Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown Lodge Motel 1 stars

9899 MacArthur Boulevard, Oakland, CA 94605, USA

#36 of 42 hotels in Oakland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    4.9

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave. The hotel won't let you change or cancel your reservation without paying a high fee (the cost of one night stay).

    The room was clean. The manager was friendly. Several channels were available on cable TV. Our bed was made each day and the bathroom cleaned. The refrigerator was large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...the area was loud, the facilities were worn out and not tended to, and it was way too expensive. Do not stay here unless your a hobo with a trust fund.

    Actually, I liked nothing about this property. I felt unsafe, uncomfortable, unhappy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    HOW CUSTOMER ISNT TOLD ABOUT $100 DEPOSIT BEFORE ARRIVING.. THIS CAN BE A BIG INCONVIENCE TO SOMEONE WHO IS TRAVELING WITHIN A BUDGET.. YEP..!!

    VERY CLEAN INSIDE AND OUT.!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room reserved (king bed) was not provided and the clerk suggested going to another hotel when questioned about the room actually provided (full bed). No ironing boards were available.

    It was close to the location I was visiting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You know how they say an unsatisfied customer tells everyone they know? Well I don't have anything very good to say about my stay at the Crown Lodge Motel! It was not very visible as I drove into the area, and had to drive through a residential area to get to the hotel. It was a late arrival, if I had a different option I would have not stayed there. Upon check in, I paid for the room, but they required a second credit card swipe for a $100 security deposit. I did not feel very secure and wondered what it covered. It was in a sketchy neighborhood and residents were hanging out, playing loud music, working on cars, and smoking outside. I actually had to pay for ice from the machine, and had a paper bath mat!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, I'd booked in a hurry and didn't realise it was east oakland! Not a safe area and not for tourists, be careful, google is your friend

    Clean, cheap and friendly staff. There is a fantastic mexican place right opposite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really a bad accommodation. The furniture was very old and used. And the worst: there had been something in the bed that itched me and my partner the whole night and there were some ants in the bathroom. We heared the whole night the noise of the tv of our room neighbor and the cars outside of the street. We would defently not recommend this accommodation. Wifi was poor as well.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing have plenty of goodies out to enjoy

    right across the street was a GREAT Mex place damn good food good place to sit and good staff No carnitas (my fav) but carne sada good replacement decent price good atmosphere price average 8ish for a burrito with the works that comes with it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are groups of people living in the apartments who are noisy outside most of the night, with no respect that guests are staying and need a peaceful nights sleep. They were playing loud music on the car park and driving about at all hours. I would never stay there again. We were booked in for 3 nights but we cancelled after 2.

    It was adequate, but only just

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff does not have an elementary courtesy. I do not understand how they can serve anyone with this approach. They settled me with a big scandal, and instead of trying to sort out the conflict, the manager started yelling at me and behaving extremely incorrectly. In the room without stops, water flowed (the tap was running). Blanket - with large holes from cigarette butts, apparently it was used even at Roosevelt. Conditioning works time to time. In the street, it was very noisy all the while staying - then loudly turn on the music on the hotel grounds, then find out the relationship without hesitation lodgers in the middle of the night. In the end, I did not stay on the second night and moved out after the first - if you value your rest, then do not repeat my mistakes, bypass this "hotel" party.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot was a little small and the neighborhood may not have been that good.

    The room was a nice size and clean. The motel was about 10 minutes from the Bart Station (by car). It was easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Very bad area. Gangsters and prostitutes around hotel. My family and I felt very unsafe. No reviews mentioned that prior to booking the room.

    Nothing.. But very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and area was dirty and messy and ghetto. The stairs are a trip hazard for tenants. There were no restaurants or decent shopping centers, ice machine required payment, rooms needed better decor, ie comforter and desk, there was no refrigerator or microwave, needs new carpet, the lighting in the restroom did not work well. I was asked for a deposit of 100.00 dollars: therefore it was not worth it. The location was very bad, no entertainment.

    The beds were comfy and the size of the room was nice, housekeeping was good, the sink and counter was very nice and table next to big dresser was a nice addition. tv/choice of channels were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mold on the bathtub faucets. In the middle of the hood. Homeless people asking to use my bathroom or money and get mad when you say no. Bed was hard. I wanted to check out two days early but owner said he had to keep my money because he already deposited it. I called about somethings I left but he said his maid never reported finding anything.

    The bathroom was huge. Bed was clean. Price was affordable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a non-smoking room, as I had my daugher with me, but all that was left when we checked in was a smoking room, so that was unfortunate, but bearable.

    The room was clean, check-in was fairly quick and the gentleman who checked us in was very nice. Lots of parking was available when we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was not good. Poor everything and blood stains and not clean.

    Nothing, there was blood stains on the bad and it smelled like smoke and everything was dirty. My car was vandalism there and didn't have late check out or clean things.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood didn't feel comfortable but the motel is on a street with all the other motels so can't be too bad. We had a car, but I wouldn't be waiting for public transport around here

    There was free wifi and lots of on site parking. The bed was large and firm and the room homely furnished. No deposit of $100 required for us as put in other reviews. It was cheap (80us for the night) staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a harsh smell that reminded me of an India based incense. I couldn't sleep and the odor actually caused irritation to my throat and sinuses. I tried to sleep with a cover over my face but would wake up when the cover slipped off, the smell was that strong. If they use that as an air freshener they should stop, its worse than a cigarette odor and I don't even smoke.

