Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dewitt Hotel and Suites 3 stars

900 North DeWitt Place, Streeterville, Chicago, IL 60611, USA

#117 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2333 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.2
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard, air conditioning loud, fan by the bed dirty, no room in the bathroom to place your stuff, no room in the living room to place luggage. Disappointed for the price. Felt like a cheap motel.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    The quiet neighborhood and the proximity to the locations we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We shared our room with a few insects. The noise from work going on at the hotel

    The quiet neighborhood and the proximity to the locations we wanted to see

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    There was a few staff members that were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange smell, our window unit didn’t work the first night so it was very hot but once notified they moved us immediately. We got moved and it was a little nicer room. The unit worked better but the room was only cool at night. We could only sleep with the sheets. And every morning we woke up very congested with an awefully sore through.

    There was a few staff members that were pleasant. The gym sauna and steam room were nice. And it was one of the most Affortable places in the city with a good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is great. The room is nice, not luxury but nice. Parking is the terrible thing here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to park at the other building’s underground parking for usd30 per day for each entrance. Meaning that if you go out on the same day you still have to pay another usd30.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    For the price, just a place to sleep and Milton is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the sitting room off the lobby was very dirty. Our bathroom fixtures, etc. very old, but clean. However, the walls and shelves did not look like they were cleaned in months. Could be just stains and the look of very old paint. The pull out bed in the couch was not usable; very old mattress & lumpy. The bed was o.k. Clean sheets, etc. Scaffold right outside our windows, so we left the blinds closed. Once they finish renovating, it should be beautiful.

    The hotel is very old and has character. The music that is played is from the 30's & 40's. It is like stepping back in time when you enter. The staff was helpful; especially Milton. Milton was great! The architecture style of the building is beautiful inside and out. The hotel is a block from the lake and the Magnificent Mile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, okay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just okay, the decor of the hotel was ugly. Furnitures were old, bathroom was tiny and not inviting. Please change the shower curtain, you can buy them online for a few dollars and for how much we paid you could have bought hundreds of them.

    The location was perfect, 1 minute walk from the Contemporary Art Museum and the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing, run down place to sleep and shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw 2 staff members - the one who checked us in- and the one who checked us out (who wasn’t really ‘desk’ staff. The hotel was more than tired, it’s refurbishment need a refurbishment. The room was in the large side but felt cramped because of the furniture and layout. The aircon was too noisy for sleep, the bed was uncomfortable and the linen was clean but looked dirty. We did not feel comfortable at all in the room and hotel and spent as little time as possible there

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    It worked for business but for the price point I would stay elsewhere next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet WiFi brought you to Facebook to open a new account. In tiny print it allowed you to use password provided. The connection was far from adiquit. This hotel is old and probably a 2-3 star at best. They’re definitely selling location.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.8
    Let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exposed wires on bedside lamp- electrocution hazard- which staff did not rectify. Cleanliness- below acceptable standard Bedding- sheets very thin- no protective covers on pillows Noisey old air conditioner

    Location - close to the lake Kitchen did have facility to prepare meal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    Good location, but very old and not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness is the most important point for me and I was disappointed. The hotel is very old and you can feel smell of old dirty carpet everywhere, even in the room (there is no carpet). Hairdryer was with foreign hairs and looked like no-one clean it for a long time. We didn't touched the sofa at all, it was a bit squeamish. So, for $700 for 3 nights I expected at least clean and fresh place. There is a reconstruction in progress, so everywhere around the windows you'll see scaffolding. And from the 9 am there can be construction workers next to your windows.

    The location is pretty good, staff were friendly and kind. There is a locker room for luggage. There is a good area for waiting check-in/check-out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    I LOVED HAVING EVERYTHING I NEEDED IN THE KITCHEN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE TV WAS KIND OF CROOKED HANGING FROM THE WALL BUT WORKED SO IT'S ALL GOOD.

    I LOVED HAVING EVERYTHING I NEEDED IN THE KITCHEN. THE BED WAS WONDERFUL. THE PEOPLE WERE GREAT. THE LOCATION WAS EXCELLENT.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    The location, 3 minutes to 360° Chicago Tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is really old, not "vintage" as it is sold.

    The location, 3 minutes to 360° Chicago Tower. The suites are exactly as the pictures uploads.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Charming hotel in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some repairs.. understand older hotels but you have to keep up with it.. Molding was poor in bathroom.. and my bed did not have a blanket? They made one with 2 sheets and a mattress pad? I wasn’t there long or i would have complained.

    Close to where i needed to go

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    The property is good for most chicago hotel because the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is good for most chicago hotel because the room is big, comes with a kitchen and fridge including a coffee maker. However, when we checked in and asked for water, there is no water at either a vending machinge or a drinking fountain located at the hotel. We had to walk all the way to walgreens to get ourselves a bottle of water to stay hydrated on our long flight. Elevator needs some remodeling as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was noisy and old, not comfy at all. The vents and fridge were dirty. There were clumps of dust all over. They are doing construction so it was noisy and the view was blocked due to the scaffolding. I requested an extra pillow when I booked. I was emailed to let them know upon check in only to be told that they did not have any housekeeping staff to be able to get me one.

    The one check out lady was nice. She had a great attitude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money. convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was construction - they were working on the building's facade, which meant a lot of noise during the day, but this is to be expected.

    I like the suite format of the rooms and its location close to the lake. Its in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance from several good dining options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Outdated interior, noisy AC, overpriced for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid the total room charge for 3 nights before my travel. A storm hit the East coast, many flights were cancelled, I arrived a day later, without noticing the hotel. Upon arrival, the receptionist said that my room was sold, because I did not call. A room that was paid 100% in advance with no cancellation option, was sold for someone else! "This is our policy" was the answer. "We are fully booked, but I will find a solution" was next and in about 15 minutes they found an empty room for me. A paid room is mine, even if I show up a day or two later.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Quiet suites with old charm in the middle of a bustling city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are definitely dated and paint is worn down. Shower heads are a bit rusty and sputter. The beds are small, but surprisingly comfortable.

    We were given a corner suite which was very quiet and spacious. The front desk attendants were very pleasant, especially Milton who gave us tons of recommendations! Also loved how many windows were in our space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the charm of this unique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the charm of this unique hotel. The staff were very friendly and the proximity to shopping and dining was perfect. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for our 3 day stop over in gorgeous Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really it was very comfortable.

    Excellent location to downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan. In the hub of vibrant Chicago and an up market area but quiet too. Room was spacious with full kitchen facilities .It was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    - Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The escalator was out of order for 4days that we stayed! - Small bathroom and small space to put stuff in the bathroom

    - Good location - Small kitchen that you can cook

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    A lot of older character mixed with modern convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding for work on outside of building was awkward- workers literally looking in room. We had to keep blinds/curtains closed throughout stay. To be fair- we were forewarned about weekday work being done ahead of time.

    A lot of older character mixed with modern convenience. For example, beautiful older tile and elevator with functional modern kitchen and tv.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personnel is helpful, unfortunately weren't able to manage very well the cleaning, both in term of quality and consistency of the service. The hotel is under renovation, but it was not too noisy.

    The location is fantastic, "attached" to the Hancock building. Rooms are nice even if a little dated, and it is nice to have the kitchen as an added value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Good Value Clean and great location but don't expect the Ritz Carlton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms need updating and the rooms need a little TLC. I also did not like the fact that the front desk took a $5 "deposit" for a cab to the airport that actually was a fee. Deposit implies the money goes toward the cost.

    The dewitt has old Chicago charm. It is in an excellent location on the Gold Coast and one can easily walk to great bars, shops, and restaurants. It is clean and the suites are a good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Pictures are deceiving, place is really old and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures are deceiving, place is really old and run down. There was a smell the second we walked out of our room and the couch was so uncomfortable and falling apart we couldn’t enjoy sitting on it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is close to the magnificent mile and is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of daily room cleaning service. The building is very old and is needs renovation. Very slow elevator.

    The hotel is close to the magnificent mile and is an excellent start to visit the city center. The room had a kitchen with fridge, microwave and coffee facilities and although breakfast was not available, coffee was there all day. It is less expensive than most of the hotels in the same area. Discount price in a close parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.0
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely an older hotel in the area. Needs some TLC. A fresh coat of paint would be nice, new/remove carpets in hallways, bathroom could be updated. We didn't use the kitchen, but the stove was ancient. Parking was expensive.

    Great location! Downtown and close to everything, but on a quieter side street. A/C worked well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Overall didn't see any people working there. The staff that I did see had regular everyday clothes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was out dated, they're attempting to renovate the property, but all the room and hallways needs updating as well. All the appliance in the hotel is very old.

    The location is perfect right off Lake Shore Drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Kitchen was nice to have as was the couch/futon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny and in need of some repair. Bed was hard and oddly situated and hit the wall every time you moved.

    Kitchen was nice to have as was the couch/futon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    + The staff was very very friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - Cleanliness needs to be improved. - The fridge was very noisy (which was a problem at night).

    + The staff was very very friendly and welcoming. + The location was perfect (very close to the lake and the city center).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    A good value for money place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym quite basic Sofa bed was too uncomfortable to be useable Tiny lifts!

    Great location - only a short walk to the waterfront and downtown Clean room Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.2
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a leak in our bathroom so the floor was wet, my partner slipped and hurt his hip and neck very badly, it was such a dangerous fall that we almost had to go to the hospital.. we were offered a new room however I think it was extremely unprofessional and a severe health and safety concern to offer such rooms in the first place to paying customers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated. The bathroom looked dirty, but it was because it was so old things were worn/rusted. Towels and sheets had old stains.

    Location was great. Loved having a kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    It has a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is too much noise,you should turn it off if you want to sleep.

    It has a very good location. It's about 5 minutes walking time for shopping and restaurant.And it is not far from the red line else. The staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    GAS smell in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gas smell in the room due to is a very old gas stove in the room, and it looks all suites have the same gas stove. Room service is not the best one, they did not change towels (I put dirty towel on the floor and asked to change it, they just pick it up, and hang it as it was a new one) and other essentials (I always needed to ask about shower gel from reception ), Besides, previous all comments are correct - everything in the suite is very old. Extremely low water pressure in the shower. Ventilation in bathroom is low. Slow and small elevator. Extremely noisy AC. Kitchen is not equipped even for two persons. Plus the renovation of facades is ongoing. We knew about all these stuff, (except GAS smell)and decides to book this hotel, because the rating score in general was very high, we thought that there is something in this hotel, but no. I would not recommend to stay in this hotel

    Location and people on the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Happy guest from Pittsburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was inch or so raised from rest of room and stubbed toes on floor ledge several times until I got used to it. Bathroom as small with old fixtures and ceiling had falling plaster due to moisture issues, but otherwise clean and good water pressure and hot water always. No breakfast but coffee and tea.

    More spacious in living area than most in Chicago. The kitchen was nice with small table and chairs. Was able to buy and have things in room when we wanted and needed. Comfortable couch and bed. Room and hotel was quiet. No slamming doors and friendly guests. Excellent neighborhood and close to restaurants and shopping and rail line.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    The suites are big with lots of light even with scaffolding...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As many people indicated before - hotel needs some serious refurbishing. The bathroom is very small and using the bathtub requires an act of faith or a pair of flip- flops. AC is very loud.

    The suites are big with lots of light even with scaffolding outside. The ara is residential and quiet but close to everything. Good price for Chicago but be aware that there is a reason why.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel reminds us of places we’ve stayed in Europe — a bit grand and old, but charming still — not the usual chain hotel and none of the glitz, but that’s the beauty of this place. We love the location and being able to prepare small meals is a bonus for the budget.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more a suite than a hotel. The facility is quite old especially the elevator. Only one out of two elevators worked during our stay and it can only let 3 people max in it plus it was a little scary. The AC was super loud in our room. It was really not worth it.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is most of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    while i know you get what you pay for, esp. in Chicago in the summer, there were just some things they could do to make it nicer---nicer towels, putting down safety guards in the slippery bathtub, having at least one hook in the bathroom, little things like that. towels were thin and not at all absorbent, we couldn't find a wash cloth, the tub was very slippery, and no place to put much in the bathroom in a convenient spot.

    i liked the location, the nearness of a parking garage

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac needed to be colder. The bathroom was tiny. The bed was kind of hard. The pull out couch was decent but you could feel every spring.

    Great location. The staff was super nice. Nice having a kitchen in room. Very clean hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Wait til next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down building will be renovated this year. In the meantime shouldn't stay there.One slow freight elevator working. Only three people can be in it and this is a ten storey building.Dirty carpets in hall. Noisy air conditioners in the rooms. Pullout bed in one of our rooms was unsleepable. Staff was helpful and let us search several vacant rooms for a better one. There is noisy work on the facade on weekdays. We were offered earplugs to deal with this. Location is good.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed quite old and not particularly clean. For the price, i expected better quality.

    The location was excellent It was nice to have a kitchen The wifi worked well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location to explore city by walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Defect and pretty slow elevators, not enough dishes for 4 people to cook and eat properly, interior has to be quickly updated

    Good location to explore city by walking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a whole was very old, I didn't mind the vintage feel too much, but it didn't feel like a hotel. The room itself looked very old and super basic. The bed wasn't really comfortable and the bathroom was extra small. I was there for a short stay. so I did t care for the little kitchen and the full size fridge.

    The location was great and the view from my room was amazing. I did enjoy waking to the. View of the lake in the morning. The staff was very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old building with slow working lifts. In the room the air conditioner was extremely noisy and made it difficult to sleep. Bathroom small but workable. Could not sit on the couch because it had all sorts of bumps and lumps in it. I think there was a lack of communication between the staff because we had a room allocated to us but was given another one!!

    I think the best part of this property would have to be the location. Rooms are spacious and allow you to eat and prepare food in the kitchenette.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    The property is in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You probably stay here more for the location of the property.

    The property is in a perfect location. Close to the lake and mag mile. If you are planning to be out most of the day this is the perfect place. Has a kitchen which we used and a sofa bed. The lobby manager Milton was amazing. He is the go to man to help with anything you need to know about Chicago.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Only if you like location above comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated. The rooms were much smaller than they look on the website. The kitchen had only 2 chairs for 4 people. Broken tea pot. The sofa didn’t have extra sheets. Not too clean. Spots on sheets. Very uncomfortable smaller size beds. Not enough towels. Awful coffee. Super small elevator- only 3 people which was very slow. It also broke during our ride and we got stuck inside. The door wasn’t opening. Hopefully the management will put serious thoughts into renovating and updating this place.

    The location was great. Close to Magnificent Mike, 360 Chicago and to Water tower where we ate in their fancy food court. Walking distance to the beach. Close to public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con is noisy but ear plugs sort that out

    Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms. Was a little concerned after reading recent reviews but had no issues. Milton very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -one elevator was broken for the whole stay and we got suck a couple of Times, bathroom was a bit Old and strange but clean

    -location is great close to 360, well equipped kitchen, free coffee downstairs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.3
    The hotel is very old and smelly!
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and smelly! One of our travel mates had bed bugs in her room. Bathroom was small and fixtures looked corroded, tub needs to be replaced. Dirty carpeting throughout the hotel. Never again will I stay there and would not recommend it to my worst enemy!!! It wouldn’t show up on my navigation to be found! It was the worst night in a hotel I’ve ever had🙁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    While we received a $75 credit because of all the issues mentioned here, I wouldn't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On our first night we found 2 roaches walking on the bathroom floor, toilet was dirty. The coffee maker was dirty, so our first coffee had to be thrown out. Housekeeping didn't clean our room at all one day, we left early that morning and came back like at 5pm, I notified the front desk and asked for it to be cleaned. We left again and came back a couple of hours later, and still no clean room. I couldn't call the front desk because the phone in the room didn't work, called from my cell no answer, had to go downstairs and request clean towels. Got dirty towels the first time, got cleaned towels the 2nd time.

    The hotel is located in an Excellent location, you are close to everything! You can walk, Uber, ride the rental bikes. Parking seemed complicated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Tried giving it a chance despite bad reviews. Lessons learned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator is a scary sham. Often got stuck. Bathtub wouldn't work. Should've heeded the previous review for this place. Assured this is why they do not offer free cancellation. Would not recommend. Will not be back.

    Location and bed bug free

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a mess.phone jack pulled out of the wall. Took 1/2 hour to figure out where extension cord for TV was. Wood flooring all jacked up and warped. It just looked dirty...cracks in the walls... not what I expected for a GOLD COAST hotel.

    view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    I will probably return here someday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room was extremely noisy, and the toilet flush took like 30 seconds, Ifelt bad for the other guests for having to listen to that.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's about a block and a half from the Hancock center. Very nice general room next to the reception area with coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A prime location hotel and suites suitable for family travelling with public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The old and small elevator although it didn't matter when we were on 3rd floor. The AC unit next to the bed was quite annoying as we couldn't turn it off but one person was exposed fully with the not nice blowing cool air. The kitchen utensils in the 9th floor studio room were not as complete as in the 3rd floor room.

    The prime location. It was close to many tourist attractions (including Navy Pier), a shopping centre, supermarkets, restaurants and cafes. It was a safe surrounding. The location is also very close to bus stops and CTA stations to connect us to many places. The clean kitchen with complete utensils. The kind and helpful service from all the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located, but 'studio' suites are misrepresented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't speak for the single rooms. We rented a suite. The first suite we were given on the 8th floor was horrible. The closet doors were missing, the bathroom shower had black tile grout and what looked like a filthy tub. There were tiles missing from the step at the bathroom threshold. It looked like this room hadn't been updated or cleaned in a long time. We couldn't call the front desk because the phone didn't work. We did request another room and the second suite was a complete turnaround from the first. It was completely updated, clean, had a working phone and closet doors! Also - the 'suites' are isolated in the stairwell portion of the hotel, so not very secure in my opinion. Additionally, the window A/C unit blew directly on the bed that was jammed up against the windows, so that person (me) froze in order to ensure everyone else was comfortable. The 'studio' rooms are too small for 2 double beds and a fold-out. DeWitt is trying to accommodate larger parties, but making it uncomfortable quarters in doing so. I had communicated with the hotel earlier regarding early check-in since I have 2 young children. I was told by a rude female employee that "you'll know when you get here if you can check in early." Not helpful at all.

    The hotel is clean and the staff members who we dealt with on-site were professional. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Just enjoy staying at this hotel. Not super modern, but who cares? Always very nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway carpets! They are worn, need to be replaced and make a poor first impression for what are otherwise very nice rooms for location and price.

    Excellent price for an excellent location just blocks off the Magnificent Mile. Very nice older hotel with reasonable parking (for Chicago!) right across the street. Rooms are mini suites with a couch for sitting and a very nice kitchen area, fully equipped. Great value for a family

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    the staff at the reception desk is very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    cleaning of the rooms is not very thorough and you have to remind which accessories should be replaced....

    the staff at the reception desk is very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    dont stay there if you have other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very dirty and noisy since our room is right next to its 100 years old elevator shaft. the hallway smells like a low end retirement home, the room itself smells like old pee plus a few good years of mold. mysterious hair can be found everywhere that we are sure aren't ours. there are holes in the beddings and the pillow feels like deflated balloons. we were on our first trip as a married couple, this room is the furthest thing from romantic. Definitely not recommended.

    the location is close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    It was okay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the electrical Plugs kept failing. The kitchen faucet was loose and hard to come on. The first time the room was a lot better.. But ill stay there again..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    3 night stay with another couple to enjoy Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were A little dated & shopworn. But they were very large and we took this hotel for a combination of acceptable price, good location and very good $30 daily parking fee. Parking did not allow in and out, the $30 a day is a great rate for parking in Chicago

    Location, relative room rate compared to other hotels in the area and $30 parking rate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    We will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like mildew, we never received fresh towels or housekeeping. The room was hot and the window unit was loud!

    The location and desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location but a little run down hotel, to me the price is a little to high for the quality
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I book a room for a family of four I would expect to not just have enough beds for all, but To have 4 chairs to eat in the kitchen and at least 4 pieces of each - cups, forks etc. After we got the first room, we were really disappointed, the room smelled old, was very dark, windowblinds were broken, bathtub must have been painted and the paint came off on a large section. Luckily we were able to change into a much better room with Windows Facing to the street. I ordered a taxi in the morning to go to the airport at 8pm. When I asked the receptionist at 8 if the taxi was coming, she said yes in a minute and walked out - from the window I could see her waiving for a taxi🙄 I could have done that myself! One da. We needed the roomcleaning and had put putt he sign on time, nothing happened. They simply forgot it. Some bedsheets had stains 😏

    The location is great!!! On the last day , we left our bags in the hotel during the day. And when we came back in the evening had a chance to get a shower downstairs at the gym, before we went to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Will never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator broke down with us in it. The emergency call box didn't work. 20minutes to get the front desk to help. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. There was no housekeeping service. We had to go down to the front desk to ask for towels.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Reasonably priced room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs updating, as well as elevators.

    Nice-sized room for the money. Liked that there was a kitchen area. Great view of the lake from the window. Also wonderful location--close to the Red Line and Michigan Ave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location but needs some updates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were pretty dated and somewhat clean. The photos online are certainly a bit misleading. The room service was pretty minimal as it did not come over to change sheets or bring new towels over our stay. The elevator was an experience every time you step on it. At check in the staff was busy attending to personal phone calls.

    Was a great location that is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean apartment in convenient location in the North Loop of Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathtub needs to be replaced. It was old and scratched, with the porcelain worn off in places. But it was clean, as was the rest of the apartment. Water pressure was low and temperature fluctuated, so the shower was not great. (It's an old building.) The sofa bed was broken, so it did not pull out correctly and took up more space and was not very comfortable for an adult. It might be fine for a couple of children, if traveling with a family.

    We enjoyed having space for 3. It was an apartment, really, with a separate kitchen, two double beds and a sofa bed, plus a full closet to hang clothes and put luggage out of the way. Nice to have a regular-sized refrigerator for cold beverages and our leftovers from restaurants. The window air conditioner worked well so we could cool off after a day in the heat and humidity. Location was great -- a couple blocks to the Hancock building and Michigan Ave., and just a few more to get on the Red Line.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in Chicago
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to detract from how nice this place really is. No means for washing and drying clothes, despite the illusion that it closely resembles a studio apartment than a hotel room. Just need to find a laundromat

    Professional conduct of the staff was outstanding. Reception and the cleaners deserve a mention here. Everything was explained well, and the staff were always friendly and approachable if questions needed to be asked. Spacious interior. Nice combination of curtains and blinds. Plenty of light, whilst still maintaining privacy. Chicago can seem expensive, so the kitchen is well equipped for your cooking and dining needs helped by the fact that quite a few supermarkets and mini supermarkets are dotted in and around the area. Shower mixer in the bathroom added a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room that was already used. The bed was slept in. Towels were used. Cups in the sink, disgusting. The lady at the front desk moved us rooms and it was clean. It’s an older hotel so the AC does not work well along with the elevator. Overall it was okay, but I would not stay again.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.5
    Not a great experience!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nasty, the couch had stains on it, their elevators don’t work well at all, @ there is an odor throughout the hotel. I purchased cleaning supplies and cleaned the room myself and that still wasn’t enough. The beds are hard and very uncomfortable. The neighborhood is great however that’s the only plus. I paid $187 a night and $15-30 per day for parking. I planned to stay for 2 weeks but after the first night I had to leave!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    It was a good hotel for the price and the location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They did not have extra pillows to offer. The pull-out sleeper wasn't very comfortable. We needed to be very careful when taking a shower because if someone flushed the toilet in another guest room, the water would become extremely hot. I'd consider it to be a two star hotel.

    The location was really very good. It was close to the places I needed to go to. There are plenty markets around so I was able to purchase food so I could prepare breakfast and dinner. It was good that the room had a full-sized refrigerator. The kitchen was sufficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.6
    Not a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad odour in corridor leading to the room. Also the rooms require work. The toilet door handle was broken. So were many other thinks including the shower knob etc. Overall it requires a renovation.

    The location is great and if renovated it has the potential to be a great property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Way more expensive that it deserves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very old building. I understand that they make it seem as part of their charm, but literally everything is old there. To the point where I was closing the curtain, but it was so badly installed that the wooden bar fell on my head (and it hurts!). I informed them and they did nothing to compensate me.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location and this is a beautiful historical building...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very small and does not have every necessary facility. It might be good for family guests as it provide basic kitchen facility (microwave, oven, and dishes), but not for a business trip.

    Good location and this is a beautiful historical building with excellent view.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: