Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Days Inn by Wyndham Durham/Near Duke University 3 stars

3460 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705, USA

#55 of 62 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Lousy
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy, the bathroom tub/shower did not work. Door did not seal, carpet still had garbage from previous guests on it

    Location and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable king beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was maybe could've use a upgrading on the bathtub but overall wasn't to bad

    Very comfortable king beds. Staff was great and very helpful great location for numerous food spot. Would definitely stay at this hotel real bang for the buck overall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    2.9
    What is going on here?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 223 was filthy, saggy king bed like sleeping in a hole, toilet wobbles when you sit on it, room amenities missing, satellite tv doesn’t work with light rain, most lights didn’t work either, mgmt. stayed in the room next door and fought all night with his woman, prison towels, sticky carpet and I could go on and on but what’s the point? I took my complaints to the evening manager and he couldn’t have cared less! No offer to change rooms or cancel so I could leave to find proper accommodations! I was told that someone would take care of it after I checked out the next day! Are you serious? If you are going to Duke Hospital for treatment and staying here then you might want to get tested for communicable diseases too! This place is gross, overpriced and overrated on your site. I have pictures and video and I’m not done yet. I will contact the health department TODAY! WORST ROOM EVER!!

    Location was the only upside. Could walk to food and convenience stores if you’re fairly damn brave!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Cheep stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dirty carpet, bathroom needs serial up keeping.. bathtub paint was peeling and it had a smell of humidity

    The value, price, breakfast was included (simple ). The linens were clean and the bed was comfortable. AC was working just fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Will do again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a vent in the side of the header over the bathroom that did blow out warm air so the AC was competing...

    Just all around nice place...doesn't look like much from the road but good bones...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Visiting my son in Durham, NC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, more specifically the bathtub area was disgustingly moldy with the shower curtain dirty and unclean. Arriving late with my exhausted 12 year old daughter didn't give me a chance to inspect the room as she showered and went to bed

    Large spacious room. Proximity to downtown Durham and family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    This may be an older hotel but it is very clean and the...
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may be an older hotel but it is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We had a family member who was having surgery at Duke University Hospital and this hotel was about 5 minutes from the hospital. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    I had a good stay. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything that I really did not like.

    The room was clean with a very comfortable bed and very nice television. The property was located near the highway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Convenient and clean
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty minimal; I chose to eat elsewhere after the first day. There was one afternoon where a couple across the pool area had a very nasty, public argument which spoiled the serenity—but that’s not the fault of the management.

    The bathroom fixtures seemed new and really clean. It was for the most part very quiet yet very convenient to Duke University. I got a booking for a great price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and we had two rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance door/hardware could be updated.

    The staff was very friendly and we had two rooms with updated bathrooms.And we got a great rate through booking.com

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    2.5
    Do not expect a lot, expect the less...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only room available was a smokers room, smelled awful; shower was dirty, moldy, cracked; called front desk for more pillows for my pregnant sister and he questioned me: “Why do you need more pillows, there are six up there already...”; the cleaning dude was super pushy to get us out at checkout time, kept knocking on the door, even tried to come into the room on us, even with the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door...

    Did not like anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed in the look and comfort of the Days Inn that I normally enjoy staying in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just wasn't as nice as other Day Inns that I've stayed in before. It looks like you tried to turn a old ugly motel into a nice Days Inn and you did a really poor job of remodeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    The staff were brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t very good for those who’re not driving. It was a 50 minute walk to the campus where my conference was. There’s a shuttle bus to campus on weekdays, but not weekends. And the buses aren’t very frequent.

    The staff were brilliant. The lady at the lobby was friendly and helpful. And the manager was very kind and accommodating. The good service definitely made the difficult trip a lot better. The bed was nice and comfortable and the room was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    I've enjoyed better stays at this property, so maybe I just had the wrong room this time.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They're making strides to replace worn furnishings and bedding at this location, but there's still room for improvement. The occupant in the neighboring room played his television at very high volume until midnight, then started up again at 6 A.M. the next morning, making quality sleep impossible. The entry door was ill-fitting, with large gaps allowing lots of outside cold air to come through, which kept the floor cold.

    Great location just off of I-85, convenient to Duke University, the Duke Medical Center, shopping areas, local attractions, and entertainment. There are also plenty of good restaurants within a relatively short drive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall good place to stay the staff was friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little hard to locate after dark the sign was not next to the main road and the hotel set back behind several other buildings.

    Nice place to stay, we only stayed overnight .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    It was really bad they need to remodel.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was terrible in t rhe bathroom.

    The room had a lot of air drafts it was cold my husband had to put up pants to keep the air out you could see the out through a crack in the side of the door needs to be fixed badly, someone could get sick.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very nice and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Bed was very nice and comfortable. I slept very well. Quiet even though I was located on 1st floor. Coffee was my brand, that was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    The night manager was very uncustomer service friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night manager attempted to place me in a poor quality room. I requested a particular open 2 bed room, but he did not want to accommodate on 2 separate occasions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Awesome, quiet comfortable stay for great price.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use some renovation, and the location is a tad weird (sits right behind Motel 6 and a gas station).

    Early check in with no issues. Super comfy bed, and even in my smoking room it was fresh and clean! Great tv.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.4
    It was a perfect basic place to sleep and it was nice to have a grocery store across the street
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looked like a swamp. The room was not what the booking promised. The windows faced into the court yard -Which meant zero privacy for anyone. Therefore we had the curtains drawn the entire time.

    Beds were comfy and seemed new. Nice sized fridge in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    Price was great but don't expect too much past the clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offered was not healthy. Only eggs were prepackaged cheesy egg omelet that had to be microwaved. Only fruit was a small apple that must have been old and tasted mushy! No other fruit offered. All plates and bowels were styrofoam which is bad for the environment and prob. not good to microwave food on. There were waffles but did not try. Property was dirty with garbage and old mattresses piled in back part of parking area. Only one ice machine working in a dark unlighted hallway. It was still old and rundown in various common areas of hallways which were outside. It is after all an old '50's motel that has been mostly updated. Much to be finished though. Access to hotel is only thru a gas station driveway.

    Our room was recently renovated. Bed was new and comfortable and bathroom was new and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    For the price i paid the rooms should have been better and better service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price changed the next day i dont know how or if the man at the front desk was telling me something wrong. The water for my shower wasnt hot enough or enough water pressure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Appreciated the complementary breakfasts;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not enjoy having to use disposable cups, also frustrated by the absence of plates, utensils and cutlery.

    Appreciated the complementary breakfasts; staff were pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    the staff was nice and very courteous! The location was very convenient to many places in the area.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old building was showing it's age..

    The staff was friendly and kind and tell breakfast room was nice.. evert hinges else was "ok".. It was an older hotel building, and showed it's age.. did I mention the staff was nice and very courteous! The location was very convenient to many places in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    I would have never had booked there if I had realized what it was going to be like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were burns in the sheets, dirt on the sheets, the bathroom tub was disgusting, there was no hot water, the shower handles were broken, the water barely came out of the shower, there was mildew in the shower, the property was very dirty outside. I would have never had booked there if I had realized what it was going to be like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Not so hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel. Hard to get to. Not well maintained. Toilet loose on the floor. Ran out of hot water!!

    It was quiet except for neighboring rooms. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable mattress.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Terrible breakfast. Very cheap shower head (fixed to the wall, no hose), and the hot water needed a few minutes to arrive.

    Comfortable mattress. Grocery store just across the street. Microwave oven and fridge in the room. Guest laundry available. Not too expensive overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.3
    Only rooms with new paint. Go somewhere else an save the stress.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Hot water. Cricket chirping in room all night. Rooms that were falling apart. Broken faucets, tiles missing, hair in tub. Had to move to another room to take a shower. Then other room had only hot water I could not cool enough to take a shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Good rate, great value, friendly staff.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine broken, ironing board cover ripped, pool chair broken. Timing for breakfast ends toooo early, 9am.

    Breakfast and pool were wonderful. Also got a great rate on line.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    Dirty and rundown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hangers, smoke detector wires hanging (not working), inside door lock broken, no bathroom exhaust fan, breakfast was white sauce cold sausages and biscuits. Even if it was free it was disgusting. Rats at poolside. Dirty sidewalks and walk ways. Never will I recommend this place to anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    My stay was still good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact the pool was close the whole time we were there, that's the main reason I chose Days Inn

    the pillows were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was horrible. It was very small, the toilet seat wobbled, the water took forever to get hot and the shower never came on fully. Also the hotel is very difficult to find from the road. We saw the sign but not the hotel itself.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.5
    Never recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel. Maintaining was very poor. AC did not work. Bathroom was tiny with cracks and holes in the wall. Water trickled in the shower. Staff was not friendly or accommodating.

    Nothing, unfortunately. Everything was poorly maintained. Nothing was up to standards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Hotel from hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was getting bite all night,had bumps on arms and hands,blood stains were on a comforter,a turd was in the baby pool of one feet of water,just horrible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.3
    Travelers beware! Don't stay at this property - keep looking for a room on the other side of town.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    We liked nothing about this hotel!! It was filthy dirty - dirty tub, sheets on one bed were stained with black smear, carpet smelled like - not sure what but it wasn't clean. The bathroom toilet was disgusting with old wear and tear, dirt in cracks and crevices. An attempt had been made to update the room with paint. The paint was smeared and there were drips and blotches. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling down. The room wasn't worth a dime! We didn't stay the night. The neighborhood felt unsafe; gangs of men on the corner of a shopping area, groups of men on the balcony of the hotel in front of this hotel. What was that about? A hotel in front of a hotel. Boom - right in front of the other. Totally obscured. There was a pool at this particular hotel - the water was gray. Gray pool water! Unbelievably filthy dirthy dilapidated property. We will never stay at this line of hotels again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had ants all over. The air conditioning was not working well. The bathroom had hair on the toilet, there was more mold in the shower than grout. Room was supposedly non-smoking but smelled like smoke. Comforter was dirty. Told the gentleman at check out and his response was "I will talk to the cleaning lady."

    Nice man at the welcome desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Don't stay here
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This building is in need of a lot of repairs. It's lovely on the outside, but our room was falling apart. The tile was chipping in the bathroom. The toilet seat was completely loose and in my opinion unsafe (especially for someone with back issues). The hair dryer, mini fridge, and the ice machine downstairs didn't work at all. The continental breakfast was sparse, and never got refilled while we were there to have breakfast. There was no elevator to get our luggage, children, and heavy cooler up the stairs. I would not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

    The outside was landscaped nicely and the pool was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Not so pleasant after all!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well upon checking in the very nice gentleman was very helpful, we asked for a late check out he was generous enough to honor us asking for a late check out. So we arrived back to the hotel around 11:30am mind you I had a late check out (12pm) I go to my door and housekeeping was in my room without the any knowledge of when we were leaving. I complained to the front desk manager and his excuse was "oh my housekeepers are old, they don't know". I am not happy with the response I received from management, they didn't even offer to discount for inconvenience along with me feeling rushed out of a room that I paid my hard earned money for. Would I stay here again in the future I'm not sure because It felt welcoming, when leaving I felt as if my children and I were being pushed out.

    I loved the front desk gentleman, he was very helpful upon check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    2.9
    BIOHAZARD - mold and bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is infested with bed bugs, mites, spiders and fleas. I was being eaten alive every night. The deadbolt on the door was smashed to pieces so I felt very unsafe in my room. I asked for a non smoking room because I suffer from asthma and they put me in a smoke den complete with ashtray. My clothes still reek of the disgusting room and I had to throw away my suitcase. There were pubic hairs on the wall in the bathroom and the whole place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Lots of mold, you may get sick if you spend more than a few hours here. Lightbulbs weren't working and the whole room was in a state of total disrepair. You can tell they had repainted over termite damage. There are huge holes in the mattress where the bed bugs make their home. Stained sheets, stained walls, stained furniture, the whole room is a biohazard. The pool was disgusting and full of algae. As I checked out, a group of trans prostitutes were checking in. Even the clerk at the nearby gas station told me that the Days Inn Durham near Duke University is where lots of drug dealers and prostitutes stay. Never take your shoes off in this hotel room! I told the manager about my problems during check out and he put on this really cute confused puppy dog face pretending he had no idea about the problems on this property. "Well you never complained so it's not a problem to us," he told me. These problems should not exist in the first place if you take care of your property. The onus is not on the customer to complain, it is on the innkeeper to keep their hotel in a state of cleanliness and good repair. The roof also leaks, check the photos for the water stains on the ceiling where the leaks come through. Oh and "late checkout" does not exist here, no matter how much they promise you that you can have late check out they will ignore that request and the housekeeping staff will treat you like garbage.

    The air conditioner worked and the water in the shower was warm. The fire alarm is functional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    1.Locataion is perfect, you can take the campus bus if you...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Locataion is perfect, you can take the campus bus if you plan to go to Duke University. Super market and some restaurants are at walking distance. The hotel has a nice view especially the swimming pool, rooms are prety clean and luxurious, staff is really nice and friendly. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refridgerator did not work, my card was charged prior to checking in,the outlets did not work, there was construction in the room next door, screaming in the parking lot during the day, the shower head was too low, although the room appeared clean it had a bad odor and I had to buy fabreeze to get rid of the smell.

    The staff was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.2
    The employees were nice and helpful.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an underlying uncomfortable feeling with the hotel and the surrounding area. There is a maintenance area behind all of the bathrooms that is designed to allow access to the plumbing for repairs. That area was left unlocked which allowed anyone on the street access. You can see directly into the bathrooms from this maintenance area. This obviously makes for an uncomfortable and vulnerable situation.

    The employees were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the discount price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like mold and/or urine. The hair dryer didn't work. The shower head didn't come on all the way. The bathroom needs to be redone. Overall it was smelly and I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have no other options.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    A very modest place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food selection was minimal. In a bathroom - just soap and shampoo, not even lotion was provided.

    The room was relatively clean, there was a refrigerator, microwave and a modern TV. The Wi-Fi connection was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.8
    Do NOT Use the Bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was filthy. We could not shower. Mold everywhere, toilet rocked. It was disgusting. I could not sleep because I kept feeling like there were bugs crawling on me (there wasn't), I guess it was from being grossed out by the bathroom. We only spent one night there thankfully!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    would have enjoyed it more with my dog and would not have worried about him being on the bed !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was advised it was near the airport- it wasn't. Needs redecorating. Glad I brought my own toiletries. No elevator for upstairs room, had heavy case. Room did not smell fresh. Bath tub cracked -looked dirty (in fact I cleaned it out before use. Towels skimpy.

    friendly receptionist

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Adequate, safe hotel for 1 night stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was off major highway, through service station parking area, behind an old Motel 6. Probably an easier way to find, I just didn't see it.

    Convenient to area where I was attending an education event. Clean room, nice bed, hotel showing its age but adequate. Excellent WiFi. Huge TV screen. Didn't try breakfast as offered at conference site.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    For the price we paid this was a good value.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was comfortable but attention to details, like painting and tiling, was poor.

    This was an older hotel but it was very clean and staff were very friendly. Location was near restaurants and Duke hospital.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    5.0
    Barely acceptable for a night, but overpriced for the level of quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like the place was recently updated, but not thoroughly. Appeared nice on quick view, but any deeper look exposed filth and lack of maintenance.

    Convenient location, right off of the interstate and close to town. The lady at check-in was very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast room was roomy and the food was good.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was low. The management said that redoing the bathrooms was in he near future.

    The breakfast room was roomy and the food was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable, price was good, standard breakfast bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was rusty, heater in room was broken, tiles in bathroom chipped, parts of wall plastered over, people shouting in parking lot.

    Bed was comfortable, price was good, standard breakfast bar

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Great price, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the new marble countertops added a nice touch. The TV was mounted on the wall and looked very "2016." The bathroom could've been a little cleaner (with hair on the floor from previous guests.) Also, the tub/faucets could use an upgrade.

    The staff was friendly (Ken at the front desk was kind and professional.) The hotel was right off the interstate and in a great location for seeing everything we wanted to see in Durham.) The price of the room was affordable and I feel like we got what we paid for. Love the mini fridge, coffee pot and microwave in the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.8
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little bit moldy in the bathroom. Shower diverter did not work fully - most of the water went into the tub instead of the shower head. The age of the facility shows. Breakfast items limited - no eggs.

    Beds were comfortable. Decent value for the money. TV equipment modern and functioned well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    4.6
    If my wife had been traveling with me she would have demanded that we walk out because of facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Facilities were terrible. Bathroom tiles were broken and cracked. Hot water and WiFi were intermittent outside walkways and pool were in terrible shape.

    Location and price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    6.7
    Our Stay at the Days Inn
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast was not good. Biscuit and gravy was super lumpy. Not much to choose from. I was disappointed with Breakfast. Shower had no power and the hot water had to be wide open to get warm water. The knobs in the tub and faucet was sticking out of the tile. It was not as good as it could have been. The room was updated but not the shower.

    I liked the upgrade in the room. It was clean and nice paint.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, great value, Will Definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door closed but still allowed a air draft to creep around the door. If that could be adjusted that would be all the bad about the room, but honestly no biggie.

    I got there 6 hours before check-in after driving 10 hours. They allowed me to check right in so I could get some rest. The room was super clean and modern. Room had a huge flat screen on the wall and fresh sheets and clean wash cloths. Great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    2.9
    Not a great deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had severe water damage and had not been deep cleaned in years, as evidenced by the immense amount of dust on the bottom of our chair, the stains in the carpeting, and the trash we found under the bed. We attempted to use the heater during the hurricane, but the vents had not been cleaned in so long it set off the fire alarm. The bathtub was disgusting, stained with nail polish and had something stuck to the bottom of it that stabbed your feet as you stood in it, and significant portions of the doorframe to the bathroom had rotted away. Our first night we discovered blood stains on the sheets. Overall had a very Bates Motel vibe.

    The counters and cabinets were nice, as was the directv.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    The beds were fine, but if I could have had a choice, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were fine, but if I could have had a choice, I would had a queen or king bed instead of two full size beds. It was my first wedding anniversary. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. I went to the Waffle House. Maid service was cheap. One cup of coffee, one face towel and one bath towel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    Large, comfortable bed, air conditioning, fridge, TV,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - you need a car. Complex is quite run down in places and room looks worn. I wouldn't feel very safe walking around the area at night.

    Large, comfortable bed, air conditioning, fridge, TV, sizeable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful time
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing love it

    I love everything down to the pool breakfast was wonderful every morning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff was awesome
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear through the walls air night long

    Staff was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was great but I felt the quality was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed dirty, stains on towels and through the room.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Needs work
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs work

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so dirty we had to put towels down to walk and use a towel at the bottom of the tub to shower

    The TV channels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.3
    dont really havce anything good to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    house keeping needs to clean better food and ashes hairs behind all the funiture just NASTY

    dont really havce anything good to say

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    It was satisfactory overall. It appears that the facilities are being renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very clean.

    The location was great. We were traveling to Duke Hospital.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    A waist of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed maintenance,breakfast was awful

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room.

    Nosize

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    Nothing, place is really dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is run down. Really dirty, did not appear or feel clean, at all.

    Nothing, place is really dirty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    It wasn't far from Duke university.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't far from Duke university.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Grounds could be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grounds could be cleaner. Leaves and dirt on sidewalk. Wear and tear issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, near Duke west campus and food market.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little old.

    Good location, near Duke west campus and food market.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Served its purpose
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary breakfast could have been much better beds are hard

    No eggs in complimentary breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Parking and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Parking and price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Beds were comfortable, good location of property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, clientele seemed a little sketchy. Loud construction in the morning.

    Beds were comfortable, good location of property

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: