Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Suites Gateway 3 stars

596 Al Henderson Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31419, USA

#44 of 135 hotels in Savannah

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    The property was close to 95 South.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had some areas that were not clean. There was hair on the bed, and small portions on the carpet that lined the wall had a white powdery substance.

    The property was close to 95 South. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area and staff working the breakfast. It was too small for the amount of people staying there and had to wait in a long line just for a muffin. The way the breakfast area is originize is the reason for the long lines. Need to move the wallfle maker to its own table, people who wanted just a muffin had to wait until the personnel was complete marking a waffle brfore the line would move. Also, the breakfast staff seem like they where not happy to be their doing their job. I simply informed her they where out of spoons. She gave me a “ look” and went into the back room. The spoons where refilled but didn’t need the attitude, I was very respectful when I informed her.

    Ease of checkin and the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Will not come back here again, ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink in bathroom was clogged. Took two days to get it fixed. Coffee fixings (we did not use) should NOT be kept in bathroom. I put it on desk and it kept being put back in bathroom. UGH!!! Key did not work on third day. Maid walked in on us. Did NOT knock. Older hotel in the mist of getting refurbished. Breakfast was so so. I only could have toast and milk. The muffins were damp. Bananas over ripe. No hot chocolate available. Eggs look awful and no bacon. My husband did eat the waffles and juice. Glass around pool and breakfast area VERY dirty and should be cleaned. Backs of chairs in breakfast area dirty. Fire place mantel needs repair.

    It did have a refrigerator and microwave. Cabinet where refrigerator was needs repair.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Your website is incorrect, I booked a smoking king that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your website is incorrect, I booked a smoking king that was non -refundable, got there to check in and it's a100% smoke free facility found out ALL COMFORT INNS ARE SMOKE FREE stayed a total of 30 mins wife had to go from second floor through motel out across parking lot to smoke, CORRECT YOUR WEBSITE

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were clean and very spacious.
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipment in the workout room wasn’t working, the heater on the pool wasn’t working and the side doors would pick and choose if they would open with your key card.

    The rooms were clean and very spacious. I enjoyed having the breakfast available and most of the staff was very accommodating and helpful, especially to a group of pre-teens with lots of questions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good choice for a short stay along I-95
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area was not well-designed and several items were out of stock.

    Room was large and clean and well-supplied. Hotel was quiet and very convenient to interstate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too small (we had to stand and wait in queue for 10 minutes) and not tasty (you can not find any fruits, vegetables, fresh eggs, cheese or ham or even any sausages eatable for children). The lady taking care about the breakfast room was rude and impolite. She looked the door from inside and my 7 years old son, who went out for a minute to the restroom, could not get inside!! She didn't want to let him in. The receptionists are impolite when you have any problem.

    Rooms were quite big and rather clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    Not really worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just kinda run down. They replaced the blow dryer but didn't paint around it. So there was a circle of white around it. Rust on bathroom hinges. A lot of dust next to the bed by ac unit. Trim had a lot of plaster on it. They said the pool was heated which it was not.

    Location was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lovely receptionist who went out of her way to let us stay in our room for a second night even though they were really busy. Also liked there were nice restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The front desk people were very nice and respectful to me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay at the hotel but one thing I have to complain about a room attendant that came to me that was very rude I was trying to get a towel off the card and he said to me next time I should ask and also he said some other things in another language that I could not understand so this made me give you guys a little bit of a poor rating I would like to say that everything would have everything else was great thank you

    The front desk people were very nice and respectful to me also my kids had a great time at this hotel is very clean and I loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but not worth the money we spent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, not the room I seen in the picture. The fridge did not work. The chair in the room had stains all over it.The light above the spa tub did not work. Not worth 220 dollars a night!!

    The bed was big and room was clean..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Toliet would not flush and front desk clerk told me I could...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toliet would not flush and front desk clerk told me I could come and get plunger. I reported the issue 5 min after checking in. That was her only solution. She had an attitude since i didnt want to take care of the issue myself. I told her I didnt come to a hotel to plunge a toilet that was already clogged from the moment of check in. I believe her name was Jennifer. She was clearly overwhelmed with everyone checking in at the same time. She was the only person working and she said she was new.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny odor in lobby

    Comfortable room. Within walking distance of several restaurants. Sets back from main interstate so no loud road noises. Yippee!! Good breakfast, plenty of towels in bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    OVERALL, A PLEASANT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT AND COFFEE WAS WEAK AND WARM.

    ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. HOTEL CONVENIENT TO SIGHTSEEING DESTINATIONS.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    It was passable for a one night, just-passing-through stay. But I will never choose Comfort again.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was musty and moldy. We have allergies and this made for a very rough night of sleep. The coffee in the lobby was cold. It was also pretty awful tasting in both the lobby and the breakfast room. The breakfast was poor. There was an extremely limited selection, with absolutely nothing to eat for people with food allergies (such as eggs, Dairy, gluten, soy - which are VERY common allergies). Not even any fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    The staff didn’t give us directions to our room. We found the gym and other amenities ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was shabby. Door to the fridge was falling off the hinges. The carpet needed to be cleaned, and there were several stains on the walls.

    Breakfast was good, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    My stay was adequate but next time this would not be my first choice of a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a stale smell to it. The facility was showing its age. The breakfast had a fairly limited menu.

    The location was within walking distance to a Ruby Tuesday restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Someone is running what is basically a lovely hotel on the cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    HORRIBLE BREAKFAST! The hard-boiled eggs were like rubber balls. The biscuits were hard as rocks. The attendant said, "Oh, you have to microwave them to soften them." Other hotels serve them fresh. These were at least 3 days old. After the first morning, we ignored the free breakfast and at nearby restaurants for breakfast. There are repairs that have been made in the rooms that were done quick and on the cheap, such as corner bumpers that are ugly and on with screws that are not counter-sunk. (Not sure why the photo is sideways, but you can see the bumpers are the wrong color and the screws.)

    The rooms included a sitting area and two double beds. Five of us were able to sit together in one room (if we borrowed a chair from one of our other rooms). The beds were comfortable and the shower had a handicap bar, which I always appreciate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay and will be back when I visit the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot tub wasnt clean enough to use. Even after I cleaned it myself after turning on the jacuzzi part there was buildup of something coming out of the jets.

    I enjoyed the room. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Trip with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the pool had been outside. It was indoor n the chlorine smelled awful.

    Very good rate for the room size. Queen suite with two queen beds n a pullout sofa. Disability accessible Bathroom with large shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money and wonderful place to relax after a hard day of driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially staff person checking us in was not welcoming or very friendly. Other staff were, however, very pleasant.

    Room was very attractive, spacious and clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was a very nice size and had plenty of hot water. TV was easy to operate. Breakfast was very nice with something for everyone. The front desk person we dealt with initially and could have been more welcoming, but staff we dealt with later were very nice. There was a great seafood restaurant named Love's nearby. Highly recommend this!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    I will never return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to begin.... We were given a room that had a strong stench and when we asked for a switch, the front desk attendant was pretty unfriendly about it, though she did ultimately come through. The room we were assigned had stains on the carpet, the furniture was old and beat up and the hot water in the shower ran out after a short time. The air conditioner was extremely noisy, but when you turned it off, the room smelled bad. The kind lady that tried her best to keep up with the morning breakfast crowd is overworked!! She's a senior citizen, for pete's sake, give her a break and a raise!!

    The lobby was large and pleasant. The location, though further out of town than we thought, was quiet and had many restaurant choices nearby. The outside of the hotel was attractive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Close to downtown and good for just a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was impossible to get to with so many people. There were like two luggage carts to service the entire hotel. They didn't have our reservation because of something to do with the interface between Booking and their software. Long wait to check in because of it. Luckily they had rooms.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators were down

    The elevators were not working, the pullout sofa sheets had dirt on them, don’t think they were clean. The continental breakfast ended at nine would like to of seen that extend it to at least 10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    The stay was great, but too far away from where we went everyday which was tybee island beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt like that there wasnt a balcony. Also, the last day we were there the elevator didnt work so we had to take all of our stuff from 3 floors at least 3 times.

    The room was nice. I could see the highway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what we needed after a long day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was so loose I had to tighten it. I would think that was something that should have been noticed when housekeeping was cleaning the toilet.

    Great location off I 95 on our way to Florida. The lobby is inviting. Very quiet, absolutely no traffic noise despite proximity to the interstate. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Free breakfast wasn’t elaborate, but it was convenient and we were satisfied. The breakfast room was separate and good sized. I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Overall, it left a lot to desire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had 1 elevator, the last day and night we were there, it was out of order, we were on the top floor. Their breakfast was extremely "light continental", we were supposed to have queen suite, we had a "double" bed "suite"?? The toilet broke the first night, they repaired it quickly. The air conditioner never worked well--when you turned the thermostat down to cool the room, it would not turn off, when you turned it up, the heater came on even if the thermostat was just set to cool so you just had to turn it off. This was, by far, the poorest Comfort Suites I have ever stayed in and it is, generally, my destination facility

    The location was convenient to where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Will not stay there again because of the safety factor
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found that the smoke detector did not work. Had to change the battery myself. Had a battery in it that said best used by Mar. 2015. End of battery was swollen. Had to change rooms. How many other rooms do they have that the detectors are not working.

    Overall the property was good and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    The place could definitely use some maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place could definitely use some maintenance. It seems big but it's really not a hard to get around. The pool was the worst it had an overwhelming bleach smell and big chunks of hair on the wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating/cooling system is a bit noisy and there isn't a digital thermostat, it is the old style dial of cold to hot.

    Location is great. Right off 95.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was locked of my room and when I went to the front desk. I was told that room was under someone else’s name, when I already been in the room for two days already. I talked to the front desk and I thought the mix up was resolved but it wasn’t. The morning of my check the print out of fee was put under the door, with the wrong name on the paper. I talked to the front desk again, so I hope the misunderstanding was fix.

    Everything was satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Can’t wait to stay there again. We will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints great value and service . I would highly recommend . Indoor pool was also a big plus!!

    Room was very clear and the staff was more than helpful. The breakfast was delicious!’

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    this hotel is dilapidated the furniture was cracked and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel is dilapidated the furniture was cracked and destroyed the bathroom beyond stained and filthy not cleaned in weeks we actually did not shower or use the bathroom the side of the tub had dents and holes . how does that even happen to a tub tv goes out constantly no stations the carpet and bedding was pathetic and basically prison like could not wait to get out I left my luggage in the car for fear of bed bugs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Was not disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ......

    We really enjoyed our stay here, the customer service was great and the housekeeping staff was outstanding! Anytime we visit Savannah from now on, this will be our go to place for comfort!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Location for traveling to Pooler, Sav, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being next to a stairwell when I reserved a King Spa room. The breakfast setup. The waffle and toast station should be on a different table. The line gets backed up due to those two stations being on the same table with other breakfast items.

    Location for traveling to Pooler, Sav, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The girls were happy and so we are happy.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn’t the cleanest most appealing pool. My girls love to swim so I let them but I wasn’t excited about them swimming in it or walking around it. Could def use some tlc. Rooms could be refreshed as well.... some hotels make you feel like your vacation.... I was more worried than relaxed. Just could also use some tlc and updating.

    The staff was great! So helpful! Love them! The lady who checked us in - I can’t remember her name was so great. She gave us advice and suggestions as to what to do in Savannah. She made us want to comeback. Also the lady who called us and told us we left behind our ipad was awesome as well. Thank you for having such great staff there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, Clean, Stocked room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com labelled the location Historic District. This Motel is off I-95. The Historic District is a 20 min drive 2 exits up I-95. That'll teach me won't it.

    Beautiful, Clean, Stocked room. Linens and towels were fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast could have offered a greater variety.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have offered a greater variety. For example. Regular oatmeal as compared to the instant packages.There was some issue with plumbing in the bathroom. Toilet made gurgling sounds throughout the stay. It was annoying and seemed like it was pressure in the plumbing line wanting to back up in tub and toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable, room was extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold and there were no towels in the pool area.

    The bed was very comfortable, room was extremely clean. Was right off I-95 so we didn’t have to drive miles to get to it. It was a very nice stay, we were on our way home from FL and decided to stop for the evenening. You can also walk to Ruby Tuesday just by crossing a foot bridge over the ditch line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could improve a bit more. The swimming pool was really little.

    The room can fit a family of 5 people. It has two double beds and a sofa bed that pulls out. The two beds are rather comfortable. The sofa bed can do for one night or two.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Will spread the word to friends & family.....don't stay here and take your own breakfast foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two employees at check-in. One was quite pleasant....the other had a terrible attitude and did not make us feel welcome at all. A very bad start to our stay. The room was decent - but sofa bed was ridiculously terrible. A family member had to sleep on that awful thing. Facilities need to be renovated badly....pool area was gross. There was a rusty patio adjoining pool area - gross. And complimentary breakfast items were disgusting beyond words. It's not hard to do it right folks. We won't stay at your brand hotels again.

    Main beds in room were decent. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    2.5
    This place was very nasty and smelled horrible. Mold, dirt, and poop on walls/chair and stains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a HORRIBLE smell and was nasty. Stains on bed, poop on the chair in the room, hair dryer in the bathroom and door frames. What looked like blood on bathroom door frame. Mold in the shower ceiling. Dirt all over the floors like they have never been vacuumed. I have never seen anything like this in my life. We will not be back. For some reason it will not let me rate it zero stars because that's what it deserves.

    Nothing. It was truly disgusting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    It was mediocre at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems paying for room with a Visa, bank states all was good on their end. Breakfast disgusting, facilities probably used to be nice, pool looked like plantar wort city and my son was bit by bed bugs ( I have seen bites before ) Just overall Meh...

    I had a bed to sleep in and a shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Felt unsafe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in, clerk spoke unprofessional to me, about person who checked in before me because he had trouble getting his key to work. When turning on the heart, the smoke detector went off and continued to beep loudly because it detected smoke. The smell was NOT hear, it was like electrical wiring burning. When I tried to report it, staff did not care. Said it was common.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool is advertised as "heated," but was room temp at best... a little chilly.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The coffee was great! And, there was an "Old Town Trolley" shuttle bus available to take us into town!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    I can appreciate everything that was offered ie.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pull out bed mattress definitely could be replaced and up dated. There was no padding and only springs for support.SO we all and to double up.

    I can appreciate everything that was offered ie. Staff, room, and the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    Lot of places to eat close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way from downtown Savanna. The room was not clean when we got there. Paper and coffee stir stick on the floor. My wife did not like that HGTV was not available on the TV. Eggs that looks like fried eggs were in water in the serving pan. The coffee was empty more than once.

    Room on bottom floor. Halls well light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows we're plentiful however, they we're EXTREMELY soft and flat. The free breakfast was lacking at best.Hard biscuits and a crusty crockpot full of "gravy". The hotel was not convenient to downtown Savannah....30 min away. There was almost no Handicap parking and little regular parking that wasn't always full.

    Thwe water pressure and in room hot tub was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall, worth the money and a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we returned to get cleaned up and rest around 3 o'clock the first full day we were in town our rooms were not yet cleaned and were unable to relax like we hoped.

    The room was spacious and the overall lobby, breakfast, welcoming staff was great! They accommodated us wanting to have our rooms close by at the time of checkout. That made our stay that much better!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The staff was very friend they signed me up for the choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was. Excellent it was nothing that we didnt like

    The staff was very friend they signed me up for the choice hotel explained it to me told us what time breakfast was and also consider me parking on a certain side since my hotel room was located on that side

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    2nd stay overnight stay here and will book again if needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better as both waffle makers were broken and eggs looked premade.

    The reservation from Booking.com did not come thru but property staff matched everything that was shown in the confirmation. Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    2.9
    dirty filthy rude unproessional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the first room we got had black chunks of idk what on the bed for the ac & dry boogers on the side of the beds after that we were moved and our room upgraded? more like down graded. the ac had white mold in it. burn marks that looked like it shot out of eltc outlets such as fan and fire alarm cigarette burn marks on sheets in a non-smoking room staff was rude & unprofessional ( they were busy on their phones and acting as if we weren't there) will be writing the company about getting a refund...... this place was not worth the $90+ we paid it was more like $15 cheap roach motel in the hood

    breakfast was the only good thing about this place. everything was made fresh a full free continental breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.0
    Pleasantly surprised.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have the breakfast. Was not hungry at the time, but it appeared to be your typical continental type breakfast. Room was roomy, clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    It was relaxing with good convenientance to good food. Close to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough patio setting to have a drink relax and maybe a cigar.

    Breakfast was good but could change the egg up to maybe scrambled and have bacon instead of just link sausage . Keep towel full at pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Enjoy our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A car parked in between 2 handicap parking places where there should be not parking. We could hardly get into our car the other handicap could not get into the driver's side of the car. When I complained I was told that it was private property and the police would not ticket the car. Because the hotel were full, cars could park anywhere including that space. I always thought it was against the law since it is posted with a fine.

    Excellent breaksfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.2
    Hideous and tacky !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all fairness I never stay in hotels under four stars but went by the hotel rating in this case since it was a long weekend and didn’t have many options. I was extremely dissatisfied. This hotel is outdated and a tacky chandelier at the entrance with plastic flowers tells you what’s to come. Then the front desk girl was sleeping when we arrived. The hallways smelled like someone was smoking pot. Continental breakfast was disgusting. Just dirty and hideous all over.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Only stay if you have to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely filthy bathroom, the tub was atrocious and there was scum markings along the shower walls. The floor was disgusting as well. My husband mentioned breakfast looked like your usual mediocre hotel breakfast and was going to get food however a child openly coughing over the food turned him away from that idea. Would be nice if there was a staff member stationed to prevent this.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Many hotels in the area - will try a different one next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness center was very dirty. Wanted to use the treadmill but was turned off by the condition of the room. Breakfast was poor.

    The location is great- just off I95. Comfortable room and a good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet tank lid (room 328)has a nasty black rim where it sets on the tank, otherwise the room was very clean. The tub faucet needs screwed on/tightened as it fell off. Eggs at breakfast were nasty. Would love to have had scrambled eggs, they taste better after frozen.

    The whirl pool tub in the king suite was great after a long day of walking and playing. GREAT location for us. Staff was very friendly. Smelled clean. The room was clean. Safe location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Sofa bed blues curry in the air
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These hotels are all the same. Small rooms. They seem to pack visitors together and then you listen to other people's conversation through the walls as you try to fall asleep.

    The sofa bed was dirty and old. The staff were friendly but the smell of Indian cooking was overpowering on the second floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    The rooms was not ready at 6pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom have broken furniture .staff Needs a little organization and better prepared workers at front desk.

    The rooms was not ready at 6pm. We wait few minutes to enter and For some reason the restaurant nearby was closed. I did not like the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    It was an overall pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very unhappy when the waterline broke and there was no water for hours delaying my time to leave the hotel to go enjoy the activities of the day.

    I enjoyed a comfortable bed and spacious room. I appreciated the helpfulness of the desk clerks and the breakfast lady.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.4
    okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was there for 4 nights the first night was on a Saturday so the the next day i was off work. The next day was Sunday i left property early about 8 AM I returned at 6 PM my room had not been serviced at all . The front desk gave me fresh towels and no reason for my room not being serviced . I travel over 200 days a year i have time for dumb mistakes on my stay .

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Yuck.
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a handicap room which may have been due to availability. But it did not suit our needs. Bathroom had a weird smell. Breakfast was truly awful. They were out of almost everything. There was only one person on and she was understandably overwhelmed. The cook left before the time was up. No eggs or bacon. I had a dry biscuit which was terrible. I do understand that the weather certainly may have a factor in all of this. However I was not pleased. In contrast our xperience in Carlisle Pa the night before was WONDERFUL.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly. The breakfast was disgusting. Also the rooms are dirty and old fashioned. Additionally we had a King suite and it was more like a standard room. The furniture was scratched and the carpet disgusting. We will look for other hotels in the future. We choose this one because of the reviews that said it was a 8 or more. Hugh? We think the rooms should be a lot cheaper!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very good. Adequate for an overnight.

    The price was nice. Everything was just....ok. This hotel was the least expensive of the hotels in our filtered choice of hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Asolutely great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great on the day of our checkout! The hotel staff was friendly, and we enjoyed staying in a clean room with access to a fridge, coffee pot, and microwave, and other amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ammm, the facilities are a bit old, parking is free which is good but sometimes full. The worst is the air conditioner, it was so noisy that I could not get to sleep until I turned it off and it was almost 4am…the breakfast is free but almost everything was cold. Fair enough for a one day stay but no more days I guess.

    The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Great location with good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure could have been a little higher in the shower. Lots of noise in the hallways and the room above, but I travel with noise cancelling headphones so it didn't impact my sleep.

    Great bed. Excellent room layout with plenty of space. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good. I have stopped at this hotel 3 times on my way to or from Florida. Easy on/off access to I-95.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.9
    Due to the overall look of the room, the price of the room was too high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in room was terribly scratched up with huge gouges in all pieces. Furniture was cheap anyway, but it made the room look like a lower class hotel. It was very deceiving to see a beautiful chandelier in the lobby and stay in a room that needed decent furniture. No exhaust fan in bathroom.

    Beautiful foyer and ease of elevator to get to our room. Carpeting in room seemed updated and walls were painted fine. Beds seemed comfortable enough. Ease of parking, good location to interstate and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    It was as perfect as an overnight layover on the road can be ....
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that after parking the car,checking in at the desk ...I never needed to move the car to where the room was, as in motels with the room entrance to the outside, It was like a hotel vs. motel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    the Location is very central to all points of interest in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The adjoining door meant we could hear the guests in the next room drunk talking until 3am

    the Location is very central to all points of interest in Salem

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was good about the motel, the staff were friendly, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, parking convenient, close to restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    I liked how close it was to the church I wanted to visit and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night and I’m not exactly sure what it was. It might have been other people staying there; but I was surprised that I could hear it.

    I liked how close it was to the church I wanted to visit and Tybee Island.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    A clean place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Items that should have been stocked in the room we’re not. Anything needed I had to retrieve myself, only one person to help in entire motel. 2) Constantly waiting for elevator. Only one for 4 floors of rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Comfort Suites Gateway traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: