Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Congress Hall 4 stars

251 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204, USA

#7 of 37 hotels in Cape May

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Loved my stay! Will be back with the rest of my family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Service! They screwed up. It happens. We are human after all . We had to fill out our card and hang it on our door for 1am pick up. When we got our breakfast, they forgot my husbands ice tea and his sausage.almost 8 bucks worth of food and drink.

    The staff at the front desk were extra helpful .They helped me when the restaurant was closed and showed me where to get takeout. I’m a diabetic. The grounds are beautiful! The comfiest beds are to die for! The location can’t be beat! You are right on the beach, and right across the street from unique shops of Cape May. Everyone is happy at Congress Hall ! Nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall, we were happy stay there, nice location and beautiful place, except charge for microwave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no microwave in the room. We called front desk to ask if there a microwave a viable for guest, they told us it would be an extra charge for use microwave. Also, our room was just by the AC main machines, it was too loud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Checked in May 17 unpleasant valet & noisy room& view. Lovely comfy bed convenient to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid $226 to listen to & see the ventilation system. Very noisy & This room should have been discounted and not even summer season & I feel taken advantage of!

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    For the money, it was not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was located where you could hear everything that was going on downstairs, morning, noon and night. The floors were very uneven.

    The location and services were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    High end, clean, fun place. Wonderful with the exception of one rude bartender.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bar tenders really soured our last night there. We were sober (I feel like it's important to note that we were sober, and being very polite). I asked for a drink that I had ordered there the year prior (and was on the Blue Pig's menu that very day, I assumed it was just a Congress Hall drink) and he really gave us a hard time about it. It was really uncomfortable and took us by surprise. The other bartender then kindly informed us that the menus were separate for the Brown Room and Blue Pig, totally reasonable. That answer would have been just fine. I tried to cancel the order since it clearly offended the first bartender so much but he insisted on giving it to me, and begrudgingly made the cocktail. It was delicious. But my goodness, I felt like I had done something wrong. This souring interaction happened all because I ordered a drink that I had there before. If I had known how unnecessarily stressful it was going to be, I wouldn't have ordered it. I avoided that bartender the rest of the night. It's a shame that he acted this way. All the other staff are the opposite, super kind and polite, but he made me not want to go back because I don't want to run into him. It's a shame because my husband and I look forward to going every year for our anniversary, and now I don't think I'd want to stay there again. The experience just kind of tainted how I think about Congress Hall now and I'd rather stay somewhere that I don't have that memory.

    I liked how we could head to the spa, the Blue Pig Tavern, the Brown Room, etc. all within the same spot. We love the lawn too. And the rooms were just so clean. Most of the staff was so incredibly welcoming and kind. So appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. The location is close to stores and pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entertainment on Wednesday was late setting up. We finally just gave up and went to our room.

    Our maid was wonderful. I told her about my allergies to feathers and she not only removed the feathered pillows but also the comforter. She also brought in my bag which I left in the hallway. Our room was cleaned thoroughly and quickly each day of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.5
    Youo, so knew we could not go, so why ask
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We think you are partially responsiblllelll lfor our not getting any resolution.

    You could not do anything for us aflter I ended up in the hospital and Congress Hall said it is in your hands to help us, not them. Of course, we are terrlibly upset to lose that money when it was a very special time for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    I’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Nightly entertainment in Brown Room. Friendly demeanor of bartenders, wait personnel, gave way to a extended family feel amongst staff and patrons. World class atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    We really had a nice time and did recommend Congress Hall to our family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on incline. We felt off balance getting dressed.We had to get use to that. Also, next time we would ask for a better view because out window faced compressors and we smelled food all the time. It was good, but still will request a better view next time. Never knew what the Genius perks were??

    Our getaway for my wife's Birthday. Congress Hall is a remedy to a much needed getaway for both of us. We hope to get back again soon. Thank You so much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Food was great, loved the "oldness" and history of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose a room above the Desk and close to the restaurant, a little noisy, but you cannot expect total quietness in a building that was built in the 1800's We still loved it!

    Food was great, loved the "oldness" and history of the Hall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Congress Hall was an wonder step back in time that you just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted to book a vacation in the summer but truthfully it was more than double the price of off peak.

    Congress Hall was an wonder step back in time that you just can't experience anywhere else. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and cozy. The beds were amazingly comfortable. My kids loved exploring the hallways and touching a piece of history. Being across the street from the beach was such a treat and the proximity to shops and restaurants is unbeatable. What can I say, I loved this place. Wish I could come back again soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great visit for all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that I was charged $25 per night for the crib. I would have brought my own, if I knew I was going to be charged.

    I loved the activities that they had for our children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right above the bar. On Friday night music went to 1am and was very loud in the room.

    Bed was very comfortable. Hotel is old but definitely not run down - very comfortable and steeped in tradition. Turndown service every night is a nice touch. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    The perfect March getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, so this was not unexpected, but the heat in our room was a little loud when running.

    The hotel is beautiful and rich with history. They had many activities for kids as it was spring break. For an off-season beach experience, we couldn't have asked (or gotten) more. Our room was huge and beds comfy. We ate in the Boiler Room (excellent) and the Blue Pig Tavern (pretty good).The live music was fun and a nice touch. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They go to great lengths to make sure the accommodations are very comfortable. Housekeeping checked in with us in the early evening to see if we needed anything which was also nice. Being that we visited in March when the weather was a little chilly, and Cape May is a walking town, it was really great that there was so much offered in the way of food and entertainment right on the property. The location is terrific as well...you are just steps away from all of the shops and many restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Even better than we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Wonderful amenities, on site spa and eating options, and helpful, welcoming staff from valets and housekeeping to waitresses and front desk. Very comfortable beds and spacious rooms as well as lots of hangout spaces inside and out. Wonderful time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    UTMOST HAPPY PLACE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say. So there was nothing to not like.

    The Location, decor, amenities, comfort and overall ambience is unmatched. If I could retire there, I would. I will stay no where else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Cleanliness, comfort of beds and friendly staff are a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hotel was excellent, the noise level from the patrons leaving the bar from 1000 to 2:00 a.m. in the morning could be heard while exiting the hotel and keeping us awake. The hotel does have signs posted in the morning for quiet time but they do not have these signs posted at night time when hotel guests are trying to sleep. Did not get a restful night of sleep.

    Cleanliness, comfort of beds and friendly staff are a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    We had an amazing time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was a wish there was another shelf in bathroom for stuff :)

    The bed was soo comfortable, fluffy pillows, very clean! Love, Love the atmosphere at Congress Hall, so cozy! The whole staff was excellent and friendly..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel....great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to get use to the slant of the rooms. Original hotel built in the 1800's.

    The hotel was very clean and maintained. Staff was very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Get over yourselves. Terrible culture and no hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was asked if I wanted a King or two Queens. I got a small room with one Queen. The actual room was almost the same size as the bathroom. I was told that the hotel was mostly empty, but when I asked for a room with a view, I was notified it would be $20 extra per night. I said no thanks. The door knob on the closet fell off when I opened it, old property I get it. But the TV was TERRIBLE!! Picture and reception were really bad. I've been to real resorts from S Florida to Vegas and all points in between. I understand the reason behind having crappy TV's, so your guest will go out on the property and spend money as opposed to sitting in the room watching TV all night. Congress Hall is not one of those properties. I was asked if I wanted a paper in the morning. I said sure, a Philly Inq. please. The next morning, I got a NY Times. The service in the Blue Pig was pitifully slow and it was mostly empty. Food was good. Calamari was amazing. The main doors facing the ocean were boarded up all day and night. Making it difficult to snake through a bar, with my hands full of personal items and a lap top every night coming back from the self parking. It was obvious they were not keen on the idea that I was not using valet. As a matter of fact, the Valet attendant watched me struggle carrying stuff out to my car and tried to look busy so he didn't have to open the door since he knew I wasn't a valet customer. One morning I asked the front desk if they had any Q Tips, the gentlemen started to escort me to the gift shop so I can pay for q tips myself. I said no thanks and left for the grocery store. Upon my checkout, the young lady was pleasant and efficient but never asked me how my stay was. She checked me out, gave me my receipt and off I went. I get the feeling the culture there is that they don't care how my stay was.

    Shower and Bed were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    We have stayed at Congress Hall many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in this visit had a couple of issues that need attention. We were comfortable and had an enjoyable stay.

    We have stayed at Congress Hall many times. We are always pleased with the accommodations. I am thankful for the complimentary coffee coupons we received. That did not happen in the past.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Please warn your customers about your annex, if I had known i would not have came
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level in the room was unbearable. Room is positioned next to all equipment Including kitchen exhaust. We knew exactly when they started to cook the bacon at 5:30 am. Not our idea of a pleasant getaway

    Lovely room, beautiful hotel, Everything was very nice except for a couple of key Elements which I will explain in the next category

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Great stay and will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be noise......our room overlooked service area and we were woken up by bags of glass bottles being dragged to the trash early Saturday and Sunday morning. I let front desk know upon checkout, and they said they would let the bar manager know. Rooms have heavy, automatic closing fire doors on the rooms......great in a fire, bad when other guests don't realize they need to be closed gently and continually let them slam. Maybe front desk could tell guests on check in about the doors?

    Very clean and very comfortable! Great Beach Plum Farms toiletries provided. Staff and restaurants great- you never have to leave the building! Music in The Brown Room was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it.
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on line pictures did not do the place justice. It was much better than expected. The weather was cold and rainy. Not the hotel's fault.

    Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful building, and fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small for the cot that we requested well in advance - very cramped for 2 adults and one small child.

    Beautiful building, and fantastic view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Very classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View...rather be looking at the beach..wasn't an option offered. .map of the premises would have bee nice also. ...TV options could be improved

    Very classy..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast at the blue pig was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at the blue pig restaurant. Pasta dishes were weak. Next time I’ll order steak. Also, $4 for a 16 ounce bottle of water seems excessive. More of a joke than upset.

    Breakfast at the blue pig was excellent. Great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Loud, loud, loud!
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay, look elsewhere. The noise was endless. Loud music started in the early evening and continued to the wee hours of the morning. The maintenance staff vacuumed the halls after 9pm and were up yelling and banging by 4:30am. Guests' voices were audible through the doors and walls. I'm from NYC and can sleep through virtually anything, but this was unbearable. And this was in February!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Short, sweet and we will be back!
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people above us walked, no ran, around their room like a herd of elephants. We heard every footstep.

    This is a wonderful hotel. Comfortable bed and linens; ample towels; complimentary toiletries. The staff is friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Congress Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (227) was right beside the huge heating/air units - they were right out our windows. Ran all night (which you would expect because it was very cold) - they are very loud. I did not get a good night's sleep. I would definitely ask for a room away from these units, if I were to stay there again.

    Hotel was beautiful and friendly employees. Had a nice pub and restaurant, not enough staff. Beds were comfy, bathroom was huge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice needed weekend - lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that blue pig closed for renovations. TV not user friendly-needed a password to get movies. staff didnt know it. gift shop grossly overpriced. blinds broken-valance missing on the one and a few of the slats broken on the other. I had to hang a piece of paper on the blind to block the view from the outside.

    bed very comfortable. tour very nice. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing while enjoying the upbeat colors used to decorate the hotel. Classic blue and white, etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave, short stay this time around

    Amazing old hotel. Great little history tour. The center of things going on in Cape May, especially in winter. They're doing a great job of keeping it classic while also keeping it up to date with new bedding and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Wanted to have a drink in the bar. However, it was much too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the spa could have done a better job promoting its lotions and similar products.

    Loved the room, though it would have been nice to have an ocean view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    We booked 2 rooms and requested them to be together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms and requested them to be together. They we not together not even on the same floor. This was a present for my 80plus in laws and wanted them close to us. Hotel could not help us and did not offer us anything. Not very good customer service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    If we ever consider returning, we will confirm that the Blue Pig is open.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa personnel were not helpful with use of the steam room and the massage therapist was rude. I stopped the massage because she made me very uncomfortable and it was impossible to relax. The major reason that we decided to stay at the Congress Hall was to dine at the Blue Pig. It was closed for the weekend. So, that was a major disappointment.

    The bartender in the Brown room was friendly, competent and gracious. He made a great Manhattan.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Congress Hall was so much more than I expected. The Christmas decorations and market for the holidays was amazing and really got me and my boyfriend in the spirit. The cozy piano library bar was great on the cold night listening to music and having some drinks after a lobster dinner down the street. Perfect location to go shopping and walk around town. We can't wait to come back and see it in the summer and enjoy the beach! Thanks for making our holiday so special. :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Resturant- The Blue Pig was terrible , I ordered the fried chicken when I cut into it , it was bloody , I had the waiter remove it from the table right away. I could not stay at the table just the thought of it made me sick. My husband had the pasta dish , he said that was not not very good either. They took the chicken off the bill, I thought they should of comped the whole meal , my husband did not even eat a third of his . We will never go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None at all. Maybe self parking lot a little far away, but doesn’t matter

    Very friendly. Due to blizzard at NJ, we have to stay one more night, that gives us blizzard discount, nice and useful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Go for Christmas- so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night, but it was a busy holiday weekend. Earplugs were provided 😉

    Beautifully decorated for Christmas. Cozy spaces to sit with fireplaces warming the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    We had fun and enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows were drafty due to the age of the building.

    Beds were comfortable. The lounge area was cozy. Beautifully decorated inside and out. A nice gym area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    The ambiance was perfect, decorated so beautifully for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance was perfect, decorated so beautifully for the holiday!! Staff was incredibly helpful and the history of the hotel was quite intriguing! Bed was comfy!!!! Loved the quaintness of the bathroom!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    It was a great time away, very pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the DVD players they made available were both broken. But they offered a free pay per view movie if we wanted.

    Sheets and pillows were wonderful. Fluffy. So nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    My daughter and I never got back in the car until it was time to go home!!! Lovely hotel, lovely to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paper goods, facial tissues and toilet tissues, left much to be desired!!! I dont understand why they stop with their luxury at that point!!!

    The beds and pillows and linens were enveloping!!! There was a deep tub for bathing your aches away after spending all day shopping on Washington St!!! The breakfast(not included😞) at the Blue Pig Tavern(part of the hotel) was incredible!!! The staff were awesome and extremely accommodating...we were upgraded to an ocean view!!! All in all it was a super visit, will definitely go again!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Nostalgic ambiance. Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were delighted. Weather turned very windy and cold. Hotel was warm and cozy. Enjoyed sitting in lounge by the fireplace. Enjoyed soft live music. Dining staff excellent. I didn't like my chosen entree and it was quickly switched. New entree was delicious. Our room had lovely view of beach and was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    We will definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot. We had our thermostat off but it was still really hot. No coffee in room and refrigerator was very small

    We had an end room so we over the privacy. Loves that we never had to leave to go to a great restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place to spend a weekend with my daughter!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a coffee maker in the room. Aside from that? It was perfect!!

    The old character of the building is still there and yet the upgrades make it clean and comfortable. The room was nicely decorated and we enjoyed the small porch with the ocean view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Awesome, love Cape May and Congress Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have coffee in the room instead of having to buy it in the coffee shop.

    Always love staying there, so cozy, restaurants and bars right there, never have to leave the property!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location and style in historic iconic property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    funky flooring slanted in bathroom made us a little dizzy! bellman/valet didn't put bags in our car! kind of blew our minds as he looked at them and walked away after we gave him a tip

    comfy beds, classic, historic property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    This is the place to go for a pampered getaway in Cape May.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A more comfortable reading chair in our room would have been nice.

    Staff were gracious and helpful throughout our stay. Our pretty town-view queen room was on the small side, but the room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. The lobby had lots of comfy sofas around a beautiful old fireplace. Location was ideal--just steps away from the beach on one side and shops and restaurants on the other.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    It was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rainy and windy when we arrived, so we didn't get to do much outside that day. We would have liked to spend some time on the beautiful porch.

    The common areas were great for socializing with our friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our fun and relaxing Halloween Parade weekend at the Congress Hall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was very good, thank you.

    We enjoyed the Blue Pig Tavern on the premises with its beautiful fireplace and roaring fire! Also, the Brown Room is wonderful for cozy evenings with drinks/snacks by the fire and listening to music performers. We also came on a weekend when the Cape May Halloween parade was coming through and we enjoyed this very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Always have a good time at the Congress Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One time, not this one, our room was over the night club and it wasn't a nice time. Other than that it was real nice as always.

    Great location, it was our Ann. 53 years and my wife birthday. Had a great time and Congress Hall is always our first choice to stay. Some times its full and we can't get a room. Blue Pig excellent and everything was great. Can't wait till we come down again. Thank you, Jim and Maria Burrows, Lawrenceville NJ.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    For the price of the hotel, I would have liked a better room location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location was poor-huge air-conditioning unit outside our room that hummed all night; room was tilted, probably due to hotel age but difficult for we senior citizens to negotiate; door key not easy to turn so locking/unlocking door wasn’t easy

    Location of hotel was great; clean room; comfortable bedding; plenty of amenities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    We had a very good experience at the Congress Hall Hotel! Loved the hotel and all the amenities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the room...we booked last minute and we got a room with a view on the roof top of the kitchen.

    I loved the hotel outside and inside! Very clean, very nicely decorated, good food and nice music.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice - but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lou (jet engine loud) A/C unit outside window. Thought there was coffee and tea for guests in the lobby in the AM- when asked about we were told that we were not entitled to that - only some guests. talk about made to feel like 2nd class citizens! (No coffee pots or ability to heat water in rooms either)

    Restaurant on premises - great food but a bit pricey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Quaint, clean, charming, hub of activity
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was October and our kids could still enjoy the heated pool and the beach! We went to the restaurant for dinner and breakfast- it was delicious. Walkable to everything, room was beautiful and bright even though it faced another part of the hotel. Clean, spacious, and charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed maintenance to come to our room for the tv, the bathroom sink and the shower leaking onto the floor. All was fixed immediately. Car got a small dent in the valet parking lot but they are paying for repairs

    The bed was awesome Nothing was too much to ask You feel pampered

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Was the perfect location for a quick getaway with my fiancé.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building so parts of the interior are outdated but to me that is expected and is what gives the hotel its character.

    The bed was super comfy. The property was clean. The staff was super friendly. The restaurants and coffee shop on premise were a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Cape May is lovely any time, but especially so in September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room above me was quite noisy, all night--banging, heavy walking. I even heard a small dog barking which they attempted to keep quiet

    Location by the sea. Outdoor spaces --large portico with rocking chairs, pool, lawn, adirondack chairs, umbrella and chair service at beach, drink service on portico and beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    This stay was something I have wanted to do for a while and I'm glad we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pools could have been larger.

    The staff were more than accommodating. The food at The Blue Pig Tavern was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room and facility was extremely clean. Everything you wanted to do was in walking distance. The veranda was lined with wooden rockers and shaded where you could sit and rest or watch the activities on the lawn any time of the day or evening. I saw in some reviews there was noisy guests at night, but our stay was quiet and we had sound sleep. It was also a pleasure to wake up to the ocean view every morning. But most of all the history of Congress Hall was exciting. As we walked down the corridor to our room, my husband said he felt like we were on the Titanic. It was a luxurious experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Service at front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at front desk. Curt when we asked about the barbecue on Tuesday. Told it was sold out. Upsetting to latter find out that non guest purchased tickets before us. It would have been nice if the hotel would make exception for guest to have first choice when booking the room, rather then to find out the hotel does not give preference to guest!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Great family friendly hotel by the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels restaurants didn't have very many vegan options for my family, which would have been nice if we didn't want to leave the property.

    The propert was gorgeous, visually satisfying! We stayed on Monday night and there was a carnival on the lawn, it was so much fun for my 2 year old! Perfect location, we enjoyed walking around the area and visiting the restaurants and shops!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool closed at 6pm and there was a $6 per person charge for the beach (not a hotel charge, a Cape May charge).

    Very comfortable room and terrific facilities. Perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    honestly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smaller then expected. windows very dirty from the ocean, so we couldn't really see anything (had the room with a view). bathroom sink had chips in it. bathroom door had chipping and peeling paint at the bottom, where our toddler could reach. Very dangerous considering how old the hotel is, I am pretty sure there is lead based paint at the bottom of the door. There is a giant gap on the handrail. looked like the last banister was missing, on the landing of the first floor, I would watch my kid if I were you. The front desk staff was unfriendly. They did not even look at my face when we were checking in. Overpriced for what it is. Only good cause it is historical so it has a good medium. Which is about the building not the service. Oh and we needed to pass through 5 service carts to get to the elevator when we were leaving. a huge service cart with nasty dirty towels on them, two room service trays on the hall way. another service cart with house keeping material on them, some already read newspaper on the floor in the hallway. It was definately an experience to get to the elevator with a toddler and a stroller...

    nice valet staff. clean sheets and towels, fair food at the blue pig tavern, cute coffee shop but there is a better one at 2 min. walk. We loved the historical building. A good experience if you are interested in historical buildings and architecture. No need to stay there for that though. You can always go visit the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    The view was beautiful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Town View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was beautiful and relaxing. The room was comfortable and enjoyable- all necessities were provided for. Classic and romantic location full of old time charm and modern luxury.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Historic Property Fabulously Located in Charming Cape May
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Starbucks-like coffee shop food was not good. I heard not-so-nice things about the Blue Pig Tavern restaurant on the premises but it looked lovely.

    This is a gorgeous historic property in beautiful Cape May, NJ. Fabulously located. I would love to stay there again. This was a girls' trip to see Cape May as none of us had ever been there before. While there are dozens of historic B&B's and smaller hotels, we chose this one because of its pretty much ocean front location. The staff were very courteous and the rooms very nice. We enjoyed night caps in the Brown Room Bar, a happening place. The hotel oozes 19th-early -20th-century charm and elegance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful but little peace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived in the afternoon there was a rock band practicing for two hours - they were very loud and we couldn't enjoy sitting in our room or on the grounds. In the middle of the night a party of young people were carrying on below our room. When I called down to ask them to be quiet, they told me off. Then I called the desk and they were silenced. The next day we sat by the pool and they were putting flags on the balconies and using a machine that beeped constantly for over 4 hours, ruing the peace of the pool. Someone finally complained and they found another way to erect the flags (like going into the rooms and using the balcony)

    Love the ambiance, Brown Room, Blue Pig and the furnishings of room and the fab shower!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Congress Hall is where you want to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the Blue Pig. We wanted to eat in the Boiler Room, but it is only open Thursday through Sunday.

    The front desk was a hot mess. They told us it would be 10 minutes for our room. We came back in 20. We waited on line again. We were told that it would be 3 min and they would call us. They did call us to tell us that our room was ready. However, the problem was after standing on line again...and the young lady asking us our name- again, the room was not ready! In comes Jenny. She is Ass. Manager. She APOLOGIZED, something the girls at the desk would not do. Jenny gave us a comp, made us feel WELCOME and walked us up to our room to make sure it was perfect. It was. Jenny is the reason we could give this hotel the highest rating. She is a keeper!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    History and Quality Combined
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only knock I have against Congress Hall is the price. We got a great deal to stay there on Thursday night at 1/2 the cost. But at over 300$ to stay on Friday/Saturday night we had to find somewhere else. I'd highly recommend going down on off days or even before peak season (we went in mid-may).

    Excellent property with an amazing lawn area to roam. Especially fantastic in the evenings with a great bar in the hotel and even a bar downstairs (The Boiler Room) that had live music on Friday night. We came here for drinks on Friday night even though we stayed somewhere else because of the atmosphere. And the room of course was incredible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Very well maintained large hotel with historic character...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on an interior air shaft with air handlers running constantly. White noise basically, with cooking smells noticeable. Outer rooms cost much more.

    Very well maintained large hotel with historic character everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Town View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No counter or shelf or table or anything to set your makeup on in the bathroom. Not possible to share the 3" shelf above the sink with another person. No coffee in the room or complementary coffee in the lobby for early risers. Had to wait until 630 and pay three dollars for a cup of coffee in the coffee shop. No mirror in the bedroom to check yourself before you go out. Would have been nice to have a little table and chair in the bedroom

    Room was clean. Bed comfortable. Nice to provide robes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    The only place to stay in Cape May!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    Location location location. Set in the center of great dining, shopping, beach, and activities. The Blue Pig and the Ebbitt Room were awesome too! I will be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Congresshall is a must at Capemay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Annex View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing I would change except planning arrival time better. Check in time is late

    I really liked the convenience of not having to drive while I was there and a lot of shops and restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Pre-Summer Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish I had booked a king size bed instead of a queen. I will when we go back in the Fall.

    Breakfast was excellent and the quality was all farm to table fresh! Fresh salmon was great on portion and taste. Staff was very attentive and friendly. It is a full service resort, loved the valet parking. Nice events are scheduled such as the wine tasting in the banquet room. We loved long walks through surrounding streets admiring the Victorian homes.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Congress Hall traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: