Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crystal Lodge Motel 2 stars

1787 East Thompson Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001, USA

#1 of 23 hotels in Ventura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 743 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is beautiful. Beds were comfortable. I had a whole kitchen! Walk to beach was easy. Walking to downtown was a nice longer stroll. The outside is not bad at all. Great building with character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change of sheets & cleaning of the bathroom could have been better

    The room was great & very comfortable beds & nice coffee if the office was open

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We just stayed one night on our way down the west coast . The motel doesn’t look great from the outside but the room is superb . Very clean and modern facilities. It had a kitchenette with fridge and microwave. The owner was very friendly . We would recommend the motel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did have to clean the microwave and refrigerator because they were dirty. The manager needs to remodel the exterior because it is shabby.

    The rooms were recently remodeled, the beds comfortable, and the shower was nice. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative comment I can make is the price we paid. There were too many fluctiations in the rental price....depending on time and day. Some sites quoted high 50-60's and we paid 88. I believe. Also wanted to add that the handicapped parking which would have been directly in front of our room was partially blocked by a refrigerator and a full trash bin. In spite of this, parking was more than ample.

    Room had recently been renovated and was like new. Beds were the best. I do have to mention the young gentleman at the office who checked us in. I believe his name was Patrick. He was wonderful to us. We are two older women in 70's and had some questions and he was more than helpful to us. Helped us to order out for dinner, answered all our questions and we felt very secure knowing he was there. He greeted us with a bottle of iced water and handled the check in perfectly. We plan to return to that area again several times this summer and will definitely be sure to stay at this motel each time. I had phoned your office prior to our trip and the woman who spoke with me was able to advise me about the motel and was also kind enough to assure me of a first floor room as I am handicapped. We were in the back section in 106. Please thank Patrick for us. Thank you!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel! Nice friendly staff which is ready to help you with everything you need. The building doesn’t look as good outside but rooms are in a great condition. Definitely would stay here again. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Soiled, unchanged bedsheet, dilapidated chairs, overpriced, front desk calling us in the middle of the night to move one of our cars,were informed we can ok nly park 1 car in the property... manager's car parked in the HANDICAP with NO HANDICAP CARD, my boyfriend is a handicap. Filed a formal complaint with Booking.com...

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior needs to be remodeled. Good location near everything. A little traffic noise.

    Room was very clean. Comfortable bed. Looks like rooms were remodeled recently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need ice machine. One room wasn't ready when we arrived at about 4:00 pm.

    Rooms were excellent. Exterior could use some sprucing up, but the owners have put their money where it counts, inside. Well decorated and comfortable. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just remodeled the motel everything is brand new. Super comfortable bed and kitchen in the room great asset very short drive - like 3 minutes to Main Street. Some great restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, along with when I got to the property my door was already opened and she didn't explain there was a certain way to lock the door and I was creeped out. But overall nice hotel room, location is just a bit sketchy.

    Clean, good tv, comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hairball in de shower, a piece of broken glas on the carpet and some other staff... The lock didn't work well so we spent long time trying to open the door. The refrigerator made a lot of noise.

    The man at the reception was very nice and gave us nice tips to go to downtown and beach. Comfortable big bed. Nice huge tv. And nice modern bathroom if it wasn't for that hairball we found...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park on the street, but someone left shortly after we arrived so we could have moved the car - decided not to bother.

    Bed was so comfortable, the room was sparkly clean and newly remodeled. Great night's sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent bed. Looks like a lesser hotel from the outside. Recently renovated by an Indian family, with a little of their cultural influence but quality materials and very well thought out interior. 5minutes to downtown for restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was tight all you needed was someone to park out of alignment and it made it very hard to open your doors to get out of your vehicle

    The beds so comfy slept like a baby. Shower excellent water pressure. Large TV, DVD player, good location, staff very friendly and helpful, they give you a map to places of interest and restaurants. Rooms very clean and nicely remodeled. We will stay here everytime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Place. No complaints.

    Best retro cool hotel we've stayed in. Great neighborhood lots of food and things nearby. The owners were great and have put a lot of thought into their remodel. Our room was the best room we've ever stayed in in our travels in America for this price. Great attention to detail. Beds great, bathroom just fabulous, TV big and clear. Thank You very much to Jack, the owner with his wife, and his family for a great visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would complain about are the towels.....upgrade those towels to match the nice bed and quality sheets!

    The outside is a little sketch...in fact, you will think you made a HUGE mistake when you drive up....but rest assured, you didn't. The inside of the room is delightful!! Well appointed, regular size fridge, nice stove and kitchen area. Crown moldings and a beautiful comfy bed that makes you think you are in a high quality hotel. The room was also blissfully quiet. I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again. Great value for the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only coffee in the morning. A little far from downtown.

    Our room had a full kitchen, was very large, nicely refurbished and decorated. Only downside was that the kitchen was lacking on some supplies for those who really wanted to cook. Much nicer than I expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on a busy street made for bit of noice, but it quieted down later in evening.

    This is a 2 star hotel that has done well maintaining rooms. The room we stayed in was recently refurbished, which was quite nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For having a full kitchen, there could have been a better selection of cooking utensils and more dishes. Wine glasses would also be nice :).

    The suite had a full kitchen with beautiful appliances. It also had a 60” TV and a WiFi router in the room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find a ice machine, but that's ok.

    Really enjoyed the full kitchen and remodeled bathroom. Beds were super comfortable and had a big screen television.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal toiletries and kitchenware (no spoons and only one bowl).

    Very friendly staff. Got upgraded to a spacious room with kitchenette. Comfy beds and quiet at night. Good location for exploring the Channel Islands and Ojai area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and saggy on one side There were no chairs to sit on Only basic toiletries supplied- no tissues

    Relatively quiet in rooms at back of motel Off street parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little tricky to find parking.

    The room was very spacious. It came with a kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable. We had a very nice stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The outside of this motel does not prepare you for the beautifully appointed kitchenette room we rented. Very clear with lovely tile and excellent appliances.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of the motel needs an update but the inside was beautifully remodeled.

    Virtually across the street from the Discovery-an entertainment venue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit cramped but that was the only problem I had.

    From the outside it dies not look the best but once I entered the room It was nicer than most hotels I've been to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for extra towels because the bath towels were small. I got them only twice and when I specifically asked at the front desk.

    Our room was clean, comfortable and had recently been remodelled and updated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are newly renovated, beautiful new stove, microwave and fridge, lovely new bedding, rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. Big new tv! Loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing was that the microwave wasn't working!

    Everything was awesome! Really recommend the place. Comfortable beds, big TV, very clean. My partner and I loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the major street so it was a bit noisy.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The location allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside is a little shabby but property is appropriately value priced.

    Location near the 101. Friendly and helpful staff. Detailed map of area. Nicely remodeled inside with extra touches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space is limited. About 8 spaces in rear and only 7 spaces in front.

    Second floor kitchenette double bed very quiet. Bathroom and kitchen modernized with new remodel. Room very large and spacious with large 50" flat screen TV and over 100 channels. Internet SpeedTest over 50Mbps (download)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot not suitable for large vehicles, but lots of spaces!

    Loved this place. We must’ve stayed in 8 different places around California and this was the favourite. We booked it on a Sunday night and on the booking.com website it was -47% the cost and it was SO worth it. Not sure I would’ve paid full price...but so legit for a Sunday night. Laundromat across the street! Food and coffee shops around too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although service was great, it was an older motel.

    Although it was an older small motel. the room had been renovated up to modern standards with nice creativity. It also included full kitchen facilities. There was an excellent place for breakfast nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been better with two double beds instead of two queens

    The location was great... the room was wonderful... the staff was exceptional Over all we were very pleased ... only thing we saw that we would have made different was a little more room between the 2nd bed and the door to the bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a bigger room with kitchen and 70'' TV for only 10$ extra. Everything was very clean and well arranged. We didn't expect that when we saw the motel from outside. We would come back anytime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking & the exterior of the building was old and could you updating.

    The desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Parking was an issue so he was willing to move his vehicle right away so we could take his spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble with setting up the oven temperature and timer. Each time we tried to set up the timer the temperature changed. We ended up setting the right temperature and just timing it ourselves.

    the staff was great!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking so we had to park on side street in questionable neighborhood. Not shown in pictures was the security bars on entrance and rust on white wrotiron/building.

    Room was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room but available in reception, and coffee pot not washed after previous guests

    Nice refurbished bathroom and friendly welcome from the lady at check in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO COFFEE MACHINE in room. Microwave would have sufficed for my tea, but no safe cup either. TV / HBO remote needed new batteries.

    Very clean and functional bathroom -- I dislike "low-flow" showers which are usually "beat-showerhead-for-any-water-at-all" showers. Good size room refrigerator and on the second story a really good ceiling fan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely NO coffee, office or room. Had to go to a donut shop across the street at 6 a.m. No other extras. Could have used a hair dryer.

    large room, with a full size fridge and gas stove. More for an extended stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenettes with full-sized appliances. Rooms in the back of the property are very quiet. Gordon was very accommodating. Air conditioning was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cable didn't work but was most likely the cable company's fault. Parking was a little difficult in the back but it was okay.

    The inside is very clean and remodeled. Don't let the outside fool you. Staff was very friendly and helpful. He had a list of things to do, places to see, and good restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and everyone was great

    This place is a gem,so clean and modern. So friendly and helpful. The beds were fantastic,good water pressure in shower . I can not say enough about this place. Outside looks drab don't let it fool you ,the rooms are large. Really great place one of the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme road noice might as well of been sleeping in the central reservation of a motorway. Noisy fridge as well didn't help and entrance door poorly fitted let in noise also . Room 202. A drunk man knocked the neighboring door in the early hours and police were called. My worst stay of the entire trip

    Clean room great bed on site car park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Easy to find in Ventura. Very friendly staff. The rooms had been remodeled. Roomy, quiet and comfortable. There are stores and restaurants close by and one almost literally across the street. We plan to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks very basic when you see it from the outside. You can hear people walking about upstairs due to the laminate flooring.

    Great shower. Renovated tastefully inside with everything you will possibly require.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I assume that once they finish renovating all of the rooms, they'll start working on the outside. It really does look a bit uninviting and not entirely safe. One expects threadbare sheets and overall dinginess, not the clean modern room we had.

    We'd booked so many places on our road trip that when we pulled up to this one, I didn't remember it was the one that had the comments about the difference between the outside and inside appearances. The outside definitely looked shady and I was having mixed feelings about staying with my infant daughter. When we opened up the door, however, we were surprised to see a clean and spacious room with a kitchenette that made dinner with the baby not as much of an ordeal as with the previous hotels. The water pressure in the shower was amazing and the woman at reception was very friendly and helpful. There was no on-site breakfast, but because of the kitchenette we were able to make ourselves something before we headed out. All in all it was a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Room was spacious ,comfortable with fridge / microwave Recently renovated room Very helpful staff / owners Highly recommend External appearance of the motel does not do it justice!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the building left much to be desired. The paint was cracking and the building looked old and in need of renovation and repair. We were disappointed to see this driving up to the building, and were pleasantly surprised (and relieved) when we entered our newly renovated room. The parking in the rear was ok, but there was a tree that left a large amount of dust and pollen on our car that stuck to it a bit.

    The room was clean and looked like it was recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable! The staff were great and very helpful and gave great tips on where to dine and recommended local activities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager bent over backwards to please and be accommodating during our visit. It is definitely a no-frills hotel: no coffee maker (but there is a microwave), no tissues, no luggage rack (but he did finally hunt one down for us from another hotel, which is service!), but it was reasonably clean (except for the shower faucet which needed a good scrub), and somewhat quiet. Reasonable value for the money given the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Silly problem but the water pressure for the shower was so high that it actually hurt on the skin

    Amazingly friendly lady at the reception, offer a lot of advice on what to do and where to go and genuinely interested in our holiday. Doesn't look like much on the outside but very nice on the inside and the best sleep in the most comfy bed I had all holiday. Can highly recommend this motel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess it doesn't look like much from the outside, but that really didn't matter. The room was amazing.

    We didn't get to spend much time here, just one night, but it was really perfect for us. Close to everything because we had to run to shops at night. It's close to the beach too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building exterior needs work and is not indicative of the room itself. The neighborhood directly adjacent is also not ideal, but it is a relatively short drive to the beach or to Main Street bars/restaurants or the Mission.

    The room had been recently remodeled and was very clean. During my stay, it was pretty quiet, as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't judge the the place by exterior. Outside looks like a 1960's motel but the interior would rival any modern 5 star motel. Owners took great pride in creating a very comfortable room. Don't judge this book by its cover .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel is a bit worn out outside but rooms look better.

    A standard US motel with above standard quality of room and cleanliness. Good value for money. Easy location next to highway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance to downtown, but it's not much of a problem given how easy it is to park in downtown Ventura.

    From the outside it looks like a standard motel, but the rooms are not motel-like. They're very nice and fully renovated. Very nice place to stay. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They recommended a great place to have breakfast two blocks away, Cafe Nouveau.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We knew going in that the exterior of the property is not impressive. The rooms themselves were very very nice.

    Nice to have bottled water provided, and bananas too. If you need a shower cap, body lotion, coffee maker you will not find it here. Good recommendations from desk, especially the park. Updated interior of the room, I was impressed. Nicely maintained. Liked that there was not a minimum 2 night stay which is common along the Calif. coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The suite with a kitchenette was very clean and had a large flat screen TV. Beds were very comfortable, refrigerator was quiet and the air conditioner worked well without a lot of noise. We're budget conscious travelers who are very discerning about odors, noise and cleanliness in our accommodations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a big concern. Not enough spaces for all guests to park in motel lot. No ice machine. No coffee maker in room. Didn't have any towels in room and I had to call front desk to get them. No breakfast. Water in shower is affected by other people using it throughout motel.

    Very nice room with a ceiling fan.Large bathroom but small shower. Very comfortable bed. Very quiet hotel. Furniture in room was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sink area was a bit small. The TV was not hooked up correctly.

    Front office gentleman could not have been nicer. Gave great suggestions for where to eat in the area. Very cordial. Room was recently redone and was immaculate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is remodeled beautiful on the inside very comfortable clean spacious. Outside of Hotel looks older but all the remodeling is where it needs to be new comfortable beds hot showers! Owners were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor caveat, we didn't had enough towels for our family of 4.

    I got a newly renovated room, it was clean and much better than what I expected. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't have ice trays in freezer and the soap crumbled to pieces when we tried to use. Luckily we had our on soap with us.

    The room was just renovated and everything was new and clean. They even supplied Breath-rite strips. Full kitchen with full size appliances. Near excellent restaurants that had great food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the property was not too appealing. A coat of paint on walls & railings would enhance the first impression, the edge of the walkway to the parking area needs highlighting.

    The staff were most obliging & helpful & freely offered directions & recommendations for GOOD places to eat! Offered help with luggage, declined.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the building especially the back needs a new paint job. It was a bit drab and uninviting once you pulled into the back of the hotel.

    The rooms were very large. Also the bed was very comfortable. I was in an updated room that had been recently painted and re-done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer wasn't the best. The throw pillows were a but tacky.

    I liked that the room was newly renovated. The shower was clean. The amount of space (very spacious. The full refrigerator was a nice touch since we stopped by a farmers market and was able to store fruit over night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels could have been bigger and there was no bath mat but that is the only thing I can fault.

    The room was very clean and tidy. Although the outside of the property needs updating, the rooms were recently renovated. Owner operator is a nice guy and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventura isn't exactly raging but this area of town is a bit older than the main downtown area a few miles north. Liquor stores across the street and what appears to be a nightclub or sports bar a block away didn't seem to lure trouble but I was there mid-week so on weekends, I suspect it's a little more lively.

    Onsite parking is limited but plenty of room on side street. Outside appearance is the place is a bit rundown (rusty guardrails on the stairs and walkway, but the rooms appear to have been renovated recently. The bed was perfect for me. Firm but with a 1/2" soft layer on top. I wish my bed at home was this comfortable. The rooms are small with not very much floor space. Bathroom was probably updated in 2015 or more recently and was modern. The walk-in shower was nice and large, water pressure was off the charts (I felt guilty leaving the water on while I lathered). There was a little mildew in the corners but nothing a little scrubbing bubbles wouldn't remove. WIFI was better than most of the hotels I've stayed at. I didn't have issues with speed or getting disconnected although I didn't try to stream any videos.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The external appearance and no breakfast

    Don't be put off by the "Bates Motel" look of this property, the room that we were given was newly refurbish and excellent, large with great kitchen, huge TV and comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was the main drawback, there just wasn't enough room and since we had two cars one of us had to park on the street. The only other thing was that there wasn't coffee in the room, and we didn't see they had it in the office until too late, but that was mostly my own fault for not checking!

    This place definitely has the diamond in the rough vibe, on the out side it looks like any cheap motel but the inside has been completely remodeled with modern amenities like a giant flat screen tv, super soft mattresses, and really nice decor. Our room was one of the suites that had a kitchen and a couch. We were only there for the one night but it was really nice and safe for two young women alone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer

    Room 212 had a 4 or even 5 star remodel at 2 star price. You would never guess looking at the outside! Not sure if all rooms to that level or not.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recently renovated room,comfy bed, helpful staff, wifi, fridge, hd, great price and great location: I would not hesitate to stay here again the next time I roll through town.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crystal Lodge Motel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: