Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coconut Waikiki Hotel 3 stars

450 Lewers Street, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#33 of 276 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money steps away from the heart of Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a little bit noisy late night/early morning, due to street traffic. However I imagine this would apply to all hotels in the area. Not a deal breaker.

    This was a great budget-boutique hotel a couple blocks walk from the main drag in Waikiki. The staff were wonderful, and the rooms were great. We got a free upgrade to the Pineapple suite, which had a surprisingly beautiful view of sunrise over the canal. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually this is an old hotel with ongoing renovation and although it has new design at lobby, rooms are looking very old. Balcony has a nice view, but also shabby. We didn’t like breakfast at all. Famous waffles weren’t delicious and other stuff is low-key.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with higher price I had to pay. Very outdated furniture and aircon was so loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was so loud and placed in a ridiculous position. Had cold air blowing straight into my face. Everything was outdated and didn't warrant the amoubt charged.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    If the door and air conditioner problems can be fixed, I sure will stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are old doors, one of which even got stuck during the final 2 days, so we let the doors be closed. The air conditioner is very old-fashioned without static thermo control, but with obvious noise.

    Almost everything except the aobve-mentioned is quite good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too small and a little too warm.

    The breakfast was extremely good and simple. All of the employees were really nice, they even gave us chocolates and a bottle of wine since we were celebrating our honeymoon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable two-night stay in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular. There are no assigned tables for breakfast though, and it is quite difficult to find a (quiet) spot in the common areas.

    Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Complimentary tea and coffee available. Iron, hair dryer and safe available. Shampoo, soap and even conditioner and body lotion provided. Bathroom was small and with no window, but clean and comfortable enough. Room had a small balcony (no ocean view, but useful to put beach gear to dry). Buffet Breakfast included: not glorious, but good. Staff kept our luggage after we checked out with no extra charges.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy because the hotel is in front of a noisy road and windows In the room we found ear plugs for free ..... breakfast is until 8.30 . If you arrive ( as I did ) at 8.30, they close the kitchen Are we on holiday????

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Good option for this price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very bad breakfast. It is crowded since 6:30 a.m. and it is hard to find a place. Only scrambled eggs and bread. No cheese, no meat.

    Good option for this price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and kind staff, they are problem solvers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very helpful and kind staff, they are problem solvers. It was a very comfy stay. The location is nice, it is a good compromise between the center (Hawaii Convention Center) and the beach They have a comparatively nice gym (but a hotel gym anyway).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    A convenient, well-equipped place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic cutlery and cups in the breakfast room.

    We were fortunate to be upgraded to an Executive Suite that was the best hotel room we've ever had. A good selection of foods available at breakfast. Friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value stay in Hawaii for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying the resort fee. I used 2 towels, the pool once and ate breakfast once. Over 7 days that’s just a waste of money. I am unlikely to stay here next year based on the fee.

    A small family orientated hotel situated along the canal. For kids they have a well kept sandpit and huge outdoor games. Really appreciated the flavoured ice waters and afternoon popcorn. Room was clean and comfortable. Pool was small yet good for cooling off after a long day shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in Coconut
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise due to next to the main road with many cars. Breakfast is just so so even if it is complementary.

    Staffs are helpful and nice. The location is good and convinent to shops and beach. It provide tea, coffe, and water 24 hrs, and pop corns in the lobby duringafternoon. Towels are free to borrow at the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    When we arrived, the staff automatically upgraded us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC kept turning on and off all night, waking me up. Sink drain in bath wouldn't stay open.

    When we arrived, the staff automatically upgraded us to canal viee room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Very basic, noisy and bad breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are very noisy so they have to offer earplugs. The room was very small for two people with no place for suitcases. It did not have a mini-fridge wither. Although the room was relatively clean, the cleaning service was horrible: no cleaning service one day and had to complain, found waterbottles in the bathroom half open then next day, and tissues in the sink after that. Breakfast is very basic, not so good and very repetitive after just 2 o 3 night there.

    The location is very good and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Drilling and hammering!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was undergoing renovation but no one felt it was important to notify the customers about the drilling and hammering that started every day at 8 AM. At the very least, one would expect compensation for degraded visitor stay but the receptionists politely declined help.

    The property is located 10' walk from the beach near the shopping areas on Kalakaua Ave. The room was adequate as was the fitness room. The staff was helpful, and provided beach towels. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location to explore Waikiki and nice neighborhood for dining.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I missed some local fruit at the breakfast. The road traffic is very noisy, but they provide earplugs which are needed. The noise could be much less, with more closed or double glazed windows.

    Very comfortable room and bed. Complementary breakfast with local birds visiting the outside garden. View of the canal from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A rather pleasant hotel to enjoy your holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mountain View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast the selection was quite limited and remained unchanged during the stay which was disappointing. The hotel is at the corner of a heavily trafficked road so road noise was an issue at nights.

    The mountain facing room although small offered great views.The kids really liked the board games to play indoor and sandpit with toys and games to play outdoor. The kids also enjoyed the popcorn is available everyday afternoon, along with choice of flavoured water and pineapple tea, coffee for the adults. There are no restaurants in-house, which is not a big issue as there are numerous restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel. Waikiki beach is a short walk away and we could borrow beach toys, beach umbrellas and towels for trips to the beach. The bus service in Honolulu is quite good and the bus stop is closeby making it easy to travel if car hire is not an option. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and made it a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    We were very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible traffic noise. Loud window air conditioner. Very old property. Very expensive - could have stayed an extra night at an amazing resort on the north shore for the same price.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Dissapoiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean. The bathroom and shower were not clean. The breakfast is terrible. The waffles were hard as a rock.

    Location was good. Nice views. Parking is expensive but the person working with the Valet really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were assigned room 1001 which is located right next to the Ice machine and the hall outside our room was flooded with water. No attempt was made to relocate us..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the location of Coconut Waikiki it is far enough away from the crowds. Enjoyed our stay. Rooms clean, beds comfortable and nice breakfast selection. Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Would stay there again. Close to nice restaurants & shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not appear that the room had been thoroughly checked by housekeeping to make certain that everything was there that should have been. The hairdryer was missing and we had to ask for one and there was no bag for our dirty clothes. Both items were promptly supplied. Granola ran out at breakfast and it was some time before it was replenished. Can't eat on outdoor patio - the birds will get your food!

    Just about anything a traveler could desire in terms of needs was provided including wrapped q-tips and make-up remover. Breakfast was really good - lots of fresh fruit, granola and vanilla yogurt as well as the usual eggs, waffles etc. Beautiful view of the mountains. Separated balconies for bedroom and sitting area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Great short stay with nice facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very warm and the air-con unit linked to the balcony was quite loud in order to keep the room cool enough to sleep overall. Bed was on the smaller side compared to others we recently used in the USA but was still comfortable. The view looking into another block of apartments wasn't great - but it is the main part of Honolulu so can't really blame them for it.

    Staff were great through all our dealings. The included continental breakfast was a bonus, and whilst we didn't use it - the in room coffee machine, and towels and chairs to loan for the beach and pool is great too. Drinks downstairs and afternoon popcorn were also great. The lobby with linking games room has a nice feel overall! Whilst not next to the beach it isn't a long walk or far to get to. Complimentary earplugs were in the room which made me slightly nervous about street noise, but we were on the 9th floor and there was zero issue from it. Throwing in some nice champagne and chocolates for a honeymoon arrival was really nice too! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    What a convenient location in Waikiki go by foot around the shops or catch a bus, it’s so easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is a bit old fashion and a bit noisy coming from the main road. The pillows are a bit high for me.

    The staff is very helpful, smiling, warm and friendly. I was served by Isaac and Jessica at the reception. Great service from all felt like they worked as a family. I loved the freshly cooked popcorn and the assorted flavoured water from 2-6 pm that was a plus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Staff are really nice, appreciate for their help, also help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We live at 2nd floor, there's construction working outside the window during our stay, so we can't open the window or stay at balcony~T_T

    Staff are really nice, appreciate for their help, also help us parking the car, room also comfortable, good location near the river side, no noise. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    I will come back if i have the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was thirsty and not enough bottles of water...too small

    Comfortable bed, nice friendly staff, good breakfast (free), parking makes stay comfortable more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit noise in the night but it's not hotel's fault.

    I liked the hotel a lot, we had a room with beautiful river view. also complimentary 4 types of cold drinks plus coffee and tea in lobby all day. front desk staff very welcoming, and the pool is heated. 10min walk to waikiki.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel, Great Staff & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could be much better and varied. It would have been great if you could have breakfast till later. Buffet closing hour was too early IMO if you´re on vacations.

    Staff was extremely helpful. Jessica was great and she always helped me when I needed some info or help with something. Location is really good. Close to everything and really easy to hop on buses from the hotel. If you are not looking for luxury, this is a great option when visiting Waikiki!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Great stay for great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were quite poor

    Great size of bedroom Central Location Friendly staff Also we got free upgrade to better room with view over canal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Easy way to stay very well in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pretty boutique hotel, close to the most popular attractions of Waikiki. Staff very friendly; room clean and confortable. Good breakfast and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Small rooms but good location and lots of little extras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really really small. Might be good just for one person, but too small for a couple.

    Good location and lots of great little extras like breakfast, coffee and snacks. Hotel has a pool, gym and laundry facility which was also great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the mountains and the lights at night was amazing. Very walkable to shopping and the beach. Took the Pink Line once to the shopping mall to go get Santa pictures done, easy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.8
    Regretted choosing to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, small, tiny bathroom, dated and in need of renovations. Aircon was noisy and fan speed could not be turned down. Pool pictures are misleading as the pool is tiny and there is no space to seat around it. Breakfast time ends at 8:30 which is a bit too early if you can't have a decent night sleep because of the A/C or breaking dogs and car alarms going off through the night. Overall we didn't think it was a good value for money.

    Reasonably Close to beach and shops. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Laundry facilities, convenient location to walk from and get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Laundry facilities, convenient location to walk from and get picked up for tours. Breakfast is nutritious. Staff is awesome, friendly and informative.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean hotel & super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself is a little older then I expected, but they have clearly updated a lot of it. The breakfast was convenient, but not the best.

    The staff were wonderful! Super friendly right when we arrived. They were flexible for our check in time and upgraded our room. They were happy to answer any questions we had about our stay. Convenient location. It was a little loud at night, no problem for us, but if you are sensitive to that- take note. They do offer ear plugs on the bedside table and I would imagine it's a relatively common issue at many properties in Honolulu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel, great breakfast, & walking distance to Waikiki beaches, shops, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It is not the hotel's fault, but the location is at the intersection of two streets, so of course the sound of traffic is obvious. What was horrible were the extremely loud motorcycles and cars with a muffler designed to be very loud, all taking off from the stop light at a horrendous speed next to the hotel, day and night. Earplugs (provided by the hotel) are not enough to cover these very loud sounds.

    This was my first stay at this hotel, although I've been to Honolulu many times. Everything about it was nearly perfect: the staff was kind and helpful, the breakfast excellent (eggs, fruit, waffles, breads, cereals, juice, great coffee), my room very comfy, the fridge and microwave were welcome, and the Keirug coffee maker worked well. The bed was very comfortable and the hot water endless. The location is great for walking all over Waikiki, and there are some very good restaurants and a food market close by. The popcorn and flavored juices every day in the lobby is a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better but it is free so you have to factor that in And I'm a bit of a picky eater

    The staff were all really great The front desk staff both day and night were super helpful and very friendly and really made our stay awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an additional $30 per night. The breakfast wasn't great. The pool is tiny.

    The staff was great and the rooms were a little outdated in the bathroom, but nice. I liked the hurricane popcorn that was served in the afternoon, it was a friendly little touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    The location is fine, central Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is pretty bad, only fat and carb options. Parking is expensive in property and difficult to find on the streets.

    The location is fine, central Waikiki.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.4
    Location of the motel was good, but I wouldn't recommend this motel for any other reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness: dusty room, mould on the curtains, windows and door frames, bobby pins, used ear plugs and a pin left from previous guest under the Rv cabinet. Linen: rip in the sheets, towels with holes in them. The airconditioner only liked to work sometimes, very noisy and sounds as though it wants to flood the room. A random light turns on and off all through out the day. Wasn't able to fix ourselves.

    Location was good. Good view of mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    noise from the street at night even with the air condition is on. Windows need to be upgraded to limit noise.

    was easy to talking to the staff and they upgrade us to a larger room. Always there to help and provide information to have fun and enjoy the island.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice ambience, minimum breakfast options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast options, reception male host in the evening shift was the least accommodating.

    Little terrace for breakfast was very cosy, most of the reception staff were friendly and helpful. It was our honeymoon, so the room attendant offered champagne, chocolates and a handwritten note that added a personal touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location , great staff but not for light sleepers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sound proof is not great , it gets noisy iand especially rooms facing the canal side. U can hear police siren n traffic all night.

    staff are all friendly and helpful , big thks to them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money! Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coconut Waikiki is a great place to stay due to its convenient location, great free breakfast, super friendly staff and facilities. It’s just minutes walking from any busstop getting you to all sights. Even the mountain view is great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk personel are very nice, but made some mistakes with the bill, what made me feel insecure about the hotel's check -in/check-out procedures.

    We stayed at an executive suite that is huge and very confortable. The location is good, close to everyrhing in Waikiki

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved the intimate feel of this boutique hotel and the friendly staff; but, SECURE YOUR VALUABLES!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I had a prescription medication stolen from my room. The young woman at the front desk immediately sent someone up to see who had access to our room. Then I heard nothing about their investigation until I asked about it as we were checking out the following morning. The gentleman manager said that only housekeeping had entered; so, that means that someone in housekeeping, or in collusion with housekeeping, has sticky fingers! He seemed unconcerned as it was my word against his. I had put the meds in the safe, but in my haste to leave had closed the door but did not check to make sure it had locked properly. BE AWARE that the housekeeping staff leaves the door to your room open as they clean, so ANYONE could have access to ANYTHING in your room. Make sure the door to your safe is locked properly before leaving and leave NOTHING of value in view. The medication that was taken was a controlled substance and I could not have it refilled so the remaining ten days of my vacation were quite stressful. Management needs to be made aware of this occurrence, and they need to take steps to ensure the safety of their customers' belongings.

    Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with activities and directions. Lobby was clean and welcoming. Breakfast was very good and the Hawaiian popcorn in the afternoons was a real treat. Drinks were available all day long. While lounging in the lobby, we met many interesting fellow travelers from around the world. Nice private outdoor area with comfortable seating. We had the mountain view and it was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Good stay, just get your breakfast elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door got locked at the day of the checkout. Good thing we had our flight late enough for the hotel to come and open the door so we can get our staff. Breakfast needs serious improvement. No tomatoes nor salad were offered and the few other things are of a bad quality!

    Nice hotel, close to the famous Waikiki beach and to the shopping area ! Clean, and the stuff are very kind!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tight. Even though breakfast is 6.00- 8.30. Get down there early. Big groups of people will grab all the seats and sometimes the food runs out. It's first come first serve even if you're paying 20 a day for it.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee a bit expensive (30 USD). Breakfast really early from 6.30 to 8.30.

    Nice staff. Towels and beach chairs available. Good breakfast choices. Nice honeymoon consideration.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location, fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Aircon still very noisy, however complimentary ear plugs were great, thank you. Water still dripping from balconies in outside breakfast area, however staff put umbrellas up to help with this problem, thank you. Hubby would like a microwave in the breakfast area to heat his croissant/muffin :)

    Scrambled eggs, fresh fruit & orange juice. Pop Corn, all day Tea/Coffee. Games area inside & outside. Fantastic staff. Lovely clean hotel in easy reach of everything. Watching rowing boats up & down canal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No recycling in rooms/at breakfast; disposable cups at breakfast, slow wifi in the room, bathroom a bit dated

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, breakfast is OK, amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Not very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city view room did not include a fridge or microwave. The view of the city was from the back of the building and it was crunched between two buildings. The room was super small to stay in for a week for a couple.

    The cleaning staff was helpful and friendly. The walk to the beach was about 5 blocks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The beautiful staff always happy, smiling and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !!

    The beautiful staff always happy, smiling and helpful. Isaac you were outstanding so passionate about what you do. Great room overlooking the river, rooms clean, beds comfy, good breakfast, and loved the all day fruit iced water. Spent many an afternoon cooling off in the pool. I will return loved my visit with you !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Welcoming Staffs! Beautiful Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    We recently (mid June) had a holiday in Hawaii for a week. We stayed in Coconut Waikiki Hotel. I must admit we were impressed with the warm welcome we received right from the arrival. As our flight landed very early, we requested for a possible early check in. Wayne and Lizzy who were at the counter were very responsive and without hesitation they arranged a couple of hours early check in. All the staffs were very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is just what we wanted with beautiful lake front and very close to all the amenities and transports. We will recommend Coconut Waikiki Hotel to our extended family and friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    terrific stay in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast finishing at 8.30 is an hour too early. The swimming pool is a waste.

    The staff at the front desk were exceptional. Special mention to Isaac(nothing too much trouble) Lizzie and Donny( both terrific). Isaac was something else.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Modern decor, clean, very friendly and helpful staff, simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator in the room

    Modern decor, clean, very friendly and helpful staff, simple but sufficient breakfast (including make-your-own waffles), delicious complimentary popcorn and flavored waters daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in Coconut Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our stay in the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! The staff were always so helpful, the room was clean, big and modern. We even were given a bottle of prosecco as it was our honeymoon! Highly recomment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good amenities, room somewhat disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioner unit was very noisy and it seemed to kick up allergens into the air. We arrived at a time when the island had an unusually high level of "vog" - that may have accounted for the severe allergy attack my husband had after staying a night in the room. We reported the rattling noise that the A/C unit made, but evidently they were unable to fix it, so we had to put up with it the second night we were there. At $30/night, parking is pretty outrageous, but I guess that is pretty typical for the area.

    The location is excellent, and the staff wa very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent time in Ohau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could hear some traffic. Expensive (but competitively priced for the area).

    Friendly staff. Close to everything. Good views. Competitively priced. Noon time check-out. Good continental breakfast and coffee available all day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated but they are perfectly clean and do the job. The 50s style of the room we stayed in actually made it quite quirky!

    Great location, great staff. Room was clean and constant availabilty of free coffee/ tea/ water in the lobby is an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value for price, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mountain View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking surcharges. Nothing else

    Great location, lovely design - rooms are airy, modern and warm. Very nice and warm lobby - thoughtful variety of naturally flavoured water/ tea available throughout the day. Staff helpful and courteous. Balcony overlooking canal and mountains. Easy to arrange shuttle to and fro airport. Great value for price paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Good location, on lewers street, close to several good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, on lewers street, close to several good restaurants (e.g. PF Chang; UDon...) and DFS, Royal Hawaii centre etc.. valet parking only is convenient for guest...free breakfast 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻😊😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    I was unhappy for the parking valet fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unhappy for the parking valet fee. There was no free parking which i didn't know untill i get there, and parking valet fee was so expensive. It was as $ 30 per day. Total i had to pay $ 120 while i stay there for 4 night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was perfect

    Great and extremely friendly staff, take care of all your needs. Received a free upgrade to bigger room with two bathrooms. Location is perfect and quiet,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Staff is second to none, very helpful ands always smiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker wasn't our preferred way of making coffee, would have preferred drip and local coffee.

    Staff is second to none, very helpful ands always smiling.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything I didn't like.

    I loved everything! My room was wonderful. The staff was over the top! Friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of value, there really is no negative. But if being picky, road noise in the city can be loud at times, walk to the beach is a little long, building is older and room not set up most efficiently. But I will repeat, This place is really great for the cost. You can walk anywhere in the city and public transportation is everywhere.

    Excellent value to be in waikiki. Mountain view room has excellent view of sunrise. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included is very good, waffles included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This property is fantastic! Great, convenient location; friendly staff; comfy beds; clean rooms; tasty breakfast! It was our home away from home - and made our holiday a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Overall cozy and great breakfeast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink wouldn't drain...think it was due to a faulty stopper...

    Great selection on the breakfeast items,great that there was a kitchenette

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay in waikiki away from the mayhem of the high end hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath since travelling with a toddler. The kitchenette was a little sparse and no washing up liquid and no cleaning cloth.

    Staff really helpful and friendly. 24 hr access to free tea and coffee Good breakfast available

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    An older property with reasonable facilities, nice staff and comfortable rooms for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sadly, the sliding doors to the balcony were only aluminum-framed single-pane glass, and the secondary window was one of the ubiquitous "glass shutter" types that never really close tightly, so the room was noisier than we'd like at night. If management can find their way to swap out those two items with proper double-panes that seal tightly, that would probably go a *long* way to making the rooms much quieter (it'd be more energy-efficient for the A/C, too). Waikiki is hopping almost 24/7!

    The general atmosphere of the hotel and the attitude of the employees is quite pleasant, and promotes a feeling of truly being "on the island." Also a good – if basic and carbohydrate-heavy – complimentary continental breakfast every morning (although a tip: the coffee is truly bog-standard U.S. "brown water" – walk south along Lewers St. to Kalakaua Ave [you need to stretch your legs anyways], where you'll find Long's Drugs [open 24 hours] and a great selection of Keurig pod-style coffees for your in-room coffeemaker. It's worth it, trust me).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.7
    Popcorn in the lobby every afternoon, various extras, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mountain View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stung with added taxes and daily charges plus staff gave conflicting information regarding payment(s). Has balcony door which rattled all night as it started getting quite windy. Air con also noisy, turns on and off regularly.

    Popcorn in the lobby every afternoon, various extras, quiet rooms - didn't hear anything from next door. Good size mini fridge (useful for us as we could never finish our meal portions!) microwave, sink, cutlery all provided,free use of beach towels also

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.9
    All the staff were polite and friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The addition of a toaster and kettle in our room would have assisted with more relaxed mornings and late sleep ins.

    All the staff were polite and friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was clean and spacious and maintained daily.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Clean and pretty, with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waikiki street parking is mission impossible :(

    Very clean hotel, minimalist decor, lots of white, with green and yellow accents. Super-friendly staff, made us feel welcome and at home! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Overall, okay hotel to stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Double Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was noisy. The walls were so thin that we could hear the traffic all the time. I woke up a few times in the middle of the night because a truck or a noisy bike passed by. They mentioned that it was a problem with all rooms regardless of what side of the hotel the room was. The breakfast was quite basic. Most of the days, the only egg item was hard boiled eggs. There was usually only one type of pasty or small muffins which would fly away as soon as they arrived. They should give the breakfast a little Hawaiian touch and build the extra cost in the room rate. Would have been nice to have a computer and a printer for guest's use. They did not. When I wanted to print something, the receptionist asked me to email that to the hotel email address so she could print it for me. This takes away the privacy of the contents. Finally, the terrace doors were very hard to open and close. They mentioned that they were in the process of replacing the slide under the door to fix the problem.

    Location was very convenient. The staff was very polite and courteous and the hotel was kept very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: