Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Civic Center Inn 2 stars

790 Ellis Street, Tenderloin, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#227 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2075 hotel reviews

4.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.7

  • Comfort

    4.5

  • Location

    4.9

  • Facilities

    4.3

  • Staff

    5.6

  • Value for money

    4.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the Tenderloin District. My expectations were realistic. Yes, there are homeless people everywhere. But it was a block from where I needed to be and parking was free. Just park in plain sight and don't leave valuables in your car. And maybe bring an extra pillow.

    The room was actually REALLY clean. They had taken out the carpet and put down laminate. I was impressed. The reviews were a bit scary but I was pleasantly surprised with the room itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was absolutely disgusting my room that I first went into was discussing dirty and used I had to go back and get a different one there's no light in the bed area there's no air conditioner there's no fan there's no vent it was disgusting

    The only thing that was okay about the property was where it was located that's it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never leave reviews...I feel compelled to let other people know how horrible this place is. The room was fine, for the price. However there were homeless people/ drug addicts sleeping and shooting up in the stairwells. I did not feel safe. Guests are advised not to open any windows for their own safety. Pillows were the worst I’ve ever seen. Same with towels.

    I didn’t like anything about the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee maker or fridge, no blow-dryer...I know right? It's in the tenderloin so people were partying outside of my room with super loud music both nights, cigarette smoke wofting into my room and they do nothing to accommodate a disability, even though I called the day before to confirm my needs. Don't stay here, the only positive notes are no bed bugs

    At least there where no bed bugs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs smelled like they were peed on several times. The first room they tried to give us smelled like cigarettes, the floor was inexplicably wet, the windows were moist and the bathroom was wet as well.

    They were able to change my room to a different one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will never stay there again. It stunk everywhere. The beds were hard and the pillow is like laying on paper. Mold in the sink in the bathroom.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken door lock, room smelled liked smoke, blanket had burn marks in it. Parking lot had cars with flat tires and broken like storing cars or something. Only 1 light in the room. No fan in room

    Cheap room for what was needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was noisy and if you arrive late at night, parking is no longer available in front of the building so you have to park at the back of the building if you are lucky to get an empty space and where there are people who seem to be dealing drugs and homeless people hanging around the property. A lot of cars seem to be parked there permanently as they are on the same spot for the five days that I stayed specially in front of the building that is why parking is hard to get by even though it’s advertised as free. At night you get awaken by homeless people yelling and cursing or guests passing by your room talking so loud either with each other or by phone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were dirty, bathtub was stained with nail polish, blankets were also not the best with stains and cigarette burns even though it was a none smoking room and also no heater or ac was available

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basically everything. We had no hot water, no Wifi, the area is very bad, a lot of homeless people.

    We pulled up to the Motel and the needles everywhere on the ground. No hot water, the toilet wouldn't flush properly. I would not recommend this stay at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless, drug addict hang out a homeless shower was parked out front. Peoples cars were broke into. The noise was non stop all night. The room smelled. I was charged mote than tge rate on here. No receipt. No parking was told to use the alley. Towels stunk and are small

    New bathroom decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater never works blankets itchy cigarette smell in room hole in walls and bathroom door rude staff

    The conversation about the warrior's game and helped me switch to another room when needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place located in dirty neighborhood. The walls and floor of the building had strong urine odor, trash and waste from homeless people. Had no chance to sleep because of loud noises outside.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked-in, gave us a room, then when we open the room, it's not ready yet it was dirty and used. Then gave us another room. The room does not have AC and ot satisfied on what i paid for. So, then the last. Gave us a room it is okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken elevator ,no wash clothes people parking in handicapped without a sticker or plate told mangememt they never told them to move!!! No extra pillows where brought up to our room due to the house keeping staff not able to understand English,,!!!! No blow dryer no mini fridge! Alot of homeless people sleeping in the back side od the hotel!

    Centerally located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you close your windows well to avoid peepers. Bring your flip flops or slippers. The carpet needs to be replaced. Other than that it was fine for one night.

    The staff was very nice. It was close to Union Square and all kinds of restaraunts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pathetic room service. Lot of noise from the window. Looks shady place to live in. Uncomfortable bed and poor bathroom. Waste of money to spend in this motel.

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they would give extra blankets to the kids, when i called they said they would change one room to have two beds but when there they wanted me to pay more, there are some people staying there that were a little less desirable for kids to be around

    the rooms were clean for the most part, there was some graffiti in our room, they printed a place to order pizza from, overall helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub filled with water because the drain was clogged. Notified office and was told maintenance would come fix it. Never showed up. The toilet was leaking around the base causing standing water to be on the floor Three to five guys depending on what time it was stood in front of our room and repeatedly tried to sell us drugs and even knocked on our door looking for something to smoke their drugs with

    The location was decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the complaints on this site about how awful a cheap hotel is. It doesn't take much research to know what the Tenderloin is like or that only Honolulu has more homeless that San Francisco,

    This is one of the least expensive hotels in a very sketchy neighborhood. It's not dangerous but it's not Disneyland. If you want to feel good about your stay take $5 in one dollar bills and put it in your shirt pocket. Give the money to the first 5 homeless people that approach you. You'll feel good and they will be ecstatic. Or pay significantly more and you'll have to walk two or three blocks before you come upon the homeless - like at the St Francis or the Palace Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gross substandard room. Plastic cheep lawn chair, two small warn out towels that were stained. Like my garage rags. I was shocked for a 250 room. Booked online no refunds do felt stuck. Nasty neighborhood

    Bed was comfortable., staff was pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DIDN'T LIKE NOTHING ABOUT IT AT ALL.....WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!

    DIRTY SHEETS, TORN BLANKETS, PROSTITUTION, DRUG DEALING, NO AIR CONDITIONING, BLOOD ON WALLS, NO SCREEN ON WINDOW, TORN SCREEN ON ONE WINDOW, NO REFRIGERATOR, NO MICROWAVE, DIRTY DINGY ROOM. AWEFUL!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the size of a small room.... No tube, shower curtain, just plenty of space. It was very refreshing using that rooms shower. It was the only thing I really liked and enjoyed of the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything so dirty, smell of urine on the stairs, elevator broken, heater in the room broken, chair ripped, bed cover ripped, blanket with cigarette holes, dirty sheets, shower curtain dirty, it was the worst inn I have ever stayed in my entire life

    there is absolutely nothing to like other than location everything inside is dirty I ripped up blankets have holes in them bed sheets dirty there was nothing that normal person will enjoy at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must be quite brave to stay there. We chose this place because it was cheap and with a park lot. There are lots of junkies in the hotel and around it. Two cars at the park was with broken windows. We were lucky. I left ,, do not disturb" sign at the door all the time I wasn't there, to know my stuff inside is safe

    It's in the city Centre, quite clean. One receptionist was really nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel room was up to date although there was needles , cracked tiles . The toilet was already plunged by the time I arrived . Informed the office staff and was told for3 days straight that the maintaince was not there . Poor and will never come again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!

    This hotel is a pure crackhead hotel!!! There's no microwave or refrigerators in the rooms, front doors are not secure because they've been kicked in. Spend your money somewhere else please!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE ENJOYED OUR STAY. OUR ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THE PARKING. THE 2 HANDICAPPED SPOTS WERE TAKEN THAT DIDNT HAVE THE PROPER PLACARDS, SO I INFORMED THE OFFICE BUT THEY DIDNT KNOW WHO THE CARS BELONGED TO. NEED MORE PARKING.

    OUR VIEW WAS AWESOME AND THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are so many homeless people around this makes feel not safe

    It is just in the city center close to main points. Having a bath in the room is a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, you have homeless using drugs outside of your room. No outlets, shower broken, room had an unpleasant odor, bed sheets had sweat stains, beds old and hard shower didn't work, homeless urinating in every stair case, elevator out of order

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say that bedding was clear however looks really bad (see photos). Neighbourhood most probably the worst at San Francisco, a loot of homeless and other strange drugged people, very scary. Towels after laundry but still not clean. Floor at bathroom very sticky. Shower doesnt work. At the end problem to get invoice with proper company information what finally has not happened. The worst two days at the hotel ever.

    Free parking place it's only one advantage of this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awful location - streets full of homeless people, police cars touring car park every 5 minutes and bin lorry transfer station at the rear ! No breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, building isn’t secure anyone can literally walk up to the rooms and there was a prostitution gang Jn the garage and kept fighting and one of them was hospitalized and the cops did investigate

    There wa a close store and not too far from movies. Lots of food options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room light was an uncovered bare bulb that was irritating to have on. Would've been nice if there was a smaller table lamp we could've had on instead. Distressingly, the fire alarm was missing. Bathrooms lacked adequate hot water for showers both at night and in the morning. Bathroom fixtures weren't securely attached to sink either. Overall, the room needed some attention and repairs.

    Excellent location near cool neighborhoods and great restaurants and activities. Having parking included on site is a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless area, fighting and yelling all night. Car park has damaged cars (slashed tyres and windows smashed). Seriously noisy location. Got about an hour a night sleep due to noise.

    Wifi was quick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you take a shower the entire floor near tub gets soaked. Had to call police 4 times because room next to me was making noise and blasting music from 11pm to 5am. Would never go back unless the only other option is the street. Also, while I was parking a tranny came to my car window asking if I wanted a good time.

    The pillows were very nice. And the a.c./ heater.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was dirty, smelled horrible, bed sheets were stained, as were pillowcases, carpet was filthlyl and stained your feet, ocks on the doors were not safe, felt very uneasy and unsafe in the area, and parking around the back of the hotel was also very unsafe, WIFI was not working although promised in the write up for the hotel. We were moved to another room which was slightly safer, but was constantly noisy from the road area and from the locals. Reception staff tried to make things better and appologised for the things we brought to her attention.

    NOTHING !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is disgusting. Do not book. I wasn’t familiar with areas and decided to book because the price looked promising. Rude staff, drug deals, prostitution, and a lot of homelessness. Definitely not safe for families with kids. I can’t explain the discomfort I felt staying there. A bunch of crack heads and homeless hang out on the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely discusting discraceful filthy stunk urine and drug smell, implements, one bed for 3 people.Worst place ever seen, smelt and stayed in. Sleeping on sidewalk preferable. NOISY horrible facilities (what they had) money paid was extorsion...Lady phoned other motel nearby and spoke in Spanish. Terrrible Place.

    NOT ONE SINGLE THING IT WAS A DISCRACE. Booking.com should never show this motel. it is abominable discusting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk way and stairs smelled like urine. Drug paraphernalia was in said stairs and walk way.Room smelled. Bed was extremely hard, room phone didn't work. Smoke detector was broke, toilet didnt flush and fill properly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in the other rooms were loud, not all the time though. The area was also a bit loud because there were a lot of honking cars. It was expected of city area. The blankets weren't dirty but they were damaged with cigarette burns.

    It had a parking lot and it was walking distance to many great sites. The staff was very friendly. The Wi-Fi had a good connection. The bathroom and shower looked very clean. The nice woman at the front desk spoke Spanish, for those who may need it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same as above. Didn’t like it at all

    My kids and I were booked into a room at the back of the motel and it was facing the street where several homeless people frequented. All night and day we heard conversations from the street. Free Wifi but not accessible if you had a room in the back of the motel so we couldn’t use it. Bathroom light didn’t work. Facilities did not meet my expectations and I feel I was charged too much for the accommodations. Will not go back to this place or recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worse place I’ve ever stayed in my life. The linens were dirty, after asking for new linens, the linens looked like it was taken off of a different dirty bed then, brought to me. So basically, I slept on the edge of the bed with my jacket over me. There was no iron, or ironing board, ice, or ice machine, the tub was clogged up, the sink was clogged up. The health department needs to go close this place down!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells like cigarettes even thou it says no smoking in rooms. They don’t proved you with towels, so bring your own.

    They accommodate us with what floor we wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled, the shower had a white substance on the wall that looked like male bodily fluids, the walkway smelled like pee, the sheets broke my husbands skin out, no smoke detector, not enough parking & my 13 year old son witnessed his first drug deal in the parking lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were provided had no internet connection even though it was advertised as free Wi-Fi. The phone doesn’t work (no dial tone). So whenever we need something we had to run down to the first floor from the third floor to ask for something from the staff who was a really rude man who was on FaceTime the whole time. I think the most important part was the bedsheets and they weren’t clean. The area of the hotel were filled with homeless people and drug addicts roaming around so be careful.

    Free parking. The location of the hotel was close to everything - a 10 min drive radius/20-30 min walking distance from sightseeing areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was free but there isn’t Much of it. The hallways smelled like pee always. Bed comforters had stains/ holes in them. Bed was hard and squeaky. Pillows were flat. Front desk didn’t offer me the motel guide / WiFi password. I called the front desk and he told me to come to the front desk just to get it. I wouldn’t have mind but there are several homeless people outside. It is a bit scary. Got the WiFi the next day and it was slower than my mobile internet so I gave up on it. Very loud in the mornings for some reason. Room service came in while we were gone even though we had a do not disturb sign. No hair dryer.

    It was close by many attractions, didn’t cost much to get around at all. A lot of restaurants nearby. Free parking. Working bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power outlet in the bathroom. only one working power outlet in the entire room. The bed frame was broken and made sounds ever time I moved. The room was a non-smoking room but stank of stale smoke. No morning coffee and for $144 a night you would think they would have at least coffee,ice machine and vending machines. Take my advice, stay away, far far away.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the neighborhood so much. The blight of drug addicts and pushers pollute the streets yet everything is close by and accessible in the area.

    Inside the room and bathroom was very clean yet the outside area was a bit ugly and had flies buzzing around. If you can get over the surrounding neighborhood the place is quite nice and has friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Untidy, smelly hotel. Homeless people right by the door of our room, talking all night, doing their business. Loud music played all night in one of the rooms. Placed the “do not disturb” sign by the knob and the housekeeping decided to come in anyway. Junkies were all over the place. Never coming back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways smelled like urine

    The room was very clean. The shower was excellent. The room did not have a microwave but the front desk was able to warm up my leftovers. Housekeeping was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    The heater didn't work so they gave us a small space heater. The rooms weren't clean the bed wasn't made correctly they had no wash clothes and only two towels. To top it off they tried to keep my deposit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed there four days for a conference. The Room was so dirty and bed sheets were un washed. I asked them to change the blanket but they replied there is no new blanket so we will wash this one. The only good think about the hotel is Toilet, i guess they have recently renovated them. Aprat from this the hotel location is so scarry, there is a lots of homeless peoples near the hotel and they looks scarry. Always noisy in the nights and cant sleep peacefully. Overall its an unpleasant stay in Civic Center Inn.

    There is nothing to say anything good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two little towels for two adults? No hand towel, no wash cloths! Get some new light bulbs. Those fluorescent bulbs are too harsh. The TVs can’t be hooked up to a computer.... very necessary for business presentation

    The location and price are good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not helpful at all. Called to ask if they can ship the charger I left in the room and offered to pay for shipping. They simply said that they'll notify the maide and call me back but never did!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel in my life. Bleach smell all over, bad district, loud, very old facitilies, rusted shower, heating didn work. Only possitive things were hot water and free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heater, airconditioner nor fan worked ended up with portable heater fan even though supposedly they called maintenance on day one no respose/change by day four!!!

    Walgreens both on Van Ness. All types of food and facilities within walking distance. To me a big plus was free parking off streets and low rates....instead of fancy for expensive costs.............

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the TV in my room did not work very well. Many of the channels were so staticky that they were unwatchable. The sound did not work on many channels either. Although the bathroom was clean, the faucet in the bathtub leaked continuously all night long. It made for a rather torturous sound!

    A lot of the more affordable hotels in San Francisco are set up hostel style, meaning that it is a shared bathroom for everyone on the floor. So I definitely appreciated having my own bathroom at this hotel...the bathroom was very clean as well, so that was incredibly refreshing to see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The bed was dirty, you couldn't walk on the carpet without your shoes on, there were prostitutes and drug addicts literally right outside our door all night

    Absolutely nothing, booking.com shouldn't even be associated with this place! It's awful! Do not go here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk man was very rude and had no customer service skills. He treated my husband and I like he didn't want us to stay there almost. It was very off-putting.

    The location was centralized.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i try to take a shower theres no water pressure, the heather never work at the firs the room stink like cigarrete, have to take shower like a bird, and maybe the price is to.much thanks

    The location is rigth es center of the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs, dangerous location, lack of in room facilities, quality and size of towels plus they will not give you more than 2 at any one time

    My first allocated room smelt bad, it was changed without any issues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    One tiny thin towel.

    I am used to better hotels. Probably my mistake. One tiny towel per person. Clean for the most part but the overall look and feel of the property did not instill any confidence in it. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was like a jail cell. The bedding was very thin. Some parts of the complex smells like pee.

    It was easy to book. The location is great and close to everything. They provide free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on bed, walls, and curtains. Light fixture was bulb only with no cover causing very bright uncomfortable lighting. HEATER DID NOT WORK. Slow drainage in bathroom sink. No ice or vending machines. Room smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Pillows and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place. In a sqaulid area with many destitutes walking around. Fire station in next street so kept being awoken by fire engine sirens Building and rooms very shabby and in need of decoration Felt completely unsafe and when I arrived the receptionist told me to empty my car and keep the room locked when I was in it!!! Hope Booking . com remove from their site DONT GO THERE!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cable only worked if we tweeked the wiring, still not clear picture. Sink clogged each time used, carpets were very dirty, loud neighborhood/tenants and thin walls. Hard to get sleep. Parking is scarce and tight.

    Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The type of shower. The set up is unsanitary because there is no separation from shower to the rest of the bathroom, like in some kind of institution. There were roaches in the room. Tge blankets and sheets were stained. Customers have to go elsewhere inorder to get some ice. Just because tbis hotel is located in the worst part of town, doesn't mean that it has to be intentionally that bad.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager there is so rude and unwelcoming. I will never go to this hotel again. Before he even knew anything about my reservation he assumed I was paying cash and demanded a hundred dollar deposit from me and insinuated that I was going to damage his property. No customer service skills whatsoever. The room was no gem. It barely had water pressure and the heater didn't work so we were freeing the whole night.

    It is in a good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small. The pillows were flat there were very few towels and no wash cloths. The channels you could get were minimal. There wasn't even a pencil and a piece of paper to write something on in the room.

    The location was the only thing I thought made the price tolerable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only window I had, the view was another wall about 6 feet away. No A/C , not even a fan, 1 toilet paper used and 1 full. 2 towels only. Not even those washclothes. More than 20 homeless ( and I counted) in front of the hotel . The stairs a lot of garbsge. Like orange peels paper cigarettes. I guess the never swipe there. And a Horrible smell of Pee on Al the stairs.

    Just the price, and the room was kind of big

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washcloths or hand towels,elevator broken (on 3rd floor and spouse has breathing issues), no hair dryer, and first assigned room hadn't been cleaned and had a broken shower door. Walls thin, VERY noisy at night.

    Free parking, plenty of hot water and comfortable bed. Close to UCSF.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation more than overdue, Everything a bit filthy. Don’t walk down Ellis towards Hyde, better go up 2 blocks before heading towards Hyde or Union Square.

    Hot shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got here there was homeless people and drug addicts in the front and back parking lot the restrooms were awful toilet was broken door didn't close needles were under the bed there was also rat traps there wasnt even a smoke detector in the room the sheets were dirty and a girl was screaming and banging on the walls all night she was certainly on drugs this is the worst hotel I have no clue how it's still running please do not come here even if it's the last choice I would rather stay in my car and feel much safer and cleaner

    Nothing at all do not come here unless you want homeless and drug addicts staying around your room keeping you up

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didnt work in room and remote was not working either, not such a big deal if you are in town just to explore and not hang out in hotel room except for sleeping

    The bed was comfortable and everything was close to motel. Staff was also friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Civic Center Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: