Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North 3 stars

7350 East Gold Dust Avenue, Scottsdale, AZ 85258, USA

#49 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 63 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. No negatives at all.

    I'm not an egg fan, but both the omelets and the scrambled eggs were good. I bought a pizza for supper one night and the staff set up a microwave so I could reheat my leftovers the next night. Good safe parking. All Super!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfasts are atrocious. They should rather say they do not serve breakfast than serve up the over processed artificial stuff they do. The impact on the environment is horrendous with the amount of packaging that is thrown away. Rather pay less and eat elsewhere.

    Access to a fitness centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired property, noisy heating system, bathroom is old and very small.

    Great Scottsdale location, good HI Express breakfast, quiet neighborhood location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning unit was way too noisy Breakfast was very basic and the cook food was cold Coffee was good!

    The location is great and the staff were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and comfortable for our family. Easy check in & express check out means a lot us as we were stay at various hotels throughout AZ on our road trip. Good size room. Our kids enjoyed the pool. Convenient hours for breakfast, which was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curved shower rod so I had to try and avoid touching the shower curtain throughout my shower, which is difficult in a tight space. The bed is VERY firm.

    Location close to business destination. Quick check in. Good bathroom vanity, shower head and water pressure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smoking right outside front door and in pool area so did not want to use the pool.

    Staff very nice and accomodating. Clean daily house cleaning. Good breakfast options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disposable plates, cups and cutlery served with breakfast, not environmentally friendly :(

    The room was clean, the pool and hot tub were clean and not crowded, Reception staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    property is centrally located to restaurants and shopping. quiet neighborhood but quick access to highway. very well kept property. outdoor pool was especially clean; lawn well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff made us our own plate of warm cookies when they were out downstairs and delivered them to the room! The kids adored that. Super location with good restaurants in walking distance even.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only even minor complaint we would register would be that the stairway doors slam very loudly. Possibly just a little adjustment by your maintenance crew?

    front desk staff, particularly Amanda, were excellent, as were the kitchen staff and maid service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steven at the desk was very gracious upon Check in. However, staff in the afternoon was not gracious and it seemed a problem for him to answer questions. Also the so called omelette was like plastic.

    Quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whoever remodeled the bathroom didn't actually ever take a shower or occupy the bathroom. We had a King room, too. There was a ton of wasted space with a 1 person corner shower in a place that could have accommodated a nice tub. There is no hook on the back of the door and no extra racks for towels. The greatest disappointment was the bed bugs we found on our second day. The hotel did move us and did give us some of a refund (which was the right thing to do), but it was still disconcerting. We did not search for another hotel because my husband was in the middle of prepping for a procedure at the Mayo clinic and couldn't be far from a bathroom. We took a second floor room instead. is put out The breakfast was not bad except for the "factory" made eggs (it was a round patty of scrambled eggs one day and then it was folded the next day for an omelet with some cheese and then it was folded with cheese and salsa for a "western" omelet). The coffee, yogurts, juices were very good. Loved the little ladies in the breakfast cafe…they were wonderful.

    The hotel was not very busy, so it was quiet. The room decor was nice. Loved having the small sofa and table to relax on. Needed a pad of paper for the desk and a mirror to help with morning routine. The staff was very friendly, the cookies, lemonade and water were a welcome sight when we came in. It was very helpful to have a washer and dryer on the second floor which was a reasonable cost $1.00 for app. 25 minutes to wash and $1.00 for app. 45 minutes to dry. It would be nice if they labeled the time on the machine. We had a fridge in our room, but could have used a microwave, too. (There's only 1 in whole place, down in the cafe, after breakfast to be used by all guests.)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopper in sink didn't work. Room wasn't cleaned the second night we stayed. Stayed 7 nights so would have been nice if there was some,thing different for breakfast every few days.

    Close to my sons home. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the only thing available was rooms that have two queens. I would have preferred a King, but I would have settled for a single Queen.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to find, friendly employees and not noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and drunken people on my floor

    Comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The complimentary breakfast was put away well before the designated end time on multiple occasions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that negatively affected my stay.

    Comfortable, clean room. Location was very good for the purpose of this trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic and breakfast very poor Paid 2000 dollars for my stay and worth 500

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was great and the room spacious. Good breakfast and enjoyed the fruit selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were small, and not many amenities.

    Rooms were clean. Good location, close to a lot of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Close proximity to shops, great staff and cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location

    Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stephen was super nice and professional and made my check in process easy. The bed was super comfy and the breakfast had a nice selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pet friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool side room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SmallRooms,old carpets, smell of sulfer in the water. Men's bathroom in the lobby was out of service for 2 days

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    went out for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower of the Room was too little (last time there was a Shower-tub

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One rug between Rooms had wrinkles.

    I liked the compliments: Ice cold water and lemonade, cookies, apples, cofee

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem a little short staffed in the night.

    Breakfast was good. Some in our group loved the cinnamon rolls.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No safe in the room for valuables. Very small bars of soap.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy AC unit in room

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean room and very friendly staff. Immediate response to having someone come to reset TV!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terribly overpriced. The shower is like a cabin and you need to get small to fit, and Im not even that tall. Remote for TV didnt work.

    Very nice staff and silent rooms.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not connect to wifi on my I phone 6 at the Holiday Inn Express could connect everywhere else. Also we had to wait for 2 hours for the courtesy coach to pick us up from Scottsdale it was raining and cold not very nice.

    Hotel in good location it was raining a lot so took some of the fun out of it but otherwise Scottsdale was nice

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having a hotel full of soccer kids who slammed their doors continuously till 2:30 am. Then it started all over at 530 am!!! Where were their parents.

    Transportation van to drop us off in old town was nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff at the reception. Personnel at the breakfast room was helpful. WiFi-connection was great. Location of hotel was easily found. Refreshing lemonade in the lobby was free to take.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No one communicated to me that wi-fi passwords are changed each Monday so I woke up Monday at 3am with no wi-fi. Had it been really important I would have checked into it at the front desk.

    Very nice buffet breakfast with plenty of choices. Clean, comfortable room with desk and plenty of plugs for USB gadgets. Great value. Yummy cookies and apples in the lobby. I was here for a conference at another hotel and was happy to return here each night.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love the reliable value of HI Express ... will continue to stay at them ...

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    great breakfast, i liked the healthy options everyone found what they wanted loved eating outside

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At $154, I would expect more.

    I'd stayed there before. It was what I expected - no more. Staff was very nice. Everything clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    4 people stayed in the room and only 3 towels were provided.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    the morning breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Easiness of checking/checkout process and great overall experience.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, tidy room, good breakfast, easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, warm breakfast, good WiFi, nice clean large room, and easy access to the pool.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell/odor of the room we reserved

    Everything, but the odor in our room (#309). Customer service was excellent. The staff were awesome.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ease of getting in and out The breakfast was awesome, could not have asked for more!!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you have breakfast, stick to the foods that are pre-packaged. The food was horrible.

    Very good for the price. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The service was great,room clean and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe deposit box in the room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good location with easy access to main roadways.Comfotable rooms and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was ok. Kept running out of food and not replacing it very quickly. Several left the breakfast frustrated.

    Area location.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just that the bed was so hard that my husband hurt his shoulder

    Overall clean

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wake up calls did not come 3 out of 3 times

    Loved breakfast. Girls do a spectacular job!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: