Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Club Donatello 4 stars

501 Post Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#23 of 264 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 654 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a great hotel for our first stay in San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it was very clean, the bathroom was very small.

    The location was great, bed was super comfortable and we both slept like babies! Hotel was spacious, quiet and very clean. We loved the rooftop sitting area to relax in also. There was plenty of drawers and hanging space for our clothes and good lighting and mirrors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Would stay here again and recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The proximity to Union Square and public transport. Nice to have a sofa in the room. Bed was comfy and shower hot. Staff were very professional, helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, delightful staff and an excellent situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room at The Club Donatello was spacious and extremely comfortable, as was the bed. It was also beautifully furnished. The Club room and roof terrace were excellent additional facilities with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great 3 days in San Francisco would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room looked exactly like the pictures! Staff were very friendly Had an absolute blast! at the Trivia Quiz at Club Donatello, The Margharita's were great!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was rather poky

    Room was very spacious. The hotel was in a great location close to Union Square, shops and restaurants. View from Club Lounge also nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing only - you need a bench in the gym so people can make better use of the weights, very minor thing and by in no way would affect me staying again.

    Everything - helpful staff, large, clean rooms, great location and good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The welcome as soon as we pulled up at the valet was excellent and the receptionist was so lovely. The room was outstanding. We were in the 14th floor and had the most comfortable bed with beautiful sheets. The club on the 15th floor has a leisure area with hot tub and mini gym which we used as well as an area to sit and relax to read a paper or magazine with complimentary tea/ coffee. This floor also has a viewing deck over the city. Every time we came in and out of the hotel we had a big smile and a hello from the staff. Would love to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location and reasonable value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room’s furnishing and decor are looking a little tired. I gather there is a major refurbisment taking place from October 2018 so may be this will include rooms.

    Great central location.My room on the 12th floor overlooked the rear of the property and had open views over roof tops towards the Hilton. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The roof top club room was a good amenity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bigger coffee cups and pots in the rooms.

    Staff was incredibly friendly. Always looking to make your stay more enjoyable. Location was very good for visitors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    If you are looking for a good value, practical place to stay in the area... it's ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit dated but still clean and comfortable

    In a good part of town near Union Sq. Clean comfortable spacious room. We were there for July and they made some effort with free food on the rooftop terrace plus Friday was free cheese and biscuits... nice touch!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Good short break central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roooms will benefit from the upcoming renovation, but are far from tired at present and perfectly good for a short break stay. Like much of central San Francisco the area around the hotel is blighted by the number of “homeless “ street people hanging around, although they were not individually threatening in any obvious way. The streets smell at times of human urine and you can’t help feel the city could make more effort around cleaning things up generally. This is not specific to the Donatello, but applies to the whole central area. It wouldn’t put us off returning but things could go downhill rapidly if more isn’t done.

    Were in a Club Room on 14th floor - unlike the hotel rooms on some lower floors the Club Rooms haven’t yet been renovated. Nonetheless the rooms are still nice and comfortable and particularly spacious, always spotless and well equipped. Comfortable bed and good linens. Very good shower and welcome shaving mirror. Good views from 15th floor club room terrace. Pastry style breakfast delivered to your room was nice touch. Location just a couple of minutes off Union Square is great and very handy for BART services . Loads of nearby restaurants and bars as well as shopping. Helpful staff in hotel. Good overall value for this location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location . very friendly and helpful concierge .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast every day and the hot water provided for our morning tea always tasted of coffee.we told them.but didn't make anyour difference .very small outside area. No electricity in our room on the day of departure. Staff were unaware and we couldn't contact by phone either. We couldn't checkout successfully as card machine went down......still awaiting for my payment confirmation. Which they have taken but not told me or sent a receipt.

    Cozy bed.good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Met more than my expectations. I will return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is excellent. All the staff members are friendly, seasoned, accommodating and helpful. I was impressed with the late night front desk personnel having checked in near midnight. Both of them get kudos for their warm greetings and exuberance. Be assured, I am coming back with my wife in the near future. The singular outstanding memory is the bed and linen. It is exceptional. My many hoteliers friends always say that the bed plays a great influence on the stay. Unequivocally, I agree.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    I'll stay at the club any day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor thing is dated decor in rooms. I'm not in the room much so I don't care about it and it is comfortable.

    I've stayed here many times and the experience is always good. The location is great for my work and access to restaurants. The rooms are so large for the area!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Large room with new furniture but old look. Coffee machine in toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were cold and couldn’t figure out how to raise the temperature. When someone came up to the room they told us they had to turn the system on downstairs in order to make our thermostat work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    I will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of homeless people along the corners of street near by even not harmful but not nice.

    big room size, good location, good and reasonable price parking, friendly staff. If I come back to san francisco again, i will definitely come back here. The best part of this hotel is room size, very comfortable. A lot of good restaurant near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to dislike

    Our whole stay at this property was superb from checking in to checking out - customer service excellent and staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a memorable one.. We stayed in room 1102 corner suite was lovely airy and big with nice views of city.. although renovation taken place didn’t affect us at all... nice to beable to use the Club room which you can help yourself to tea, coffee and fruit nice touch.... shuttle bus to airport that was sorted at hotel as good too.. would definitely recommend as excellent location right near union square.. will stay again if in San Fransisco thank you to all for the perfect end to our holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very good, great locations and helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to attend a breakfast time share meeting after an eleven hour flight and three hour delay. We think the next day would have been more acceptable

    Very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and peaceful but centraly located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing. We loved Ronaldo and the lovely ladies up in the Club floor. The hotel is in the middle of all the action, 2 blocks from Union Square. A 15 minutes walk to Trader Joe for food shopping on 4th and Market St. We asked that they empthy the room fridge an d used it for our food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Expensive hotel in great location. Could be better for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small. Facilities not that great for the price- no ice machine near room, no microwave, staff did not give us all info at check in so we missed the Friday afternoon welcome wine and cheese. Incorrect info given on ticket about car parking confused my husband and car valet brought us the wrong car when we got ready to leave. Did not try breakfast as it seemed very expensive for one coffee and a pastry. Also we spent ages when we arrived talking to a lady who was trying to get us to attend a timeshare presentation as part of our stay in exchange for breakfast and a voucher..We did not realize that this was that sort of place at time of booking.

    The location was great and the room was very spacious with nice decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    We felt unwelcome when we first arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived earlier than check in time because of our long haul flight from Australia and were made to feel like we were a nuisance

    The room was spacious and clean and the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Affordable, comfortable stay in an excellent location to enjoy the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy toilet, no auto refill of minibar, which was confusing

    Comfortable bed, helpful staff, great location very near to many food/shopping options and right by the hop on/off stop at union square. Construction noises very minor, most of the time didn’t notice it at all. Appreciated the complementary breakfast option

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was fine. The only negative was that the king size bed sagged badly. Both of us woke up with back aches. I reported this to the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Paid too much for a 15 hour stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation was lost. Had already prepaid but since reservation was lost payment didn’t go through. Was not notified by the hotel staff about this at all. Couldn’t get an early check in which i requested. Once in the room there was loud construction on floor for hours.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is in a very central location, only moments away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives, everything good.

    This hotel is in a very central location, only moments away from Union Square. Our room was beautiful with triple aspect. Very light, open and airy, clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We made use of the club lounge when our room wasn’t ready and also when we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful city, excellent transportation, friendly and helpful locals, every moment memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities with kettle in room would be most appreciated.

    Loved the location, close to many attractions. Public transport of all types available. Staff pleasant friendly and very obliging. Room spacious clean and comfy. Zingari Italian Ristorante delicious fine dining. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff, location, and room were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we knew about construction potential in advance, a deduction in rate would have been appropriate since it was quite noisy and inconvenient during our stay.

    Staff, location, and room were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a construction work going on and the noise started around 10 in the morning and lasted until approx. 5 in the afternoon. I was informed but much to late, because it was impossible to get another hotel accommodation in the neighborhood with such a short notice. Very stressing and annoying.

    The location is excellent, the staff as well and the room we got was clean, the bed comfortable and the coffeemaker worked well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel near Union Square
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    It is a small hotel, and it has its old-fashioned charm. The location is excellent. Rooms are large and comfortable. Big windows let in great light and views of city skyline. A great choice for central San Francisco.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, the rest not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was really worn-out and place felt very old fashioned. Moreover during our stay the hotel was undergoing extensive refurbishment, with lots of loud drilling. The staff wasn't very helpful to alleviate this pain point for us, hiding behind the fact that they have communicated this in advance. Yes they did, but only 10 days in advance whilst my booking was done 3 months in advance.

    Great location and fantastic bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, incredible friendly staff and very nice accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like having a dark room, but the light coming through at the bottom of the door would wake me up.

    The bed was very comfortable; towels are plush and absorbent; the shower-head made taking a shower a very nice experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location but the hotel can definitely use some renovation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and lifts looked dated and could use some renovation. The hot water in the bathroom took awhile to come on (about a min), so be wary about it when you are taking a shower. The air-conditioning in the room seemed to be controlled centrally and adjusting the temperature did not seemed to help - it was about 45 farenheit outside and the room was chilly even though I adjusted the air-conditioning to 83 farenheit (it didn't feel like 83 at all). Not sure if I missed out, but it seemed like there were no complimentary bottled water provided.

    The bed was comfortable for me and the room is spacious. Was also surprised to find a microwave oven in the room though I didn't use it. Staff at reception spoke very clearly. Location of the hotel was fantastic as it is located just one block away from Union Square and within the same block as the popular brunch cafe in San Francisco downtown, the Honey Honey Cafe and Crepery. The hotel has pretty good live music in the evening too. By the way - not something that I like but thought it might be useful to share - before my stay at this hotel, I read reviews warning that this hotel will do timeshare with guests to promote their club - I didn't experience that (but of course that might be because I'm from another country..not exactly sure).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    Had a few check in issues however the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't love the location personally but its central to some great shops and a huge Macys! Easy to get to tourist buses and trams

    Had a few check in issues however the staff were accommodating and polite. Hotel is quite old and the rooftop and gym definitely could do with a facelift but overall its well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the money. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike. It just needs updating. Expensive overnight parking. Top floor needs updating and beautifying outside. A Nespresso machine would be handy for a good cappuccino or espresso.

    Great staff and handy location. Roomy but in need of renovating which they have started. Good value for location in SF. We were expecting better though from the reviews. Friendly hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Will consider staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, esp the carpet is dated.

    The location was excellent! Free coffee/tea/water up in the uppermost level was great, except that you have to dress up decently to go up there early in the morning. There is a percolator in our room but was located in the bathroom so not really hygienic so we skipped it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Read above .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    We had a wonderful stay . Great value , position , facility’s . Club lounge, sauna a pleasant surprise. Wine & cheese night & staff excellent. Will recommend this property & hopefully stay again in near future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    The hotel location is ideal for visiting San Francisco,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The hotel location is ideal for visiting San Francisco, close to downtown but sufficiently well located so as to have enough quietness. The possibility of having breakfast in the room for a reasonable prize is a plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our time, will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tax on the parking

    Great location if you are interested in Union Square area, easy to get to most parts of S.F.. Staff was very helpful and always there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The facility was centrally located to all of the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the Hotel had a breakfast in the morning at the facility.

    The facility was centrally located to all of the attractions. The staff was very professional, informative and went out of thier was to make sure we were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel, fantastic staff, prime location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I arrived early so they directed me to the club on the top Floor where I got to work with an incredible view, complimentary beverages, and wi-go until my room was ready. They had my keys ready to go, made copies for me, and were helpful at all times of the day and night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and helpful, but too many issues this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect storm of issues.

    Stay at this property often. Disappointed this time. TV didn’t work, phone didn’t work, wireless didn’t work, a/c was funky; any one one thing was fine,but altogether was frustrating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Well located, comfortable, great decor, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great location, within walking distance of all central tourist sites. Clean, modern, well decorated rooms, great bed, loved the free facilities up in the roof-top lounge - great place to relax at the end of the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    A nice, quiet hotel located in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms had a feeling of being a bit of an "older era". This of course is a matter of taste but for that price I would expect the rooms to feel a bit more "luxurious". Also, compared to other hotels I have stayed in the past, this one was a bit "short" in terms of visitor "amenities" (e.g. slippers, toothbrush, shoehorn etc)

    A nice, quiet hotel located in a great location. There are lot's of places for having dinner/ lunch around the hotel as well as one can go to the union square and nearby shopping mall within less than 5 minutes of walk. Also the hotel is located less than 5 minutes away to the metro station one can use to go to the airport. Last, the personnel is very helpful and polite, willing to assist you in every issue. They have great ideas that could save you a lot of commute time and help you get the best sightseeing of the city in a short time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Can’t wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel, the room was clean and spacious, the front desk staff was always happy and helpful and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value excellent accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff slightly disinterested. Décor a little old fashioned -but still nice!

    The spacious room, lovely bed, every need covered, excellent wifi coverage, and the great 15th floor club room with outdoor seating indoor fire and fitness room. Ill be coming back here

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    It was one of our best stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was one of our best stays. Central location, spacious room, super comfortable beds, everything very clean, staff always kind and smiling... And our daughter keeps praising the little chocolates they leave everyday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Great city to visit and felt very safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water maintenance issue but, staff and hotel communications could have been better. No one could have foreseen problem but was finally resolved

    Rooftop lounge and larger rooms with plenty of light Friday night wine and cheese a real bonus after a long day walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    The bed was extremely comfortable and the Hotel room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the Hotel room was very roomy and nicely furnished. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the free coffee was delicious. Overall a lovely Hotel and central to everything, just a block from Union Square and close to cable car stops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a fantastic start to our holiday in the USA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were mirrors everywhere? Really could do with a proper kettle.

    The large rooms and wonderful location, easy transport links to the whole city. The staff were extra helpful when I lost my wallet. The rooftop lounge (Club) was special. I would definitely recommend or re-book if I were to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.5
    Good location, luxurious furnishings, promise not kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived during a water crisis and were not told about it until I tried the shower that night. We were walked to another hotel the second night and were promised to be comped for two nights by one of the Donatello managers. Our charge summary shows one comped night. We have not yet received a credit on our Discover statement as of 9/20/17. Also, upon returning from a tour, we found a dirty plate in our room. Otherwise, our stay was fine.

    Hotel was very luxurious, staff was excellent. Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to have breakfast apart from your room! We were informed that routine maintenance would require the water to the property to be switched off from 11pm - 7am on our second night. When we queried whether there was any possibility that the water could be off longer, we told in a very dismissive manner that this would not happen. Unfortunately, not only were our fears correct, the staff were extremely bad at updating us about the work's progress. There was no water in the property, we were unable to shower, flush the loo etc. Finally at 6pm the next day, when we asked again, whether the water would be coming back on, we were told that there would be news in 3 hours, but we could transfer to another hotel nearby. Whilst the hotel did not charge us for the two ruined nights (and half a day of waiting for the water to come back on to shower before going out), the situation did negatively impact on our visit to San Francisco. We lost precious time due to the inaccurate information and prevarication tactics that the hotel staff deployed. Whilst we accept work does need to be carried out from time to time, the hotel should have planned for delays and should not have taken bookings for this period. In this case, profit was put ahead of the needs and comfort of guests, not really what should happen in the hospitality industry.

    Large room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    An absolute gem, a short walk from Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place was amazing - Club Donatello is at the top of the Hotel Donatello but you get lots of little extras you don't get in the hotel. Our room for three was massive - a little bit of faded grandeur but clean, plush and comfortable. The location was fabulous for Union square and we walked back from Fisherman's wharf one day which was doable. There is a Club area with a roof terrace on the top floor and a concierge for Club Donatello guests, plus a fitness room. Breakfast can be delivered to the room - being able to order cereal for my kids for $2.50 was so appreciated. And the price of the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Large room, very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed not made up for children on arrival and took several phone calls and trips to reception, before finally being made up. Seemed to be confusion over communication.

    Large room, very comfortable beds. Friendly and welcoming staff. Great central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    The cleanliness , the comfort of the bed , the kindness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location ( lots of homeless people ) the fact that you have to find a nearby place to have breakfast , the wrong information given by the staff about transportation in the city .

    The cleanliness , the comfort of the bed , the kindness of the staff , the size of the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.0
    Great time in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and the piano bar, a good location if you plan to take the hop-off hop-on with big bus, there is an stop less than two blocks and a rent car also nearby. Walking distance to Union Square , Chinatown etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Wonderfull!!!! Just this!!!! Wonderfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Norhings....

    Really a nice Hotel. If you want to visit San Francisco this is the hotel. Union Square, Midtown is just few minutes. Really we liked a lot. Staff is very very kind, and Breakfast is nice and a plus. We really enjoy that Hotel, and surely if we come back to this beautiful city we will return to the Donatello.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful San Francisco Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Property is so close to Union Square. Everything we needed were available like big room, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker in the room, comfortable bed, magnifying mirror, robes for our use, fluffy towels, efficient and friendly staff, nice lobby, newspaper every morning and of course free wifi and top floor with a fitness center and specialty coffee and teas for our consumption. They even have a safety bar in the shower area for senior citizens like us. We will certainly book here again. The price is comparable to other hotels but you get more for your money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, Excellent Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location, superb customer service especially Club Donatello Team! I had a package which was delivered to me at the hotel after I already checked out and the Club Donatello Team had helped to sort things out for me. Thank you once again the Club Donatello Team and the Bellmen for your wonderful help! Impressive and appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thick the lounge on the top floor could have cookies or crackers. Something to Welcome guests.

    Location to Union Square, Chinatown and the cable car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Beware the timeshare hustle
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being hustled to buy a timeshare. Ruined the experience. Have stayed many times before and this never occured. May be my last stay because of it.

    Location is excellent. Beds are wonderful. Room is large but could use update.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Grand Old Classic Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault we found was that the walls are a little 'thin'. You could hear other guests at times and city noise, but it wasn't that disturbing and we still slept soundly.

    Bed and linens excellent! Large room size. First time in a hotel where we could place both our large suitcases side by side in wardrobe. Room temperature was perfect. Great central location. Staff very professional and friendly. Loved the Club Donatello aspect, good jacuzzi and gym. It is one of those older, classic hotels that have personality!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location to everything and easy access to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to everything and easy access to public transportation. The rooms were very comfortable. Very nice hotel. I would stay again! Enjoyed our vacation!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location, slightly strange set-up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not exactly a typical hotel - more a time-share - which you don't really notice most of the time but explains some of the ambience/facilities. They tried to pressurise us into signing up to go to a 'free' breakfast which would have been a long sales pitch but luckily we didn't. No reflection on the hotel though which was good.

    Excellent location easy to park on site big room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Central, high class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a cookie in the Club Lounge would provide that little extra touch.

    Rooms are a reasonable size. Quiet. Club lounge has coffee and tea facilities - but no food. Staff very helpful and pleasant. A complientary shoe shine is available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel for short break in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic - just juice and pastries. The bed was too soft for us, but may well suit others.

    Centrally located. Lounge on top floor serving free hot and cold drinks. Large comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Charming boutique hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Donatello is situated in Union Square which is close to all the major department stores and a variety of lovely restraurants and bars. For the visitor to San Francisco it is only a short walk to the visitor information centre situated at the Powell Street station. Staff are very friendly and accomodating and the rooms quiet and cosy. The top floor club room is a nice place for for a chill out coffee or tea during the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, the staff and the location. We will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a wonderful room, two things need change. First the lighting in the bedroom/living room area needs upgrading as it is too dim now. Second, in the bathroom, the toilet seat is far too low.

    It's a great hotel in a great location..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Decent value in the centre of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and especially the bathroom could have been cleaner. It wasn't dirty, but it also wasn't sparkly clean.

    The location is truly excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly. Many rental car agencies are within 2 minutes' walk from the hotel. Also many good breakfast options very close. The bed was really comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location but not much in the way of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A four star hotel with no breakfast room. The leisure centre on the top floor is just a really small ancient looking jacuzzi and a tiny gym. That's it.

    Excellent location. One block from Union Square. Staff were very nice. Rooms were big and spacious but dated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Great Time in San Fransico
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Joe the bellman was super friendly and helpful, he made our stay very enjoyable. Property was very close to Union Square. Rooms were pretty good size for San Fran.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.8
    Front Desk and Bell Staff were top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A hard sell from the concierge for a breakfast presentation on vacation properties. Why would I come on vacation to SF to suffer through a two hour sales pitch. Also, we had a family issue, had to check out earlier and the Club refused to refund our money for the one night. I will never stay at a Wyndham property ever again.

    Front Desk and Bell Staff were top notch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel - free jazz
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bathrooms were showing their age with their paint job and needed refreshing. There was also a Polish stain on my dresser but that wiped away, it was merely missed in a service check. The Italian restaurant looked amazing but is extremely pricey even for San Francisco.

    The bed was amazing and the size of the rooms and facilities could not be faulted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Good option near Union Square worth coming back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs freshening up. The cleaning could be a bit more thorough.

    The hotel is an excellent value for money and is conveniently located. Wi-Fi is free as is coffee and tea. The room is very spacious. Staff is upbeat and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service breakfast was poor quality and overpriced. We only ordered it once, other days we went to local diners.

    The room was great. The free tea and coffee on the top floor was great too. We had a really comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice Property in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like. To be picky, wifi wasn't super fast, and it's hard to find great value in this area of San Francisco.

    Large, comfortable, well-appointed room. Staff was very pleasant. Great location by Union Square, 4 blocks from Powell St BART station.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: