Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area 2 stars

346 Baronne Street, Downtown New Orleans, New Orleans, LA 70112, USA

#27 of 148 hotels in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t tell from the outside that it was a hotel. Drove past it three times before I saw a Fairfield inn sign. The sign was not symbolic of the brand so I almost missed it.

    It was beautifully designed. The architect and the interior designer of the furniture made good use of the space. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young manager (30 yr old Caucasian). There were issues with my room being ready and Valentin my vehicle. Mg didn’t handle the stress of being busy very well and I could tell he was very overwhelmed. He just kept repeating himself and apologizing for how busy they were. My room was not ready till 4ish... we had called before arrival to see if we could check in early, lady on phone said 1:30 would have been fine. It was not.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes up.

    Our room was spacious. Location is not far not near from Bourbon street. Breakfast was amazing. Nobody but a vegitarian can complain. Gym was acceptable unless you are a berbell lifter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi at the hotel, which does not require a password, was pretty slow and every time I opened up a browser or application using the internet on my phone the login screen would come up again, even though there wasn't really any need to log in. It was easier to use cellular data for most of my Internet needs.

    The staff were excellent: friendly, helpful, and competent. The breakfast also went beyond expectations, with an unusually good fruit selection, eggs cooked three ways, a variety of breads with a good toaster, good coffee, etc. Just a step above the typical hotel breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast, it took me a few minutes to find where the coffee was located, but this really wasn't a problem.

    Everything was good overall. The staff I spoke with were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except was told breakfast lasted till 1030. The breakfast staff were unfriendly. Literally saw a staff member deny some children pasteries at 10:01.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with 2 KING beds and large, modern bathroom with walk in shower and plenty of counter space. Also liked the Paul Mitchell toiletries! Complimentary breakfast! Washer and dryer on floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing actually, except the fact that the breakfast was always a repeat, but having said that, the breakfast was well laid out with lots of choices, so it was not so bad.

    Newly appointed rooms which were super comfortable and the very helpful staff at the front-desk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiting for the parking valet to bring my car around. Parking must've been blocks away. Good thing I took everything in with me. But, since this is downtown, chances are that a parking spot is at a premium.

    The room was wonderful, spacious, and it even had a microwave. The breakfast was excellent. I had a cheese omelet and waffles, along with a banana, so I don't know about the bacon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways slanted down at elevators. Elevators loud and in need of upgrades and service.

    Victor at the front desk was knowledgeable, helpful, kind and friendly. He made this hotel shine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing was our view was horrible but the room was beautiful so we didn't complain. Also, they should invest in outdoor area furniture I know it is small but they could do something nicer for those who want to sit outside for a bit.

    Your Staff is AMAZING. Front Desk clerks were friendly, helpful and always smiling. We have never stayed in a hotel where the staff was like family. Breakfast was good. Front lobby very comfortable and always had fresh water jugs ready for their guests for their return to the hotel. Also WiFi connection was great,quick and free that was a definite bonus. Location of the hotel was perfect. Not to close to noise and not to far to walk to anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a bigger sign for people to identify it. We passed it several times! This is my only complaint.

    Staff was friendly, good location, great breakfast, and clean rooms!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing in particular

    Not having our own transport, the hotel was handy for the areas we particularly wanted to visit and tour operators were prepared to come to the hotel to pick us up

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really liked the property, very nice beds and shower was powerful and very clean! The manager that checked me in went over and above his duties, I accidentally left my money bag in our vehicle and he walked with me to ensure I found the correct garage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    This hotel was lovely and definitely worth paying the extra for a spot of luxury. Of course there are cheaper properties in New Orleans but we wanted something nicer. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom seemed a little small but it was just taken up by a large walk in shower. The breakfast was brilliant, a lot of choice for cold and hot breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive and difficult to valet, which is allthey have at this time.

    Staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was good. The location to downtown was close. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was. I found out at check out that the hotel places a hold on your account equal to your stay. Then charges you for your stay upon checkouts. So if your total was 686.00 for the weekend. Your card will be charged 1372.00 and you will not get the 686 back for a few days. If that doesn't bother you. Then your will have a blast!

    Awesome place to stay! You will not be disappointed. Only a block from the strip!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was great!!

    The room was so comfortable and the bed was AMAZING!!! The newly renovated look of this hotel is great and inviting. My husband and I will be back. The staff welcomed us like we were old friends and were able to help with a very early check in. We will be back!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all except there wasn't enough garbage cans in the room.

    Everything was new, clean, and immaculate. Plus the building structure was from 1910 so it had charm and character.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know that they would charge my card the entire price at check-in, the front desk lady allowed me to charge a little on my card, and I paid the cost when I checked out

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and great hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and very nice hotel handy to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything about this place.

    Big bed, big TV, room was spacious, very clean and tidy, lovely big shower and vanity area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like different options everyday, not the same eggs, turkey sausage, cheese omlets everyday.

    That fact they offered breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tooo far to be called French quarters

    I thought the staff were all sweet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A true breakfast! Beds! Large rooms. Dark out curtains Quiet location,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink outside bathroom. Makes it difficult if your not traveling solo

    Friendly staff, clean room, comfy bed, and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was amazing, fresh waffles and juices

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be good if coffee facilities either in room or in lobby all day not just at breakfast time.

    Location Clean and friendly, helpful hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quiet and comfortable. Better than average breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I loved the location and how the rooms were set up.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls

    Excellent bed and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to noise that sound like a washing machine and we could not get any sleep in the morning.

    It was the perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel in the business district. Close to French Quarters. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Huge TV, great bed, terrific breakfast, great location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater did not work in our room, but the staff was helpful.

    The location was great, nice layout and decor of the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room ready. Had to wait 2 hours in lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff! Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast tasted awful

    The room looks great Staff were very friendly and gave us tips

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady Kaylon was very kind and approachable at check in and everytime I had to deal with her.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too close. But other than that, I enjoyed it all

    I love the room and comfort of bed. Have a good quiet night. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, the breakfast was very rich!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A very pleasant room experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that that bathroom didn't have an air vent.

    The overall comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful lobby. Recently renovated rooms. The hotel was walking distance to the heart of the french quarter! Great stay overall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude customer service

    Bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD

    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was cold & only one elevator working

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Group
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the online reservations dont tell extra money you have to put down

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service and spacious rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not the fanciest place could use some renovations. Hallways were a bit smelly but not in the room. Air conditioner in the first room didn't work but we were moved to another room which did have working air.

    Budget friendly hotel Hot breakfast was great. Staff was friendly for the most part. Location was great short distance to French Quater which is where we spent a lot of time. Overall good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking situation was misleading -- I was under the impression parking was free onsite, which it wasn't. The exercise room was missing pieces for the weight machine, and there was no yoga mat.

    Great location, walking distance from the sites but not smack in the middle of all the commotion -- and safe.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The parking situation: it would be nice to have a more accessible way to park a car. I have knee problems, and it took a lot of time to park and get the car. No window to look outside.

    The time we arrived in the lobby we was greeted by capable friendly staff. Ms. Terry in the kitchen is exceptional and person that jumpstarts your day. The young man that came to my rescue to fix the microwave was very courteous and polite.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is right on a busy one way street, especially in the afternoon. It's hard to figure out where to park if you have never been to NOLA before. Be prepared to make a lot of circles.

    It was clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The air conditioning wasn't as cool as we had hoped.

    Al at the front desk was very personable and great sense of humor. Room was clean and maid service excellent. Maintenance was quick when needed.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception is rude, make my mother in law pay twice per room. I had to wait 1 hour to get the elevator because the cleanning staff use them all the time.

    The location is very good, and the valet parking very kind.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is mediocre (for European standards), loud air condition right next to bed, sink on the room (apparently common in hotels in the southern States, but still annoying)

    Great location, reliable internet

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was horrible!! The lights didn't properly work and the wifi sucked!

    We stayed there for attending a wedding and the hotel was eight in he middle of everything. Not too far to walk fe Bourbon and such.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The parking garage!!!!!! It was two blocks away and was the worst I have ever been in. It was so narrow and steep and had to park starting at deck 5 and up. Cost was $20. I would recommend paying the $30 to park on the street at a random lot, not in their garage.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Few blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter, reasonable breakfast, valet cost-effective near the hotel, but there are cheaper parking on Canal Street. The hotel changed management recently (it was a "Comfort Inn" flag when I booked).

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shuttle services are not availible, although the website indicated they were. Parking is at a fair price, but the garage is not pleasant to drive in. Valet parking is worth every penny!!

    Staff was very helpful with questions about the area and offered multiple options for activities and transportation.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price value was horrible. Hotel had bad odor. Rented two rooms the small room was double the price of the larger room. Still don't unstand that??

    Staff was very nice an helpful. Taxi pick up right out the front door.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The name had changed and I wasn't notified. I drove around for 45 mins looking for Comfort Inn and the name is now Baronne inn. It would have been nice to know and not waste time and gas driving around looking.

    Proximity to tourist area

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    May be the breakfast, but I wasn't here, in New Orleans for tasting hostel breakfast. So...

    This hostel is very clean and the personnel was so kind with me. The location was great between the French quarter and central district. You can walk for few minutes until the French quarter.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think that for breakfast they should mix it up a little. For example they had bacon everyday maybe mix it up by serving sausage patties or links as well.

    It was comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our air conditioner didnt blow cold like it should but it wasn't a big concern for us.

    the location being so close to everything is a big plus for me. The staff was excellent and the free continental breakfast. Overall was great!

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house keeping was seriously lacking. There was stuff left in the room by the previous tenant which is not acceptable! We even went and told the front desk but the house keeping still didn't come clean up.

    The staff was great! AJ was very welcoming and friendly! The location was pretty good too and the parking is the cheapest I've ever paid in New Orleans. Also there's a bar connected to the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/ coffee facilities within the room, you need to go to reception and ask a staff member if you need a cup of tea, some staff members had no smile on their face. Their was free coffee availble near the reception.

    Location, cleanliness

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: