Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Delano South Beach 5 stars

1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#147 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 882 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    They stoled us money when we paid the subtotal.
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stoled us money when we paid the subtotal. Two night was for 589 plus tax. But at the end they asked us 1200. After a conversation with the manager we paid 1000, but it was unfair anyway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Very nice but overall not sure I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I must mention the bar staff in the cocktail bar within the hotel were extremely condescending and unhelpful. I am a 60+ year old and therefore apparently invisible. I had a poor experience every time I visited this bar and was made to feel very uncomfortable.

    Lovely large pool. Lovely rooms. Some of the staff also lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.0
    Awesome Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tips are added in and some wait staff around the pool are not deserving of the tip.

    Great restaurants, and location is awesome. The pool and beach area are nice. Check in and/or front desk staff are very attentive - particularly, Jasmine, and Mr. Robinson!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Remarkable place, charming and fun pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking service very often takes to long.

    Charm, fun and remarkable place. You get impressed since you pass through the entrance door. For sure if get to the pool, the image will be for ever in your mind. I would stay an entire week in the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was great , staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my room was flooded with water and floor boards lifting due to recurring water leakage My partner slipped in the water and fell in the room and the hotel hasn’t even acknowledged it

    The location was great , staff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    Bad choise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive early in the morning you can’t use the hotel facilities to shower etc cause it doesn’t open until 11?!! What??? The hotel carpet is disgusting, stains and food all over the hallway. Staff is really noisy in the morning, impossible to sleep!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff still is the outstanding asset of the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Delano is now part of the sbe Morgans Hotel Group. Normally the venue nor the costumer profit if a hotel becomes member of a chain. Let's see. So for the only negative signs I could see: the nice bathroomproducts disappeared and the prices at the pool and the restaurant now definitely hit the fan.

    We are somehow regulars. I don't know if this is the reason why we got a very nice upgrade to a bigger room with full sea view. The extra square meters made our stay very comfortable and we got very good value for money. Thank you! The staff still is the outstanding asset of the house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant not overwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was expensive especially the nightclub . Cleaning was a slight issue and the lifts needs updating. Hotel generally needs to justify its expense.

    The ambience . Room was large : the General area is vibrant and hotel was. A beehive of activities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The faciliteis, decoration and service was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking for a relaxing weekend. The hotel is great for this but sometimes it gets a little loud from the south beach parties and traffic.

    The faciliteis, decoration and service was great!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall we loved the hotel and it was much better than we expected . We would retirn to the Delano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought the food and particularly the drinks were over priced. Breakfast could be had across the road at another hotel at half the price and better quality

    Room was excellent even though a city view it still felt spacious and airy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Great four day stay. It felt like I had been at the hotel for over a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food items delivered to the pool were a bit on the pricey side ($15USD for two drip coffees with tax and tip).

    The bed was very comfortable. The pool at the hotel is amazing - not to be missed. The hotel staff (Soledad in particular were great). Location next to Lincoln Road mall was also convenient. Beach access was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Delano still a great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators broke down and took a while to get into room. The pool area was always crowded.

    Great staff. Carlos in the beach was our favorite and took care of us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Great art pieces
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator kept slowing down and didn’t work properly. Also, they have a problem cleaning the rooms... they end up cleaning at like 2pm

    Great art pieces

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Romantic, relaxing, excellent service an awesome Anniversary weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like having to leave

    The Delano experience is like a trip to fantasy ;and where you can be pampered and cared for til your hearts content. From the moment you walk thru the billowing curtains on the front porch you enter a totally relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, book two rooms if you have a party of 4, not the pull out bed in the suite - costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price and the promise that our room could sleep 4 adults, I was mightily disappointed by the standard of the pull out beds They had my kids only sleeping on them, but when I got into bed with them and watched a movie, I felt that they were super uncomfortable and no adult would have been ok with that quality

    Such a stunning hotel - original, stylish, excellent wow factor Amazingly soft sheets and bedding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    I stayed there nine days. It was a nice stay but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The entire hotel needs maintenance. It needs to be refreshed. The staff in the outside restaurant needs better training. How many times one needs to send back a set of toasts to get it right, same with an omelet ? Cleaning of the room and corridors was not perfect as well. I have overheard housekeeping staff bitching about work a few times while going from the room to the elevator. That does not convey a good image.

    It is a cool place. It has a nice vibe. I liked the bold decor style, the ever present lounge music and the whole atmosphere of the common areas downstairs. The air conditioning system pours some very pleasant and characteristic perfume everywhere downstair. The pool is really nice. The product (hotel) has character. The staff at reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was that it was my birthday and despite my friend asking, not one member of staff noted this - other hotels normally go to some effort but the Delano didn't appear to want to assist.

    The hotel is in a great location, right near all the South Beach action. It has great facilities and the rooms were a great size and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and service very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All days during our stay we had trouble to find either chairs or towels at the hotel beach/pool. For three days out of seven the pool was out of service. The service in the beach was very poor and slow. Dispite of that we paid a daily 40USD resort fee.

    Location only

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Over priced and under delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was ok but the bathroom was smaller than the closet. For a top end hotel I was stunned to find that you only got robes in the suites. They did get me a robe on request but it was grubby and stained. 2 better robes arrived later. The hotel is very tired in areas, our floor to ceiling mirror was underpinned with a piece of wood and some cardboard. To use the gym you had to go into the service areas of the hotel past dirty laundry and stuff being stored from floor to ceiling. Finally the pool area at weekends was a major competition to get a bed. Sadly I don’t think I’d stay again too much just didn’t make the mark.

    The location is great and it has a lively and very trendy vibe. The pool is beautiful and a really good size. Fabulous restaurant with wonderful food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice time but most likely wouldn’t stay their again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t properly educated about what’s happening at their hotel. I also didn’t think the hotel was worth the price visually. If I pay thousands for a four day stay this place better look better than this. They had one doorman who was super nice but he was one guy they need more staff to greet and welcome and open the door or help multiple guest entering with bags...they didn’t even have a ramp we had to lug up the bags up stairs smh

    The location and the fact they hosted some great events.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    Location of the hotel is just about the only positive comment we have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not like in the pictures. Rooms are small especially bathroom is really really small. Breakfast buffet is a joke! Not a buffet with variety. Beqch resort fee is extra and even after that they charge for beach umbrellas.

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful property and a lovely vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is a little rigid. We just wanted to have coffee on a Sunday morning but we couldn't be seated unless we wanted the full buffet brunch. A little pricey for the actual service offering.

    Beautiful property and a lovely vibe. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    The room view was amazing,The set up with the pool was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall the hotel does not meet the reputation it has,It is unacceptable not to have the right amenities in so expensive room.(we had to ask for bathrob and slippers ...there are flipflop under 25$!!!!!).The aircondition in the lobby was too high.The breakfast was very simple.....I wouldn't reccomend it .

    The room view was amazing,The set up with the pool was nice,The location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel is iconic but the guest experience is poor. We stayed 3 nights with my family at The Dela
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast - no buffet The staff at the front desk. The pool which looks old now The pool bar/restaurant

    The location is perfect if you are looking for SouthBeach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Great vibe but staff and other aspects let the place down. It deserves better given the outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful and unfriendly staff made one feel unwelcome Inflexibility on check in and check out times Lack of transparency on pricing Cleanliness

    Location and the hotel building and interior. Decent vibe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Our experience was “o.k”. The first time we stayed was a 10/10, we felt this time was about a 5.5/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We come to the Delano to have a night away from our young kids. The first time we came 5 years ago your service was above standard - you made us feel special (a drink comped at champagne bar). This time your service seemed lacking and complacent. Bar tender at champagne bar wasn’t friendly- all business. We were disappointed with our dinner at Leynia too. Service was poor and we felt rushed. We feel the service has definitely fallen since we first came 5 years ago.

    We love the pool and the beach location. Your staff there are always helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Winter sun, best location on South Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We actually had to ask to move the room as it smelled of mold. The rooms/bathroom do need a refurbishment/ freshen up. The white sofa in the room was rather stained.

    We went to Delano last year in February and returned again this year. It was nice to see improvements, such as 'free' drinks and treats by the pool (there is a 40 USD service charge per room per night so I guess not totally free) and classes on the beach each morning, boxing yoga etc. I opted for gym this time round, but would definitely go next year. The new Leynia restaurant is very good and sushi restaurant in the lobby is to die for! The staff were friendly as always. Will be returning in a years' time!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Price and environment worsen considerably over the years
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been there several times and both the service, price, kindness of staff and kind of guests have decrease considerably for the last 10 years

    Facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Not so good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not rich enough for such a standing of hotel. Level of the rooms (12th floor) not particular good. Noisy the ones on Collins Ave. The 3rd bed was an inflatable bed...!!!! Swimming pool area very nice even if there are not enough deckchairs for all the guests... you need to arrive early in the morning or you have to pay a kind of bribe to the swimming pool staff... no comment....

    Swimming pool area very nice even if there are not enough deckchairs for all the guests... you need to arrive early in the morning or you have to pay a kind of bribe to the swimming pool staff... no comment...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    MUST BE IMPROVED
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was cold, very cold, they should have turned off the air. At the Hall we met 2 girl, one of those was the most rude person I met in my life. We check-in at 4 pm and they ask for the room at 11 am, which means you're paying more than 400 euro for not staying even 24 h. This makes no sense for a 5 stars hotel. The 2nd day the lady has cleaned the room after 5 pm. Sam was amazing and the other guys at the beach too. We had dinner at leynia and at first they proposed us to sit in the most wind exposed table, so we ask for another one. The service was quite weak, slow and rude, we had to ask for towels because it was cold, considering that if you walk in ocean drive almost every bars has heaters i think they should have too. The appetizer was BURNED.

    It was my fourth time at Delano, last time I've been at the bungalow but for this time we choose a normal room which was also pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is nice in general, but terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at whole hotel and all of its restaurants was terrible. We were charged 375 each for New Year’s Eve dinner and we waited more than 1 an hour to get any food at all on the table. When we asked the waiter he said “computer system was down and your order wasn’t processed”. Breakfast very bad, service terrible every single day...it ended up being funny, you sat and had to wait more than 15 minutes for anyone to come even to offer you coffee, you really needed to get angry to get someone to pay attention to you... rooms are incredibly small and overpriced, toilet is 2 sq meters big. Valet parking charges more than 40 dollars a day, and whenever you ask for your car they simply forgot to go get it, and you had to ask again and wait another 20 minutes. Again you need to get angry to be taken care of. There wasn’t one single staff member at the hotel that gave good service at all. None at the hotel was remotely efficient, it seemed like there was no one who cared about guest service or no manager. The concierge...whenever I emailed him, he took 3 to 5 days to reply. Not at all decent for more than 7000 dollars a week. (Hotel rate plus resort fees). The overall experience was a truly waste of money.

    The hotel had nice facilities, such as the pool and the beach facilities. The restaurant terrace and bar was also nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    One of the best and coolest places to be in South Beach....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Closure of the bar for private events should not happen too often during a four night stay; but was already less than last time

    Friendly staff, cool interior, lively place, centrally located in South Beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Ok but would not go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is generally speaking is not very clean and the rooms show signs of wear and tear that are not in line with your expectation.

    Generally speaking the staff are very friendly and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Moldy room! Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy, dirty, moldy windows and bathroom in the room. They closed the pool area because of the party. I absolutely do not recommend it! Dissapointment!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Continental breakfast was very good and our server Ghani was outstanding. Pool area was great the hotel is a very high standard. Lovely clean rooms. Staff especially the conceige are so helpful and knowledgeable Great stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    we experienced it but wouldnt rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    completely over priced for everything and im not a tight person at all i love the finer things in life and really dont mind paying if its worth it ... our hotel room was abit tired looking lots of marks on funiture and toilet was broken ... $40 for our sun bed didnt get an umberella and was literally sat on top of the couples that were next to us..

    right on the beach .. really pretty hotel and grounds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    The cleanliness of the hotel and the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my boyfriend proposed to me during our stay and although the hotel was aware of these plans, at no point did they make an effort to congratulate us or follow up to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    Avoid. There's better hotels in south beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Hotel shower room smelt awful when showering. Saw cockroaches run about in the hotel. For the price I expected rooms to be roomier and more comfortable. Valet staff were amateur at best

    Good location. Friendly staff. Lobby was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    DELANO - THE MIAMI EXPERIENCE!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to mention....Make Hotels like that and in other USA cities...and Keep rocking guys.

    WOW....The place is Diamond for the area of Miami....All there works out perfect.....Congrats to Owners, Great Job of G.M, Staff are very big plus and asset to that establishment....All are awesome, cool, professionals, eager to assist 25/8, are everywhere and with Big Smile all of the them. Food, the EXPERIENCE....Cocktails MUST....POOL it is the TOP and It worth every cent to stay at Delano....!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    The bed is extra comfy :) staff very friendly and helpful,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Already told them; was surprised with the custom of charging a mandatory fee for the use of the pool on the premises and the beach facility. This would imply, in all logic, that one should not be charged for them if one is not using any of these facilities. But no... Not at the Delano. I just feel the price of the room should include these costs instead of breaking them down and then realising that we are being charged for a fee when we are not using those facilities, it's not agreeable. They explained to me why, still, I do not appreciate it but understand this is customary there. Also a funny mouldy smell in the room and which had nothing to do with cleanliness. Most probably old plumbing... as it came from the wash-basin

    The bed is extra comfy :) staff very friendly and helpful, great bars, nice restaurant, a hotel full of life and fun on a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location to relax,but pricey to eat & drink.4 days more than enough for a break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast service poor Beds too small for price we paid Bathroom too small for what we paid

    Staff very friendly & helpful Swimming pool very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.0
    Good food, good club
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window blinds in our room fell off even if nobody pulled it. They blamed our children for this and I swear they didn't touch it. They were lucky none of our kids got hurt or else we will sue them.

    Good food, good club

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous stay in classic hotel on South Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a couple of very minor comments: - I would have expected the in-room hair dryer to be better (it wasn't very powerful at all). - On Fri and Sat nights, the rooms on the lower floors that face 17th Street (or that are close to it) will be quite noisy from the SLS Hotel across the road. Just something worth considering if you want an early night. - You have to pay for umbrellas on the beach. Whilst this seems to be standard practice on South Beach, it's bizarre that as a hotel guest you need to pay to protect yourself from the sun!

    This was my second time staying at the Delano, and I will hopefully return for a third time! The rooms are spacious (I had king room), bright and clean. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially the pool and breakfast staff. The hotel itself is a really nice size (not too big compared to other hotels on the strip) and has a great vibe. The pool-side snacks brought around to guests throughout the day is a nice touch (please don't change it!). The music played by the pool was also fab.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was old and needed to be replaced. The decor was a little too much with the white theme throughout. A little more balance would have been nice.

    The brunch experience, the sitting area/hallway, proximity to beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location just a little more love needed to bring it up to spec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4th floor carpet was filthy. The rooms were tired: metal ladders acting as towel rails were coming away from the walls. The fridges didn't close securely. The edges of the floor were grubby. The TV and sound system were attached to the mirror in a very untidy fashion, with wires exposed and the sound bar wonky upon arrival. We rang and asked the concierge for ice and champagne glasses, only for nothing to be delivered to the room. Chess pieces were missing from the small and life size boards - bit of a shame. You couldn't swim in the pool after sunset. There was no late check out available other than an extra hr extension.!

    The grandure of the hallway as you walk in and the pool were exceptional. One member of staff in particular was extremely kind and thoughtful and made a point of ensuring we were comfortable, and with everything we needed for our stay: Ghani - thank you, you brought a professional and personal touch which was very much appreciated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    I dont think I would ever stay here again.
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. Wasnt worth the money.For the money we paid,we really expected a little more.

    The staff was nice and the lobby area was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    One of the best.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Avoid Memorial Day - not the Hotel´s fault!

    -Excellent Reception staff -Upgraded to a Loft room - Fabulous -Great service from the whole team -One of the best Hotels in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Experience Miami at Delano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were limited parking facilities, either a $42 valet parking option (per day) or looking for parking in South Beach yourself. The pillows on the bed were too hard and 4 pillows of similar comfort were offered, so no options. The pool area was great in the mornings, but the music in the afternoons was different and very loud, which made it uncomfortable at times to really unwind. We headed to the beach in order to escape the noise, but had to pay $25 for an umbrella (whilst for free at the pool).

    The Delano provides for an upscale jet set experience by offering modern renovated and comfortable spacy rooms within a facility that has an unique art deco meets minimalist style. The entrance and lounge area are absolutely stunning. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations on restaurants and activities in Miami and Florida. The best part is, without a doubt, the pool area in the precious garden, where one can relax in a comfortable lounge chair. Again, the personnel is very friendly and does its utmost best to accommodate guest requests. The adjacent beach is nice and quiet and allows you to get into another relaxing mode, as the set-up of the lounge chairs is more private than at the pool. The food in the restaurant was very good, but also quite pricy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Great atmosphere. Would like to go back and try and enjoy more of what it has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink prices were unnecessarily outrageous. I get that it's an upscale hotel, but just a bit obnoxious. Keeping the inside of the hotel so dark during the day required a lot of adjustment every time we changed location. It was impossible to keep the sun out of the room and no matter hire Loire we put the temp we were sweating.

    Staff went above and beyond. I say this with one staff member specifically in mind... Jean Claud. He made things easy and very welcoming. He IS our memory of the Delano!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed but won't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had a bad attitude, very rude. The food was extremely expensive for what you get: a salad with 3 shrimps costs $25!!!!!!

    The small cafe in the lobby, the swimming pool and the room was ok...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing South Beach Delano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast we paid for only included English breakfast, this could improve. Barbecue could be served by the pool as well, as we would have loved to nibble while relaxing by the pool

    The pool area was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.8
    location, staff was very friendly and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To expensive for what you get. The room wasn't in a good condition (paint of the door, very small bathroom, not enough space to store your clothes) I expected more of Delano, I was disappointed ... Furthermore the prices at the bar were way to high 52 dolar for two margerita's !! (tip & taxes incl.)

    location, staff was very friendly and professional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location on south beach , close by the pedestrian area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a truly 5 star experience .

    Great location on south beach , close by the pedestrian area, shops and restaurants. Rooms are nice but bathroom is very small . There is no bathrob in the room . The continental breakfast is ok but would expect a better selection for a 5 star property . Room service menu is quite limited .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    Miami Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service The housekeeping Lack of plugs for device loading

    Amazing design decoration Nice bedding Despite a bad service after discussions with the management we had a complementary late check out and last lunch was offered Very nice location in Miami Beach To recommend Need to improve service and housekeeping

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Don't stay here! Overpriced and overrated. There are better hotels for less money along the beach.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is well past seeing its best days. Staff were cold if not rude, and the bathroom in my room was tiny. Could hear the child in the room above me running back and forth all night. Told the staff but said there was "nothing" they could do. Found a dead cockroach in the room on day 4. Yes, I know it is the tropics, but I've stayed in many hotels in hot and humid locations before but never seen that before.

    Very little. Location and direct access to the beach and the swimming pool staff (very good) were the only pluses I can think of.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff wss very nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would throw out today the remote controls for the Tv's. There's no way it should be that difficult to change stations and volume. Requested a second remote and exactly the same so I don't believe it was operator error. At least the ones at Loews and southernmost resort functioned properly with the same operator.

    Staff wss very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a Special Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nickle and dimed for everything. I would only recommend this hotel if a guest was just not going to leave it during their stay! If all you are looking for is a bed for the night, then I wouldn't bother.

    loved the location, and the trendy atmosphere. Great for mum and daughter weekend. Pool was perfect. We just lazed around it for 3 days, drinking cocktails and eating took full advantage of the facilities and atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Mediocre Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff was very loud outside more door starting at 9 am. I was to check out at 12 pm and housecleaning knocked on my door at 930 am. Front desk staff not very friendly and cold. When speaking to me, they were looking at their screen or at people arriving and not engaging directly. Beach Club staff was amazing.

    Design of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.0
    Lovely Mum and Daughter Time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are nickle and dimed for every single thing.

    Treated myself and my daughter to a weekend away. Had a fab time, but all we did was stay around the pool, people watch and drink cocktails. The Pool staff were very attentive. So I feel we had use of the property. I wouldn't stay here for business, or just for a hotel room. The hotel room was tiny, and the bathroom was the smallest I have EVER been into for a Miami based hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service by bell staff and restaurant staff was unsatisfactory. We waited forever for breakfast to come. The room smelled of mildew. Considering how expensive the room was, I expected a better experience.

    Lovely pool, central location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Location, very central with direct access to the beach, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The general and overall infrastructure of a hotel that was designed and inaugurated in 1947 starts to have a toll on the Delano, when compared with other more recent and modern hotels in south beach. However, if you are looking for charm, style and that special allure, Delano is still the place for you.

    Location, very central with direct access to the beach, very friendly staff (one exception - literally one exception a waiter at breakfast - that did not cast a shadow on the rest of the excellent staff), the special charm of an iconic hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.9
    The hotel was in a great location,very trendy,but in need of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a great location,very trendy,but in need of a good refurb. Staff very friendly,and keen to help.Music round the swimming pool too noisy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.1
    In German the head line would be "Aussen hui, innen pfui!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When it comes to the staff. They all suck! The reception is constantly understaffed and the people behind the counter should work at Mc Donalds but not in an upscale hotel. No finesse, no feeling just bad. You are treated like cattle in the hotel, you are a number not a guest!!!! That is the reason, why I give the Delano such a bad score. I will not stay there again!

    The atmosphere in the garden by the pool and the walk through the dark and long hallway is breathtaking. The pool was great, the girl Nina behind the bar was fabulous. The room, all in white was different but good. The bed was perfect. So much to the good things.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    A charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are rather small. Breakfast included in the room charge is rather limitative (Continental with same content every day). Guests aren't offered alternatives or possibility to exchange for other types of food. Beach sun beds are included but they charge for umbrellas (???). Minibar offers only one options of water - Voss at 10 usd/bottle. Elevators are insufficient and very very slow.

    Location and outside area (pool and patio) are really nice. Lobby is very spacious and has great design.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    2.5
    A negative 5 star experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated shabby and unsafe. My partner feel in the bathroom due to unsafe water drainage. When I brought this the attention of the staff the simply ignored it. I'm incredibly upset that I paid over $700 for this facility. If this was booked on my Amex I'd be disputing the charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is nice but for this price range we prefer the SLS much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the restaurant and pool wasn't what we expected. Music was way too loud (from the hotel next door) to enjoy the pool.

    Design and decorations in the hotel are very nice! Beach access and staff at the beach was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    Winter sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems like you had to come to the pool before 8 am in order to reserve sunbeds on the weekend. Lots of extra charges such as city tax. Also was surprised that the pool umbrellas were not free.

    The room although small had a nice decor and the bed was super comfortable. The pool area had a cool vibe. Friendly staff. Great location. Definitely recommend and will be returning next year!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.7
    Overrated pretentious place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service is nearly non existent, the staff to a few exceptions is offering a low level of service feeling smug and like you owe them something, the rooms are small and the bathrooms microscopic. $2000 for a weekend what a joke

    the location is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful , relaxing - we felt pampered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the outside of our room had a weird balcony that was kind of dirty - could have used some plants or a good cleaning

    The room was clean and well appointed. Amazing staff - well trained and friendly. The décor is fanciful and the breakfast delicious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful but noisey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold inside the foyer area. Very loud music from hotel next door couldn't get a good sleep. Great party place and beautiful hotel but it's very expensive and should have better sound proofing.

    Loved the pool area and Restuarant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful atmoshere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not very spacious and we had some problems with the keys. The cleaning lady sat on our toilet when we came in and she had a little.... accident ? iew Ofcourse this hotel is pricy, sometimes a bit over the top with the breakfast for example. But its delicious and the vibe is better than anywhere in Miami

    Beautiful atmoshere. Pool and entrance are like a dream !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place with a incredible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to leave. Kkkkk

    The staff are incredible. They made my stay very special, Michael the consierge resquedule my trip back to Brasil on American air lines. O missed the flygth an he arange every thing for me. Sólidad at the pool and her staff help me a lot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.4
    Don't be fooled by the "double beds", they're more like twin size
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double beds as you know them are not what the Delano considers double beds. Their "double" room contains beds that are much closer in size to twin beds than doubles. The mattresses were also very soft and uncomfortable. Also, wine and food was increibly expensive (much more so than other comparable hotels).

    The pool and grounds were beautiful, but the rooms didn't stand up to expectations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    Location, pool, still kind of cool atmosphere with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is starting to get a bit dated. Bathrooms are small and definitely need a make over. The white design chic of the 90´s is on the edge. Overpriced.

    Location, pool, still kind of cool atmosphere with nice chill out options.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.5
    what to do ? - just stay in and around the pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small, designed by Philippe Stark. Nothing special but clean and the beds are superb. Anyway, you don't go to Delano to stay in your room.

    The pool area is fabulous, as well the pool bar and the music. The staff is exeptional: helpful, friendly, charming, just beautiful. The laid back but chic atmosphere is very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Delano South Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: