Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Suites Newark 3 stars

1348 McCarter Highway, Newark, NJ 07104, USA

#3 of 18 hotels in Newark

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Location as to where I would be visiting
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door did not lock and the gentleman /front person didn't feel like that was a problem and since they didn't have a locksmith on hand he felt there was no need to be concern just use the little latch. I believe if he had shown a little better customer service about our concern I would not be writing this. While we did leave we will not be staying there again. We often make this trip to New York and New Jersey. This would have been our second visit. The first visit was great that's why we returned.

    Location as to where I would be visiting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Affordable price, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast on the first morning was cold. They had no variety. It was the same breakfast every morning. Coffee is not available throughout the night. So, if you want coffee before 6am, you have to make it in your room. A couple of the staff were friendly, but the rest-not so much.

    Very affordable prices. The room, bed, and pillows were extremely comfortable. The room was large with an extra area that had a couch, floor lamp, and foot stools. The parking is excellent. The room and everywhere was very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ran out by 9:30. I wish they had an outdoor space to sit at.

    The beds were really comfortable I love having a microwave and fridge in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable property, but not a great location as no restaurants nearby within walking distance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Should have the pickup from airport as the hotel is just 15 minutes from Newark Liberty International airport. Registration process - they are fine. Any additional query about early checkout - they are not that friendly.

    It is Comfort Suites, same standards maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Great sleep, Great price, Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent hotel for the price, loved the location and easy access to highway. Staff was extremely helpful and always positive. Free wifi, free parking and free hot breakfast was a cherry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.0
    Listen to your customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a blanket and was told first I could not have it. Then later was told i had to come get it if i want it after my room had not been served that day. Had to call that night for towels, rags and face towels and for the trash to be emptied. Front desk needs to be nicier.

    That property was clean. The breakfast was delicious. It was quiet. Really enjoyed myself after that first day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The two ppl at the front desk Nelly and another gentleman ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two ppl at the front desk Nelly and another gentleman (whose name escapes me) treated me like family. The two of them were so warm and welcoming beyond the call of duty. They listed several restaurants in the area for me and my friend to eat at as well as the best entertainment in the area. They made me feel at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice. But unfriendly no-show policy when arriving after 4 am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at 5am (due to delayed flight) we were told we were a no-show and had to pay again for a room. After contacting booking.com we received a refund, which is great of course, but why put us through this in the first place? It's unfriendly, upsetting, and I had to contact booking.

    Based on a 1 night stay: Comfortable bed. Quiet. Large room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay and will definite try again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just wish there is towel rack near the tub. They are far apart since the bathroom is large.

    The breakfast eggs are very fluffy and yummy. The bed is super comfortable. The room is much bigger than expected with nice decorations. All staffs are very nice and always smiling when talking to us. Will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process is debatable and maybe unlawful. After paying online in advance I was requested to give driver license and credit card which was copied. Upon my checking out i asked for my information back in which the clerk reached into an unsecured and exposed open binder and withdrew a copy of my credit card and license. This is an unethical practice which has lead to universal IDENTITY THEFT 101.Management needs to look into another method to protect the consumer best interest

    Bed was comfortable and room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Not a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a little sketchy but the hotel was fine.

    Everything was clean and the people were friendly. We went to a soccer game at the Red Bull Arena and this place is really close to it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.9
    Will not stay at a Comfort suites inn again.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location it is in a ghetto, lack of maid services our first four days we had no maid service “due to an unexpected staffing problem”. Breakfast was abysmal, if you aren’t there at the start there was nothing left and several times it was the staff eating the food guests paid for in their hotel fees.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    The stay was comfortably and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area a bit small,and when we went for breakfast no eggs,or sasauge or bacon was there.They did bring stuff out after.

    The stay was comfortably and staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    We booked a room for four people and then when we showed up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for four people and then when we showed up we were in a room with one king bed. It took an hour to correct the error. It was late and we were tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.9
    Not the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were cops in our hotel every 4hours people was smoking weed right outside the main door. We did not feel safe at all. We had neighbors knock on our door asking for change or if we had cigarettes. Loud noises in the lobby til 11pm. We can hear the loud music from the other room.We had 3 kids and a baby definitely not the place to stay when travelling with young children. Food was horrible. Missing sirop had to wait 10mins for them to bring out the sausage and eggs.

    Near New York City.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    We will not recommend this location, and will not be returning to this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safety was a big concern. There were people constantly yelling, arguing, knocking on our door at 2:00 am. The breakfast area was not organized, tables not cleared.

    Close to Penn Station to catch PATH to NYC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only item I would have liked to have was a room safe as I didn't want to carry all credit cards & cash with me.

    Location was good. Staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Would love to come back when it is warmer.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air vent in the bathroom was very loud like something was loose. I like eggs but would have like mine with out the filling. I also can not eat low fat items (yogurt) so given a choice would be nice.

    The room excellent, The bed was very comfortable, the refrigerator was large and keep my ice packs frozen, the shower was nice and hot and even had a hand rail, and the sink counter was large to hold a lot of personal items. The air vent in the bathroom was very loud like something was loose.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.3
    This hotel houses homeless people. Which is fine, except the hotel looses it's level of excellence.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, guest were loud after midnight running in the halls. Saw a cockroach in the bathroom.

    Staff was pleasent. Even though they had to switch our rooms due to a heavy smoke smell in the first room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Comforted in a new city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smaller parking lot

    Customer service was phenomenal! I had to check in super late (1am) because of mix ups with my flights and transportation. They had my room ready and I checked in with ease (after calling to confirm). I was able to park in a non-parking area because it was so late and they assured me my car would be okay (which it was). Bed was very comfortable and the room was huge! Nice variety for breakfast too :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Happy!!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Yes the bed was like a cloud!! The Front Office is Simple Awesome. Angie, Zumarie, Melissa, Brittany,Hajar, Sheila, Eric and Adrian were just a total delight. They made you feel so welcome and went above and beyond to help. Thank you for letting me and my Princess feel so at home. You Guys Rock!!!!! HouseKeeping was so Awesome too. These lady did they job so so well....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    2.5
    the staff are unprofessional.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff are unprofessional. they will tell you that when you book , you will pay at arrival but once they get hold of your card info, they will be collecting money from your account without any service rendered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    It was a satisfactory experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smelly towels. It would be nice if they label the breakfast when they serve (especially the sausages).The taxi fare from hotel to the nearest Penn station will be 10 dollars (approx.).

    Helpful staff and food. Spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for the weekend from Friday to check out Monday . Due to circumstantial reasons , I couldn’t show up on Friday but arrived at 10am on Saturday Morning an hour before check out time . I try to check in and I’m told I was marked as a no show . I had just driven three hours to New Jersey and on top of that I was told I cannot check in until 3 and would have to make another reservation , not the best way to be welcomed when I drove from out of town . On top of this they charged me for the no show

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was a nightmare. They had my reservation wrong. Had me there for one night not two. I arrived just before 5pm and I had to wait for a room to be cleaned on top of my reservation being messed up. The check in girls were rude about it like it was my fault the reservation was incorrect. No apology was made regarding the mix up or having to wait for a room to be cleaned. Nothing was offered to off set it. Then the morning of my check out I was awakened with a startling scratchy noise as someone was trying to stuff my receipt OVER my door at 5am. It sounded like someone was trying to get into my room.

    free wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Good hotel to stay at very friendly,clean and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service walked in my room while my family and i was getting dressed

    I would have pefer to be asked if i needed room service at the front desk,instead of them walking in on my family and i without permission

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was near perfect, only complain is the squeaky floor, at night we can here the people upstairs walking, all night.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was huge and we had a sink, coffee maker and microwave in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A Comfortable and rewarding stay .
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suggest replacing hall carpet on 2nd floor. The carpet had old stains on it.

    We arrived a little before 3 am on 10/22/2017. The young lady at the desk greeted us , and us checked in a few moments. She was very prompt and courteous. The outside of the Hotel was well lit, and monitored with security cameras. Our room was very clean, and our beds were nice and comfortable..We really love the Hotels no smoking policy.The breakfast was great and had an ample assortment of fresh food. The Dining room was well maintained by friendly staff. The Hotel was very easy to find and was located within 10 mins from our Family and friends. We had a very rewarding stay and will be returning to this hotel on our next to this area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean room and bathroom. Comfy bed and pillows. Modern desk. Close to New York City and on site parking. Tops diner nearby. A clean, decent and affordable place near everything and safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was modern and clean, but the location was difficult--it is not downtown Newark.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was far from downtown and nothing was within walking distance. There was noise all night long, inside and outside the hotel, making it difficult to sleep. The traffic noise I can understand, but the inside noise was from people in the hallways, all night long. There did not appear to be any security, which is problematic in a city like Newark.

    It was clean and had a good parking lot. The location was far from downtown and nothing was within walking distance. There was noise all night long, inside and outside the hotel, making it difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect short stay location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There appeared to be a musty odor in the room

    All was perfect for a good nights rest and start to the following day. Super breakfast for the traveler Wonderful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    An awesome experience I wil definitely return for the next 4 years, while my son attends Columbia
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    THe hostess who Checked us in Kiara was awesome, pleasant and caring. She assisted with coordinating a trip to New York to drop off my son at Columbia, and made sure my car was also checked in and logged for safety. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too firm. I had trouble sleeping. The hotel isn't located in a nice area. It is surrounded by rundown factories.

    The room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Overall, we were quite satisfied with the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You didn't feel comfortable walking too far beyond the parking lot. It didn't feel safe. Also smokers are allowed to smoke too close to the entrance to the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good and there was a great variety of items to choose from. The staff were always friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was always clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    We were 100% satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can you fix the weather. It was too humid. Continue a staff that smiles and cares. You are serving your clients well. Thank you!

    The waffles were easy to make and easy to enjoy. One choice flavored( blueberry) Crisp and fresh. Fresh fruit appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    The stay was satisfactory considering tbe price and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little scary.

    The hotel was clean and housekeeping came by every day. The breakfast was served at expected time with a variety of food, and at appropriate temperature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Wouldn't recommend it. Most of the staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They received full payment and still kept a hold on the credit card because they " didn't know how to release it". The second room had a broken latch on the door that would be obvious to anyone that came in the room. The elevator was out of service when we first arrived but was finally fixed at some point the next day. But it's great carrying your luggage to one end of the hotel, up the stairs, and then to the other end of the hotel.

    Well our first room stunk horribly so they let us switch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower knob needs cleaning. It had mildew on it. Otherwise the room was clean.

    Love the bed. I also like the breakfast, not too heavy, just enough, good choices, to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable Stay
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly. The room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Location was great for us. Easy access to Seton Hall where we were takibg our son.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Convenuent base to get into New York - nice hotel but didnt like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not very nice - wanted to walk back from station but didn't want to at night. Just further along the road the area improved.

    Lovely well kept and decorated rooms. Nice bathroom all spotlessly clean. Breakfast okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    I'd recommend this hotel for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't feel the location was safe enough.

    The hotel interior is great with new renovation. We liked the room and bed size. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good with varieties.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Just upset booking com lost my reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lost my reservation through booking.com wasnt to happy about that. So i had to make my own reservation once i arrived at the location.

    The bed was amazing. The room was super clean. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frige was broken I reported noone fixed. Houskeping clened halfway Floors wasn't vacuum

    Reception personal was friendly and ok just need more time on breakfast some people like a tourist Sleeps longer and come to the hotel late in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay. Would recommend for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant, only one washer and dryer, loud at night

    Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, microwave, hairdryer and coffe machine in room and the free breakfast offered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Brief stay Ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no adjustment , in the bathroom , to turn the fan off when not needed. For this day and age, why were the tv stations so limited to Disney and game shows from 1960? No current sports available, no Fox News, ever hear of Satellite Dish?

    The sofa and table. Bed nice and liked the welcome bag when we arrived. Frig and microwave handy although we didn't use it. Best restaurant ever - Tops- not too far away if you aren't afraid of going out at night behind the motel. Breakfast handy and good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Top value, convenient location motel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of fresh fruit variety for breakfast

    Convenient location for my trip, close to beautiful park for excellent morning runs. Newark downtown is walkable!!! For us limeys anyway ;-p

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was in a terrible area. Not what I expected. There was a homeless person just outside the gate so I didn't feel comfortable walking to the market.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Very Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cant think of anything.

    Breakfeats was good.. beds were so comfy, fell asleep so fast, showers was awesome, shampoo and conditioner smell amazing and room is super clean and organized and room is easy to breath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every thing was good

    The comfort of the room. The bed, the free internet, it was very quiet. And we just enjoyed ourselves. Also the refrigerator was nice very cold. We

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Everything *inside* the building was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geographically the property was fine. It was in a pretty bad looking neighborhood...I wouldn't recommend going for a walk outside the property.

    Everything *inside* the building was great; great value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level. We were on 2nd floor people over top us were extremely loud their child ran all night and early morning.

    Breakfast was great and clean hotel, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    OK place to stay, but don't walk outside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. Unhealthy. No vegetables (no tomato, cucumber etc.). Plus for the eggs, but still. Offer something different than ketchup and unhealthy bread. The neighborhood is scary. I didn't know. People from NY said that I'm lucky to be alive...

    Room was large. Bed was large, but the mattress should be harder. Soft is unhealthy to your spine. Cleaning lady was very nice. Thanks for the extra water. Closeness to the train station. Well-equipped room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Great night sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but the breakfast was awful. I have stayed at Comfort Inn plenty of times and always enjoyed their breakfast.

    Love the front staff. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Needs improvement
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an overwhelming chemical smell in the hotel. The hotel was way overpriced for the accommodations and the surrounding location did not feel safe.

    The staff was very friendly and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as we expected. Limited choice for a buffet style meal.

    Room was prestine clean. Loved the pillows and beds were extra comfy. Snoozed like a baby!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel. Bus+Train to Manhattan (hotel to city ~1hr, <$10). Safe but rough neighborhood.
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed (in our room) had little support (might just be a soft bed by design) and didn't help much with my back problems. I was still able to find a position to sleep but a firmer bed would be much appreciated. The area at the vicinity of the hotel is a little rough. Sidewalks are not maintained and there's a mix of sand, gravel, and broken glass. There are razor wires hanging from properties adjacent to the sidewalks at face-height (beware!) and cars permanently parked on the sidewalk. Walking to train station was a little... difficult, but possible. I recommend taking the bus when you can ($2.60 exact fare).

    Staff were helpful and kind. The hotel is clean, tidy, and nice. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast (was included to room) was much much better than other "affordable" hotels I've been to (a very good continental breakfast). The hotel was silent enough for a night's rest despite being in a relatively loud area. NJ train system (which can be used to get to Manhattan) is at walking distance (~10 minutes). Newark Pennsylvania Station is about 25 min away by foot (but there are buses that get you there if you don't wanna walk)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast had a nice selection of eggs, ham or sausage, bagels, waffles, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, danishes, juices and coffee. The attendant was great at keeping the items full or being fast with the refills if asked. The front desk staff was very helpful with all of our out-of-town questions. Rooms were immaculate and comfy, and with the location only a couple of miles from the Prudential Center, it's a great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like and something that can't really be helped is the location of this hotel. Newark probably isn't the safest place so it's not safe to walk around from the hotel to any other locations.

    It was clean, the rooms were spacious, and the staff were so nice and helpful! The beds were comfortable and I didn't have any issues at all. It wasn't that far from prudential center either which was a HUGE plus. I'm really glad I stayed here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    3.8
    It was 15 degrees F in Newark and our room didn't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was 15 degrees F in Newark and our room didn't have heat, we complained to the front desk and got the reply, "oh, I guess I am sorry"

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND I LOVE THE SMALL KITCHEN AREA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    FOR THE FRONT DESK TO INFORMED THE STAFF WHAT ROOM HAVE LATE CHECK OUT. EVERY 30 MIN AFTER 1200. THE CLEANING CREW WAS KNOCKING ON OUR DOOR. I WAS NOT HAPPY ABOUT THAT.

    THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND I LOVE THE SMALL KITCHEN AREA.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    5.8
    Clean but scary!!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling with a teenager and did not feel safe there. People, not employees, hanging around desk when I checked in. I was not comfortable. Fri. nite must be party nite. Lots of unsavory characters inside and out. Lots of noise in the hall during the nite. The front door was open on Fri. nite and Sat. nite, anyone could walk in. Only saw a security vehicle there on my last nite. I had been told there was a guard there at nite. I was glad I had someone who dropped me off each nite and stayed until they knew we were in the room.

    The room was a good size and clean. I slept good. Clean towels everyday. Breakfast was 4 hours so easy to get food to start day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    5.0
    Comfort Suites Newark smells FUNKY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It smelled FUNKY. It was a cross between kind bud, body odor, and cheap cleaning spray to cover it up... FUNKY. The ice machine was broke. There are no closets to hang your clothes. And don't expect a TV guide to tell you what the channels are because they are too busy to print it off. You may also get mugged in this part of town.

    It was close to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.3
    Not sure if i would stay again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is beginning to get tired and run down, no sense of urgency to maintain it. Cleanliness was spotty at best. Not sure if i would stay again. No airport limosine????

    Front desk person was amazing. Breakfast was adequate. Cleanliness was in the middle. Hotel starting to get run down and doesnt seem like there is any desire to maintain it...stuff right out in the open that needs to be fixed or updated, in guest view, but broken down. Not sure if i would stay again, but staff was the good takeaway.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.8
    Good value, friendly staff, aggravating guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first checked in and talked to the staff and got into my room I thought to myself "I would not mind at all staying here the next time I come. I really like it." But my first night apparently I got a noise complaint at 11 at night from the room next to me. When all I was doing was watching a movie. The security came and told me the first time to keep it down. I told her I'm just watching a movie so I don't know what this noise is you're talking about. 5 minutes later I get a call from the front desk telling me to keep the noise down again. And at this point it's really aggravating because I don't know what noise they're talking about. Then 5 minutes after the phone call the security and some other person comes back to my room threatening to call the police on me and kick me out if I don't keep it down. I did not like that at all. I wasn't making any loud noise to disrupt anybody around me. And the fact that it went to that level of them threatening to kick me out after I payed money to stay there was completely uncalled for. If it weren't for this incident I would have definitely stayed there again but if I'm going to be subjected that again, I'll pass.

    The free breakfast was nice and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    The facility was good but the front desk staff lady was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk lady was not nice on the phone and was nasty whenAigot there but the manag t came to my rescue and the restaurant staff were great

    The facility was good but the front desk staff lady was nasty but the manager was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.8
    The beds, room, linens were very nice and comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The physical plant not in a nice condition (doors frayed, hallway dingy, dark). Also the noise level is really high!! and everyone has to slam door to shut it!!

    The beds, room, linens were very nice and comfortable. The room was clean and had small amenities (refrigerator, coffee/tea pot).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Newark Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue was being given a room that was already occupied, but that was quickly remedied and worked out nicely since we went from a 3rd floor room to 1st floor room.

    Hotel, staff and amenities were excellent. Close to the Train station for travel to the city. Would definitely come back to CS whenever we're back in the Newark area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    The room was lovely and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor. Juices didn't taste like juice. The smell off smoke in my bathroom as if it was coming through the vent when my room was non-smoking.

    The room was lovely and clean . Bed was so comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel on a highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Hotel does not offer airport shuttle from nearest airport, Newark. Wish they could also offer shuttle service to Broad Street Station even at a fee. Need to ask the front desk for directions to get to nearest bus stop (Broad Street and Gouverneur Street) and train station. On our first day, ended up at Newark Penn Station which is far. Not many restaurants nearby.

    When making the booking, I erroneously booked a day earlier and when I called the hotel, the front office changed the dates without problems. We liked the comfy bed and pillows, big bedroom, clean towels and bed sheets. The hotel offers a paying self operated laundry, good for long stays! Continental breakfast and fast speed WiFi. Free coffee at the lobby and chilled lemon drinking water. Would stay again at this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Service was very adequate, rooms were cleaned on a regular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Elevator out 4 out of the 6 days at the hotel. Stairwell door was located next to our room, and every few minutes the slamming of the exit door became extremely hard to get sleep.Breakfast was overly crowded and some hot food items were warm, but not hot. Coffee could have been better.Parking entry location had only one opening for entering and exiting.

    Service was very adequate, rooms were cleaned on a regular basis. Facility was clean throughout. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.7
    Clean
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand thing break but when I call down from the third floor to see if the elevator was working no help . When I get down to the front desk & mention to him he said I should have ask for help after I already had call him very dissatisfied with his answers. Being around 60 years old carrying coolers and luggages

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really care for the busy traffic in the area but what else is to be expected downtown Newark.

    The continental breakfast was good and I appreciate the free wifi since I hooked up my amazon fire stick to the tv.They also let me do a late checkout

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, if you aren't familiar with the location, you could miss it entirely.

    the room was very spacious. the staff was very nice, allowed us to have a late check out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Excellent staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff and facilities. 1.5 miles from penn station jersey (Newark station) for NJ transit track one to NYC. Uber to the station was 6.55 each way and train into the city was 5.25 each way.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Loving it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Newark train station. Wish we didn't have to get a cab each time.

    The friendly and helpful staff and the wafflesthe lemon infused water

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75