    I like the tv channel selection. The front desk guy was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't really think of any negative.

    I liked that everything about the room and the motel were better than expected. I'd stayed at a different motel the night before that was much more expensive and much lower in quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After reserving the room, I showed up to be told there was an unexpected deposit. If they're going to charge a deposit, they should mention it in their ads.

    The place wasn't that bad despite the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin so if your neighbors are loud, you will definitely hear them. I was woken up but a couple fighting in the middle of the night..

    The man who works there was really helpful. On the phone he let me cancel our second night and change the time of arrival. He was smiling and nice. He gave us a list of places where we could go eat. He came to our room to help us the the fire alarm that was beeping for now reason. The shower was nice and hot, the room was clean. It was great to be able to park our rental car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of smoke despite the fact that I booked a non smoking room. The toilet plugged up and my son was handed a plunger and told to deal with it. There is nowhere to eat in the area. If we hadn't needed a place desperately we wouldn't have stayed there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modernise it...or tear it down. Claims otherwise - but it's too far away from San Francisco, especially with traffic. Check-in is via bulletproof(?) plexiglass window with a less than functional communication hole about 4 inches in diameter. Not comfort, or personal safety inspiring.

    Checking out and getting away from there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was straight outta Compton, at one stage during the night the whole building shook from something, we assumed it was an earthquake...

    good clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    they could have better soda and snack machines. could consider having refrigerator and microwave in the rooms

    not a good neighborhood, the manager is nice and fixing up the place and bringing in new furniture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad part of town, bars on all lower windows and office all barred, transacted business through window. Did make friends with painters and they gave good directions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff still cleaned our room even though we asked if they would not. And the area nearby didn't feel safe.

    The price and the cool air conditioning.Friendly service at check-in and check-out. Parking very close to motel. Wifi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no free ice; no breakfast facilities; dirty floor; old towels; terrible bed and pillows; unreliable wifi; rude guests; unfriendly neighborhood; far from downtown and SF; lack of basic maintenance. $80 per night is way too much for what it offers. Booked a King room and was given a queen size bed. After complaining I was told they had none available for that night, only the followjg. It means that Booking.com is unreliable and whatever you book and pay online, you may not get it at the end. I was very disappointed of the bad service received.

    Average size room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy in charge of welcoming guests was not friendly at all; he gave us attitude for not understanding what he said when there was a glass window in between us that definitely hindered us from hearing him clearly. The toilet was not flushing properly and there was no place to hang your towels inside the bathroom. Our room was a non-smoking one but it definitely smelled like cigarette (or even some drugs) and it took the whole night to get rid of the smell, which by the way gave me headache. The wifi was not working well either. Lastly, I would say that the location of this hotel was not the best; there was loud music playing around the neighborhood late at night and there was a big scary dog that lives next to the hotel and it was barking very early in the morning.

    I paid $80 for a room with a king bed...that's cheap!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not state that the room we were getting was smoking or none smoking so I assumed it was none smoking. The room smelled like I was sleeping in an ash tray. I could hardly sleep because of how bad the room smelled of smoke. I had to get up every hour just to go outside and get a breathe of fresh air.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been better

    People around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Nothing! Very dirty, staff is very unprofessional and refuses to speak to you with respect and courtesy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in East Oakland and lived up to the area. Police cars rolling code throughout the night to not sleep. Brick, I mean bed............

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater didn't work so I was freezing

    Very nice clerk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, hotel staff was unpleasant, not a good area

    Convenience from the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much better than staying in very overpriced hotels and hostels in SF.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very weak.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to book

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location bad, foot traffic all night long.

    Friendly owner, clean room and bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al-----

    Only bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...... ......

    ......umm...the fact I was blessed to be able to check in by one ?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dangerouse place. No services around. Loud night.

    wi-fi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough towels.

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price to high I save 15dollars by booking thru here and it still was 70something.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a family Resturant near by

    I had an amazing stay at this property, staff is very friendly, and my room was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food place to walk 2 in less u have a 🚗

    It had its own bathroom and big bed big tv

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs

    NA

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not free

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Man at the front window was very nice to me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    fightinh the smell the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    There 100 deposit

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    I like this facility is very close to the freeway entrance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they charged me a 100$ deposit when there was no mention of it when I booked.

    Space in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location seemed a bit sketching

    Reception attendant was courteous. The room was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great and made us feel at home

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get noisy before 11pm

    Awesome value

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You really don't want to stay in this area.

    The guy who gave us the room was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud ghetto area and small ugly rooms without closets to add to the unfriendly front desk experience. Never again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and staff were so nice...what I really liked was how the manager was right there when I needed him.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood

    Quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the front is kind of nasty

    The place was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location room was smelly dirty under garments were left in the bathroom and the tv didn't work

    The bed was big and comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very bad location and not safe for family

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the area not to good

    convenient close to our destination

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Help was available anytime, room was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a good area and wifi didn't work

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just terrible. Bad neighborhood , and just awful all around.

    To be honest , it was a really bad experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells like BO!!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my computer changer when I left

    Very clean and close to hospital

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom smelled like urine. half empty soda bottle left in fridge. feces on underside of bedspread.

    price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: