Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coral Reef Inn & Condo Suites 3 stars

400 Park Street, Alameda, CA 94501, USA

#8 of 8 hotels in Alameda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    It was okay was expecting.more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that some things are still outdated and its still very pricey but then again you do get a whole apartment to urself

    I like that they upgraded their old boxy tube televisions to flatscreens but hate the fact that one wasnt able to change the input to HDMI

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    3.8
    Sucked.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like nothing. We got upgrades to a suite which their definition of a suite is far different that mine. Drapes were shredded, Chairs and sofa were dirty with stains. Kitchen was useless as there were no utensils , dishes or pots and pans. Carpet was filthy. Maybe that's the new norm for the bay area to match the people living there. Staying here may be a hazard to your health.

    Location of the facility.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    4.2
    too old and decrepit, would not come back unless they upgrade the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place needs to be refurbished/remodeled. Needs new furniture, new drapes, new carpets. It could have been a nice place but was so decrepit and smelt of bleach over stale old smell. Would not come back unless I knew they had updated the place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.2
    Location is the only good thing about this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, run down rooms, dirty (no cleaning during our stay only brought clean towels), missing lightbulbs, garage sale type furniture & lamps, drapes stained & falling off. Dirty floors & shower needs resurfacing. This was not a value. Large old fashioned TVs so you couldn’t see the whole screen when watching. Owners are earful, deferring maintenance & hiring incompetent cleaning staff.

    Location is the only good thing about this property

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.2
    Location is the only good thing about this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, garage sale quality furniture, old fashioned tv’s, drapes stained and falling off, tub needs resurfacing, no dishes or cooking utensils in the kitchens. Owner is milking the property, puts Nothing back into any improvements.

    Location is the only good thing about this property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.4
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen wasn’t equipped with anything. You had to go to an external kitchen and gather the things you needed. This was poorly stocked and the pans and utensils were well work and broken. Whilst the bathroom looked clean it was very worn with cracks in the bath. The main area of the room had a dirty carpet and Lino flooring. Very very basic rooms.

    The location was good. Convenient to shops and places to eat. Just a short drive into San Francisco over the Oakland bridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    My stay served it's purpose because of the the convenience, however, I would not recommend.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price, one would expect a property that is more visually appealing. The location is great, but the property could stand some updating - new furniture and decorations, paint, etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.0
    Won't stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smelled. No vacuuming. Carpet should be replaced and walls painted. TV broken. Given a room that was occupied before getting our room.

    The bed was comfortable. Fairly quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    disappointment and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in the room dirty and smell bad, Kitchenette very old and rust all over. TV was probably older than I am. Not enough towels in the room. Very poor breakfast. I was on the road for 3 weeks and this was my worst hotel.

    I like only the staff of this hotel which was very nice and polite, thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    2.9
    What a dump!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is dirty, ran down, the rooms are not cleaned daily they make your bed and empty bins. The whole place needs a complete refurbishment. I was gutted when I saw this nothing like the photos on the website.

    The best thing about this hotel was checking out to go home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    This place is dirty and old. It desperately needs an update (and not just the lobby)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why so cheap? It’s in a great location and, if they made some basic upgrade (tear out to disgusting carpets, add new blinds, bedding and a fresh coat of paint) the place would be pleasant and worth the money.

    Great location. They gave me a free night because the plumbing was broken in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    I will never stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very old, and not updated. I felt very uncomfortable.I’m glad I brought slippers, because I did not want to walk barefoot on the carpet.

    They are one block from the beach. The city has very good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and beds in bad need of new mattresses. Bathroom could use some updating as well

    The location is near the airport and shopping within walking distance

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    It was a reasonable place for the price but I don't think I'll stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was not up to standard. The hotel is quite old-fashioned and a bit run-down. The use of paper plates for breakfast is practical but they're too small. The local information is not easily noticeable. An electric stove in the room is not a safe idea.

    Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were polite and courteous. Lovely big swimming pool. The guest laundry was a welcome addition and there were several machines and dryers. The hotel is located quite close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location clean and comfortable and peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet felt old, made my feet feel grungy

    Room with kitchen was large. We were upgraded to the Lagoon which overlooked the water. Perfect for fiancé and I.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Location was okay and staff was really helpful specially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel need complete renovation .Room, Shower, bed , kitchenette need to be update as they look really old and rusty. Rugs on staircase is disgusting and need replacing.

    Location was okay and staff was really helpful specially sunil.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    The staff were friendly, it was the facilities that were...
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, carpets were threadbare and the coffee maker did not work. Sink was stopped up upon arrival. For the price, there are many other selections that are well maintained.

    The staff were friendly, it was the facilities that were lacking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Anthony!
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping only cleaned my room once and they didn't take all of the trash out or bring new towels.

    Anthony! Anthony! Anthony! The night manager was easily one of the best hotel employees I've ever dealt with! He was so helpful and accomindating, I can't say enough about how wonderful he was!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    I’d never stay here again and do not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window on ground floor facing onto street were louvered glass, which allow extremely easy unauthorized access into a room. VERY unsafe, as the small patio the window faced onto had shrubbery that would hide someone breaking in from street view. I’ve never seen louvered glass windows on any other hotel property on the Mainland US, and I’ve stayed in many hotels all over the West.

    Beds were comfortable, room was big.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Home from home at a great price in a nice area of the bay area
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ok the beds were lumpy - if you changed those it would be perfect

    It was clean, tidy and a great location near bowling alley and a great shopping centre with loads of eateries close by. The place was far nicer than other reviews made out - sure its a bit dated but its clean and comfey for a few nights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, huge rooms, bad breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ridiculous! One toaster and limited choices. No where to sit either, not enough seating. Pool was freezing too.

    Location was great, huge rooms and great facilities in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    ease of booking.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast area could have more tables inside. bagels in addition to the bread would be nice

    ease of booking. liked having a downstairs room. Lots of space and comfortable. walking distance to shops and yummy restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    it was good but not excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no heated pool as mentioned. Vending machines out of order.

    location was perfect. beach very close for a morning run. Five Guys - Starbucks are in front of the inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Excellent Place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too soft

    Loved this place! Safe, great rooms, beautiful courtyard, on the water, close enough to walk to all needs, great kitchenette, large room, nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking space unavailable next to the room.

    The room we had with the private bedroom was an excellent choice. It was clean, quiet, spacious, and a good value for the price. We will never go back to a single room again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    I would not chose to stay at the Coral Reef again, even if it meant paying a higher room rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old and dilapidated. Permanent fixtures such as drapes and carpets were dirty. Carpet on stairways was pulling away and could be a safety issue. Ceilings in the bathroom were cracked. Value for the room was not an adequate exchange for the accommodations. After being gone for an entire day I was disappointed to come back and find our room had not been refreshed as priority was given to checkout rooms.

    Convenient location for travel plans.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    We would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could Not Use the pool. A Lot of plastic Trash after breakfast.

    Room was really big! There are some great Restaurants nearby (Sushi, Mexican). Great place to explore Oakland and San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Old but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old but clean and we were told they were redecorating the rooms. Rooms are okay although the staircase is stained and looks greasy. Beside that is was okay.

    Really helpful staff! Due to the fires in Yosemite our next booking was cancelled and they took the time to help us out finding a new hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, so-so breakfast, large room, filthy hall and stairway carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting on the stairs was filthy, a real turnoff if everything else had ´t been so good. Replacing it would be the best investment you could make.

    The location is excellent, situated near the water. The rooms are large. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    Stay away if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything, literally. Most importantly, the hotel double or even triple charged me for my stay, blocking the amount I was supposed to pay three times on my account, confused me with another guest, charged me for their room at the same time charging them, left me virtually cashless, all the while claiming the problem was due to my bank's issues/rules. The place is bug-infested and is never cleaned, despite the presence of housekeeping staff. I stayed with a kid and when he walked barefoot from the bathroom to his bed, his feet were literally black. Never have I seen such a filthy place! Stay away if you can, because this place means trouble for your and your bank account.

    I liked absolutely nothing about the place - it was the worst place I've ever been to, and pretty pricey at that

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    View from room, full kitchen, close to water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old and outdated accomodations. Bed was very old and uncomfortable. Bedding was old and not comfortable. Just felt gross

    View from room, full kitchen, close to water

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Fit for purpose, but very dated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole resort is extremely dated and very much in need of a refurb. More variety at breakfast would be good too!

    It was fit for purpose for a 2 night stay, but probably wouldn't go back though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.0
    Practical but not inspiring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall condition of the building is dated and in dire need of renovation. The rooms contain outdated furniture, the TV is ancient. The offered balcony contained no furniture to enjoy it. After all the years we stayed there we still hope for the better.

    The location is superb. Parking is no problem. Staying there the last 10 years familiar with the area. The staff is nice -but they have no influence on the status of the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    That it was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness: carpets didn’t look clean, floors were sticky, cabinets and doors were dirty. They had a kitchen but no utensils or garbage. Bathtub had chips everywhere. Bed was not comfortable and under the bed. The place had a smell... The pool was very cold and not even able to swim in it. Should make it a heated pool. Not worth the money. Would not recommend. Will not stay here ever again.

    That it was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, size & price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The supposedly non-smoking room, I think it's room # 220 that was given first was horribly stinky! Went back to reception in less that 5 mins, she had to make me wait for a significant time for housekeeping to check that room before another room woul be provided since I opened it already. I requested for non-smoking, it wasn't my fault for opening it and come back to report it immediately to reception if that room smelled a combination of cigarettes, fragrance, air freshener and what not! Receptionist was not welcoming to make the change. Sorry for letting you know. I've booked in this hotel multiple times because of price, size & proximity to my sister's apartment.

    Size of room, kitchenette, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, 1 block from Alameda beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs to be updated. Furnishings are tired & worn. Window treatments have seen better days. However it is clean.

    Great location, 1 block from Alameda beach. Shopping centre right across the street. Had a 1 bdrm suite with full kitchen, lots of space. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff was lovely, the kitchenette was handy, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was lovely, the kitchenette was handy, and the proximity to the beach is excellent. We've been there before, and we'll go many times in future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.5
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was old and dirty, carpet in hallway old and torn. The floor in kitchen had not been cleaned. Bath tub in first room was dirty. Second room was a little better. The place was a dump.

    Landscaping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    They should offer you a lower rate with all this incomodities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture is old and outdated, television is outdated. Couch was stained. The handle to the toilet was broken. Curtains were dirty. No parking place, they should communicate when they have major repairs. Had to park in the mall per management and got a warning not to park there, ended parking in the street.

    Pillows were nice and soft. Location close to the beach and mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Outdated old school hotel
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated! This is an old school hotel! With picture tube television, Sticky carpet, outdated plumbing! Room smells old! Try to check in 15 minutes before and the receptionist had everyone waiting with the excuse that there were no rooms available at almost check in time! But them at 3 pm all the rooms were ready but it was ok for them to take 24 minutes to check everyone in! Property says is a member of oriental business owners!

    Location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, horrible room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were horrible to sleep in and room was just disappointing! They really need to remodel the hotel and update it, you can clearly tell that the rooms used to be studio apartments and turned into the hotel. Our curtains were filthy, the bathroom door and cabinets need to be painted over, one of the chairs had a cigarette burn on it a bad one, and the lights in the rooms took forever to come on! Floors made noise every time we step anywhere.

    The best part of this hotel and the ONLY good thing is the location! They are located in such a good spot where you have bowling, plenty of food options, shopping and not even 2min way from the beach!!! That was perfect and so nice. Their pool was great but need to update the gate and their breakfast was nice. If they were to update their rooms they would be a perfect hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    We were very unhappy with our stay here because of how gross this place was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most everything

    The room was filthy! The carpet would turn your feet and socks black! We wore our shoes the entire time. Even the carpet in the lobby and on the stairs were nasty. The walls were paper thin and the beds were very uncomfortable! Staff was friendly. But that is the only positive thing i can say about our stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great room close to water/bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable...pool not heated...ducks were swimming in the pool this morning.

    Loved the location. Room was spacious. Enjoyed the full kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    affordable and close to places we wanted to visit, but disappointed in the condition of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was beat up. Peeling tile in shower. Old, beat up furniture. No trash can in room. patio paint had long since peeled away. Not a bad place but desperately needs an update.

    affordable. in a good part of town. near beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    My room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are old and not very comfortable. Sheets and towels need upgrading.

    My room was very spacious. Super location! Walking distance to shore, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Meh, but a good place for a budget, especially if you’ve brought groceries as opposed to eating out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oven knob was completely messed up, it was off so what looked like 500 degrees was actually 250. There were roach droppings under the kitchen unit. The place smelled funky, we moved the couch and there was a condom and old popcorn so they definitely weren’t good at cleaning AT ALL.

    Bed was comfortable. The balcony was a nice bonus. I like that it had an oven. Two televisions worked very nicely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Encourage you if you don’t know the area do your research more than I did
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower / tub was plugged up, tacks on carpet stabbed my feet, the ac unit didn’t even work on the fan setting, the bathroom fan latch was broken just spewing down black dust .. ugh

    The location was walking distance to the bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little updating.

    Great price! Great location. Comfortable beds. Good for families. Alameda is a good town to stay in. Lots of cute shopping & diners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little updating of facilities. Although there was a charm to an older mom and pop type hotel in this day of cookie cutter buildings.

    Dated building but kept very clean. Mattress comfortable. No critters! Located next to bowling alley which did get a little noisy at times. But very conveniently located to many things including a mall across the street with variety of restaurants, shopping,and grocery. Seemed like a fairly safe area. Bonus was a kitchenette and nice outdoor porch. Breakfast was juice, yogurt, cereal, danish and donuts. We’re very helpful with questions at front desk. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    I had an enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts, including bathroom, could do with refurbishment. Only one plate, spoon and fork and no cooking utensils provided in otherwise well-equipped kitchen facility (but might have been available if requested).

    Excellent location for access to the shoreline, shopping centre and nice neighbourhood. Plentiful continental breakfast. Good housekeeping and helpful staff. Well kept outdoors and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value option for first night after flying into Oakland airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One mattress was bad but I only needed one bed.

    Convenient for picking up provisions and/or takeaway food with nice little table and chairs to eat a meal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Good older hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint peeling in bathroom

    This hotel has a great location! Close to the beach and across from south shore shopping. They have friendly service and free breakfast and WiFi . However, some things need to be fixed like the paint that was peeling off the bathroom walls. There was also a slight smell in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Best value for money when staying in Alameda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Included breakfast" consisted of coffee, packaged sweet rolls and instant oatmeal; we ate elsewhere. Maid service on the weekend was haphazard; kitchen trash was not removed and towels were not replaced. Room 240 was clean, but old furniture, carpet, and fixtures do not give a good impression.

    The property is aging and needs to be updated, but the apartment-size space is a great value. Full living room and kitchen, lots of closet space, plus a balcony, are included in the price. Location is good for access to the water, shopping, and Park Street businesses. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    It was quiet for the most part.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The low wall separating the parking lot from the Bowling Alley. It would have been a more secure feeling if patrons over the wall weren't able to watch the unloading/loading of vehicles in the Hotel pkg lot, it was a creepy feeling at night. The cindarblock wall is only about four ft.high. In some cases folks on the other side parking cars,hanging out in clusters or people cutting through on skateboards seemed a little too close.

    It was quiet for the most part. The grounds were well maintained. Rooms appeared clean but could have been cleaner. 24/7 Front Desk. Staff walking the property during the night was helpful, to feel safe there. The Staff were personable & pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is too old. The room smell nice, but the waiting area and corridors were very stinky. We held our breath while walking through. The carpet in the room was very dirty, my daughter's white socks were black in 5 min. No lift.

    We like area around. Nice restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    It was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just needs a lot of updates. For having a kitchen they didn't give you anything dishes or anything to cook with. The room is spacious but dingy.

    It was in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    We stayed in 2 different rooms both outdated decor, no big deal. The first room overlooked the pool it was clean with a nice patio excellent value. Room 2 was a lagoon suite. The deck was rotting outdoor chairs were ready for the dumpster. Indoor chair was so filthy I wouldn’t sit on it. Other than that the room was fine maids did a great job with what they had to work with. They were working in the property I would stay again location can’t be beat for price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    The hotel was close to a shopping centre with some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is also a condo location too, so residents appeared to live there. It could use some updating and changing of things such as the carpets. The breakfast wasn't overly healthy for continental breakfast (donuts and danishes with a couple cereal choices and a couple apples). Coffee was thick like mud and tasted burned. Staff present when we checked it didn't know much about the area or questions we asked. Only one staff present during breakfast/check out time at 8am, which was very busy. Felt I paid too much for the hotel.

    The hotel was close to a shopping centre with some restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean & great location. Not sure if we’d stay here again?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, & drapes really bad. . Needs to update or no one will want to stay. Spare blanket had spots on it & looked old. Updating would make it a great value. Only a bare bones continental breakfast, so don’t call it a breakfast.

    Location was excellent. Also, full kitchen suite. Seemed very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Not luxurious but sufficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really old. They had updated the bathroom a little bit, but in general really old.

    Nice courtyard with pool and a good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Even with the cosmetic issues I would still stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an older facility and could definitely use a little tender loving care. The exterior needs painted BADLY and the porch deck was rotted in quite a few places. Parking was also a little difficult with my fullsize truck. I got lucky the night I was checking in and found an area at the back of the lot where I could park with a small trailer hooked to the truck.

    Very good location. Great price for the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the Evening customer service provided by the clerk named Rose. My remote wouldn’t work she gave me another one; I needed a blanket she provided one; she did everything with a smile and grace.ive already referred the Nurses association to book Coral Reef whenever they come to California.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Not bad for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a handicap accessible room and they didn't really have any and didn't have anything close for us. The breakfast was basically donuts. The beds we're not comfortable and the property is very outdated. Pool was not open due to poop in the pool and they had no intention of cleaning it. It was a duck and bird bath. The sofa bed had dirty sheets and food in it when we tried to use it.

    The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate. The grounds are well kept and it's a nice little break from the city. Clean other than the one problem with the sofa bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.9
    Way too much money for what you get, oh and they charge a $20 incidental fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators, stairs & hallway very dirty & smelled. The room was super dusty & dirty, with a build up on the walls, hangers & ironing board. There was a large party in 2 rooms near us with lots of screaming, slamming things around, fighting in the room below us on the patio....the staff did nothing. My 6:15am wake up call came at 7:17am. Luckily I had a bad feeling & set an alarm otherwise we would have been late to our friend’s funeral! 😡

    The bed was fairly comfortable and it was nice having a kitchenette. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good place to stay when visiting SF, Alameda is nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good place to stay when visiting SF, Alameda is nice place, from near beach you can see SF over the bay. Shopping centre & fastfoods close. Room was spacious, fully equipped even with small kitchen, a bit used , but still fine. Breakfast included, typical American sweet one. Prices in SF are quite high, so this one for 100$/night was OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    I actually would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was clean but bedroom had a moldy smell. Back doorwall only had the slip lock; the additional screw in lock no longer worked, nor was there a wooden bar for the track - kind of vulnerable feeling. Once I closed the curtains, I couldn't get them opened again. I asked for a too with a view (of the water) - i got one facing the other building across the small court room: pretty tree though!

    Comfortable bed. Very large site, not room. Sitting room with table, efficient kitchen and separate bedroom. Location to beach for walks and to good dining outstanding. Perfect to get to and back to Oakland International Airport. Day staff was very pleasant. Comfortable full size couch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.4
    I book this place because of the reasonable rates but rooms are becoming a craps shoot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Room dusty, beds very hard, musty smell. Loud party in adjacent room. Desk told them to quiet down and they started pounding on the walls instead.

    Walking distance to shopping and dining.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient cutlery, plates (1 person). Nothing to cook with in kitchenette. Dim lighting.

    Location near shoreline and bird reserve. Easy to work heating. Superb Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.8
    I would never recommend this place to anyone,ever and wish I could get a refund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the room was dirty, smelled very dirty and musty, the heat and air didn’t work,none of the lights in the whole room worked so we had light from the tv the crib I asked for had an additional cost of $10 and it looked like it was hand made and it fell apart twice with a mattress so thin you could feel the springs and it was very dirty. The bed had very thin blankets so with no heat it was very cold. Food was left in the cupboards which is disgusting. For $200 for 1 night I could have stayed at the Hilton and had a clean and better room.

    I liked that there was an extra bedroom that’s it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    It's very spacious and has a full kitchen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    See above.

    It's very spacious and has a full kitchen. They only have a continental breakfast. Inspect the room completely before moving your belongs in. I changed rooms for times before finding a suitable unit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Perfectly adequate older motel for budget travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older property, and it shows. Rooms are very dated. The mattress on the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and sagged in places. The blanket on the bed was clean, but it had been washed so many times it had small holes in it (and a possible cigarette burn left over from before the hotel was non-smoking).

    Rooms are unexpectedly large. Cleanliness is good for a hotel its age, and the price is quite good for its location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.8
    Proximity to my destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not well kept. The restroom was filthy the walls, bed and room were run down. It felt cheap & unsanitary. I think other reviews were misleading.the room was almost $90. I changed location on the last night of my trip. And for a mere $10 more, the quality of the hotel was infinitely better.

    Proximity to my destination. Close to an outside mall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    2.5
    Photos of this place are very deceptive. We were higly disappointed by the condition of the rooms .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are horrible. Needs some serious remolding and a lot of upgrades.Not very clean at all. Housekeeping needs improvements. Beds are uncomfortable and pillows are flat. Woke up unrested. I would barely give this hotel a 2 star.

    breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    3.3
    I would not stay here again unless the owners/management completed some much needed renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facility is old, worn out, not maintained. We stayed in room 109 and it was filthy. The bed coverings were dirty (they have quilts on the bed with white covers but the covers were grimy/dirty), the blanket was dirty and had holes, curtains dirty and falling apart, the floor in "kitchen" area had not been mopped and was sticky, the table had not been wiped off (top was sticky), the chairs had food in the cracks around the seats, there was snot/burgers wiped on the wall next to the bed, shower curtain was dirty with hair and mold, there was trash sitting on top of the heating unit, the safety latch on the sliding glass door was broken (room was at street level), the small freezer froze everything. Being a bit shocked at the condition of the place, I even looked at the box spring/mattress and they were dirty. At least the sheets were clean. The bathroom faucet ran water. The bathtub was once pink but had been re-enameled to beige at some point in the past. You can tell as there are large worn out patches all over the tub where it is now pinkish beige. I realize this review won't change people staying there as it is a cheap option for the bay area but some of the descriptions offered for this place as being "relaxed" and "no frills" miss the point of how run down the property is.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.3
    Would not stay there again unless no other options. Good location but not clean and not kept up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean and not kept up, things falling apart and dirty.

    Only good part was location and being near to the ocean to walk along the beach and near to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Coral Reef Inn & Condo Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: