Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix West/Avondale 3 stars

1650 North 95th Lane, Maryvale, Phoenix, AZ 85037, USA

#9 of 133 hotels in Phoenix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay and made our Spring Training trip hassle-free and pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was limited. Had to park in adjacent business park on Saturday night.

    Staff was awesome! From the front desk to the folks in the Bistro. Accommodated our request without issue to switch sides of the hotel due to the freeway noise. Great music selection in the lobby area. Usually hotels play boring music.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    I will stay closer to the event I am attending next time. This property is too far from things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get any of the staff to give us details of what was in the surrounding area. They didn't seem to know where anything was.

    The bistro had good food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    The Hotel location was a great choice for a weekend trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The excessive motor traffic noise. No microwave (not a major concern) but would have been a nice addition yo the room.

    The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the service was consistent throughout our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    It was close to ak-chin pavilion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there to check in at 3:30 and had to wait an hour for our room to be cleaned. The tv did not work in the room.

    It was close to ak-chin pavilion

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Would be great with some adjustments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrangement of the room placed the AC blowing from the foot of the bed...on/off of the AC made for real hot/cool blasts all night. The Bistro prices for a cocktail were outrageous - $10+ for a vodka on the rocks. Needless to say we had nothing from the restaurant.

    Bathroom and shower were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Good Stay! Bring your own towels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom towels left lint all over my body after I dried off. Towels were too lenty

    bed is very comfy & room was clean. You have to try and get a room on the East side of the hotel because the west side has alot of road noise.Great breakfast & dinner options downstairs in there restaurant & the staff is very customer friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't a free continental breakfast.

    the size & quality of the room, the pool is huge, & friendly staff. Overall great experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    See it for yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decaf coffee

    Best nights sleep we've had in a long time. The pillows were fluffy, the curtains kept the room dark. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck with our morning coffee!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    This hotel is perfect! From the decor to the bathroom to the bed. I love coming here with my other half for a weekend get away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    The bathroom was great for my elderly mother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice except the bed being a little high for handicap accessible, I needed to use a step stool to get her in bed.

    The bathroom was great for my elderly mother. The walk-in shower was a plus for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.5
    A great place to stay near lots of shopping and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no USB charging outlets in the room. This was quite surprising to me. I went and purchased one.

    I liked that there was an onsite restaurant that was open until 10pm and the location was great for my purposes. The staff had extra charging cables for cell phone since I forgot mine, this was very important and a pleasant surprise that I didn't have to purchase one. I will likely stay there every time I visit Phoenix area going forward.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Great location extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location extremely comfortable. Great rooms! Would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Was very clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wish there were more places to hang out within walking distance

    Was very clean and quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Was good for what we needed
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful room and the little balcony was a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and the little balcony was a plus. The room also smelled amazing! Great bar and deli.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The rooms were wonderful, the hotel smelled so fresh we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were wonderful, the hotel smelled so fresh we enjoyed walking in everytime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Super clean, cute and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t know how it could be better

    Super clean, cute and comfy...excellent value ... very roomy...many amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    not up to par with other Courtyards in the Marriott chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff counter service very poor

    Nice facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.5
    Rooms are a little on the small side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little on the small side

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was noisy. Out room had a connecting door and we could hear the other guests tv/radio as if it was in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to stay in handicap accessible room. Not enough shelf space in bathroom.

    Staff was friendly and facility was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    Appears that lots of groups book here. Lots of children running and jumping above my room the entire
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PRICE, location

    I appreciate the room appeared clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    The lady worker at the bristo was very rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    need restraunt

    The lady worker at the bristo was very rude

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Let us check in early
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let us check in early

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great space in room and bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast isn’t offered. Onsite bar/lounge does offer breakfast.

    Great space in room and bath. Loved the setting area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Great place and very friendly staff. Awesome parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast ended too early and there was no microwave in the room.

    Everything was perfect, had a very nice and comfortable time being there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Comfort, cleanliness, quiet,
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No continental breakfast

    Comfort, cleanliness, quiet,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    If breakfast was included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If breakfast was included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great. Loved the shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Bed too comfortable....staff members extremely nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Satisfy with everything
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfy with everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Easy access to freeway and close to the venue we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of mosquitos

    Easy access to freeway and close to the venue we were attending.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location for concerts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for concerts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Break time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spotless bathroom very clean front desk staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff makes you feel at home
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Very nice i loved dis please😊
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice i loved dis please😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    concert lover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    WE loved this place. It was great for the concert.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Right off highway. Nothing within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    The full bar and food options were a nice touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full bar and food options were a nice touch

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    our anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very very nice place, clean, excellent amenities, and location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    The freeway view and sunset on the top floor
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The freeway view and sunset on the top floor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities average room

    Location, price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Great stay for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not that comfortable.

    Food was excellent. Had a bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    Great stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only suggestion is a microwave in the room. That was a little disappointing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Superb!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I couldn't stay longer......

    There was nothing I didn't Luke everything was by for perfect......😆

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or continental breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, fresh, stylish double queen room. Immaculate.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Bed & pillows were extra fluffy :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in my rate :(

    Bed & pillows were extra fluffy :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, good location, hard pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows. Didn't clean room after requested; trash not emptied.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Customer service at the check in and checkout was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking in back kinda scary..glad my husband was with me..

    Customer service at the check in and checkout was excellent..very friendly..home away from home..the Bistro was awesome..your housekeeping staff were marvelous..I saved for this weekend since November..had a comfortable weekend! Thank you 💋

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, cleaness of room.
    • Group

    Dislike the fact that my bill was delivered to my room on our last night of stay made us feel uncomfortable like if we were getting kicked out .

    Friendly staff, cleaness of room.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Everything! Beautiful building and grounds. Very nice employees! Room was great. We used the pool/hot tub area and the excercise room. We ate at The Bistro. Food was really good.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    Check in/out was quick and easy staff were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It rained the whole time I was there and didn't get to use the pool or spa.

    Check in/out was quick and easy staff were helpful and friendly. Easy access to the freeway. Varied restaurants both dine in and fast food in close proximity. Very clean well maintained

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    Hotel staff was polite and efficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was awakened twice by my neighbor snoring. The adjacent rooms should never hear that, much less be awakened by it twice. The parking was terrible.

    Hotel staff was polite and efficient. The ladies resolved their computer issues in the utmost professional manner. They moved me to a room that was far away from a snoring person that shook the walls with its unfortunate sleap apnea.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Rooms were airy and I loved having a balcony
    • Solo traveller

    One of women behind desk, although pleasant just doesn't have her heart in it.

    Rooms were airy and I loved having a balcony Staff were generally really friendly Food is good quality

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Room good size and very clean thought lobby was super cute
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really would have appreciated breakfast built in to stay...restaurant on premises expense and impractical for my children had to physically go out of hotel to get simple things like juice and muffins

    Room good size and very clean thought lobby was super cute

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was amazing, everything looked new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative remark is we had a room facing the freeway but the traffic noise was a little too much for me, all but that it was awesome

    The hotel was amazing, everything looked new. Nice sitting area, plenty of room and plenty of TV's. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was easy to access, and close to lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we returned from dinner, there were no parking spots but all the way in the rear of the building, and the rear entry doors were not clearly marked. We decided to check out the pool and spa area while we were back there, but the door to it wouldn't open (our keys worked and it lit up green, but the gate didn't open). The "bistro," advertised on the website as being a restaurant, is counter service, and does not offer the full menu listed on the website, which was disappointing. There are not vending machines on each floor. The bed was rock-hard and not very comfortable. Although the decor was modern, the yellow tone went from a chic mustard in some places to an almost 70's color in others, which was odd, but that's just personal preference, not a fault of the hotel. We wished that they offered breakfast later in the morning on a weekend, especially since it was Easter sunday and all of the restaurants were packed, and room service would've been really great. Also, the Paul Mitchell products were delightful, but so small that they were really only single-serve, especially for a female with long hair! A body wash would've been appreciated other than just the little facial soap, but the lotion was lovely.

    The hotel was easy to access, and close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The lobby was nicely decorated, staff were friendly. Even though we were told they were sold out, we hardly saw anyone in the hallways or common areas, it was very quiet. Everything was very clean. The Paul Mitchell bath amenities were a lovely touch. The shower with the glass door was very pretty, and the decor was updated and fresh. The towels were soft and plentiful, as well.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel was excellent, and the front staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of the hotel was excellent, and the front staff quick to check people in. The Bistro was also quick to make breakfast. Nice and clean hotel. Would definitely stay here again. My room was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Nice staff, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    Seemed like a fairly new place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Seemed like a fairly new place. Big rooms, nice pool, polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Soft bed, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Soft bed, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    Awesome cool and calm staff :-D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I could think of :-)

    Awesome cool and calm staff :-D Very professional, helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The staff is very friendly, the area is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very friendly, the area is nice. Hotel is nice and clean and comfortable. Decently priced

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    Big, spacious room.
    • Couple

    Big, spacious room. Great staff and very helpful! Peaceful! Great variety of foods in the bar area.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just given wrong directions to hotel from airport when I called so went out of the way about 30 miles

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    Comfy and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Freeway was a little noisy when on balcony but couldn't hear it from room.

    Comfy and friendly

There are also 62 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: