Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Inn Monterey Park 2 stars

588 South Atlantic Boulevard, Monterey Park, CA 91754, USA

#3 of 4 hotels in Monterey Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now the poor points , room wasn’t serviced for are full 3 night stay had to argue yes argue with the rude lady behind the desk who started shouting at me cause I wanted the house keeping to clean my room !! WiFi was iffy at best breakfast in the BASEMENT was also fun full house full of guest, 5 tables !!

    The place at first was fantastic let me say that the poor bits just ruined the experience it’s in a good location, ok style rooms was a ok stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow & old lift.Not enough tables for guests during breakfast.Scrambled eggs every day.Some variety would be good.

    Convenient to have iron & coffeemaker in rm but an electric kettle will be more useful since not everyone drinks coffee.Great that there are hot & cold drinks near reception.Friendly staff, esp helpful Chinese male ? manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is in basement, eggs and sausage could be better. HD TVs, but signal is not HD (fuzzy).

    Decent sized clean room. Modern air conditioner, big screen TV, good shower head, minifridge. Good continental breakfast: make your own waffles.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable also had breakfast included

    The property was clean ideal location for what I required the staff we're really helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room (by US standards), only one nightstand. The staff offered no help in ridding the phone of a flashing message light

    Better than average breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty close walking distance and the rooms were great clean and fresh smell, no loud noises !!which was pretty awesome and the cost was good for including breakfast ☺️

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely rude. Called to see what the check in age is and a guy that worked there said 18 so I booked my room and I called again the week after just to make sure I can still check in and a lady answered and was very rude and said it was 21 and I tried telling her that someone told me 18 and she started yelling and hung up on me.

    The room was clean and seemed remodeled.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear the voice and alarm of next room. Desk chair was broken and stain was all over the seat with a look like dig out item from garbage dumpster. The owner don't even care to replace with a $25 chair to help bring up the image. I would have rated 7.5 if not seeing the chair.

    Location is good. Weekend rate is good, weekdays rate is reasonable. Daily house keeping is doing a very good job. Front desk May was very experienced, we had more than 20 rooms of group reservation, she took cared without a hassle. Much better than the weekend front desk person.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and value! Room was very comfortable and quiet. All amenities provided including fast wifi and hot breakfast. Happy to stay there anytime in LA.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't care for the Breakfast

    The location was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was kind of lame. Everyone whines working there during our stay were very professional and nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    cleaniness of the wall to wall rug in our bedroom Door opener was not working properly Tiny breakfast room for 10 people only! Sometimes not enough food replacements

    location for chinese people

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. This place is deteriorating all over. I truly can't believe with good conscious they could rent a room out to anyone in this condition.

    Nothing. The room was horrible. The carpet should have been replaced 5 years ago. Terrible smell due to the old disgusting carpet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could be better, a little effort to be cheerful from desk help.

    Location. Clean. Access to parking lot second entrance. Did not like parking lot entrance at front door.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They needed more space to eat breakfast

    They served breakfast in the morning There beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I called the list front desk telephone number and it just keep repeating the same message. I was on the phone for over 27 minutes. I online I was unable to request veteran, senior citizen, or aaa discount. When I inquire at the front desk, the price went up. I will not be a customer you anymore. It is your lost and I will tell my family and friend to keep away from your business.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel though booking.com I wasn't allowed to check in without a major credit card, even though the webiste specifically states that I would be able to pay cash upon check in. Way to ruin our day, not to mention causing panic. We were moving out of state the next morning and had our 5 year old daughter in tow, trying to book another hotel for the night. Then they still charged my credit card a full night's stay for turning me away. Never again.

    I didn't really get to check in to answer this question.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC the Indian man at front desk wouldn't answer when I called. The curtains were all ripped up as was the chair. The towels were not clean looking. I was hot swamp cooler is not AC. Don't stay unless is cold out.

    The price and it was close to the hospital I was traveling to for work.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not as good as what is offered at Best Western and the eating area in the lobby is very restricted space-wise. We stayed in Room 108. The refrigerator made a strange cicada-like noise, which became very prominent at night that my wife had to get up to unplug it so we could sleep in peace.

    In comparison to the Best Western hotel in the Monterey Park area on the same street, the facility is newer and better. With elevator.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a strong, moldy smell when we first arrived to our room. We found two brown stains that were the size of our hands on one of the queen beds and stains on most of the pillows. We have asked the housekeepers if they could change our sheets, they had to come in and argue about the size of the obvious stains and said the sheet was clean. After arguing for couple minutes, she finally decided to change just the bed sheet. We decided to head out of town because the room was too hot, so we turn on the AC on high, thinking it'll cool off by the time we come back. We returned to our room later that evening and the room was still hot, the AC was blowing warm air and kept shutting off and on. So we ran downstairs and asked the front desk for help. We were trying to explain the AC situation and asked if there's anyone that can take a look or if we can change rooms. The front desk staff named May, she was very impolite, impatient, and have really bad customer service skills. She did not care about the situation, or try to accommodate, and kept pushing us to talk to the manager the next following day. She explained that there were customers that previously complained about the AC in the very same room and the manager already knows that it needs to be fixed a while ago. When I shared our concerns about not being able to sleep since the room is boiling hot, she responded with "so what and what do you want me to do". And when I asked if there's a fan available for us to borrow, she answered with a mocking tone "why would a hotel has a fan, there's AC in every room". We couldn't sleep the entire night due to the broken AC and strong moldy smell in the room. So we asked to change rooms the next morning, the manager may seem nice but it is not genuine. He was the one that checked us in that horrible room even though he already knew the AC needs to be fixed ASAP. We got a room switch, thinking it would be better.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only liked the environment never disliked

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were grey not white. The lady at the counter the day we checked in was not friendly.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt little bit cramped.

    Good room and beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles super

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Privacy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work most of the time.

    Clean. Good price. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old, small inn.

    Only for business.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk attendant was rude.

    The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair on a towel and it was very noisy.

    Bed was just ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no p

    good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron board was dirty with spot all over

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charge after cancelling in advanced

    Nothing place is a rip off

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night shift staff shall be improved

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast room too small.

    The bed was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too close to elevator..noisy at times

    Location to my family

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area too small parking small spaces

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sink in tub area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. The towels were old. It hit hot in the room too although left cool air on

    Location and breakfast staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A member of staff couldn't answer questions, like "how far was the closest beach?" She replied with a shrug of shoulders and "I don't know".

    Breakfast was good with lots of choices.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Although not the fault of the hotel we had no power for 12 hours. We were allotted 2 tea candles. This made quite the adventure with two 6 years old. Lucky for us we had one flashlight in one of our bags. Emergency lighting is installed throughout the property however it only worked on the 1st floor and not the floor we were on. When power was restored several of the outlets still were not working. This made a rough day for us as tablets and DVD were not charged for the day.

    Staff was very friendly and manager was apologetic. Breakfast was good enough to start our day off. I would stay again if I needed too.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff weren't very welcoming customers and weren't professional I could see them very lazy

    coffee in the room big enough room close to restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service is bad and the chinese lady at the reception is very rude. The carpet smell like dead cat. The cleanliness is undesirable. I have to move to new hotel down the road and cancel my stay. Awfull

    nothing.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - It was a mess when checking in. Reserved large group of stay. But the reservation code from Booking.com doesn't work. And the guest name of each room input at Booking.com doesn't show in Hotel system either. - Shower temperature is low.

    Location location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Safety and security.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and room were very clean. The area was nice and the room was a good price.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't like the staff, they are not good at all, specialty the reception guy....

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one chair and it is broken, I hope have good situation chair and at list two chairs for a room with two beds.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The noise from the other guests can penetrate the walls. Also on a busy street.

    Free continental breakfast, convenient location, clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed on the first floor. I will get an upper room next time.

    Room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe box

    Good WiFi, Clean

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staffs

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi is little off,sometimes cannot connected

    All the things is really comfortable! wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Could hear footsteps upstairs.

    Lots of stores and restaurants around and close to interstate. Convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free wifi speed is not fast

    Clean & comfort

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: