Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Inn Fairfield 2 stars

286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004, USA

#4 of 5 hotels in Fairfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Room was comfortable and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was crowded because chairs were too big for the area and it was hard to get back and forth from the serving areas.

    Room was comfortable and quiet. Bedding was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was clean and the bed was comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ubër is your friend if you happen to not have a car. It can be a little tough for them to find you.

    The hotel was clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was nice as well. My girlfriend loved the little waffle maker. I’m a frequent traveler (roughly 50 hotels in the last four months). This is no super fancy joint but the value is great in relation to what I received. I would stay there again over the other hotels in the area. There’s also a nice little Italian-American restaurant attached to the hotel with a friendly staff. It’s a BYOB place that may have a corking fee but it’s cool. It’s a 7-10 minute drive to get to the express bus that takes you to NY.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made reservation on booking.com... it was showing that the hotel is sold out... in mean time I lost my credit card, so I had to go thru same thing as I would pay that day of the stay. So me booking 3 months earlier gave me rate 114$ a night, while the day I had to pay the rare was 95$ a night... this is sad. Me making reservation 3 months earlier it’s hurt me..,

    Close distance to the facility that I had to beok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric heater was making air in the room quite dry.

    There was a fridge, microwave, iron in the room, and a coffee/tea maker with free coffee/tea. Also free coffee is available in the lobby 24/24. Breakfast is good. Very comfortable stay overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.0
    Lucky for you they had a room....
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we had a confirmation email for our reservation, the hotel had no reservation for us. I was quite annoyed at this. Fortunately, they had a room, but not with the king bed I had reserved. If they had no vacancy, I would have been furious. Overall, not happy with this experience.

    Room and bed were fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice Room Limited Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door was wide open when we arrived and door between rooms was unlocked. That was kind of unnerving. Insufficient parking with empty property next door that will tow your car if you park there. I had a truck with a uhaul and there was no where to park it. Had to drop the trailer elsewhere. So if you are towing a trailer this is not the place to stay.

    Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    3.8
    served our purpose i guess. thats about all
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty around edges of room. dirt between mattress botom and box spring top. room cramped. dingy. stuffy. cramped stuffy breakfast "room". terrible furnishings in there. tiny, slow elevator. one ice machine located at very end of hallway in the stairwell. there was a comfortable upholstered chair with an ottoman though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Okay for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged for a safe I didn't use. I hope I get my money back. I was promised I would be. I'll keep checking. My email told me check out was noon. I was called at 11:25 telling me to get out of the room.

    Breakfast was decent. Bed was so comfortable. It was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    2.5
    Very outdated and carpets filthy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated and carpets filthy. It was raining and My room had a large ceiling leak. The desk clerks upon being notified told me thanks for letting them know but refused to credit me! I have pictures of the mold, wet carpet and ceiling. If it wasn't for my 2am arrival time and being soooo tired, I would have left!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Excellence at the comfort inn
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience. I felt like I was at home.

    Everything was perfect. Close to shopping areas. Very quiet and peaceful setting without any discrepancies

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    The room and bathroom was clean and neat .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not a fan of your breakfast food ...

    The room and bathroom was clean and neat ... we ate next door and that was excellent.... the front desk help was very good ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelled bad. Everything was run down, old, beat up. Really outdated and poor value for your money. Did I mention the smell?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable value for money, lived up to expectations. Friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi is performance is very intermittent, had to keep switching access points for service.

    Quiet room, reasonable value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Close to event
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is horrible. I felt my door didn't close properly. There was no safe.

    Close to event

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door slamming got on my last nerves.

    Decent hotel. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    I was charged two different prices.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged two different prices. It wasn’t that much so I didn’t bother dying anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    No problems!
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing needing attention is the elevator.

    Cleaner than nearby comparable places. Pleasant staff. Affordable enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the stay, will book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient, location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    The bed
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    I am not a fan of powdered eggs, nor precook bacon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the powdered eggs and precooked bacon

    I am not a fan of powdered eggs, nor precook bacon. The coffee was good and so was the sausage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    even it was buisniss... i could just relax and have a good time too
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was good... but always the same

    restavrant in the hotel and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Cheap option with a comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee, everywhere in the hotel, was not good at all

    The bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Was only there for 6 hours .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was only there for 6 hours ..short night everything was fine and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice place but bring your super duty ear plugs so you can sleep through the a/c turning on and off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner kept me awake each night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine.

    Continental breakfast was very good. From sign in to sign out the staff was very friendly. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Good Value for price
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained carpet in room

    Good variety for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    We were there for a funereal and felt very welcome
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows! Awful

    The staff and bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    My stay was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I couldn't stay longer

    Slept very well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.0
    Beds were nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were nice. Bathroom was filthy. Huge glob of hair on top ledge of bathtub. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast area is too small;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area is too small; not liad out very well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    2.5
    Awful place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old and smell like mold.The reception is terrible un friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.4
    The hotel is dated and needs remodeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is dated and needs remodeling. The pillows are lumpy, the rooms smell moldy and I worried about mites. In spite of room vacancies, the staff placed me in a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke above the noisy restaurant that hadn't yet opened. Although I requested another room and granted my request, why didn't they place me in another room from the start? Not a way to start my visit. Security did nothing to control the noise after certain hours. Not a place I would stay in the future. Only stayed there because it was close to my niece's college campus for graduation.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    The room/bathroom were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry, did not have a bad experience, only having to walk almost the full length of the hall to get to our room. Not complaining, because it was quiet in our area.

    The room/bathroom were very clean. Also, being an older couple, we appreciated not having a bus load of young people close to us.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed
    • Couple

    Not being notified that there was an extra charge for the safe. I will certainly ask about that item in the future. Also the hotel has a total non-smoking policy, yet I could smell smoking coming from the room next to me.

    Very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    6.7
    Fridge in the room, nice flat screen tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed had crumbs under mattress, blood stains or wine on one side of bed. Hair behind mattress. Overall the room was clean, just need to pay a little more artention to the bed area. Pillows to small!

    Fridge in the room, nice flat screen tv

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    5.4
    easy to get tt
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Specifically asked for non smoking room and was told we would get one and we did but the entire 4th floor was smoking and that is where our room was. the elevator and hallway as well as the room smelled of cigarettes :(:(

    easy to get tt

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.0
    The beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the beds were very comfortable, I couldn't sleep because I was getting bit all night. I believe they have bedbugs.

    The beds were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.5
    The Internet connection was dependable and quick
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As it is on a divided highway, it was hard to get into from the east

    The Internet connection was dependable and quick

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Room decently clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Room decently clean. Staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.1
    Location and breakfast and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bird poop on window screen. Smelled stuffy.

    Location and breakfast and pillows

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    nice choice of soft or firm pillow, very clean and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice choice of soft or firm pillow, very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Not a five star hotel, but great for the price.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Toilet had water leak they add a charge for a room safe

    Staff were very nice

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    Clean hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean hotel with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    5.0
    Not a harm feeling
    • Family with older children

    Not a harm feeling

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff are welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are welcoming. The bed is very comfortable and the room is clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Service was good room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Service was good room was clean

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.1
    The hotel was clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The price was to much for what the hotel had to offer as far as amenities.

    The hotel was clean

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.5
    No bidet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bidet. You have to be monkey to clean yourself.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: