Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Del Mar Motel On The Beach 2 stars

1702 Coast Boulevard, Del Mar , San Diego, CA 92014, USA

#113 of 232 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is a perfect case of don’t judge a book by its...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a perfect case of don’t judge a book by its cover. Outside is maintained beautifully. The rooms are cute and cozy, and large for the area. I could not get over the views. This will be the place I bring my girlfriends on a girl trip, and also my family for our family trip. Did I mention the Incredible views? There is restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Perfection!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use plastic cups as wine glasses.

    Right on the beach. Close to 2 great restaurants. Huge room. Chairs facing the beach. Places to grill & rinse off.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I can’t think of anything that would have made our stay enjoyable there but the train noise and the awful smell in the room were the wordt

    There is a commuter train that runs from 6am to midnight located directly across the street from property which ruined our sleep. There was a terrible smell in the room which had permeated the bedding, upholstery and bath linens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    A good beach front hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, luggage had to be carried upstairs. View of beach very restricted, windows at the side of the building. No breakfast provided.

    The room was a good size with a comfortable bed and a fridge and microwave. The hotel was on the beach which was lovely to walk along. We liked the chairs on the balcony, overlooking the sea. We found a very good supermarket, Vons, a 10 minute drive away so we’re able to supply our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Pro: Location, Con: Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    East side rooms face a very noisy and active parking lot. Active train tracks a few feet away (this impacts the whole town... the train through is frequent and active at all hours).

    Location right on the sand. Beach-facing communal decks and patios.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Over priced for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This motel is rustic and loud. They only have two beachfront rooms which don't have windows facing the ocean! If you stay here don't get a room next to the parking lot you will hear the very loud beeping noise when trucks back up several times at night. This is also right next to the train tracks so you get startled awake about eight times when the train horn BLAIRS as they rumble by. We woke up to what sounded like a jetliner winding up for takeoff which was a sewage vacuum truck servicing the public bathroom next door that caused us to vacate our room due to the gaseous sewage smells coming up through our drains. The sheets are like sandpaper and the bed is uncomfortable. The tile in our shower floor is extremely worn, the drain is broken and toilet seat is chipped, how do you keep that clean? Bring your own body wash! Their two cent green soap bars are horrid, smell like floor cleaner. Bathroom sink backs-up, really?? Furniture looks like it's from a garage sale faded and out of style. The wall air conditioner is so loud you will want to keep it of... hmmm good idea to encourage patrons to save energy. You hardly hear the ocean, even with the A/C unit off which is what we wanted to hear. The lady with black long hair who checked us in charged us $20 upgrade which we now know was a total insult to put us next to the parking lot for $299 per night. Total rip-off. For about $180 per night is what this place is worth Think twice before booking this motel.

    Outside shower, barbeques with tables, deck with table, chairs and lounge chairs. Complimentary boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas. Located next to several great restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is great, staff is great, the rooms are below aversge, and the AC was not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like a window needed to be open. The AC was chirping like a cricket all night and it was a hot night. Room #141 AC is not properly working.

    Location is ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Location next to water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were covered in sand and the walls behind nightstands, near outlets, covered with dust and cobwebs ... zero amenities. We asked to have something printed and couldn’t be accommodated. We were directed to the nearest FedEx. There is rarely someone in the office to help answer questions. Some of the pillows are covered in sweat stains that should without question be replaced. Had to turn the air conditioner off at night, because of it continually making noise. There’s an expectation of some noise, but the neighbors sounded as if they were in our room. I really feel the motel was overpriced and the cancellation policy too rigid.

    Location next to water

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Right on the sand and close to restaurants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t as modern as I had imagined for the price. The train was a little loud and runs around the clock. Thank goodness I travel with earplugs.

    I wanted by the beach and the Motel on the Beach totally delivered that! Right on the sand and within walking distance of lots of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great nostalgic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location. Reminds me of an old surf hotel. Window air conditioner worked hard to keep cool but was an extremely hot weekend. Great place for a relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The location is centrally located and PERFECT for spending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is centrally located and PERFECT for spending 4-5 days along the pacific coast. There is a wonderful restaurant right next door, and many others within easy walking distance. Watching the sunset every night on their deck with a good bottle of wine perfectly ended each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled awful - I literally could not sleep due to the smell. It was like a gross moldy/mildewy smell. Also was very disappointed that there was no parking in the lot - even though it had said parking was included. Very frustrating to have to scramble and find parking next door and pay for that - in addition to the extremely over priced room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    It was the perfect beach location for a weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need new pillows that are fluffy.

    Room was clean. Staff was friendly. You are next two to great restaurants and you are on the beach. There was adequate parking that was free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The location is perfection, right on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfection, right on the beach! Couldn’t ask for better! Walking distance to shops and Restaurants and 2 amazing restaurants steps from hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.0
    Great location, spacious, welcoming and comfortable :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been great to have tea and coffee facilities, the coffee maker did not work. There is a restaurant across the carpark that had bins that we a little smelly and very noisy when they were emptied early morning, but other than that it was awesome!

    Great location right on the beach, comfortable and spacious room, would recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean and tidy but basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel details on booking.com site were unspecific on room details, thought we had booked west facing room but when we arrived this was not the case. Rooms were clean and tidy but were quite basic, that said, room rate was comensurate with this. I drive a convertible, wlhen I came out one morning a cigarette butt was on the roof and had burned a hole in the fabric, not the hotels fault directly but perhaps a reflection on the client base!

    Great location right on the beach, close to village center with a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Good. I’d go again. Price was great. Location great. Comment only to describe what to expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with East View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need hooks in bath to hang your clothes. Very noisy neighbors. We’re they clogging or bowling? Slow WiFi! Didn’t like that the sunbathing area is next to party area. And the room occupants close to these areas seemed to take over the space like it belonged to their room.

    Cute and beach theme was great. On the beach. No carpet to collect sand. Confortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Value, value, value. Beautiful place and very friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    My wife and I stayed here and loved the proximity to the beach and also the restaurants and shops within a very short walking distance. We will be back! Staff was also very nice and friendly! Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    To sum it up....I would stay again!
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite small. And the toilet was very close quarters. The air conditioner was a tad noisy and you could hear kids running up and down the hallway.

    The location was excellent. The restaurants nearby were very nice. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely place on the beach. Room was large and comfortable. The hotel does not offer breakfast, but there is a nice place just a short distance up the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Despite availability, I was given one of the worst rooms in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite availability, I was given one of the worst rooms in the property. Noise from everywhere, the train, the road, the restaurant next door etc.. not to mention TV control that didn't work, old fridge that made a ton of noise....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Office opens a little to late (8am). Had some questions I wanted to ask before I checked out and left (6am) but the office was still closed. Had to drop off key in drop box.

    The location. Hands down.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't care for the women who works in the morniggs her attitude could be better. The guy who was working at my checkin was very kind. A smile goes a long way. But you can tell when the smile is forced and the women didn't seem like she even wanted to be there. Bad vibes..Also breakfast in the future I think would add thee perfect topping to this facility.

    I loved everything about it. The location is perfect especially for the price. I will continue to stay here. It is within good distance to basically everything the Zoo from the USS Midway. If your not all for the fancy hotels then this is for you. But overall it was by far good enough for me and my family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    No need to spend time in your room.... beach viewing area lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the handicapped room. Large room. Small bathroom with a poor layout! . Plug for the bathroom sink area was separated by a non-lidded toilet! Cord for curling iron/hair dryer would occasionally fall into the toilet - totally unacceptable!!

    TV was Huge. Beds need to be replaced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend and stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd floor without elevator. Tight parking.

    Right on the beach. Comfy and clean. Could hear the ocean. Nice balcony to watch the sunset. Very nice decor..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    paper thin walls. water pressure in shower fluctuated way too much. the fan that goes on with the light was screaching. heater didnt work

    nice location. close to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location on the beach, and near town and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold, and noisy. The heater was loud, as were the passing trains, even in the middle of the night.

    Excellent location on the beach, and near town and resturants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    ready to ride the waves?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only two rooms face directly the ocean, the rest is kind of oblique. need to take the car to have a good breakfast.

    beautiful del mar! we then moved to la jolla, but came back to del mar to look at the sunset from the little park overlooking the ocean, before leaving the country. the motel is exactly what it promises, it has very nice chaise longues with ocean view and you can exit directly to the huge, sandy beach. rooms are nice and comfortable, without luxury. the two best del mar restaurants are a few steps away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location. But the view of the parking lot wasn't great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only four rooms faced the beach. The rest faced the parking lot. Biggest problem? The Wi-fi didn't work. And we were right next door to the Office. We cut our stay short because of that fact.

    The location (on the beach) was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful place, horrible parking. Get a Honda Civic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible parking. I had to park next door to load my truck. I thought the meters were for electric cars, not to pay for parking. I got a 43 dollar ticket.

    Very clean, excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    One night was okay. It was safe. This is a surfer's motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sand everywhere. A very modest establishment. The rate is extremely high for the quality of the place however the location cannot be beaten in the heart of Del Mar next to the Life Guard station. Awful in room coffee

    Location. Location. Location. ON THE BEACH! The Sunday morning desk clerk opened the office 8 minutes late. Doesn't seem like a long time however when that is the only place to get a beach towel for my surfing granddaughter 3 trips to see if it was open was excessive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.9
    Horrible expernce, don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke up with 30+ bed bug bites. When I called the hotel to let them know so it didn't happen to anyone else (wasn't expecting anything in return) they were extremely defensive. They didn't even apologize. Front office staff was extremely rude during check in. Sheets felt like were sleeping in sand. Not what you expect when paying $200+/night, even if it is on the beach. I would not reccomend this property to anyone.

    The location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Not what we expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the pictures on the internet most of the units had an ocean view. But when we arrived at the property our room was facing a block wall structure. I went back to the office to try and obtain a view room and was told "reserving on line the rooms are assigned toward the back of the bldg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    Paid a lot of money to NOT get any sleep! :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no one available at the front desk after a certain time so if you have an issue in the middle of the night (which we did)...you're out of luck! Around 2:30am we heard really loud yelling, stomping, and throwing of what sounded like furniture (tables, chairs and such). We tried to call the front desk...no answer. We walked outside to see if we could see anything and saw the lights on in the room directly above us. Unfortunately, the yelling and commotion continued forcing us to call the police because it sounded dangerous. in planning our trip we fully expected to hear partying and fun-considering our stay was on a holiday weekend- this was different. This sounded like someone being hurt...none of us got any sleep! The next day we informed the woman at the front desk and the response we received was "that's not the hotel's issue" - Sad to hear...really wanted to plan more stays for our family but after that response we won't be coming back! :(

    The location was amazing...literally steps to the sand! This is the perfect location to park and stay...no need to leave if you're wanting a stay at the beach!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.9
    Not recommended unless major improvements occur. Location has a beach. That's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very aged with old an old rust on the floor, very sub standard plumbing and bathrooms. The linens were old and no closet, just a hanger space. The nightly train is very annoying also.

    It's on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    That it was on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For what we paid we should have had a room that was closer to the ocean and on the side away from the beach parking lot where there was lots of noise and traffic There was a small coffee pot, but only one pod of caffeinated coffee and on pod of decaffeinated. There was not creamer, sugar or stirrers and only plastic water cups, which would have melted had hot coffee been poured into them The bathroom floor was dirty and the toilet had not been cleaned.

    That it was on the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Glorious to be in Del Mar in an historic Motel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we didn't put on our AC - the noise of the motors in other rooms drowned out the sound of the ocean - which is kind of a shame. I understand that it is often hot enough to require AC but wish it could be quiet.

    This place was just what we wanted - to be at the ocean for a night during an inland California vacation. You need to realize that none of the rooms face the ocean directly, so the closer your room is along either of the two side to the front of the building the better to see and hear the waves. There is a nice communal area in the front, on the beach that all can use. That said you are steps from the waves and there are two nearby beach front restaurants that are excellent. Walking along the beach and also the cliffside in DelMar is wonderful and there is great wave and surfer watching to be enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Don't believe the photos! Really old property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old motel with new paint & headboards attached to the walls. Poor plumbing, no microwave, shower was old, but clean. Very low water pressure for showers. No bathtub. NO ELEVATOR!!! Long walk from car to rooms. But right on the beach next to lifeguard station! Too expensive for what you get for sure!

    Right on the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    STEPS from the ocean, literally!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No late check out, but they did extend our parking pass so we could stay a little longer for lunch and shopping before heading out.

    STEPS from the ocean, literally! I love that you can sit on the patio and watch the waves come in and enjoy the view without the sand...I also love that the sand is steps away from every room. There is a little shower to wash off before going back to your room. There are grills and tables set up just outside in the courtyard, plus a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker are in the room as well. The atmosphere is very laid back, the staff are super sweet and helpful, the motel needs some tlc here and there, but for the most part it is well maintained, clean, and the view and beach access is worth the $$. The rooms are bigger and comfortable, bathroom is a little small but not a big deal. Free parking! Posieden's next door has great food, service is lackluster but you can't beat the view! It's a little pricey, too, so it can for sure be worth it to pack along a cooler and grill outside your room with the waves in the background. There are more shops and places to eat that are about a 10-15 minute walk or you can always drive as the motel has free parking and has not been an issue for us to find parking every time we've left and come back. Did I mention free parking? This is a more relaxed, quieter beach, we love it here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the stay was too much. It's more of a $200 night instead of $300. No pool, hot tub, rooms are a bit dingy. Location is great but for the price it could be a better value.

    I liked the location and the staff. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    3.3
    Not a nice as most of the reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach access was great! If you are accustomed to staying in anything nicer than a motel 6 you might take pause. Room was dirty, furniture was dated and dented. People seem to just go there to party, the people in the room next to us could be heard all night, finally I had to pound on the wall to get them to quiet down. Bathroom was very dated and worn and dirty. Beds were small. The walk to get coffee in town is a 10 min walk. The ocean access is really the only thing this place has going for it. We checked out early and finished our stay at a different hotel....

    Beach access is good...that's pretty much it if your looking for something clean and quiet. If you don't mind a very dated room, that is not clean just for the access to the beach, this might be the place for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Love the beach and a Great Sunset go here. All in all Id rate it an "A-". Staff and Location A+++!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid for wifi. Dial up was faster and I'm not kidding. Rooms were exactly that. A place to crash. Parking stinks and the spaces are to close together. Got dinged. What the hotel lacks in comfort and style definitely makes up for in location and its staff.

    The hotel is right on the beach! Awesome Sunset! Staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Not one of them was unpleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    On the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property and needs just a bit of updating and attention to being cleaner. New bedcivers is a great start. Also grime on interior doors

    Love it's proximity to beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Amazing Beach Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing...right on the beach! Rooms are better in person than online. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Best property...very reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Patios were beautiful and well-maintained and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioners/fans were old, rusty and smelled musty when turned on.

    Patios were beautiful and well-maintained and the location cannot be beaten. Loved sitting out there and just watching and listening to the surf.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    A awesome place to stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was to small. And that they didn't offer veterans discount.

    How close it was to the beach.And the front desk employee Jorge was super amazing he went above and beyond to answer and assist us with any concerns we had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Right on the beach!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are older and some spots could use a good dusting, but it was quiet and comfortable!

    Location, location, location. If you want to be right on the beach, this is the place to stay. The block that the hotel is on also has some cute and yummy restaurants!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.2
    Staff, location are amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls between the rooms are thin and you can hear what others are doing in the room next to yours.

    Staff, location are amazing! The room is just everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing if you stay in an ocean front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very old motel, and a bit tired. You pay well over the odds for the location, as it's the only hotel on the beach in the area.

    We paid the extra $40 a night for one of the 2 ocean front rooms, and it was worth it. Watched surfers in the morning, saw dolphins and whales from the balcony, walked right on to the sand from the motel, watched the sunsets.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Good location but old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water heater , old building goo

    Location is the best but the facility is old, the shower doesn't provide warm water right away. And the heater is hard to figure it out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay greatly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use some updating, but we were there for the view, not the room.

    We were right on the beach, it was absolutely beautiful. Staff were very friendly and always helpful. The bed was comfortable, we slept well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    Good location with really good food next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get that there should not be wall to wall carpet because of sand. Since I was there at a cooler time of year I think there should be a nice throw rug that could be taken up in the summer.

    Location and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Comfortable, low-key, accessible to beach and town by foot, it was a great pied-a-terre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was a little too short for my 6' husband

    When we checked in, the person at the desk voluntarily asked us if we would like to have a room closer to the sea - it was so nice someone took the initiative to think about what might make our visit more satisfactory.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.1
    It was a great location, a lot of nearby restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't what I expected, I don't thing it was worth as much as it costed. The bathroom was too small inclouding the shower.

    It was a great location, a lot of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.7
    Location, location,location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Important heart medication went missing which caused us tremendous hardship. The reception staff were reasonably helpful,but could not advise us on how to get important medication. Safes might help to keep valuables safe.

    Beautiful location-like paradise! So close to the beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful view 24/7
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c didn't work well but it appeared to be upgrading the hotel but the location to the beach and great atmosphere outweighed anything bad.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought it was all very good, no complaints. Good value.

    Location with Posidens and snack bar just across the parking lot. Life guards are right there if needed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.8
    Locations great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slooow. The train noise occasionally drowned out the ocean. Showers were wimpy.

    Locations great. Free parking. Comfy bed. Helpful staff. Del Mar is a great little town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Location no other can beat it really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat unclean. By appearance it's clean but there were areas you could see and feel by touch that the maid service missed. Sticky, icky to the touch. Dusty corners. They need to replace the tub and tile flooring in bathroom. Maybe place a rug on wood flooring to take out some of the maritime chill. For the price, continental breakfast wood be good.

    Location no other can beat it really. Bed was comfortable. Quaint look. Very homey feeling. Not sterile like most expensive hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    romantic, SUNSET, AMAZING restaurants next door, awesome beach - WE LOVE THIS MOTEL!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOVED IT ALL!!! Maybe a toilet seat cover would be convenient but not a big deal

    LOCATION LOCATION!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Fun times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Every minute of my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like? Clean, safe place to stay. Budget motel, on the sand, in a beautiful, walkable village.

    Every minute of my stay!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with East View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Location! Location!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! But room did not have a bathtub for children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the room very spacious and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    On the Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    On the Beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Proximity to ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updated. Furniture was broken. .cleaning crew did not leave supplies for coffee

    Proximity to ocean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Location on beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.0
    Del Mar getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom could have been cleaner.

    My Wife and I love Del Mar, restaurants, and the beach. Great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    great location, great staff, room not very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    better bed and much more quieter air conditioner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    ENJOYABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with West View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    FAMILY ATMOSPHERE

    SEE U NEXT TIME SAME ROOM #125

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    The place was clean and right on the beach. What more could you want!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities nice; location on the beach was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Ok but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar soap too small. Air conditioner too loud.

    Loved being able to walk out our door & littlybe on tgebeach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    The location , the beaches and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with West View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location , the beaches and the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed.
    • Group
    • King Room with East View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were too rough.

    Location and beach access.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Del Mar Motel On The Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: