Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Congress Plaza Hotel 3 stars

520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60605 , USA

#137 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7109 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little in the way of places to get breakfast, no stores or shops to get things for a quick get-away the facility had nothing for entertainment

    Being an older historic facility it was somewhat updated But sill not interfering with it's structure of the

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was super tiny. Our bathroom door was unable to shut all the way and you had to yank on it to get it open! Ugh. It was awful.

    I booked this hotel for the location. It was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is very conveniently located. The rooms are clean and newly painted. The lake view room is awesome. Hop on hop off bus is just next door. Very close to all Chicago attractions. Lobby is gorgeous. Staffs are very polite and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping should pay more attention to details: ie: only one water glass in bathroom not two, lack of bath mat one day, mini coffee maker but large coffee pod. Just small details but they should not be missed.

    Second time at this hotel as excellent location for annual Blues Festival with 2 friends joining me this year. Plenty of restaurants nearby with pharmacies also to buy food/water/wine etc. Large ,older hotel with preservation of historical details such as the elevator doors. Rooms are well furnished with comfortable beds. I'll be back same time next year. Also 2 blocks from Buddy Guy's yea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room could have been better.

    Best location of any hotel in the entire city. Everything in walking distance. Friendly helpful staff, and superb service provided. Valet parking also a great rate. Will definitely return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem with the room was we had to take a cold shower as there wasn't any hot water on our second day.

    It is in a great location. We came in by train and the hotel was just a block away from the station. The room was recently remodeled and was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was huge, like a hotel in a scary movie. No one would notice if you die in your room. The facilities were antique. Door handles fell off. Shower weak and tap loose from wall. No where to eat at night. Carpet in rooms disgusting. Old furniture covered with vile Velcro.

    The only redeeming factor of this hotel was the view and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Failed to mention the suite was right above the "L" (for loud) train that ran 24/7. Very little support from person who checked us in, who later was again no help with an issue. He was very cold and unkind. Issue in restaurant with delivery of food on time, but Ex Sous Chef remedied to our satisfaction.

    Historic architecture combined with comfortable surroundings allowed us to relax after jam packed days. Different restaurant for breakfast, menu & buffet were excellent. Housekeeping staff incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did smell musty.

    This is an old hotel, the lobby is very grand, but since the hotel is old, rooms are very small, bathroom extremely small. The location to Grant park is great and to Soldier field. We attended a concert, could walk back to our hotel after. We were upgraded from a one queen bed to a room with two king beds facing the park/lake, that was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad team spirit. Staff were in a bad mood. We changed 3 x our room. Firstly, because it was so noisy because of the nearby passing train that we couldn‘t barely sleep. The furnitures were very old and the rooms were partwise badly fixed. The second room was the same style but calmer. Because of a not properly working aircondition the room was warm although we switched it on „HI“ while we were exploring the city all day long. The next to nights we spent in a more modern room, quiete and content. But it took awhile to get there. The hotel is pretty good located.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small refridgerator would have been nice. Liked beds in a separate room. Staff very personable. Parking little over priced for overnight stay. Some of bathroom items looked used. Lotions.

    Liked clean linens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was sparse, with an asylum decor - blank walls and ancient furniture. There were two bugs in my daughter's bed - they were NOT bed bugs but they still should not have been there. The bathroom was tiny. The hotel had a labyrinth feel to it - we had to go through two different fire doors and hallways to get to our rooms. The air conditioning in the rooms was weak, even on high.

    The beds were nice and firm. The staff were very friendly and kind. The location was good. The lobby was beautiful. Checkout was easy and their bag check is free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every year I have to travel for a food trade show. The location is great for the convention center. The rooms are always very comfortable, nice view. The WiFi in the room is always good, so I can do my work without interruptions. The buffet for breakfast is excellent, I need a good breakfast to be able to work for 7 hours at the trade show. The concierge staff are always very friendly. It is a nice hotel. Great location to take a walk after the trade show.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a lot smaller then we expected as well as the bathroom and some of the vending machines and ice machines didn't work

    The location of the hotel was a huge bonus for out stay. Everything was within walking range.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the 4th floor, which was a maze with signs indicating the wrong direction. The halls were dark and dingy. The only way to control the temperature of the room was by fan speed, but any speed but "high" made horrible noises. There was no hot water in the morning for my shower.

    The lobby was beautiful, and it was in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, the staff at the reception unfriendly. I was asked to pay a deposit of 25 euros without being notified. I arrived very late, I needed an adapter to charge my phone. I asked for an adapter at the front desk and sent me to buy one at a night shop within a 20 minute walk. Bed undone, dirty sheets, dirty carpets. Smell of cigarette in a non-smoking room. A single lamp to illuminate the room. The elevator works when it wishes. Far too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was disappointing The receptionist was having a conversation with another staff member and had no interest in us at all - it was just a transaction for her.. We found the other staff to be friendly and professional. Check out was fine.

    Great location and a fair price. The room had everything we needed and we absolutely loved Chicago!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO COFFEE IN THE ROOM OR LOBBY> Really at these prices coffee sure would be nice.

    The location was outstanding. The views of the lake and fountain were great. The history of the place was great. Wait staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The housekeeping knocked at 8:00 in the morning and instead of just leaving, kept knocking. I had to get up (despite going to bed at 1:30) and tell her to leave. A little odd.

    Beautiful hotel in great location. Reasonably priced for downtown Chicago.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they booked our room right next to the train rail, so we could not sleep properly, also tried to do room service they told us they will not do any room service if the cost less than 7$

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location is perfect and easy to access the CTA! Staff were very good, helpful and even stepped up when we had a credit card issue. The rooms are small but the hotel is historic. We were not in there long enough other than to sleep and get ready for the day/evening. It was getting busy when we were leaving with a rather large and "unique" convention happening .. The bar was a nice feature where we relaxed after long days of walking, enjoyed a nice cold beer and played pool.. All in all, a great location and very well priced...highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small frig did not work. Housekeeping sent someone to check it out who said he would have another sent up. Next night we called again and did get one that did not fit in the small cabinet . It was left anyway as small ones were not available. First one defrosted, second one froze everything.

    Were on 14th floor. Elevator was fast and efficient. Comfy beds, very clean, good shower/bathtub. Easy walking to shops. All staff we dealt with were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was a bit watery. Maybe machine was broken? Everything else great!

    Love the feel of the hotel as it's so old. So much character. Huge rooms, very high ceilings. Would stay here any time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are tiny, and not very supportive. AC cents on units in rooms are filthy. Inside view of the other rooms and building is awful. Breakfast buffet was not even close to a 22 dollar value as far as quality was concerned. Bathroom fan was programmed to turn on with light and was OBNOXIOUSLY LOUD. Every time someone shut off their shower there was a knocking sound resembling a knock on the door. Light from the hallway entered the room by a 1/3 inch gap on the door/door frame. Housekeeping knocks on the door early AM asking if we’d like service making us wake up.

    Location was convenient. Staff was relatively responsive. Bathroom amenities were adequate and resourceful. Water was hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is not updated. It could use some new carpeting and the fitness room and restaurant are unappealing.

    This is a nice historic hotel that still has an old style appeal and a great value for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms multiple times, due to a cigarette smell despite booking nonsmoking rooms. The rooms are not for those who plan on relaxing in the room. The room could have also used a scrub down - rust in the bathroom, dirty walls... I will avoid this hotel at all costs next time I am in Chicago.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff not welcoming or helpful. Room was stark and bare. Nothing historic about whole hotel It is a convention hotel that does not deal well with the average tourist.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any heat in our room and they couldn't adjust the thermostat else where to do so which made it a little unsettling because it was cold in the suite. Also it took a while for the shower water to warm up but other then that, it was excellent! Can't wait to try and stay there AGAIN!

    We were upgraded from our room to a suite! Which was totally shocking and a wonderful surprise! That made our bad day we had at Wyndham Chicago Riverfront Hotel WORTH it! Congress Plaza DEFINITELY 👍👍👍😀😀 got us back to being happy! Smh still amazed and like that was soooo cool. Neither of us have EVER stayed in a suite!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not sold out, yet for a 4 day stay I was given first a room in the Buckingham Annex which was more like a cheap motel. Room change brought the North Tower, but not the historic part;of the hotel, but the back of the building in which was a stark room (nothing on the walls and a window that looked out on a rusted fire escape platform. Staff was unhelpful and I just lived with it. Hotel charges $4.50 for 15 ;minutes of computer. and when it doesn't have a convention the gift shop is closed. and they have no concierge help. They did have complimentary boarding pass service at a machine and that was the only service they provided. I wanted the location and stayed, but I would never have booked this hotel. The pictures on Booking.com do not reflect the reality It is as though they are keeping regular hotel rooms for other more "worthy" guests. The room was depressing, the staff unhappy and I never got the sense of staying at an historic hotel;. It was unpleasant. It makes me rethink ever staying at a "convention" hotel.

    location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too cold on a rainy day. Could not adjust the temperature and no extra blankets in the room.

    Close to the Auditorium Theater. Nice restaurants at a reasonable price for Chicago.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic hotel but they haze modern furnishings which make no sense. No wall decor. Wait staff shouting at each other at breakfast about not having enough tables. Breakfast excellent but too expensive.

    Grant Park and Lake Michigan were right there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are unfreindly, the service is very poor, the rooms need complete renovation, the AC unit needs to be thrown in the trash the weather was cold but we are unable to heat the room because the whole hotel is set for AC only

    The lake view from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Chair in room too heavy, with feet that grabbed carpet. Nice-looking, but not a good choice for use as a desk chair. Had nothing to grab onto.-Attendants at "concierge" were not helpful - I asked for a chair in order to use the monitor and boarding pass printer, and was told there wasn't one, so I was forced to kneel. I'm 72 with sore knees! -In-room fridge was not plugged into wall, so food we stored was not kept cool. -Bathroom so cramped that access to tub was limited to entering at slippery/sloped end; not safe. Also, the tiny shelf over sink so full of hotel-supplied stuff there was no room for our own things. Another shelf would be useful. We were in room 1307

    +Restaurant and staff excellent. +Registration staff excellent. +Gentlemen at entrance very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is not secure despite password, so not useful for any sensitive work. That means I could not use it. Second, air control was off or on and no temp regulation so I was either too cold or it got stuffy. Restaurant food was so-so; I ate dinner the first night and breakfast the last morning. Not good quality for the money.

    Location was best feature. Lobby area was beautiful. The building seemed secure and staff was efficient and friendly. Clearly some deferred maintenance in the hallways to guest rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is showing its age..ie elevators going up and down instead of just down; phone message light wouoturn off after calling desk 3times.

    Don’t eat at Thai Spoon. No nice restaurants within 1 block radius, didn’t try the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pictures on the site do not correspond with the reality. It is much older and in need of make up than the pictures let on.

    Great location. Bed was confortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature - slow to heat up. How the curtains installed - a little hard to keep open to see the incredible view.

    Very pleasant, friendly & helpful staff. View of the lake AMAZING. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was super hard and shower wasn't so good. PARKING! Ugh They tried to over charge us. $88.00 for a $44.00 Stay then said that we were late and I argued that I had made arrangements for the Graduation. If I would have know the rudeness and nasty people running the garage I would have used an open lot on the other side of the street. Big rip off! Ended up paying $60.00 just to get out of there. Oh and they conveniently Lost my car tag so they don't know what we agreed on. BS

    Beautiful building, Nice staff. Perfect location for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could've made it better was if they had microwaves,if not in the rooms then maybe by the vending machines or somewhere where people can warm up their food.

    I love the view of the room and the fact thst everything was close by. The lobby was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to keep my window open at night because there was no air conditioning in the room. The worst, was the train that went by every 10 mins and was very loud. It was a small cramped room with a very hard bed.

    The location was pretty good when it came to going out to dinners and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big city price of room.

    Gorgeous lobby. Friendly staff. High ceilings. Location near lake and attractions. Old doors in corridors -felt like a European setting. I lived in this hotel in the summer of 1992. Much work has been done to restore historic charm since then.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking fee is quite expensive. But it's Chicago Loop, I don't blame the hotel. The problem is Booking.com doesn't put parking fee on first page and entire payment process. After mail contacted, they still insisted I didn't click the "Facilities of Congress Plaza Hotel" section before I booked. Watch out the website trap!

    Like 90s hotel with WI-FI, not bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm welcome, no conversation whatsoever. I had to ask questions, as nothing was explained ( for example, discounted tickets through concierge- I had to ask them ! Front desk didn’t even bother to smile or offer any information.) It isn’t kid friendly at all, and the lounge bar was taken over by younger kids from a Muslim Party doing shots. You couldn’t watch the hockey game finals, as 2 TV’s had same channel on over bar, and the kids drinking were loud ( at 7:30 pm.) The brunch on Mother’s Day, for $20, was just as bad as the free Continental Breakfasts offered at lower- grade hotels. The omelet station was not crowed, but the one chef took way to long that we didn’t even bother to participate. The sausage patties were a joke. Thin nasty sides of cat. The salmon station was a nice thought, but the bagels were so hard they were like Hockey pucks. So we tried the croissants, and they were just as bad. The brunch room was outdated, and did not match what grander this hotel obviously once was, and still could be. It was a 1980’s country decor mint green yuck color. The room was spacious, 2 double beds. Small tv, one light between beds and then an overhead light from Walmart . With the ugly floursesent light bulbs. Perhaps a chandelier would have been a nice touch, and wall decor. Anything to be put on the walls! Pictures from the past would have been a nice touch. I would have loved to see the Gold room , but could not find.

    The beautiful entrance, the location, the Concierges and Valet personnel were fantastic. The beautiful fixtures and the elegant elevator doors. The wonderful server for brunch in Mother’s Day. She was warm, loving, and actually smiled!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very dated. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor and smelled a little like mildew. They allow smoking at certain parts of the hotel and you can smell it at times; didn't like that too much with having our one year old with us.

    The location was amazing. You can not ask for a better place to stay if you want to spend time downtown. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance from the Congress Plaza Hotel. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets very old, inconvenient, and in dangerously poor condition. Noisy - loud tapping noise due to something not maintaining.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If booking.com gives better pictures and more truth about hotel. As we were showed and booked double room with double bed and was offered only single room and pictures shown by booking.com is fooling around.

    Nothing about here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE TRAFFIC NOISE. The quality of sleep was worse than being at home with my little kids. Horrible! The hotel staff could have been more pleasant. It's a competitive space out there and a smile goes a long way in the world of customer service. The room had a musty smell. Impossible to listen to music or the TV when I was in the bathroom because there's one switch for the light and noisy fan.

    My room had a wonderful view of the fountain. The property is old but well maintained and I could tell that they went above and beyond to make an impression with the room. The safe in my room was locked and front desk sent someone to fix it within 5-10 minutes of me reporting it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us the air conditioner didn't work. When I asked for someone to come up and fix it they brought us a fan. The shower was from the 1970s and it didn't even have glass around it it's only had cloth going on it and it was only a shower not a tub

    Nothing about that place was nice or good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old in appearance. The rooms need a reface. I took a shower and ran out of hot water and I don't take long showers. I had a ironing board in my room without an iron. I needed to iron a dress shirt to go to my convention. I called to get one and it took 20 minutes to get one. It made me late for my meeting. I asked the lady that brought the iron, do all of the rooms normally have an iron. She said it should have had an iron in the room. The iron she brought me leaked water and totally drenched the ironing board. It's an old hotel and it was very difficult to even find my room.

    It's location was very nice. It was across the street from a park. It was relatively close to the convention I was attending.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Towels looked old and didn't seem 100% clean Carpets were old Breakfast buffet while good was very expensive Wifi had to login at least once a day Staff seemed to lack motivation overall

    Good location and view of the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abysmal view from my room (Oh well). Coffee in room would be nice. Gift shop closed way too early. Many machines in fit room not working.

    Location is unbeatable. I like that it's very old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy plumbing. Rather old-fashioned bathroom. Not much room for hanging towels, nor space for cosmetics and other personal affairs.

    Good location. Beautiful view of Lake Michigan from ninth floor room. Comfortable beds. Plenty of place to unpack and put belongings away. Equipped for making coffee. Hair dryer. Very helpful concierges and receception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was horrible. I was barely able to wash the shampoo out of my hair. They do not have so not disturb signs and from 9-10am we had them knock on our door 3x. The bar closes early during the week

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the elevator door first opens the lights are off. This was a very unwelcoming feeling. The air did not work in the room. Very hot muggy feeling in the room. Rooms were very small. Bed and pillows were extra extra firm. Comforter was covered with a sheet to give it a “white” look but pull the sheet back and it looked old and dingey

    The lobby initially looked nice....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff told me they sold vip tickets to the Shedd Aquarium. I bought the tickets, when we got to the aquarium we had no vip service. We had to wait in line and I had the tickets for the kids at the hotel were over priced.

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful when you booked room in this hotel! Write off much more money from the card that it was in our reservation, saying that this is a deposit and will be returned within 3 working days after check out. Our price for 4 night was 420$, hotel wrote off 520$. But final bill was 387$. Receptionist told as that money coming back after 3 business day!!! We are still waiting 2 weeks...... awful service!!!

    Location, interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk worker didn't even acknowledge us when we walked up. Tub was too small. Room was mediocre in comfort, expected more from a large hotel on Michigan Ave. We originally planned to stay four nights but found a better hotel after the first night. It wasn't an awful stay, but if I had to sum it up in one word I'd say "meh." It's possible to find a better hotel for the same money.

    view was great, cool old building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in the room 545 with 2 beds did not work No microwave Need better lighting

    Mini fridge Plenty of closet space Location to sights High ceilings Cleanliness of room Well appointed bathroom amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard. Could've been more comfortable.

    The character in this hotel was amazing. Also the location was perfect and the staff were all very sweet and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms did not have proper A/C , it was 80 degrees in Chicago when we staid there. The sun was baking our room and there was no ventilation.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was hot with no air conditioning. First day had no hot water in shower and the drain was plugged in the tub so as the water backed up into the tub I was standing in cold dirty water trying to have a shower . Very Gross and did I mention COLD water!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really old and needs renovation. Furniture, air-conditioned, drapes, carpet too ancient. Pillows were very Hard but al least were clean and smelled normal.

    Location, friendly staff, linen and towels and bathroom amenities were good and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included.

    Me and my husband enjoyed sleeping in their comfy bed. I also like the cleanliness and the way they decorated the room. Good rate and good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in my room ran every

    The staff were all warm and very helpful. The room was spotless and beautiful, and the bed was very comfortable. The view of the lake was breath taking. It was very quiet, as I didn't hear any of my neighbors. The hotel also offered fantastic amenities, featuring two hotels in the lobby. But it was the lipped bathtub that made my stay truly amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very confortable Huge view off the lake. Quiet and good bed mat; The charm of an old great hotel; the place nearby Navy Pier and Chicago Institute of Art and Millenium Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It had no air conditioning and the fan was horrible at controlling the temperature of the room. I had to open windows to have the room not get too hot.

    Very nice hotel and location - I appreciate the history of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing . except the unfriendliness of the staff . but this is quite usual in chicago

    rooms are clean and bright . the view over the lake is gorgious. the neighbourhood is cool : lots of shops and restaurants. i enjoyed my one night stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The soap actually irritated my skin and the smell wasn't great. Other than that maybe a mini fridge and bigger garbage can.

    I liked that the room was clean. The halls were dark and plain but the room was nice. I loved the view of the city and the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was congested for number of people’s booked the property. Hotel rooms ac were not strong to manage cool surrounding. To maintain the temperatures have to open the room window.

    Property was at very good location in the heart of downtown, very clean and cooperative staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk man was not apologetic or helpful at all when we could not get vending machines to take our money. He did not offer to help us with the machines.He suggested we go to 7-11. Reason #2 we'll never stay here again is the room was too hot and there was no air conditioning.

    The location was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Racism I’m have no religion but I still feel uncomfortable been put on 13th floor without asking! The check-in clerk barely talked with me even looked at me. That was mean

    Located in downtown area, close to CTA, trains, stores

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels are not clean, I had to check each of them every night before using them. Also I'm not very fussy with pillows normally but they are not comfortable.

    It's almost walking distance to all the places that I wanted to visit especially Millennium Park. Concierge is very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite noisy (and I live in a huge city, so it was more than just city noise). The toilet didn't flush well and the staff weren't overly welcoming. The hotel itself badly needs painting - the rooms are okay, but the corridors are falling apart!

    The rooms are nice, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. . It's a really good location for sightseeing and food and drink. It was a nice place to stay, and a good price but it could be great if it had some work done!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tower we were in looked very dated and needs to be upgraded, carpet, walls and doors were in bad condition. The room looked very old, the sliding door in the shower would not stay closed, it kept sliding back open no matter what we tried.

    The hotel is in a great location close to shops and restaurants, the lobby looks great, renovated and modern. Liked the look of the elevators in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took a side set of elevators to our floor. It took us up to the 14th floor. The elevator bell dinged, the doors did not open and the car went down to the eighth floor. The kids freaked and jumped out. We walked up the stairs to our floor. We used the main elevators after that.

    I enjoyed the vintage look of the common areas. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Staff were polite and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: