who cares when bed bugs are your roommates?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed bugs sure do sour a stay... When we reported the infestation upon checkout, the hotel offered us a 50% discount. I was surprised they didn't comp the entire thing, but I countered with a 75% offer, which they agreed to. They didn't, however, offer to cover the required cleaning of all our personal belongings and clothing that could have been contaminated. In hindsight, the whole room should've been comped and I shouldn't have had to ask for it. Live and learn. For the record, I presented them with one of the bed bugs found.

    The room, a duplex, was fab.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was large, but there was little counter space to put toiletries. Our room had windows that looked into airshaft or alley. Considering we didn't spend much time in the room, this was not an issue.

    Location was great - convenient to metro, and walking distance to many destinations. Staff was friendly - more personal than larger hotels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    meh. would gladly pay more for something better even if hte location was worse
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no coffee maker or kettle in room bed mattress is way too soft, old, felt gross lots of wear in the furniture etc shower water leaked into the sink area unless you angle the fawcett in just the right way

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great option close to Times Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room windows could have a better insulation. It's a little noisy early in the morning on week days. The front desk and lounge are small and when many customers arrive together it becomes a little complicated.

    Room is comfortable, everything is clean and looks modern. They keep your luggage stored if you arrive before the check-in time and if you have a late flight when departing after check-out, what makes it easier to enjoy NY as much time as you can without carrying bags. Nice and always prompt staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Winter weather...

    The location was excellent. We stayed at the City Club to attend a show. Easy walk to all the theaters, Time Square, affordable restaurants and fancy ones too. Three minute walk to the subway!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic Location for a Charming and Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish there was a fan for the bathroom as there was no way to air it out during a shower or more importantly a particularly pungent toilet trip.

    First, the staff at this hotel was lovely, they were welcoming and extremely helpful. We needed a few extra toiletries and they provided them instantly. We had booked the family room as it sleeps 5 and although there was no pull out couch, the day bed by the window was extremely comfortable. It took up the entirety of the wall and the staff dressed it up with linens and feather-soft pillows. In the room, my niece loved the secret hiding spaces and the old fashioned window. In addition, the hotel was in an excellent location only 5 minutes away from the theater we were seeing Anastasia in (and Times Square). Although we did not eat at the hotel the diner two buildings down was amazing, fast, and cheap (and was recommended by the staff)! I would definitely stay here again when I see my next show!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    A perfect hotel to celebrate a special occassion!
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The (2) Grand Suites need some updating.

    Were celebrating (2) Sweet 16's. Eight girls shared both of the (2) Grand Deluxe Suites. They had an absolute blast. We the (2) Mom's stayed close by (our room was wonderful too!). The girls could not get over the beauty of the suite and did not want to leave, even for dinner! The staff was outstanding. Having worked in the hospitality industry for 15 years I am always very aware of the actions of the staff....if you have a great staff that really makes a difference and CC Hotel has a wonderful staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay with superb service and a comfortable, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, the staff were superb and the room comfortable and super roomy for the centre of Manhattan. We will definitely return! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us when we needed to stay three extra days due to a blizzard. We could not fault anything here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were super comfy! And the location was amazing, so close to everything in the Time Square area. The staff went above and beyond to meet our requests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Beyond expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV guide/listing. Had to call front desk for right channel number.

    Very intimate, stylish hotel in great location. Loved the artwork decor, uniqueness. Not a large cookie-cutter experience. Loved it. Will be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    I had a great time. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive and wasn’t the bed. The eggs seemed like eggs that come out of a bag. Wasnt impressed.

    The bed was literally like a cloud! I loved it. It was also super close to everything we wanted to do. It was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Will be coming back in the future, this place made our weekend that much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got upgraded to the king room for free, which was a great room and we enjoyed every moment we spent in it. Friendly staff as well and they made the checkout process quick and easy. Will definitely be coming back in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Met our needs. Would use property again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion between staff members over questions and accounting. Conflicting answers among each.frustrating.

    The room was warm and comfortable. Remodel is excellent. Location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Affordable 4* in the heart of Manhattan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requires cosmetic renovation. Security deposit $100 per night required (no mentioning of this anywhere on Booking.com).

    Location is superb. 44th street and 6th ave crossing provides you with walking distance access to all the midtown landmarks. Spacious room with very big and extremely comfortable bed. Complimentary cookies in the room :) Late checkout and storage for luggage were provided upon request free of charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main entrance was jammed when we went, but the hotel staff were nice enough to open doors for us, etc.

    I like that it's perfectly one avenue away from 7th avenue. The location is perfect! Close to the subway, 10 blocks to Central Park... etc. Everything is so accessible and convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.3
    New York is amazing. The hotel is terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is difficult to know were to start! We were paying $600 per night for a 'Lux' family room, the room was on the 8th floor, and was tiny with uncomforable and very small beds. The noise from the Air conditioning units (for the whole hotel) were located above our room and made sleep impossible, but even worse the room literally vibrated! Be warned the pictures for the hotel are very misleading. Needless to say we moved to another hotel the next day.

    Zero

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Once more , our favorite spot in NYC
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Snow !!!

    Second time here . Wife saw other properties cheaper(she has never been) but daughter and I ( have been here ) stood our ground . Now my wife is a believer !! I personally will stay no where else ! Staff is just over the top helpful and friendly ! Location for shows , impossible to beat . Should be noted we have stayed in 6 other hotels in Time Square prior

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel a stones throw from Times Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff that went out of their way to help us out when a snow storm hit. Extremely spacious rooms for the location, a block to Times Square. Lovely restaurant and bar. I can’t wait to stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean but size of room were very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above comments

    The bar was very expensive and didn’t feel like a hotel bar, but a bar/restaurant/bistro that happened to be connected to the hotel (if that makes sense!) It seemed to be always full, but I think this was people off the street having a posh meal. We found a much friendlier and cheaper diner 2/3 doors down. Had drinks, breakfast and dinner in their a few days . We were given the wrong room to start with as the information from Booking.com hadn’t reached the hotel. They had accommodated us on 1 adult , when in fact there was 4 (me my husband and two adult children). They had all this information before we arrived as I had requested birthday balloons ( which I would have had to pay for $80 minimum) so not quite sure as to why they thought only 1 person was staying, as I had had personal contact on numerous occasions with the manager???. They were expecting one of our daughters to sleep on a window sofa thing and the other to sleep on a camp bed, but considering the size of the room+ 4 adult suitcases would have made our week stay unbearable. I went and spoke to the evening staff, who were happy to listen to our complaint and they did try their hardest to accommodate us. We had the small room for one night as there was no free rooms available on the Saturday of our arrival. They were happy to move us the next day, which they did. We did have to pay extra for this privalige( $30 x6 days a night extra) !! I’m sure I got fiddled along the way some how!!! We had to pack our things up in the morning, and during the day they moved all our belongings into another room. The room wasn’t any bigger, just smaller beds. Two small doubles instead of the two large queens I was expecting I had paid for in my original booking ‘ King Deluxe Suite ‘ would be expected. We did end up having room for the four of us to sleep at night, and we put our suitcases on the window sofa thing to keep them out of the way on the floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    We came for New Year’s Eve, ball drop was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a family of 5 so the extra window bed was great!! Beds were comfortable, room was large and bathroom was huge with amazing shower!! Hotel is older but well kept. Staff was amazing!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Great spot to stay close to Times Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating/air con was noisy, no tea or coffee making facilities in room.

    Great location in heart of NYC, friendly reception staff, comfortable and large king sized bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall worth the value and it worked for my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking offered and had to us garage across the street which also doubles as an enterprise car rental which made it very busy. No view since it’s middle of street view. The beds need to be updated as they were pretty uncomfortable.

    The staff was friendly and the rooms were setup up well for my family. Very convient to everything in mid town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down cramped property with disinterested younger staff. Ambivolence must be the new cool. It seems the use of a word like “boutique” in a property’s description releases it from the burden of cleanliness and service to guests that encumbers every othe 4+ star hotel. #overpricedHostel

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Very close to time square and the staff was great and gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive but everything is expensive in NYC.

    Very close to time square and the staff was great and gave great tips on when to beat the crowds to see everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Excellent night stay with 3 kids under age 10 and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent night stay with 3 kids under age 10 and grandparents. Greeted with cookies and as a bonus the staff brought up a bottle of complimentary wine and cupcakes for my birthday girls! Easy access to Bryant Park for morning ice skating! Really great location - I lived in NYC for years and this was a great spot for enjoying the holidays in the city. Extra bonus was the incredible dinner at David Boloud downstairs - the carrot soup was out of this world and the coq au voin was tops!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Will choose the Sofitel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $400/night, the room was tiny and like a sarcophagus, thermostat useless so hot and stuffy, no natural light. Claustrophobic. The quality of the (tiny) public spaces has declined - dirty carpet in the elevators, scuffed walls at the reception. Overall impression is kind of seedy.

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    perfect location and loved the quaint boutique hotel with lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms could have been a bit larger

    liked the bathroom and the ammenitites...fluffy towels....loved the extra touch of the warm cookie delivered at bedtime by lovely staff....all employees were kind and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall cleanliness seemed great but having dropped something around the AC unit I had to look around further. Oh my God! The AC unit was a big mess. All that dust and rubbish there really put me off...

    The location was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    While comfortable the sizes of the room smaller than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Queen Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While comfortable the sizes of the room smaller than anticipated I was under the impression I was booking a joint suie but actually got two separate rooms both comfortable but again smaller than expected. It was quiet and the beds had the ultimate bedding! A great find in midtown Manhattan

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Would be perfect for a couple - location brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 4 of us, our bed was brilliant but our two girls were not as comfortable in their rather poor beds and had a blanket instead of duvet.

    The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Luxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not so big. Taking unexplained additional 500 usd from the credit card as a deposit is not appreciated and gives an unwelcome feel.

    Friendly staff. We could safely store our bike rentals overnight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Location is great and room is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not flexible with check-in time. I couldn't get the room before 3 pm, not even half an hour. So not recommended if you are arriving early.

    Location is great and room is clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    the accommodation was located in a great spot, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the accommodation was located in a great spot, close to times square, broadway and 5th ave. We booked a musical and we can walked there. The receptionists and doormen were very friendly and helpful. excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Okay, good location, over-priced if you're just there to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly over-priced property. The room was small, though that made for a certain coziness. Good for two people max. Moderate noise issues, rumbling elevator nearby, machinery outside, and the room A/C was very loud and made crazy sounds every time it shut down. USB charge port would be nice, did not find even in the common areas. No pen in the room.

    The room was up to date with modern decor, was clean, and stocked with most everything you need for a stay. The bathroom and shower were nice. Looked like a nice partner restaurant next door, but I had other plans. I noticed a traditional diner on the same block.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel was excellent for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fifth bed in the room is a sofa that opens and is offered as a bed. And there is no possibility of an alternative seating for the number of people in the room, our case 5 people

    The location of the hotel was excellent for us. Very short distance to the attractions thet New York has to offer. Access to metro / central station / public transport was excellent.!! The street was particularly quiet and surrounded by the best cafés and restaurants.But most of all, I would like to thank all the hotel staff who helped us with any question and made sure our vacation was successful.No doubt we will be back soon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    New York sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxe 2 Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view looked out on to a brick wall. Rooms bit stuffy but could put air con on if you want. Hotel decor bit tired but perfectly OK as we spent very little time in the room. Very disappointed no tea/coffee facilities in room. 🙁

    Staff very pleasant and location excellent. Beds very comfortable plenty of space in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    I've stayed at this hotel several times.
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late at night, close to 11:pm. Very helpful staff in trying to get a formed faxed for me. Then ordered room service salad after 12:00 and was charged a extra $12.00 "after midnight" fee. I think hotels don't realize a gouge like that can turn a guest off a hotel.

    I've stayed at this hotel several times. Always comfortable and great helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Club Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: