Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edgar Degas House Historic Home and Museum 4 stars

2306 Esplanade Avenue , New Orleans, LA 70119, USA

#28 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in New Orleans

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 24 B&B reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay off the beaten path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a third floor bedroom. We knew that there were no windows, but I still would have liked them.

    Fantastic breakfast and the ladies were incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Appreciated the historic feel and look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - 5634914
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some freshening up.

    Appreciated the historic feel and look. Staff was very friendly and helpful...even though they were busy with a wedding event they were very attentive. Complementary drinks in the room and a cut glass decanter of sherry to take yet edge off a weary traveler!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Kitchen staff outstanding!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was warped, the mattress sunk in the middle. Air conditioner super loud, and the shower water stream VERY weak and it took 15 or more to hear the water.

    Kitchen staff outstanding!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful place, good staff, friendly, just better conditions. Also our water pressure was a trickle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above, no water pressure. 2nd floor cool. 3rd floor a hot box.

    The food was very good although we did get asked to tip for breakfast. The house was beautiful. The AC was horrendous. We were on the 3rd floor which looked and felt like an attic. We were told we were in the Josephine room but when we arrived we were in another room and it was unbearably hot. Especially for price.!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and historic! Was very happy with our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are just a tad humid when it is the middle of June, but they stay cool. We slept like rocks! You will have to take the bus to French quarter. Bus stop directly in front. We walked one time and it was only a mile or two, but you will have to cross a number of busy roads and rough areas.

    They were awesome going above and beyond. We had a 20 month old with us and they bent over backwards to accommodate us. Breakfast is amazing!!!!!!!!! That alone made it worth while 😂

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Generally Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were slightly cramped and very hot at the top floor, with terrible water pressure in the bathroom. A wedding was held at the venue on our second night, which turned a bit rowdy. Also the price did seem a little high, considering these issues!

    Fantastic experience of an antebellum-type genteel stay in the Deep South. The rooms are comfortable, the service wonderful and the location excellent for exploring all major districts of New Orleans. Beautiful neighbourhood roo!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - 5634908
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have a coffee pot in my room.

    Beautiful property, helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Slept great. Enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    4.2
    So-so stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room -5634907
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 47 steps to get to our room which we were not expecting! One trip up and down was 94 steps! There was also a cockroach in our bathtub.

    The staff not in the office were very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    4.6
    Not worth the money one has to pay to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a rundown place that holds an excellent name of a very famous impressionist who would probably turn in his grave had he known what was going in that historic house. The place that is well known for it's special lavish breakfasts had nothing to show at all

    The location and the art. The atmosphere of the place still exists.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.1
    On our own
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 weddings on the property the weekend we were there which posed some logistical challenges & we couldn't have a tour of the museum so we watched the video of Degas' life on our own in the lobby. The house was a step back in time to another era which was delightful & the breakfast was tasty & satisfying.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.1
    GREAT BB FOR OUR STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room -5634907
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic rooms on 3rd floor, without windows, beds uncomfortable. No elevator.

    Staff was the reason we always felt great, went always that "ekstra mile" for us. Cindy, we love you for everything you did for us, went beyond what could be expected. We needed an asl-interpreter for a tour and the staff worked really hard to get this arranged, and succeeded.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    2.9
    Definitely worth avoiding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room -5634907
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep narrow staircases to third floor and no elevator. Room had no window and there were no staff available to organise a different room. I like feather pillows but prefer the feathers on the inside, not scattered around the room. The bed was small, very high and very uncomfortable. No wifi on the first night as I was given the wrong password and there were no staff on duty. However it made no difference as even with a password it was so slow that it was unusable. We had two choices at night, don't sleep because of all the heat and humidity trapped in the attic room or don't sleep because of the volume of the worlds noisiest air conditioner (which was sometimes drowned out by the TV in the next room, again with no staff on duty I couldn't complain) We booked this hotel because of its history. Even that was spoiled by the badly hung replicas of Degas work. The hotel was too far from any amenities so every trip depended on a taxi or knowing the time of the only bus that passed close by. The bath was filthy, the taps were broken and on first use produced a brown slime.

    I found it hard to find anything likeable about this hotel. It was quite pleasant to look at and the breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - 5634908
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Historic place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    The staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 5634914
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable and had to travel up 3 lots of stairs

    The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    If you want a taste of New Orleans' history and the charm of a beautiful B & B...you've found it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is a working museum and beautifully preserved slice of history. We absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Loved the decor and ambience---mid 1800s- 4 poster bed, high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wedding reception held in courtyard, however, guests were noisy in the main house until midnight.

    Loved the decor and ambience---mid 1800s- 4 poster bed, high ceiling, claw foot tub and decanter of sherry in the sitting room. Great breakfasts -made to order and delicious! Walkable to the french quarter and frenchman's street.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    Really great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had no window. The a/c was very noisy.

    Really great breakfast! Beautiful house and garden. Nice neighborhood. We walked to French District.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    9.2
    Really charming place with extra nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in a room that used to be part of the attic, so a window would've been nice...not a huge deal though:-)

    Really charming place with extra nice staff!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast was great and the staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house is tired. Many areas need paint and some things like the stove didn't work. Partly this is because it is a historic site and updates are hard to get approved. There is a plan in place to completely renovate the house that should address all these issues. The main focus of the house are the tours and events held there. So the inn experience is not what we expected from other inn experiences.

    The breakfast was great and the staff helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The house was in a quiet neighborhood. We had a bad storm and lost power. The staff moved us to another property and gave us free champagne.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    The house is beautiful and we had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house is beautiful and we had a wonderful time. The staff is wonderful, very nice and friendly. We slept wonderful and the food was wonderful as well!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    2.9
    The tour guide who I found when I went in search of someone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The false info I was given by management as to location and proximity. We were told that it's about a 5 block walk to French Quarters. The walk is more like 12 blocks minimum. Taxi charged $20 going from Bourbon Street and $15 returning. Pictures on website shows a beautiful, well kept property that is totally different from the actual property. Shrubs were over grown and uneven walkway. We were told to leave our luggage under the main stairway (open to everyone) until check in. No elevators but three flight of stairs to the room with our luggage. No restaurants nearby and the manager who showed up 30 minutes later did not even apologize but had an attitude. My credit card was charged for two nights stay. I filed a dispute with card. We stayed at the Sheraton Canal Street instead. A much more beautiful, cleaner, professional property for just $10 more per night with an awesome view.

    The tour guide who I found when I went in search of someone to help and the cook who saw us waiting outside. Both ladies were nice but were unable to really help.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.6
    - The house is beautiful and full of history,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Even though we weren't there to spent our time on the Internet, the wifi didn't work well from the 3rd floor, - The fridge in the bedroom was noisy.

    - The house is beautiful and full of history, - The staff was nice and happy to give us information, - The room was clean, - The breakfast was delicious! - The location of the hotel is really good! Only 30min walk to the French Quarter, with a lot of beautiful houses on the way.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    5.0
    The room was not the room we payed for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not the room we payed for. Third level with old stairs ,no window ,small room ,bed small.....we had payed for the second level with window ,deluxe room queen..... so with an handicaped people and for the price payed ($ 174 ) ,we refused this room. Staff (nice) find us another b n' b with $20 value room ....good New year eve for us !!!

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    It would be easitier to say I liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like. I will be coming back soon very soon.

    It would be easitier to say I liked everything.It was quiet peaceful. Close to bourbon st.and other attractions

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast abd Tour of home and museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ability to hear conversation between rooms, kitchen staff mildly UN friendly.

    Breakfast abd Tour of home and museum. Beautiful floors decoration Claw foot tub spacious rooms, antique furniture.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms on the 2nd floor of the house are all gorgeous but on the 3rd floor it's down right Oliver Twist kind of Victorian. Make sure to get a 2nd floor room.

    Beautiful hotel. Classic Victorian rooms. Super comfortable bed. Has a rich vibe and the location is great. 5 minutes Uber from anywhere you'd like to go. It's on a beautiful avenue and the area is safe.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Very atmospheric property filled with fascinating history...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was in an attic room which didn't have any windows. Hot water was a bit hit and miss, as was wifi... but everything else was good.

    Very atmospheric property filled with fascinating history and in a great location. Be sure to go on the guided tour to fully appreciate your stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Character of the house was amazing, loved the furniture and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room on 3rd floor was extremely hot even with the actual unit on the coldest setting. No windows in the room. Very difficult to check in and out.

    Character of the house was amazing, loved the furniture and drawing table in room for my daughter. Breakfast was delicious and we'll presented. Kitchen staff were extremely friendly. Loved the tree lined street the house was located on.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    The staff was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is a bus stop in front of the hotel but the buses run infrequently and getting anywhere was a hassle.

    The staff was fantastic!! The breakfast was very good and the place was well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Starting the morning with a delicious breakfast -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the room we stayed in was in the attic and wifi signal was too weak to operate our phones. The hallway to the room was very hot. The bathroom needs some attention to bring it up to a set standard. Little things that cris with an old home.

    Starting the morning with a delicious breakfast - beautifully presented. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the tour of the property. The tour guide was very knowledgable and passionate about Degas and his works.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Marie (staff) was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water pressure in the shower could have been better, but with a 150 year old house that should be expected.

    Marie (staff) was incredible! Degas house was gorgeous with tons of history. Beautiful gigantic trees right out in front. Great location close to many tourist attractions. We enjoyed Frenchman St. but stayed away from the craziness near Bourbon St.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.8
    The balcony .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was not very good . We had to ask the staff to scramble our eggs three times and they still didn't get it right. Package grits .The tour was not provided very clearly on the when and where . We ask for an extra pillow and was told in the entire place there was not one extra pillow. Finally after making a fuss about it . We finally got one 30 mins or so later. I asked we decaf coffee for the room and I was told it would be brought to me , I never got it. The supplies in the room like toilet tissue, paper towels, liquid dish wash etc was was very skimpy.

    The balcony . The garden area.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    5.4
    Property is beautiful just needs some updates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom door didn't close, kitchen was incredibly outdated, food was only sub-par.

    Property is beautiful just needs some updates.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    6.7
    Peice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff changed everyday. It is located pretty far from French quarter. Needs renovations completed.

    Peice

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Breakfast was so awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really wish I could have had a room with a Jacuzzi tub...

    Breakfast was so awesome! Everything about this stay was top notch! Tell Sharon hello!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable room and good location for easy access to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi and A/C could be better.

    Comfortable room and good location for easy access to all New Orleans has to offer.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    6.7
    Very nice atmosphere.
    • Group

    Breakfast wasnt on time. most of the stay Wifi didnt work. Water stream was very weak. (Pierre room)

    Very nice atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.2
    The beautiful rooms, the history, the accommodation of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful rooms, the history, the accommodation of the staff, the tasty breakfast....we loved it!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    This was such a unique place to stay - it did not disappoint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was such a unique place to stay - it did not disappoint at all. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    That it was so relaxing, and the breakfast was like OMG!
    • Couple

    That it was so relaxing, and the breakfast was like OMG!!!!!!. We will be back

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    House
    • Group

    House

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.5
    Location:we were there for a NOMA event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not bad,but: air vents were dirty;maybe my fault, bit i was not aware that rooms were 2nd floor.

    Location:we were there for a NOMA event.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Room was luxurious Estelle, breakfast was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was luxurious Estelle, breakfast was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    Loved the character of the place and the mimosas in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the fact that I had to park in side street.

    Loved the character of the place and the mimosas in the morning

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing staff, perfect location, and stunning...
    • Group

    Absolutely amazing staff, perfect location, and stunning property.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    Everything was fantastic
    • Couple

    Everything was fantastic

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: