Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wailea Grand Champions, A Destination Residence 3 stars

155 Wailea Ike Place, Wailea, HI 96753, USA

#16 of 40 hotels in Wailea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t ready at check in but they did offer a $50 credit in exchange for the inconvenience.

    Excellent property, good customer service, quiet and convenient location. Having free WiFi and laundry included was a definite bonus (laundry is on the deck if you’re looking for it!). The staff were amazing and very available to make recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 6 digit code to get into the front door. We had to carry the number around with us at all times. never remembered it.

    The apartment was larger than expected. The space was great for a family of four to have our own space without tripping over each other. Loved it. The master bedroom and ensuite was HUGE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful property and the condo we stayed in #88 was lovely.

    We do not golf, but the grounds were beautiful and the view of the ocean was wonderful. The property management was great. I will use them again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit out of the way but the shuttles helped solve this.

    The Villa we received was huge and very well appointed we had a massive space and was clean and modern. The Lanai was large and overlooked the Golf Course with the Sea View beyond and was quiet and peaceful. The Pool was clean and quiet and had 4 BBQ's to use. Free Shuttle to anywhere in the resort area (in a Tesla X) helped enormously.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shower door needed a bit of attention, and the service was prompt to repair it.

    The condo was much larger than I expected, and was very comfortable: 3 bedrooms, plus a pull out bed in the living room. Very bright and airy. Would definitely select these accommodations again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location, unit with gorgeous garden /partial ocean view. Everything we needed was there. Everything was perfect. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were minimal facilities here. The unit we stayed in is an owner unit that is rented out. This was not stated in the reservation. The unit has only basic cable where many channels were 480i, not even HD. The owner should spend the few bucks a m9 nth for a HD cable box to make the experience more on par with today's standard. Unit's decor is from the 80s/90s......

    With nice golf cou4se view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was always busy & full. It would be good for them to invest into a bigger pool area

    Accommodation was clean & nice layout of the apartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Master bathroom could use a fan. Smellingy husband's business is no fun. And the bathroom tiles could be cleaner. Minor stuff only!!!

    Clean, well equipped with lounge chair and beach chairs, umbrella rental for a fee. Friendly staff and concierge. Best of all was the golf course view in our 3b2ba house!!! It's got a king sized bed in one room, queen sized in another room and 2 twin sized in the 3rd room. On top of that the 2 sofas in the living room are beds too! The appliances were all upgraded and new. The golf course view was amazing! We frolicked and star gazed on the grass right outside the porch one night drunk and it was so fun! Unit 159 gave us great memories!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not on the beach, but price was good because of that, so it's walking distance to the beach but probably not with kids. Need to drive and sometimes parking is an issue.

    Condo #140 is good size for family of four, all updated and very nice and clean. Has everything what need for vacation, even beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella. We loved our stay in this unit, thank you so much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had a bad unit (43) to start and had to move after 2 days and that was a pain. The new unit (159) was good. Since housekeeping only comes ever 3rd day, we only had it one time and all they did was made the beds and dropped off towel. No sweeping or anything.

    Location was great. Could walk to shops, restaurants, and the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main bathroom shower was dirty, lanai furniture had sand on it, small crowded pool (didn't use it because it looked uninviting)

    Quiet location, beautifully decorated Villa, comfortable furniture, free shuttle service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Noise from nearby clubhouse compressor and tennis players.

    Spacious villa with huge lanai, well-stocked kitchen, large shower room, and comfortable bed. Free cancellation until 2 weeks prior to stay allows for changes in plans.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated bathrooms, loud window air conditioners, the wood floor in the kitchen was very slippery and almost fell a number of times

    Location, upgraded kitchen and family room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was outdated in the condo. I'm fairly certain some pest was also living there while we there. There was a musty odour at first when we arrived.

    The condo unit was very spacious, especially for two people. The views of the ocean/golf course were beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a little dated...air conditioning units awful, must be repaired/replaced or? Not sure what I would have done if the weather was warmer ???

    Just a.very nice unit...great location...we love Wailea...bathroom, kitchen remodel, excellent...my 4th or 5th stay at the Champions, dating way back...will return again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more frequent housekeeping services instead of every third day. Also, TV needs upgrade to a flat screen.

    Facilities were clean, well equipped with all the necessities. We had a 1-bedroom upper level unit with fairway view, Unit 68.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of the way from all of the action. Need to really hire a car if you want to see anything in Maui. We had older kids with us so may have been better to stay a bit closer to facilities and shops. It is expensive to catch taxis all the time

    Really nice rooms nice and quiet. 2 bedroom apartment had plenty of room and everything you needed. Had a view overlooking golf course and part of the ocean. A great place to stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is small

    On the golf course Could see ocean Beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms need repair/ updating/renovating. Advertisement says a short walk from beach (not so)

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Residents rude Bed poor Toilet had to constantly plunge all week long

    Location on golf course by green and balcony were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not staying long enough

    I love the golf field outside the balcony and the room is tidy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cabinets peeling and baseboards and trim need cleaned.

    Nice size rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent place. Staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condo is good. Place is very peaceful, you’ll be lazy to go out and explore.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds were amazing the space and the rooms also the view i loved it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couches were very uncomfortable

    Our condo overlooked the golf course and had a great view of sunsets!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby beaches, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold

    Clean, convenient location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great value, exceptional stay. Cannot fault

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The place was just right for our stay, room very comfortable, all amenities you need is available, place quiet, very accessible to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a private accommodation - no services provided. Great view of golf course.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our balcony was spectacular, the golf course, the ocean and the sunsets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our honeymoon stay was made all the more enjoyable by the complimentary wine given to us. Views were brilliant and facilities superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the size of the room ; the golf court

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice. Gorgeous view of golf course. Easy walk to shopping & coastline.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were working on the walk way leading to unit...

    Location was great, staff at checkin was terrific

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Need stronger light in the bathrooms.

    The air conditioners worked really well and needed at this time of the year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything in General

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pick up key office was off site

    Shower very spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Group
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How small the pools were

    View of the ocean and it's almost like a hidden oasis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in /out and registration is far from the resort, 10 min drive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the unit was renovated. All they lacked were updated the showers.

    Great value and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Condo was great. Felt like home away from home. Clean. nice garden/ ocean view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rugs were dirty. Window coverings were ineffective and dirty. Couch had caverns.

    roomsize was big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the condo needed updating!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was good

    Location was on the golf course, close to all shopping and restaurants. Shuttle service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor kitchen amenities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. would have liked it to be closer to the water but that was our mistake, not the facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some trouble with the toilet, had to use plunger several times.

    The location was a short walk to both pools.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV remote control did not work in the bedroom. Lighting in the bathrooms are a little to dim. Water pressure in the shower could be better

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, quiet, and nice kitchen to prepare late night meals after a long day out in the sun. Very convenient location, a short drive to beaches.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will come back

    It's nice, clean and quiet place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything OK!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used some cooking products like oil, salt, seasonings, pepper.

    The condo was better than the photos...like wow when you first walk in!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No music @ the pool area even on a Saturday night. Also not knowing whether your getting a renovated or not renovated room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Comfy and homey

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything.Design is great,kitchen has everything what I need.Room is large.Patio is great .I feel like at home!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Golf Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire experience was good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and blankets didn't smell good

    Home away from home feeling

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not super clean, needs updating, no can opener in unit, asked (and received) a late checkout but then got locked out of the room, had to wait for someone to come and put in a new code.

    Good location, nice linens, lanai dining.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not inform us of the passcode to get into the pool area.

    Excellent value for the price. Clean, comfortable, relaxing condo, as opposed to the large, glitzy expensive Wailea hotels.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    checkin off site, pools too small to be for use by adult, no can opener, nothing really great about it, wouldnt stay there again

    linens and room clean good kitchen generally, parking good

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    on second floor, so a bit difficult with a big bag. Had a note on our car window that they did not received our registration details when we already had our car parking permit on the dashboard (not sure where the mix up occurred because management office was closed for the weekend).

    Complete facilities in the unit - full kitchen, washer-dryer, 2 bathrooms, fixed car park.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spending time in a condo, away from the water, was a nice change of pace during our vacation. Our unit was right on the golf course and gave us a view of both the ocean and the course.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish housekeeping had fitted sheets. Our sheets could not be tucked under mattress and they shifted into balls every time you turned over during the night. Also this unit was missing the directory (referred to in other materials) which would (I assume) have told me that the washer and dryer were on the balcony in what appeared to be a storage closet and that beach chairs, etc. were in there as well. Didn't find these until almost the last day of our stay.

    We stayed in unit 142 - 1 bedroom - very nicely appointed with new carpets and partial ocean view and Wailea Blue Course. Bed was very comfortable and everything you needed for comfort was provided in the condo...including towels for the pool and spa. Especially liked fresh towels, sheets and light housekeeping as part of the service every third day.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had an issue during our stay, that was not fully resolved until after we got home. I wish the staff would have rushed to action sooner. Carpet was dated, bed was too soft for us.

    Staff resolved our issue to our satisfaction once we were back at home and offered additional training to the staff we originally dealt with. Location was great! Loved that there were 2 pools and that the laundry facilities were on the lanai! 3rd day housekeeping and the condo stocked with a few extras (like ziplock bags) were nice added touches. They were also very accommodating to the company we rented baby supplies from, allowing them to come in and set up prior to our arrival!

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have more than just salt and pepper available. I know we had to leave freshly bought butter, wine and chocolate. Someone could appreciate using those upon arrival. I really hope the maids or others are allowed to keep all the other food that we didn't get to use. TWO OTHER THINGS: 1) The bathtub/shower needs non-skid strips 2) There could be better cleaning.

    The condo is very nice, and well appointed. The landscaping is awesome, and the view across the golf course toward the ocean was lovely. We really enjoyed our stay and would probably use you again on our next trip.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Villa 97 old and tired.Bathrooms in need of major updating they look original up to 20 years old.Does not get any sunlight need lights own all the time.Pool area vey small only accommodates about 10 persons.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to park car under bird-laden tree. Technical difficulties -Audio and visual (readily solved by tech)

    The location and views were what we deemed to be superior. Easy life style-relaxed atmosphere. Buy your groceries at the "Gourmet Island Market" at the "Shops" ..pricing reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The address of where we were to pick up the key was not clearly spelled out and as a result, we spent about an hour finding the resgistration desk........in the dark.

    We like the location and the quietness of the area.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner of the unit needs to invest to bring this unit to a level equal to the price charged. The carpets need a desperate change(maybe 20 years old).

    The people to help us at the champion rental to resolve problems have been superb.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    trying to get a hold of the office through telephone took 3 hours. when we told them at check in they just ignored our comments and said they did not know why bt they were glad we found them. Not appropriate. We did not know where the office was only the shopping center where it was. Wasted a lot of time trying to find them.

    The apartment was great

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. It was a great experience

    The location is great. Our condo over looked the ocean. It was very clean, well kept and the bed was great. There were also a lot of resturants and food stores near by. The concierge was excellent recommending places to eat and things to seen not in any book. This was out first time staying in a condo on vacation and really enjoyed it.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Wailea Grand Champions, A Destination Residence traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: