Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americas Best Value Presidents Inn Monterey 2 stars

1150 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#54 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1766 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Clean place for families
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 levels with children above. Not the fault of the management and we knew this was a possibility when we booked

    The room was very clean. The staff was friendly. Pool area was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed, quite locations, love the hot tub!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower has absolutely no pressure, it just feels like water squirting.

    Comfortable bed, quite locations, love the hot tub! I was really pleased to see a fridge, helped me out a lot!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I loved the location it was close to where we were visiting.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was with the water..it was extremely hot or too cold...we kept trying to adjust but everytime someone used the water it changed your temperature...also the jets weren't working in the hot tub.

    I loved the location it was close to where we were visiting..it was quiet..the pool was great for the kids..the room was a little out dated but we will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    When we arrived in our room, we were pretty surprised and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived in our room, we were pretty surprised and fan was running in our room in the bathroom, it was actually pretty dangerous. The breakfast has only the name of Breakfast Don't hope anything it's just a motel, not even a vault in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Rude staff poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff manager her was extremely rude Linens were old and stiff as if they had been over sprayed with starch when asked for new additional linen that was not stiff and disgusting we were told that they could not accommodate 😩

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Clean, friendly staff, hot tub, more amenities than big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool might need cleaning

    Clean, friendly staff, hot tub, more amenities than big hotels, comfortable stay, good location, hot tub, i recommend this inn

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.6
    Great location close to Monterey, quiet neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and not made up when we arrived - the maids looked horrified when we asked if they could remove the previous occupants pizza boxes and provide us with clean sheets. Breakfast was appalling - a choice of cold waffles or cereal in hospital bowls, with seating for 10 people - unusual experience eating breakfast stood up with 30 other people.

    Great location close to Monterey, quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that the rooms don’t have A/C & that I was able to hear people next door which room has a door connect to other room next door. Also had problems with the shower water temperature keeps changing. While shower there is hot but then minute it changes to very cold water then goes back to very hot water.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Left unhappy, hungry and sleepless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast. Bad WIFI connection it disconnects especially at night it breaks down it does not work. Hotel attracts low income noisy travelers. Left sleepless and hungry.

    Location is great with only a 10 minute walk to downtown eateries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s old so don’t expect pristine conditions. There was some mold in the ceiling above the shower. The A/C didn’t work but they did provide a standing fan. The carpet is old and stained. The bathroom didn’t have a fan but had a very loud heater fan. The furniture and alarm clocks are outdated.

    It was very close to downtown Monterey and the beaches. Comfortable bed. The pool is nice and the outdoor area is very nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The pool and hot tub were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff person at the front desk charged us extra money for my disabled 96 year old grandmother. The room was smelly. Loud traffic noise. Broken sofa and ice machine. Water leaking in to the sidewalk and parking lot, wasting water and a tripling hazard.

    The pool and hot tub were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Has an on-site washing machine for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can’t complain about anything, except to ask for full instructions on the washing. Ie buy the suds while your getting change from front desk.

    Has an on-site washing machine for guests. Breakfast was decent and rooms clean and comfortable. Nice big, comfy beds. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean, convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few years ago they offered apples with breakfast, but not any more. The mini-fridge in the room is useful but makes too much noise at night. The property as a whole is showing its age. I don't like the peeling paint in the shower. But I can tell that they are always working on maintenance and improvements.

    I like the Cheerios and milk. They also have cornflakes. It's not a full breakfast for me, but it is better than nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was in a great location.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very inexpensive which was nice but the walls are very thin and you could hear everything from the rooms on either side of us. We were on bottom floor so the noise from upstairs was very loud.

    The hotel was in a great location. The room was okay, very outdated but we were only staying one night so it wasn't bad. Very noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really old and not beautiful at all. The housekeeper forgot a plastic full of trash opened and because it was really windy, there were toilet papers and other types of garbage all around the parking lot.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    We actually arrived on time and staff was pleasant and stay was too
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that check in had a time limit . We were traveling from over 700 mikes away and wasn’t sure when we would arrive and they said we had to be there by a certain time or lose it.

    The facility was old but kept well and loved the location of the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    I got a very good price on Booking for a Thursday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a very good price on Booking for a Thursday. We would stay on Friday as well if the price would not be 3 times more expensive. This is a simple accommodation, clean and in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was dirty and not very hot. As far as our room some electric outlets didn't work the furniture was stained and taped together the heater smelt like burnt plastic and kept clicking all night the TV shut off and turned itself back on everytime the fridge turned on or off. The last time I was here it was a lot better they even had the self serve waffle maker this time it was eggos and a toaster. It wasn't pleasent this time around.

    I love the location it's right in-between the delmonte mall and fisherman's wharf. I will say I've stayed here before and it was a lot better I'm not sure what was going on this time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great Stay Comfortable great location with forest across street and Mall two blocks away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only two access points for upstairs they could have one more stairs going to second floor

    Location its georgous facility its on a great location could use a little spruce up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality of inn. This was the most expensive accommodation in a three week tour. Admittedly it was Memorial weekend, but!!

    The location was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a pleasant stay and loved the large Jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice. the breakfast needs a lot of upgrading. frozen waffles, toast, cereal. Needs improving

    Large Jacuzzi! Nice lady who checked us in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.9
    I would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE, especially if you have to pay over $200/night!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Nothing,, even the hot tub, which I was looking forward to, was :lukewarm, with no jets, that I felt were jets. This was a very low rated motel and the cost was outrageous!! Especially for the room itself, no security hardly, no cleanliness. I cannot say anything good about any of it. The "free breakfast" was OK, but again could have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Over priced, not the friendliest place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was a lot of noise from the adjoining rooms, and there was only a locked door separating our room from them. There was also noise from guest above walking around and opening the ranch slider door after midnight!! The paint was peeling off the tiles in the bathroom. Finally, the breakfast area was laughable as it had about half a dozen tables an people had to stand to eat or take it out.

    The room was dated, poorly maintained, was only suitable for a boys weekend party!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Budget accom at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. Felt like a budget motel so if you manage to get a budget price, go for it. Beds not comfortable and room not greatly clean.

    Close to the mall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    A nice, clean place to stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee. :( The breakfast was ok, but the room was a bit crowded.

    Comfy bed, convenient location and parking on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed Monterey a lot, and hotel was OK, clean and just nice with views to the swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better.

    The hotel was not super close to the sea but it was really easy to walk up to the port to enjoy walking there and seeing the attractions and shops. So for me location was really nice as I was able to walk everywhere from the hotel. And really close to the hotel there is a big mall where you can shop anything you may need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    very clean, spacious, comfortable room with small terrace on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually nothing. this is a simple, convenient accomodation for a one-two nights stop; you exactly get what you pay for. the quaility-price ratio is extremely fair.

    very clean, spacious, comfortable room with small terrace on the swimming pool. simple, nice breakfast. the swimming pool is not a joke as got in many other motels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    Poor stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big cleanness issue. This inn is old and hasn't been renovated since ages. The "continental" breakfast is a joke, really cheap. The mattress was old and uncomfortable.

    Personnel friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    It you just want a place to sleep with no frills this is the place.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have more variety - Cereal, eggos, toast, mini muffins, juice coffee) adequate but basic. Had to turn on heater from pilot to on - old fashioned wall unit

    Irt was basic lodging at a Monterey price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice clean place just to spend the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left to be desired. The business centre is just small desk in the breakfast area no privacy. You have to be there by 10 pm to get key no 24/7 registration 😞

    That they had availablity. The staff is friendly. Over all cleanliness of room ok. We would stay again if we had to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette butts laying everywhere, and they advertise no smoking on entire grounds. Dining was 30people and room for 15,only hot food was toast if you made it yourself. Would not recommend their breakfast, orange juice was watered down....yuck. Score maybe a 2 nothing more.

    Nice patio,but cigarette butts everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Keep up the great Customer Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was a little messy for my liking with trash but not too bad. 😇 The Laundry costs a little too much. It is $3.50 & wash and $3.50 to dry. There was split level stairs that made it confusing on what floor you were on.

    😀 The Staff is very Friendly!Great Service. The Cazeebo is @ a great location to relax. The Garden is so pretty and full of orange flowers. I strolled through in the morning from my room to there eating granola and smelling orange and blue flowers. My paws were all over the breakfast! Close to Jack and the box.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    A good walk by the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room/lobby was too small for the morning rush. The fitness room was locked up for repairs, with no signs posted.

    Awesome location in Monterey. Close to the shopping area, a walk away from the ocean. Great pool area as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad was hard and the whole room was a little outdated but overall good, the bathroom was ok.

    It was clean, lots of amenities and the view was good, a lot of parking spaces. The landscaping was beautiful and well kept. Love that it was a separate bathroom heater, made the shower comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location, old property needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit steep for the quality of the room. The beds were ok, the pillows were not ok, the bathroom paint and part of the wall by the tub was peeling, and the tub had a really weird almost soft rubber feel. The shower kept switching from hot to cold, really annoying. Also the light switch for the bathroom was in a corner far from the door.

    The location is super convenient for the fisherman's warf, park, and restaurants. The deck was enjoyable and the pool was nice! Worked good for a last minute booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    Anywhere but here
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty, one of the chairs we couldn’t sit on because there were stains all over it, very dirty bathroom. Extremely noisy. Every 5 min. The TV would turn off and turn back on, the rooms seemed very easy to break into. The heater didn’t work and the slider barley closed. My son had bites all over his arms and legs. Bed bugs?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Little gateaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not what I expect but you get what you pay for. Still you have options around.

    Very close to thw bay. There is a shoppi g center like 5 mins away very conviniente for dining, shopping and relax. The is a park in from very safe. They have two pools. The small one is perfect for little kids. My room was accessible to the pool. Bed was comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was ok considering the prices of other places around. Plenty parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Hot tub was big and warm, not to hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard.

    Hot tub was big and warm, not to hot. Close to all the places we love to go. Smelled very clean when we checked into our room. Very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    - location and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - terrible heating system (we had to switch our room twice before getting one that worked) - check-in problems: payment terminal didn't work that caused 15-20 minutes waiting

    - location and surroundings - comfortable bed - good wifi - patio

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and under valued
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Breakfast" means continental breakfast - very minimal. They advertise "hot tub" but was not turned on Oct-May. Owner/manager not friendly or willing to work with customers. Will never stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable for overnight short stay if you want a base to travel around Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for the winter period which we had not expected. breakfast area is small. Access from the road easily available for people psssing by.

    Rooms were comfortable and good for a short stopover. Staff really helpful and tried to make sure the stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasent station on our road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe not in walking distance (cca 5km uphill) from the main more touristic area in Monterey which is a sea side (from other side there are parkings in a center and taxi service is also available)

    My wife and I liked fact that place was clean, for the value we payed was a great choice. We felt very safe and area was not so laud even it was close to main road. Bed was great as well! If you want to visit Carmel by The sea this place is great because it is 5 minutes driving away!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Good inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit too noisy because of the road that passes a few meters away. Not in walking distance to interesting spots in Monterey

    Bed was confortable, check-in and check-out were quite uncomplicated, great parking, very simple breakfast - in accordance to the price you pay for the night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Pretty shabby, not so chic- but a good location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were a little disappointed with the overall shabbiness of the place- our bathroom had a plastered up (huge) hole in the ceiling, there was a lot of flaking paint and ingrained grime. The pool and spa had a lot of sand and scale in. The walls were pretty thin, even by motel standards. The 'breakfast' was only offered from 7.30 and we checked out at 7 so no insight to offer there.

    We had a decent stay here. It was easily accessible and the location was fine, near monterey and carmel-by-the-sea. If you go, be sure to drive to 17 mile drive, pebble beach and stillwater cove. the 10 dollar toll is 100% worth it for the spectacular views and peace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    2.9
    Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful stinking of gas from heater. Dated. Dirty and unsafe doors and windows. I itched all the time I was there but may of been physiological where the place was so smelly and grubby. Bag over the fire/carbon monoxide detector, probably because there was a leaky old gas heater in the room. Unfriendly staff and awful breakfast. Avoid. There are many motels in the same road for around same cost. Make this your last resort!

    Parking. Location was right by shopping centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    2.5
    Ruined my weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located next to a main road that was very noisey and I was not able to sleep. Very overpriced for the quality. Even the receptionist was rude when I addressed my complaints. This relaxing weekend was ruined by my stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Large room lots of towels extremely clean very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room lots of towels extremely clean very comfortable and very friendly staff

    Large room lots of towels extremely clean very comfortable and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Not sure i'd stay here again, room was not worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was open, but when I read online it seemed it wasn't so I didn't pack a suit to relax in the hot tub. One of the reason I chose this place was because it said free breakfast served from 8-10:30am my bf went over at 10 and they said it had ended. So we had to go spend money at Denny's.

    I loved the patio and the fact that it had a fridge and microwave in the room. For the price we paid on the room I didn't think it was all that great. I have paid less elsewhere and have had bigger better rooms. This room was decent size, the bathroom was nice, bed was comfy. Old school heater worked great. Property wasn't as nice as the pictures showed. The room was about a 10 min drive from downtown to get to the Wharf and Canary Row.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    It was ok. They need to not lie about their facilities. Put pool closed in description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and pool was closed due to "winter closure" yet when we went to our room there were people in the spa. The pool and spa was open and ready but they just choose to not start the heat. After we asked the woman did say she would turn on the spa. The room looked nothing like the pictures in on the site. The heater needs to be updated, it put off a terrible burning smell. Security of the room was sub standard. No chain on front door and lock on sliding door could easily be broken.

    Location was good, close to cannery row. The bed was comfortable and the cleaning staff were very sweet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location+friendly staff, but cleanliness is a big deal for me. I can't say I'll be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed cover looked like it hadn't been washed in months. I felt uncomfortable going to bed and thinking the cover might touch my face while sleeping. Overall, the entire room felt a bit dirty so as far as cleanliness goes, I definitely overpaid.

    The room was spacious, and the property is located close to a mall + the wharf. The washer and dryer on the premises were a blessing. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I felt like the price I'd paid was reasonable for these reasons.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, good value motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, but hey, not there for breakfast

    Nice sized room. Bathtub, plenty of hot water. Good heater in room, great on a cold day. Room had balcony if weather is warm. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Noisy because older building. Heard other guests. When they walk upstairs it shakes the glass doors in our room.

    Location and price. Clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Standart American motel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fruits for breakfast.

    Looks like standart American motel. Ironing equipment, coffee machine, microwave. We traveled in March, so the weather was freezing. Heater was not loud like in most of motels. The bonus was that in bathroom there also was heating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated furniture, wall was chipping and the bathroom had a urine smell. The room heater took a while to work. No air conditioner just a floor fan. One of the lights in our room went out in the middle of the night.

    The property was accessible to many shops. The property had a heated Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.5
    Average would be generous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The judgement from the facility, and they checked us out early because they over booked and the other customers must have been priority.

    That it had a bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.0
    pool cold not heated hot tub barely warm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool cold not heated hot tub barely warm. young kids using hot tub as pool. I will never stay here again and will definitely not recommend to anyone. I am scuba instructor and am in Monterey often.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.3
    Would stay somewhere else for all of the trouble I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, I was taking my family on a much needed vacation. The attitude of the staff was a bit to be desired, and I was charged more when I got there. Also the deposit for damage was a little disturbing. Late check in when I asked for an early one etc...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value! Would stay here again! The bathtub seemed to be falling apart, otherwise great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was falling apart.

    I liked that everyone had a balcony and how easy it was to get around town from the hotel! The staff was also very pleasant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Gross
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a nasty hotel I felt dirty I had shower again the minute we got home It’s outdated the back sliding door did not lock there was hair in the shower from previous people

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great choice in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that we were there in winter, the hot tub and pool were closed

    Everything: room, facilities, staff, hygiene, complementary breakfast (albeit basic), location in Monterey, Monterey itself

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    U get what u pay for. Shotty older place spent two nights there and will go somewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's loud people slamming doors all Night long and every early in the morning. Continental breakfast was a joke. It's non smoking property we never used our patio cuz we couldn't smoke out there wAs a surge protector nailed on the wall with coffee pot lamps and microwave plugged into it. Doors on armoire were broken

    Not much room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable & quiet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained chairs in rooms refrigerator froze all my fruits ,high &?low knob does not work good,lots of stains on carpet ,needs update carpeting ,same in 2 rooms that I had.

    cleaniness of everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice view of the ocean. The hotel just needs an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed to be updated. The bed sheets seemed to be very old. Bed frame was held up via pieces of brick and wood. No fruit or vegetables available for breakfast. No safe in the bedroom.

    The location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant oasis of greenery and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of daily fresh fruit(apples half the time) and basic protein(boiled eggs, yogurt or cheese) or healthy carbohydrates(genuine oatmeal or whole grain breads) offered at breakfast.

    The location and the grounds are welcoming. Breakfast is adequate. Above average cable options. Pleasant furnishings and accessories throughout. Good overall value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Liking Monterey!
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't there long enough to notice i guess that is a good thing.

    Convenience and price of just under 60$ wasn't as dirty as people say on reviews! It was a good quick stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    4.6
    Would not come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were deceived when we asked about the jacuzzi. It was cold and not working when we went to take a dip. The breakfast was the worst I have had when staying at a motel with the milk being expired and waffles being soggy. The front desk was hard to talk to. The bathroom was not clean and the tub was hard to stand in with bumps. The bed hurt both mine and my partners backs and the pillows left me with a kink in my neck. There was a god awful smell when we first walked in the room and we had to air the room out with the balcony door. It got pretty cold.

    We liked the location and convenience. We also liked the tv and channels. The fridge and microwave were a plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and the bath tub was not in the best condition. You can also hear everything going on outside and from your neighbors. Made it a bit difficult to sleep.

    The location and affordability

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Although this facility was not up to my standards. It was livable for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and there was no breakfast as advertised. It was only continental breakfast. Your company need to make it clear on line about the hotels.

    The staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Very unhappy about this stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. The staff wasn't very welcoming. Also the hotel itself was not very clean. No parking anywhere for our car! And a $100 deposit that we knew nothing about til we arrived there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff but won't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding (horse blanket etc) was unpleasant - I suggest cotton sheets, and a nice, light cotton/poly fill duvet. The mattress has seen better days. A but too noisy (sound insulation seems minimal).

    Great location - easy check in. Seemed very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sandwich vending machine but that is fine as near the wharf and shopping centre.

    Value for money. Clean and nice surprises such as ceiling heater in bathroom and medium firm bed. Many cable programs and nice size Tv

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    POOL/HOT TUBE NOT HEATED 7+ MOS OF YEAR. SITE NOTED POOL/HOT TUBE AS DID SIGN ON RECEPTION DOOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    POOR AND HOT TUB ARE NOT HEATED FOR 7+ MONTHS PER YEAR! BOOKING SITE DIDN'T NOTE ANYTHING OTHER THAN POOL/HOT TUB. DIDN'T NOTE NOT HEATED FROM SEPT THROUGH MAY! BOOKING.COM SHOULD REQUIRE THIS STATEMENT. We only went for the hot tub! Otherwise we would book SGazer 200 feet down the street with inside and heated pools. Breakfast was minimal, would have gone 200 feet up the street to the CInn where they have a lovely ample gfast. Will not return here though stay friendly and otherwise nice and accommodating. RECOMMEND STRONGLY TO OWNERS: Heat pools all year and year will more than make up the loss of $ to heat pools, or simply charge a $1 more per night to cover costs. Your parking lot was almost empty. Fill it up with 12 month heated pools, please!

    Clean throughout room and facility. Wonderful pool/hot tub BUT NO HEAT FOR 7+ MONTHS PER YEAR!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.8
    Great Value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really have no complaints for the price I paid...I wasn't expecting much other than a warm room to sleep in and rake a shower.

    The value for tbe price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay for price.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door to the patio was jammed. Could smell old cigarette smoke in room. Bathroom was not ventilated, and hot water would cut in and out.

    The owners were super awesome and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the double rooms were good sized.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value for a one night stop off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a facelift and aren’t particularly well sound insulated taking into consideration the road right outside.

    Great price for a quick no frills stop off. Good WiFi in the room and large comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: