Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Arts 2 stars

447 Bush Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#128 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 634 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.0
    Close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small. Bathroom was small and poorly lit. Noisy during the night! Could not open window. Hate the plastic cups.

    Close to city centre. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room felt quite small. We would've liked to have been able to open the windows wider. It would've been great to have a drinking water filter in the lobby.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar was really cool. The location is really good. The bed was comfy and the room felt clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    The bar downstairs has bands playing late and you can hear...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise you can hear everyone going in and out of rooms, music downstairs ..

    The bar downstairs has bands playing late and you can hear it in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice and friendly location in the hearth of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A general challenge in the US is the subpar quality of windows! The location is obviously noisy, but if they would put in better windows this would be a none issue...

    Just awesome location with super nice and helpful staff. While for this price and location it obviously is not a luxury location, its design is very nice, and the rooms are functional and offered more space than expected

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    One night, quick trip, good value for price in San Fran
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keys to my room were sticky and didn’t work great. The guy who checked me in seemed a bit out to lunch. Couldn’t remember if he gave me my keys at first. Then when he gave them to me he didn’t write the room number on the envelope. At first when the key didn’t work I tried another room thinking I heard him wrong. Had to go back down to the front desk to clarify my room was right and tell him about the key. To which he replied ‘yeah sometimes they don’t work great at first; make sure you put it in the right lock’ lol yeah thanks. Luckily with wiggling the key after confirming the right room, the door opened. Old elevator although looks cool can be annoying if you are in a rush. No safe in room for valuables.

    Design elements were a nice touch

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was good if a little repetitive and always ran...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guys on reception were lovely - couldn't be more helpful - but the lady barely raised her head in the morning to say even 'hello' and if you asked her a question you felt you were really bothering her from her day to day chores. The roll out bed they give you is SO UNCOMFORTABLE - my son literally had springs poking into him whilst trying to sleep. Overall the location is good but I'd say the interior bathrooms could do with some upgrading and some of the 'artwork' especially in our bedroom wasn't that suitable ! But nice to see artwork being used creatively on the up side.

    The breakfast was good if a little repetitive and always ran out so you had to keep asking the lady on reception for more bagels etc. The location was great and felt in a very safe area of town. Bedroom was good size - bathroom vintage but all worked ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Only steps from the Dragon gates of China town, pretty good location. Terrific artworks throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could use a shelf for toiletries, as the towels were stored on top of the toilet tank and there was only a wee wall mounted sink.

    The mural in the room was terrific. The art work throughout the corridors was awesome! A highlight of the trip! Breakfast was a welcome bonus as the city is terribly expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    Ridicoulus hotel. Ratio quality/price very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should say everything apart from position. They provided me one additional bed for my daughter and was impossible to sleep. The mattress was very thin and full of big springs. The room was so small that was impossible to move when the additional bed was open ! In addition we were not informed at the check in about the extra cost of 15$ x day fir the bed. And we discovered it only at the check out ! The fact is that after the first night we mentioned at the reception the problem with the bed, and that we were not using it, but trying to sleep in three, only in the one queen size. But they didn't do nothing, even if they knew that we were oaying fir that. With regards with breakfast it was very poor. And the first morning the coffe was over. We asked to refill the coffe recipient, but the reply for reception was negative. They explained that breakfast was for free and that they were not obliged to serve more coffee !!! My selection on booking.com for this ridicoulus hotel was exclusively for the breakfast included !! We decided not to have breakfast and to go to close starbucks with an additional cost of 20$. Same we did for the other mornings of our stay.

    Only the central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    It took more than an hour to do the check-in, and the girl...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took more than an hour to do the check-in, and the girl told us a price for the parking that was not real at the end. She made a lot of confusion. The bathtube had a hope so when you have a shower the bathroom flooded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good for SF usual cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needs hook/bar next to sink . Small shower space. No air conditioning. If it was one of those hot SF days, would have been very uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff!! Location. Parking decent($36 for night)? For SF good. Plus the hotel does tell you in advance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced! Great location, art in room was not that cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. No airflow. Floor smelled of smoke and paint. The paint I didn't mind as it may have been a freshly painted room. Art in room was lame.

    Hallway paintings were unique and fun. Elevator was old and neat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was average but a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small; Room too small for 5 adults; lampshade in bathroom fell off twice due to heat of the light bulb - told staff, but they just put back up - lucky no one in bathroom at the time; Receptionist on arrival (Mohammad) completely disinterested when checking in - couldn't explain balance amount and explanation of car park location directions to 2 different car parks turned out to be 2 entrances to the same car park! Traffic noise during night as no double glazing.

    Fridge; Art on walls; central location;

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Cool art in funky building with great, helpful staff. Location in excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single use plastic cups and knives and forks at breakfast and in room. Not thoughtful of environment. Full length mirror needed in room

    Great staff and clean , great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Well placed hotel, fantastic staff Unless you are a true...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night was in a 1st floor room above a night club which was very noisy We changed on day 2 to a higher floor and from then on everything was perfect

    Well placed hotel, fantastic staff Unless you are a true party animal go for the rooms on the higher floors

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Decent
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were paper thin, so I heard everything happening in the hallways and adjacent rooms at all hours of the day and night. Most of the staff were delightful, however a few (who I believe worked either in the kitchen or bar) were outrageously potty-mouthed and were yelling and cursing constantly, which could be heard from the lobby and breakfast seating area...many guests commented that this was incredibly unprofessional, and I'd agree.

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    A good, central stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only okay. There was a mix up with our booking, (only 1 room was booked but i had booked 2, luckily they had availability). It was expensive for what it was.

    The rooms were why we chose tbis property. Its central location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    The pretty paint does not make up for the lack of basic hotel amenities like a working toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC, although the staff will bring you a fan. The plumbing is so old you can’t flush toilet paper and have to throw it in the waste bin. The shower head is only about 5 foot 5 inches from the floor of the tub, so if you’re the pretty normal height of 5foot nine like me, you have to squat to get your head under the shower head to wash your hair. There is no on site parking and you have to pay for a public parking garage some blocks away.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Cool Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any A/C so at night it was really hot in the room, so you had to have the window open. But because we were near bars it was very loud with the window open

    Very funky hotel! The breakfast was decent & the rooms were nice! The location was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Interesting quirky hotel, but small rooms ina good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, bathrooms didn’t have washbasin in it, very thin walls, some parts noisy, close to a bar

    Great front staff, good location, interesting rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    The rooms are spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is good. But there is barely any breakfast. No warm food. Only some bread and granola bars. The bathroom is very small. Also, not well insulated , so you hear the cars and also if people are talking in the corridor in the night. We have someone talking for almost 15 min loudly at 2:30 am.

    The rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, close to parking, Union Square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small, and the breakfast buffet is rather simple. But that's what we expected considering the price so no problem.

    Excellent location, close to parking, Union Square and Chinatown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    The decoration of the hotel and the room is really nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is quite basic, not really much options. The size of the shower is quite small. There is not really parking available. We needed to pay nearly $40 dollars for parking over night in a nearby parking facility.

    The decoration of the hotel and the room is really nice and artistic, definitely, it is something different. The staff working during the day is fantastic and really helpful. The location is fantastic and the surrounding areas are fairly secure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old (historic?) building and the elevator and the stairs do not meet the current standards. Especially the stairs-it is like a hiking experience, which is fine, I've done some extreme mountain climbs, but I would not recommend this to elderly. Also the sink had separate hot/cold water faucets, kinda 'vintage classic' style. However, it wasn't important for the purpose of this particular trip, and i guess, nothing can be done, I am sure the management is aware of the situation, but the building was built this way-this is just a detail, not a negative comment.

    Location, staff. The room was just fine, clean, unique, hot water, good water pressure. Exactly what we needed for the purpose of this (short) trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    A funky and comfortable little home to head back to after a long day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Band noise from the bar downstairs might bother some people (weekends only). Others (like me) might find this a positive!

    Great location if you are in town for a conference, great art decorating the whole building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Fun and funky gem in a great San Francisco location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clawfoot tub wasn't a problem for me, but for elderly or less mobile travellers, could be a bit tricky. There is a bit of an old building smell to the place. On my first night there was loud "conversation" coming from the courtyard area outside my window until the wee small hours.

    I'm happy to say the Hotel DesArts is one of my favorite funky hotels ever. The rooms are small but well-appointed with a walk in closet and bathrooms highlighted by a clawfoot tub. Best of all is the decor. Each room here was done by a different artist. I stayed in the Marilyn Monroe room, which, judging by website photos is one of the less garish rooms on site. It was fun. It lacks the bells and whistles of a high-end chain hotel, but has twice the charm and personality. I'd stay again in a minute. Amenities are basic. Queen bed (not the most comfortable mattress I've slept on and a little imbalanced but after a long day at a convention and a lot of walking up and down San Fran's hills, I could have slept on the floor. Bathroom is small. Small desk and a 28-inch flatscreen TV which I never even turned on. View is of a tiny courtyard--or more properly, neighbors' windows. I kept the blinds down. Didn't check out/use the free breakfast but it appeared to be on the basic end of basic. Elevator is old and slow--but kind of charming. Even with a bar on site, it was quiet three of the four nights I stayed. There is, however, a bit of an old building aroma to the place. Location is great--half a block from the Chinatown gate and easily walkable to many hot spots as well as mass public transportation options at Market Street. The hotel is on a block with several cafes, bars and less than a block from a 7-Eleven. This being San Francisco, you're never far from a homeless population but the street is well-lit at night and even coming from a small town in the Midwest, I never felt uncomfortable. Staff is friendly, approachable, eager to help. Overall, a great property and exactly what I was hoping for when I booked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved this wonderful boutique hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything!!

    Hotel has an excellent location, and a good price. Convenient parking for less than the typical hotel parking charges. Loved the decor and the room was very comfortable. It is on the small size, but this IS San Francisco and an old hotel. Beautifully updated!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    good affordable choice, but only if you can get an upper floor to escape the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    don't accept a room on the 2nd (1st floor) as I was placed in on the first night. I had to be asked to be moved at 2300hrs due to the known noise for the basement club. The check in staff were very aware of this issue, but still placed me in this unusable room.

    great and convenient location. while the rooms are small, they are well laid out and comfortable. SF is an expensive city and this is a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    A budget hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The spare bed was very old and uncomfortable for our daughter. The room was very clean but needs updating as it is quite worn.

    Location is excellent, reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.5
    location - room decoration ( unique in each room )
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used to come regularly to this hotel between 2007 to 2010. The hotel was cleaner and better maintained. The hotel and deco needs some refreshing ! Breakfast is very basic, and our rooms were very noisy until 1:30 am ( rooms located above a live bar in the same building )

    location - room decoration ( unique in each room )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Will not return to this property. Noisy. Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music at bar at the hotel until very late at night prevented us from sleeping. Mattress felt old and out of shape, pillows where hard Breakfast was very simple, coffee was awful Will not return to this property

    Morsur at front desk was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but quite expensive for being a 2 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I definitely didn't like the mattress. Some nights I could also hear music from the bar which is in the first floor.

    The hotel has nice decoration, it is very well located and the staff is helpful enough. However, I found the mattress too soft and I couldn't sleep very well because of that. The lift/elevator is a bit old as well, and they were doing roof renovations so it got loud during the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Fairly okay for the price:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night could be a little disturbing. I don’t know if it was from the street or a bar downstairs at that particular night. But it was only one night out of three.

    I wasn’t aware of the fully art painted room when I first arrived. I thought it would be small paintings. So we were a little surprised to see the room with full of graffiti. I told the staff and he showed me all the other rooms that are available for us and we were able to change the room. The staff was very helpful and understanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    It was good and would have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was too much noise early morning from somewhere not sure if it was shower sound from the other room but it was like 3 am and was too loud..

    the overall ambiance and interior was very well designed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Just what I needed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The second floor is really noisy due to the bar being right below it. I moved up to the 4th floor and I couldn't hear any bar noise.

    The staff was amazing - I needed to move rooms my first night and the front desk host moved me to another room quickly and efficiently. He was so welcoming all week. Thanks for making my stay so memorable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    The room was unique and fun, exactly what I expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 502 has windows right above some generators or something and it was impossible to sleep. The staff was able to bring me some ear plugs around 5 or 6am but it was not a restful night.

    The room was unique and fun, exactly what I expected. It felt cozy and safe and the location was wonderful. The staff were helpful as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    The location was great, right next to Chinatown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold, and breakfast wasn’t great. Everything was disposable (as in the cutlery and plates) and I feel that is uneccassry waste especially seeing as lots of people will eat there everyday.

    The location was great, right next to Chinatown. We walked to Embarcadero both days and it took under 30 minutes I would say. I felt safe. And staff were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    a boutique hotel big on art and personality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a boutique hotel big on art and personality. the staff were so helpful and smiling too, walked me to my Uber and sent me off with a wave and a smile. It's worthwhile taking the lift to every level just to appreciate the paintings that the hotel has on every floor. a hotel and art gallery all rolled into one. the breakfast though is very limited, but good enough for a cofee and some toast.great location, within walking distance to Union Square but far enough to be considered peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    a touch of art and warmth right downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the building is a bit dated, which by itself isn't a bad thing and adds to the atmosphere of the hotel. But that means that plumbing isn't exactly new either.

    the art installments throughout the property are what makes of this hotel a great alternative to more traditional facilities. The attention to details is above standard. The staff were all very professional and at the same time very kind, smiling, and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    One-of-a-kind accommodations added to a great experience in San Francisco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No one goes on a trip to watch TV in their room...but have a good cable tv would have helped the down time between city adventures. Refrigerator was of ample size but having a microwave in the room would have made heating up leftovers convenient.

    Forget your expectations of cookie cutter chain hotels. Hotel des Arts is a unique boutique experience. It was like staying in an immersive art installation. It may not be for everyone but it made my stay memorable. I will be telling stories about my room and hotel experience for some time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Artsy plave where we wluld have liked to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    The artsy kind of the hotel, the feeling that you are staying at a fancy yluth hostel. Beautiful place where you can have a look at art everywhere around you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Gorgeous central boutique hotel with great staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Excellent boutique hotel, quiet comfortable, clean and in a superb location . Staff so helpful. Artwork on the walls in the room and around the hotel fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Firstly, not all rooms suit for comfortable residence. The first room I got was indeed very strange and didn`t meet my expectations (based on Booking com descriptions): it was incommodious and looked as a flea market. Funny peculiar design. After the night there I asked to change the room. Fortunately, the receptionist was eager to help and showed me 2 nice rooms to choose. I recommend you to be attentive while having check-in - ask to show you some rooms if possible and become sure the room is OK for you. As receptionist explains me, there are some not very pleasant rooms in scopes of the design (uncomfortable and strange) Secondly, the breakfast is very simplistic and very very saturated with refined carbs and sugars. But if you want some healthy products to complement this breakfast (dairy, fruits, protein bars, boiled eggs) - you could find them at nearby groceries or pharmacies (such as Walgreens).

    Firstly, 5 minutes by walk to Market street - the key street of the town where you could find shops + cable car, bus and metro stations to reach some remote spots as ocean beach, Golden Gate and Presidio parks. Secondly, the cleaning service. My room was cleaned very well invisibly for me and I was never occasionally disturbed by the cleaner. Fresh towels and white crispy linen every day of my residence. Thirdly, very friendly and helping receptionists - especial thanks to Celia!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    I plan on staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillows could be softer, nice if there was small bubble bath/ body wash instead of soap bars and nice with the clawfoot bathtub be cool to see photos of all the rooms to pick a different one each time or a favorite (owners please take note)

    Great location, loved the art, staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Nous avons beaucoup apprecie le personnel d'accueil tres...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Les chambres sont assez petites.

    Nous avons beaucoup apprecie le personnel d'accueil tres disponible et agreable. L'hotel est extrement propore et bien place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    OK accommodation with private bathroom in an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was rubbish, I am gluten intolerant so was hoping for yoghurt but it was all carb heavy. I tried an apple which was rotten inside so we opted to eat out instead.

    The pillows were lovely and the room was a good size. The hotel is well located

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Taking multiple pics of your bedroom to show your friends says it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are basic to say the least. You don't want to hang around the hotel.

    The rooms are amazing. They justify the stay on their own. It's like waking up in your own imagination. And it's well-placed to explore SF.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Location, stuff and room cleanliness are so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, stuff and room cleanliness are so good. Just a little loudly because of the location. If you want to do breakfast so much, you have to do it outside. Otherwise hotel breakfast will be enough:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Location , helpful staff who were always available , feeling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Residential Painted Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is better than it looks from it's entrance which looks a bit well used.

    Location , helpful staff who were always available , feeling of security .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    If location is the only variable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a bit of a rocky check in "un"-welcoming, but got rectified and we were happy there after. We got the Graffiti room and o my not for the sensitive eyes definitely not for families but we were too happy to have a bed at that stage. If you plan on having a summer stay with no air-conditioning these rooms get very hot very quickly...

    Location is about all that is great about this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    City break to see Giants and Oakland A's
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not air conditioned so consequently quite stuffy. But the windows opened and it was no big deal.

    Location was great, right on the edge of Chinatown and several bars close by. Easy walking distance to AT&T park and close to the BART to get to the Oakland Coliseum. Reasonably priced for downtown San Francisco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Extremely rude reception staff - however were friendly and thorough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark haired woman at reception was exceptionally rude. I have never been spoken to so disrespectfully in my entire life and my friend and I were absolutely appalled at her attitude. When we went down one morning for breakfast early (around 7.30am, the breakfast was absolutely awful on a side note) no one other than ourselves were there apart from this female staff member. She picked up a call at reception and literally started screaming down the phone at a customer wishing to cancel their booking. She hung up on the customer 4 times, each time continuing to scream down the phone at the top of her lungs. No apology or explanation was given to us when she slammed the phone down a final time, to the point that we had to leave reception. It was excruciating to listen to. The toilet also didn't work and was blocked at each flush, this wasn't fixed. Terrible value for money and extremely rude staff. We definitely will not be staying again. On top of this, the hotel was extremely expensive for a 7 night stay for the less than acceptable experience we had.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    A nice option for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still a bit expensive for what it offers. The room window faced the interior of the building, could only see other people's windows. The illumination inside the room was quite poor. The sink was too small and inconvenient for use. Breakfast could also be better.

    We had in general nice time in this hotel. We like the interior artistic designs, location, cleanliness, and staff. It was nice that we could leave our luggage after checking out for a few hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls must be paper-thin. I heard someone coughing throughout the night; not entirely the fault of the hotel except the lack of sound-proofing. It's in a very old building, so perhaps too be expected? Don't expect much of the breakfast, either. It's a nice offering but basically toast, granola bars, apples, and coffee. Many people will still need breakfast from elsewhere, but this is enough to get you to where you're going.

    Good value. Cute rooms. They've made a great effort to be a nice hotel at an affordable rate (relative to other SF hotels).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Hot rooms with no airconditioning
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning no ventilator the windows opened into a small internal patio so you could not open them unless you wanted to talk to the front room occupants. The room and bathroom were so small it was not comfortable for two people

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, makes it very easy to explore SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, hardly any space to put stuff, including suitcases. It seemed a little expensive for the size of the room and general hotel facilities, but I gather SF is very expensive. The breakfast had little to offer.

    Great location, makes it very easy to explore SF. The hotel has lots of character! We had ensuite bathroom, but lots of rooms don't. Staff were lovely and helped us in every way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    Location,decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, service, rooms doesn't have any ventilation. It has windows but you can't open windows in the windy SFO where temperatures are always slow.

    Location,decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in perfect location for those on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathrooms are small

    I have zero complaints about booking this hotel. The location was perfect, just outside chinatown and only a few blocks from access to all the city's public transportation (cable car stop .5 blocks away, MUNI and BART 3.5 blocks away). It is north of union square and away from the Tenderloin and South of Market neighborhoods, which are a little sketchy. There are still homeless people around, but in fewer numbers than the neighborhoods mentioned above, and I was not approached by any of them. I found the breakfast provided by the hotel adequate for my needs. It was nothing fancy (oatmeal, bagels, toast, granola bars, juice, coffee), but there was enough of it to fill me up and save me money since I didn't have to buy 4 breakfasts while I was there. I was concerned about the art in my room when I booked the room because I had seen some of the pictures of the rooms other people had posted, but my room turned out to be lovely and beautiful, with a simple portrait of a woman on the wall. The bathroom was small, but honestly, how much time do you spend in there on vacation? My room was on the west side of the building (the street is on the north side), so I heard very little traffic while I was there, and the room was very quiet. I also had no problems with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff of the hotel were nothing but friendly and helpful and they held my luggage for free after I checked out until I was ready to depart the city. At less than $200 a night, for a hotel in the popular area of San Francisco, I was very happy with my booking and stay at Hotel des Arts and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to SF on a budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Original hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom (micro sink), small bedroom and poor breakfast (no refrigerator therefore no butter, yogurt, etc)

    Comfortable bed, kind personnel, good location and nice artworks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location: At the Chinatown Gate, just one corner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel with small staircase so you have to use the 19th century lift which is always occupied by the cleaning stuff in the mornings.

    Excellent location: At the Chinatown Gate, just one corner away from the Hop On Hop Off bus stops. The room was clean, colorful and homey. Helpful stuff at the reception desk. Tickets to city attractions are also sold there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue was that on one side of the hotel was close to a bar however on the other side hotel was close to the street and on a couple of mornings the street cleaning machines could be heard. However this did not really make any major bearing on our stay at the hotel.

    The I can do attitude of the staff. Nothing was too hard. Further staff helped with travel tips, transport tips and things to do. Staff also realised that our room was too tight for a family and upgraded us at no cost. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my friends or colleagues.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    No Air Conditioning :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had no Air Conditioning in it. That meant we had to sleep with the window open and the room never got to a comfortable temperature. Our room was on the alley so we dealt with a lot of noise. At night, we heard the property's night club/bar downstairs. After the bar closed at any hour after we heard garbage and delivery trucks backing up, idling and doing their pickups/deliveries. Having AC would have made a huge difference on our satisfaction with this hotel. Wish the website called out the lack of AC in details a bit better. Air conditioned rooms seem to be a standard for hotels in the US nowadays. It should say this boldly when it doesn't have it. If we knew this detail we would've moved on to book something else. Hotels in San Fran are pricey but I would pass on this for something that offered more comfort and quiet.

    Location of the property within the city was great. Bed was comfortable. They offered free wifi and breakfast. Used the wifi but did not take advantage of the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.8
    There is pretty much nothing we liked about this place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Breakfast was pretty much non-existent 2. Rooms were dusty, beds not comfy 3. The shower in our first room was almost not working so we went down to change the room. "Oh I know the shower is bad", told us the guy at the reception, but you should have told us earlier as we might not be able to find you another room now (mind you, not I'm sorry about that, but I know I gave you a bad room, but now it's your problem). He did get us a new room though after an argument. 4. The parking is 3 blocks away 5. I can go on and on

    There is pretty much nothing we liked about this place, apart from the funky designer idea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered room which was painted black - walls and the ceiling - with written swearing, such as f**k off etc and skulls. Perhaps, this is the modern art however this room was to creepy to sleep in. The receptionist managed to find us different room and we swapped. Room overall was not clean, super tiny and there was no way to open the window.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Love this hotel! I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad warm & stuffy when the outside temperature was around 80F. If you need a tub (rather than a shower), you should probably confirm with the property that you are getting one at the time of booking. I assumed I would have tub but didn't get one. Not a big deal in the end, but just want others to know.

    Staff was incredibly helpful, nice and accommodating! Each room is unique. Continental breakfast was provided (bagels, toast, fruit, granola bars, juice, coffee, tea, cider, hot chocolate). Facilities are very clean. Location is excellent; across the street from the Chinatown Gate, very close to Union Square and all modes of transit available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    convenient hotel right opposite china town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lift is quite old and when going in and out with a pushchair it is very difficult to manage

    easy accessible to go to china town, the staff kept my luggage before and after check out and were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    Not a value deal for a savvy traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed with my stay. My room was tiny and very stuffy. I couldn't open the window because it was locked shot with screws. The bed was very hard. The bathroom, less to be desired. No air conditioner, ceiling fan or fan. For $250+, never again. I see that they have nicer, bigger rooms with windows that open for the same price. I got the short end of the stick here. I won't be returning.

    The uniqueness and concept of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but could do with an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed sunk down on the sides, hotel rather tired and needs a make-over. Some of the staff were rather unfriendly, but perhaps they were bored. Only one was particularly helpful. Breakfast was very basic - it wouldn't have taken much to make it a little more interesting. Felt this hotel was very expensive for the quality.

    Great location, nice bar downstairs with live music. Funky hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Very good location, artistic interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they encourage us to hang our towels so they won't have to laundry them everyday but they don'T provide hanging racks to do that.

    Loved the location, right in the middle of the city, walkable Union Square, very near China town. Pier 39 is walkable too. Very near Barr stations and bus stationsLoved the interiors, very instagrammable. Special mention the reception staff named Isaac who assisted us in getting a reliable cab, making us feel welcome and went out of his way to make our stay safe and enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location, basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at the reception didn't tell us about the hold for incidentals. Didn't want to accept a travel card as payment, eventually did though. Not good first impression. Room was basic with very little light. Not much air circulating.

    Right near Chinatown then into Little Italy. Trams close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Central location, stunning art work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Self serve, little choice and not very clean. The water pressure in the shower was really bad. It took a long time to shower because of it.

    Such amazing art work. I was in a stunning room with paintings by Sam Flores. A very central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff, clean hotel, near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shelf in the bathroom would go a long way. Single sink with no counter space to set anything.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean hotel, near everything. I would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and window faced interior of building, could only see other people's windows.

    Great location, fun vibrant art, staff was helpful in suggesting places to go and overall very friendly! Would def stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place for simple stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no A/C but it was completely acceptable when it cooled down at night, just a little loud from street noise having the window open to receive breeze. The staff was incredible ..very very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Fun rooms, but smelt of "old" throughout corridors and rooms in all floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of "old" was unbearable.

    There was the very strong smell of old house throughout. The breakfast was VERY basic. The tables at the dining room were sticky with jam or honey, and not from the previous guests, but from accumulated lack of proper cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive. Stairs are very deep for carrying luggage up and down, if the elevator, which is pretty old, ever stops working. Bed is not very comfortable. Some rooms may need to use shared bathroom in the hallway.

    Great location for SF city tours. Stuff is nice and friendly. Very cute and artistic.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Des Arts traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: