Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CITY ROOMS NYC - Soho 3 stars

120 Lafayette Street, SoHo, New York, NY 10013, USA

#253 of 420 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1128 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Stellar location with easy train access and incredible food. Clean. Cute. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't change a thing about this little hotel. I couldn't have asked for a better hotel to spend the night in. If I need to stay the night again in the future, this one will be my first stop for certain.

    First off, the area this hotel is in I'm very familiar with. You're right on the border of China Town and Little Italy so there's no shortage of brilliant food options. Not to mention the shopping in Soho! The yellow line subway trains are right outside the hotel which take you virtually anywhere in the city and connect to most other lines with ease. About the hotel itself... the staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The room was spotless and spacious. It felt like more than enough room for me as a one person reservation. It's on a busy intersection of the street but I slept like a log. Now, I spent four years in the city so you can take that with a grain of salt, but unbiased opinion aside, there were no loud noises that would startle you from sleep or keep you awake all night. Plus, the hotel provides complimentary ear plugs if you don't want to take my word for it! It's a great hotel at a decent price for NYC. Don't sleep on this one!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    not worth the money, more scuzzy than funky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator had an off putting odor which is part of your first impression. The “funky” decor was unfinished pine crates screwed to the wall and we’re dirtyy looking. We put paper towels down before placing anything on it. The bathroom floor was mat black and never looked clean. The hallways leading to the rooms was just plain white with no attempt to look like a hotel. It looked like an apartment building. Just not what I was expecting for the money we spent.

    We like the fact the hotel was close to china town, Soho, little Italy and Metro stations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    The location was great with Canal streets subwaystation just...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of the room could have been better. They didn’t change our sheets until we complained our fourth night.

    The location was great with Canal streets subwaystation just around the corner. Close to Broadway and nice surroundings like Nolita and many nice places in Soho.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.6
    The room is so noisy it's impossible to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very noisy because of the busy street and had bad soundproofing. It was pretty much impossible to sleep because of noise. You would expect that hotel which takes $300+ per night would do something about it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Best price for a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was fairly cramped, but it wasn't an issue for us at all.

    The bed was large and very comfortable. The television was filled with entertaining movie channels. Location-wise, the place was in the most convenient part of SOHO. It was within walking distance from the metro. There were great places to eat all around. There was never a boring day. I thoroughly enjoy SOHO more than any part of NY.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    We didn’t spend much time in the accomodation as we were out&about most of the time..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extra small had no room for our case had to put it on the table.. as we say in Ireland “you wouldn’t swing a cat in it”😆was clean& no carpet which I was happy about.. bathroom was very very small🤭 The noise was BAD coming from the street.. The AC made a lot of noise so didn’t leave it on at night..was very affective when on though..👍

    The coffee when it was available , The Bed was very comfy had to request a second pillow& our douvet was short on size but was changed a day after we arrived👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel for city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was super friendly and helpful. The location is great. Very easy to get around in the city. The hotel offered water, tea and coffee in the lobby. Nice restaurants, Cafés and bars were very close located in soho or little Italy. I highly recommend going to the antique garage for dinner and to the nomo hotel kitchen for breakfast once. Best coffee we got in Cafe bari across the canal street. The room is not very big but clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    A great value for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third floor location came with street noise but City Rooms provided ear plugs and hey, it is NYC!

    The bed was very comfortable and the room, though small was spotless! The location is very convenient to the Canal Street subway stop and many affordable dining options. The location is also a thirty minute walk to Lower Manhattan and plenty of additional siteseeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location in the heart of Soho!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    AC is a bit tricky. Noisy and not very contemporary technology. There is no bar nor snacks area although at the reception they provide water dispenser with tea and choco bags ;)

    Great location just around the corner with Canal St. metro station. Lovely cute breakfast place just besides the property. But many more options on canal street itself. The room we stayed was a twin room. Small but we could manage with luggage and clothes. Bathroom perfectly functional and decent size. The room comes with locker, fridge (empty) and AC (a bit noisy though). Personnel very friendly and helpful (especially Huen, she was a saint ;) )

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for exploring the city- basic, functional but clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much- rooms were a little basic and small but value for money.

    Excellent location, clean and functional city base. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was exactly what we needed as a place to lay our head and explore the city from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    We loved the room and the location of the hotel. We would repeat again for sure!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby was very small. Additionally we had an incident with the fire alarm in our room. It started to sound during the night due to low battery. It was unpleasant, but the hotel personnel came asap to solve the issue.

    The room and the location of the hotel were great!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Reception staff always greeted you when you were in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a leak in the ceiling after a storm (we were on the top floor). It saturated one side of the bed, waking us. The staff organised for it to be patched up quickly, which was great, but they didn't offer us any compensation for the inconvenience of the leak or having workmen in our room to fix the problem, which was disappointing. Even a dinner voucher would have gone a long way. Bit disappointing in that respect, but everything else was good.

    Reception staff always greeted you when you were in the foyer. The coffee/tea in the foyer was a bonus. Close to Canal Street station - always quick and easy to get uptown or downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Not the best hotel selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else. The room was uncomfortable, the bathroom was tired and in need of an update. The caulk was all moldy in the shower which isn't too pleasant.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel location is great : 1 minute away from the subway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit smaller than I expected.

    The hotel location is great : 1 minute away from the subway station, located next to chinatown and little italy, lots of places to eat, 15 minutes walk away from the brooklyn bridge and lower manhattan. Also, during the check out, I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel with was a positive aspect too so I could spend the entire day in the city without carrying it. Staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    The location, very close to subway and in the limit of 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small but if you will be all day outside will be fine

    The location, very close to subway and in the limit of 3 areas, Soho, Little Italy and China town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    WON'T GO BACK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The shower was the size of a match box. It was more appropriate for a midget. The room didn't even have a clock and later found out none of the rooms did. There weren't any bars of soap, rather a wall dispenser like in a public bathroom above the sink and in the shower itself. The television was small and the angle couldn't be changed, I had to align myself in the bed to face it! There was no top sheet, rather a thick comforter top, and who knows when the last time it was washed. Cheapness all around.

    Nice staff, garbage facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    convenient and great location between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it may be a problem of manhattan (pipes?), but there was constant funny smell coming from toilet bowl despite it being cleaned.

    convenient and great location between chinatown/soho/lower east side. next to canal st subway. comfortable bed. good price compared to other places in manhattan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    The personal of the reception is so kind, they are always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal of the reception is so kind, they are always willing to help you get a wonderful stay in NY, the location is perfect for those inerested in night activities, the area is full of cossy bars and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in new york; Excellent location with easy transport links on doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was slightly on the small side but not really a big deal as we were only there for 2 nights

    Great location - China town and Little Italy on your doorstep. Plus quick and easy subway links to the rest of the city. Nice comfortable beds, decent air conditioning, good shower and friendly/helpful staff. Everything we needed for our trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    A good alternative for someone looking for good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The vibrations from the subway made it hard to sleep. The traffic in the intersection Canal Street and Lafayette Street is also very busy.

    Very friendly staff, good price and central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn't return there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and noisy due to traffic. But the main problem was cleanliness: I had towels changed due to big brown stains (one was so unacceptable I had to bring It to the receptionist), and a pillow changed due to blood stains on it. I am sorry to write a negative recension, but It was really disgusting.

    All the receptionists were super friendly. Free coffe the morning in the main hall, and was also quite good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Convenient, close to shops restaurants and in the heart of Downtown Manhattan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for a busy schedule in the city. While Canal is loud and congested during the day, it is super quiet at night which allows for quiet sleep.

    Great location in the heart of Canal/Soho/Broadway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Very well placed, easy to get to Metro, clean and friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While this is a great place for a short 1-2 days visit, any longer and the lack of storage space (shelves and/or bureau) would make it hard.

    Very well placed, easy to get to Metro, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea coffee facilities were on the ground floor but had a fridge in the room. The elevator smelt of sewerage reported multople times without resolution

    The convenience of location.the room and the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Fun place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator shaft smelled very bad, like sewage. Drain in our room (304) would not drain in shower. Somewhat moldy shower.

    Cool exterior and interior rooms. Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Despite being in the heart of the city, and despite offering...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee was only available in the lobby and only from 6:30 on. The elevator had a distinctive odor... a chair and desk in the room would have been appreciated.

    Despite being in the heart of the city, and despite offering complimentary ear plugs(!) the street noise never kept me awake and there was no noise from inside the hotel. The subway is very nearby for getting to midtown Manhattan quickly; there is a great little coffee shop right next door and many other breakfast offerings in the vicinity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    When shall we book our next trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room isn't the biggest ever but ticked all the required boxes for us (perhaps a few extra coat hangers wouldn't have gone amiss as we were there for a week).

    The price and location compared to many of the other options were unbelievable! Room was comfortable, clean and had pretty much everything needed for a one week stay. In great walking proximity to Soho, Chinatown and other notable locations. Fantastic shopping nearby - both high street and independent. Metro station with good links a matter of minutes away and a 24/7 shop across the road. Staff couldn't really have been much better in terms of helpfulness and knowledge of getting around :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise can be a bit loud but that’s all part of being in NYC

    Have stayed at this property several times, have never been disappointed. Very convenient to the places I visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great location. Great Service. Great value. Great Room!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in town for an event at a local music venue. everything about my experience with City Rooms was 5 star! the front desk was friendly and professional. check in was a snap. the room was clean and welcoming. the value for such a room in lower Manhattan exceeded my expectations. awesome experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy (because of street traffic) but the heart plugs solved that.

    Upgrade to a King room (very confortable and clean). Great value for money! The tea making facilities and coffee provided at the reception were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    A fair price for New York City
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the face towels had stains on them. The tiles around the bottom shower glass was dirty. Shower was very small.

    The decor was simple yet cute. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Another overpriced classic Manhattan hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from the traffic 🚥 they give us ear plugs to sleep and there is no fridge, small room classic overpriced Manhattan and poor WiFi reception in the rooms.

    Anne help us a lot very professional friendly staff perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Had a great time and would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small so there was a lack of storage but that was to be expected so not a huge deal. The elevator smelled liked sewage every time you went in it though. And you’re right under a subway so every few minutes your room kind of shakes. That didn’t really bother me though. A lot of people said noise was an issue but it wasn’t that bad. You’re in New York so of course expect some noise. No ear pugs needed for me but they provide them for you in the room.

    Rooms were cute and cozy and in a good location. They had cold and hot water all day long for you which is great so you don’t have to buy water bottles. We had a reusable one and kept re filling. There was also coffee till around 2 and then tea and hot chocolate packets to use. The hotel itself was super cute and exactly what we needed for the 3 day trip we had in New York. It was small but we weren’t in the room much since we were there to explore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very noisy, ear plugs on the pillow not chocolates, shower had remnants of previous guest with hair on tiles, overall not as clean as other hotels stayed in. Toilet horrible. No room for luggage. No porter service. We would actually rate the hotel at 3/10. Two positives, Bed was comfortable and coffee, herb teas available in lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Good quality-price ratio with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Because of thin windows the room was a bit cold (wintertime), and street noise might disturb you -Wifi was slow sometimes

    -Very friendly and helpful staff -Good and interesting location; close to Soho, Chinatown and Little Italy. Several subway lines accessible just around the corner, e.g. 15 minutes ride to Times Square. -The room was not big but large enough for two persons

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in the heart of Soho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay at City Rooms NYC Soho. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is interesting, has nice restaurants and a lot of cool stores just around the corner. It is a bit loud indeed but the hotel provides ear plugs to sleep however we did not really need them. The bed is super comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    I had a good and comfortable stay at this hotel and i would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the filthy windows and the safe wasn't mounted or bolted down.

    I liked the bed, the location of the hotel, the staff and the late check out option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Room was small but not too tight, staff was quite friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While looking for the hotel, i had a lot of difficulty finding it because the only name i could see was located smally on the front door.

    Room was small but not too tight, staff was quite friendly and was located right by the subway. Complimentary tea and coffee avalible. Everything was very clean and comfortable If youre a foodie theres a lot to try in this area, highly recomend this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable beds, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn’t get to the room till around 4-5pm which twice was the same time we were back getting ready for the night so went without a room clean.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, we asked to be moved to the 5th floor and still wasn’t great from a sound perspective. Soundproofing is very poor. There is also a lot of light coming into the room. All-in-all if you’re a light sleeper then this isn’t for you.

    Location was good. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location - great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location! The rooms are a bit small, but thats not were you spend your time when in NYC anyway. Great value for the money; close by most Canal St stations that takes you in all directions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location in lower Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tight, a little tough for two people to manoeuvre in.

    Great location, clean, bright, good staff. The location in lower Manhattan is convenient to forms of transport, train stop just around the corner. Within easy walk of SoHo, East Village and Greenwhich Village. The beds are very comfortable. Wifi is strong and consistent. Friendly staff, always willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The staff made us feel at home by acknowledging us at all times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is probably just a me thing, but, washrooms are very important to me when I stay somewhere, and the washroom was the only thing that really bothered me cause it was SO tiny! I'm a tiny person myself already and I felt claustrophobic in it. The shower door was interesting cause you had to push in instead of pull, so getting in and out was annoying. So if you don't really mind how the washroom is, then disregard this! Also, every time I tried to use my hair tools, the plug would just fall out of the wall outlet cause they were loose. BEWARE: there's a lot of sirens going off day and night near here!

    I liked that I booked a Queen sized bedroom but when we got there, we were given a King sized bedroom instead- which was great! The staff there were really friendly and helpful as well, as we had trouble with our safe and they came to the room to try to fix it, but then they gave us a new safe. If you need a refrigerator, they will be generous enough to give that to you. If you need to go for a quick meal after you check out, the staff there are willing to keep your luggage for you :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    well positioned motel like hotel in Soho
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed moved around floor nowhere properly to hang clothes hotel is more of a motel than a hotel

    position is good near Manhattan bridge and well positioned in Soho

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    An excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise although ear plugs were provided

    The staff were very welcoming and always keen to please! Loved the free coffee every morning it was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall, our stay was great. Would book again!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was a bit smelly, although we never had to wait for it:) The mattress slipped around off the base. Shower had a little mold.

    The location was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Liked the location and staff was nice for Nyc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I literally FELT the subway underneath us at night- woke me up several times. The earplugs can't help that...

    Liked the location and staff was nice for Nyc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Price was great, location to subway great for getting around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was comfortable but up against wall which made difficult in middle of night to go to bathroom.

    Price was great, location to subway great for getting around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Cosy little den in bustling part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe wasn't working and the staff were too busy to fix it. We had to withdraw more cash as it was stuck in there.

    Central location and cute little room. Great shower and TV. Rooms spotlessly clean. Good hot chocolate in reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    The staff at the front desk are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is much smaller than it looks like on the website. The smell in the hotel sometimes is awful. Room maid did not clean the room well

    The staff at the front desk are great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location, decent value, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe could have been slightly cleaner but was still fine, not much space in room but don't really need it

    Good location, noise wasn't too bad for NYC, helpful staff allowed us to check in early

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, comfortable bed and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I'm allergic to dustmites, and if we turned the airco on. So did my allergy. So every morning I woke up with puffed eyes, even though I took medication. And during the day outside it went away. So a tip for the hotel is to vacuum more often.

    The bed was really comfortable and the hotel was located on a metro stations with lines to all of the different corners of manhattan, so we didn't have to walk a lot. Furthermore, you could wake up with a nice cup of coffee or tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    City Rooms Soho was priced decently to sleep at but given the choice again, I would stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are smaller than pictured, not as bright as ones pictured in ads. The pillows were very thin and not very comfortable. I had a room on the second floor, and if I stood anywhere except for by the door, people on street level could see you, causing me to leave the blinds closed the entire stay.

    City rooms Soho is in a good location, on site staff was helpful with questions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    I had a great time in NYC and City rooms was a good base
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy but it’s downtown NYC and ear plugs were provided

    Very close to the Subway with links to all the main attractions so getting around was easy. Wide variety of places to eat been in Soho and Little Italy been around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Location, clean but small!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is very small, only two of us so we didn't mind but definitely not much space. Didn't bother me but the hotel faces a busy nosy street - there is earplugs for you in the room.

    The room was very clean and towels etc changed everyday. Location is great & over the subway. Great wifi!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is perfect for travelling around Manhattan on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect for travelling around Manhattan on the subway. The staff are very helpful and attentive. Beds were comfortable and the room was nice and warm (we travelled in November)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    We got a non-refundable rate, otherwise we would have left after smelling the elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've stayed in MUCH nicer places in NYC costing the same, or even less. The hallways and elevator stank of the subway/sewers. The person at the front desk proudly told us about the free wifi (standard, everywhere else I've stayed at this price), but the speed was abysmal. My boyfriend, who needed reliable internet to work remotely, ended using other unsecured wifi in the area. All the rooms face a main road, and the noise from the street made it almost impossible to sleep (ear plugs were provided in the rooms, which gives you some indication of how bad it is). The mattress was way too soft. Pillows (only one per person) were flat. There wasn't even a proper blanket; just a flat sheet and the coverlet.

    Very convenient location, just steps from the Canal Street metro station. The staff were friendly and tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect spot to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. But it's good.

    Clean room, clean bathroom. Extremely friendly staff. Good location near Chinatown and sub when you walk out of the lobby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with really welcoming and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small but perfect for just the requirements - sleeping in between all the tourist activities!

    Excellent location with really welcoming and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Great no frills stay. Clean and private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street noise levels were pretty high in room, but what can you do in NYC.

    The hotel was very clean and overall good experience for a weekend trip. If you're looking for a no frills hotel in NYC with a good location next to subways, it's not bad. We chose this place because it was low priced and convenient to both LaGuardia and wedding venue in BK we were going to via public transit (the NQRW). We lived in NYC prior to visiting so already knew the area and didn't expect it to be quiet - lots of street noise, but hello it's NYC! You have to sleep with earplugs (which they provide) and the bed vibrated a bit from the subway (I was surprised by that). A lot of reviews said it was small, but it didn't seem small at all for NYC...my old apartments in both Manhattan and Brooklyn were much smaller! Awesome food around there, whether you want cheap Asian food or fancy Soho dinners. We did deMaria for brunch, Cocoron for lunch, and Xian's famous foods for dinner. Great shopping too in Soho. I would stay here again if it was still the best deal for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.9
    Close to Canal subway stop.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big NO-NO! The rooms are extremely small, even for Manhattan. The distance between the bed and the bathroom door is probably a palm-length. The bathroom is even smaller with a strange layout. The air con is situated right next to the bed, and it is way too noisy to make sleeping possible (even for a deep sleeper). However, because of the poor window isolation, the room gets like a freezer without the heater on in the winter. The hotel is situated by a large boulevard which makes it LOUD! Every time a subway passes by, the entire building will shake. The pictures on booking.com are very misleading. These pictures make this place look like a chic boutique hotel, which is very far from the reality. The room we stayed in was very run down, and probably half the size of the one in the pictures on Booking.com. The bathroom is moldy. For the price you end up paying for this place you can get far more value for money in other parts of Manhattan and even in this area.

    Close to Canal subway stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    We needed a simple, comfortable, inexpensive room to stay in while we saw some of NY. It delivered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have used a lower/regular height chair in room. The building rattles and shakes when the subway goes by underneath the building. This wasn't actually a problem for me but others wont like it. The cockroach that fell off my door, onto me, onto the floor, and then scurried under the bed before I could kill it. But it's NY and they are right over the subway!

    Nice, compact room. The staff are really nice and helpful. They will store your luggage for you (for a short time) both before and after you check in so you can check out the sights. Close to Chinatown, Little Italy, subways.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    This is ideal if you are sight seeing and just want somewhere clean and tidy to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaners wouldn't take rubbish away from the room that was left next to the bin.

    The room was small but very clean with en-suit, very comfortable bed . Excellent location with the subway to Times Square outside. Compared with the extortionate New York prices city room is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Small but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small but very comfortable. Great bathrooms. They had coffee free of charge during the morning. And the people at the front desk where always nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Soho/ Little Italy. Cosy, small hotel with very friendly staff, hot and cold water available in reception all day. Walking distance to Brooklyn Bridge, World Trade Center, good restaurants and great shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    Good value for money. Basic hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Great value for money, but very basic facilities. Cleanliness could be improved....someone needs to clean behind the shower door and in the corners of the shower base....inches of grim and mould off putting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean room. Friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO WHERE TO SIT EXCEPT BED OR ONE HARD HIGH STOOL . No coffee maker in room. No vending machine or ice machine.

    Front desk staff were very helpful. One young lady from Barcelona (doing one year internship in hotel mgt) n one young man from Bangladesh ( studying electric engineering) were GREAT !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff was really friendly, the Wi-Fi was really good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel suited our needs very well, but I can imagine that some people might like a bigger room, but we only really needed it for sleeping and all basic facilities were there such as a fridge, bathroom, iron, tv.

    The staff was really friendly, the Wi-Fi was really good, there was good climate control in the room and the bed was really comfy. The location of this place is amazing, walking distance (as in 5 meters) from subway station with subway lines going to all places in Manhattan and Brooklyn. Walking distance from vibrant Chinatown and the cool Soho shops and cafes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    The rooms were small, but very clean, and the persons at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The first room on the 2nd floor was very noisy (at the corner of two busy streets), but we moved the 3rd day to a more quiet room on the 4th floor, on canal street. The air conditioning was noisy, so we had to cut it off at night.

    The rooms were small, but very clean, and the persons at the desk were very helpfull: to print our boarding card, book a jazz concert , the airport shuttle to JFK airport (very convenient: low price and last one to be picked up, no time loosed).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    For the price it was a solid hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud rooms due to window, air conditioning and other guests. House cleaning materials all around the halls when I arrived made it difficult to access room. The room is tiny. TINY. Bed was OK but not very comfortable.

    For the price it was a solid hotel. Reception & Check In was very kind and quick. The location is convenient. Shower was good, internet ok and a/c worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    We were there primarily for its location, in which it delivered .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe wasn't secured. So it didn't serve its purpose. There's room for improvement when it comes to cleanliness .

    The location was perfect for our visit. The property was what we expected based on reviews . Would I stay there again? I don't know. I'd certainly take a look @ other properties in the same location .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, responsive staff, cozy room--a small oasis in soho!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked my room cleaned a bit earlier on Friday. That's a big turnover day for them, I understand, but I returned from my meetings at 4:00 and just wanted to relax, shower, get ready for my evening, and had hoped to come in and find fresh washcloths, emptied trash, like on the previous day. I called down to the desk and they let me know that cleaners would be there before 5:00. The front desk person offered to bring me fresh towels, but I said I would wait. At 5:00 I called again, and then someone came in to exchange the washcloths and empty the trash. Perhaps, an extra person on Friday to get the rooms for current guests done a bit earlier would help?

    Front desk staff were friendly and responsive (E.G., I was having trouble locking the safe and someone came right up, changed the batteries, and showed me how to do it). Coffee and hot water in the lobby, so was nice to get a cup of tea each night. Easy to walk here, and soho is a great neighborhood. Also VERY easy to get to Newark Airport since close to Holland Tunnel (got to the airport in 30 minutes on Saturday morning). LaGuardia or JFK would be more challenging. Room was snug and comfortable. Cute decor. Large window, so nice to see the city from there. Shower pressure was OK, with immediate hot water, which was nice. Soaps and shampoos are all in liquid form/wall dispensers, so if you like hard soap, bring your own. Wifi was free and there was a small table with stool, so I could do some work. Liked that there were plenty of outlets by the desk and also night stand, with a good reading lamp and places to plug in your phone, etc., so well done! Room would be very tight for two people.... don't know where two suitcases would fit, but perfectly fine for a single person, or a couple traveling light and not planning to spend time in the room. They may have larger rooms, so could ask. I was in 402 (across from the elevator--which also was surprisingly quiet--didn't hear any noise in the hallway except for early Saturday morning when some people where speaking in loud voices by the elevator--but I was already up getting ready to go the airport, luckily.) A/C worked well and mostly drowned out the street noise (but my last night, Friday, I was kept awake by sirens and honking). They do provide earplugs, but I find those uncomfortable to sleep in. Overall, great value and would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Fun hotel with well equipped rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space is tiny. No public spaces (but very small waiting area in the lobby (ground floor).

    Practical, modernly equipped rooms. Maintenance is good. Fun design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    It's all you need: comfortable without any frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A larger bathroom would be nice: the shower is real small and the water leaks out the bottom of the shower door, so put the floor mat there. the water gets hot quickly which is very nice. There is barely enough room to move around and I'm short. this is not a bathroom for anyone tall or overweight.

    The rooms are very small but it's all you need. the bed and linens are lovely and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. I have stayed here before and will stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.9
    Poor quality accomodation, over charged, poor value for money, poor aftersales customer service!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the room was extremely hot, so much so that I could not relax in the room and had to go out to get away from the heat. Clearly the air conditioning was not sufficient even for this tiny room. The window was very dirty, I didn't feel that the overall cleanliness of the room was as good as it could be either. I noticed some staining on bed sheets which was quite off putting. I felt the overall quality/standard of fit out/fixtures in the room was very poor. At night the noise was so loud I perhaps managed 3, maximum 4 hours sleep ahead of my return flight to the UK and so returned feeling very tired, there is no glazing sound proofing. Because of these reasons I feel the accommodation represents very poor value for money and I was over charged for my stay. When I was in NY I was very restricted on time as I had meetings and commitments outside of the hotel, I checked in around 4pm and checked out at midday the next day. I stayed one night at the hotel and I didn't have time to be messing about with complaints, changing rooms etc. which I didn't think would be worthwhile due to poor quality of the accommodation, I didn't believe a room change or anything else the hotel could offer would rectify the issues I had. I raised my issues with the hotel after my stay and requested compensation for the poor experience which the hotel have refused. I would never use this property again.

    Soho location, although right on the edge of China Town area.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CITY ROOMS NYC - Soho traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: