Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Courtesy Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

9450 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452, United States of America

#11 of 11 hotels in San Simeon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1099 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    2.5
    Room key got de magnetism so was locked out, missing towels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room key got de magnetism so was locked out, missing towels also bed pillows smelt dirty, there were stains on the towels that were in the bathroom, overall stay I rate a 2 out of 10

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.0
    The pool and spa was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to move the fridge to plug it in, and there was cat food under it, but it was a great stay.

    The pool and spa was awesome! The staff was friendly and helpful. The towels in the room were in short supply, but we swam a lot and they are generous with those towels☺ We will go there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nearby food outlets limited. Bar and grill expensive and not that good would eat before you get there or take your own

    Excellent value for money. Opposite beach and all amenities.very dated but bed excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.0
    There is a reason it is so cheap you pay for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The a/c did not work. The bathroom door had so much paint on it that it wouldn’t close. My grand child was eating food leftover on the floor from a earlier guests . I had spider bites all over my leg .

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.5
    I love how they have a hot tub but I don't want to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How the hot tub closes at 10

    I love how they have a hot tub but I don't want to get in there with other people and it closes at 10 so I wasn't able to get in it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    3.3
    The worst!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was absolutely filthy! My children walk Barefoot on the rug for less than 20 minutes and have black feet. Somebody else's swim shorts hung on the back of the door the grout on the tile in the bathroom was black simply because it was not cleaned often. The beds were extremely uncomfortable the TV had less than four working channels. When we walked in the room it reeks of Pinesol. This place was absolutely awful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were hard. Bed wasnt clean-had sand in it. Tv reception was fuzzy. Bathroom was in need of new floor & updating in general.

    Good Location across the highway from water.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    4.6
    Felt kinda of run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt kinda of run down. The faucet in bath tub looked like it was about to fall off. Flies in the room. TV was almost unwatchable. And you have to pay $8 more for the inhouse breakfast. Maybe ok if you are on a budget, but the Quality Inn only a block away was only $10 more and much better quality, and it had a FREE breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    6.3
    The bed was confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very outdated. Shower with no water pressure. Too expensive but like everything in California.

    The bed was confortable. Overall it met my expectations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    They had a heated pool available, which we unfortunately did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had a heated pool available, which we unfortunately did not get to experience, but we thought was a nice touch after a long day of trekking around Big Sur.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    Beach Front Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant say anything was wrong with our stay. We had a busy night in the bar with a motorcycle club and enjoyed all the company.

    After a long long drive this was a welcome break. Close to the beach and Cambria. Great bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.3
    Close to the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dirty, there was poop by the toilet paper dispenser, bed sheets had stains all over it on one of the beds, tv did not work, Heater barely worked.

    Close to the ocean Quiet Cheap

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi for laptop was not good

    Location Indoor swimming pool Spacious room Comfortable beds Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV, iron Parking next to room Quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    The room was good looking in the first moment but falling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was good looking in the first moment but falling apart in the next. Quality of the furniture was very low. Water pressure in the shower was very low. The restaurant next to the hotel (owner seem to be the same family; you get 10% off there) was good but prices were high.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    It was very clean and a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There light switch wouldn’t turn off in the bathroom.

    It was close to restaurants and close to Hearst castle. You could see the ocean from the out side of your room. Great sunset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.9
    The swimming pool is good + plus the whirpool with pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in the middle of nothing, the whole city is just hotels, few restaurants and small shops.

    The swimming pool is good + plus the whirpool with pretty hot water is god benefit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    6.3
    Not at all what we expected. The room was dirty and things were broken. The grounds are disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the grounds, everything in the room, it just felt dirty. One bed was really soft and comfortable, the hard and lumpy.

    not much, except location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.4
    Motel that needs updating , old stay in Cambria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard and the pillows were soft but not comfortable . The Handicap shower did not work the handheld shower wand water pressure was very poor , we told the assistant manager but nothing was done about it the room look old had not been updated in a long time , Go to Cambria - a much better city with lots of resturants and shops and more hotels , I paid $331.00 for a two night stay when everyone else was paying $109.00 with tax per night ,I asked the night manager but she said she could do nothing about the Senior Manager would have to fix the problem but no one called , there are three resturants in San Simeon very pricey value for the money fair , I tried to get a lower price thourgh Booking . Com but they wouldn't or couldn't help , I even call the property and they refused to help saying they were all booked up ( they were not full even on sataurday Stay somewhere else in Cambria , I asked for $115.00 refund but they didn't give it to me no one called , they sent an e-mail but no phone call . Very disappointed in San Simeon motel and Booking .com

    Nothing , only the Jacuzzi ( indoor ) was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.4
    A little run down
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I stayed in was very run down. A lot of cheap cover up repairs in bathroom. At the rates they charge they could use remodeling.

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    3.3
    the dump not to stay at..............................
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    most everything...............

    there was no eggs........breakfast was a lie..........price was higher when you got there..........and the room and towels was dirty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was excessive for what it was, evem though the installations were good i didn't feel the price was justified, felt a bit like a tourist trap.

    Beds were comfortable, cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was decent, but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not as clean as I would like. Bed sheets had stains and carpet felt damp.......

    The hotel was decent, but not great. The location was very nice, very close to the beach and restaurant next door was yummy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    5.8
    The location was good and the family room was a good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The motel is tired and a bit grubby, it is what I’d class as a cheap motel, full or people working, not tourists. £200 a night or us to stay in the family room was very overpriced for the type of accommodation.

    The location was good and the family room was a good size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, needs new carpet, paint, furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs a major refurbishing. Coffee maker in room did not work; very short shower curtain... Shower water escaped to the floor. Ants in the pool area.

    Indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast voucher for restaurant next door. Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restroom in the lobby area. Staff was not around when I 1st arrived. I was asked to wait a couple minutes and stood around for 15 mins. I left and came back later.

    The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    5.8
    The staff was kind and helpful and the price was good but I would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facility is very run down and in considerable need of a remodel. From the front office to the rooms it really needs updating. There were no refrigerators in the guest rooms either which was difficult for traveling with children and you only get two pillows per bed that are pretty flat and offer little support.

    The Inn was easy to find right off the highway and across the street from the ocean. It was only a 5 min drive to Hearst Castle which is why we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, not sure if we will return. Definitely needs improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are not comfortable and had a tick run up my leg in the bed and lucky it did not bite. I feared it had lime disease, did sleep the rest of the night thinking there was more. Told the Front desk, not sure they cared.

    Indoor Pool and Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    5.4
    Unsattisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The laundry and washing machine wasnt working good. One of the dryers werent working along with another washer, and the beds were hardly uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.9
    Nice spacious room with fridge and coffee maker.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Power outlets that don't work. Need new/updated tv's and cable service. Eating/sitting area would be nice also. New shower heads.

    Nice spacious room with fridge and coffee maker. Pool and spa were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.7
    A reasonable place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet did not work. It is not very cheap for what if offers. However, it is located at the popular but isolated place where only hotels are there and all things are expensive.

    Good bed and the breakfast deal at the mobile next door is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    7.1
    There were a few bumps, but overall I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outlets by the sink did not work so I could not dry or curl my hair. This was not ok as I was attending a reunion and really did not want to go without making sure my hair looked nice. The coffee that was supplied for the coffee maker was decaf, so I had to go ask for some reg. There was coffee in the office so I ended up just getting a cup there. The pool hours should have been extended during the summer - closes way too early.

    I liked the size of the room, the beds were comfortable, and the room had a coffee maker, fridge, and decent TV.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was horrible......and water pressure was almost non existent. The pool water looked like horchata.

    Staff was friendly. The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    3.3
    Plumbing a health hazard. Raw sewage in bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Raw sewage spewed into bath overnight. Smell and hazard potential absolutely disgusting. No one at reception til 0730. Left asap. Ran aroundtryig to get anither hotel room...Got refund but ruined trip.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    4.2
    Not much my kids liked the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I left a 500 lumen flashlight on the room table i put out my maid service sign and we left to the beach when we returned it was gone

    Not much my kids liked the pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.5
    great location, but poorly maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic room. Hairdryer didn't work, TV had fuzzy reception, had to ask for towels in our room, beds were hard, had to ask for a clean bedspread. Office staff was very apologetic, but apparently the cleaning & maintenance staff is inadequate. no breakfast whatsoever.

    The motel is within walking distance of the beach. It is within minutes of Hearst Castle, the Elephant Seal Rookery and Cambria. Office staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    4.2
    Great location, pool area could be really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs a good cleaning. Carpet in our room was very dirty. Hot tub was not hot and area around it needs to be cleaned, dirt and possible mold issues. Office was not open at 7am as advertised - would have been great to get some of that coffee at the coffee station before we hit the road.

    Great location, pool area could be really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    It was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms need updating. Water pressure is horrendous. I couldn’t wash my hair in the shower, I had to run the bath and kneel to make sure it was clean and all shampoo/conditioner was out.

    It was quiet. Beds were firm but I slept amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    3.8
    Waste of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The non-smoking room smelled of stale cigarette smoke (TERRIBLE for someone like me who is allergic to cigarette smoke and has asthma). Unfortunately we couldn’t request a new room as the hotel was full. The bed was like sleeping on a board and the pillows were completely flat. The mini fridge in the room had a huge dent in it and there was rust all along the bottom of the door (we didn’t feel comfortable using it). The NOISE was unbelievable! We were on the ground floor with only one floor above us. We could hear every movement the people above us made. Their floor (our ceiling) was creaking every time they walked around the room. At 3am someone was pounding on the door to the room above us and yelling someone’s name. SCARED THE CRAP OUT OF US since it sounded like they were pounding on our door! When we checked out the next morning, the desk clerk looked very tired and was rude. After telling her we were checking out, she simply said “Keys” and held out her hand. Once the keys were returned, all she said was “Ok, you’re good.” It made us feel like we were inconveniencing and annoying her. No “how was your stay?”, no “would you like a receipt?”, nothing. There was no customer service there at all. If I wasn’t so tired and congested from the stale cigarette smoke, I would have given them an earful on our experience there....but with the attitude of the desk clerk and how run-down the room/hotel was, I figured they don’t care. All they want is your money. If you can, stay at the Cavelier resort on the other side of highway 1. (We ate breakfast at their restaurant after checking out.) It sits right on the coast with viewing stations to spot marine life. It didn’t look super fancy but much more welcoming than where we stayed.

    The location was very nice. It was only a 6 minute drive to Hearst Castle and right across highway 1 was the coast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    We arrived very late on a journey from LA.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived very late on a journey from LA. When we got there, we had to call after hours. The woman came down and modeled excellent customer service even though it was late into the night and we had disturbed her. I appreciate that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.4
    Good for passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible WiFi connection, disturbed tv signal on some channels and some outlets that were only working if the light is switched on.

    Price-value is ok-ish, and parking is readily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property overall need upgrade. Old carpet, old bathroom. Shower had very poor water pressure. Some tv Chanel’s had very poor picture. WiFi was very slow at night but got better in the morning probably because not as many people were using it by morning. They had small refrigerator right by the bed making noise. We paid $166 for the night which is pretty high for this place but probably because Memorial Day weekend. Good for one night stay.

    Location is great! Right next to Hearst castle and Big Sur and right by the ocean. Check in and check out was super fast and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.5
    the stay was ok for the price, wish it was updated, I wish we had non smoking per our request
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outdated hotel room and the lack of towels we only had 1 and the cigarette smell in the non smoking room.

    The staff in the morning was very nice, the staff at night was not there so I waited outside a few minutes while they came down. My apologies. However the room was nice, smelled like cigarettes and I wanted non smoking but over all it was alright. Very outdated. He restroom literally fell apart on me dad lol the tile that holds the shampoo lol. But man o man is the area AMAZING! Such a beautiful town. The breakfast resuraunt the hotel suggested we go to was horrible and the service, but it was good for the price overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.3
    Accommodations were ok. Pool and jacuzzi should be open later.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool and jacuzzi closed at 9pm. It should be open later, at least until 10. Plumbing was loud. After flushing toilet or while taking a shower there was a very loud whistle. Needed to ask for extra pillows. Had to ask for pool towels.

    There was an indoor pool and a jacuzzi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.1
    Will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were flat and worn. Woke up with a stiff neck as a result. Since I'm relatively local, I will bring my own pillows next time. Other than the aforementioned, it's a pretty nice place for the price!

    Overall it was a nice stay, despite the noisy bikers. The location is great and you have access to restaurants and mini markets. The view wasn't bad but had to keep curtains closed as anyone could look in (faced the parking lot on first floor). I didn't stay for breakfast, but they do offer a daily service currently for $8. The area eateries charge about the same if not more for the same meal. Desk staff was pleasant and informative. I would stay here again, as the room includes AC/heating, iron, hair dryer, fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Stay was good. No flies no cockroaches no bugs clean just the way I like it thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV remote didn't work, curtain was broken and no washcloths for their. oh my mistake there was one washcloth.

    Instant hot water didn't have to wait. Beds were comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, satisfactory value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi in the room was 1 bar or less, had to go outside to get a connection. Indoor pool & Jacuzzi facility closed at 9pm, surprised us as we came over to use after dinner. Other guests checking in were disappointed as well. 10pm would be reasonable.

    Upper floor room clean & pleasantly furnished. Indoor pool & Jacuzzi a little tired but nice. Great location across Hwy 1 from beach, short distance from Hearst Castle entrance. Head south for SoCal, or north for Big Sur (when they get the road open again- be sure to check that!!) Nice full American breakfast next door at Beach Bar & Grill, discount tickets bought at motel. It can get pretty cold quick here when the fog comes in so always have a jacket handy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    5.8
    the pillows were very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pillows were very uncomfortable. the room smelled very musty when we entered the room. the lamps above the bed weren't plugged it. when i plugged it in only one side was working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.0
    It was cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would not stay here again. At 2 am someone was able to open the door to our room, if it wasn’t for the chain lock on the door they could have walked right in. It was so scary, my husband yelled, this room is taken or something and luckily they shut the door. I told the front desk, they said they would look into it but that was it.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee in the lobby would of been nice. Rooms had coffee maker but no coffee packits. Overall no complaints.

    The location was perfect, restaurant and mini Mart in walking distance. Beach right across the street. Beds really comfortable and price was right. Quiet and relaxing. Exactly what I wanted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    5.0
    Guests smoking on property right outside non-smoking rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guests smoking outside non-smoking rooms, common balcony, no microwave in room, not enough light, small, desk staff only until evening, for the price the standard of property was low.

    Location, many restaurants near by, close to shore

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Would not recomend.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crappy tv reception. Inadequate wall outlets. Only one location for ice. Low water flow at shower head. Rain gutters clogged and leaking so water splashed on upper level walkway.

    Wifi was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    4.6
    I don't think I will every use the Courtesy Inn again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness...........terrible! The toliet seat was stained it should have been changed, in a room for 6 they left one tiny soap, one tiny shampoo, etc. The bathroom floor was dirty and one of the towels I had to use was stain with something. The front desk was Always closed no matter what time we tried and when we requested more pillows we were told there were none. Worst room that I ever stayed in in my life.

    The one thing I did LOVE about this was they had a FAMILY room which slept 6 people that was awesome! However they left supplies like shamphoo and coffee pkts for ONE person in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.3
    Furry baby's fave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Faucet was leaking, house keepers left our door open and they didn't clean our room when we put sign the door that we need it.

    Easy access to the beach, pet friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Wil stay there many more times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say

    Staff is amazing as always. Kids love the pool. Coffee in the lobby and pool area. We travel the area every few months and stay there often. Very nice and relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    4.6
    You get what you pay for. We had booked a 2 nights left after 1 so bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the poolwater was pretty gross but it didn't stop the kids from swimming. The tenants were big partiers above us so we left after the 1st night and booked next door because the staff said they couldn't move us , yet vacancy sign was on.

    the location is good. 4 miles from Hearst.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    3.3
    Warning! Don't stay at the Courtesy Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything....hardly any amenities, horrible, loud guests who never sleep, paper-thin walls(heard every movement and sound), constant slamming of doors and shouting people, smelly and dirty accommodations.

    Nothing, probably one of the worst places we have stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure for the shower was bad. The room did not come with a microwave which would have been great for the popcorn we brought.

    The location and access to the beach was excellent. The indoor heated pool and spa were also a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.5
    good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plugs around the bed to charge our phone should be great ! Not relative to the hotel but nothing really around... restaurant close expensive for what is it... better to eat in a bigger town !

    The bed is huge and very confortqble ! Lot of pillows ! I didn't try the pool but like the indor pool (trip in winter) Good location, close to the beach evenn if there is not a direct view on the ocean from the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall everything was great. The only minor problem was the low water pressure in the shower... Not that big of a deal

    The indoor pool and hot tub is awesome... It rained during our stay... And it was nice to use the pool and hot tub...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    This motel was absolutely fantastic, San Simeon is nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This motel was absolutely fantastic, San Simeon is nice place on the way SF-LA, you can watch Sea Elephants 6 miles north. Nice room, clean, fully equipped (coffee maker, microwave, fridge), WiFi, very nice & friendly staff, parking of course+ heated indoor swimming pool with jacuzzi, all this for 60$/night! We really enjoyed the stay here & I'd fully recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.9
    Pool and hot tub were available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside property was not real clean with papers end cans around the gardens.

    Pool and hot tub were available. Room was fairly large and the bed comfortable. Located near things to see. Check in was quick.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.5
    Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv reception was poor and very few stations to watch and the shower was awful. Hardly any water pressure. Pool had someone's trunks left in the pool and didn't look clean. Was excited about indoor pool and then couldn't use it also afraid to try spa because of pool cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    6.3
    San Simeon is less crowded and more laid back than most of the Central Coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have stayed here many times over the years. Facilities and furnishing needs some TLC and updating. The Free wireless would not work inside our room. Step outside and I could get a weak signal. In the past, the wireless has worked fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.9
    All and I have no complaints of the room that hotel is really nice the price is amazing special with
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was completely horrible it was a boxspring with a sin piece of material on it my husband and myself tossed and turned all night long what would have been better sleeping on the floor on the air mattress. Please at least put memory foam on top of your mattresses for next guess.

    Hotels nice staff was really nice check-in was easy I asked if we could use a toaster and he said yes but was nice and so is the jacuzzi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    overall, i enjoyed it, and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The power went out in the room about 7pm, got very dark, glad i brought some candles. informed the front desk, the clerk was very understanding and helpful, he alerted maintenance and power was restored quickly.

    Across the street from the beach, very close to restaurants, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    5.0
    Lack luster stay, item stolen will never return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Theft occurred of an item. Linens were less than fully white. Toilet leaked from seal. Water was inconsistent temperature. Staffed very low for 50 or so rooms, no one at counter at 9:00am. No breakfast at main lobby as was "available for $8", restaurant recommendation was off by 3 stars.

    Availability

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.5
    Great getaway for our anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suggest investing in more channels and movie channels. Tried to find a good movie to watch and relax with b ut selection was very limited and clarity o0f TV was none better. Also better pillows with firmness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.4
    Loved our time in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to call for towels and hand soap. Mold in Shower. Strong Clorox smell in room. Analog tv, hard to see program. Loud neighbors, not hotels fault. Toilet seat wobbled and had to fix the handle.

    Was central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast price for the restaurant next door was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast price for the restaurant next door was not worth it and they made us buy one for our 5 year old daughter., which went uneaten and ended up being more expensive than if we ate there without the hotel offer. The shower head was way too low and water pressure was weak.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    6.7
    The overall stay was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are dated and could use with a few more amenities.

    For the price it was decent. The beds were a but hard for us, but the indoor pool and spa are a plus for kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs updated rooms were old, and wish the indoor pool was heated

    Loved the spa!! And that the rooms were big and provided an ironing board, microwave and fridge, plus it was right across from the ocean!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.5
    ideal quiet location on the PCH for road trips, big comfortable room for large families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole room needs a thoroughly good clean and update- it's just seems old and worn and outdated, the corners are neglected and didn't want to touch the hair dryer (gross collection of hair etc in the back-yuk!).

    A really good size room to accomodate the whole family together- travelling as a family of 6 with four children under 10, big comfortable, clean, fresh beds. ideal location travelling up the PCH to see the Elephant seals, right on the coast, off the main road and quiet. Good diner next door for breakfast and dinner with a discount given as guests of the Comfort Inn (we had dinner as a take-out in our room-tired kids- there was plenty of space to eat in the room with a table and chairs, fridge, coffee machine and microwave in the room).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.8
    It was relaxing.really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I forgot a silver bangle in our room,we had an email and phone calls to our home phone and cell phones to contact the property..What an honest person!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great place , great value! Definitely will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hair dryer didn’t work. Mini fridge was old, inside was frozen over . Floor hadn’t been vacuumed well, papers and staples still on rug.

    Huge room was a bonus. Had room to get a workout done easily. Large bathroom with shower/tub combo. Heating and cooling system was great! Breakfast available for a great price at the restaurant next door ! Beach is across the street!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    10
    We were about to see hearst castle and thus booked this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We lived on the second floor, the floor crunches when we step fast.

    We were about to see hearst castle and thus booked this hotel. Empolyers are friendly and rooms are good. Most importantly, it is a really bargain.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: