Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hidden Valley Inn 3 stars

102 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924, USA

#4 of 6 hotels in Carmel Valley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 360 B&B reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a mini fridge to store leftovers and snacks.

    Fabulous breakfast buffet ! Friendly and attentive staff. Free parking. Lovely woodsy environment and a deer wandered onto the grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen towels and told by front desk that towels are not provided - we should purchase “paper towels”.

    We stayed in room 4 and family in adjoining room 3. I believe these are some of the best units on the property. We had private patio, overlooking the beautifully groomed pool area and spectacular mountains. The grounds are quiet, peacefuu and offer the perfect morning stroll uphill for a fabulous breakfast. The rooms are beautifully appointed and bathrooms generously supplied. Unit 4 kitchenette was tidy and had basic supplies. We had a great stay overall and were delighted at the proximity to shops, restaurants and wine tasting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except many cable arrangement in the room. There are some many devices and I cannot find a place for my phone and computer chargers

    This place is amazing! Quiet environment in the valley and excellent view. The breakfast is also good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While using my laptop the wifi network connection kept dropping. Also, the door to the patio attached to my room had stained glass in it that one could see through and no drape or curtain to ensure or maintain privacy. Having said that, I would happily stay there again and would recommend to anyone looking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the breakfast is worth a stay. The staff is so service minded and together with the view from the breakfast restaurant as well as the healthy food this was indeed a positive surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    We loved everything about this hotel. The king-size bed was extra comfortable. Our room (a king studio) was very large and perfect for four people. The hotel was extra clean. The bathroom was large and clean and had nice shampoos and soaps. The grounds were very beautiful and reminded me of a tropical paradise. The surrounding mountains provided a breathtaking backdrop. The check-in person and person serving breakfast were very helpful and genuinely friendly. The breakfast was served in a beautiful room with a spectacular view. The breakfast had a lot of variety, and the waffles were cooked fresh for every visitor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great with many options. Bed was comfy. Enjoyed the heated pool. Pillows and towels were plenty in the family room. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't very comfortable. Had no box spring so much firmer than we normally would sleep on.

    Breakfast was wonderful! Very convenient, no problems when we showed up a bit late for check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Great location within walking distance of wine tasting rooms and restaurants. Many rooms have small outdoor seating patio spaces. Salt water pool. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms are in process of being upgraded, but our unupgraded room was a good value. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - just not worth the money you pay - it seems that this hotel/motel is sick in the same bed as many others in the US.. it'll throw you back to the seventies: dark, worn down, carpet, small.. - two adults, two kids (11 and 13) in a small room with no room (apart from ten hangers) to put your clothes, we had to take the ironing bord out of the closet to put some clothes on, and keep one of the two travel bags in the car - carpet in the room; when will hotels realize this is just filthy? - bathroom; there is a difference between vintage and in desperate need of change.. - although it is very quiet outside (no noise from the street whatsoever), you will here every move your neighbor makes and you will be woken up by every car that parks in front of your room

    - friendly staff - location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, bed was comfy. Decor was tasteful. Room is a little outdated but well maintained and they are remodeling all rooms in time. Breakfast was a surprise bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coffee cup was obviously unwashed. The bathroom was dirty. On top of that, the proprietor was crabby and disagreeable. The promotional photo was misleading. It was a big disappointment to us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were really thin so we heard a bit of everything.

    The bed was super comfortable! The room was nice and we appreciated the extra pillows and blankets tucked away by the living space couches. The room was clean and we loved being in such a quiet space away from the major tourist areas of Carmel/Monterey. The staff were amazing from check-in to check-out and we enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast (the waffles were great!!). We will be going back and staying here; I highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Nice place and better than expected. There is nice outside seating and a pool if you are in the mood for a swim. Staff are very friendly and helpful. There are quite a few places to eat within walking distance. Looks like they are upgrading the place also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture on the website of the room I thought I was booking was not the room we ended up getting at all. The picture was a room we had stayed in before and loved. This one — no privacy, loud heater, paper-thin walls and ceiling. :-(

    The location was great. Breakfast was served at a decent time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cute Inn and staff was extremly helpful and responsive to answering all my questions prior to and during my staty. It was a perfect distance away from Big Sur and Carmel which was our goal to tour while staying. The breakfast was fantastic and set up so nice. I would return here without a doubt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I tried the pool, a little chilly. Even 2 degrees warmer would have helped. It was hard to get the shower at the right temp with separate hot and cold knobs. Should probably consider putting in mini fridges and microwave.

    It was very quiet, just enough off the main road. Loved it was so close to the county park and Carmel Valley Village. Room had comfortable beds, and bathroom. I would reccomend this place to my friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel really lived up with their name, it is really hidden. It's hard to drive their during night time.

    I like their breakfast. I like the room it is clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid over $200 for a room that did not have a private bathroom. That is absolutely bonkers I didn’t think that I would have to check for “bathroom” in the amenities section of a listing. I expressed my dissatisfaction and got nowhere. Ridiculous.

    Pretty standard bed, I guess?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a squeeze in breakfast area - had to wait for table. Not long. Area for help yourself breakfast was quite small and not much room but people were polite and waited so wasn’t a problem.

    Breakfast was great. Fresh and plenty of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-conditioning, so room temperature was uncomfortable until sunset and outside air cooled. Room included portable fan that we used to move evening air into room.

    Old construction, but very comfortable room. Room was upgraded to provide a refrigerator. Breakfast service was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, not much. The room was dark with not much natural light, no overhead lights, and very dim lamps. It felt dark and dingy. The wicker furniture put off a terrible smell that gave me a migraine (mostly the bed frame which I couldn't escape). The shower was busted. Couldn't get the knob to turn to achieve hot water and no water pressure. Took a freezing shower. It was a very poor stay for nearly $300 a night. No minifridge to keep items cool. And my room overlooked a neighbors backyard, they were up at 7am doing yard work and had a huge dog running around. Not relaxing at all.

    The breakfast was a nice thing to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sinks in the bathroom need repair

    Bed was comfortable. Location away from the road. Very quiet comfortable room in a beautiful setting. Nice pool. Exceptional breakfast room with great atmosphere and a wonderful view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice hotel - staff/owner was very friendly and accommodating of a booking mixup we made. we kind of just dropped in here as a waypoint to sleep but really this is an hotel/area where you should be hunkering down and spending some time on the grounds and taking it easy as they have gone to great lengths to make a unique space here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast Food was fresh & presented very well...lots of options for everyone..The Breakfast is awesome. The room was huge by today's standards & I would stay there again. The manager was very nice & helpful.........

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator (but lots of ice available)

    Excellent breakfast and breakfast area. Service at the desk was helpful, with some good recommendations for restaurants nearby. Room was large enough and was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Also would have liked solid dividers between the decks for more privacy. But, it was still very nice.

    It is truly a hidden treasure! Lovely landscaping fills the center of the complex surrounding the heated salt water pool. The breakfast was outstanding....freshly made, great selection...attention to detail...real plates, silverware and milk and the dining room was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not quite expecting us with our reservation and I don't think gave us the type of room that I had reserved online. The room we were given did not have attached bath and was close to highway

    Breakfast was nice and nice breakfast area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing bad with this hotel.

    Loved Hidden Valley! The room was big, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead bolt on door was falling off, lamp and coffee maker didn't work, and plugs in the bathroom did not work so you couldn't use a blow dryer or curling iron. Told front desk about issues. They tightened the dead bolt and used extension cord for lamp and coffee pot. Never fixed plugs in the bathroom so still couldn't do my hair. There were no mirrors in the bedroom area so couldn't do it there either. For $250 a night you would hope that you could use the bathroom.

    People

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c

    Breakfast was very good. Fresh fruits, organic products, porcelain dishware. Dining room with a nice view and great service. We appreciate attention to detail

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the room we expected. No crockery. No seating area. Not ground floor or pool view as expected. Awake all night with the noise. Coming back to the room in the afternoon to find 3 or 4 cleaners in it!

    It was only 30 or so minutes from monterey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to update rooms. For the rate we paid we expected up to date bathroom, fridge in room, for example,

    Beds were comfortable, Food, landscaping, location all very good. We appreciated the quiet. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on a road trip, and we arrived there late in the evening, we would liked to go some restaurant or bar by foot but the hotel is very outside of the city, it is truly a vacation hotel, not for travellers I think.

    The room and bed was big enough and very comfortable, breakfast was rich according to other boutique hotels in US I stayed. The hotel is outside of Carmel By The Sea, but it is like in the middle of the forest, very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found some small bugs on some shelves and on the bed which was quite off putting, i think it was just the nature of the environment we were staying in can cause bugs but in the bed particularly was an unpleasant surprise.

    Proximity to the Carmel Valley wineries was a plus! Breakfast was tasty and home made in the morning. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very old, door locks are not secure at all. No A/C.

    Parking was decent but would likely have had an issue if I arrived later in the evening. I have a large truck so navigating the parking spots and driveway were a little difficult. The room was clean and decent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds could have been better. No TV in the bedroom if children are in the other room in the bed it's not great.

    The breakfast was nice with fresh strawberries, fresh waffles, wonderful australian muesli bites, fresh hard boiled eggs, other fruits, good coffee and a lovely place to sit. It was also lovely to be able to sit outside the bedrooms in the garden at night and have a snack, a drink and chat, especially if travelling with a larger group. The swimming pool was nicely placed and clean. It's a great value for money in the area as most other places are expensive. About 20 min. to Carmel-by-the-Sea, however, a beautiful road to drive. 5 minutes from a Safeway and only 2/3 minutes to some fantastic restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just a little cold and the sheets a little dirty-- I expect new, fresh sheets and it really looked like the bottom sheet was not changed. If it were earlier I would have asked for a change of sheets and maybe an extra blanket. The pool could also be a little cleaner and the towel cabinet better maintained. The price is a bit expensive but comparable. Please make sure your employees are changing the sheets.

    The front desk and office staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast was nice. The facilities and location were overall good-- I like the pool, the patio areas, and the outdoor picnic areas. The geographic location is near a handful of wineries and restaurants, and its warmer than the coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin, it's a great place assuming you don't have loud neighbors. We got lucky, the people that stayed in the rooms around us we're very considerate and we only heard minimal noise. But you potentially can get unlucky.

    Great location, wonderful staff, comfortable beds, huge rooms, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and outdated. The room itself was small. Not enough outlets for today's electronics. Even the coffee pot had to be moved to a different location in the room to be used.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a very nice place. Hidden from the road, it is quiet and secluded . A nice swimming pool. We had a great stay. Staff is very friendly, it is nice to have the menus of the restaurants in town at the front desk, the room is nice and cosy and the pool great. The flowers in the pool area and garden are beautiful. Breakfast is good. The yellow soap bars smell very nice. The chairs at the pool side are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms old, bathrooms old, ants in bathroom, no air but a fan....only window was a sliding door, so except for bathroom window, there was nothing to cool room but fan....

    The staff was nice and the breakfast was good....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not air conditioned and when we arrived our room was quite hot. It does cool down at night quite a bit and we had a large fan in our room. But it was uncomfortably warm that first day

    Lovely courtyard with pool and fabulous breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little daylight in room and on deck. Deck has no view of anything due to low-hanging tree branches and close proximity to neighbors yard and his big work truck/rig. I would have preferred a pool location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, while not a modern as others, was well decorated, clean, and quiet with a friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious and the kids enjoyed playing in the heated salt water pool! We'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gentleman on reception who could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable.

    There was only a couple of us staying when we were there but the attention to detail over the breakfast just demonstrated the level of customer service offered by this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator. Neighbors to the back chainsawing at 7:30am. Neighbors to the west doing construction at 7:30am. NO sleeping in here.

    Lovely staff...Front desk to the cleaning crew. Lovely breakfast and breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything about this hotel.

    I'll start off by saying the location is so peaceful, I have never felt so relaxed here. The room we had was a Garden room which opens out onto a beautiful patio with seating, surrounded by lush well-kept gardens and little birds tweeting about. There is also a nice pool too. The rooms were all very large and airy, with lots of sunshine and daylight pouring in. We also found the king bed to be SO comfortable. Each morning we walked to reception where next door is a lovely breakfast room where they make tasty waffles to order. They serve a variety of other things too. The manager, Denise was so helpful, she really takes care of the guests and you can tell she takes great care in the grounds - she was gardening when we arrived :) The whole feel of the hotel is so calm and relaxed, you can't beat it if you're looking for some peace.. We were able to park our car right outside our hotel room, and there was plenty of parking too, we found it a breeze to find from H1. The hotel is walking distance (five minutes) to many beautiful restaurants too, I wish we knew how lovely this place was and we'd have stayed longer! We plan to come back next year from the UK and spend longer here :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is horribly overpriced, very tired accommodation, desperately in need of modernising - carpets felt old and dusty with stains, bedding was worn and ripped. We were upgraded. If we had stayed in our very small room, with dusty old fake flowers, no fridge, no a/c, constantly dripping shower, chipped and grubby basin etc... we might not have stayed for the whole duration.

    There was one staff member who was great and attentive. The location is pretty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed and pillows, cute location, quiet, more of a cabin feel than a hotel. A bit of a drive to the beach but not bad. $20 Uber to Carmel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs/exterior need repair/maintenance, leaving a very shabby first impression. Balcony I paid extra for overlooked a construction yard and was dirty with uninviting metal furniture. For the price, there should have been at least a couple of bottles of water in the room, and towels at the pool. No air conditioning, and the upstairs room felt like the heater was on high; had to leave front and patio doors open to get comfortable, and it wasn't hot outside.

    The bed was very comfortable. Good location, nice breakfast, nice room decor, overall beautiful setting, nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really liked the location it was within easy walking distance of a village that had plenty of good value restuarants Staff were extrememely friendly and helpful Hotel has been recently taken over and rooms need decorating for which the new owners apologised and would be completed soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little better lighting in the room.

    Close to our golfing location at Carmel Valley Ranch and a very quaint little town that was walking distance to restaurants and galleries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in and given wrong room requested did not know til late charged too much for room did get a credit next day. Some confusion. Want king bed and got queen

    Quiet off road

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The miss at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. My fiancé had a birthday and we got upgraded to a nicer suite. The complimentary breakfast place was very clean and orderly with a nice view of nature outside. The breakfast food selections were 5 star.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had hot and cold water, on and off, which made for a very exciting morning. Some of our party decided not to take a shower. Also, the walls were thin and we could hear our neighbors conversations. I also didn't like having a sliding glass door as room door.

    It is walking distance to the Carmel Valley Historic district with 21 wine tasting places and lots of restaurants. It is a beautiful location with very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged for two nights and I only stayed one night. I called booking.com and they called the hotel. They assured me that I would only pay for one night if I stayed for only one night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite basic - waffles were made fresh while rest of the it was mostly cereals and bread.

    The overall stay was very comfortable for my family. The kids enjoyed the pool and the quite area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature was very difficult to figure out and the room was very cold. Also the shower is very old and it took a long time to get the temperature correct. The had hot breakfast but everything had sugar in it. They said they had plain greek yogurt but just didn't have the morning I was there. I couldn't eat anything because of the sugar.

    The Inn is in a lovely location close to Carmel The breakfast room had a lovely view and was comfortable, coffee was delicious. The beds were comfortable and the room was pretty to open up to. I had they improve the temp problem and the shower problem. It would be excellent if they would provide breakfast suitable for diabetics.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water for shower is not hot enough

    Among the mountains with fresh air. If you always have sea view rooms, I suggest you might try the mountain view with beautiful landscape and field along the route. I guess they've provided the turndown service. The room was heated when I checked in. Feel so kind and warm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 2 German shepards barking at the miniature horse and the giant tree trimming trucks and loud men in the neighbors' yard under my window at 8 am. I also expected more real food from a "Bed and Breakfast". The "breakfast" was the standard all carb found at many hotels with a hard boiled egg and a slab of cheese...

    The miniature horse in the neighbor's yard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The exterior of the buildings is a bit outdated and the bathrooms should be updated.

    The gardents and pool area are lovely. The bedroom, patio and views of the garden are very nice. The location and proximity to Carmel Village is terrific. It is also not too far to get to downtown Carmel and the beautiful 17 mile drive!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building: gap under the door to the outside; repainted enameled layer in bathroom sink is pealed off; heater is ancient. Paper thin walls.

    Price; Location; cute furnishings; clientele was quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't sleep well because of so much noise outside my door and through the walls from other rooms. A very loud chirriante squeaky noise woke me up three or four times during the night. It was the worse night sleep I've had at a hotel ever! Also, every time I turned in the bed, the bed headboard was bouncing against the wall and making noises too.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. Well maintained and relatively up to date, but expensive for the level of comfort available. Breakfast very standard for hotels (as a constant traveler unsustainable)

    Nice place, clean, convenient. Older structure, but well maintained. Quaint. Beautiful landscape. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the breakfast and the pure serenity that was found at the location of the inn. The staff was super friendly! We plan on returning in the future to check out all of the great wineries in Carmel and Carmel Valley!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities need some remodeling. It reminded me of summer camp cabins! For example: the bed skirt was torn, the ceiling had big plastered marks from maybe some time ago, popcorn ceilings, tile in bathroom cracked and also they had replaced parts of it with different tile. The walls are also SUPER thin and the neighbors to our left had a giant dog that kept barking (why would any establishment allow large dogs that bark all the time?!) and our neighbors to our right had a toddler that cried at night and at the crack of dawn. We could also hear our neighbors TV! So yes, we paid close to $400 for two nights but we won't be staying here again, instead I'll pay for one night at Bernardus Lodge.

    Staff at breakfast and front desk were friendly and the location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was for some reason not working in the evening. We are not sure who was at fault. We had a standard room with 2 beds. The room was small and tight but the terrace and view of the pool, clean wine glasses and other nice details made up for it.

    We (2 people) stayed there on a Sunday. Very nice atmosphere and quite. The breakfast room was quaint and the personal was very attentive serving us - we had some waffles. Fruits options were nice so for a continental breakfast it was good, but I did miss yogurt or cheese, just to have more wholesome choices. The staff were great and we had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception and all staff were very friendly. They gave good information about the area and the restaurants. The motel is in a quiet valley, there was almost no noise. It is a very good alternative to the expensive hotels in and around Monterey and Carmel-by-the-sea. The breakfast is good. The swimming pool is clean and large enough. The wifi is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was not easy to operate. It was tricky to find the station you wanted. I would have liked a microwave in the room.

    The size of the room and bathroom was great. I liked the garden setting. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old and somewhat uncomfortable. The rooms are very hot at this time of the year and you can hear everyone around you going up and down the stairs.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general I feel that the resort was run down and needs renovation.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Served delicious breakfasts and we were able to enjoy the social hour in the afternoon. Bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a nice afternoon by the pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double queen room was quite small, with somewhat outdated decor, and too many cushions on beds. Breakfast lacked healthy options. The accommodation was quite pricey for what it offered.

    Wine glasses and a bottle opener provided in the room - this is wine-tasting country, after all. Rooms overlooking a small swimming pool, which gave the chance of a much-welcomed refreshing dip. This place was close to lots of wineries, and to a great cafe - Corkscrew cafe, I think.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Patio/Deck King Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that it impacted us in any way but the room was quite dark. I would suggest painting a lighter colour! But other than that I've nothing to say that could be improved on for value of money!

    The hotel was in a great location was great for Carmel by sea and Big Sur and the Monterey National Park was close by! To be honest I was a little hesitant when we arrived but I've not stayed in anything similar and my husband calls me precious!! . I was proved wrong! The hotel was very pleasant and the staff were very friendly. It was clean and well serviced! There was a hairdryer in the room which for me was a great bonus! There was a good selection of restaurants close by within walking distance. There is also a supermarket within driving distance to stock up on water/ wine etc! The breakfast was usual American bagels/ waffles etc. But was very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its always nice to have a bigger room but Miss Denise was nice enough to let us stay in one of the rooms with 2 twins and a king even though that is not what I booked. It helped us a lot with all the luggage we had. Again she is a gem and does what she can to help. Much better than staying in a chain hotel!

    We loved Miss Denise who owns this place. She was super helpful helping us with our plans and very accomodating! My kids and I loved her breakfast! My little one loved the pool and we all loved the comfie beds. Thanks Miss Denise for everything. It felt like a little home away from home.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: