Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monterey Pines Inn 2 stars

1298 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

#61 of 67 hotels in Monterey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 140 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Freeway close and easy to find. A little too far from the beach, but it had clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was not as close to the beach as I would have liked. No breakfast was included.

    The property was fairly new and had nice clean rooms with a balcony. It was freeway close and had a nice Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Property was clean and convenient for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary breakfast not included. Expensive for what you get.

    Property was clean and convenient for my needs. Walking distance to large mall with lots of shops and some decent restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing is noisy at night. Some loud and unruly guests that night (apparently a motorcycle club) made it hard to sleep.

    Great staff. Good location across from Dell Monte Center (restaurants). Roomy, with comfortable beds, fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic overnight, no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is under furnished with no comfortable chair to sit in, needs updating. The front switch operated the bathroom vanity lights only. No in-room coffee. Very small TV. Tub is worn.

    Comfortable beds. Staff was friendly. Close to activities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasant stay, easy to get to and close to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a pleasant stay, easy to get to and close to all the great places in Monterey and especially 17 mile drive. The new owner was very nice and accommodating. There were woods near by with deer visible, an added bonus. The area is very busy now especially since Hwy 1 reopened. Under the circumstances this was a great find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A cozy place to stay in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was a little lacking. Wall AC was a bit noisy. No major negatives.

    Great value and location. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Appears family owned. Customer service was excellent. The fireplace in the king room was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall perfect for our needs!
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a coffee pot in the room, that being said the coffee was only a few steps away in the office.

    This was a great stay! We had a one night stay trip, was there for a family event and the location was perfect! Easy access to freeway and the room was what we expected and clean to boot! I will say the hospitality was AWESOME! The young man who checked us is was great from beginning to end. He was friendly, and really enjoyed talking with him, very informative and I loved the welcome. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Not fancy but clean, safe, quiet & reasonable price = good value & pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan in shower was loud! Traces of mildew on shower curtain. Limited number of TV channels to watch.

    Check-in: quick & easy. Staff cheerfully corrected small problem with TV & telephone immediately when notified. Room at back of property 2nd floor & very quiet. Overall appearance neat & clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to lay your head and head out to enjoy Monterey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very comfortable. Fireplace nice, and we did use it, cool evenings. Quiet. We liked the value and cleanliness, as we wanted a place to lay our heads and have some time for us. We were in Monterey area to do things, especially since it was my first visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be returning... place needs a lot of work. You
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable squeaky bed. Noisey plumbing bangs whenever someone uses bathroom. Cleaner left large room window wide open, leaving only a fly screen protecting my things in my room. Very insecure! I complained to manager who blamed new cleaning staff... very bad, and not good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The price and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. Noisy when cars drove by. The walls were very thin.

    The price and location was great. Near fishermans wharf all the other attractions and shopping center. Our king room was nice and comfortable. Love the fireplace in the room. So cozy. Great room for couples. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value in a safe location. Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a pricey town, this place was great value for money - cheaper than two beds at the Youth hostel. It's a short drive out of downtown, but not far from a park-and-ride lot where a trolley service runs from on busy days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn't work. The pug was cut off the end of the cord and the exposed wires were shoved behind the hair dryer. The toilet was insanely load when you flushed it. The lighting in the room was terrible. The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. This place was over priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    It was average. Not sure if I will stay here again because of bed (soft beds kill my back)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    no am breakfast was there even coffee???? bed too soft wifi very weak

    close to restaurants tv reception was excellent room was very clean manager smiled and was responsive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    2.9
    Not worth a penny.
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long 15 hours drive we arrived close to 5:30 pm, expecting to walk in ready room. Tried to turn lights on. no lights except for bathroom, realize all the plugs were not in the outlet after plugging in all outlet only one switch to turn lights so it made it so bright. we unplugged some. we had some food needed to be fridgerated, when open fridge it was warm in there turn up knob waited 10 minutes still nothing check plugs ir was not plugged in. Place smells bad in there. The next day I called down asking if we could do a late check out, they said No., I didn't feel well. after the long drive. They don't accommodate for anything, just want your$$$$. Stairs going to the top floor is slanted, going up is hard, going down the stairs, feels like you're going to fall forward. Maybe I should call Monterey Health department and better business bureau. Never again.

    Nothing at all, 😫😫😫

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    The pipes rattling in the walls when the neighbor took a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pipes rattling in the walls when the neighbor took a shower. The room smelled really bad. The decor, really? plastic flowers om the wall & in a basket

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant! I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First day noise above some ruckus going on from co-guests. Morning Houskeepers chatting loud from 8:00 am on, I was tired, was woken up. Talked to Housekeeper, she gave me attitude. I went straight to Raj and he took care of it, no more hassles. As a Hotel Manager I appreciate the action taken and the passion for the guest. So, let's forget it, the good superceeds the bad.

    Raj, the owner was fantastic. Very accomodating, they just took over this Motel and are making a lot of improvements already. The rooms are small but fantastic, very well organized in layout. Fireplace is an added plus. really happy : hairdresser, fridge, microwave, good Tv, comfortable bed, desk to write on, ample storage. NICE. I used to go to Arbor Inn, like this one better now.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were neat and clean, it had a fresh new look.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No continental breakfast, they only had coffee. Would have liked maybe a pastry. But overall great value.

    The rooms were neat and clean, it had a fresh new look. Paint and hard wood floors really made it look super clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    It’s very clean, no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It sounds silly, but there wasn’t a box of tissue in the room, or vending machine for soda and water on the property.

    It’s very clean, no frills. Staff is very friendly and the rates were great. If you just need a place to lay your head for the next guy, this is the place. Close to downtown Monterey, within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    This is the second time I’ve stayed at this hotel and I love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I’ve stayed at this hotel and I love it! You have an easy to use fireplace in your room and a huge bed. The staff is so friendly too. This is definitely my go to hotel for my Monterey trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Overall, I won't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kleenex. No in-room coffee maker. Door to bathroom was smashed in. NO insulation around the entry door; gap at bottom was so large that a rodent could have crawled into the room. Looks like this place might have changed hands recently, as the sign out front had a covering on it, rather than a permanent-looking sign.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Asst. Bookkeepper, sacramental recorder, office asst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning too old. Need up grades.Parking. view was old carpets weeds they need to clean that up.

    Thought it was much closer to downtown. It was okay for an emergency stay on a holiday driving into town weekend. Woulda been nice if rooms were bigger. Queen beds worked out great and it was clean for price and an older place. Glad they had 1 more rm. Left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Nice Motel, friendly staff and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Motel, friendly staff and good location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is friendly. The location is good. The room is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxed and affordable vacation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little uncomfortable.

    Very nice staff, really good service for a really good price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Clean rooms and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled. Walls were thin. I could hear everything the room next me was doing all night.

    Clean rooms and good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price and just a short stay. Older facility that they are trying to keep up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were short on foot of bed

    convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey for the motor hotel

    Clean and good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Good enough and great location for car week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap pillows and TP

    Friendly staff - room was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the floor, very noisy air conditioning, too expensive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    The staff very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I just spend one night there

    Great location, good staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and outdated

    Location was great .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Gas Fireplace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gas Fireplace. Comfy Bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    SINPLE MOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was ok for the area, but expensive nonetheless.

    Friendly and quick check in and check out, with no unnessary time wasting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Fireplace was nice, room was spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fireplace was nice, room was spotless

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Love Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything,cleanliness,friendliness and the surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic little hotel in Monterey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a little far from any store. A little vending machine with beverages or sandwiches would be nice at reception

    Great location and rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing sound.

    Good area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    location for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    was loud from other guests

    location for the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    For the price, and location, it was a good deal and I would book there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was not good or sufficient.

    Fireplace desk with lamp wi fi great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Cute, clean, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy- it’s an older building so the water pipes are very loud. The street noise was loud as well.

    Cute, clean, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    I always stay there and management room comfort and price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet

    I always stay there and management room comfort and price all top top

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more pillows or larger and flullet pillows.

    Clean comfortable room. Looked like new tile and flooring throughout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    It was clean. Before it was dirty. new owner bring the place back to good ratings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to check out.

    You check in 2pm. And it was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Good people, clean comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I HAD NO ISSUES.

    Clean, comfortable room, great location to EVERYTHING IMPORTANT in Monterey/Pebble Beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    The trip was great but the hotel was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeepers were rude to my wife. The plumbing was horrible. Sounded like the pipes were banging when shutting off the water.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Rooms had fireplaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had fireplaces. Rooms was cozy.,clean,and comfortable. Quiet too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheap and fairly quiet. No frills. Del Monte Plaza right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Parking is good and the beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and terrible WiFi

    Parking is good and the beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom poor.

    Conveniently close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Very close to everything in Monterey.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to everything in Monterey. Lots of restaurants, shopping, beach, and hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.5
    location was nice,stayed on a monday night,$56 in Monterey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    did not have security lock on door,room 18 had several plugs into extension cord (fire hazard) breakfast=orange juice and choice of muffin

    location was nice,stayed on a monday night,$56 in Monterey just cant be bad,shower and roof over our head. We saved money for nice dinner on the pier.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    4.2
    Location across from the mall was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Door had no saving lock . The TV REMOTE cdid not work right. Old TV Not every much channels. I got a paper saying if I did not give him both keys I well have to pay 20.00. he only gave me one keys I felt very uneasy. That I cancel my debit card also when I ask for a receipt they said they already did. THEY DID NOT GIVE ME A RECEIPT I would not go there again forget about breakfast it was not a breakfast

    Location across from the mall was great

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    5.0
    Close by to shopping - you have a lot
    • Family with older children

    The room we stayed in, look's like the owner attempted to renovate. But it look's like Mickey mouse work! Cheaply done. Rooms are small. I left a pair of earrings on the bathroom counter. I went back to the motel within a couple of hours to report them. He starts mouthing off that his housekeeper (for 20 yrs.) always writes down on a chart if any property that is left behind is documented. And there was no written notification about the earrings. I told him they did not walk away, and it was before any one else had a chance to check in. He tells me to call him tomorrow, and he will to ask his wonderful housekeeper. I called back naturally and inquired again. He ask her about the earrings ( while I could hear the conversation over the phone...) Anyway, she said she had them!!! I would not make such a big deal at this, but owner had such a bad attitude, and had terrible customer service. I only wished I had not left them there.

    Close by to shopping - you have a lot of options. Shop, eat, and check out a movie. Not to far from the wharf, cannery, and aquarium.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    3.3
    Oh god.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Oh god...avoid this place ! Breakfast : orange juice mixed with a lot of water and a piece of cake wich says a lot about the place Wall are made of paper The shower is rusty

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    3.3
    Although it was clean, they wouldn't even give us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner treated us HORRIBLY. We got in a little late because of our drive taking longer than we thought it would, but when we tried to ask for the remote for the TV and inquire what to do about the LOUD clicking/snapping noise the kitchen outlets were making when we tried tried to turn off the lights to go to bed he just yelled at me that he would refund our money and we could get out...it was 1 am and I had to unplug everything and play with the outlets till it stopped so we could go to bed. AWFUL SERVICE AND TREATMENT.

    Although it was clean, they wouldn't even give us a remote for the tv or come fix the loud noise their kitchen outlets began to make every time we tried to shut off the light to go to sleep.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.0
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Building in need of remodel. Furniture, linens are well worn and need replacement.

    Clean. Functionable. Microwave,mini fridge, and electric coffee pot.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i booked the last room, when I arrived I got the last room which was attached to the office and it was nosie all night, the bathroom was ok so it was ok for that price at the short time.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    3.3
    Location that about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What your about to read is nothing but truth for the truth and may help your neighbor. Broken door handles, dirty fridge, broken outlet tv will not turn on, window will not shut and the thing is that when someone is showering at this hotel you will think that a is train passing through your room. My boys said dad this is scarier than you. Then my wife looked at each other and said "are we on candid camera or something". There were all these noises all night that we could not sleep at. All I get from front desk was I am sorry sir I will see what I can do. Drinks also tasted weird, only food they have was a QUARTER of a muffin, my breakfast! First nightmare I had sense I was born!

    Location that about it

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    6.3
    It is in walking distance from the center of Monterey and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast consists of muffins cut in quarter and a small glass of orange juice. I guess the room has not been refurnished or renovated in decades - everything seemed overused. The fridge was buzzing extremely loud at night.

    It is in walking distance from the center of Monterey and relatively cheap compared to the other places nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.5
    The price quality ratio was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast were some slices of muffin and one cup of orange juice. It is no breakfast as you imagine it. The shower curtain is a bit strange wit a second cirtain for decoration. I would definitely take it away.

    The price quality ratio was really good. We had two comfortable queen size bed (4 people) in one room.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.8
    Bathrooms need major renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms need major renovations. More water was coming out of the tub faucet the then shower head. Whole motel could use some major tlc. But over all not bad. 2nd time we have stayed there with in 2 years. Don't think there will be another visit to this motel unless they upgrade the facilities

    Bathrooms need major renovations. More water was coming out of the tub faucet the then shower head. Whole motel could use some major tlc. But over all not bad. 2nd time we have stayed there with in 2 years. Don't think there will be another visit to this motel unless they upgrade the facilities

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Phones do not work, couple next door yelling at 3:30 in morning. Police showed up, nothing done total lack of respect by front desk. Got what I paid for, my mistake. Do not stay here.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location for cannery row and it front the shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sink with problems. Somethings were oiled

    Perfect location for cannery row and it front the shopping with a good market. LovelY fireplace. Very cozy. I spent two night on bayside but I prefer this one

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    6.3
    Comfortable and cheap motel located in the freeway between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor. Just muffins cut in 4 and a bottle to serve orange juice.

    Comfortable and cheap motel located in the freeway between Monterey and Carmel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    4.6
    Great location for what we needed - just cheap stop over on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really uncomfortable bed and noisy. Cops were called at 3am for something in the next room so that didn't help the atmosphere! Although not the owners fault! Breakfast was muffin and orange juice.

    Great location for what we needed - just cheap stop over on our way down to LA

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    2.5
    Rien
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As we checked in, the manager first told us in a very rude way that we were supposed to arrive before 6pm which is not written anywhere in the reservation. He then started to tell us that we didn't call to change our credit card information. Indeed, we received an email saying we needed to do so, which we did (we followed the instructions on the email sent by Booking), we apologized even if it was in no way our fault but as we are well educated people we felt it was the right thing to do. Instead of shutting up he then told us that if he wanted he could just tell us the room wasn't available anymore (after charging us of course) since we didn't come before 6pm. We explained to him that that wasn't an option as this information was never given by any party (the motel or Booking.com). This man talked to us in the worst possible manner, he screamed and was beyond rude. We told him we were very unsatiafied customers before heading to our room. He followed us to the room screaming at us, trying to take the key back from us, trying to push us out of the room (physically pushing us) and threatened to call the police if we did not leave. At that point we felt so humiliated, we were treated like criminals. Even the neighboors had to get out of their room to ask him to speak more quietly. This man smelled like alcohol and he was clearly intoxicated. He farted multiple times as we were checking in (sorry for that gross detail but it really shows how much this man should not run a business). I find it inadmissible that a reference site like yours still advertises a garbage motel like this one. Not only the customer service is terrible but the rooms are filthy!!!! The sheets, towels have holes, they are stained, the carpet is dirty and has holes as well, the shower leaks, the furniture and the matresses are so old it's amazing it's still standing. He refused to give us our money back when we tried to leave.

    Rien

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    With that price, it was nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing that we didn't like was the walls are very thin. It was disturbing all the time especially in the night.

    With that price, it was nice stay. Especially we enjoyed fireplace. Location is also good from all other nearby places. We will definitely love to go back.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    2.5
    cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast is a joke ! 1/4th of a muffin with 250 ml of diluted juice. this is it and you need tro pick up 1/4th muffin along with a small glass of juice from the reception. its a scam in the name of breakfast. its a sad looking low table right next to his counter and he makes sure you pick only one muffin in all !

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    10
    The room is very confortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the muffins were delicious it could have some more options for breakfast.

    The room is very confortable and clean. Fireplace and a very confortable bed. Close to everything, about 5 minuts driving from the aquarium and fisherman's wharf. I'd definitely stay there again on my next visit to Monterey. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Loved it all

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    2.5
    I will never stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They advertise $135 for 3 days including 10% tax...HOWEVER They charge $189 for the stay because of the tiny print indicating there is a $15 Room Service Fee. The owner had the audacity to laugh at my distress (he said my credit card was already charged and there are no refunds)--I work hard for what little $ I earn-I must strictly budget my finances. I feel duped. I checked: most other motels have only $1 and $5 Room Service Fee.

    I will never stay here again!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: